(2007/02) February

stella,

seems like cherish is quite vocal now...quite cute to hear bbs saying they are "shy"..wwaaaa she fixing puzzle oredi!!

tyler says "scared" "pain" but his most said comment is "nice" together wif raising eyebrows when he taste good food..kekeke

Catz, hope ur sister and the baby are doing fine now. U must give her lotsa support especially on bf.

stella, wow... cherish can play puzzle? I have not let Xi try on puzzle yet, but i dun think she knows yet...

Yday brought Xi to her cousin's 1st birthday party in JB. See, they look quite alike rite?
1784173.jpg

Playing with the glower:
1784174.jpg

Today having a stroll downstairs:
1784175.jpg

She is still having some cough though she almost finish her cough medicine already. Decide to stop her from medicine last nite as think the medicine makes her uninterested in everything and more cranky. Today she looks livelier... Hope the cough will be away soon.

Good Morning! Have a great week ahead!

Jelly, gals are so so sweet
Your gal ah, is the 'wow wow, sayang sayang kind'... Don't think I would ever scold her. Heehee.
Eh, for your gal's cough, try to rub Vicks Vapour on her feet and then put on her socks before she sleeps. It works wonder for both me and my boy
Worth trying!

Catz, hope your sis and her baby are fine. Will pray for them.

GOG, i thot of doing so too but dunno is Vicks too strong for toddler? So u have tried b4 and it works? Then i must go try to9. Thanks thanks!

Today so blur.... Reached office then only realised left my laptop at home so cannot work. Gg home to pick up my laptop later after the morning pick hours. Haiz....

Smurfy, Sher likes to hit us on the face quite stime ago leh. Could it be just a phase?

Catz, how's your sis and nephew now? Hope everything is fine.

Stella, wow... Cherish knows how to play puzzle!!! Amazing!!!

Jelly, the cousins really look alike... They look like sisters, so sweet

jelly,
Your YX really looks so much like her cousin. And she's so very sweet too!

Catz,
Aiyoh, your poor sis. Hope she wasn't too traumatised by the whole experience. Saw the photos o FB. The bb looks so chubby and cute! Timo is very handsome in the photo, Beth has a mischievous look. Hehehe.

Stella,
Cherish seems to be way ahead of her peers hor? Ben only knows how to destroy things, not fix things together.

Ben has been giving me a lot of grief over mealtimes lately. Don't think it's entirely due to his cold. I think he's just being stubborn, cos when I wave the cane at him, he will eventually eat. But I hate to threaten him over meals. Sigh.

Thank u all for the congratulatory messages last week...

Sunsweet, I have been using Capella stroller since Jerlene's birth. The stroller has weathered all our overseas trips under rough handling, so it is quite value for money. May not be as comfy as those big strollers, but it is light-weight.

Hi ladies, thanks for the well wishes. Sis fainted twice yesterday, low blood pressure. If she faints again today, she cannot be discharged tomorrow. Baby's bruised face is getting better but his headwound will take a while to heal. Good eater though! Of course we are so worried about my sister

PVL, really can't believe Ben can be such naughty fella!

looks like a few of our babies are not well. A is also nursing a cough. His medicine is finishing soon but think he has some pleghm (spelling??) actually i think he has spread the virus to me as I am coughing now too

jelly, i think vicks is a bit too strong for our babies, I use the baby vapour rub instead. left laptop at home?? wow, u remind me of last time when my mummy brought me to school and left my school bag at home

smurfy, i think u should install the cameras. My aunty has those cameras at home, and her maid is fully aware. She has those installed since her boy was a few months old as maid is the only caregiver at home. This is the same high class maid who dotes on QY right? or have u changed maid? Maid's typical response to everything is "NO", or "DUN Know". I have one but have not installed it since most of the time we are at inlaws plc. But prob will use it to monitor maid during weekends when we are out and she often sneaked out.

catz, poor sister, she must have been traumatised. Hmm, when I was admitted the second time round, I was losing so much blood, really really scary. Hope she gets well soon. May be better to stay in hospital so that she gets proper care until she is ready to discharge.

is this a prematured birth? A was also assisted birth via vaccuum but was ok except that initially his head was a little oval but soon it went back to normal.

Catz, oh dear... your sis' situation sound bad. She still can manage to bf her bb?

cherryale, me also coughing now leh but didnt dare to take cough syrup while working. Sian...

PVL, Sarah and Ben really diff in character hor? Cant imagine Ben to behave in tis way leh.

Ryan was not well last week too. School called us to let us know he had fever last thur, so we brought him back early. His runny nose also lasted for a while already.

But admist all these, I was actually quite pissed off with my in-laws cos i think they really over react to Ryan's illness. I came back from work early last thur and the whole aft, I didn't have a chance to carry ryan... can u believe it? They were carrying ryan throughout the whole aft walking up and down the house.

Now, I quite unhappy with my in-laws for another reason. I use to have a weekly cleaner who comes and clean the hse, now that we move to our new place, they refuse to let me engage her anymore. Saying that they clean the house daily etc. But to me, I admit that I dun have the time to clean after work, and I find that my in-laws dun clean that well. I'm not complaining abt their cleaning standards, but I prefer to have a clean who uses detergents to really scrub the toilet floors, detergents to clean the stove etc. My in-laws just use water to clean them but the grease still remains. My hubby was quite fed up that he actually clean the kitchen floor that night cos my MIL claim that she already clean but it was still sticky/greasy.

I guess I appreciate them for cleaning, but there are certain things that are "not up to my standard" and they just refuse to barge to let me continue with the cleaner. I hubby couldn't persuade them this morn too, even if we told them maybe only come once a month at least to clean windows, fans, etc.

Also, my clean also iron my working clothes. How to ask my in-laws to iron my clothes rite? Sorry for the long post, but i really need to vent it out. How how how?

I feel like just engaging and dun bother getting their approval, after all it's my house.

Jelly,
I heard from my sis that vicks is not suitable for kids below 3. She actually recommended Karvol, it's a nasal decongestant, which you have to break the packaging and put it on some towel/pillow, then put near the child. The smell really clears the nose though, I tried it myself actually. That one is suitable for kids after 3 months. Can get from the pharmacy.

Catz..Is yr mum helping out when she comes back from hospital? Think as long she still very weak she should stay in the hospital..the excessive bleeding has stopped?

Chocbabe..Seems like inlaws staying with us in our house got a whole set of different problems..Anyway its your house, I think u should have the liberty to decide if u need a cleaner etc.

gig,
My in-laws are Malaysians, they sold off everything in Malaysia and came to live with us after Ryan was born.

The reason why I allowed them to come and live with us, though many pple was advising me against staying with in-laws is bcos, they have only 2 sons, both left them to study in Singapore when they were 11, so all their life they dun have their sons with them. I tot they worked all their life for their 2 sons, so it's time they should catch up on some family time. Their other son in in UK, thats why they went for 2 month holiday in UK recently.

My MIL was partly the cause of my mild "post-natal" depression when ryan was born cos I had to cope with staying with a new person in my life.... It was a terrible time then, I cried every single day and night.

Back to office wif my laptop.

Cherry, really? Ur mum forgot ur school bag before?
Ya... My gal's cough is better but still wif phlegm. I am having mild cough too dunno whether spread from her or not.

chocbabe, i think u shd still engage a PT cleaner despite ur in laws objection. I dun understand why they shd object since this is only once a week cleaning and ya, that is ur home!

chocbabe, aiyoh, absence makes the heart grow fonder.. but I guess in this case, your ILs really too sticky and geh kiang already la. Tell them you are PAI SAY to make them clean your house, ppl will talk.. hopefully they will be accept you re-engaging your cleaner.

Gigg, my sis fainted again today.. so she cannot be discharged tomorrow! Very low bp and anaemia from all the bleeding during delivery.

Jelly, yes I also recommend Karvol or Euky bearrub. Vicks is very harsh.. Timo breaks out in rashes when we use Vicks on him.

cherry, baby was induced at 38 wks 'cos he is a big kiddo -both my sis and BIL were huge babies at birth..at 38 wks, he was already 3.6kg.. got big head too. Haha.. that's why all the complications lor. Gynae says next time, do c-sect at 37 wks since my sister got internal bleeding and her tissues at her vaginal area tear so easily. Think she holds one of the records for longest hospital stay for normal birth. Haha.. Anyway, it's just safer to stay in hospital lah. If go home, then she faint, then i dunno how my BIL is gonna cope.

Charis, My mom and me will be helping her out but she's really doing very well with the bfeeding. She's very very determined to TBF... very proud of her.

catz... ur sis is very strong despite her weak condition now! Saw the bb photos in ur facebook. The boy looks very healthy and handsome! Ya, better stay in hospital until her condition is stable.

jelly, sorry wanted to tell you that Ah Xi really got family resemblance to her cousin. So cute, they're so close in age
Ah Xi not jealous of other kids? Beth is not jealous of me carrying her cousin, as long as I don't carry other toddlers. She will push them away from me! Teehee..

Yeah he's a strong baby boy. Handsome.. er.. kakaka.. my sister complains he's so ugly like her hubby. He's cute lah, definitely cute. Just that bathing him is gonna be a little tricky 'cos of the tear on his skull.

catz, glad tat yr sis managed to give birth naturally successfully. proud of her as she bf too since she must be v weak.

jelly, yup use karvol. i also use one baby vick... ok on zz.

smurfy, zz already beat ple face way back like giggler's son. nowadays he never did it liao cos we tell him it wrong to do it. so it maynot be the maid. cos he also beat the maid face hahahahaa... beat more times than me.

but it good to get camera if u dun trust her.

pvl, i also havin the same problems for his mealtimes. last nite i lose my temper outside

he refuse to eat his dinner n keep crying. so malu. even my hb couldn't stand n beat his hand as he starts to throw things on the floor... he becomin a monster... i just hope it a phase.

i call up p in LV today n made the intention of withdrawin him from school. i just hope his temper n mood gets better. i hope it not entirely jealousy tat casuin him to be cranky

stella, i think cherish is noe better than zz. zz was at my fren house the other time. refuse to get down n play w my fren son. keep clingin onto me. i think he the koala king liao.

only when they start to play on the bed then he happy jumpin... if not, he looks so scare... i wonder is cc, or other reason?? any one know?

i just feel he not so smiley as b4...

choc, sigh… that's the prob with staying with in-laws leh. My fren had the same concern with you, in the end she engaged the part-time cleaner to come on Sun when the in-laws will be out.

Catz, aiyo, your sis faint again??? Your mom make any tonic to help her to bu or not. Feel so sorry for her. Admire her determination to TBF her boy.

garfield, I think it's not just jealousy lah, ZZ is experiencing the phase of terrible twos also. Sherwin got better now after we ignore his dramas a few times. Hahaha……

Giggler, yah she fainted at around 11am so my mom boiled up some tangkwei tonic plus frying some steak for her.. now they rushing to hospital (after grabbing her breastpump.. her milk came in, engorgement). She's really very determined man... her delivery was really so difficult. She only came out of operating theatre 5 hours after baby was wheeled out to us. So worrying right?

Garfield, aiyoh I also lose temper with Beth. But luckily my hubby is very fierce- both kids are super scared of Papa scolding
So if she anyhow throw things, she will kena from hubby... else she just ignore me.

gigg, catz, zz is becomin super noti now... i also dunno how it happen cos there few changes like havin mei mei now, then cc... so really dunno wat cause. n now his molars also givin him probs... can u imagine? his molars not out yet.

both of us can really scold him but he not so scare. unless i manage soem monster or soemthing frightening then he scare. then he run up to me n wan hug liao. we also beat him, he cry but still not scare ley.

Catz..OIC..I think once her iron level goes up..she should be feeling much better..but meantime she should stay in hospital..but if no more bleeding then that's a huge relief..thank GOD..excessive bleeding is serious leh. I think yr mum's tonics n steak sure to boost her iron..plus doc sure to give her some iron tablets. Anyway, do tell her to go easy if she's too weak to bf..cos can tbf once she gets better..important is mother's health first..Baby Zac should be doing rather well..he's a big bouncy boy, furthermore 38 weeks..so rather developed already, lungs, jaundice also normal right?

catz, your sis is really determined, good for her, little zac will be so thankful to his mummy for going the extra mile to feed him. A was 3.5kg at 37 weeks when I gave birth to him, thats why got to vaccuum him out cos his head is simply too big for me to push. Hopefully meimei doesnt have such a big head

catz.... Ah Xi got jealous when i carried her cousin!!! And she got jealous when my younger sis (who stay wif us) took photos wif another young gal. *shake head* I asked her can give her playpen to her meimei or not, she shake her head lei....

garfield, think this is part of his growing up plus a new addition at home. Ah Xi is getting rebellious too! Yday i poured a big bowl of birdnest to share wif her. Then i took the 1st sip, and this gal ha, angry, dun want to eat wor.... haiz....

garfield, er, Beth has quite a few more molars yet to come out.. ZZ is definitely not slow hor
Yes I believe his naughtiness is in part due to Gemma's arrival but more so that he's in his Terrible Twos. Must be firm. In fact, I really liked this bok - the No-cry Discipline Solution. Got good tips

Charis, doctor hesitant to give her iron tabs in case she gets constipated but yeah, TBF is going well, thank God! Yes he's a very well developed little boy. They decided not to go ahead with the circumcision which was earlier planned - 'cos even the pd said his head wound would take a few weeks to clear, so poor thing already.

cherry, yeah my sis is really determined. I'm super proud of her. Wah A was also very big.. esp for your frame.. 'cos don't forget, my sis is 1.72m and my BIL is 1.9m so big baby is expected. But for you.. *OUCH*!!!

jelly, Ah Xi is a real princess type of girl.. very sensitive and protective of mummy!

catz... i totally agree wif u, must be firm in this stage to our kids. So i just ignore her and continue to eat my birdnest. Gradually she came to me for the food. She is very sensitive indeed, and i really hope she will love her sister as much as....

catz, yup i must start readin up ...

my mum just call me... sian... she told me i must have frighten zz tat is y he behave like tat. she say i frighten him becos he go cc. but since last wk, he stayin at home liao mah. i told her wat u all say abt terrible twos... she say nonsense... my nephew also not like tat at zz age

but noe my nephew super noti too n rough... dun keen to mix them together as zz learn things v fast.

gd day to all....

Charis - alot of considerations whether to send to PG or cc, haiz.. all cos of $$$... yet settle on tat, anything & everything also can't b continued...

Sunsweet - Capella strollers are sold at Bb Kingdom, John Little, Kiddy Palace, OG & also the one at Chinatown... can prob call them up & find out. U can go to the Capella website & find out the model u r keen on

Giggler - by Elizabeth Pantley
She has one on sleeping too, if I'm not mistaken.

jelly, yah really must be firm. I'm softer so I kena bullied :p I think Ah Xi will come around to loving meimei lah.. not immediate but if you engage her now and tell her about how she must love and sayang meimei, then she will probably try to please you. Try to get books for toddler about sibling birth.. quite a few that I got off Amazon. The one that Timo liked most was one about 'There's a House inside my Mummy'.. he still makes me read it sometimes. Haha. There's also a Sesame St DVD on new baby..

garfield, aiyoh how come your mother biased toward your nephew issit? Terrible twos are very real - of course not all kids are quite so terrible but there is assertion of independence at this stage lor. Timo was hard but not as stubborn as Beth. Right now she's throwing tantrum for dunnowhat reason. My hubby is her slave.. haha.. lucky he came home early but he's also down with flu, caught from his beloved son.

garfield, there's really terrible twos one. So far all the 4 kids in my parents' place went thru this phase.

Ah ger, your sis giving birth soon rite? You still haven decide on A's care-giving part.

Catz, thanks... I'll look for the book.
For my case, it's my hb who is softer so I'm always the bad guy to my kids.

Hihi catz and gig... thanks for such a good recommendation! Bot so many books for her but never thot of getting something like that for her. Will try to look out in bookshop or online. Thanks thanks!!!

catz, wow your bil is so tall!

terrible twos
I think A is officially in this phase. When we asked him to do things that he does not like, he will create such a fuss, like crying, stamping his feet, made it impossible for you to carry or hold him. We made a mistake (AGAIN!) of bringing him out from 1pm to 9pm last night and the poor boy cant eat, cant sleep and therefore was super cranky. Told hb that we had to bring him back but he insisted that we can trained his son..my goodness, I had such a tough time!

My cough is getting worse, cant stop coughing today, so much so that my tummy hurts at the side.

gig, do u take antibiotics now that you are pregnant? actually the doctor told me to take antibiotics cos I have been coughing every month, each time I recovered after taking the cough syrup but doc said this seems like recurring and I will have to take antibiotics to clear it once and for all. How??

garfield

cherish also cling to me and refuse to come down and play most of the time. on rare times when she is feeling brave or happy enuff then she will venture abit.

regarding being "frighten" , actually i do believe they need sometime to get over it. u noe yesterday my mom brought cherish to the shopping mall where she attended her weekend playgroup , upon reaching the car park, she told my mum "scared scared" ..I withdrew her for almost a mth, yet she can still remember. If i sing the songs she learnt from school, she will stop me.

just to clarify,

cherish plays with those four to five pc puzzles, but sometimes she knows where to put the pieces, but cant really aim..i got to help her along.

i guess she learns from my little cousins.. every sat, my little cousin will "teach" her new things, be it good or bad.

jelly,
YX & her cousin really haf some resemblance..all fair fair, siwen siwen looking one...keke...v sweet to haf cousins around the same age! so at least got playmate..

you got tell her meimei coming soon?? like in your tummy?? so she will share the happiness?? not to worry so much yah....me oso tot tyra will be a duper jealous kid at the beginning..keke

catz,
aiyoh your sis condition really v worrying..although i super admire her persistence, but will it be better to nurse her health bk before she takes care of zac?? dun mean anything negative..juz dat i feel a rest is to go further..

chocbabe,
if its difficult to tell your in laws...why not let your hb tok to them?? coz its always easier to do so...maybe phrase it in a more "diplomatic" manner..dat they are oredi a handful wif ryan, a part time maid would be great to ease some of the cleaning...and ironing of clothes..will be good if somebody can iron everything once a week!!...so juz say its your selfish reason lor....

i believe coz they sold everything and moved in wif you guys...old folks generally oso feel insecure...they wan to feel "useful" and "irreplaceable" yah...haf to reassure them oso lor...though i not the expert in ding so..

cherry, jelly,
think i am doing a lousy job in disaplining tyler...he's rebellious..hb say i allowed it to happen...thinking of buying the cane liao...

during maid's absence..tyler gained 2 kg...maid came bk and exclaimed how come tyler so heavy...he's close to 15kg!! got a back "sprain" on shoulder area carrying him..keke

Morning, mummies!

Jelly, so sorry... to recommend vicks to you... didn't know it is not suitable for kids below 3... Luckily,you havent tried it on your gal yet and really thank mummies here for their advice

Morning all....

GOG, dun worry! We are all here to share experiences. My gal's cough seems like almost clear liao last nite, so i didn't put anything on her.

babe... u feed my future SIL so well ha? Now he outweigh Ah Xi liao wor... haha... U are misled that the two of them are siwen, heee.... Especially the younger cousin, she moves a lot and very active. But she is super duper cute and always smiling!!!

I have told Ah Xi on her meimei after the 1st tri and she knows fairly well meimei is inside, as everytime she sees my tummy she will point and say "meimei". At nite she will kiss and nite nite to her meimei. Whenever ppl ask her where is meimei, she will point to my tummy. Hope she will be like tyra to tyler...

babe what did u feed tyler? put on 2kg in 2 weeks? I wish A can be like that. Yesterday mil said my son is so so disciplined when it comes to food dun even rubbish that they tried to feed him, only eat his two bowls of porridge and drink milk daily. actually thats not true cos he eats fries when we are out. Think he just doesnt like the cakes and pastry stuff that my inlaws tried to feed him.

i also thinking of buying cane.

garfield, your mum dun like zz to be in cc? my mil is asking me to send A to cc earlier every single time but too bad we are still on waitlist so its not that i do not want

GOG, I just emailed you!
Drugstore arrived last night already.

Yah babe, what did you feed Tyler huh? Took me 2 months to let Timo gain 1kg. Now he's 15.1kg.. haha.

Cane - very good.. Beth is ultra frightened of cane. She calls it 'pain-pain'.

Giggler - you bad guy? can't believe it man....

tat's alot of posts for one day...

cane and terrible 2s..
err i still hesitate on canes, i just ignore him whenever he throws a tantrum or just pick him up tightly and hold onto him.. a lot of embarassment in resturants at times, when he cried uncontrollably and dun wanna his porridge.. i just let him cry n cry until i cannot tahan and carry him out.. then no more food for him. i learnt to be smart.. must make sure he is hungry before i go into a resturant and eat.. so that he will sit in his highchair and eat his food. :p.. i think they understand what we r saying lar, just tat at that moment, they chose not to.. give them a moment and let them cool down.. (i think they r smart oso lor, will choose to "Act blur" when they r not in a good mood")..

catz
i dunno how ur sis does it...just went through a surgery immediately after birth and insisting on TBF..i know ur family dun believe in confinement.. but how abt just this once? since she's oredi soooo weak? do it ur own way lar... u and ur mum cooks more of those confinment foods for her ;).. and no cold drinks lar.

garfield
can ur mum handle 2 kiddos at one time? will she compromise the safety or well being of one in order to look after another?

fat babe
did u happens to lose 2 kg so that tyler puts on 2? hhahahaa u must be feeding tyler junk foods right right? talking abt rebellious, my mum and maid told me Qy Only up to his funny tricks when me and hb at home, otherwise he's alright.

jas
i saw those sibling books in amazon oso..
i think some r simple board books suitable for ah-xi.. ah-xi is one of my fav babies in this thread leh... soooo fair n sweet... (i bet she's one of the favourite for most in this thread). the videoclip of her playing piano sooo funny.. testing with one finger.. playing in full force.. and going towards u when she's done.. soooo cute..

the webcam
in the end i did nothing lar, just a fit of anger that nite... but his behavior turned alright over the weekend when i was ard... just a day's event of beating me.. though i really dun trust the maid.. but will try to spot check more often.. think i simply NATO :/

cherry, stella, thxs for sharin yr experience... at least i not alone... i thot zz is weird child cos my mum say my nephew dun behave this way, she keep pinpting the cc experience...

stella, ya maybe take time for him to gain back our trust. whenever he in new place, he now dun wanna go down cos prob he scare we "abandon" him.

last nite i official use cane liao. he was crying non stop n didn't wan to sleep.keep pting outside. then keep askin for maid when maid is bz. earlier he was askin for me when i need to bath. i gave him milk, he keep sayin dun wan n push away. so i grab the cane n bang onto his play pen.i told him to stop crying n he stop...

smurfy, i try to ignore but everyone is staring at us... so malu. i also try to go to restaurant when he is hungry. but he doesn't wan to eat... at most few scoops... then he will start to whine n get out of high chair. nowadays after several tries if he doesn't wan to eat, i dun coax him liao... i just eat my food lor.

u know my mum n sis still go n brainwash my nephew tat ccs is v bad place to go... so when he heard my son goin (i think they told him if he noti he be goin there), my nephew call me n scold me