(2007/02) February

i am thinking of letting cherish join MY gym for some exposure.

but her nap time is so irregular..dunno how to plan.

I also thinkin of getting him to go to some gym or music classes nxt yr. i m rather keen on the playgrp. let me know. i wan zz to be able to share n play w other bbs.

smurfy, the first shoot is nxt tues...

smurfy, zz doesn't even wait for me to red finish the page n he wans to turn over the pg liao!

then when i click on something for the sound, he will keep clicking others stuff and in the end, is so noisy... i m thinkin if this goes on, will the system spoils...

charis, think the hotcakes are nice for them now! hehe... at first my hb also dun wan to give him but later say up to me.

HI MUMMIES!!!!
Belated Blessed Christmas and Happy New Year to all.
I've been sooooo busy, I really haven't been online since we came back from Malacca, and that was before Christmas!

So now, I'm trying to catch up with all the posts...

Anyway, just an update...
Ben has been practising standing up and walking a few steps for the past 5 days or so. He's more confident walking across his bed or playpen, but not so daring on the hard floor.

He seems to be able to do a few sign language signs, although I think only I would understand them because they're not very accurate. He has been signing 'all done', 'please' and 'milk' lately. He won't do them for other people, only for me.

I can't wait to intro him to table food. Getting fed up with cooking porridge.

He's really willful and naughty, so he's been receiving spankings.

For myself, I've just been so busy, and my hb was on leave all the way til yesterday, so he was on the computer most of the time. Otherwise, we were out a lot, so no time to come in. And this strong wind is bringing in a lot of dirt and dust, so my floor seems constantly dirty.

All right. Enough for now. I'll scan through the posts slowly.

Y'all have a nice day!

Hello again! Have scanned all the postings since I went MIA

Just scanned posts and saw the gathering photos. Wah all those babies are so plump and round-faced! I think my Ben is skinny in comparison. I'll upload some photos soon and post them.

Catz,
Your Beth looks very ladylike leh. Why do you say she's 'chor lor'?
Ben is also rather orange. Too much carrot, pumpkin and papaya. I'm cutting down on those orange things, maybe give only every 2-3 days. My MIL made noise about his being orange.
Beth sick again? Oh dear. Weather has not been too good lately. Chilly wind. Do take care.

stella,
Cherish is choosy with people? I think it's normal for this age. Ben so far has been really easy. He lets just about anyone carry him, even strangers. But of course, if we appear to want him back, he'll readily come to me or my hb. Otherwise, he'll happily study the stranger's face.

smurfy,
You bought a block of butter specially for QY??? Is it special butter? Uhhhh, hehehehe, sorry, for me, butter is just a side ingredient - spread on bread, bake a cake, make a crumble, mash potatoes, creamed soup etc. No idea what else to do with butter leh. Ben takes a little table butter on his bread.
QY is good, hor? Can read books. My Ben just devours them. Hahahahaha.

rachel, i am thinking of sending A for kindermusik as my colleague said it worked well for her gal.

For the playgroup thing, I dun think need to have the same babies all the time. But of cos if same group better so that they can get to know each other?? The impt thing is for them to socialise and learn to share
Esp since many of the babies here are the only kiddo in the house or even the extended family. So, want to increase opportunity for them to play with kids at the same age. BUT ground rule is mummy must refrain from comparing the development of other babies (according to GF)

I am proposing twice a month (alternate sat).

Play group
1) Cherryale - A
2) Rachel - Josh
3) Garfield - ZZ
4) Stella - Cherish
5) Smurfy - QY (tentative)

Shall we start after CNY? I can host at my place first then we take turns? Garfield, your house is the best!! so much space for the kiddos to play
Rachel, BUT you will be in confinement

Stella, there are so many bois in feb thread, of cos we welcome your little Cherish princess

Busy, busy, busy again... after school term started... Worse cos I am now in a new school!!! Think need some time to adjust...

Happy New Year to all of you!

Yup, am interested in the playgroup arrangement... you are so right, cherryale, our babies need to socialise and learn to share. My Julian is the one and only baby in both our families so he is always with adults
not healthy for him
count me in yah?

Gak, I got your sms regarding our 'loot'
but I havent had the time to pop by your place to collect it. Am overwhelmed with work for now so give me a while and I will contact you. Do let me know the cost of shipping so i can transfer $$ to you

Hello mommies!

Happy New Year to all! am back from our cruise holiday which we really enjoyed as a family, just the 3 of us! without in-laws or maids...such bliss...

was glancing thru the posts and saw the photos of the gathering. all the babies look so cute! am sure the parents and babies all had fun
wish we were there!

BUTTER
can we intro butter to our babies? was tinking of making french toast for chloe. or shd we use olive oil?

PLAYGROUP
we would love to join your playgroup! i wana let chloe interact with babies her age too. but currently we cannot offer our place as a venue as we are staying with our in laws. our place will only be ready either end this year or next. Saturday around 4pm would be good, if it is ok with the rest

SPITTING OUT FOOD
yesterday chloe just started on this bad habit of spitting out her food! she will eat a few spoons of food and when she does not feel like swallowing, she will spit out a mouthful. its getting very very messsy and difficult feeding tis fussy eater. any other babies doing this or is she the only one?

Hey,

count me in for the playgroup too... can also use my place... no prob...

pumpkinni,
ryan has been spitting out his food for the past 1 week also. usually towards the end of his meal. I will usually scold him and flick his lips with my fingers whenever he does that...

he's getting quite naughty also like putting legs on his high chair table, etc...

PVL

yup..cherish is very choosy with people. she dun allow strangers to touch her, let alone carry. mum said i was like that when i was young.

cherryale and other mummies..
thanks for understanding my cherish behavouir. i can open my place also, but u all might not be comfortable as i got a dog at home.

i cant commit to every session becos i will be going to my grandma hse almost every sat afternoon.

pumpkini

cherish also like that..either she keep the food in her mouth without swallowing or split it out

cherry,

yes let try to arrange for twice a mth... my house no prob though ... just need to clear some things... v messy ;p but the kids will love it. my nephew also like to come my house to play.

pumpkini, zz never spit ot his food but he will grumble most of the time when he eat... it v puzzling. u may think he doesn't wan to eat but when u feed him, he open his mouth n swallow.

garfield
hahaha sounds like a tug of war with the little touch system for me.. eh eh, QY oso like that lor? but i see no point insisting on finishing a page while he just interested in flipping.. just play along with him..
the moment ZZ flips a page.. point to a object and say loudly what it is, what it does.. i think at their age.. they cannot sit patiently to listen..

pVL
it's not special butter, coz all these while butter never appears in my kitchen before.. and i onli knew butter for baking cakes :p it's maragine n bread for breakfast...

it's the milky issue again
Help! Help! milk is dying off now... how much milk r ur kids drinking nowadays? who has introduced fresh milk and if so, which brand? my silly hb is saying giving those frozen EBM... but QY got fussy taste buds, so i really doubt he will wants that... or that HAy's dairy fresh goat milk -_-'... EeeskKKkKKs...

Olive Oil
Anyone attempts stir-frying or doing up ur kids foods with olive oil?

Birthday Party
kekeke how's the progress now? I am thinking of 26 n 27th of Jan - near his cheena birthday, as his angmo birthday is near the CNY (likely stuck or on the way back frm malaysia)

Happy new year to all!

I'm interested with the Playgroup idea but got to depends on location and if my Hub is free to drive us around.

Activities: Suggest we can plan out something for the kids to do at each time they meet. e.g. Story sharing/ telling, Music appreciation, toy sharing, swimming, picnic, festive gathering..

Venue: Need not be at someone's residence, cos it could be at Botanic Gardens for a picnic for example. (hehe cos dun think my place is large enough for more then 4 kids)

Date/ Time: I do agree after CNY easier to arrange cos b4 that everyone would be busy..

Sigh, BJG called me that there is vaccancy for trial class for Crawlers this sat but my hub is flying on sun and he says we need to run the errans on sat.. less likely possible that we can go for the trail.. sigh.. got to give it a miss again ..

Re: B-day party
We are still looking for the ideal location to celebrate Lil J's party.. 90% confrim to be on the 4th day of lunar New Year..

I wanted to do a hello kitty party for her haha. I think its more of I wanted a Hello Kitty party myself :p

HELLO MOMMIES!
HAPPY 2008!
May all have a prosperous, healthy, joyful year!!

HUSKIE dear..
hmmm...i got a feeling homemade yogurt's suppose to be like dat leh - watery
remember we're chatting with someone in this Feb Mommies's forum? (can't remember who..think garfield or chocobabe or etc??)
she was saying that homemade yogurt's watery cuz nv add the solidifying agent that made it curd like yogurt selling outside..remember?
so i'm very sure ur yogurt didn't fail! ;)

GOG
keke...no prob at all!
think all wld be very busy till after CNY!
comGateway calculated the Freight Charge wrongly so am waiting for them to reply..
let u know the shipping once i settle this prob k ;)

How's Julian getting on?
think he's enjoying himself very much now

x'mas, New Yr, CNY and Birthday all within these few months! keke..

re: BUTTER
hmm..think normal butter will do?
i'm thinking of giving him homemade garlic spread ;) hehe

sunsweet, wow hello kitty theme... so nice! I wish I have hahahaa

re bd party. mine will be in chalet... one wk after cny. dun dare to put too near cny as many ple will be bz visiting.

smurfy,

choo again! i started my toddler on marigold UHT mlk when he turn one last month.So far ok.I cut down on latching him.cos i am very tired.but he still dun take bottles so have to spoon feed him!!
on 31/12/07 he took the bottle and finsihed 50ml!!! made me so happy til want to cry..but too bad it was a one off case....I read tat yr QY also dun like bottle too?all along he took bottle rite? then now got to spoon feed? i am very tired..tried sippy cup ,straw he dun want...

choo..
me stopped spoonfeeding oredi.. he was alright with bottles now.. but too bad i got not much milk for him oredi
.. it could be a real simple case of painful gums that's why he hates the bottles for the past few mths.. onli when the top n bottom teeth r out.. he is okay with the bottle again. how did u celebrate ur boy's birthday

sunsweet.
kekeke usually it's what the mummies want for their kids... :p i saw a smurf cake oso but i refrain myself.. thinking of getting a car-shaped one instead..

Smurfy..Yael started 1-2 steps at 9 months..then he slowly progressed to walking more steps..but in KL, he suddenly walked so much..around 3-4 metres a time..changing directions..maybe cos of the new interesting environment, more ppl to encourage plus the new found space!

How is yr reno?

The contractors hav done all the hacking works..now they are laying the tiles for toilets n balcony..we shopped for toilet WC, sink etc at Genova Industries ytd..good buys there.

Playgroup- Sorry unfortunately, Have to count us out for now..cos we attend service on Saturdays.
But I think its a good idea for our babies to meet up more often.

Huskie..I'm bringing Yael for Bugs on Sat..subsequently we may join Birds on Monday or Thur.

smurfy,

wow good for you tat he accept bottles again!
so it was just a phase for QY. You are already doing so well for him ,pumping him while working
good job!!

Only had cosy dinner with immediate families..then actual birthday the three of us went hotel hopping

gak,
Actually my yogurt starting setting by itself when in the fridge... not so watery anymore

So my yogurt maker is a GOOD BUY!

Garlic spread is a good idea!

PVL,
Wow, congrats on Ben's motor development!
My baby is a "hum bao" crybaby... don't wanna let go of my hands leh. Even if I let go of 1 hand, she'd stop walking and then just drop onto the floor and cry. I got so fed up today that I stopped walking her... just let her crawl by herself!
How's your Malacca trip?

sorrie pardon this mummy... wat Bugs and Birds u all tokin abt? pls enlighten me... till now, I m still lazy and lost on choosing classes for zz. I just let him socialise more and I educate him myself now.

so chloe is not the only one spitting out her food. hope this is just a passing phase...

chocbabe, talking about high chairs and fidgety babies, nowadays we will need to strap chloe down to the chair. if not she will try to climb out of it. once when we were out and the high chair provided by the resto has no 'safety belt', my hubby used his own belt to tie her down. worked just as well

gak - garlic spread!! so adventurous! i can imagine THE LOOK chloe will give me if i feed her that...wahahahaa!!! ;p

Charis and PVL, wow, congrats on your super babies! Beth is actually ready already but doesn't dare to take the first few steps yet.

PVL, nice to finally see you here.. year-end/New Year period is always crazy huh? Ben is such a good little boy.. I'm so impressed! Is he going to take table food at his first birthday? Beth just sprouted her first pearly so table food is still a no no for her now (except for grains of white rice)

gak, wow garlic is kinda strong.. surprisingly, even Timo finds it strong and he's usually not a fussy eater
Let me know if baby likes i! heee....

pumpkinni, wow, must learn how to strap baby down with adult belt lei.. my daughter is another crazy baby who loves to climb out of high chairs and leap off!

sorry I've been so busy.. today was Timo's 3rd day at school plus birthday party.. then tonight having pizza party with the family
Shaaaack...next up, hv to plan Princess Bethany's bash..

Hi everyone, i was just browsing thru the site and saw that some of you mummies are making yogurt for bbs. I am from the march thread and we have a few scientist there which has been experimenting with our homemade yogurt for a while. To make yogurt more firm, let it set longer than 12 hrs. (best is between 15 to 18hr in room temp). You might wanna try and add more started culture (like another 30% more than the recommended amount)- Most of us use Paul's or Famer's Union Natural yogurt as starter, and then proceed to use our own yogurt as the starter culture. But one thing to note, the longer u leave your yougurt to set in room temp, the more tart it will become. I hope this info is helpful.

garfield,
Bugs and Birds are just names given to the classes at TLG for 4mos-10mos babies and 10-19mos babies respectively

Sigh, I also wonder when my kiasi baby will have the courage to take her own first steps!

Catz,
I feed Soph garlic in her porridge all the time. Once cooked with porridge, no taste at all. Garlic has good antiviral and anti bacterial peroperties... although in the face of someone coughing into my baby, my baby still "fell" after trying to fight the virus for 1 week! ;)

Happy Birthday to Timo!!!

starfruit,
Thanks for yogurt tips

My yogurt actually could set well... I guess it's probably just me being too kan cheong, flicking out the container to check before the time is up :p

huskie/garfield
actually we all shld enjoy these moments when they r not that mobile right? kekeke why hurry abt them walking? they r going walk for the rest of their lives.. enjoy them crawling at this stage now.. i like to crawl with QY.. my mother always love at me.. saying there r 1 big dog and 1 small dog in the house.... coz QY is very very happy that i am crawling with him.. his head high up, hands stomping the floor and smiling as he crawl towards me.. wheras i always look back to ensure he is behind n not distracted away -_-'

catz
happy happy birthday to tim!

smurfy,
I try to crawl with Soph, but my knees hurt leh! Don't yours hurt?
Hee, I believe being physically mobile at an earlier age means they will have good psychomotor skills when they grow old... cos my mum said I only walk at the age of 2... look at me, I'm quite narrowly built, but clumsy like Pooh Bear... see something in front of me can still walk and knock right into it!
Haha... but this is just my nonsensical theory lah... of course I enjoy this time when Sophie helps me mop floor with her pants!

huskiebabs: ya really gotta resist checking the yogurt. best to just leave it and dun touch it till at least 12 to 13hrs before checking.
We can't bear to pay so much for horizon's organic yogurt for baby ($10plus for 4 min tubs) so decide to make our own..much cheaper and its very tasty too. I think we should try and use some of the proper yogurt starter culture that some of you mummies have mentioned.. its really interesting to see if it sets better.

gak: i am still trying to wean my ger.. she dun wannt take the bottle i think i am lazy too.. so did not really force it on her.
So any news when u will b starting work?

starfruit,
Yeah lor, after a few failed attempts, I get very kan cheong to check my yoghurt when I wake up in the morning.
It was only 8 hrs when I checked that it was watery... then by 12hrs, it's set quite nicely.

I'm currently using Yogi-House, but am thinking of switching to Yogourmet next round, cos I read that they have this CBA Probiotics one, but can only use in a Yogourmet yogurt maker due to the requirements of a certain pattern in the increase in temperature... but I may still order and try.

I'm also trying to wean my girl soon... probaly after she turns 1. Tried Isomil on her today - she puked it out.

huskie, thxs for tat info... so now at least i know wat u all r tokin! hehe

smurfy, i normally clap my hands and tell him to crawl to my direction. then when he is nearing, I will take several steps backwards... hahhahaha so forever he keep crawling n crawling... but he likes it v much. guess when he start to walk even more busier!

huskie

i am a late walker-- walked at ard 2 yo, and i skipped the crawling stage
my motor skill and co-ordination is very bad until now.

i am a early talker -- started to talk ard 9 months. but i not eloquent now leh

huskie
ehh but if they r master in crawling, once they get over the phase of crawling, they will learn walking real fast right? and i think more psychomotor skills is required for crawling leh, u need to coordinate the left hand / right leg and the right hand / left leg..knees not painful leh? maybe i got rough knees? hahaha

GArfield
kekeke ur clapping method is what my mum does... haiz.. that's why she keeps on commenting QY is a little dog.. and got one stage he even sticks up his tongue and head high up... $%$#%#$#@$%%^$

i got to start some other kinds of milk real soon!!! how how how? he's onli 11th mth on the 11th of Jan.

stella,
Hee, it's just my silly theory lah.
My hubby is built like some stocky caveman, but his pschomotor skills much better than mine... his mum said he walked at 1 yo.
Mine is soooo bad that when I learnt tennis, my tennis coach actually asked me how come my ball sense so bad... did I ever play racket games before! Heee, FYI, I run right into the ball, so my racket hits the air!

smurfy,
You could be right about the cross pattern crawling method. But Soph has been crawling cross pattern for a long time liao... and very fast too, so we play hide and seek and catching all the time... plus handball.
But she is a crybaby lah, esp. when the daddy is around!

Eh, update me on what milk you feeding QY OK?
FYI, my sinseh says goat's milk very heaty... only if you believe in the Chinese TCM theory about heatiness!

Grafield,

No worries Lil J is still crawling.. as for cruising.. think she still dare not.. she would only OCASSIONALY stand without support..

Sometimes i trick her to stand without support by asking her to show me how bird fly *flap both hands at the side* while she is standing with 1 hand holding onto something.

so after flapping her arms she will fall to her butt..

keke so bad of me hor..

huskie/smurfy, I realised that A likes to crawl 'swimming' style, tummy on the floor type. He can do the proper crawl but whenever he wants to do it fast, he chooses the swimming style. How to get him to do the proper crawl more often?

huskie, i sucks at sports (as u can tell
) but i started walking quite young b4 1yo, so i dun know if the correlation is true for everyone.

huskie
so sop is a master crawler oso? kekeke yah fun to play hide n seek with them now.

sunsweet
how on earth do u teach lil j to do the flapping? so cute.....

cherryale
i dunno how to get A to do the proper crawl. but QY also onli knew the swimming style then.. and was moving real fast..then one fine day, he discovered the doggie crawl and changed when he realised that it is more comfortable than the swimming style where he got to push both hands n drag the whole tummy (initially i tot he will never do the proper crawl oso)

huskie: u BFing ur girl? why wanna wean?
Goat's milk heaty? i was told goat's milk is good to ease constipation. Maybe mix it with other milk instead of letting bb take it pure.

Stella: We were discussing in the march thread that babies that skip the crawling stage tends to confuse the "b" and "d", "B" and "E" etc in alphabets and also "9" and "6" in numbers.. do u experience that? is this true?

smurfy, i think A is really lazy cos he does use the doggie style at times but MOST times use the swimming style. But really no idea how to make him use the doggy style, guess just let it be lah.

yes, i love to play hide and seek with A too. He chuckled loudly whenever he 'finds' me.

huskie, isomil tastes really bad but once they are hooked on it, they wont want to drink other milk. remember i told u before that we can replace coconut milk in laksa or other dishes with isomil?? Surprisingly it tastes really good. You just have to thicken the isomil for the laksa.

sunsweet, i will try the mummy bird thing over the weekend

tomorrow i am bringing A to the zoo
hopes he likes it.

garfield, the zoo pics will form the last 2 pages of my fotobook (hardcover). Too lazy to do the softcover from scratch. btw, will u repeat the photos in both books? or use different photos?

huskie,
Dunno how true it is, but I was told not to feed bbs garlic because it has the ability to 'dissolve' flesh/meat. Unless the bb is taking quite a bit of meat with their food. This is what my mum says lah. But then sometimes it's just old wive's tales. My 3rd uncle used to take lots of raw garlic supposedly for health. Then he suddenly developed leukemia. (He was already around 70 by then). All my relatives said that it was because he took too much garlic and didn't eat much meat. Vegans cannot take garlic for the same reason. As a result, I didn't intro garlic to Sarah until she took table food.

Malacca was really fun. A great holiday. Weather was fine, windy and not too hot. Our hotel room was a great size and very comfy for all 4 of us. Ate too much. The children were very well behaved and 'tahan'-ed our constant going out and late returns, although we did return each afternoon for them to have at least 1 good nap. I cooked porridge for all of Ben's lunches and dinners. Brought crock pot, frozen/refrigerated food was put into the outer pot of my thermal cooker together with 2 blocks of ice. Lasted 2 days. Room had a small fridge.

sunsweet,
J sounds so cute, flapping both hands. Ben started experimenting with standing without support and walking at the same time. He would let his hands go and then take a couple of steps. He's still at this stage now. Not so fast development lah. Yael is much more advanced.

Cherryale,
Sarah also crawled like A, commando style. Then at about 1 YO, she started to crawl normally, briefly, and then started standing and walking by 14 months.

me super bz today...

cherry,
some photos r repeated if they r really nice... thinkin of this... now is already jan and i have not completed half of the bk yet!!!! jialat... try this wkend

have a nice wkend all!

trust me, once they can walk, you wished they were just lying there... we are all so tired trying to keep up with Ryan these days...

whenever we bring him to the malls now, he refuses to hold hands and will just want to walk by himself. Even when we carry him, he is really strong and will push us away cos he wants to get down to walk...

but i'm still tahaning not to buy the rein. didn't like the idea of strapping him. furthermore it's not very widely accepted here. My SIL told me, in UK, it's very common for mothers to use that...

I'll be celebrating Ryan's Bday on his actual day 1st Feb (Friday) evening. But haven't thought of the details. My MIL suggested she wants to cook..... but i thought i want something more special for my son leh...

any ideas for catering? only small group of about 15 pax...

starfruit

quite true for me in the mixing of alphabets ! esp the b and d !... always mispelled baby as bady..