(2007/02) February

GIGGLER!!!! You pregg too????? CONGRATS!!!

SAHM gathering.... Is it tomorrow? Where? What time?

Milkshake,
I put Ben in the same room as Sarah when he was 8 weeks old. Before that, he was sleeping in a Moses basket in our room. He got too long for the basket.

Wah, I'm shacked out. Got back on Sat evening. It was a tiring holiday with the 2 kids. Sarah refused to nap in the afternoon, but Ben needed his nap. So we had to entertain Sarah. It rained every afternoon, so no playground for her. But we saw a lot in Camerons and did quite a lot. That part was good fun. Then on Fri night, Ben developed a fever, which was quite high on Sat night. So I had to bring him to KK at 11 pm. They wanted him to give a urine sample to test for UTI. But the naughty boy was already in his night mode and REFUSED to urinate! I waited around at KKH til 2+am with no success, and finally the doc said to go home and bring back the urine sample the next day. Got home at 3 am and finally went to bed at 3.30. No church for us on Sunday... too shack, and still had to get Ben to pee into the bag. So I only got to rest yesterday afternoon. Today is clean-up-the-mess-in-the-house day. No more holidays for us for the next year I think! Too tiring.

ok my mummy friends, i'm going out now. will try to log on later.

catz, see lah...this shows that u should go out more often. hee hee

PVL, thanks for your info on the kids' sleeping arrangements.

gathering will be on wed 1115am at globetrotters. same place we met the last time.

PVL, omg, sounds like such a tiring trip for you, esp since you needed to drive and I'm guessing you do most of the horsework with the kids too? Poor poor you and poor poor Ben. So do you think it's UTI?

milkie, I seldom go into TS video lah, 'cos it looks like all Chinese stuff.

So anybody going for the Thomas Live! show? I've booked for the last day, Sunday 7th Sept at 4pm.

Hello gals....

I so tired over the last weekend... Dunno is it becos ah-xi can sense that she will have a didi/meimei to share her mummy's love or due to her flu and stuffy nose, she is soooooo cranky recently, cried over small things and want only me to carry her, not even my hubby... I so super tired and pek chek...

Cherry, hei, glad to know ur #2 cld be a meimei!!! Yday i went for my gynae consultation, still can't see a boy or gal lei, gotta wait for the next visit.

Think my hospitalisation bill and the consultation fees the cheapest of all. When having ah-xi, other than my JB gynae, i also signed up a $500 package wif Dr CH Koh of Toa Payoh. My JB consultation is between RM50 to RM100 each time, and my hospitalisation of 4D3N only cost RM1.5k (in which i claimed back RM500 from my msia insurance). So all in all think i spent less than S$2k to give birth to ah-xi.

Out of curiosity, i also went to buy a hi-5 dvd from Popular shop in JB, cost only RM15.90. My aunty said ah-xi has been watching hi-5 every weekday morning. I watched for 5 minutes wif her yday and not very impressed lei. Nice mei???

smurfy, 15% off now if you enter 'train ticket' at checkout

jelly, aiyoh, dun cry lah.. I know it's very pek chek. I was so tired out with the pregnancy (Beth's) and I just could not deal with the tantrums that Timo used to pull and on top of that, he was angry that I was working so he would only go to my mother. Very tough..

Catz... I really wanted to cry. This morning she woke up and crying again when i woke up at my usual timing. So to calm her, i made her milk milk, then her daddy passed her the milk bottle but this gal simply refused!!! This stubborn gal, she does not want the milk from my hubby, but me!!! Can tell my hubby was very hurt, and he said he better go to hide from ah-xi. Such a bad morning to begin wif.

Stella, forgot to tell u cherish is getting prettier and prettier. She has high forehead. Ppl said high forehead=intelligent.

Hubby asked me yday whether to join his company as his assistant or not, he said his boss is ok liao. Initially i was quite reluctant lei, but come to think of it, it is not too bad an idea, at least timing wise i am more flexible wif his company. I am still considering, but guess i will stay with my current company at least until end of the year.

Beth and Qy still free for the time being... when they turn 2, then gotta pay. Though I think a lot of dishonest parents don't pay for their kids.

jelly, yah I know the feeling
Wah working with hubby ah? Tricky tricky.. I think I cannot... hehehee..

cherry,
yes zz at one pt also eat his toes but not for v long.

re: gynae package. mine is $650 for 2nd visit onwards. he charge around 3k for delivery natural in 4 bedded. so think it delivery is ex?

but milk milk, yrs is ex ah.

my gynae is v funny. after i give birth to zz, he check me n after knowin i m fine, he ask me "u can get ready for second bb!"

so his wish come true lor. anyway, i dun wan a third... my collegues told me better take percuation.. haha they more worried than me. but actually the second one was kind of plan but didn't know so early.

any child here like zz behaviour? he v funny, if bigger children run n play, he wans to join... then if they come close to him like maybe sayang him, he push them away.
his social skills r bad.

to date, i ahven't put him in any play group yet but he play in the playground and sometimes w other fren's kids.

catz catz
but if we dun pay for them. does it mean they will sit in our laps?????????? i think i better let QY sit with hb then kekeke.. i saw the ticketing arrangment.. any recommendations??? or i just let hb decide tonite.

jas
working in the same company under same dept will have alot of potential conflicts n gossips.. better be careful... especially on fiance manners some more.... but then again... if the company is really pro-family ..

smurfy, yah lor, sit on lap lor, what to do? Ticketing ah, either Cat 1 or Cat 2 lor.. for me, I chose Cat 2 since I gotta buy 3 tix. :p

garfield, hehe.. yah cannot have accident for #3.. .it's really NOT FUNNY.

Globetrotters 1115 on Wednesday. Great. See you all there.

Catz,
Actually, my hb was very good during the trip. He took care of the kids a lot. He gave them their baths, carried Ben, missed out on strawberry picking because of looking after Ben while Sarah & I did the picking
. It's just that I had to pick up after my hb. If he did the bathing, I had to pick up and put away the clothes, prepare the fresh clothes, fetch the towels, pack the bags, pack the boot of the car. My hb is not so good at picking up after himself and putting things away
(Was brought up with maids to do that sort of thing for him).

jelly,

i wouldn't recommend workin in same co as hubby... tat my own opinion... like smurfy say, got work conflicts...

smurfy, wat show ah? i waiting for my popping... hahaha

Good morning mummies! It's Monday again! Never there is Friday for us to look forward to..I hope this will ease your Monday blues.

For those mummies who has brought their little ones for overseas travelling, I need some advices. Besides bringing the pram/stroller do you bring along a sarong or bb carrier? My hb thought of getting a backpack with a bb carrier but we are still considering. I'm going to Tokyo this Sep, with my hb, girl and of course the little one in my tummy, by then I will be abt 28wks.

peko, MUST have backpack carrier.. sometimes not convenient to bring stroller.

PVL, yeah exactly what I was talking about! MEN! Heheheh..

OK so who's gonna turn up on Wednesday? Just so that whoever's there first can ask for a table?

List:

PVL (2 high chairs)
Catz (1 high chair)
Milkie (1 high chair)
Charis (1 high chair)
??
Cat

Hi catz, where did you buy your backpack carrier? I saw one at Great World City on Sun, it's about $200+. Then we saw this Japanese bb carrier,Rax, seems not bad cos my hb tried in on, he said the shoulders don't feel the pain but as usual my girl doesn't like to be carried in it, struggling and wanted to get down.

morning! Bz last wk, so din cme in...

wah peko - u r gng Tokyo! just u & hb w/ ur gal???

I m thinking of gng for a hol also tis Nov.. think v far hor? ha ha ha.. still hv 4mths away....... Plan to go w/ PILs & family. Since my sis is possing & I def need to take AL to jagar my rascal for @ least the beginning, I might as well go for a hols right?

Went to chk out prices for up til Sep then + abt $200 more for est for Nov pkg. So tis Sat can give them the info...

erm, anyway, I dunno ware I m gng to sqz out those $$ for hols... heng A is still on infant fare... bt still a few $100s leh..... Bt I think shld b ok, since he's nw in his curious stage... he would be curious to c everything.

peko,
Wow, you're brave... 28 weeks and travelling to Tokyo. I travelled at about 28 weeks to Taipeh with my hb and Sarah. Was OK, but quite tiring.
Some places, strollers are not much use except for baby to sleep in whilst you're out. Too many stairs to climb. Eg in Camerons, didn't use stoller at all. All stairs everywhere. Dunno about Japan though. If you really want to, bring a small umbrella stroller. Slings and carriers are the best. Forgot to bring the sling for Ben for our Camerons trip, so hb had to carry him by hand. We went jungle trekking and my hb slipped on the moss/mud and slid down on his bum with Ben. Fortunately, nobody was hurt. Just VERY dirty! BTW, I have a backpack carrier. Wanna borrow? I have never used it. It's a hand me down from my sis. Always forget that I have it. Seldom go walking anyway.

Gig - congrats to u on ur 3rd bb!

As for gng to same gynae, my gf told me, our gynae incr charges frm $500 to $600 or $650. Besides tat, GlenE up prices hor........

Normal delivery UP deposit was $1260 (my time), now is $1.5k. My gf, paid extra $600+ upon discharge. She had natural w/ epi. *faint* which means almost $1k more. I told hb, nx birth - die die natural w/o epi. Since I could do it for A, I could do it for future meimei!

yes - for strollers - bring small & light one. I was thinking, go hols....... maybe bring a bb carrier instead. Stroller I find it v mafan leh.... my Maclaren wasted man........ nw resting inside my storerm for gd I think........

Stella - Town for kids look v fun........... hey - they hv Acct position... if U work tare, can even help take care of ur gal.

thks for the info.

I saw this Little Mandarins at Dempsey Hill yest, I guess must b super exp man...

catz, there no BP for Ergo now. But there is a BP on this Beco Butterfly Baby Carrier. Looks cool.

ah ger, yes we going for a F&E tour, so that it's not so rush. Where do you intend to go?

pvl, I'm not brave la. At first the folks at home were worried, then during one of my check up my gyne asked if we have brouhgt my girl for holiday before, we told him we are going in Sep,but in laws and parents are worried, he said no problem la, you are only due in Dec, go go go. Let me go source around for a carrier first, thanks for your offer, if I can't find one I'll let you know
In Tokyo most of the train stations have no escalator so if in stroller think got to carry the stroller up.

Stella

the Town For kids - r u putting cherish at those w/ the multimedia fun programmes? They hv so many things, I c until I blur leh........... Hw much is tat approximately? Hw many times per week?

Peko - hmm...... hb may nt b able to take long leave, & also due to cost + we r brining children along... we were thinking of Korea + HK. HK alone is nt tat cheap also already....... & we manage to find Kr + HK @ abt 1.3k est for 6D5N + 3D2N in HK. Now the fare till Sep is abt 1.1k, peak period is abt $150 more, so I round up to $1.3k per person.

stella, I need advice from you. last time you mentioned that Cherish will cry whenever you bring her to a room full of people/stranger or unfamiliar place. Has she improved now when you bring her to those trial classes? I dun know what is wrong with A. He cried throughout kindermusik class yesterday. Cos I was tired, I asked hb to be the accompanying parent and he started crying soon after class start. stopped for a while, then cried again, very disruptive to the other kids. Hb was so angry with A
Then after that, A refused to let hb carry him for the rest of the day!! how?? He was also slightly shy when we first got to church and I was carrying him but after 10mins, he was ok and he started to go round the room playing with other kids, taking toys, playing with other parents..so why the sudden change in behaviour in Kindermusik?? Is it cos of my hb or he doesnt like the class? What should I do? Any advice?

jelly, although its good for hb and wife to work together but others may gossip that u are the wife of boss etc..may be tough loh. Plus if u are direct report to him, then how is he going to give you fair appraisal and increment?

hmm, still not confirmed meimei cos cant see but of cos cant see means got chance which is better then can see the thing then absolutely no chance

smurfy, which pat schoolhse u checking out? I am thinking of sending A to the lim ah pin one (serangoon). Agree, the tea break item cannot make it!!! arent they supposed to eat wholesome meals??

STELLA
town4kids has a branch soo near my place..maybe i should check that out as well.. yah.. is cherish enrolled into half day or those flexi hours type.

cherryale
most probably me will be checking out lim ah pin road oso.. but me just checking out to see what's the difference between an expensive and an average priced cc. i dun think i want to put him there lor coz fiancial wun allow me.

ah ger
what's this little mandarin at demspy hill?

Peko - if we r gng, we will opt for tour pkg cos in a big grp....save the hassle of travelling on our own... can make those little devils sit in the coach & play....

Cherry - A so scarey of strangers? Mine arh.......... ppl kick him he still can laugh & cont on playing w/ them, try to approach them again! Silly boy........... Yest when we were @ the trael agency, tare's tis notti boy....... ran to A & then push him away frm turning those marble stool for us to sit one. Then A tot he's playing w/ him so din mind tat. We called him to cme over bt he ignore us & remained standing tare.

Then when he's back w/ us, tat boy came to him then use his legs & kicked him. nt say v hard lah... bt nt just 1 or 2 times leh........... I was so angry lor... feel like scolding tat boy. Nt tat I m yim chim, bt then hv to c to wat limit lor.. he's practically showed his leg out & flew towards A. The mum only said "u can't do tat u know?" then nv really pulled her boy away! wa lau, I can't stand it man........ then my silly boy still can laugh, wanna touch him & etc..... qi si wo le.

cherry
i think QY same as ur A.. takes some time to warm up..... and some times dun warms up at all.. but he has his own personal space arr.. u can play, be near with him, but he usually dun allow strangers to touch him at all. he will push away the hand stronlgy and say his infamous "MAI"

smurfy, i think main diference is the curriculum cos pat's is very structured, compared to the other 2 cc near my mil's plc, although they have some sort of curriculum, it is not as rigorous. I didnt look at their meal items though since I intend to put him there for half a day, so 9am to 12pm. He would have taken his breakfast before going and will come back for lunch.

ger, that mummy should have pulled away or discipline her kid. THat is so rude! how old is that boy?

smurfy, at least he will only say mai when people touch him, A will cry in class!! How to built up his confidence? I noticed that he minds how others see him a lot, why so sensitive at such a young age. So unlike me leh..must be the genes from hb's side..all his brothers are so shy!!

i passed by Lim ah pin road almost every weekday
half day is about 1k+, cant remember, I took the brochures 2 mths back. But he cant start until 2 yrs old. its an old detached house, nothing fanciful.

cherry, I think is 2yrs+ bah.........

tats y, I was so angry leh........ then my gong gong boy still stand tare let him fly his leg over, thinking he's playing w/ him. heng is nv hit him real hard, bt still I dun like tat action being done! tat boy - a bully man!

catz/garfield... my hubby has mentioned this matter to me a few times, and my answers to him were always no no no. I told him definitely there will be conflicts and arguments ones. I also dun wish to invite gossip. But yday i took a step and reconsider. This might not be a bad idea. He has been searching for someone to assist him in the corporate matters and still can't find a suitable one.

smurfy/cherry, His sg office currently only one assistant. So if i join him, i will be his assistant in charge of finance, admin and PR, and his assistant will be my assistant. All his other staff is in china.

Wow, peko, Tokyo trip! So nice!!! My boss said Tokyo is children friendly, so shd not have problem bringing stroller and kids along... My hubby is gg to Tokyo to next week. Too bad timing is bad for me, else i wld have join him too.

cherry... ah-xi will push away strangers and run to me also when the strangers too overwhelming to her. For the class, i think must be due to he does not like ur hubby to go in wif him. As u mentioned, he is more sticky to u rite? My gal the same too. Refuse to drink milk if the bottle was brought to her by her daddy.

jas
i think coz ur hb not ard most of the time for AH-xi. that's why the reaction from her. when i came back frm thailand.. this QY oso not that sticky to me oso... at times give me his infamous "mai" as well, i oso feel so hurt....i really missed the time when he dragged me by his hand to play with him during my mealtimes.. fustratingly sticky but i love it leh.

smurfy... I not sure is it due to the separation between my hubby and ah-xi. But when my hubby came back from his last trip, he went straight from airport to my aunty's house to see ah-xi. And the moment ah-xi saw him, she smiled so happily and ran to him and let him hugged. And for the 1st two days when my hubby was back, she prefer him to carry than me! I was a bit taken aback but was relief and thot the period of her stickiness to me was over. But that only last for 2 days, and she back to her stickiness to me. for the past week it gets worse and i am really at end of my patience liao... I lost my temper on her so many times! Haiz...

smurfy and cherry, Timo attended the Pat's Schoolhouse at Lim Ah Pin for 4 terms.. OK if you ask me what's the diff btw Pat's and Marymount (mid-priced), the diff is the teachers' qualifications. pat's teachers usually have a degree. Other kindy teachers or cc teachers might only hv diploma. Those cheapo CCs lagi worse, I think only got some kacang cert... sorry if I offend people lah.. just my opinion. If I could afford Pat's, that would be my choice too but I'm quite happy with him at Marymount

jas
could it be wat u said that ah-xi knws there's an additional family member soon? hey, has u tried letting ah-xi played with dolls? i visited a tui-na lady yesterday.. while waiting for us.. QY was happily playing with a doll there...sayang the head and kiss the doll.. let it sit upright... hold the hand etc.. so the lady was telling us that QY will be a good bRo in future taking care the young.. maybe u can try that on Ah-xi?

catz
this carpe diem in punggol has lots of PRC teachers!!!!whahahhaa. ... but the ample outdoor spcace and located by the seaside is a plus plus factor.. my hb was telling me that if i want to put QY in some cheapo rowdy CCs.. might have well let him stay at home.. n play with his own toys.. coz his toys more than these small rowdy ccs...sooo we will visit pat's one of these days to have a feel.. but i really doubt i can afford it in long run.. hey tim is in half days or those 2 or 3 days per week type now? pat's @ Lim Ah Pin ROAD has flexi hours or days type?

smurfy, I don't think Pat's does flexi hours.. but I think there are 2 or 3days/week pricing too. Tim is in 3 hour pre-nursery now.. everyday type. Beth can only enrol in Marymount for when she turns 3.. another 2 years to go. Argh. I would not touch those cheapo CCs with a 10-foot barge pole, what your hubby said is right! They feed the kids crap and the teachers cannot make it. No point lor. Give you more headache. Personally I don't like PRC teachers but if the school admin is well run then should be OK.

catzz/ cherryale
well, i will check it pat's @ lim ah pin road out one of the saturdays mornings.... i think it is just the few of us who r overly concerned about wat goes into their stomach arr... :p... cherry cherry i got suggestion for u.. if u think ur maid is too free and u like Julia Gabriel.. then maybe u can consider there... english playclub or playnursery (1.5hrs per day) for monday wednesday n friday at evans road.. then tues n thursday for chinese playclub/nursery at forum shopping mall :DDDDDD

catz
u enrolled tim for the dstory club right? was it that good? can't u tell the storyyyyyy at home? :p i saw the title of the books. oredi have some titles at home leh..."the very hunggry caterpillar, frm head to toes. guess how much i love u" etc

smurfy, ah-xi loooooves teddy bears, irregard hers or other kids'. She will hug and kiss her bear bear. Many times when she cranky and won't stop crying, we will bring out her bear bear to "talk" to her. Then she will hug the bear bear and stop crying. She knows each of her bear's names and will go search for them when we ask her where is her bear bear.

Re: cc. Next time if i work in my hubby's office, i will look for somewhere near Raffles Place area, more convenient to drop her and fetch her. If a choose to be a SAHM, wld consider the Pat's school house at clementi near my place. Just realised not long ago the kindy i past by everyday is Pat's. But gotta do research and pay the schools visits first before decide.

Chocbabe, how's ryan in his cc?

smurfy, catz, is right. The cc near my parents home only requires teachers to have O levels. Honestly, I think nowadays kids with O levels may not even speak proper english, so I dun think I want to send my kids to these schools. At the very least, the teachers must have some early childhood diploma, if not it will really just be a childcare centre and not a place to learn. For Pat's curriculum, my neighbour whose son is in the school now, really like the letterland where they learn the alphabets in a year. Things like that, structured learning is what I want since I cant spend the time to teach A.

Dun think they have flexi hour, either full or half day I think. My problem is more like if I send A to Pats, then I dun think I can send #2 to Pats too cos it will be too costly and i dun really want to spend 2k a month just on half day playschool.

JG, I thot of that but I dun trust my maid to bring A out. Most likely it will be yeye to fetch A there but again I dun want to trouble him. So best solution is to have SAHM who drives kids to all these schools. Honestly that was the main reason for me to learn driving when I was 18yrs old

smurfy, I am considering dstory club too when A turns 18mths.Basically I am sending him to programs because I think he is too shy, so need the exposure.

jelly, my hb is very upset that A cries when he was the one who carried him. Do you know he asked A this question at least 20 times yesterday "why is it that just now you do not want me to carry you??" I was so irritated that I told him to shut up, maybe that's why A is so sensitive cos his daddy is sensitive!

jelly, cherry, my zz also not sticky to dad though everyday he call his name so affectionally...

my hb will force him to stick to him if needed... haha

btw, sad news call my cl in the morn n she blame me say i m the one dun wan her n refuse to return $. ask her when coem sg, she say no more... thought her son gettin married soon in sg too?

garfield, yah A also goes papa everyday but he is definitely not so comfortable to play with my hb all the time. He prefers me or maid.

She will never return your deposit lah. Last time my ex-CL told me there are such people in the trade, they go round taking deposits, then cook up some stories not to do the job and just disappear with the deposit