(2007/02) February

stella
i remember u send cherish to some gym right? how's her progress and did she start enjoying herself there?

cherryale
double boil chinese tonics.. let's wait and see any kind mummies will share how to double boil or not? or get ur mummy to do it for u lar?? oiiiiiiiiii i never heard anyone double boil white chicken leh.. so far onli black chicken...dun try something we dunno leh

Gig, many congratulations!!! How many week oredi? Wow, so amazing, like everyone is preggie!

Gig, this melilea is an organic drink which helps to detoxifying toxins and other benefits such as strengthen immune system etc. That time when i first met up wif a CL when i was 6 mths preggie, she told me to drink this melilea drink as those she did confinement for and drank this drink during pregnancy, the babies turned out to be very fair and nice complexion. My elder brother also recommend the drink to me. Since i was having a gal, so just give it a try loh. Turn out ah xi is pretty fair and healthy, dunno is it due to this drink. Since it is good for overall well being, I want to take this drink again for this 2nd one.

cherry, u can get those ceramic small pot (looks like a mug) for tonic from most of the provision shops. I put all the ingredients and water inside the tonic pot, then put the tonic pot into a normal pot then boil. I am also very clueless when comes to kitchen stuff, but this one quite easy to prepare lah especially both side of our parents not here, so i have to take care of myself.

I also think any food as long as not taken excessively is alright. Will try to convince my hubby to bring me eat crab.

smurfy, but some people also use pork for tonics right?? so i was thinking if can use pork then can use white chicken also mah. anyway, the meat is just for taste purpose only right?

jelly, thanks, i will go to the provision shops near my place to see whether got such ceramic pot. If u put the chicken or meat inside the pot together with cordyceps, wouldnt the meat absorb all the goodness? So, if we are drinkig soup and not eating meat, how do we boil the meat and tonics separately?? I think i asked the same question when I was pregnant with A, until now I still dun know..that's y i always wait for mil or mummy to boil
then when i asked them, their explanation is as good as none. so complicated

cherry... when i cooked cordyceps wif meat (chicken or pork), i used the small pieces one or just the bone. The purpose is just to add the flavour to the soup. But i still got eat the meat loh, dun want to waste it.

NTUC is having sales on a lot of baby stuff. Going to stock up some pull-up pants. Mamy poko jumpo pack pull up pants now selling $52.95 for 2 packs. Got sales on Pampers and Nepia too, but after trying all three, i still prefer mammy poko.

AHHH!! Gigg u preggy too?! CONGRATS!!!
Good news..this thread is streaming with blessings..
Looks like most mummies r preggy here..now we can count who's not haha, not like last time..jus 1 or 2 of us preggy.

Milkshake..U coming for the gathering anot?

Catz..So PS can? 11:30am can lah..then we beat lunch crowd!

I think for those in 2nd trimester can start taking black chicken with herbs (ginseng, roots stuff, wolfberries etc)..I took that every week from 6 months onwards..kept me quite strong, dont tire easily.

Cherry, smurfy..U dont need special pot to double boil lah..haha..double boil means using little water, boil for at least 1 hour, so the soup will be thick..all the essence there..
Yup black chicken is supposedly better for double-boiling..or use bones.
U can use a rice cooker with slow cook function, or a slow-cooker or a pressure cooker which will take half the time than the first 2.

I took toman fish bones double-boiled with wolfberries and dates during my 2nd and 3rd trimester..high protein!

Hope this helps..

Cherry..And Nooooo....black chicken was not the culprit for A's skin! Its the genes lah.. hahaha!! U very cute lah..!
Pls stick to black chicken soup haha..its high in protein, vit. b too..u can use black beans..sure to give u lots of energy and hopefully a good weight for your lil' one in the tummy too!
But I suggest u start only at 2nd trimester..according to my MIL's chinese physician..but i forgot what's the reason.

Gigg, CONGRATS!!! hahahhaa...it's like almost every alternate day we will hear someone announces of their pregnancy in this thread...

Smurfy,
I sprinkle LOTS and LOTS of baby dusts on you *** hope you will be the next to announce the good news in this thread

For my previous pregnancy I didnt take a lot of cordyceps..Maybe a few times only. But I took a lot of chinese herb called "13 tai bo". It's very good lor..as I was very weak in the 1st trimester and after taking this herb, Norelle came out healthy and good weight. And most importantly SUPER strong leh...can kick the bath tub when my MIL was trying ti bathed her. My MIL almost dropped her into the tub :p and tht was she'sonly a few days old.

But I do believe that everything in moderation is good. No matter whether it's chinese/western supplements. And also depends on individual body acceptance on certain supplements.

yo, regarding birds nest hor...i think it contains lots of proteins lah..but i don't think it affects the baby's complexion or the baby's health leh. I took birds' nest everyday or alternate days when i had YR last time and she turned out very strong leh. My hub and i are down with horrible flu last weekend and until now but she has not caught it from us even now. But i also heard that birds nest causes phlegm lah...and toomuch oranges too.

I also agree with charis that being fair or dark is from genes lah. My cousin in law took birds nest everyday but her baby came out dark dark one. Funny thing is that she and her hub are both fair.....weird lor. maybe from her parents' side cos my male cousins' family members all very fair.

cordyceps, mine was originally worm looking ones..but my dad got the medicinal hall to grind to powder form for me. Can we just take a small spoonful and swallow it with water or something sweet????????? don need to cook can right????

charis, i'm ok with 1130 but i need to reach home by 1pm. can i check which day is it again? coming week is it?

mummy_zeen,

congrats... one boy one gal can close shop liao.

jelly,
my mama gave me raw bird nest n my maid will brew for me. then my mil also buy cos she dun know what to buy/cook for me. she buy those bottled ones. i got to finish... i can't rem i ate so much for zz ley... maybe this time is a gal so they expect must eat can get fairer skin.

I did eat crabs but not much. I think abit is alrite. but my mil say scare bb crabby nxt time.
I also drink coffee... think 2nd preg more relax...

what i heard is that if a baby is born lookin really white and fair, then it will not be fair when it gets older...On the contrary, if a baby is born really pink/red, then it will be very fair when it gets older.....

dun know leh, i havent seen a baby that is as dark as A. He looked very tan when he was borned. I am not extremely fair but definitely not tan. Hb is tan only cos he plays golf. So FIL said culprit must be the black chicken. Actually talking about family history, my siblings are all very fair like my mum, but my dad is quite dark. Then my inlaws, mil is also very fair. But her three sons, hard to tell, they are somewhere in the middle.

Anyway, i definitely will not risk #2 looking dark again. I will prob take a mix of black chicken with other meat.

Milkie, I remembered mil gave my hb a bottle of grind powder cordyceps before, she asked me to make it into a drink but it looks and sounds yucky to me. Think better to take a spoonful and swallow with water.

giggler!!

congrats!! wah you no say no say...suddenly pop one..muahahah plan or unplan?? you hopin for girl or boy?!?!

hmmm...
honestly i oso not sure about the food taken during pregnancy will make baby strong or not...when i was preg wif tyler...i hardly eat..and lost quite abit of weight...the only "healthy" thing dat i had was anmum milk...nothing else...coz had bad toothache...but he was not as sickly as tyra during 1st few months...

maybe i tell you guys wat horrible stuff i eat..then you may feel better..
i drink tea everyday...2-4 cups..teh pengz,
eat maggi mee/ chee cheong fun (lunch) every alternate days,
soyabeancurd as and when i can,
eat porridge for dinner
nvr take any supplements except anmum coz they make me constipated..

during tyra's time worse..i tot half boil egg is "bu"..so i eat 2 everyday...luckily nothing wrong wif her..

milkie,
i heard the pink story too...

my sis is a living proof..she was born very pink...and end up really v fair no matter how she sun herself..

tyler was born pink le...but she is turning darker as she grow...keke....me & hb all medium tone...

eh but for boys..i think tan is nicer le..more MAN...the fairer guys tend to be "si wen" la..

cherry!!! one boy one girl may be good lah..but even if u do get 2 boys/2 girls also will be good in its own way mah.
that saying though, i wish u all the best in getting a baby girl this time round.

Hey, a consolation is that even if A is dark,
it's ok lor..like fatbabe says, tan quite man mah if u like the tan look.

fatbabe, this pregnancy i also very anyhow with the food i eat. i just hope it won't affect hte baby lor....but i really no mood to eat veges and fruits....sian. i don't even take milk now unless u consider the milk in lattes and bubble tea calcium intake..hahahahaha

milkie, thank you thank you
You mean 2 boys closed shop or 2 girls closed or 2 boys+2 girls?? think the last permutation very difficult to have in Singapore. Cannot imagine chasing after 4 kids

babe, my hb always say he dun like boys to be too fair but i still hope A will gradually become fairer. He is fairer now compared to newborn which is good
BUT cannot have tan baby girl lah,chinese has this saying "1 white cover 10 flaws" so fairness for gal is a priceless thing
then angmo also has "my fair lady" although fair here probably means pretty/beautiful whatever the case, we never hear "my tan lady" as compliment right

cherry, i not so hero. hee hee I meant 2 boys or 2 girls also can close shop mah. I think most of the couples nowadays are happy with 2 already. NOt many are like our parents' or grandparents' generation where they pop so many out like rabbits.

Eh ask any of u mummies. IF 3rd mth and 4th mth scan all shows the baby's birdie, does it mean it will be a boy? No way that the baby's birdie will disappear by 5th mth right?? :p

cherry, i also a bit more old fashioned regarding the 'fairness' of babies. I also prefer fair girls even though the current fad now is to spot tanned toned skin. My whole family very into the fairness bit so i guess i must have been brainwashed since young lor.

Even koreans/japs also like fair fair mah..not just us chinese. But even then, some women really look good with a tan. I got one gf who is naturally tan but she is tan until very golden brown of tan. She looks good in her skin color though. But i know I will never be able to tan or even look good with tan skin lah.

Where is Jazzcy ah? She also never post for very long.

Congrats to longan too for having a 2nd one. Hey, where is longan???????

smurfy

i din sign cherish up for the gym class... but this sat i am going for another trial at this place called town4kids.. will see how it goes

Giggler, congrats!!! Oh wow, this thread is SUPER PRODUCTIVE.. eeks, pls no baby dust for me.. I wanna go tie my tubes

milkie, hehehehe..

Charis, sounds good. Like milkie, I have to leave pretty early too. Or hey, how about Monday 7th July? Timo has no school, can meet up lagi early, say 11am

catz, i monday cannot make it. I got to meet my gf on that day.

wed or thurs lah?

eh, catz, u very cute leh...how come u didn't tie up your tubes when u had your c-section ????

milkie, I BEGGED my gynae to do it a couple of times before the birth and during the stitching up process but she says to come back in 7 years 'cos I was 28 when I had Beth. :p Aiyah why you Monday cannot make it? Grrrr........

walau..i already made the appt on monday. U let timo skip class for one day lah. :p :p

Eh, catz, ask u...is it true that it's easier for a guy to go for male vasectomy than for a woman??? I keep asking my hub to go for it but he refuses to.

wah... so many productive mummies here....

quite busy lately trying to plan the reno for my new house...

if u all having gathering on monday 7th July, i'll be able to go also cos school hols (youth day)... but u all see which days best for all of u first...

Ms Foo Catherine, I'll bank in 250sgd for u today. U keep the balance for the Gap spree oki?

Pregnant mummies,

are we allowed to eat nato de coco? How about grass jelly? And soursop?

cherry, yup i usually take a small spoonful of cordeceps powder n then drink w warm water... can't imagine makin into a full drink? so much residue haha choke me

fat_babe, haha I was like u when i had zz... my hb tot half boil egg for me is good n he make it every morn for me till i finally went gynae visit during my 3rd mth.

then gynae mention cannot eat raw stuff... then he start worryin n ask... haha

milk milk, i think nato de coc and soursop can bah. try to drink less grass jelly as i heard it cooling?

garfield, when are u due ah? U excited not?

Do u know why preg women cannot take cold water? I have been taking cold water since day 1 leh....cos i can't tahan warm water except if it's in milo, coffee or tea. And I still take lots of cold desserts and ice cream. Is that ok?

milkie, me too, whack lots of cold stuff, ice cream and desserts. I also drink cold fresh milk

u know today i actually said I want to take mc right, then dun know why i forgot this morning and came to work. Then in the car I remembered that supposed to take mc...aiyaah...

cherry, u damn joker. Hahahahaha can forget u want to take mc somemore. U WORKAHOLIC LAH

eh, okie lah...since u also take lots of cold stuff, we take it that we can take cold stuff okie? hee hee i remember that time during confinement also not supposed to take cold stuff, but i also cannot tahan, i still took. Kept getting scolding from my parents cos of that.

ooh I feel very rich all of a sudden
milkie, only your first item was OOS.

cherry, yah lor, you crazy workaholic. Can forget to take MC one meh??

Cold stuff - why not???? Aiyah don't believe those old wives' tales.. As long as there is no risk of food poisoning or bacteria in the food, surely can eat lor.

Haha... cherry, u so funny lei... So nice to take mc on a friday, long weekend... I wish i am a little bit sick then can have excuse to take mc and go shopping. haha...

I also take cold drinks but dessert i try to take hot ones, unless the weather really hot...

Ah xi was rather fair when she was a baby. That time my CL said most likely she will be dark later. Thank god she becomes fairer and fairer.

This sunday gg to see gynae. Told hubby hopefully can know the gender of the bb this sunday. But he says dun care gal or boy lah, it's ok for him if boy or gal. In fact yday he said the little bb is "mei mei" and asked mei mei not to be as notty as the jie jie.

milk milk, i eat ice cream alot during my second hahaha

cold stuff maybe ok. but i dun take cold gassy drinks like coca cola la.

I like guys who r tan so i hope zz can be...
my mama like fair fair one... last time zz abit dark during birth n she keep hopin he will grow fairer n fairer... yucks i can't imagine v fair boy...

cherry,
preg make u forgetful ah... hehe

jelly,

looks like your hb is a pro girl girl hor...

my hb preferred boy b4 we haf any children..

then now he prefer girls..

babe, maybe its cos i am not sick, just want to skive
but this morning woke up auto mode, go change up etc, btw i realised already in the car, so i super bad mood

milkie, during confinement i try not to take cold drinks but sometimes will sip a bit of coke from my hb's cup when the CL was not looking. Even now, i try not to drink coke but sometimes when I got the craving, I will still drink. Think #2 not so particular as the last time.

jelly, so now your hb will ask about u and #2 already, the last time u complaint that he only asked about ah xi. I am going to do the oscar test tomorrow, dread it cos need to draw blood!! aiyoh, told hb I will faint cos I hate and scare to do blood test. usually i will push the doctor away and need two nurses to restrain me and my hb with me..super hilarious sight.

babe and cherry... I think he secretly wish for a boy as both of us prefer a mix of gal/boy, but then we dun want to disappoint ourselves later, so we have prepared to accept as happily when the bb turns out to be a gal.
Ah xi very hiao one, next time can doll up together wif her mei mei if the #2 is a gal.

cherry... he occassionally will talk abt the little bb, and he will touch my belly to sayang the little one. But unavoidable our focus still wif ah-xi loh, and he super kancheong wif her.

u gg for oscar test 2m ya? Relax ah... Last time i have two gynaes, 1 in Sg, in in JB, so i went for the test like detail scanning as here. For this one we more relax, so only have 1 gynae in JB. But looks like in JB we do not have as much tests as here lei, even dun have the detail scanning... The oscar test last time I did in JB also upon my special request then only my gynae did for me.

Piang!!! Old navy having additional 20% off "Clearance" (under "Bargain" section) items and Gap additional 25% off for all "Sales" items. Just email ON see whether they can adjust down the prices of my previous order (which is within 14 days) to reflect these discounts or not. So tempted to order again... *die*

Mummies, thanks

Stella, sherwin same as your aunty's son, always sick with cough and flu. I took too much birdnest then.

Cherry, I shd be abt 9-10weeks now ba, cant rem. EDD shd be CNY period again, eeekkkksss... I used to come to forum last few weeks cos I'm free during ofc hrs lah. My mil used lean meat for tonic too.

Jelly, where can we get this melilea drink? I never heard of it leh.

Fat_babe, of cos it's unplanned lah!!! Both hb and myself were surprised tat we still can make bb. I hoping for gal but I've instinct that it's gg to be boy cos symptoms similar to Sherwin. And I look so so so ugly now. Yuckssss....

Milkie, you saw bb's birdie liao? Guess the birdie wont fly away on the 5th mth one lah. LOL

Catz, I think I got to tie mine after this one. Didn’t know that 'accident' can happened so easily.

Mummies, do you stick to your gynae this time round? I thot of changing my gynae cos he's SUPER ex leh. Moreover, I'm not covered as much as my prev co this time round.

milkie, here i am!!!! just went for gynae checkup this Monday.... my gynae is very sure that it is confirm it will be a boy. No need for me to shop much then. Some of Timothy's clothes are still brand new. Just keep it for no.2

gigg... congrats with no.3 :)))) i am still with the same gynae. she is ok and her charges are reasonable.

gigg, u really really kenna? hahahaha i was just guessin cos u keep emphasising chinese herbs hahahaha

congrats!!!

i still stickin w same gynae as comfy with him liao. his charge also slightly more ex than others. but he is quite good.

i also scare of accidents... i hope i won't get one after this... i stopping at 2 really... i hope not so fertile. now the thot of givin birth freak me out.

cherry,
your emotional pattern really very typical of the preggy ladies..muahahha..hope you find things to keep you happy...i oso think dat to keep happy during preg period very important..

eh..yes la..my mum always say fair can hide 10 flaws..aslong as a woman is fair..she is pretty...so she always say the tanner girls very "no class"...but turns out i am quite tan also..keke...only sis looks like her..fair fair, spoilt spoilt look..okie..if you haf a girl...it will be nice if she's fair!!

milkie, garfield,
keke...i think anyhow eat is OK la...like wat some say...anything eat in moderation is good...my hb used to yell at me when i start eating pineapples & watermelon...but i like le..

giggler,
eh no need to be suprise ma...coz hor..my colleague oso like dat...tried for a couple of years...then gave birth to 1..thereafter oso accident..very fast...1 birth "reset" the body system liao ma..hee..somemore yours is 2 birth lor..confirm "good system"..wakakaka

btw..you seeing which gynae?? i changed gynae for both preg..

jelly,
wakakak...i juz spree ON this morning once again..but very few items only la...i realise i went crazy wif tyler's surf shorts/berms...coz they are all so cute!!

milkie,
btw..hb say tie the tube after 3rd...coz firstly i c-sect..cannot c-sect too many times...2ndly he hates protection...

then i say...so easy..you go tie la..he oso dun wan...something to do wif the man's virility cum ego??

ya lor how come man cannot tie ah?
my frens act against me tieing too cos they say i still young. then they say maybe i can get injection or eat pills, i told them let him wear c* lor. they say men not comfy w tat 1... i say no choice... hahahaha either c* or no nxt time.

Jazzcy & Garfield, thanks

garfield, who is your gynae? At west area or central?

fat_babe, you have diff gynaes for both kids? My gynae is Dr KH Chan. Just called his clinic and apparently he incr his package to $888 now. Ex hor? I c-section also leh. Think have to tie too cos cant c-section so many times rite???

gigg, my gynae at central... he also raise his package to $650 this yr. imagine so much changes within a yr hor... last yr just give birth n rate diff.
wow yrs is ex too... but wat abt his hospitalisation package? cos i rem payin $1.5K after deduct of medisave! somemore i opt for 4 bedded, didn't take epi or assisted.

giggler,
your gynae like "auspicious package" hor...muahaha...$888....my 1st gynae very cheap...in a c-sect dat time...every consultation was $35 no package...then he went out of practise....so i went to CH KOH at toa payoh...think i dun remember wrongly his package was $500...

recommended c-sect is 3 times..but there are lotsa cases where people go thru more than 3....hee..

garfield,
the prices varies very very differently coz of the gynae you use..my fren choose single bedder..natural birth wif epi..all in all spent $10K cash..

tyra, csect wif GA, 2 bedder...i spent 0 cash after using the $750 claim from my own medisave
tyler same case..but i spent about $1.5k cash...after all claims from medisave..coz my 2 different gynae charge differently...