(2007/02) February

Grace,
Hmmmm, your boy is able to understand and follow instructions in a few languages, I think there is nothing to worry about lah. It's when they don't respond at all that you start to worry. But, yes, maybe if by 2 he doesn't speak at all, then send him for an assessment.

huskie,
So sorry to hear about your bad memories. It's hard when it's your first child. I had a m/c with my 2nd pregnancy, when Sarah was 18 months. Although there are sad memories, I'm still grateful to have had Ben after that. The fear is always there though, even with this pregnancy. However, I'm still going to the same gynae that diagnosed my m/c. He was very matter of fact with the m/c, at first I thought he was rather sullen cos that was my very first visit with him. But later, after everything was over, I realised that he was not like that at all, he probably did not want to appear happy or cheerful then cos my baby was gone. After the m/c was resolved, he was very encouraging and positive, so I stuck with him.

Huskie..Aiyoh..so sorry..yes I remember now..I was abit "misled"..cos yr nick last time different mah.
Remember Icy..she got preggy same time as us..then she mc again..but if Im not wrong she gave birth to baby boy recently.
Ryes, if u remember also preggy same time as us..hers baby girl born in early Mar.

HEHE..kena "accident"?!..yup maybe..cos Im not taking any fool proof contraceptives haha!
Hey people..
this is not a pregnancy or impending announcement okie!

Cherry..U kept yr WG n EGs?!! Wah I think that would take ALOT of space in yr wardrobe..
I admit I still have my WG & ROM gown, but sold off my EG. I vacuum packed my WG and put it in a box on top of wardrobe.

Yael has his own wardrobe..we bought for him at the AIS corner from IKEA..cost about $200..those kiddy kind..but solid n big! SO I hang his clothes up.
U can consider buying a chest of drawers for the coming baby..I bought one from IKEA then but matching our bedroom furniture..now we are using it in our master bed room.

Grace..Yup like PVL said if J understands what u say it should be a matter of time till he starts speaking..so not to worry..continue talking to him..if he baby talks..dont respond in baby talk but speak to him clearly.
My girlfriend's 2nd boy only started speaking at 2yo. When I was teaching in the childcare ctr there were 2yo kids who couldnt speak when they first enrolled, but after a few months they talk too much! Hahaha!

Sorry I'm just popping in to say... MILKIE AND CHERRY, YOUR OLD NAVY/GAP IS HERE!!
Pls check Old Navy #10 thread for shipping

PVL, Catz, cherry,
Yeah, these memories are not so nice, but still, I think God has a reason for letting me go through the m/c.
I'm normally a very impatient person, but having gone thru' the m/c, I am alot more patient with Soph now.
But like PVL, the fear is still there, so actually I'm postponing TTC for #2 hoping to build a stronger body now.
But hee, time is running out for me... I'm getting old!

Charis,
Yes, I remember Icy and Ryes. So happy for them!
You still keep in touch with them?
Remember Lyn? She's had a boy 2+ yrs back, and recently a pair of twin girls!
Hee, you never know... you may be the next to join the preggers list!

Where's everyone?

huskie, my friend suffered 3 m/c (in fact, one 2nd trimester one) in TMC.. in spite of the fact that she likes my gynae, it's just too painful.. but the good news is that she's just delivered a healthy baby boy in KKH. I TOTALLY understand!! Yes yes pls build a stronger body.. don't go India.. hahahaha.. think smurfy would agree with me there.

Huskie
Me not upset lar.. kinda got used to it oredi… nowadays whenever he dons his pink singlet n shorts, he goes ”ger-ger” and giggled somemore..

MCs
Sorry to hear that so many of the mums have went through that before.. is that more common in 1st pregnancy or even for subsequent pregnancies after the birth of a healthy 1st ones?

Body parts
Yeah!!! Last nite tested QY on our way home… he got it correct for all asked “eyes, nose, mouth, hands and legs” sooo happy
my mum has been doing a great job in his cheena and teochew development…

Sigh, just kenna a cough... so sian... always falling sick, really don't dare to get preggers man!

Catz,
Thanks for the 25% discount code on Gap/ON/BR... I'll be waiting to shop on 1 Aug

Wow, 3 m/cs? So sad! But good that she's got a baby boy now!

Hee, I'm considering yoga in Bali now... sounds more pampering yeah?

huskie
yep yep.. shld pamper oneself.. bali sounds definitely better..maybe i went to some ulu parts of india lar...But I still think it’s one hell of difference between hotel and the exteriors lor.

huskie, you ah... hahah.. Bali is defiitely better lah.
You sure yoga isn't too strenuous for your body to TTC? Heh... Yah I'm waiting to place orders at ON/Gap on 1st Aug too.

Yes my friend very poor thing.. easy to get pregnant but always miscarrying. In fact the last m/c was very tragic 'cos suddenly found the baby was dead in the womb at 6 months.. turns out there's some genetic abnormality in 2 of the pregnancies that they did investigation. Very weird. But thank God she has a healthy baby boy now after all that trauma.

smurfy, good for Teochew boy!
He's smart lah, can see!

catz
U just said something very re-assuring that all mummies love to hear. But I think it’s gonna be a long while before we know if he’s smart or not (and whether it’s been put to good use). But one thing that I do know now is that he’s definitely a happy lil boy, and that’s most impt to me

what on and gap on 1aug? sales?

catz, ON/Gap having sales on 1st Aug?? I also want!!

huskie, have you considered taking chinese tonics to build up health??? Or see a TCM? I personally feel that cos of the cordyceps that I took when I was pregnant with A and the 3 months of maternity where I had good rest really did wonders for my health. Tend to fall sick less and even if ill, take a shorter time to recover.

charis, does vaccuum pack really work?? will it spoil the gowns?

smurfy,
Hee, see? Your Teochew boy is smart lah!
At least your QY just says ger-ger... Soph wants to bf everyone, including her softtoys and those small lego man. I just hope next time she doesn't go to school and start to offer to breastfeed her classmates! *faintz*

Catz,
I think yoga is OK leh. I feel better and stronger after yoga.
Aiyoh, your friend really very poor thing!

cherry,
Yep, I'm thinking of going to see TCM again to build up my health. Actually I seldom fall sick before pregnancy one leh. Then during confinement, fell sick twice... coughed until I thought my C-sect wound gonna burst! My mum grumbled that it's cos I never do proper confinement that's why now fall sick so easily, but of course my westernised MIL says there's no clinical evidence to that lah... heee, she was the one who helped with my confinement, and didn't know how to cook confinement food at all.
Think if I have #2, I'll have a 2-mth confinement like you

OK, gonna see TCM tonight!

My birth story rather short...

The last checkup my cervix didn't open n i thot my second bb will be deliver again by induce. that was sat.
then sun nite i still get my bows from Rachel n she was still askin me when,.. hehe

then tat nite after watchin appretice show, i went to sleep...
around 1 plus, feel tummy uncomfortable but thot it normal so try to sleep.

4 a.m: couldn't sleep. feel back ache. keep sitting up and then when pain goes off, i lie down again
4- 4.30 : feel the pain like mensual cramp n start to nervous liao. wake hb up. hb say "oh need to go hospital liao ah?"
4.30 -5 : try to contact gynae but also monitor my contractions. it seems every 5 min......
5 plus: After gynae told me to rush to hospital, i still take my time to go... hahahhaa by then the pain quite intense n i still wait for pain to go off then i walk or do other things.
5 plus to 6: arrive hospital n nurse check n realise my cervix is 7 cm open! nurse say labour gotta be short n i was immed transfer to labour ward.

waterbag burst in labour ward. by then 8 cm open...
7: bb gal comes out

TGIF!!

Congrads to Garfield!

Hows life handling 2 kids? I dare not imagine.

Read poast postings that you gals was meeting at Unite Sq for lunch.. hey i'm just working across.. give me a call / sms when you gals are coming by again on weekdays lunch
I'll pop by!

Had been a sickly week.. nursing a sore throat.. now recovered..

I'm looking for playgroup (2-3 hr) kind for Lil J. have a few optoins

1) RC - Startots (2 hr) play group
-3 mins walking dist.
( but it's 1 hr play 1 hr learning) -
9.30 - 11.30 ($150/mth)

2) YWCA childcare (1/2 day)
Need to take bus from my place (15 mins)
Fees: 310 ++
If enrol will start in 2009.
Yet to visit school...

3) NTUC Childcare (1/2 day)
Walking dist (3 mins)
Fees: $320 ++
- visited school, its really like nothing much the kids are doing... looks abit sian sian...

headache ah... garfield, ah ger.. you gals stay at the west right? Found any good place to let your kids learn??

smurfy,

trying to cope now. BB G is rather sleepy, her jaudice levels quite high.
zz rather cranky these days, keep on wan to carry but i can't carry him

yesterday morn the worst, only left me n maid as hb go to work.
mil n mum haven't come in. then maid had to bath bb G and then zz wan to carry.... i can't help both ...

then the two kids crying... very sad.

this morn not bad, mil came in earlier.

think zz miss me. last nite he was throwing temper. was so noisy n i broke down. but later i spent time reading books to him n he calm down... think i also neglected him...

this morn he seem happier n i read books to him also.

my mil also v problem... she come n carry zz n play i also happy la.
but hor, let zz play with switches, climb the door gate n wear shoe in house

then now talk so loudly tat zz wake up liao! hiaz

garfield,
What a short birth story. Wish mine could be as uneventful as yours. My contractions never want to be strong enough to have any effect leh. So sian, 2x had to be induced. I wonder about this 3rd one. Congrats anyway. How are you managing without CL? What about your food? DId you cater confinement food?
When you're breastfeeding, why don't you read to zz, if you can put a book somewhere near you. Or else sing songs to him. Give him attention when you're bf'ing. It's a little difficult cos he's still so young. Last time, Sarah used to sit next to me while bf'ing Ben, and she would hold the book. WHen I got to the end of the page, I would go 'ting', and then she knew that's the cue to turn the page. It was fun.

pvl,

heard u preg again? congrats! u really brave... me no way of thinkin of no.3....

my maid cooks for me now. act still managable just tat zz wans to be carried... he still dun quite understand. but he knows hwo to call mei mei n sometimes he request to see her too...
but he still dunno how to sayang, his hand sometimes too harsh on her head then i remind him to be more gentle.

pvl,

yup i must say induce is more painful than natural pain after experiencing both. but this time i can feel the pain of pushing liao... maybe last time induce pain so painful tat i feel less pain pushing,.

i was waitin for gynae while her head is already coming out. the pain is terrible.... awful n wan to die.

gd day!

Wow Garfield - no epidural again!!! *congrats* Nx time I must learn frm u also....

Initial stage, zz sure jealous one, cos they still v young, dun understand. Even A till nw also doesn't allow me to carry other bbs......

Sunsweet - I m thinking of putting A at JG for wkend playgrp cos no one can bring him to the centre daily. Mum has my niece to take care & another one soon in Nov... so hw can I put him in daily child-care? if daily, I might as well put him on full day. Bt full day means $$$$, I no $$ arh........

V fan... everytime troubled by $$ issue.... sooner or later I will hv nightmares le.

Haiz, tis whole wk, IE nt guai... network damn slow... can hardly load a full page & just hung tare... so I din get to chat w/ u mummies....

sunsweet.
i think it's quality, not quantity leh. some of the ccs very sad sight one leh

garfield
kekeke was the childbirth pain as bad as zz? must perserve with bf-ing k? and try to rest more. i dunno how to advise abt zz's behavior leh..

huskie
sop soo cute kekekek... bf-ing everyoneeeeeeeeee

Smurfy, oh... Hot water is too dangerous.

PVL, a few gynaes I talked to recommended me to go for c-section after I told them my condition. You can see bb swimming ard??? Your bb is active!!!
Can you tell the gender yet?

Catz, ya ya... It's cicacare, that one also no use? I also find Sher learns faster cos of the other kids in my household. Beth is gd

Starlite, for my case, I had to go to cut for my fibroids cos they were abt 15cm and 7-8 of them. Keyhole still ok lah, I went thru that after gave birth to Vane cos found with 5cm cysts. Sigh.... The first time I was cut to remove fibroids was very painful. So painful that I needed assistance to come down from bed for days. That time still need to trouble my mom to stay in hosp with me. But the cut when gave birth to Vane was ok, no pain at all. Most pple still thot I went thru normal delivery. But then after I gave birth to Sher, it was painful but at least the pain still bearable. Ya, I changed my gynae this time round cos my prev gynae is VERY ex.

Huskie, hehehe... Sher also picked up his vocab from Your Baby Can Read vcds.
Hahaha... Soph mixed up toes with head, so cute. I rem Lyn leh, she gave birth to twin gals recently???So happy for her.

Cherry, what is the brand of the DHA that your gynae prescribed?

Garfield, heard that 2nd delivery is usu very fast so it's the same for you.
ZZ needs time to get used having new member at home so be more patient with him.

yes, wat smurfy said is v correct.... daily doesnt' mean they will def learn something.

sunsweet - it's play + learn one... to them, their philosophy is, children shld still b enjoying themselves & not studying. So they dun literally force children to study or watever, it's thru play tat makes them learn & rem. 1 parent to acc the kid during the session.

1 term 10wks, 2hrs each, $500+ excl registration fees.

Gig - wah, if 2nd one so fast, I think the nx time when I feel the pain must hurry ask hb send me to hospital already. LOL....

Catz - is Gynera exp? Hw much? Get frm any GP will do? Hb was asking me if I wanna try oral contraceptives bt I told him, I scared hv effect. Skali bloated then hw??????? My temper is already so bad then still eat tat, wat if my mood swings get worse?

sumrfy,

I agree some CC's are not good.

However i was thinking if the kids attend once a week, but the rest of the week they dun practice on what they have learn would it be a waste of time and money?

if in school setting, they learn daily and thus would they be able to absorb better?

sunsweet
Ccs are usually have half and full day type. I seldom see 2hrs playgrp unless it’s those void deck (ntuc/appletree, talentplus) etc.. but hor I find these places crowd n messy.. (peeped into some blogs n saw the classroom pics)… and most time these classes r without the parents’ presence. the JG playgrp that ah-ger or some other playgrp (e.g. Growing Up Gifted) actually promotes parents or caregiver interaction…. But they r much more costly as well lor. usually once in a week at weekend but they do have once a week 2 or 3 times oso.. with parents’ or caregiver interaction as well..

if ur mil dun mind travelling to forum or evans road a few times a week for lil's j SAKE.. u can try JG playclub kekekeke they have english or mandarin or biligual class... i nearly sent QY and his daddy (on leave for reservist) for a mandarin trial class today but no slottttt, so disappointed

i think i still perfers QY to stay at home currently.. maybe weekends sign up some playgrps lor.. i will start to seriously consider half day cc if there is #2.

my concern of sending Lil J to "school" is bec recently i see her being so fast in picking up new words and new knowledge. And shs's babbling in her language which I can only make up a few words within the sentance, I'm very greatful to My MIL for teaching her so many things.

So now i hope to give her the chance to explore more in good schools like you say.. but on a daily basis. cos many parents told me children learn more if they are being taught daily .. that why i was thinking more of those daily class then a weekly one.

It's not easy to convince my MIL to travel so far on daily basis to bring my gal to class so have to find somewhere nearer...

ya gals this time is faster n i still didn't know i might give birth anytime. u see the first time i induce n the pain was more intense then. the nurse told me if i delay i might give birth at home liao.

i also scare worse alarm so keep waiting n testing at home... haha

but hor i really feel the pain of givin birth so painful... i dun know how i go thru 2 times w/o epi... my hb also cannot believe it... i need lots of stitches cos i think the bb keep pushing out though i try to stop...

for zz, i now try to spend time w him reading... hugging him when i sitting down. hehe he just now try my BM too n like it,... hope i can produce more this time n maybe can feed him also haha
i bought electric pump this time n now milk is more than last time. bought the handsfree kit too.

Garfield..Wah looks like quite a fast labour..I wont say its easy though..I dont think any labour is easy haha..thats why women are tougher than men in some ways!
Good to know yr bf have started on quite well..hope u can bf longer this time! Have a good rest ok!

Cherry..Yup vacuum packing works..try to buy better quality kinds..I bought the one from Takashimaya. Dont fold yr gowns too many times..just half will do and Dont press or sit on the gowns while u vacuum pack ok haha..that should do it..helps save lots of space..I also vacuum pack Yael's newborn and first few months clothes.

charis
i oso vaccum packed QY's old clothes. felt so accomplished after the job.. it's like ur cupboard is free once again ;)

cherryale
u can try the brand under "Lock and Lock" they have a valve that allows easy vacumming

garfield
yeah! must bf for one year this time round k? in the end did u buy medala pis?

sunsweet,

i share my views on weekly class and daily class..i believe reinforcement at home is very important, irregardless of weekly or daily. for eg: cherish playgroup requires kids to line up and keep the toys.. we dun want her to have diff rules at home or at sch. when the sch introduce diff themes, i will try to tell her more things at home with regards to the theme..

but i realise even though there are parent accompany, there are bound to have ungracious behaviour ard that our kids will pick up

i can't seem to load the pic... too big...

aiya now my mil givin zz see the taiwan show... now she teachin zz that the man inside the tv smoking n keep repeating... sian ... y is she teachin my kid all the funny things...

i got to go now.

Garfield,

your MIL and BOy watching Yi Nan Wang? gheess that happends to my gal's fav show ... haha

but i think she only like the song.. wonder why she like hokkien song? no one at home sings hokkien songs to her b4 leh..

maybe she's a hokkien gal by nature.. :p

few days nvr log in ...

haven scroll finish all the posts..but...

CATZ,
ON sale muz count me in can or not?? or cherry, jelly or huskie.you all wan share muz PAGE LOUD LOUD for me okie?!?!

garfield,
good for the short labour..hmm..i think you muz be mentally "prepared"...coz when i had tyler..i psyche myself dats its not going to be easy..3rd day going bk after c-sect..i oso carried & hug tyra in case she feels jealous...so i think everything went quite well for me..

try to think positive..at least now you haf time to bond wif jasp & newborn can bond when breastfeeding...most of the time nb is sleeping..and you can spend time wif jasp..re your MIL...its always frustrating when they are teaching wrong stuff..hmm..but juz relax first yah...they are there to help..close one eye first lor..waiting for pics!!!

sunsweet,
my kids lurve to watch chinese opera!! freaky not?? muahahha..i think generally they are interested in stuff dat they dun understand le..like when my maid converse wif my mum in malay..wooww..they dun understand oso can luff..

aiyoh..

i think most of the babies here v clever le!! all can "tok" sense & play..

re: boys slower..dats wats everyone says..but there's of coz exception like gig's sherwin & chocbabe's ryan...

my tyler ar..typical boy..he's slower by tyra at least a good 6/7 months even in motor skills like kicking & catching the ball.

smurfy,
i oso hope dat my kids can pick up dialect..though its not essential..but its a good to haf..i suppose we dun tok to them..they oso wun try to learn..i picked up hokkien as my first language coz i was taken care by granny..only started mandarin when i was 3+ kingergarten..

catz,
wah your keloid is indeed thick!!..mine gynae injected something aftet the c-sect..supposedly to stop keloid from forming..coz my 1st c-sect was pretty bad too...its a red line..but still a little elevated..not a nice smile..

re: contraceptives..i took diane 35 before i got married..it did wonders to my complexion!! muhahahha...but some of my frens had severe mood swing and lost in libido after eating them.

gig, my gynae never prescribed the DHA, I think some pharma sales rep gave him the box of DHA so he gave me loh. He is my relative mah, everything he gets, he passes on to me
My hb said if I dun take, he will take he like stinky stuff..lol

charis/smurfy, thanks for the recommendation. roughly how much is the vaccuum bag, they come in different sizes right? Should get the largest for wedding gowns?

Can I ask how u all feed your babies apples? Give the whole apple to him/her and bite? Also, for the morning cereal, do you still give the baby cereal like HT and Earthbest? OR switch to normal cereal already?

fat babe
then u try talking hokkien to tyler and try to confuse ur silly lil boy... next time he will be like sop... ask her "tuo zai nai li" , go point to the toes.. kekeke

cherryale
i think taka shld have them, i got mine from metro.. i saw them in robinsons as well. yes, get the biggest... shld be the size meant for bedsheets/cushions/ etc... remember to get the one with valve. i cannot remmeber the price.. i think is 9.9$ per piece. maybe u just buy one to try lor.. i give QY HT and cheerios cereals.. but he oso have half a piece of wholemeal bread and he oso eat jacob's biscuits if we r eating..

chocbabe, didn't celebrate cos my mama patang ... hiaz...

anyway, my hb bought me a present way back liao.

today bring G to see PD and PD ask to monitor her jaudice level by wed. so she was spared blood test today. hopefully by wed she can recover.

sunsweet, i also dun knoe wat show but she always watch 1. i dun mind my kid expose to dialect but i dun wan them to watch too much drama or variety show which r violent. the other day the celebs r playing n hitting each other n she can actually bring zz watch n then told him wat they doing? they hitting each other.aiyo zz wun knoe it not rgt. then he goes round hitting ple how?

now zz sometimes sayang bb head but sometimes he still might hit the head quite scary... anyway he is improving. he is more happier now than the first 2 days lor.

cherry,
Regarding cereal, Ben has stopped taking baby cereals for nearly 6 months already. I've been grinding our cornflakes for him. I also ground some Coco Crunch. Mix the cereals 2 milk scoops cornflakes and 1 teaspoon coco crunch. Sometimes I do give him whole cornflakes or honey stars, but he's very slow with it, so I have no patience.

PVL, that's the problem when A is eating cheerios. He is very slow, maybe cos is harder than his baby cereal. Hb said its cos cheerios taste bad, he doesnt like it.

brought A for his chickenpox jab today. Asked the PD why he suddenly became shy of strangers and refused to bathe in the bathtub. He said its normal and as long as he is able to stand and shower, its actually better. Guess we will not force him to bathe in bath tub then. He was supposed to go for a booster shot next month( he said we were behind, supposed to do that 2 mths ago), did you all give your baby??

smurfy, i went to JG just now since I was at evans road. I enquired about the weekend program and since its two hours, I was thinking if it is more suitable for older kids?? Its for 18mths to 3yrs old. SHe only could tell me that it will be 1 hr english (doing a variety of alphabet, story telling, tabletop games, art/craft etc) and chinese characters. In my opinion, based on the syllabus, I think these are better learnt on daily basis than weekend classes. SO maybe half day playschool at cc will be better if is for learning. Of cos if the intention is to interact with other kids, then any class will be beneficial
Since its slightly more expensive than D story club and further in terms of distance, I will stick to D'story club first in Aug, then send A to half day playschool (those normal ones near inlaws place - think about $400 for half day) when he turns 2 next yr. Then when he hits 2.5yrs, I will send him to Pats for half day playschool since they can only take it at that age. In the meantime to build up his confidence and interacts with other kids, he will continue his kindermusik classes.

catz, went to see touran today, lots of families with 2 kids are there! prob going to be very popular. Good specs for the money though hb said the behind is really ugly. Well, just look like a mpv to me...i mean all mpvs are not stunners right??

I will wait to see the launch of diesel cars to make a comparison. But another model caught my eyes at the showroom..the 3litres Passat R-something. Its the more powerful version of the normal passat. Looks really nice though it has an ugly trimmings on the dashboard
Actually the reason why I am looking at cars is for a fairly silly reason. Our current car does not have a safety belt for the back passenger sitting in the middle. When #2 comes, we will have two car seats, which means Maid got to sit in the middle. Very dangerous for her if got no safety belt. No wonder families with 2 kids, 1 maid always go for mpv, or bigger cars. The bigger cars usually has the middle seat belt and is spacious enough to seat 3 persons behind. maybe govt should consider giving lower tax or some rebates for families who are buying bigger cars hor to encourage people to have more kids