(2007/02) February

haha smurfy...

think tyler and QY can shake hands le...wild child..dats wat hb say too...he calls him sam seng...

Fatbabe, Smurfy..I find the toddler strap aka "leash" rather useful..its good for mothers who dont use strollers..cos I notice one of my fren who doesnt use a stroller or strap her tod roams around while she window shops..n a few times she disappeared among the aisle..I so scared for her leh..once tod gets lost that's it..very traumatic for kid n mother leh..so like PVL said better safe n embarrased by frowns/stares from strangers than sorry when yr tod gets lost.

I've used the wrist strap on Yael..he prefers that than us holding his hand..more comfortable.

I saw some cute body straps in Taka baby dept, with the soft toy attached..more fun to use..go check it out mummies!

I prefer to let Yael be in stroller or in a shopping trolley if I need to shop so that he cannot run n take stuff off shelves..I simply do not allow him to do this..cos it becomes habit..he'll think its ok to do tat..if I dont bring stroller I wont shop! Haha. I just cant handle him at the same time..not like last time can put him in the sling!

i dun even have the chance to hold his hands!!!! whahahahaahha. k, will check out the wrist lease from kiddy palace first.

i, is embarrassed sooo many times oredi, when his body cheong too fast and he ended on the floor
.. haiz.. this boy oredi sprained his left and right leg before..

but this one no elastic like PVL's...so dunno if the kiddos will trip...think i should juz ignore wat hubby say and go ahead to buy..wakakakaka...

gd day to all....

wah new news again? CONGRATS Jojo!

I'm playing the waiting game again tis mth.. so sicko of it. Bt yet I m contemplating whether to use the contraceptive pills.... *headache*

Charis, hehehe… I was abt to recommend the body straps with soft toy attached.

smurfy, then you better get the leash, it'll be so dangerous if he run out to the road.

jojo, CONGRATS!!!

Ah ger, how's your fishing??? Stress with the waiting game?

Gig - haiz.......... tat one arh......... sad story.... email u separately.

ha ha ha... my waiting game for my gd fren to cme lah......... every mth just wait for it to knock at my door lor...

jas arr
pat's principal called me up arr. they only have playgrp (ie. 3 yrs old) next year. the earliest they can put him in their center is when he reaches 2 yrs old in Feb but then he will be with most of the 3 yrs old.. i dun think QY is ready... so i told her to put me in a waitlist for perhaps june 09..... otherwise QY will join in at 2010... so meanwhile, he still cheong with his stroller at my mum's place..

smurfy, i thot the playgrp is for 2 years old? That time the principal from the ulu siglap told me they can put Xi to the school before she turns 2, but depends on how mature she is. Some younger ones if mix wif older kids might feel inferior as the older ones can do things which they can't. But some younger kids might think he/she can do wat the older kids can do. So depends on the kids... I am holding back the idea of sending Xi to school before 2 yo also. Maybe wait till she is 2.5 yo then i send her to the Paper Scissors Stone Montessori which i quite like...

jas
2 yrs old is toddlers class. i oso dun think QY is ready to be with the big big kids hahaha.. let him get used to d-story club and the env first.. and cheong his stroller at home..

wats papers scissor stone? i tot i heard it somewhere before oso?

Jelly,
I am also not planning to send Xinfaye to school so early. They tend to get bullied as they are smaller and don't know how to defence themselves. She have to at least know how to talk to me first

smurfy, oh, i think the ulu siglap branch only have playgroup, nursery and kindergarten. Ya, i feel the same too... hopefully the jubilee park branch will have a d-story club soooon!

papers scissor stone is another kindy near upper changi road. I talked to the person in charge there before (outside the house as I did not make prior appt) and quite like the concept and method of teaching there. But they only take in kids above 2.5 yo. He asked me to call again in june09. Here's the webbie: http://pssmk.com/

Sap, previously we wanted to send Xi to school early cos we dun want her to feel that she is "abandoned" after the arrival of her meimei and hubby wants her to learn to be more independent. But on second thot now, it might be disruptive to her since i will have confinement in JB and may need to put her out of school for 1 or 2 months. So postpone the idea of school for now.

congrats jojo.

wow gals, i realise boys r more notti... fat_babe, smurfy i understand cos i also have a wild boy at home. he can xiao xiao scream n then run around n climb... aiyo like monkey. then can be super sticky too. he doesn't like to sit in trolley. stroller at times when mei mei sit inside! aiyo.

but he likes to play w older kids... prob they give in to him? cos adults will tell them to give way to him mah.

jelly, i have yr thoughts too when i send zz to school but later postpone cos he too early. cos min age is also 18 mths anyway. then i took fat_babe advice to engage him w mei mei at home while i on leave. he noe knows he has mei mei. he do sayang her but of cos there r times he get jealous.

chocbabe, ya, i have engaged my previous confinement lady to help me during the period. Hopefully she won't fly me aeroplane last minute...

garfield, maybe give him more time to be wif meimei first before sending him to school. I dunno how my Xi will react to her meimei when meimei arrives. I hope she won't be that jealous as last nite i said i want to sing to meimei, she protested and quickly came to my side and lied on me. Haiz...

while u all are worrying abt ur youngsters running here and there, i am trying to encourage my gal to explore on her own.

after her scare at sch plus recent illness, she is practically glued to me, even at home.

recently i think she is also so scared of my hb..whenever my hb talk, she will rush to me..maybe cos my hb was a bit fierce to her..

Yesterday, my son refuse to go to bed and kept screaming and crying for his yeye and mama in the bedroom. I lost my patience and carried him out of the room and told him "since you want yeye and mama, you stay outside, mummy wants to sleep already", then i closed the door....

Then that guy started crying for mummy.... haha, then after that stuck to me like koala bear and fell asleep immediately... so happy cos MUMMY RULES!

oh well our kids seems to start havin mood swing...

i also dunno y. i still give him the same amt of concern. i def spend lesser time w mei mei. tat i feel abit remorse. last nite i try carrying her n cuddle her. then zz came along n wan me to hug him. mind u my hb carryin him liao. aiyo. think i need to split into 2.

then maid came over n wan to make him go sleep in rm. after a while, she came back w him n told me "he wants to find u"

then i thot he wans to be outside rm only. but once i take over, he gesture me to go rm. so i ended up had to make him sleep. haha i happy tat he wans me more than maid, but sometimes can be tired.

but last nite he throw tantrum again n i super angry. i pumpin halfway n he came in. i tell him to come to my lap as i can't really move. he didn't do it n instead pull off my tube from machine! i told him to give me back tube, he refuse n then i scold him harshly n loudly. he cry immed n was so loud tat he woke up mei mei n mei mei cry even louder! so paiseh. whole neighbourhood heard us.

my boy hor... likes to play w/ anybody & everybody... bt he also likes to bully everybody....

He has bn climbing onto the sofa & jump onto my niece's stomach, then my sotong niece just laid tare screaming in pain! So notti leh.......... scold him liao he still think it's funny. Tat day just used the bamboo stick to hit my dad! @#$%^&*(

Mine def can't sit still. As for older kids giving in to him, nt true lor... hb's niece & nephews always push him out of the rm cos he only know hw to wreak havoc.. the moment c him inside I will hear "didi u dun cme in........." *faint*

Bt when gng hme time, all 3 or 4 kids will start holding hands 2gether & walk to the lift & to the carpark to collect the cars. He can even wave gdbye to us when we say he goes back w/ them... he said ok!

Any idea if playgrps can hv tpt arranged to send them to & fro? will they allow 2yr old toddler to board the tpt w/o a parent except the bus asst auntie?

Chocbabe..Oh dear..Yup MUMMY RULES! Toddler tantrums are among the worse to handle! But looks like u got the hang of it..hehe!

Ah ger..Are there such school bus service? SO young can ride bus w/o parents meh? Dont think so leh..I think not so safe..plus the poor todd sure got some anxiety.
Personal opinion..I never like school buses..cos the young mix with the older kids..learn lots of bad habits, even foul language..in school they may pick up all these..but plus school buses..that's DOUBLE "bad stuff".

hi Charis

I dun like sch buses also.. bt if they do hv, i'll prob gv it a thought.

yest told mum abt the cc dwnstairs, heard feedback the teachers always scold the kids one... then better ones & nt extremely expensive ard the neighbourhood all taken up. Then left w/ those which r pretty exp....

i told mum we tot of maid + PG bt of cos no budget so idea out. Then mum said, if really can't find, y nt put A at a PG near her hse, then arrange for tpt? Bt I told her, for 2yr old todd dun think hv bah.... wasn't v sure though, so i tot ask u mummies if u've ever heard of. My coll's gal 3yrs old has bt 2yrs old dunno....

ah ger,

i dun think can take school bus though i didn't ask. cos when i was there, the bus came n the teacher came in n say "children school bus is here" n those children auto run out n get their bags n go to bus...

do u think A and zz can do tat?

ah ger, if no choice, put him into full time cc nxt yr. if not it goin to be diff. cos if u put at yr mum place, can she fetch yr son? cos by then got one new born to be taken care n cannot go out. how she goin to manage w 2 kids + bb out?

i know A walks pretty fast bt nt to the extend of running lah....

Full time cc - bt like I said, nt I dun want, jus tat better & nt so exp ones all full. Left with either the v exp ones tat cost like 1k, or those cheaper ones & heard nt so gd feedback.

Dad is available in the day, if I cont to put him tare & IF tare's bus services for todds, then dad can go downstairs & send/ fetch him to & fro.

My niece will b in nursery also bt I m nt sure of the session she's attending.

i c... wat abt near yr hb working area?

if no choice, then maybe see if any good PG really near yr parents house then yr dad can go there n pick up?

we r trying nt to plc it near our workplc, so tat if in anycase we wanna take AL (if we want couple time), we dun hv to purposely travel all the way down.

Hehe.. Question.. where to find good and cheap chili crab??

Got craving of it..

Last time used to go to Jackson Market for chili crab.. but not since the place is gone.. dunno where to satisfy my cravings...

ah ger,

i heard from my neighbours just now.. her grandson childcare (branded one somemore) v chaotic in sch bus arrangement..

just now i saw her waiting for +/- half an hr for her grandson, and another occassion , her grandson board the wrong bus??!!?

i got some reservations on young toddlers taking sch bus alone

Ah ger..Wah it seems everywhere the childcare ctrs and PGs all full house..By the way, does yr mum live near yr place? They can fetch A to n fro school right? Guess u just hav to decide on the school..then go on wait list first..u never know sometimes parents withdraw their kids..so may have space for A.

HI mommies,
Just want to ask if any mommies is using Pampers Active Baby(purple colour packaging) L(38pcs) n XL(34pcs)? Cos I have a few Ls and XLs to let go at :
L(38pcs)-$20/-
XL(34pcs)-$18/-
Int, pls sms or call me at 91451454

Hope all is well... busy with marking! tonnes of it! anyone wants to help???

After reading all your posts about our kiddos and the terrible two, I am thankful that Julian hasn't shown much of his defiance and rebellion
(Keeping my fingers crossed)He is relatively an easy boy. The only difference that I realised is his recent separation anxiety. He used to be able to attend Sunday School on his own for about 2 months. However, the past 2 weeks, he has been cranky and cried a bit before the teachers could settle him down. It's kind of strange cos I always think that he is coping and adapting well to the class. In fact, he was a model student to many teachers for the 1st 2 months when he was alone

Now, I am only worried about his language development... seems real slow... but not rushing him into it still... so far, only 'ah' for 'car', 'gr...' for 'girl', 'ba boo' for 'bubble','mmmm' for 'moon'. The clearest one is 'Jie jie' for 'my maid' (first word he learnt! Gosh!) and 'daur' for 'door'. That's about it. However, he cant relate these words with the items. (would automatically use these words upon seeing the items. won't call out to my maid also. We prompt then he repeats.)

yesterdae was soooo tiring for me..started work & came bk to jagar the kids..maid reach home at 11.20..and took care of the kids right away..they "rattle & update" sooo much to her..

but this morning tyler still wans me to put on uniform for him...dun wan maid..poor thing..but no reason to stop him from CC also hor?!?! think he will be stimulated when he's there...wif all the songs and dance..

GOG,
keke...dun worry so much about the linguistic part yeah..julian is a smart boy..at least he know wat to say when he sees them..its very fast..once they start..cannot stop...the doc say dat boys will start yakking at about 2yo...tyler juz started recently..yakking lots of nonsense too...

babe, ur maid is finally back!!!

Sigh.... My gal is getting rebellious starts from this week! Dunno is it due to her fever last weekend, and still having some cough now. Stella, my happiness on her independence was shortlife too, as now she back to her koalaness to me, even worse, when i drive, she will want me to hold her hands and/or hug her! How to do that when i drive? So i just let her cried all the way home. haiz...

Then yday she refused to hug my aunt, uncle and cousin b4 she left with me. Normally she will do it happily and must hug each of them several times b4 she left. Dunno why...

i think all our kids r goin thru a phase... at least i knoe i not alone... i thot he hyper active or havin problems.

gog, it good tat he is guai guai. mine keep yakkin nonstop. even when he not tokin, he will make many noise or scream happily. i dun know y his voice can be so loud. no wonder he drink lots of water. but of cos a noisy boy is better than an extremely quiet boy. kids r mend to be active lor.

gog,

wow he calls yr maid jie jie? she young? wow she must be v happy. zz calls my maid auntie normally.

btw, gals, do yr kids follow wat u say unconsiously? cos there was once we keep callin my nephew his name Dxxx... then later while they are walking together, he calls his name instead of "gor gor" or biao ger. now we also careful of not sayin wrong words cos he will say it later.

garfield
yes yes... he loves to follow my mum's words.. call my father "ah bui" -_-'

fat babe
yeah! ur worries unfound. ur maid's back. everything back to normal.

jas
what happened to ah-xi.. why is she sooo insecure? so much talks about the child care and caregivers arrangment for the kiddos.. but i really think u gotta have a tough time ahead
u think u will be able to be a SAHM?

gOg
but .. but... julian is finally starting to say words... just let him be and dun put too much pressure for him.. see, he was doing well in his sunday sch..

ah ger
as what charis says.. put A in PG or CC u likes..at least their waitlist.. so, sooner or later, one will call u up :p

sunsweet
how abt AMK Melben? still ard? ehhh why craving? u preggie issit?

i think QY will be a lil complaint king next time. this moRning his lil school bus dropped onto his leg.. and he cried.... after he cooled down, he showed me the spot.. held onto his lil school bus.. and said "bombed" and points to the floor kekeke..

smurfy, QY so cute... can express himself very well!
Hei... i also dunno why she is always so unsecure. Actually she shows some improvement a few weeks ago but since last weekend when she has fever then she starts to get real cranky and like to throw temper. I wonder is it due to the medicine? Seriously, i dun think i can be a sahm to look after the kids 24 hours. Think both me and the kids will go crazy. I am too impatient sometimes...

garfield, ya ya... Xi likes to repeat what we say and she likes to listen to adults' conversation. So we have been very careful when speak in front of her.

Sunsweet..
craving?? good news from you?? haha
Anyway I also have craving for chilli crab lately. My hubby promise to get it for me for my bday next week. Initially he say can only have 1 cos he already bought me a diamond ring, but that day my hse downstairs offer $15 for 3 crabs (small). So hopefully, the offer still available... When I had Ryan, I had lots and lots of chilli crab throughout the pregnancy cos my aunt's maid can cook chilli crab.

Grace,
Dun worry abt Julian. Boys usually slow in speech development. My cousin also spoke very late when he was a baby, but now also doing well in Catholic High.

Tell me about marking! I'm literally buried in my markings. My papers came in yesterday and I have 6 classes
gonna burn midnight oil tonight.

Mummies, thanks for the assurance
No pressure from our side but just wondering why he is a little slow... what more? He was attending a 5 month course with me at RELC while in my tummy. so to many, he was actually acquiring language already cos the lecturers talked and talked and talked non stop! Hahaha!

Oh, one clarification, he CANT relate words to items, only can pronounce the words when told...

Garfield, he calls maid 'jie jie' right from the start. maid also happy cos she will be younger like this mah... she is 24. Yah yah, I agree with you that kids are not kids when they are quiet

And ah, me gonna pop over to your dad's shop to stock up my chinese herbs and all... Hope your dad will give me a discount but I mustn't say I know 'Garfield' yah?

Chocbabe, $15 for 3 crabs is real cheap... Me too, had loads of crabs when I had Julian
But so many elderly said cannot eat. Who cares and who can resist??? I cant!
Marking is taking up a lot of my time. Let me tell you what I have: 5 sets of upper sec situational writing and 7 sets of upper sec summary! See, can die or not??? I don't know if I could complete them on time actually...

garfield,
My Ben also throws tantrums when he doesn't get what he wants. He'll lie on the ground and make lots of noise and kick around. Must have learnt from jie-jie.
Today he has a runny nose. Vomitted half his breakfast.
Last night for the first time, I put him to sleep on jie-jie's bed. Jie-jie slept on a sleeping bag on the floor. Had to do this cos Ben and Sarah have managed to jump on the cot too many times that they broke the STEEL base. Sent the base to a welder to be repaired. Hope the base can be done by today. If not the sleeping arrangements will be repeated again tonight.
My naughty boy also managed to scratch my hb's precious piano with a fork or something. Dunno how he managed to get to the piano beneath the protective vinyl cover, and so high up some more.

zz is still young lah, don't expect him to follow instructions yet. I'm sure he'll be able to listen to instructions by the time he's 2.
Ben can repeat what we say quite clearly. He's also very demanding.. "I want..." Learnt from jie jie also.

sunsweet,
Chilli crab - go to the corner of Still Road and Koon Seng Road. Famous coffee shop selling chili crab. ONly problem, parking.

GOG,
At least Julian can still say some words. Don't worry lah. Don't think it's a prob. Some kids are just a little slower in certain areas. I'm sure he's perfectly fine. He'll catch up soon enough and then you'll want him to shut up. If you're unsure, have you had him assessed by a speech or language therapist?