(2007/02) February

babe... I hope they are good. Will try to find out more this afternoon. Ya, fees are rather ex... full day for childcare is S$1100, and full day for infant care is $1500 (ration of 1:3 for infant). Imagine next year we PR no longer entitled to the subsidy. Gotta pay full price.
But my aunt just told me she is gg to ask her other neighbour who has babysit before whether willing to babysit meimei or not. Hopefully she willing loh, then can save half of the amount.

Would like to ask if you wash toddler's face with anything other than water? Lately, Xinfaye have been having rashes on her chin. I have been washing only with water. Sometimes I noticed her mouth area can be quite oily after food. Is it okay to leave it as water won't remove the oil.

catz, my hb was at paddock club accompanying VVIPs but i was at the grandstand, cant afford paddock
haha, i liked the way alonso treated the cocky guy when he went forward to congratulate him. as for ferrari, they are such sore losers, said our track is a circus track, well unfortunately, they were the clowns. Am thinking if i should continue my support for such a team. luckily didnt wear my kimi t-shirt that day, he was such a disappointment.

hey u doing any other spree or not? ON/GAP?? I very long never buy stuff oreadi...

Jelly,
Did you receive my PM?

Saph,
I wipe Ben's mouth with water, but at bath time, I will wash his face with the QV that I use for the rest of his body. Maybe Xinfaye is teething and has extra saliva these days, so that might cause rash around the chin.

PVL, loooong time no see
How's everything with you? Should meet up for lunch but I think Milkie no time since her parents are here to wait for TR's arrival and to be her slave.. hehe.

cherry, waaaah Paddock CLub.. woot.. I saw my friend's photos from Paddock Club. *drool* Yeah Ferrari really one kind. Honestly when Massa drove off with the tubing, it was so surreal.

Sprees ah- Drugstore, you want? Quick quick, better stock up on Desitin for your impending arrival. ON/Gap, just missed one round of sale, prob not so soon. Will prob do a spree for party stuff in Nov, 'cos I'm planning a combined party for the 2 kids in Jan.

Saph, forgot to add, yes I do wash their faces with soap when I bathe them but I use California Baby wash, very gentle.

Catz, yes! but wondering when the expiry dates would be. Possible to check? My sis and sister in law due next yr so thought wanna order for them

If expiry dates is after 2009, then no problem. Please help with the following:

i) 9 tubes of Desitin Creamy (blue packaging) and
ii) 9 sets of First Teeth (toothpaste and toothbrush)

Need the url addresses for the above?

catz, i just ordered 5 tubes of desitin from another spree, didnt know u were organizing one
MUST SMS me when doing GAP/ON okie!!! thanks!

btw, mummies, should A stay at home tomorrow when the contractors are here to do the grilles and the curtains? (he is coughing, caught from my mil, arrgh...)

GOG, definitely looooong expiry date, like 2011? OK noted! Can probably place order tonight.

cherry, I posted here mahhhhhh... everyone ignore me *sniff*

Yes the grilles will make the whole place dusty and worsen A's cough, better that you and A hide in one room or go somewhere else. Dust no good for the 2 of you.

GOG, I got enough to place orders 'cos I'm ordering those Avent BPA free bottles too. Your total is 9 x USD5.79 for Desitin and 9 x USD4.49 for First Teeth which comes up to SGD138.78. Checking out orders as we speak

busy with cherish these two days..she is donw with viral fever... so scary cos the temp was v high.

now there are spots on her body.. is it false measles?

chocbabe,

i feel that teachers play a big part in childcare.. kinderland provides sch bus rite, maybe u can consider this option?

stella, yes spots are part of the viral fever, poor poor Cherish. How high is the fever now? Keep her cool and dry.. take care yah?

stella,

ya the rashes r caused by the viral fever. try to sponge her as many times as possible. u can also try to let her rest in air-con room for her to cool down.

gals, me noe considerin withdrawin zz from school... last nite he has several nitemares (really inconsolable). not sure if the day event frighten him. he seems more quiet these days too. not like the past. miss his cheerfulness.

mummies! spore biggest kids xmas carnival on Dec 20,21 at suntec hall 602!
with a fair of over 100 vendors and also customised play zones & workshops for kids.

Hi mummies, long time no "chat". Hope all mums and bubs are doing well!

Went to recee 6 childcares on friday. Tiring siah! Narrowed it down to Cherie hearts and Little wonders montessori. Hubby liked Carpe Diem but I thought it was a little too overwhelming. I liked faith montessori cause it's small and cosy but hubby says they don't seem to have a proper syllabus wor... headache. And now Garfield says zz has been less cheerful since he started cc so I'm having 2nd thots abt this whole cc thing again :p

Garfield, wah, so fast maternity leave over already? Princess G is 3 months leow ah? Eh, I thought you were suppose to bring zz over to play with Ethan during your ML? Come leh. Told hubby what u said abt zz being less cheerful and having nightmares. He says it might not be due to the cc. Babies will go through phases one mah. Maybe it's teething or maybe he is still trying to get used to the idea of being a korkor? Does zz attend half or full day cc?

Cherry, sorry, only just saw your question to me :p Yah, Ethan is sleeping in his own room now. For the first week hubby and I took turns sleeping with him. Once he got used to the room, we just left him there alone. Hmmm... he still wakes up sometimes nowadays though. But I'm happy to get my room back :D Can do my "girly" stuff or watch TV in bed after he goes to bed. When he was sleeping with me I had to creep around and tip-toe in the room after 8pm. So inconvenient.

winnie,

i wish i can come during my leave but apparently was too bz w the two kiddos n my pumpin lor. then sep was bz preparing zz for school n since he in school, cannot go yr place mah. also he has been sick... hiaz. now is ok so my hb n I decided to let him rest the whole of nxt week n see if his mood is better.

i dun think it becos of him being a kor kor cos some time b4 he is admitted into cc, he kind of knew he has a mei mei liao. but of cos he get jealous time to time if I carry her. but i will explain to him. he attends full day as half day no 1 can pick him.

G is 2 mths plus noe... not yet 3 mth.... aiya 1 mth is only 28 days so v fast gone.

I thinkin when zz gets better (he still got cough), i bring him swimming. can visit u on wkends?

thankfully, today he is his happy self again. guess i should let him have his own pace. hopefully he behaves himself nxt week.

Childcare,
I've pulled Ryan out of Sparkletots already. Dun think i want to put my son there. We went to see another centre on friday and saturday and have sign him up with another centre. It's called Learning Seeds at PSA club. The program and schedule etc seem better. I have not met the teacher, but the other teachers in the centre gave me quite a good impression.

He is starting today, can't take leave, so hope he fine in school now.

Stella,
Kinderland is in pasir ris, really far from my house at telok blangah, so school bus not very feasible.

Pvl, just replied u.

winnie/garfield/chocbabe, i visited baby planet montessori and pat's at ulu siglap last friday. Not really impressed wif baby planet as the equipment quite run down. Pat's is much better and the principal was really nice and talked and showed us around the place even though we did not make prior appointment. But after talking and sharing wif Pat's principal, we are having 2nd thot of wheather to send Xi to cc now or later. As most likely we will need to withdraw her from the school during my confinement and according to the principal, this might not be good for kids as finally they settle down in school and yet we withdraw her for one month. The past effort might be gone... So most likely will only enrol her after my confinemnt.

This morning my aunt told me her neighbour willing to take care of meimei. So happy! One big headache solve for us.

jas
i think pat's more interested in pre-schoolers.. not childcare ...i oso registered QY for june 09 (hopefully they will open up another class by then otherwise i just wait in their waitlist lor). their idea of d-story club as a transition is good lor... to make sure they r ready for school.. u might want to consider Ah-xi in d-story club if u r confirmed to put ah-xi there..... especially since she's sticky type.. just bring her down there every saturday with u..... then let her see the school surrounding.. walk ard.. familarize... n it will be easier to settle her in after ur confinment ...just remmeber to submit ur registration early lar, some of their branches have long waitlist.. dun wait until last minute otherwise suddenly no place (like kinderland)..

so ur auntie neighbour looking after mei mei... then ur auntie still looking after ah-xi?

morning mummies

jelly, chocbabe, winnie, garf,

seems like most of you are having headache over where to send the kiddos..

got observe how many toddlers are there in the class? actually i really dunno wats the standard of a "good cc" and a inferior one le...maybe coz i nvr really looked at the curriculum..for me..its like...muz be within walking dist..

do they haf "straight" route?? meaning from childcare...going on the k1, k2...coz its best not to "disrupt" their environment??

but i think i am quite lucky..the teachers at tyty's cc are very friendly..while waiting for us to fetch them..they will cuddle and tok to them..including the "principal"...maybe it helps coz the classes are relatively small..tyler's class 6 toddlers..for the 18 months to 24 months...then from the 24 months to 36 months..there's about 9 toddlers..

but not all are teachers..there are aunties and other "teacher's helper"..

jelly,
my experience was...i kept tyra at home to look after didi for 2 months..then keep telling her..she big jiejie...means she haf to go school..learn more things and haf more frens...she was 28 months old then...but she understood and gladly went...

another "school" say..you should send the kids in for a start..so it dun seem dat the new baby come..and you dump her in CC...so it may be good to start YX on a half day program first??...or send her to those "tou tou class" for 2 hours a day?? juz to get the idea of "learning"

sorry ar v long winded

smurfy ah... that's wat i thot too! The pat's principal suggested me to enrol her to the d'storey club wif the halifax branch since they provide both infant and childcare services as well. She also think my logistic is a big issue. But halifax is a bit out of my way, and now since i dun have to look for an infant care centre, so i am waiting for the jubilee branch which is near my house to call me when their d'storey club will start and enrol her. Ya, my aunt will still look after Xi for me, and will keep a look out for meimei since the neighbour's house is just a few units beside hers.

babe ah... Our initial school of thot is the 2nd one as Xi is a very sensitive kid, so we don't want her to think we abandon her after #2 arrive and that's why we initially thot of sending her to school b4 the arrival of meimei. But then now we are thinking if send her now will it be too disruptive for her if we keep her at home for 1 or 2 months during my confinement. I do think it will take her awhile to adjust to school life. Else, maybe we only send her to school when she is older like 2.5 years old. So my plan now is to send her to once a week d'storey club at pat's (which last for 10 weeks), which by the end of the sessions, i am abt to pop liao, then after my confinement or later on only send her to school.

jelly, happy for you tat you solved your #2's care-giver's prob

fat_babe, you're lucky that Tyler's sch's teacher-student ratio is small.

choc, Sparkletots really that bad??? Hope Ryan get used to new sch without your accompany.

Jelly..Hey i know Pat's principal..my fren..almost ended up working there..haha.
Glad tat yr plans are slowly working out!
Yes I think taking her out of school after she has adjusted can be disruptive..cos after tat its another round of separation anxiety when u send her back to school again.

Fatbabe..Think its up to the parents..some parents want tods to play..lessons are not so important..but others want the tods to learn ABCS , 123 etc by the time they 3yo. I prefer a play based curriculum for tods below 3yo.
Others look for physical environment- old/run-down ctr vs new ctr. Haha..not easy to choose a good ctr actually right..but like u I guess I'll go for one that is not too far away.

Thanks gig... It really solves us a big issue.

Babe, ya.... tyler's teacher-student ratio is pretty good. Baby planet the ratio is 1:8 and Pat's is abt 1:7.

charis, u know the principal at the ulu siglap? She looks very young and very friendly. Most importantly she willing to spare time and listen to us and share wif us her thot. Oh, so she was the one who invited u to join the school the other time!
Ya, we also feel it will be too disruptive for her.

jelly,
ur aunt's neighbour is the one with the cat issit?? safe anot? Where u doing ur confinement by the way? Singapore or JB?

fat_babe,
Yah, distance is impt to me too, cos i not the one bringing, my in-laws have to find it convenient. That's why we chose sparkletots initially cos it's just next block.

Charis,
I also prefer more curriculum based one.

Just called the school, he is doing well so far. Didn't cry at all. Ate all his lunch and playing with 2 boys when i called.

Jelly..Yup she's nice, was rather understanding to my situation too..she's still in her 20s..like me lah..hehe..so "proud" to be still considered young..wahahaha!
Unfortunately cant work there, if so I had to put Yael at Baby Planet or with a nanny too..I like the work hours..more flexi for mothers with kids..But my hb was not convinced..he prefers me to be full time sahm..plus I dont like to get my kid up so early, send off to nanny/infant care..I prefer an afternoon arrangement cos I find I can do alot at home or have excursions with Yael in the morning part.

chocbabe, no, this is a different neighbour, not the previous one wif pet. She has babysit before sometimes back before her gal starts school. My aunt suddenly thot of asking her, and she agrees.
Glad to know ryan is doing well at his new school. Did he say he miss his old school teachers and frens? Good that he has no problem to adjust to new environment.

charis, both of u 20s only, definitely young loh. I am 30s liao.
My hubby is opp of ur hubby. He thinks i am not able to be sahm as he thinks i will lost my temper easily and scold and beat the kids. Argh....

jas/charis
i think quality time more impt than quantity time leh. if u spend one full day with ur child but ends up losing ur temper more often than not, better off that u are working and spend ur few hrs bonding with ur child after work. but if u r the type who can spend whole day with ur child, then it's the best lor...

charis
u may wanna check with ur friend ie the principals.. some of their branches have afternoons programs onli leh? maybe the teachers oso flexi hrs?

chocobabe
ur ryan always seems to settle easily in a new env. good for u.

fatbabe
tyra is another independent kid ;)... gd for u oso..

yesterday was maid's day out.. and hb not feeling well... still can manage the whole day at home lar.. but really not my cuppa tea leh.. ends up all sweaty and smelly :pPPp... and gets pissed off with QY who keeps looking for food when he just finished eating.. he oso gets impatient with me hahaha.... and cries for the slightest thing n i continued to ignore him... but end of the day, he's more sticky to me ..

fat babe, how;s ur 2nd week of home alone?

LV ratio is also not bad, just that I find zz not ready yet. that is y i dun wan to force him. he now become more frightened of strangers and crowded places. he is not like that b4.

I called up the P today n she understands. she also tell me that zz doesn't cry in school. in fact he do smiles and play. They have an online website for parents to view their school activities. I can view zz there.

actually if zz remains there, he can stay till he is in k2. all the teachers there quite friendly (except one but not his teacher). some of the older kids there also like him.

garfield,
u thinking of withdrawing zz from LV?

My in-laws went to peep at him today in school, they saw him saying hello to another boy. Quite cute.

Talking abt strangers, Ryan love touching and talking to strangers. When we have meals in restaurant, he will try to get the attention of the next table.... by calling uncle/aunty and he won't give up till they respond.

chocbabe,

Ryan loves school. i dun know if zz likes. he dun answer when we ask him nowadays lor.

he now v suspicious... i not sure if it cause by school. he do smile at strangers but lesser now. but when he smiles n respond to people, they say he is v cute. n when we ask him to say hello to our friends or neighbours, he has this blank look. quite worryin lor. wonder wat he is thinkin.

childcare

chocobabe, Are all sparkletots the same?
Coz we are considering to put my elder boy in next year (K1), juz below my block.

Actually i dun like the idea but my hb say that it's cheaper compare to the current one he is attending.

garfield, when my boy was 18mos in LV, he is also quiet and cry alot, he doesn;t like school. When we mention "school", he cries, we thok he had been bullied (but later to find out that yes he had been bullied). I duno why but he seems too young for school coz he is a year end baby.

garfield
could it be a stage? QY oso gives a blur look nowadays.. seldom wave hello or bubyee...sorry i might have missed out, but is zz as cheery at home as well? does he behaves differently when meimei ard? could it be jealousy? invasion of wat he used to own/has (ie. all of u/hb/maid's love n care n attention).. that's why he started to be wary of things ard him. ehh u going be back at work soon right? u gotta settle things fast fast,, otherwise u r suddenly missing from him again... ask ask charis,, she's the expert..

bitbit arr
i think it all depends on the branches itself lor? e.g. heard so much raves abt MMIs, but not so much of the one near my place.. :p. then fat babe oso enrolled tyra at a cc which is situated under void deck,but everyone's happy?

smurfy, yup when i ask him to say hello or bye bye, he nowadays give me tat blank look like i tokin Arabic words to him.

he is rather happy at home. he will scream and run. but when i go into mei mei room, he will follow me then wan me to hug lor. he either sayang mei mei or pull her legs... haha. i not sure it becos teethin... aiyo his molars take forever.

i think he rebelous... when i tell him dun touch somethin, he will insist. so prob when i tell him to say hello he reject too. cos just the other day, he wave goodbye to a little girl in the shoppin mall. well I didn't tell him too lor. he a noti boy la.

i back at work liao. so i really confused to whether to continue w LV.

bitbit, is this y u withdraw yr son?

bitbit,
I am not sure abt other sparkletots. My friend put his son at sparkletots bedok. Seems fine i think...

I think even if it is a reputable CC, alot still depends on the teacher with them...

garfield,
yes, yes, pls come by with zz one of these days. Weekends are fine too

Are you still pumping at work? Must be tough juggling work , zz and little G... if you withdraw zz from cc, can your maid handle both kids?

chocbabe,
your ryan's so cute. Think he is one of the more "mature" babies here. Don't give his mummy much problems. Do you know the sex of your #2 yet? Does ryan understand he is going to be a korkor?

charis,
think you are right...different parents haf different priorities...depending on which "wins". I am honestly quite relax about it..hopefully my relac attitude will not affect their potential..

chocbabe,
think if distance is a issue..maybe consider putting him in a same CC for 2 weeks?? dats usually the "test period"...everyday tyler is very teary in the morning and in the evening too...but principal say..he is good boy during the day..but ryan is a duper baby..think he will be able to adapt...

smurfy,
yupz..i am quite lucky dat tyra is quite sensible..my end of second week....its terrible..tyler juz went to sleep at 11.30PM...haf been getting later everyday..in the morning i try to drag him up to school..he's a zzz monster..honestly i am losing my patience...but again..i am happy to witness him learning many things..like using fork and spoon although its a huge mess...

I am going bk to work on wednesday...but i haf this nagging feeling dat my maid dun come bk..its a 50/50....coz all her stuff are here...but she ask me to tt $200 bk...me oredi loan her $250..not e money issue..but if she dun come bk..will totally disrupt my work...coz i oredi running dry of leave..

garfield,
tyler is having behavioural problem as well...he will "emo" when he wans...all of sudden screaming and sticking to me..but to strangers..he is still frendly...and he acts up frequently...somethng which i hate..he will sit on the floor and whine...till i pick him up...if i dun give him wat he wans..he will roll on the floor...which makes me wan to slap him...but of coz i nvr..only spank him on the hand..

it could be the beginning of terrible twos?!?!?!

jelly,

i think its a good time to start in dat case...i remember me flaring up at tyra when i was on maternity leave...coz i was losing sleep..and she attention seeking..will drive me crazy...so if lets say you intend to send YX in..mite as well let her continue half day or e few hours in school..give you some "breather" also...then you can be "nicer" to her when she's back from school...

giggler,
yah i heng...tink tyler gets quite abit of attention in school..coz he's e youngest...principal say he's e first 2007 bb to be there...but he haf this bad habit now..he lurves to run to the toilet to see the boys pee pee....and then hor...put his hand into the toilet bowl...ewwwww....so usu by the time i got to school...he's usually bar in a play area..with a aunty muahahah...in case he run to the toilet again...

Winnie,
I dunno the sex of #02 yet, Should be able to know during my next gynae appt on 28th Oct. I'm now 14 weeks.

Honestly, Ryan has been a really easy baby/child since birth. Everything was easy, didn't have any crying non-stop problems in the beginning, feeding well, very adaptable to any changes e.g when we intro pacifier, and took it away after afew months, he never make much noise also. Learning also quite fast. So my hubby and I quite scared #02 will be very different and scared we might not be able to shower him/her enough love and attention.

The only thing I remember got problem is he had rashes during the 1st week of birth due to usage of Johnson baby bath, and maybe now cos he still only got 8 teeth.. hehe

fat_babe, wat happen to yr maid? I also miss posting.

zz behaves exactly like tyler.. is it a phase? if he wans soemthing, he keeps whining, like opening a box. which he can open himself. but he just keep whinin until u buay tahan so u go over to open. then he will laugh uneasily. then he likes to roll on the floor too for no reason. but there once i saw a little boy in school doin tat too.
tell him dun stand on chair, he purposely stand n smile. then crowded places he refuse to walk n insist i carry. the worst part is he only wan me so i very tired carrying him around for few hrs! my hb is v happy cos he dun wan him carry.

i just hope mei mei dun like him...

winnie, yesterday my maid say he got nitemares during his nap too. n seems abit jealous of mei mei. cos got 1 time she ask if she can check on mei mei, zz reply "no". then she ask if she go together w him instead and then he agreed. he also v noisy n mei mei could not sleep well. then when i come back, i bring him to playground n he v happy. he attention seeker lor.

in cc, he also one of the youngest. tat y first 2 weeks v focus him cos he wan to hug. then slowly teachers let him down so that he can mix around.

fat babe
ur maid just on home leave right? dun worry too much.. shld be coming back lar..since her stuffs are here. if she doesn't, jolly well throw them all out kekekee

garfield
yah, think the transition for zz too sudden. he started cc onli after meimei pops out right? he was a very cheery kiddo last time right? maybe gotta give him more attention... n let the maid handle mei mei moree...

while u mummies complain ur kiddos still want to carry, i worry that QY just wanna cheong on his own... he runs away from me in resturants (can glides through the chairs real fast).. he refuses to hold onto my hand in shoppng malls, he runs abt in crowded shopping malls.. he insists on walking on his own in carparks (aka running).. now he even wants to cross the road on his own (but that i carry him tight tight while he struggle when we cross the road).... if u see a crazy mummy running after her kid in shopping mall just in case he knocks into transparent glasses or dashes onto the escalators, that's me

chocbabe, garfield,

my maid went bk indon for 2 weeks to celebrate hari raya..coming bk tml evening...

chocbabe,
dun worry...u will definitely find enuff luff to shower #2..

garfield,
yah exactly...the kids are "challenging" us...u dun wan them to do...they purposely do...me at wits end liao...

smurfy,
initially tyler was like dat...i oso worry..many times i "imagine" him running on to the roads when nobody watching...when QY is like dat..really haf to keep him in sight..coz they dunno the dangers around...

does he still wan to be in stroller?? for me..i try to "keep" him in stroller till he wanna climb out and "own activity"

me ever tot of buying the leash...coz everybody was saying...dashing kid..safer wif a leash...but hubby says NO...haiz..

smurfy,
Get a leash for QY. Ben (and Sarah too last time) is the same. He will squat or sit down on the floor to try and wrench his hand away from mine. Like I torture him or something. Anyway, now in tricky situations, we use a leash. Better safe and embarrassed than sorry. I have a wrist one which is elastic. Bought for around $7 from Kiddy Palace.

garfield, that's the phase of terrible 2 ba. Sherwin also throwing more tantrums nowadays. He likes to put his face down on the floor and cry when things are not gg his way. We usu ignore him when he did that.

PVL
how exactly will a leash work? if the child runs, it will holds back the child? but then will it hurt the wrist / back? or causes the child to fall down?

fat babe
everytime when he runs, i oso scared he falls foreward, coz his body is faster than the legs. i dun use stroller since he started walking. if i bring stroller out, then another set of problem coz when he's bored in the stroller and gets out... he will be busy pushing the stroller...

sometimes i think i got a wild child... haiz..last week, he runs in supermarket.. and before i caught hold of him, he threw a tomato (tot it's a ball) from his hand and ended up underneath the shelf...

smurfy,
The leash is attached to his wrist. It is a very strong elastic. When he runs away, it will feel tighter and tighter, not suddenly tight. So he will gradually get gently pulled back to you. You can tug on the leash to let him know you want him to come back. You can hold the leash shorter or longer as you wish. It should not hurt the wrist. Shouldn't be the cause if he falls down cos it's elastic mah.