(2007/02) February

keke i was planning the menu..

1) Yi Pin Wo (got to start cooking it the night b4)

2) Hao Shi fa cai (also got to cook mushroom, sea cucumber and oyster the night b4) just blench braccoli when abt to serve the dish.

3) Steam fish (easy, just throw in steamer)

4) Yu Sheng (will ask SIL to buy)

5) Roast chix (i can manage) or Roast pork (hubby will buy from outside)

6) Xi ha da xiao (easy to prep)

7) Leak (you de suan)and beancurd (shen guan) dish

8) Dessert (TBC)

only 6 adults so should be more than enough food.. maybe i should cut down some.. :p

as some dishes prep one night in adv.. so i think should be manageable..

We'll be eating Reunion dinner on Sat with my In-Laws and Sun with my parents..

garfield, my hubby not really workaholic, but he always feel he has the responsibility to oversee those stuff. Just now he told me he gg to another province to attend a meeting wif his director tomorrow. I told him i dun care what meeting he attend in china, so long as he is back on Thurs! Now my next gynae visit delayed to this friday afternoon. Almost 2 weeks from my last visit.

forgot to update, zz went for 1st class at little neuro tree. overall, find the class ratehr entetaining, have v short activities like memory games, music, counting ("feeding" a bear cherries), identifying big small objects, using scissors... etc. however my noti zz keep wanting to play cars

actually it was my fault, cos beginning of lesson while waiting for class to start, i give to him to play. nxt wk, cannot let him play liao. he only could concentrate only abt 50%. he esp like the songs and flash cards basically.

sunsweet, really takes my hat off u. U gg to prepare all those food by URSELF??? Then u better get some help for clean up later ya...

garfield, i think nana's ryan also attended little neuro tree in bugis, but every friday. Saw from her blog.

jelly, can understand yr frustrations. but dun get too angry to affect the bb ok? cos stressfree yr bb will come out ez to take care as she be more smiley. but scold him after u give birth hahaha keke

oh is it Jelly? so qiao. ya closest to us mah. haha

tokin abt blogs, i v lagging behind liao. v paisey. but cannot update during work. now economy bad dun play play.

smurfy, u dun like to celebrate cny at ur hubby's kampung ha? Actually if we dun have a home in JB, i won't feel like to go back so often too as no matter how, not my own house. I really enjoy free fireworks around my JB neighbourhood and that usually last throughout cny.

garfield, ya, i am not angry at him liao. No point rite...

jas
of coz i dun like ar. it's the grandmother's house leh.. then CNY period, like 30 odd ppl cramped into 2 side by side terrace??? i always make hb chop one room first.. if he dun get me any room, i blackface the whole day.. then he boh pian.... :p.. i dun care lor.. i will tell him i am not like him or his malaysian relatives, like cozyness and share to sleep together..

blog
i oso lagg in blog.. no energy liao.

jelly, yah no point getting angry lah.. anyway your hubby is not beyond hope type
Hope you get your 1-bedded! Actually I was talking to my manicurist and she said she delivered in those public hospital in Ipoh.. the nurses will just throw all the mothers and babies together.. all cry together.. she said now can laugh, last time just cry and cry in hospital 'cos dunno what to do. :p

smurfy, wah lau, cycling in Ubin no joke. Lots of steep hills and was quite freaked out as I realised there was one called cemetary road 'cos got 2 tourists die there before (fell from bike, knocked head and gone case). I had 11kg Beth at the back and my hubby took Timo. There was one slope, ultra steep.. I punctured half way (me, not the tyres...haha) and had to push fatty Betty up. :p 1.5 hours of cycling around Ubin and I was so shacked out already. Anyway, honestly Ubin is not for the young ones.. wait till your kids are 7-8 minimum to enjoy. Wah you lugi big time for angpow siah? Why not change ringgit? Then you also give ringgit.. fair right?

Charis, hope it's good news for you. Actually when do you start work? Yael is such a cutie.. I'll try to get the pix from my Dad's camera and post them up soon. Did he practically squeeze out your parents' cat's intestines? Heheheheheheeh..

Sunsweet, OMG, you cook reunion? Your MIL dunno how to cook? So unusual that you are the one cooking but wah I take my hat off to you!

I'll be going to KL on 23rd.. will drive down with my parents in the morning (with the 2 monkeys) and hubby will join us at midnight 'cos he will drive after work... then 2 nights of reunion dinners then back to SG on Chor Yat.

Haha smurfy, that's exactly how our house looked like when we were young during cny, as our grandparents stay wif us so those relatives who stayed overseas will come back and bunk in wif us. Ours even more squeezy as we used to stay at the top level of my dad's shophouse. Normal days oredi 2 family (ours and my uncle's) squeeze in 3 bedrooms. Can imagine how squeezy it was during cny??? Now much better, as my parents and my uncle occupying 2 side by side terrace house too so lotsa space for everyone. Ya, u shd convert ringgit and give ang pao in ringgit.

catz... the ubin cycling sounds dangerous to me!!! Ya, i heard public hospital they will just throw mother and baby together one and will force u to bf. A lot of msian use 2 gynaes when they preggie - 1 private and 1 public. Becos a lot of private clinic does not have sufficient equipment so during emergency will still need to go public hospital. I heard my JB neighbour who just gave birth the public hospital will actually call her and scold her if she never go to the consultancy, and they will scold her if she got colours on her fingers and toes!!!

Catz & Jelly,

Yup since i got married My MIL hardly cook... that's what my hub told me.. anyway in the past he said my MIL hardly cook they always tapao..

So far the reunion dinner they've prep is Steamboat..

I'm not sure if she doesn't know how to cook the dishes or just she dun like too much work loh.

I hope I'm not overly ambitious to accomplish the task..

well the things prep the night b4 still not so bad.. maybe skip the roast chix to ask Hub to buy roast pork or something from outside.. he says he want meat dishes.. but i a bit lazy to cook anything more than porkchop.. haha

jelly, ahhh yes my manicurist said she got 2 gynae.. but she delivered in public 'cos emergency c-sect.. only RM100? Scary though..just being thrown in a huge ward with other crying moms and babies.

I still remember the good ol' days of CNY with my cousins.. now my cousins are scattered overseas, no more CNY mood. Plus the house my parents bought is lagi haunted so we just stay in serviced apartments.. haha.

jas
i can understand the closeness u have in ur grandparents place lar... but then again, it's ur grandparents... not ur hb's grandparents right? i think he would make the same kind of noise if he is not brought up in that kinda env.....

catz
ehh u took those "refined" roads right? not those mud n rocks track right? kekeke.. yah lar, when i got older, i oso choose to walk up the slope instead of struggling with the fat self.. :p.. thanks thanks for the feedback.. i tot ubin would be a good place to bring QY, since i used to enjoy it like more than 5 yrs ago onli?

smurfy, of course those refined roads lor.. but no joke, with the extra weight of fatty Betty behind. Nahh.. if you go Ubin, just take taxi around to go to the places of interest. DO NOT CYCLE! You not fat lah.. biang..

Sunsweet, do steamboat lah!! Easier for you mah.. you pregnant, shouldn't be bustling around. Your MIL is really unusual.. guess she's the qian jing xiao jie type?

i'm quite sian abt steamboat leh.. 3 yrs of steamboat liao.. keke

My MIL well she never look after my hub or SIL b4 when they are young cos she;s working.. My hub looked after by his Eldest aunt and SIL looked after by my MIL's sisters..

So i really appreciate that she took the challenge to look after my gal loh.

but alot of things i cannot ask her cos she doesn't know what to do either.
I got to depend on myself or ask you gals loh

Maybe she got lots of help from home as she comes from big family so actually she does not need to do much at home..

Garfield,
If i remember correctly you dad own medical hall right? Want to ask for cordeceyps, when can preggy start taking? I have bought a box sometime back for my gal.. so i intend to drink it with her when i make some for her.. but when can start drinking? is it once a month?

smurfy, i won't like it too if i were u. Remember after my appendicitis operation i stayed at my PILs house for a week or so? I felt so difficult to get the days by oredi even though my ILs are the nicest persons around. Nothing beat the comfort of our own home ya.

Sunsweet, actually I rarely have steamboat except for CNY at my PIL so I quite enjoy it.. haha.. I'd rather do steamboat than cooking 8 course dinner.. anyway usually after doing all the prep, usually not much energy to eat also. Your MIL I guess is not the only MIL who is not the domestic type.. I guess our generation will be lagi worse.. most of my friends haven't even cooked a meal before!

Sunsweet, you very 'can' leh, knows how to cook all those stuff. Really peifu you.

smurfy, you still gg back to Msia during CNY now that you're preg?

giggler
i'm stuck lar, i dun have a choice lar.. i asked the gynae in front of hb last week.. she say okie to take road trips lar.

steamboat is nice, i like oso.

I can cook lah but usually like Catz says, I cook liao then not much appetite one loh..

I learn all my cooking skills from my Mum, she cooks well. just that I dun have a well equip. kitchen like hers.. so sometimes i'm just too lazy to cook.. haha

maybe i should ask her what she's cooking on sunday so that i and hubby dun get to eat repeated dishes on both days.. haha..

sunsweet, it been a while since i cook a meal keke... no joke! but i still can take care of the kids lar.

for corcedeps, think u can take from 5 mths onwards? actually earlier also can but heard 5 mth onwards the bb will be takin it instead of mama?

garfield,

thanks for the info.

i'll start brewing for my gal again after the flu.. recently dunno is the weather or teething or both.. last week she had diarrhoea, now flu.. sigh..

smurfy, I'll try my best to report here everyday. Hahaha.....

Sunsweet, you can cook??? I very jialat with cooking though my dad can cook well.

sunsweet, has she go on cc yet? prob she teething. btw, zz molars r finally comin out after long holi.

smurfy, goin on feb... haven't really plan well as in plan my pumpin schedule... haha

Nope she have not gone to CC yet.. will be starting in March.

Lil J's last set of molars is about to erupt.

think they should erupt by 30 mths old..

sigh.. a busy period for us nursing their teething woes...

sunsweet,

I started taking cordyceps weekly from 4th months onwards, boiled together with bird nest.

Xi's teeth almost qiqi baba all up liao all of sudden. That probably explains her constant falling ill a few weeks back. Glad to see she is back to healthy.

Talking about falling sick, Ryan is down with flu again... almost continous man.... everytime after he recovers, he will fall sick soon after. Dunno issit due to teething or just the flu bug. His teeth also suddenly all come out. Now got 14 teeth.

Me feeling very uncomfortable the whole day cos my piles are acting up
this is the first time for my 2nd pregnancy. When I had ryan, had quite afew episodes...

hubby is gone yesteday for a month.... feeling quite sad. This is the first time he is away from me for so long.

wow ladies

all talking abt reunion dinner.. this yr in laws side having at restaurant..so no cooking needed... dun want to tire my mil. hopefully after reunion dinner with in law, there is still time to take 2nd round at my grandma place.

re : teething

cherish last 4 molars are coming out also. can see the top 2 already erupt.

Catz..Haha..he "tortured" the cat too..Yr dad is an avid photographer?..his equipment looks pro!
Yup hope its good news.
Im working from home..not much changes la..still a SAHM..with cooking n cleaning to do hahaha!
Actually the latest is..I'll be setting up a childcare ctr..I have a partner, the setting up is her idea/dream n she's funding it..Im helping to set up n run it for awhile..Still in the very early stages.

EH my SILs also the same lah..celebrate the dog's bday every year..we have been invited for cake n party every year..she gets presents too! Last year the dog got so excited during her cake-cutting n party that she sprained her leg..can u believe it?!

Chocbabe..Take care yup. Hugs..not easy to have hubby away so long right..but nice that u have Ryan as company.

Sunsweet, where's Lil J's cc location? I thinking of sending Sher to cc also.

jelly, you drink cordycep weekly? Will it be too bu? I dun dare to take too much tonic this time round cos I suspected I took too much bird nest during Sher's time.

choc, your hb started his training?

yesterday I went to see gynae, my skin is reacting to the thread and hence gynae had to remove the stitches for me..ouch..he said the wound will heal in 1 or 2 days time. ANyway, compared to the previous time, I had a better recovery already so no complains. After the appt, we went to get balloons for the full mth party. aiyah, not much choices, wish I had ordered online earlier

sunsweet, u are really amazing, didnt know u can cook so well
Hehe, when I become mil in future, I guess I will be worst than your mil as I dun even know how to cook instant noodles

chocbabe, take care. not ez to be alone heavily preg for so long... but at least u have ryan for company. prob he sick also becos of cc?

Gig, ya, i took cordycep weekly wif my birdnest, until the the box of cordycep finished a few weeks back. I didn't put a lot each time, just 3-4 sticks. Will it be too bu? I not sure as i didn't take other tonic besides birdnest.

charis,
thanks... yah i have ryan as company, he is really quite sweet actually. Somehow he seem to know and understand things. He will tell me "daddy Lumut", "fly aeroplane", "pilot", "good boy". Cos his daddy tell him to be a good boy before he left.... he is actually quite sweet.

Gig,
yup, he started is training already. Off to OBS lumut and straight off to Singapore Flying School after that. So away from home for a month before he can come home for the weekend.

garfield,
mayb cos of cc also.. i dunno but since late last year, he has been falling sick quite abit. Any idea how to build up immunity?

Jelly,
do u actually eat the cordyceps? or just eat the birdnest ah??

giggler n jas in today kekeke..

jas
did u take the same quantity as ah-xi last time? i think it has to do with own body's constituent on whether it's too bu or not lor?

cherry
whahaha r u going to do a big scale 1st mth cum 2nd birthday? u gotta rest and let ur wounds heal oso k?

chocobabe
hang on there... when ur hb graduate frm his pilot training.. things will look good.. very good then.. at least u know what u r hanging on for..

jelly, I took bird nest every week when I preg with Sher. In the end, Sher got airway prob since he born and chinese sinseh said it's due to too much bird nest.

choc, 1mth shd be quite fast. Bear with it and take care of yourself. Ryan so sweet and sensible.

smurfy, ya ya... in today and will tong till 24th Jan lah. Hehehe....

chocbabe, at times i pity my hubby when he has to be away cos we at least have our kiddos to accompany us but they will be all alone overseas. Ya, i took the cordyceps as well.

smurfy, last time wif Xi i did not take cordycep. This time i took becos hubby's boss gave him a small box. Haha, ya... me still around. Mei2 can only come out after thurs ah...

Gig, once a week birdnest too much ah? I only put a piece of birdnest wor and shared wif hubby and Xi. Hope mei2 won't have airway prob... Sher is alright oredi?

jelly, Sher only get better recently lah (touch wodd)... he used to fall sick every 2 weeks since birth, very tiring to take care.

Gig,

Lil J's CC is at Jurong West st.42

Re: Lil J's Flu
Lil J nose was so much affected from the flu.. that she didnt sleep well last night. I got to carry her to sleep.. so me looked like panda today.. Yawn ..

maybe tonight i should go rub her gums... see how the 4 molars are popping.. 2 weeks back she tells me her gums are pain.. keep asking me to rub teething gel / ba bao san..

Hope all the kids who are sick will get well soon.

Re: Tonic
I took birdnest like once a fortnight (bought those bottled ones that my dad's frd selling.. too lazy to dbl boil.

Guess will start the cordycep soon.

Question: pneumococcal vaccine
Do we have to bring our kids for a jab at before 2 for ther pneumococcal vaccine?

I start Lil J's pneumococcal vaccine at 1 YO did one more i think was 3 mths later total 2 jabs done.. need to jab 1 more time?

I tot only needed 2 jab? but my Doc was asking my MIL the other day when is Lil J coming for her last jab b4 2 YO? I'm a little confused.

Can anyone clarify?

sunsweet, i gave pneumoccocal vaccine when A was a baby so required 3 doses, i was under the impression that for those who started at 1YO only requires 2? Why dun you call the pd and asked him directly?

jelly, i took cordycep from 3mths onwards and also took birdnest once a week from 5mths onwards.

can we take birdnest during confinement? I intend to take the bottled birdnest daily to clear the stock, got too many as gifts recently, no place to store in my tiny kitchen, so got to consume it.

smurfy, thanks, I try to rest as much as I can. hopefully the wounds close up by tomorrow, actualy its quite painfree. I really thank God for the smooth pregnancy, pretty fast labour (except for the terrible contractions which was so painful but at least now I know how its like) and fairly quick recovery that allows me to rest well, eat well and feed meimei well
Hopefully its the same for you okie? hope your MS ends soon and u will have more energy then previous pregnancy

forgot to add, no lah, its a small gathering for meimei's first month, not inviting a lot of people. For A's first month, we invited 100+ guests, this time round prob around 40+, we decide to give cakes to some more distant relatives instead of asking them to attend. Furthermore, my BIL's baby is expected to arrive in Feb 09, so by then will have another baby first mth, poor relatives have to attend so many of our family's celebration, quite paisay.

Mummies, can i also check, by about 2 weeks from birth, what is the amount of BM that you can express? I am only doing about 500ml not enough to meet Ashley's demand. She is drinking about 600+ so I need to top up with FM for the night feed. How to increase my ss?

Gig, I took birdnest once a week too last time wif Xi. Hope this time mei2 will not have any health problem also like her jie2.

cherry, u have a lot of milk! U do not direct latch? I also intend to clear the bottle birdnest during confinemnt. Shd be ok to take during confinement bah since the bottled ones more diluted?

jelly, u sure u read my posting correctly?? I dun have enough to feed Ashley, still considered having a lot of milk? I think so too, the bottled ones are from Eu yang sang, think a lot more diluted than the boiled one that we do at home. how u feeling today? remember to rest well hor.

I have started using the nursing cover, quite easy, just draped over
At first I thot will be too warm for the baby but seems okie
She was happily sucking inside
I only latch on whenever I want to, express most of the time so that CL can feed her and I can rest. But when CL leaves, think will be easier to just latch. Another thing is I want to know if I am producing enough milk so the only way is to express and see

Woohoo!!! Finally received update from Winnie! Baby Ean has arrived on 11 Jan 4+pm! All is well and good for mummy and baby! Congrats Winnie....