(2007/02) February

Cherry, but 500ml is a lot of milk since u only gave birth 2 weeks only. Ashley is drinking a lot too ya. The common methods are papaya soup, drink lotsa water, massage, fenugreek. But everyone says bb is the best pump, so maybe u latch more so that ur ss will increase further?

Got Winnie's SMS while I was out running errands... congrats Winnie! Ean is such a cute name!

cherry, why do you want to pump? For the first 4 weeks, it's best to latch exclusively, pumping only after you've fed from the breast... if not your milk supply will be v v low. If you keep giving Ashley the bottle, she might have nipple rejection when the CL leaves lehhhh.. me, I'm not a big fan of pumping 'cos end up sure not enough milk.

sunsweet, better check with your dr/pd but I do believe that it's 2 doses only.

Charis, my Dad is avid but his photos not v nice leiiii... luckily he's got the moolah to spend on good equipment. Teehee.

ya catz,

i also receive her sms... hehe she deliver on 11 jan, sun. waiting for her birth story...

but i so paiseh i mistake the surname as his chinese name. I thot Ean Koh is chinese name... ;p sometimes i can be silly... i was still wondering how come gor gor got christian name but he dun have? haha

must be office stress add to this. ofc not doin too well... hiaz no mood

catz, ya i agree w the pumping. I thot i can produce more for her so i total pump. end up she reject my nipple. not sure wat reason but prob bottle is easier bah. anyway, last sat, she took my nipple again! hahahaha so happy.

chocbabe, u must give him more cod liver oil or vitamin kind of stuff. it will get better.

re: birdnest I also took birdnest but after 5 mth. Took both bottled as well as double boil. cordeceps i took powder form so sure eat into tummy... haha but tat sponser by my mum... v ex u knoe.

cherry, i think u can drink the bottle now. cos during my cf, I also drank cos suddenly got so many bottles still not drank haha. somemore ple give after i gave birth.

cherry, no need to ask me how to increase... cos no matter how much i try i still get max 750ml...

i taken fenugreek (but short while since i hate to swallow BIG pill) and mentilium (did i spell corectly?)...

anyway now that i didn't try any food/pill, i realise my supply still the same so no diff... haha

garfield when u took fenugreek, it didnt help to increase ss at all?

catz,jelly, garfield, I started latching exclusively in the 1st week, then she got jaundice and I started to pump out the milk. Hopefully she will not reject the nipple as I still latch her on daily though not for every feed and each time while waiting for expressed bm to be heated, I will latch her on first.

i think i took more milk plus when i was bfg A, cant recall if it was effective. Probably not very effective lah, if not, I surely can remember

Garfield
RE: Cordyceps

How you take the grounded cordyceps? Need to dbl boil the powder?

if not boil will it be as effective as boiled ones? cos since young i've only taken boiled cordyceps soup.. not the raw version.

Re:increasing milk
I think for me the best bet is to take more liquid.. though my mum made papaya fish soup for me once.. then the rest i just drink the red dates tea.. lots of them..

I remember my BF book says drink some warm water b4 pumping.. massage b4 pumping..

i had several times of engorgement when I had lil J.

sunsweet, i got a fren who actually drink one glass of water b4 she pump. she say can get more... for me still same ley. for this brith, I never taken papaya soup yet except during my hospital stay! now i can't be bothered. haha

the grinded cordeceps I will take one teaspoon n eat then i down some water every morn b4 i eat my breakfast.

cherry, i only took fenugreek two times haha so guess not effective. I simply hate the pill! but i do drink milk and take calcium pill.

garfield,
yes i do give him 1 spoon of cod liver oil everyday.

milk supply,
I went for mumsfairy breastfeeding talk few months back. The lady still pumps out 1.8l till today. Her elder kid are quite big already i think 3 or 4 yrs old. So everyday she has enough to feed her 2 kids plus her friend's son. She says she drinks 1 litre of milk everyday. She pumps 3 times a day. She actually did a demo pump in front of us actually and she could really fill up the full big bottle man. She says most imptly is she always makes sures her breast are empty.

morning ladies,

congrats winnie!!....EAN is a nice name...same pronouciation as "ian" hor??

jelly,
nvr come in report today?? its wed...so fast!..tml ur hb bk liao..keke....tink mei mei will guai guai stay in there for a day or 2...keke..

tokking abt reunion...
heng i dun haf to prepare....its usually prep for 30+ pax coz i eating wif hb's granparents + uncles + aunties.....

babe.... ME STILL HERE!!! hahaha... yaloh, think mei2 will wait for her daddy to come back. But her daddy gan cheong this morning as i did not answer his calls (on silent mode), he must have thot i have popped liao and quickly called my sister to check.

Now i am thinking maybe good that if mei2 come out on her EDD which is 24/1, as my CL will go home for cny on 25/1 and 26/1. So if bb borned on 24/1, then i discharged on 26/1, just nice rite? Then hubby dun have to worry reunion dinner i have no one to accompany me and my confinement food also. Some more in hospital got nurse to bath baby and take care of me, so maybe better if she comes out on 24/1 hor? haha...

choc, I used the Ameda dual pump too, cheaper than PIS and good lah. Not sure if I shd invest in pump for this one as co not convi to express.

fat_babe, so you gg to restaurant for reunion dinner?

jelly, hahaha... better start telling mei2 to pop on 24/1 then, same bday as my didi2.

Ameda dual is manual or electrical?

I'm looking for manual pump, ideally dual.. keke so save some time.. :p

manual pump bec easy to bring to office to pump when return to work.

sunsweet/gig, yaloh.... shd start telling mei2 to stay inside until end of next week. Haha...

I have ameda dual pump too, but the motor spoilt after a few months using, so got the medela PISA hopefully this time will help me bf longer.

no choice leh.. the only place i can pump at office not electrical point..

unless i rush ovet to UE everyday during lunch and pump?

usually 1 session for dual pumps will take how long?

Hope all is well

Wondering where I could get Thomas, the tanker's Birthday Decorations and all... Can help? Went to BP but they are all close...

jello,
24th still v far away le...keke...not tiring meh?? i everytime wait till 37th week..oredi cannot tahan the weight...

giggler,

no eat at home wor...the aunties will prep the food...staple food like beehoon, fried rice all got prep...then do up 2 steamboat...then everybody take turns to eat lor....plus lotsa of finger food for the kids la...

yo grace,
hows everything?? me dunno where to get decor le...maybe try those party shops in town...they should haf..like party"r" us in somerset, GWC..??

Fatbabe,

wow your reunion dinner is really like one reunion Party
keke

the kids would love such visits.

I only get that once a year at my dad's cousins place who the other cousins would come.. noisy time is the gambling part time.. hahaha

Jelly, u still around waiting excitedly for mei mei to come? ;-) let us know when she arrives.

u mentioned that your Ameda pump stopped working after just a few months? it happended to my friend too but she managed to get it replaced under the warranty cover. How long did you use it before the motor spoils? I am using the Ameda pump now... it definitely beats using a manual pump.

Sunsweet, it takes about 20mins to empty the breast using electric pump. My own experience is that just 15mins will clear around 90% of it, the last 10% takes another 5mins.

cheeryale, this time my massage results is not as fantastic as the last time. the massage lady is also a little disappointed for me that i still have the tummy hanging around :-(

GOG, I am also one last minute mummy with getting party deco. Don't think I am in time to buy the party decor so that other night, I was telling hb that let us have a real celebration only later this year/ early next year when we move to our own place. Staying with my in-laws place this period (particularly this confinement month) has taught me that I really should buy my own place!!!

GOG, as far as I know, you can't get the thomas decor locally but I could be wrong. I've got a Thomas mylar balloon, unused, could sell it to you since I've got too much decor already. And yes, Polar does Thomas cakes.. we got one for Timo this year.

jelly, I was just wondering whether you already popped..hehe.. you and PVL racing to the finish line!

Ameda pumps aren't as robust as the Medela.. that's why I paid for the PIS.

Sunsweet, for double electric, it took me about 40 mins to pump out about 12 oz of milk. But of course the last 20 mins don't get v much.. but I cannot imagine manual pump.. the wrists will get too painful!

Jazz, didn't know you were staying with in-laws! Hope you get your own place soon! Rgd party deco, I actually spreed about 4 months earlier just to be sure I got all my little einsteins items

jelly, I heard complains abt weak motor of Ameda recently too. That why if I want to get pump, I'll just get Medela PIS ba. But very ex leh, sigh...

fat_babe, to me, 24th Jan seems very near leh. I still have lots to do before that date.

Sunsweet, I used batteries the other time cos my ex-co's toilet didnt have power pt too.

Jazzcy, you got the same massage lady for both times?

Jazzcy, YES, me still hanging around here.
How's coping wif ur elder and little ones?

Catz... did not see pvl today wor... cld she have popped???

Re: ameda pump. Though it is a dual pump last time, i used it as a single pump as i use another hand to massage while pumping in order to stimulate the milk. Hopefully wif this PISA, able to pump both at the same time so save time.

jazzcy, miss ur question on the motor. The motor only last me less than 4 months.
I stopped bf my gal around that time when the motor started to get weak and later dun bother to replace the motor and the warranty period was over...

Oh, didn't realise that Gigg and PVL are also going to pop soon too :) Wow, so many Jan babies this time round :)

Yes, Medela PIS or Avent dual pump would be much better if planning to use the pump for some time. I couldn't bear to pay 700+ and use the pump for only 6months. Sunsweet, like what Catz said, the wrists would be too painful to use a manual pump. I am speaking from personal experience and really felt that it is not worth suffering the wrist pain. The ameda pump is only around 400... use it for just 2months and the cost would already be recovered via savings from buying formula milk.

Catz, yes... I moved in to stay with in-laws about a year ago. We were waiting for property prices to come down before buying our own place. But now, I told my hb that no matter what the prices may be, we will buy a place of our own and move in before this year end....

Gigg, yes i used back the same massage lady.

GOG..U could try Parkway Parade..there's a party store..but like Catz mentioned..dont think u can go Thomas cos they got copyright stuff.

Jazz..How is yr 2nd lil' boy doing? Boy right? Haha..so many mummies have pop Im blur!
Hey understand not easy to live with in laws..Remember I had tough time with my MIL for 2 whole years!

pumps...
I actually bought mine 2nd hand from a online mummy here for about $200 when I had Ryan. Mine is the Medela PIS. Not too bad... I just bought the parts like funnel and tubes. Think got some mummies selling now also.

I bought the Medela single pump before that actually but can't stand it cos take too long plus when pumping one side, the other side leaks.

Think Ameda motor is quieter than the Medela one. This time round, I just bought the handsfree strap, so can do other stuff while pumping.

I looking for a nursing cover, any recommendations?

jazzcy,
yah, I also told my hubby the same thing, that we will stay on out own after his training. I know they cannot afford their own place in Singapore, so thinking of letting them stay in our HDB flat, while we get another private one on our own or stay in our other condo we now renting out.

I can't take it now when i have to struggle to bring Ryan to bed every night cos he loves to play in their room.

Chocbabe,

I too got to trick Lil J to my room everynight..

but with in-laws.. i get to rest a bit at home cos they will still help to look after Lil J..

I cannot imagine without them how I'm going to handle all this tiredness..

Kudos to all mums who can manage w/o much help.

jazzcy, i got my medela pisa at less than S$450 via an overseas spree.

chocbabe, u wanna try the Obuba nursing cover both me and cherryale got? I have bot but not yet tried, cherry has started using it on Ashley. If u are keen, i can give u the contact of the BP organiser see whether she still has stocks or not. The price is S$39 inclusive of normal postage. http://www.obuba.com/index.php?o=products

ok... what material issit? issit hot?? was looking at some apron type cos i thought not so hot, but look quite funnie rite?

this Obuba looks like can wear out....

chocbabe, the material is of soft cotton, but i think thicker than those apron type. Cherryale mentioned in her post above initially she thot it will be pretty warm but Ashley seems ok with it. I think it is perfect under air-con condition but might be a bit warm at non air-con place.

am coping ok with having both boys around but really not sure how to handle when the confinement lady returns home next Wed. Currently, Timothy is co-sleeping with us and I am wondering if Jeremy also co-sleeps, what if he wakes Timothy up with his night time crying? Any advice on how to cope? The first night we brought Jeremy back from hospital (confinement lady had not arrive yet at that time), Jeremy started crying and Timothy also started crying as he insist that he wants to go over to the baby's room to comfort the younger brother. Wah, that was a challenge particularly in the middle of the night.

Charis, yes... i remembered your difficult time when you stayed with your MIL. Gigg, yes... starting to have MIL issues. Actually, I was ok with my MIL for the past year until recently because she didn't like me to engage a confinement lady. My MIL is very fussy about tidiness and cleanliness, and all things must be done EXACTLY HER WAY. The confinement lady didn't know that and MIL really blew up with me. She showed the confinement lady and me 'black face' for quite a few days. A week later, MIL picked up a quarrel with my hb over some things that I said months ago and it was really her mis-interpreting my intentions. No amount of explantion from my hb could convince her and in the end, my hb just said, "If you really think so, then let it be." Anyway, I have not been fighting back my MIL (just avoid her) and am trying not to let MIL affect me too greatly... shouldn't let her make me get into post natal depression right? ;-)

It's really terrible not owning our place. Example every Wed morning is my MIL's dictated clean the house day... although I do not need to help clean the place (I chip in by engaging part time help comes in to clean on Sat), me and the kids must get out of the house by 8am. Where can I go? Shopping centres are not open yet so that leaves me with only my parent's place right? There was once when it was not convenient to go over to my parents' place, i nearly checked into Changi Village hotel. Pathetic right? Ok lah, at least can still afford to check in to hotel so not so pathetic. haha

wah, chocobabe... u can afford so many properties *envy* I am just taking one step at a time to buy one first by 2nd or 3rd quarter this year :)