(2007/02) February

PVL

I am happy for u that u and ur hb shares a loving relationship..not many couples still maintain such good relationship after yrs of marriage.

i hope that during my temp sahm stint,, my hb is appreciative.

PVL, you are certainly one independent lady!
Glad that your hubby appreciates you. I always tell my hubs that he is DAMN LUCKY to have me.. hahahaha... but I'm also lucky to have him lah.. :p

chocbabe, Ryan is really mature looking! Not beng lah!

smurfy, QY very cheeky!

stella, hope Cherish is OK soon. Heartpain hor? Don't worry, Beth is also not the friendly type.

Today, after 5 months, Beth finally allowed Timo's lao shi to carry her. Haha.. everyone at the kindy said must buy 4D..kekekek... so we stayed at kindy for half an hour. now my little garang girl is KO from the morning's excitement.

smurfy,

hehe... u change the size of the swimsuit to 3T also ya? Bigger better somemore the swimsuit cutting pretty small.

stella,

Is cherish's fever better? Must be very tiring on u too... My hub is sick now also and our biggest worry is YX will catch the virus. Thank god she does not (and hope will not) and hubby will be flying to china today.

chocbabe,

I talked to my hubby yday and he agree that it will be more convenient if we choose a childcare nearer to my aunt. I saw from Kinderland's webbie, for 18mos to 2 yo, the programme is kinderplay which last for 2 hours per day, and the full day programme is for toddler > 2yos. So they also have full day for 18 mos toddler? Most likely will arrange a visit to Kinderland when my hubby comes back from china.

jelly,
I also checked the website but like a little different from what it says leh... the also hve full day/ half day/ flexi (3-half days a week) for 18 mths... convenience is quite impt... that's why i rule out those childcare at pasir ris beach...

hey.... ryan n YX can be classmates.... hehe...

Catz

my cherish also..after mths and mths of visiting my grandma place, she is finally more sociable with my relatives.

jelly,

haiz..actually my hb and i are abit pissed with my mum. cos she actually has got symptoms of being sick a few days ago but she din say. in fact she went out these few nights, only yesterday when cherish was having fever, she then say she is not feeling well also..the ultimate is only yesterday night, she measured her temp, which read 37.5 , and she still says no fever? then when i ask her whether she wants to take fever med, she says she just taken just now?? abit contradicting right, a moment ago she says she not having fever..and the best thing is there is no med at home. I urged her to do and see doctor, but she says no need.. only after much much persuasion then she went..aiyoh like a little kid.

came back, she was having viral fever, which is wat cherish is having...so we suspect my mum could have spread it to her..

jelly/ catz,
if i wanna order stuff from say Old Navy or Gap myself, I need some account from either comgateway or vpost is it?? Do they accept singapore credit card?

Is it easy to order?

stella, some kids (esp girls) take a loooong time to warm up. My girl will still kick her legs and twist and SCREAM with my MIL..ahahahaha.. shiok.

fatbabe, you naughty girl.. I went to look at the crazy8 website.. stuff is soooooooooooo nice 'cos it's Gymboree stuff lah.. crazy8 is Gymboree's equivalent to Old Navy.. Gymboree is GAP and Janie and Jack is Banana Republic.. like that.. haha..

OK anybody wanna spree Crazy8? The stuff is soooooooooooooooo cute! Base on 1.45 exch rate ok?

chocbabe, er.. credit card verification is required for Oldnavy/Gap (same company, verify once for all brands).. It took me 2 days to dingdong btw Old Navy and my issuing bank :p

catz
trying to register with comgateway now, thy say suppose to have some registration package... must wait for them to mail to us is it?? i already smsed DBS, which was what they say on the website...

chocbabe... hehe... quite likely the two kiddos will be classmates. Think different branches have slight diff system too. Heard that some branches do not provide half-day service.

stella, most of the elderly do not like to see doc if possible, like my mil. Hope both ur mum and cherish will recover soon from the fever...

Catz!!! U are tempting us again!!! I just ordered some Crazy8 stuff from prettycloud! Ya, some of their clothes are rather nice! So many sprees... Even gymboree gg to have 30% circle of friends sale from this Thurs (Sg time Fri 12 noon). Thot of getting some stuff from Gymboree also...

chocbabe, i ordered ON stuff myself b4. Rather easy. I shipped using vpost as i do not have CGW account. Sometimes they accept but sometimes they do not accept international credit card. But they will email u to call them to verify the billing address of ur credit card. U have many things to order from ON/Gap???

stella
understand how u feel.. coz i was like that the other time.. but thinking back, if we were the caregiver, the virus would also be easily spread. though i think i might put on a disposable mask as a preventive measure, but i think it is too much of it to ask my mum to wear that, coz she voluntarily looked after the kid for me.

wow... spree again...

i look at the site but find that girls 1 nicer...
thinkin of buying... hmmm catz, can leave a slot?

jelly, gymboree also having sale soon too? hmmm wondering if i buy myself will be better...

i heard of a new globeshopper thing... anyone know wat tat?

Catz..AHHH!! I just bought quite a few stuff for myself online..now Yael's turn..but anyway I check out crazy8 stuff..soooo cute..but a lot no size already or OOS..sob sob.

I'm jerlene's daddy. I got sometime these 2 weeks so thought of posting something here. I do visit this thread every now and then. All the babies in the pics look so grown-up now. When I looked back at those photos taken one year ago, omg, did Jerlene really look like that one year ago? Haha......
1404786.jpg

1404787.jpg

For those who constantly follows Jerlene's blog (http://jerlene.blogspot.com), you shld know that I'm now a bit concern about Autism. Jerlene has been showing quite a few symptoms of Autism, for eg. she does not respond to her name, she always avoid eye contact, she still dunno who or what is papa and mama, she always "use" my hand to take things that she cannot reach etc. All these, according to what I've read, may be signs of Autism. When we brought Jerlene to PD last Sat for MMR jab, the PD also commented that Jerlene is ignoring quite a bit. And because of this, the PD advised not to take the MMR jab for the time being because there are some research recently that says Autism may be caused by the MMR injection. Now I just have to observe her more closely and hopefully things change.......

Ryan

i also notice cherish is showing signs of austism. till now, she also dunno papa/mama.. as for making eye contact, she only go that with people she is familar with.. otherwise, she will be staring hard at strangers and cry.

and she is not responding to her name also

dats it la sisters...

waiting for you all only...muahahha..

catz...on the way to surfing...problematic la..the crazy8 webby..

jelly...the sale issit 30% off even sale items??

stella,

i think u got to monitor... not necc it be autism.

if she do stare at ple, i think tat is eye contact liao... cos normally autism children tend to shy away from everyone n live on his own world.

i actually got a cousin who child look this way n i guessing he abit autisic

n now since our child is big enough to know who who, of cos they will wan to be carried by familar faces.

Hi ryan..I understand your concern. I was teacher to an autistic child who came to school when he was 3 plus..and another child who showed signs of asperger's syndrome (similar to autism) when he first came to school at 3plus too..but only recently diagnosed at Pri2.

I think its still too early to tell..give Jerlene more time..no eye contact is one of the most basic signs of autism..if she still displays this up to 18months, n others like mentioned in the books eg not responding to her name, then do see a PD n..there is an early intervention program in s'pore..I think in SGH.

With u n wife, we hope for the best for Jerlene.

ryan, stella,

think if you guys can remember i was very worried abt tyler not responding to his name oso...and he's v focus on playing wif wheels...and dun look at us at all...he in fact showed many redflags of autism...

but i put in some effort to play wif him..engage him in "pretend play"...bring him out..more often..he kind of improved..

some of the additional things you might wan to notice..

- does she play wif you??
- when given a thing like spoon..will she juz observe it or will she pretend to feed someone..or imagine dat its a something else like comb??
- is she afraid of vibrating toys?

autistic kids view an object as per function..they will not "pretend play"...

autistic kids are also afraid of vibrating objects..

this was a helpful resource for me..

http://www.autismspeaks.org/

got alot of video gloassary for you to watch and understand..

ryan
saw jerlene the other day at gymoboree. she looks perfectly active
.. but let's try to observe mORe.. meanwhile dun stress urself and the kid out, k?

fat babe
laffed when i read ur post on pretend play. this QY pretends feeding the fish in the fish tanks soo much that the bottom of the tank lies soo many spoons.. and he keep gesturing me to remove the spoons for him to play -_-'

Hi Ryan,

Jerlene looks absolutely normal to me during the gym class! Have more patient with Jerlene and give her more time. Meanwhile do take care of urself and jojo.

smurfy..

tyler is the toilet janitor of the family now...he goes to all our toilet bowl and wash toilet...!! everytime cannot find him..can find him in the toilet..very headache..coz he throw all the brushes in..!!

fat babe
how abt locking the door after use? i very scare of him playing with toilet bowls leh.. afraid one fine day, he just decide to dip his hand in to play with the water (coz he simply go crazy with water and watersounds)... and ends up head in the bowl..

garfield,

i am thining of order gym stuff myself too if can get enuf order. It is very easy to order from gymboree as they provide direct international shipping service. The shipping cost is $35 for order below $225 which is pretty reasonable.

babe... from past experience, the 30% apply to everything in ur cart at the point of checkout. The code is "GYMFRIEND". But i believe they will revise the current prices u see from the webbie now on Thurs when the sales starts. Some items prices may be higher and some lower.

jello,

onz la...then i email you my list oso la...last nite i wrote a list liao..on tuffy's site..then delete again...cannot make up my mind..coz worry the prices go up..think my order very little nia..

how come non of us here do children place spree ar??

smurfy,
yes...my cousin died from playing in the toilet...head dunked into the pail..and drown when he's 3...so sad..i duper worry lor...on top of dat my floor very slippery..

jas
me oso wanna gymoboree, but i guess oso 1 or 2 items type, issit okie?

fatbabe.
yucks.. these kind of freak accidents r most worrying..

Thanks for all your advice and concern. Both Tracy and I have always spent all our possible free time playing with Jerlene. Will continue to observe her and hopefully she's just slow in understanding words rather than autism. However, she learns to imitate all my actions pretty fast.

Actually Jerlene like to socialize but according to some studies, autistic kids do socialize. It's a myth that people always think austistic people like to be alone. Anyway, the more I read the more worrying it is because there are many so called "signs of autism" to me are just normal (before I read those articles).

Talking about accident, we really have to be careful now that they started running around. Jerlene will mostly run rather than walk nowadays. And her run is still not very steady so she tends to loose balance after running a few steps.

Btw, do you all think Jerlene looks like japanese? Many of my colleagues and frens commented that which makes me wonder whether I took the wrong baby from the hospital...haha....just kidding....... :p

babe... U better close the toilet door after each use. the story of ur cousin's incident is super sad...

Re: Gymboree. Those who want to get anything from there please pm or email me. Prices now may be adjusted upward or downward. Anyway, i will compile our orders first and see how much we can get on Friday.

haha, ryan, jerlene does look like a "ri ben wa wa", sooooo cute!

garfield, u have $40 order for crazy8? vpost has a minimum base charge of S$13.24 plus weight charge. For small amount "bo hua" loh. No, i didn't order myself. I join a spree.

Jelly,
Gymboree ship internationally?? cos i was testing it and when asked to select shipping method, it says US standard 3-5days. Is that the correct one??

Thinking of ordering on my own cos I have about US$100 worth of orders for ryan, this is before the disc. Might order more for 2 of my gf who are giving birth soon... to girls, so i very happy cos girl stuff cuter... haha

Peko,your gal so pretty with her eyes so big.
Sherwin got 6 teeth now, another 2 small ones are sprouting out. My camera spoilt so haven been taking pic recently

Stella, Sherwin also sick, got bronchitis

Smurfy, both my kids' eyes also super small, cant see if they smile. But look cute to me. Hehehe... At least can still see QY's eyes lah, my kids are worse. Hahaha...

Choc, Ryan looks tall in the pic, how tall is he now???

Ryan, very amazing to look back at our kids' bb pic hor??? Hehehe

Fat_babe, you let Tyler to go to toilet himself? Sher's fav place is also toilet leh and I feel that it's very dangerous leh. Dun scare me leh, feel so sad for your cousin, sob sob... Too bad, my toilet's door cant be closed fully type leh. How????

Spree - got sales for Gymboree??? I just ordered leh.

chocbabe,

yes, gymboree do direct international shipping. Here is the charges: http://www.gymboree.com/our_company/help_template.jsp?FOLDER%3C%3Efolder_id=2534374302778345&bmUID=1210135290545#asia-pacific

U ignore the request for us to choose US standard or express shipping (u can simply click either one) and proceed to checkout. After which when u key in ur delivery address which is sg address, there will be a "Shipping Method" on international shipping (standard or express) for u to choose.

stella,

considered...by feeding you..she's pretending liao..!! keke...so dun worry so much first yah...

giggler,

not dat i allow la...but he run there himself stealthily..nobody knows one..my toilet door can close..he oso can go in..cannot be lock form outside one ma..

i am most afraid of the slippery floor...

ryan

jerlene really look like a jap baby..so kawaii!

i can understand ur worries, cos cherish is very slow in speech development too