(2007/02) February

good afternoon.

saphira,

thanks so much for the link... am browsing through now hoping to get some solutions for my boy...

hi charis,

take good care of urself k...so long never pop in.. everytime pop in u all not here... haiz..

smurfy, yes, my CL still around till end of next week.
Yah, when my hubby and/or Xi is around, Ru will sleep with the CL at nite. But when both of them not around, Ru will sleep with this scared-to-be-alone mummy.
Hei, u cut QY's hair till short short ha? So no more curly hair???

Winnie ah, sometimes i see my Ru like constantly hungry i also feel guilty and a few times the thot of fm comes across my mind. But i better dun waste the money spent on my pump so have to push myself to pump and bf her to maintain my ss.

Hey, Ean is such a smiley boy! Saw his photos from fb, another leng zai wor...

Koh, thanks... Will be back to office on 3rd week of March. But now oredi working from home. Sianz...

winnie
me still having Ms, at week 14th liao
.. bb's not showing yet but my own big tummy's showing.. QY keep saying mei mei ;)

jas
err yah, cut his hair short short liao.. the daddy's fault lar, keep telling the hair stylist to cut shorter...still got curls lar... u know those dirty old men, 40s-50s in their short curly hair?? QY's like that now lor.. ehh i keep on looking at ah-xi and RU pics' hopefully the next one as pretty as they are ;)

smurfy, u are flattering my kids! I just hope they will grow up to be good persons wif good value and characters. Their hair grows very fast one, soon u will have ur pretty boy back.

winnie, i decided not to have the massage, actually it didnt help with the skin tone and tummy i feel. but i will prob go for the clarins massage in 2 mths time when I go back to work. The last time I had 6 sessions there and lost weight.

the picture of Ean is really v nice, he is very goodlooking!

charis,
I still around. haven't pop yet... still a long way to go, though the weight of the tummy is killing me. Not to mention my job is pretty strenous cos haveto teach 4 hours in a row sometimes, usually 3 hours. Extremely breathless also, even when i'm sitting down.

Initially wanted to my my C-sect on 21st March but hubby got a major exam on 27th March so, not thinking of pushing back to 28th March, but very near to my actual edd 3rd April. Dunno if gynae allow, will ask when i see him next week.

After hearing all from the mummies who have pop, really worried about breastfeeding all over again. But must persist...

chocbabe, dun worry too much. u will do as much as u can for bb 1. tat mummy wei da... relax. u got electric pump easier. i tried manual pump during cny time to prepare for hk trip n my hands ache like crazy. so i be bringing the electric one liao. i can pump 15 min n it done.

anyway, Ryan is a v understanding boy so it might be easier for u to take time to bf.
all the best.

thanks garfield for your encouragement.

have a safe trip. you intend to throw away the ebm or bring back?

yah i hv the medela pump in style, so pumping is alot faster.

garfield, have a good trip, envy

is gemma going with u or only zz? Who will look after gemma? I also wish to go on holiday, maybe bring A but no one to look after Ashley

I have sttarted pumping once every 3 hours and alternate with latch on in the day. Hope I can keep it up though it seems like I am pumping/feeding all the time
so far, although my ss seems low but by some divine intervention, Ashley seems to have enough and didnt need to supplement with FM. I want to try harder and build up supply
Whatever that I failed to do for A, I want to do for Ashley

yesterday hb came home with a cold storage plastic bag, and immediately handed over to me. Its the usual kette chips inside PLUS a present for me
He knew I was looking at the mikimoto pearls before giving birth and he bought it for me
It was a pleasant surprise as I have been fairly tired bfg Ashley lately

chocbabe, i be throwing away ebm 90%. maybe those that i pump in hotel i intend to let Jasper try. If he dislike, i throw away too. too mafan to bring back n ensure it clean. i have included pumping schedule in my iternary! I m such a BM fanatic! ;p

cherry, dun envy. plan 1 la. but hor mil can help take care of little Ashley? yr hb so sweet! recently my hb recall our rom anniversary which also touch my heart haha. i totally forgotten.

Hi hi... you gals got any hotel to recommend in Penang? I'll be gg to attend my bro's wedding end of the mth.

PVL, which hotel do you normally stay in Penang?

Giggler,
Last time we went we stayed at The Gurney. They are suites. It was quite nice when we went, but that was 3 yrs ago and you know things in M'sia. The hotel is nearer town, but not in the busiest part. Facing the sea. If you go as an extended family, you can even get a suite attached to a normal room (eg for your parents) so you don't have to all squeeze into a suite.

garfield ,

have a nice trip!

cherryale,

sometimes a little surprise can perk us up.. recently i was v stressed with cherish childcare issue.. hb gave me a pleasant surprise too.

i am v sad..cherish isnt taking too well to childcare and it really breaks my heart to see her so gloomy.. really got the urge to withdraw her, but i tell myself i gotta go thr it sooner or later.

Cherryale..Wow u very blessed..all the material stuff from dear hb. If I get a nice meal from hubby at a nice decent place I'm very blessed already..haha. I'm hoping to get a mini laptop from hb..but think he don't want to spend..buy flowers already he say so ex n no use..hahaha..Some more a laptop is really a need for me at this moment..ah!! can't wait to earn my first big buck when Im done with the childcare curriculum planning!

Chocbabe..Hehe..Ic..Ok soon soon meantime try to enjoy the pregnancy ok..Hope the delivery date can drag for u safely.
Think for bf..2nd time u'll have more experience so hopefully easier for u..just don't give up..I have a fren who gave up on the 3rd day after delivery n ask for pill to stop milk. I persevered although I was "paralysed" from the post-epidural headache. I didnt get to tbf until much later but at least partial.

Stella..How long has she been at childcare?

stella, yah, a little surprise goes a long way
What happened to Cherish? She doesnt want to go cc in the morning? It takes time for them to get used to it. FOr A, the principal said he has fully adjusted now, even can 'bully' other kids already meaning he feels right at home, but initially he also cried a little each time we left him there.

charis, I think we just want to be appreciated
Even if its a chocolate truffle cake or ice cream, I will like it
Of cos if its something I have been eyeing but didnt get, then its a bonus..haha. hey, hope u get your first big buck soon, then can celebrate!

my hb will be so glad to buy me mini laptop cos he always want to buy all these stuff but afraid that I will scold him so always pretend to give all these laptop, wii, camera as presents to me as excuses to buy
like recently we got wii but I havent even touch it yet

now I feel like eating steak, maybe for lunch I shall have that

morning to all..

it's bn a loooooooooooooooooong time since i came in here.

somehow, maybe someone heard I was too free... hence all ppl came to me at one shot.

Haven't bn free since 1st day back at work in 2009......... cham & now it's Feb. i just hope the other asst can b found asap & can start work imm... then i no need to b so bz, can concentrate more on my own team's issues.

Stella - I also worried abt A's adaptability in CC las time, hence I decided to get a maid... well, maid came, tis is the 4th wk aka 1mth. so far so gd. After a few times of telling her wat r the rights & wrongs, she's so much better. Alot of initiative & the hse is v clean.

Though A sticks w/ us, hrow tantrums at her when WE ARE ARD, other than that, basically he's so GUAI when w/ the maid. I've monitored them thru the camera, he could play w/ her.... BEST - he allowed her to do housework when he's nt sleeping!!! kaoz! Nv had tat chance when we were ard man....

Bt still she's still v new, 1st mth, can't tell much. Shall c her progression as days go by.

We wanted to order tingkat initially bt she said she's v free at hme, cos A v easy to take care. Hence she volunteered to cook for us. She eats simple cos her mum eats vege most of the time. Bt we dun deprive her of meat & fish intake. We brought her to the mkt & she's seen hw exp those seafood is. So I told her, we can't afford to hv fish all the time, bt A needs tat daily cos he's still growing. I told her, she can take abit frm his. She can understand cos she's also a mother.

Cooking wise - nt too bad, quite tasty... I told her to stir-fry cos it's the easiest of all. Most impt she's willing to learn.

Things we were nt happy abt, I will talk to her immediately. We dun believe in scolding, cos we told her she's an adult, she ought to know how to change frm there. I told her, we can b v nice to her bt will also tell her off when she's in the wrong. If she wants us to treat her well, then she shld b gd.

I've nt sent A to Playgrp cos 1) $$, nw economy nt so gd, better to hv more reserves... 2) wanna make sure maid can handle everything b4 I sign A up. I told her y I dun like A to go playground so tat she will nt try to bring him down w/o my permission.

Hummm steak...drool....

i can't cook steak at home as my mil prays to the goddness of mercy..

i can only go my mum's place for steak on weekends..

i went to mickeymouse theme rest. in anchorpoint last nite... to realised that it had closed down... sooo disappointing way to end QY's birthday.. in the end, bought him to ikea opposite, but he's more interested in the toys than the ikea foods

SMurfy..The mickey mouse retaurant close down?!..so fast..Globetrotters also close down last month.
I think no weekday crowd..Rent so high now.

charis!!!!!!
thankfully i never go globetrotters... nearly wanted to go there after knowing mickymouse closed down... sooo thankfully....whahhahah .. yah that's what the anchorpoint customer service said oso..not much cusomter..

Yah was so sad to hear about Globetrotters closing. I went to their website to look at their menu for a mum's gathering and realised they chap luck
The Disney one at anchorpoint wasn't a surprise, think they got no business lor.

question.

Is it better to buy a Avent sterlizer or Pigeon?

I'm planning to use the narrow neck bottles likely pigeon.. but also need to sterlizing my breast pumps.. (already have 1 Avent manul pump which i'll con't to use)

Thanks Rachel!

BTW,

I'm celebrating Lil J Birthday at her Playgroup.
Usually other than cake do we need to bring other food??.. keke last time in school I only remember my mum brought cake to my school nothing else.. keke

dear mummies..

made a decision to withdraw cherish from cc..i think she got rather tramatised, to the extend that she hid inside her room all day long..even when we are at home. it is so difficult to bring her out cos once we step out of the house, she assume we are bringing her to cc.

if she is only crying in the morning, i still can take it..but it seems that it is affecting her daily life.

yesterday i told her that she will not be going to sch, she was so happy and slept thr the night w/o nightmare. today i wanted to bring her out, she still tot i am bringing her to cc...alamak..

i guess she isnt ready for cc ,so no pt forcing and stressing her

ah ger

i am glad that u have found a maid of yr choice...i think A will have an easy time adapting to cc bah..given his outgoing nature.

is he still going to julia gabriel?

hi stella, i guess if cherish is not ready, better not push her esp if there is no urgent need to put her in cc. I think Garfield's zz also experienced the same thing and she withdrew him from cc and he became his normal self again. Perhaps u can start by taking her to JG or other parent-accompanied programs on weekends, this will give her more confidence when she goes for cc next time.

this thread is so quiet recently, where is everyone??

Stella..Toddlers are so young and still very attached to the parents and the home..so I'm not surprised some won't get used to childcare/school until they are at least 4. So its better for u to take her out..its ok..school can be re-introduced when she is more ready..n by then it should be easier on her.
Like cherry mentioned..I'm more for parent-accompanied programs though they tend to be more costly since its usually once or twice a week only.

Charis, are you going for ELC this Thursday?

Stella, poor Cherish.. yah lah I think no choice, gotta take her out since she is really so miserable

Have sold off Bethany's crib since we bought a new bed.. bye bye babyhood!

stella
sorry to hear abt cherish not adapting well in cc. i was quite surprised when u enrolled cherish into the cc. i tot ur mum is taking gd care of cherish all these while?. indeed there are some independent toddlers (e.g. choco's ryan and cherry's A) and some clingy, insecured toddlers (ur cherish, my QY, and garfield's zz)... we just have to go real slow abt introducing school n cc to them lor..

QY's still on his weekends onli enrichment class. but this boy always acts up on us n bullies us by wandering ard playing with toys instead of sitting down.. so i got the maid to take over for 2 sessions, and this lil boy sit through very well..#$#%$#%#$^#@%#@... instead of parent kids bonding session, i think i just gotta the maid to take over the duty liao, for him to be less clingy to us.... so that he will be ready for cc in june..

girls
QY's 2 yrs old now and he's a definite mummy's lil boy... never looks for the maid unless he wants something... haiz.. i've come a long way... frm those nites of crying thinking this boy does not want me..

charis/catz/smurfy

yup my mum is taking care of cherish all along..but we tot of letting cherish to be more independent..but it seems that now it is the opposite.

throughout this childcare episode, i learnt that cherish is really a v sensitive child.. this morning she told me she scared daddy will scold if she dont attend sch..omg she really think so much. Just now before bedtime she told me "thank you mama..thank me for letting her withdraw from sch.

charis,

initially i am afraid she will be more resilant to sch in future if i "give in" to her now..but it seems that lots of people tell me it will be easier if they r ready..i really hope so

Gd pm to all.

Stelle, A hasn't bn to cc yet... dun think I can afford maid + CC, v siong arh.

Nope, I've w/drawn him out frm JG cos initially my plan was to put him at neighbourhood playgrp which is cheaper & is daily. Bt now, $$ is an issue, so decided to shelf it off.

I can't 100% say the maid is perfect but as of nw, I hv no issues. Bt I do worry one day the maid will beat or abuse A bcos A has been bullying her. Esp & only when we are around, he would hit her, push her head or swing away her hands. We dunno the reason why, & we've bn telling him not to do so. On the other hand, we told the maid not to take it too personally & we apologised to her for A's actions.

Cherry

hw have u bn? i saw ur pics on Facebook. Hw's motherhood so far?

Hb had started popping the qn for a #2... I told him not for now since our finances is so unstable... I dun wan #2 to end up suffering. It's really v tough to hold a family + a maid, bt of cos again w/ a helper, we really felt much more relaxed, not having to worry abt housework nt done. Luckily she's not a fussy eater, and is pretty easy.

hi ah ger, me coping quite well with #2, so far, maybe cos I am more relaxed this time round, unlike with A, everything also kancheong

good that your maid is good, is she filipino?

Its true that finances has to be stable to have kids but on the other hand, age is also an impt factor. I feel with #2, there is not as much to spend on (except more diapers and milk powder) other things essentially u can dun buy and reuse. Personally I like the age gap of kids to be smaller so that they can play together.

eg. my elder bro and younger bro are 6 yrs apart, they dun play together when young. My hb's youngest bro and him is 14yrs apart, they are not as close as my bro with his second bro who is 3 yrs younger

Why doesn't this thread update in the 3 hrs last post field?
Today is Ben's birthday so we all went to the Jacob Ballas Garden. Gabriel slept all the way. Ben was afraid of the water fountains, Sarah was not interested in the plants at all. *sigh*

Happy Birthday to all Feb babies!!

Ah ger,
Go for it lah. Don't worry about finances. You'll find solutions to everything when you need to. Don't wait too long cos too big an age gap also can be problematic. Siblings not close, you'll have to re-learn everything again, cannot share textbooks in school etc.

Stella..Yes dont' worry definitely easier when she's older. Maybe u can try again at 3 yo. Though personally I wouldnt encourage school until 4yo (nursery).

Talking about school. I put Yael at my old ctr (where I used to teach) for emergency care today cos no choice my usual babysitter not free n I desperately needed to finish my assignments. As expected, Y is very easy to warm up..he cling on to me for probably a few seconds..then when I reminded him that the playgroup teacher is someone he know, told him "This is Aunty Margaret, you see her every saturday remember?" and he immediately held her hand. Left him there for only 3 over hours. Though the teachers told me was fine n occasionally asked about me..but when I got back I asked him if he wanted to go home n he immediately said "Yes go home, sleep." Guess I really feel school is not for tiny tods..not for some at least. Anyway, not planning to put him in cc anytime this 1-2 years.

Catz..I may not continue for Yael..cos my hb prefers him to go to The Little Gym (which is so ex don't know how he's going to pay for it!) or some other gym related classes..or for now he'll jus be the 1st honorary student of my M&M program haha.

PVL..Haha..guess sometimes this kind of outing more for adults to enjoy than the kids. We didnt celebrate for Y yet..except for a cake during home group last fri. Didnt plan much cos we potluck'ed n jus let the kids play in Y's room. Think have 2 more cakes to cut..in Bishan n at my parents'.

Yup I also don't want the age gap to be too wide..hope next one by the time Y turns 3!

Tomorrow will be Lil J's turn to bring her bithday cake to school..

But but.. she suddenly had fever today.. sigh.. wonder she can make it to school tomorrow..

Praying hard..

Going to enrol Lil J for CC soon.. wonder she will be able to cope with it..

mummies, A has been coughing and has lots of phlegm. Have spent more than $500 seeing PDs already
any idea wat to do to clear the phlegm, the medicine doesnt even seem to work. Though he doesnt cough much but whenever he does, we can hear the phlegmy sound.

cherry,
My sis believes in giving pearl powder to her 2 daughters to clear phlegm. Not sure if you are open to try these unorthodox methods.

I've been on childcare leave for 2 days and mc for another 2 days this week. Had to take care of ryan cos in-laws are away and my parents are also not free.

This morning, sent ryan to school and that rascal refuse to let me walk him into the classroom. Say bye bye at the entrance, grab his bag from me and ran in.... He has been a "bully" in school also, he doesn't like other kids to play with the toys he is playing and will resort to hitting them.

Went for gynae visit yesterday. I'm 34 weeks now. Baby is about 2.2kg. Wanted to choose 28th March for delivery (39 wks), but gynae say got 50-70% chance of going to labour and advise me to choose 1 week earlier 21st March (38wks). Problem is hubby got 5 papers to sit for on 27th March. Major exam for him, so I might just take the risk and insist on 28th, hoping I won't go into labour.

Cherry..Usually those meds breaks up the phlegm and makes it more watery..so it doesnt really cure, just eases the condition..best is get A to drink lots and lots of water. I don't bother to see PD unless I run out of med or it seems more serious that usual..cos so ex and always give same med anyway. I give Y health drink called Mona-vie (anti-oxidants & multi-vits)..seem to improve his immunity and ours too.

Chocbabe..Wah 5 papers in one day?! Do watch for signs of labour..cos don't want to end up e-sect. Yup hope baby stays in till 28.

Ryan seems so mature leh..haha so brave already no need mummy to hang around with the byes..
As for "bullying", think he's jus being protective over "his things" but Im sure his teacher will remind him not to hit.
Actually, toddlers are still lousy at sharing, in fact they just don't know how to share but they maybe able to "exchange".
Example, when Yael wants a toy someone else is holding he gives the other kid another toy or the one he is playing with..n he says "exchange"..haha..I may have mentioned to him before but I didnt know he picked it up..usually with "exchanges" peace is maintained..My hb commented that this boy know how to do business..haha.