(2007/02) February

Sunsweet,
I don't know how to 'keep' the kids in their own bed. I never considered that Sarah might keep coming to look for us in our bed leh. Maybe it's just habit. She didn't regularly sleep in our bed, or even in our room, so there was no inclination to come. The other factor is age - Sarah was 2+ when she switched to a bed from her cot. Also, she was excited about having her own big bed, with her choice of Barney/Strawberry Shortcake/Hi-5 etc sheets. Occasional squeezing with mum and dad is OK mah, quite nice to have the kids roll around in our bed, but NOT in the middle of the night!!

Catz,
Oh noooo! Timo sick again! Poor you. Hope he'll get better. The damp weather is not helping, I guess. How did Beth swallow a coin??? That's quite big for a little gal's gut! Ben puts things into his mouth, but he will chew and chew and chew and chew. Then when I see him chewing away, I will dig whatever it is out of his mouth. He has sampled Blu Tack, stickers (his favourite food), rubberbands, paper and even birdshit (at the swimming pool the other day).

Hi gals, thanks for all the well wishes... just hope that if I keep Timo home from school for the whole week and maybe even next week to clear his system from those nasty bugs.

As for my girl.. aiyah, 'cos my Dad has been 'watching' the kids while I was having my awful intestinal cramps and he was letting them play with coins, of all things! ARGGGHHHH... I can't believe the 10 cents passed through her gut and I hope to GOD that it's the only thing she's swallowed. She's giving me a heck of a lot of problems these few days - refuses morning naps and cries for quite a while before going down for her afternoon naps and waking up early
Plus she's being very very naughty. If she wants something and doesn't get it, she will smack, hit and pull people's hair. Poor Timo has been at the receiving end most times and she doesn't respond to all sorts of disciplinary action. Headache

babe ah, sorry man, I cannot stand KKH at all.. anyway want to resolve Timo's problem once and for all and Dr Ong is the best (in my humble opinion).. just very very expensive.. not including $6 parking plus ERP, today's visit was around $250 alr.. with follow-up on Saturday, dunno how much liao. What to do?

hihi mummies,

wow so many posts! me just started a new job so not much time to come in and read (and post :p)

please confirm me for the 6 Apr GUG trial ya?

like fatbabe, PVL and some other mummies, i'm also against co-sleeping as i feel would affect the couple's quality of sleep as well as the baby's, in addition to being kinda dangerous.. i kicked my girl out of my room (even then, she was in a playpen in my room only) and into her cot in her own room when she was ard 6mths old.. up till now, only occasionally she will wake up and cry/scream in middle of the night then she gets to zzz with us till morning (if she cannot zzz back after some water or patting)...

HI mummies
my boy is 13mths now. These 2 weeks has been so frustrating feeding him. He will "keep" all the food in his mouth and refuse to swallow! do u all experience these? how to overcome it?? how long does your kids take to finish their meals?

My boy was born on feb 07
have been reading the post but dint join in
HOpe to join in and chat with you all if you all dont mind..

tks!!

jelly
hmm..think my boy oso woke up around that time & wldn't go back to sleep!
kept rolling around, climb up & down, etc..
so i got up to get him some water, he drank quite abit
i tot he wld sleep after but he still won't go to sleep till my hubby scolded him twice
then he kuai kuai lie down to sleep
keke..like he knows he had been noti!

CATZ
how's timo???
his fever subsided?

how're u?
feeling better?

PHEW! luckily Beth's able to poop the 10cent coin out!!
A ever poop quite a large piece of cardboard..
juz recently he tried to swallow a rubber band too!
haiz must be very careful with them!

Growing Up Gifted Trial Class (United Squares #01-20/27) (tel: 6258 4722):

6 April 2008, 2.00pm-3.30, S$45 nett

1. jelly/Yunxi (28 Feb 2007)
2. smurfy / Qiyuan (11 Feb 2007)
3. garfield/ Jasper (18 Feb 2007)
4. maddy/ Xinhui (1 March 2007)(OK???)
5. Jazzcy /Timothy (4 Feb 2007)(OK???)
6. Rachel / Joshua (1 Feb 2007)

Lyna,

welcome to thread. hmmm my boy only make alot of noise during meal time but still swallow his food... or is he bored w his food? wat do u normally give him?

btw, gals, zz is strange... he does not put things in his mouth. only sometimes his toys. I had been readin that yr kids have been "eating" all sort of things... but he dun. got good n bad cos if we give him real biscuit, he also dun put into the mouth... so got to feed him. is it normal?

i also wan to vent out this morn. last nite, zz vomitted his dinner when he almost finishing.... then i ask wat he had to eating yesterday... then my maid concluded had to be the FM. I had change the stage for quite some time ago n i did it slowly too n so far no prob...

then this morn, she keep complainin the new FM v sticky n then dunno say wat to my son. then she mention abt givin fresh milk to my son. she really think i earning big bucks. everytime i already buy something she will think other things n call me to buy.

somemore she can now tell me my nephew drink stage 3 only after he turns 2 and half yrs. if she so clever, y when i buy stage 3, she dun say??? sometimes i feel she v bossy n think she the mother ley

recently, when we go out, she sort of keep wanting to carry zz n then walk further away from me, like scare zz come to me like tat.

rachel, u and joshua are in!!!

babe... ya, plan to send YX to playgroup/child care/nursery when she is 2 yo. Actually i rather like to squeeze our bed wif YX especially when hubby is not around. hehe...

Pvl, that's what my SIL did too to separate the kids from their room! She let her kids chose their own bedsheets and beds, and they happily sleep in their own room since then.

Welcome Lyna!!! Does ur boy eventually swallow the food? I know some kids just take a longer time to finish their meal. Maybe u can feed him water more often during the meal? So far my gal does not have this problem. She normally finish her meal within 30 minutes.

gak, Adriel good boy lah. My YX scolded a bit will wail even louder. Really very "xiao jie" one. Sigh...

4. maddy/ Xinhui (1 March 2007)(OK???)

pvl
when u change sarah to a big bed at 2 yrs old, was it the toddler bed or the single bed? will they flip n fall off the bed? i got a old toopid super single bed (my hb's) now waiting for QY to grow up n use? i dunno when is an appropriate age to give it to him?

catz
beth is just going thr a phase now right? will not be an abusive girl/gf/wife/mum in future hoR?

garfieldddddddddddd
u gotta be careful of ur tummy ar when cosleeping with zz. they still flip n kicks in their sleep now arr.. i oso had a slight commotion with my maid yesterday. in the end i ask her " r u happy working here? do u want to caryr on working here?

smurfy,

ya lor tat is y i dun wan to sleep w him... it my hb lar say he wan to "bond" w his child.

anyway, now he back to his playpen. keke.

pvl
*pengz* ur ben's not on the bed. how to guage hahaha. but look at the beautiful eyes.. anymore pics of him? seems like he put on some weight as well? oh i oso got the side rails from 1st safety. but u see the endso of both sides, will oso have some free space for them to flip n fall right?

i also like to sleep with cherish..the feeling is very heartwarming..but bad bad habit. her baby cot can be converted to toddler bed, so i guess i no need to source for a single bed.

hb and me intend to get another king size mattress for cherish..so i can bulk in with her.

pvl,

the kids room is so neat and tidy. and ben is such a handsome boy

smurfy,
Huh? Ben's cot is a standard sized large cot lah. Sarah's bed is standard sized single bed. Yes, there's 'gaps' in the sides, I got the furniture shop to put Sarah's bed sides slightly more in the middle rather than all the way at the top, so that she sleeps in the upper/middle section of the bed. She has never fallen off yet. I needed 2 sides cos I wanted the bed in the middle of the room. If your bed is against a wall, you only need 1 side.

PVL.. Looking at sarah's bed reminded me of my old bed that was used to be at my mum's place Its similar wooden bed with 1 side full rail and the otherside 3/4 railed (both rail detechable.

I've been sleeping on it since young till humm i was ard 20 and actually it was pass down from my cousin .. so the bed is actually 30+ years old!! haha Old stuffs are ceraintly durable.

Then i did not think that i should have kept for my gal. but come to think of it now, its was such a waste to have thrown it away (humm or did my mum dismental it and trash it in the storeroom? better check with her of cos got to check if the bed is still as sturdy as before before letting my gal to use) :p

Thanks for the advise how to get the kids sleep on their own bed.. hehe let them choose their bedsheet its great.

Ben is so cute
but then he tried birdshit?!! ghees hope he's fine manz these stuffs are full of bacteria and some like pigeon's dropping has viruses that affect the brain.. this was told by my friend who fell very ill cos she did not wipe clean the pigeon dropping happend to fall on her hand and she forgot to wash her hands before she eat and ended up very ill..

Jelly,

I'm planning to send
J to playgroup cone she reached 18mths .. so that if she need to go for 1/2 day CC at 2 or 3 YO, the transition is not so hard for them.

I also love to co sleep with my gal if my hub is on business trip.. cos she like to cuddle in my warmth when sleeping .. the feeling hor very niccee.

sunsweet,
Yes, we bought a nyatoh wood bed for Sarah so that we hope it would last til she's an adult. I also had my 'toddler' single bed til I was grown up
. Only problem was that it had Disney characters on it, and looked very 'baby' in design.

Ben did not suffer any after effects from the birdshit episode. I think I got it out of his mouth in time.

Pvl... those books on saray's bed. Hers??? U have a nice room for ur kiddos.

sunsweet... i also plan to put YX to playgroup when she 18 mos, and nursery when she 2.5 yo. But so difficult to decide on a good yet affordable playgroup/nursery.

4. maddy/ Xinhui (1 March 2007)

jelly, sunsweet,

i also wan to put him in playgroup first. but like u, need to find a good n afforable 1. n must be convenient to fetch since we livin by ourselves.

jelly,
Thanks. Hahaha, the room is very simple and is not as neat as you might think. The books on Sarah's bed include a story Bible for Sarah, a story Bible for Ben, 2 chinese readers, 1 phonics reader and Winnie the Pooh, which I am reading to Sarah currently.

jelly
A oso wails & whines when get scolded..
think they're all alike ;P
sometimes he wails so loud like he's in pain

& we didn't even touch him..
*sigh*

garfield
thanks for the link!

privi

BEN's so handsome!!

garfield, smurfy
u give me the feeling that your maids are climbing all over your heads liao..
think you need to set some kind of "STOP" sign?
ur maids Indo or Fili??
i feel dat Indo maids though come from Kampong,
they dunno abt being thrifty..
they're alays wasting things, food, amenities, electricity, etc
& feel often when you limit them like put a "STOP" sign..
I'm not sure abt Fili cuz nv had them before

PVL,

yes...ben's handsome boy lor!!...

jelly, stella,
i oso like to sleep in wif tyra...but YES!!only when the father is not around..coz we sleeping on queen size bed...so cannot haf 3 of us..oredi going to collapse..waakakak...

for tyler..i suppose he only sleeps wif me during the first 3 months...after dat no more..unless he's very tired..and i carry-rock him to sleep..

garfield,
ZZ dun wan to eat rubbish maybe coz he's cautious & clever?? but there are kids who dun put everything in their mouth....rachel's josh oso wun put things in his mouth...

tyler will pick up rubbish from the floor..and eat...but we are used to it liao..keke you should feel relief not having to turn around and next moment..see tissue paper or sticker in ZZ's mouth!!...muahahha

garfield,

The webbie will be more useful if more parents post on their comments on the schools. I am also considering the East Coast Children House and Paper Scissors Stone kindy (both montessori), but both only accept toddler > 2.5 yo. Pat's school and Chiltern House seem to be good, but ex...

Pvl, no wonder u said u want to home schooling Sarah and Ben. U really can be a teacher...

catz/fat babe/jas/cherryale/ rest of the spreeist mummies
i am sooo proud of myself now. my IE favourites no longer has threads to keep track of my sprees and all my sprees collected oredi :D I AM Finally spree-free :D

item in the mouth..
think these kids just want to see whether the item can be eaten right??? test their luck??

gak (Copy n paste my post in another thread)
yeah! i just told off my maid yesterday. these few days i was reading a maid's thread...n thankfully for that i know how to deal with the situation at that time, then to be afraid of her and act blur abt the whole thing.

her"grandma dun like us to come here n cook everyday".
me" i told grandma before and i want to come here coz i dun wana leave QY with u alone for a few hrs each day before grandma comes over."
her" i dunno of this arrangment"
me" i told u during the interview that we will be coming to grandma's place
her " no"
me "yes i am sure"
her" but u never say EVERYDAY"
me" okie, now i am telling u this. and this is the arrangment in future. i am asking u now, are u happy working here? do u want to continue working here?"
her" yes, now i know the arrangement. i had always wanna ask u why we come to grandma's place everyday nowadays but dunno how to ask"
me" it's very good that u ask, becoz i dun want to leave bb alone for a few hrs, if u read the papers (coz she everyday sit in kitchen read papers!), u would have knw there is a recent case of maid abuse bb" ...

then she okie liao.. appear submissive n talk abt other things n agreeing etc.. clever woman knows when to retreat! kekeke

smurfy,

dats cool!!..kkeke...i will nvr be able to tok to maid like dat...if there's any tokking...it will be hb...coz i am naturally a short tempered person..but i bear wif all her rubbish...coz i dun wan to risk getting a new maid..

gak,
mine oso indon...so i dunno abt filipina...
btw..my maid's frens hor...all indons who are married here become sporean...so everyday..they meet up at the playground..my kids...play wif their kids..and sometimes..the granny & mummy..will end up looking after my kids..haiz...dunno good or bad..

gak,

yes i super piss off n complain to my hb. i normally just ignore her requests to buy unnecc stuff cos no use quarrelling. n dun wan to make her unhappy cos she alone w my son. but then i wun give in too.

i will pretend not to hear n the nxt time, i will still use the item though she dun wan. i mean i the one pay $ rgt?

like this FM thing, I will still insist zz drink it. if she not happy, then she go n buy herself lor.

fat_babe, yes i kind of glad he does not put small items into mouth but then i still will look look cos u never know when accident happen.

n i agree he TOO cautious. he must hold something then can walk. like yesterday he wants to walk out to living room but no courage n keep screaming for us to hold his hand. *faint

jelly,
yes i also find the website not too fully equipped with info. hope more mummies put their comments.

smurfy
in my above post, i meant they feel offended not often

aiyo..everyday go grandma hse oso can't??
my indo maid also used to ask where we gg, with whom when we left her at home
ur maid oso v good at toking back..& she so free everday sit in the kitchen read newspaper still complain?
btw i learnt that when they say YES to ur Qns like "Are u happy working here? Do u want to con't working here?"
they cld be lying cuz half of their heart wanna work but the other half dun wanna work for u anymore..
so remember to con't observe her ya
cuz they know if sent back they'll owe the agent more $$$..

fat_babe
wah if ur maid's frens looking after ur kids then wat ur maid doing??

Btw, how did she know them??
from last time? in her kampong? in Indonesia?
or at ur hse playground??

garfield
hehe..way to go babe!

sometimes i feel when employ maid hor like we're the maid & she's the BOSS!
kakaka
they like to do things their own way even after repeated request to do things our way!!

garfield
enjoy zz's dependence now arr.. these days i sit a while in the living rm, next moment QY disappear oredi??? hahaha..

fat babe
i was trembling inside arr. me is those quiet mummies..(Ask those who met me before). but cannot let her bully me, n let her think that she is indepensable or i am afraid of change lor? tese few days me quiet in this thread coz reading up on those maids thread.. that's why have thhe courage to talk to her.. simply said if she wants to end her contract now, fine with me. i just get another. mine philiphino.. last time my previous neigbourhood, always got pinic downstairs (maids all gather togeter, kids play on their own, grandparents sit in wheelchair)).. cannot stand that sight arr. or party at one of the employer's home, all maids sit in living rm watching tv.. kids playing together at corrider doors.

gak, mine is indon maid.

she come here v long time ago n so i guess she become quite high class.

but one thing she does not enjoy chatting like wat smurfy say abt the neighbourhood.
she say like waste of time for her.

but i like to call her my son nanny cos she behavin like one rather than a maid ;p

garfield
mine was indo too!

u dun live with ur mother or ILs?
maybe u wanna follow smurfy's method by bringing ur maid over to ur mother or ILs or ask them to come over??

wah ur maid's the 1st one i heard that says chit-chatting's a waste of time!
is this good??

smurfy, ARE U SURE all spree clear??? Just for 1 day? Muahaha...

Actually i just ordered some stuff from ON first time myself. Surprisingly, they did not ask for my cc billing address and had shipped oredi. Such a relief!

jas
spot on! whahaha after i type that post, then i realised, yah my IE favourites no more sprees thread.. but i still got 2 private spree items on maidenform n aquadoodle pens

gak, i dun live with my parents or ils.

my mum too bz with my nephew n also too far from my house.

my mil also far away from my house. so cannot too. also her house small.

my maid is ok just tat if she worryin something, she might do something wrong or lost something. but she never abuse him. she only know how to black face to adults only.

Welcome Lyna!
kao_welcome.gif

Anyone going for the babycare fair at Expo tomorrow or next 2 days? My cousin kept on urging me to go..turns out she put her son in competition lah..
Anyway, thought of going..but i was recovering from flu, now down with asthma..jus went to doc go for a round of nebulizer..anyway hopefully Im better, may ask hb to bring us there since its near to our place now.

Smurfy..Wah yr maid terror..Yup must be firm with them..of cos we must be fair n responsible towards them also.
My SIL's maid lagi terror..can insist to her MIL that she doesnt take orders from her. Then the poor old woman kena bully lah end up doing the cooking all by herself while the maid take nap! Then she ran away from the house even..the police then found out she cheated the maid agency to come here..actually she wanted to run away from Indonesia.

So many maids' stories... that's why we dun want to employ one if possible. Rather xin ku a bit, everyday drive my gal to and fro my aunt's place and take care of her myself at nite. But now 1 still ok, next time got 2 then dunno whether can handle or not.

jelly
yup!
me now oso stick to PT maid to keep my hse clean!
hey no worries ya cuz thin by the time the 2nd one comes,
the 1st one will be of gg to sch age
so shld be still ok ya

when there's a will, there's always a way!
worst to worst can send to full day child care for the 1st one?
at least she'll be doing educational stuff for the whole day..
or u can get her to help look after the sibling??
hehe..

me rather turn to CC if can't handle,
no more maids for me!
only PT maids

Jelly..I have a friend who has 8 kids..she has no maid, only her mum comes by to help a few times a week, at nite she takes care alone..housework she n hb does, when the 2 eldest kids grew up to primary school age, they chipped in with the housework.
Amazing right..I also dont know if I can cope later with 2 or more..I think I almost certainly get a part time cleaner. Now still can manage..although my hb kena "scold" sometimes cos he didnt help..cos there are some bad days that I just cant cope.

charis, ur fren is amazing!!! 8 kids and she did everything herself and hubby!!! Ya, hinted to hubby last nite that I always busy here and there becos nobody helps me and he got upset as he thot he got help me wif housework. Actually i kinda regret afterthat, as i know he try to help, just that i got no time to tell him how and wat to do! Haizz... Have u got a PT helper to clean ur house?

gak, yaloh, hope our elder ones wil be good brother/sister to their siblings. Actually hubby told me he wants me to quit and be a SAHM if i have #2, but dunno when that day will come. haha...

ya maid must choose carefully.

if not end up feelin upset n angry n worst, u still need to do more job.

for my case, maid was employed when i move back to my own home. at first wanted to put my bb to infant care but my mum against it. cos she say v small like v ke lian. n not all centres r good so also had to choose carefully.

mine was transferred from my mum so I took before her contract ends.

she take care zz well n cooks for us so in a way free our time to play w zz. i not too particualr on cleaniness too... as long as she did clean floor. got some cupboard shelf dusty but i just leave it cos priority is still takin care of my boy lor.

charis,

your fren 8 kids!!...waaaah...dunno to envious or wat...is she SAHM or working mum?..its amazing siah!!....

gak,
my maid knows her frens from downstairs one la...i mean i find it ok dat she haf frens...in fact i am in a way..glad..dat her frens are women wif kids & grandchildren...so they do take care of my kids..like watching dat they dun fall into the drain blah blah...and probably becoz they are considered "localise" liao..they are able to tell my maid wat should be right & wrong..

if one day..i were to change maid..the maid will be permanently at mum's place..so dat mum can supervise her...made dat mistake last time..

garfield,
haha...ZZ's nanny...i use to tell people..orh...tyra looking for her "mummy" liao..muahahah....

smurfy,

oh yah..my maid hor..darn waste electricity bills one le!...when she was not here my PUB bill is $80-$90 per month...after she came...$200 per month..!! painful siah..now always $250....when most of the time me & hb not around!!

jelly,

dat dae smurfy counted right..now in time for 2009 baby liao right..hehehe...

so actually can "work hard" to aim for quitting liao...muahahah

FAT Babe
my ulitities bills were like that oso, when my maid is at home n mum came over to supervise -_-'

it's easier for childcare etc if u have fixed working hrs n supportive hb. arrgg my hb working hrs not fixed one, always come home late. Ianyway that's my excuse lar).. me will see how things so, will not hestiate for any change.