(2007/02) February

cherry,
I read that to help the baby go onto the "crawling on knees style" i.e. creeping according to Glen Doman, you can put use a shaggy rug. With a shaggy rug, baby will experience more friction when dragging their bellies, so they will tend to go on knees.
Also, dress baby in long pants so it won't hurt their knees so much.
This is more of a process of speeding baby to creeping phase.
Or alternatively, you can just wait it out till baby does it more often himself.

Hmm... maybe I can try Isomil in my curry then. I tried a bit myself today... wanna puke too :p

starfruit,
Hee, I wanna try for #2 soon, so need to wean off baby. I tried goat milk FM and fresh goat milk, but baby doesn't like either.

PVL,
Yikes, this garlic thingy is scary!
Luckily I haven't been feeding Soph garlic in the last few weeks cos of her cough... she's been eating veggies and porridge only.

chocbabe,
15 pax a bit hard to cater yeah?
How about those sets from Kriston Catering?

Have you girls decided on where to get cake yet?

stella: so its true??? hmm.. this is really interesting. Do u mix up the letters all the time?

huskie: wow.. trying for a mini mouse
thats nice. Act, i am considering letting my ger go cold turkey, i dun think she will starve and this might just help me to wean her off. alternatively i am trying to train her to drink from a cup but she takes forever to finish even 2 oz from a cup. But gak still the best, wean her boy off in under 1 week!

Hihi everyone!

Been very busy too these few days and will be for next few weeks/months but will try to come in when have time.

Playgroup? I am interested! But my house too small to host. But if u mummies want to host at different country like msia, can use my jb house. So much more spacioius. Heihei...

charis, yael is sooo fast can walk oredi! Wow... My YX still cruising around by holding on to furnitures.

Re: birthday party. Will hold on 16 Feb (same as zz rite, garfield?), 1 day b4 her cheena birthday as her angmoh birthday will be on 28/2 and by then cny over liao.

huskie, u want to try #2 soon? Me too lei b4 i get too old. ;p

smurfy and huskie, will post out ur items tomorrow. Nobody help me babysit YX so gotta carry her to post office. Think she will enjoy morning kai kai at our neighbourhood area.

I am sooo hungry now. Did not have my dinner just now as no one ta pao for me (sis and hubby all not around) then not convenient to buy food myself. Gonna to sleep soon after my laundry is done.

Nite all...

starfruit,
Hee, I think milkie holds the record for weaning her girl off in 2 or 3 days!
Eh, may not be a mini mouse... maybe by the time we actually try and get preggers, could be a mini cow

For cup drinking, if it's something that my baby likes, there's won't be a single drop of wastage, and she can gulp it down pretty fast.
Have you tried straw?

jelly,
No hurry on the posting lah... if you can't get away, next week is fine too.
When are you going to start trying for #2? Me too, getting old... plus I'll like 3 kids... haha, but let's see if I can manage with 2 first!

huskie,
I'm very old already, but we're keen on having #3. But we'll just leave it to the Lord. A little scared of the risks of DS and other abnormalities associated with an older mum.

We'll probably not get Ben a fancy cake. He won't really remember anyway. We'll just get something nice to eat for my mum's place. My MIL will most likely bake one and have a party at their house. We won't object (heh heh - don't have to prepare or clean up) but it's not our idea anyway. We didn't celebrate for Sarah until last year, when we brought her to Swensen's on her birthday.

Aiyah, all my students are coming today for their lessons. No more holiday break. Gotta get the children up and breakfasted and bathed by 9 this morning. Hb has gone for a driving lesson

HAVE A GREAT WEEKEND EVERYONE!

Huskie..U bringing Sop for class at TLG today? Wat time?

SO u want to try for #2 soon?! Hehe..good for u!
I heard #2 usually take longer to conceive..reasons given include current stress with taking care of #1..unlike #1 where couples are usually more prepared. So start earlier better lah.

Yael drinking for straw cup now..he likes it..but sometimes swallows too much n coughs!

PVL,
Yeah, there're so many risks with having babies when older... that's why we're trying to rush, but will still be older than 35!
Woah, your MIL can bake a birthday cake? **impressed**

Charis,
I didn't go to TLG today. Sophie has fully recovered, but I still don't want her to go to the gym, touch the stuff and pass any leftover virus/germs to the other babies, so we skipped this week and will go to next week's class. We signed up for the 510pm class.
Yael recovered already? You brought Yael today?

Hee, the coughing will only be the initial part of drinking from straw. They'll soon get so proficient at it that they can down 20-30ml continuously! Soph now opens up her MagMag cup by herself if she wants to drink, cos I just leave the cup on the playmat for her.
She's also eyeing how I operate the carseat buckle and trying to do it too, but that really needs a lot of strength

starfruit

i must take an effort to re-check my spelling.. i suspect i am a little dialystic( reading problem).
i am in accounting line somemore, thats y i always make an effort to re-read. oh ya ..another confusion is letter g and number 9.

pagin catz!!..

eh woman..sorry ar..juz ask you a silly question..you remember the web for the OPI spree you join or not huh?? not the current spree http://www.8ty8beauty.com/ ..the older spree you join...think there's another site...i looking for it..but cannot remember

jelly,
Check with you on your Photobook again:
- when your pic is low but you used it as background, you put 30% transparency?
- did the transparent pics turn out pixelated?
- you did a 21x21 book?

catz,

thanks!!..kekeke...now feel like buying things from there...but no kaki...hmm...see if got anybody do spree..heee...

cherry,
Just realised the playgroup is on Sat afternoon.
You're not signing A for TLG?

btw, I made a curry chicken with Isomil just now... hubby didn't even know there's no coconut milk in it! And definitely cannot guess he is drinking his baby's FM

huskie, u mean having #3 will still be after 35yrs old or #2? I am also old already, so will start ttc after mar08, hoping for a 2009 baby when A turns 2.

Yesterday was a rainy day. We reached the zoo before 3pm and it was pouring. We waited, took pictures at the entrance, browsed at the shop etc, finally sat at kfc waiting for rain to clear. Finally at 5pm, it finally stopped and we had an hour to walk round the zoo. By then A was tired and near 6pm, he was sleeping in my hb's arms. So, he missed seeing the giraffe, zebra etc. But we did have a few nice family photos taken
which I will put into the last 2 pages of the fotobook.

cherry,
I'll already be 35 by the time I try for #2! Very old liao... I'm hoping to TTC after April'08 too, after I wean off Soph. Very hard to TTC when still bf Soph.

Wow, Soph would have so loved to see the giraffes and zebras! Maybe will bring her there one of these days too

You were asking abt prices of additional pages for photobook previously? It's RM14 for every add'l 2 pages for A3 and 30x30 sizes... cos I may need to add some add'l ones if really cannot squeeze my pics in.

PVL,

its great knowledge to know dat garlic cannot be eaten in excess!!...btw, my aunties they had their babies in late 30s also no problem..no DS kids..and their kids..very smart somemore!!...like super developer..3yo can play computer games!!...i think dun worry so much about it...me oso wan to try for #3..but that will probably be in 2009/2010..dun think can manage now..hee

huskie,
keke..why only weaning soph in april?? anyway you can juz TTC any time one rite?? BF is not a 100% birth control ma..

chocbabe,
think for 15 pax...why not tabao or order food?? ryan very fast le..now can walk independently liao!!..keke..tyler juz took 3 steps today..i oredi happy dunno like wat..keke...but i know wat you mean..its more work for us!!..hehehe..i wanted to buy the rein too..its hb who is very against it. tot its a much "safer" thing

maybe too far fetch, but my aunty always tell me..better be careful of the kids..when they walk away, strangers pick them up so fast we may not know..i always heck care, until once i lost tyra in taka, back then she was sooo short..midst of all the wagons in shopping centre, nearly burst out crying, then i saw the salesgal carried her out from their storeroom...so to "leash" them is not such a bad idea.

huskie: milkie wean her girl off in 3 days max! wow.. impressive.. must ask her how she did it.
Yes i did try straw, she loves it the 1st time, subsequently, only sips it when she is thirsty. But i have only been giving her plain water from a straw cup, maybe i should try milk. But i think i want to get a differnt cup for milk, so she dun confuse the cup for milk and water.
And all the best, hope u get preggy soon
i think my next one will be either a mini tiger or rabbit. and i will def be older than 35 when the 2nd one comes along! which yr are u born in?

milkie: how did u wean ur girl off in 3 days? cold turkey ah? pls share with me, i am trying to wean my ger now.. partial weaning cos i plan to latch still for her 1st and last feed.

stella: its very interesting what you shared..i must tell the other march mummies cos we have a few babies who seems to be skipping the crawling stage.

Huskie..We brought Yael for Sat Bugs class..he recovered by the time we came back from KL..thank GOD..so afraid that the trip will make it worse.
He was quite cranky though..the instructors recommended that he goes to Birds..so most likely I'll bring him for the monday late morning class..his lunch will be abit late though..but its best timing for us.

I want to wean Yael by his 1st bday, not cos we want to ttc, but i jus thought its enough bf for me..but my hb asked me to bf till his 2yo or till we ttc for next one..maybe when he's 2 n half yo.

good morning mummies!

fatbabe..i remembered being lost in shopping centre before.. i cried and cried till forgot wat my mum teach me.,go to information counter..

once my bro was lost in haw par villa..but he is smart and brave..din cry and din wander around.

not to scare u all,last time at my grandma place(toa payoh) my bro almost got "kidnapped" My bro very daring type, very chatty and not scared of stranger. While my grandma was busy talking, my bro nearly followed an uncle. few yrs later, the uncle was being sentenced to child kidnapping..scary! The uncle not interested in me cos he is probably scared of my cries..haha

fatbabe,
Aiyoh, you ask me embarrassing question leh *blush blush*
Can only TTC after weaning off cos now bf very dry leh... haha, no mood to TTC!

starfruit,
I think milkie just went cold turkey... I'm not sure if I can take all that crying.
I was born in 73, so this year TTC already 35 liao.
Eh, I think by now the babies won't confuse milk with water anymore yeah? Their tastebuds should be very developed?
I tried to bluff my baby to drink Isomil by putting it in the exact same cup and same ritual (during breakfast) as the oatmilk that she likes, but one sip of it only and she'll frown and turn her face away.

Charis,
I guess your hubby just wants the best for Yael, but yes, it can be quite taxing on the mommy to bf till so long. My weight keeps dropping no matter how much I eat, and my mum says my baby "sucks" me dry

Plus the older you wean the baby, the more difficult it gets cos they'll be more insistent on having their own way.
My PD also recommends me to wean off at 1 yr old due to this reason.
Do you intend to intro fresh milk or FM?
Dunno how PVL can do it till Sarah was 18 mths... pei fu her!

stella,
Yikes! The story of your bro almost being kidnapped is scary!

huskie
u r one lucky one to keep losing weight.. my weight is heading north now, as the milk decreases but my food intake is still on the high side. does sop still hates water now? QY is okie with water now, will drink from straw cup whenever he is thirsty. yah yah.. very dry, no mood oso.. it's onli better these days when the milk is lesser n the period comes.. ur period comes oredi?

charis
my hb oso wants my boy to continue drinking EBM...

stella
that's scary.. perhaps it was all those encounters in ur childhood and how the adults reacts to the matter, that causes u to feel inconfident now, something similar to my case?, that's why me trying and dun let QY go thr the same route, (but me middle child, persistent and wants to make things happen for myself)

fat babe
eeee, ur story is even worse.. nearly losing ur own tyra..
.. yah i like the idea of the reins oso.. coz i think it is better for them to walk more on their own, instead of sitting lazily in the stroller or being carried by the parents..

cherryale
hey, A is one good boy who will wait patiently for 2 hrs .. kekeke did he enjoy the zoo alot or is really stoned and blur by then?

update on QY..
he slided down from the sofa on New Year Eve. and suffered a big baluku on his forehead.. gums even bleed then..
.. was okay.. no vomitting or such.. but since then he became real yang-oh. or ham bao (as described by huskie).. every little thing he cry now.. pacifcer drop, he looked at us n cry.. bring him here instead of there, he oso cry.. can be happily playing but when there is a slight change in env or behavoir frm us (like taking away a particular thing), he oso cry.. very tiring for me this whole week.. and i lost my temper a few times.... question: anyone experienced such thing? will he get back to normal soon? or will become soo as timid as a little mouse after this incident?

stella, tat scary... bro's story... is it the famous kidnapper in the 80's???

I also got lost in a hotel b4. It v funny. my mum and my uncle family had dinner together in the hotel. then later my cousins and I went to play at a kiosk. then suddenly I find myself alone.

shocked, I ran to the carpark to find both cars missing. I then start to panic and cry... hahaha

then the hotel mgr comforted me and waited for my mum to come back.

u knoe, my mum thot I was in my uncle car while my uncle thot otherwise... *faint.

cherry, think zz same prob as A. If caught him unaware, he can actually stand. I caught him last sat. he was holding onto a toy. then suddenly he use both hands. so I saw him standing there. but he very fast notice and quickly grab hold of the side of play yard. scary cat.

smurfy,

these few days zz also got swings in mood... can be very happy also can be very cranky...

last sat worse. whole day cranky. bring him out also cranky... dunno wat wrong w him. n he refuse to sit in the stroller.

then nowadays v noti wan to grab things when we r out shoppin. so when we look at clothing, he also wan to touch and "choose" so end up he also v bz. then if we dun let him do it, he scream.

then if outside got kid scream, he also scream w them *faint.

smurfy,
My period hasn't come yet, so I'm wondering if I am bf-g Soph with too much milk. Hee, really no mood hor? The last few times I attempted a babydance, ahem... failure leh

But her solids intake is OK - 3 decent sized meals a day leh.
Re. water, she loves water now, cos each times she drinks from the straw, I'll praise her, so she'll automatically open up the cup and drink from it herself, then when I praise her, she'll throw the cup aside and clap her hands... hee, but how to teach her not to throw the cup?

As for being a ham bao, I just ignore Soph and she seems to be better... now will only ham bao to my hubby

Eh, teach QY to go down by turning his body and put legs down first? I taught Soph that and everytime she forgets, I'll ask her "How do you get down?" and she'll smile then turn to put her legs down first. And now she'll even tip toe to make sure her feet can touch some ground before putting her whole weight down too.

sop
kekeke when the first period comes, things get better.. coz of the discharges in between the period..yes, it was really horrible prior that. i find any excuse to put that off then.. QY knws how to get down the correct way at times.. but that particular day, he slided down while turning n playing with a board in front of him..

garfield
it does not seems the usual crankiness leh? but

smurfy

its my bro ..not me.. but my bro is still a confident and daring person now.. he is not a bit traumatised by wat happen.

garfield

yah ..its that guy who tried to "kidnap" my bro.
luckily my auntie saw my bro being led away and got alerted.

huskie, Charis,
I BF Sarah til I got pregnant with my #2 (Sidney - m/c'd). But I only BF in the mornings. I loved it and Sarah did too. I intro her to powdered full cream milk and fresh milk for her cereal and afternoon/evening feeds. It wasn't really difficult to wean.

Any of your beloved ones resisting brushing teeth? Ben used to enjoy brushing his teeth, but nowadays, he will clamp his mouth tightly so I can't clean the teeth. How ah?

fat_babe,
We used a leash for Sarah last time, esp in crowded shopping centres. It was useful, but we drew a few stares. We have one that straps to the wrist. It's stretchable, like elastic, so it's quite humane. I prefer that type to the chest one cos I feel that the chest one might accidentally cause the bb to fall over forewards or backwards if you tug it too hard.

huskie,

1) I can't remember the % of transparency i use for pic as background. Think around 50% or lower.
2) The pic turns out find lei. Of cos won't be as clear but the effect turns out to be quite nice for background.
3) Yes, mine is 21X21.

Catz... I have just transferred the shipping cost to u for the littletouch leappad books. Can i opt for normal postage please???

YX hates to drink water now. Be it from spoon, or magmag cup or drink direct from normal cup. Must be tasted other nicer and sweeter food and drink so dun want plain water. So nowadays we try to sneak in more water during her meal times.

my hb came out with a brillant idea for cherish birthday.. that is to book the bbq pit at my neighbourhood park (just downstair only)

the children can play over there as well..and if cherish is cranky , can bring her walk ard the park .if sleepy, can just bring her upstairs.

just cater bbq food and no need to mess up the hse.

aiyoh

our bbs are showing their tempers liao..cherish also. now difficult to use distraction method, she will bend her body towards the object she wants.

jelly

same lor..cherish also dun take much water. I let her drink soup to increase her water intake

huskie, my hb doesnt like TLG, so won't sign A up for the jan term. We will explore other classes maybe kindermusik. Exactly, Isomil tasted really good in curry, nutritious yet yummy

wow, u look v young leh, cant tell u will be 35 in 1-2yrs. Thanks for info on the additional pages
Oh, bring Soph to the zoo, she will definitely like it

smurfy, A was in a good mood that day. Everything is new to him mah, so to him, even looking at the strangers is good enough..haha, so maybe the people there became 'animals' loh
He was looking at the monkeys, parrots etc. But unfortunately by the time we reached the giraffe, he was already sleeping. We didnt even know as hb was carrying him in his arms, front facing. I only realised when I snapped photo.

garfield, how old were u then? so poor thing, left behind,I would be v scared.

stella, your bro's case even scarrier...these people are really 'mei liang xin' to kidnap kids. Did the guy get hung? Think kidnapping is capital punishment in Singapore.

PVL, A loves to brush teeth, in fact, he will hold my finger and refused to let me get out even though we are done.

I have a different problem now, A wakes up in the night recently, so I have to carry him and put him back to sleep. Its a toil to me.

Oh, bad news, i didnt manage to book the function room for the lunch segment. Can only book the dinner 4pm onwards. Should I take it or hold the party at MIL's house?

cherry, i was abt 9 yrs old?? at first I still not so scared cos I knoe i just go to the car n wait. cos they sure need to take the car mah. so I freaked out when I saw the cars missing!!!

I hope i not so blur to my own kids keke

tat kidnapper is also a murderer ley... cherry u dun know tat guy?? he is hanged.

function rm? u mean A's bd bash?
v fast hor... our kids goin to be 1 yr

jelly, wow YX celebrate same day as zz... hehe... his lunar bd we will celebrate among ourselves as it on the first day of CNY... hahahaha

garfield

zz borned on da nian chu yi ? easy to remember his lunar birthday.

our time when we are young still no handphone yet.. cannot call when we went missing. when i was young, i very kiasi, dun dare to go beyond my parents sight. thats y my mum say bring me out very easy. my bro is like a little monkey

stella, yes sure can rem...

tat time i went missing was becos I was so engrossed with tat touch screen kiosk... nowadays like very few liao. all of us kids are playing until suddenly i realised I alone...

then worse part is my parents didn't discover... actually I normally follow my mum car even if there is another car available... hahaha... my mum told me tat when they reach the nxt destination then they count the kids... then realised i missing...

i think they frightened too ah. but me super malu cos I cry and cry n the mgr give me his hanky to wipe my tears.

garfield, of cos all kids would cry if they realised they have been left behind. Cant remember the kidnapper thing...only remember that when I was very young, there were two boys who went missing, their parents kept advertising for people to help to find the two boys but to no avail. Think until now, the parents still hoping that the boys are ok, just somewhere else. so sad.

yah lah, for A's bday cos I forgot to book on sat morning, then who knows the other people so fast, already booked both rooms. sianz..how should i do dinner instead? MIl's house like not so nice cos ultimately not our place mah.

but I rem there another time... more funny. I was abt 5 to 6 yrs. my mum was late to pick me from kinder. then I actually walk back home... hahaha... i walk from Boon lay to JW.

cherry, y not another place? yah... must book early... u know I book zz venue since dec! n it was the last chalet liao... in fact the pool side 1 all booked by then liao.

u try hotel (but a bit ex), chalet, or some parks like stella? can also try safra or country clubs.

cherryale
maybe u can hold it for dinner? let the guests arrive ard 5pm? and cake cutting at 6pm? i think it is still better to hold it in ur place instead of the inlaws.. unless as wet garfield recommend, hotel, chalet etc (which i think is apt for u oso)

stella
kekeke my place downstairs oso have a bbq pit cum multipurpose hall.. hb oso suggested that if we have a big crowd.. but i prefer to do it in my small little home.. more cosy.. ehh but u gotta check, whether rental of bbq pit or multipurpose hall needs money?

kekek all of us playin ard with dates coz our bbs birthdays so near CNY.. QY gonna have 2 bb celebrations - 1 for the relatives on 26th, one for friends n their families with young kids on 27th. the invite for relatives is coz we did not celebrate his 1st month as mummy n daddy cannot cope then.. the invite for friends with young kids is coz it's supposed to be his birthday, so have shld have kids to play ard / mix ard for him.

wow so many of you have advanture..

I think I'll "leash" my gal at shopping malls when she starts to walk.. I dun want to get heart attack loh ..

huskie: oh cold turkey..hehe.. i am thinking whether to do that.. cos its faster and much more effective.
Hey if ur ger dun like isomil, u wanna change to another milk for her to try?
my weight has been dropping too despite the huge amt of food i am eating every day... def due to Bfing.. i am slimmer than pre-preg now.. think better control a bit, cos once I stop BF, sure will balloon up man!

I think nowadays more scary, bbs can be easily kidnapped..not like last time, children can run free and parents neednot worry.

planning bb's b-day party is no fun when I'm the only one who is kan chong and Hub is away and do not want to decide on venue before he left.

smurfy

my hb went to book the pit liao. It is not in multipurpose hall, it is at one corner of the park, just that the area is sheltered. Got two pits, but hb checked with the town council, the whole area is ours. the cost of booking is s$10.70. Heehee.. we are not inviting a lot of people..at the most 20 adults and 10 kids.

oh ya..

we are also holding it on 26/01/08..cherish lunar birthday. not quite keen to hold it at home cos scared cherish will be overwhelmed by the noise + scared of mess..i remember that time full month celebration, i clean till siao..

well hopefully, my little cry baby can behave on that day

stella,

dun worry... actually u control cherish rather well...

actually me abit scare now too... but it for tomolo... goin for the tvc thing... i just hope zz wun make a scene!! hahaha... hopefully everything turns out fine.

Garfield

i can control cherish??? i only noe when she cries, stay calm only.. actually nothing much i can do. anyway used to her cries already..

luckily the venue is very near to my house, so if she cranky, can bring her up.

good luck to zz for tomorrow tvc!

stella, thxs

u seem always calm n u can bring her out alone... so brave...

me v jin zhang... zz is oblivious... hahaha
I just hope either he get to act or nothing at all... cos the gal told me she might need zz to show his hand or other part just in case the other bb got cranky later on. at first I think it ok but now come to think of it, the other bb got more while zz also had to act like a bit lugi as acting also is tough for bb. anymore treat it as experience.

garfield, i tried to book 2 months ahead but the lady told me its only open for booking 1 month before the date. Then I overslept on sat so didnt book it. anyway, the lady told me even if I went down at 9am when their office opened its also useless as one guy went to their office at 8am and waited till they opened. Super KS!!!
He booked both function rooms so I only can take the 4pm - 11pm slot. No choice lah.

At first i wanted to do at Conrad hotel, then hb disagreed, said expensive. And I thot yah, hotel function room will also look like our function room downstairs so I didnt pursue. Then I also wanted to rent toys so at our function room downstairs will be easier to coordinate. I asked hb to check the rates at the golf club bungalow chalets(quite near my place) from 2 months ago, until now, I hear nothing from him
so i think cannot wait for him already.

smurfy, yah, I will start party at 5pm, cut cake at 6pm. Too bad for those who come late, they can adjourned to our place to sit sit, chat chat

sunsweet, although my hb is in singapore, he also didnt do anything to help me with the bday party. Its mummy doing all the booking, sourcing for clothes, party items, now I better call the caterer to book, in case they all fully booked for CNY and dun want my biz

stella, i think u very cool, always bringing cherish out alone. I am quite bad, if I think A will make noise, i rather let him stay at home...but of cos I still love him very much and if there is any hint of danger I will definitely protect him

garfield, your hb going with u tomorrow??

Cherryale

no lah.. i dun always bring her out alone, unless trips to markets and playground also counted. So far i only bring her out alone 3 times for longer trips

u are so great, put in so much effort for A birthday. Frankly, i din intend to celebrate cherish birthday until yesterday hb mentioned about bbq at neighbourhood.