(2007/02) February

huskie, I was awake.... but think i numb liao... cos I just wan the bone out of my throat!!!
but they r v quick, i just open mouth, then they insert tweezer and bone come out with it!

u know b4 going inside, I still drink alot of water, try vinegar, try eating rice .... everything but the bone still stuck there.... scary *cry out

Hello again mommies! so much to read!! just managed to glance through.

Don't think i have much time from now till end of the year to post, but will pop by on and off, coz will be very busy.

So here's wishing a ....

MERRY CHRISTMAS to all our cutie BABIES and pretty MOMMIES!!!

================================

Rachel & fat_babe,
have removed our names from the list below coz we cannot attend the gathering. have fun!

UPDATED as @ 5 Dec

Thursday 20th dec PUBLIC HOLIDAY gathering CONFIRMED! 1pm - 5pm @ The Anchorage
function room has been booked.

1)Rachel + HB + josh
2)fat_babe + tyty
3) stella + cherish
4) jelly + Yunxi
5)pekochan + Yunzhi (hb TBA)
6) garfield07 + zz (HB TBA)
7) chocbabe + Ryan + HB
8) longan + Shaun + HB
9) Sunsweet + Smiley J (HB TBA)
10) nana + hb + ryan (TBA)
11) cherryale +hb +Ashton
12) graceofgod +hb + Julian (TBC)
13) Charis + Yael + hb (coming late-after 2pm)

Bring yours & bb swim wear..
Bring 1 present per family for exchange..
kindly confirm your attendance...

garfield..ur dad owns medical hall? i got so much herbs to buy for confinement..v broke liaoz...can buy frm him? he can give me good price?

PVL,
Yep, my unpolished rice swelled up, but it's a big round grain. I still have to use a fork to mash it up a bit else SOph will gag on it.
I also wanna put Soph on table foods at 1 yr old, but she doesn't seem to be chewing... how how?

so busy.. my parents' big house move is on monday and i've got heaaaaaps to pack :p plus got heavy period so it's very shack

PVL, huskie - I tried not mashing up Beth's rice grains but aiyoh, she got constipated plus whole rice grains were passing out of her little butt so I decided to just blend coarsely again. The Lundberg brown rice (long grain) breaks up really well but still need to use the handheld blender 'cos my kiddo has zero teeth.
No table food for my little allergic one till she's at least 18 months lah.

milkie, forgot to say that YR is really so pretty now...

leapfrog now having super duper sale on their books... arggghhhhhhhhh...

CATZ
yah i saw the books.. but kinda early for beth n qy right? i shld be getting the bks next year christmas right? *whispers* but still i went to get the complete phonics sets system.. hohoho.. happy packing.. now u will be packing the junks to ur place :p .. err i oso got my period 2 weeks back,, yah super sianz.. with the milk becoming less.. :/

Gak,
I'm not sure if the yoghurt can be kept for more than a week, but he usually finishes everything by the end of one week. YES, it tastes as sour and is more liquid-y than those store bought ones. My mum says it's more liquid-y because she doesn't add any 'firming' agent.

Huskie,
Nope, my mum makes everything by hand from scratch using the traditional old way. Just a stove, her pot and a packet of fresh milk.

I've seen yoghurt makers being sold at Phoon Huat as well as VitaKids. The one at Phoon Huat has packets of flavoured yoghurt powder for you to use with the yoghurt maker too...kind of like those instant cake mix things.

Charis,
Eeee, so scary about the fish bone thing!! The Son is still a vegetarian so I've yet to experience such a thing, but gosh, how scary!

Actually, I'm dreading the day I have to start the Son on animal protein. I HATE touching raw meat. Think I'll get my mum's maid to prepare cubes of the raw meat for me, then I can just throw into the pot without having to touch it.

Catz,
Wahahaha, seems like all mummies examine their little one's poo eh? I do that too. When I tried giving the Son wolfberries, he was also passing out the wolfberry whole so now I'm back to blending it.

Quick update on Jade:
2 upper teeth are sprouting ^_^
She can stand on her own without any support for at least 1-2 minutes now.^_^
But still prefer daddy over me... -_-

Since I cant pop in so often.. I would like to wish ALL MOMMIES AND BABIES A VERY BLESSED CHRISTMAS!!!

JS.. yah lor.. examining poo is part of daily routine. I even know HOW much poo is expected on a daily basis. So loser :p

Smurfy, me2baby.. go ahead
But smurfy ah, gotta pay more for shipping system yah?

smurfy, u are ordering My First Leappad liao ya???

Catz... My order of littletouch book placed...

JS!!! Aiyah... I shd put up here earlier. Why u need another set? The mummy's hubby came to collect last nite. But she a nice lady lah, never bargain down the price. Anyway my playyard is brand new!!!

My hubby ask me to get visa to china for myself and YX. Think he might not come back for xmas or new year. But i not into the idea of bring YX to china lei... Sigh...

jas
no little leappad for QY oredi
..but but if u dun wanna make bring YX over, that means the hb is going to have a boring christmas, new yr all alone in china? n cold one oso.

today gotta wrk..spent too much time tis whole week on sprees... always endin up with OOS items somemore.. :<

JS
Thanks dear!
hmm..watery yoghurt isn't more difficult to feed?
very messy a not?
i hate to feed watery food to my boy...always drool out of his mouth!
think his mouth got holes...hahaha ;P

those yoghurt makers expensive?
i oso scared buy liao become white elephant in my house!!!

MORE NAGGINGS FROM MY HUBBY!

HUSKIE
actually hor..Organic4Less got sell this yoghurt making agent
but actually got yoghurt properties so can add into baby's food, no need to make into yoghurt.

i bought oso...in my fridge collecting dust!
keke

huskie
i brought some organic long grain brown rice.. not that lungberg brand but starts with "C"...(cannot recall)at four seasons market in GWC.. maid says it breaks up very well in the slow cooker.. u might want to try..

GARFIELD
where's ur dad's medical hall uh? at Clementi??
can ask him to prepare similar si sen powder for me a not?
very interested to give my son

makes my life easier too! hahaha ;P

smurfy.... Last year this time when I was heavily pregnant wif YX at 32 weeks, I took the flight myself all the way to Beijing to join him for a snow white new year together. This year if go will be bring YX along definitely, but i am sceptical abt the food hygiene there, especially water. Food i can still bring jar food over. But water how???

garfield, ur dad's medical hall at clementi? Which ave?

jas
u might want to sms..email..call magd on how she cope.. her 2Ms spent their first few yrs in guangzhou right?

gak
the orange color system ar? OOS oredi

fast one....cos friend over here...

catz..i've emailed u my order and transferred the money to u too...............can't talk now....veryhungry and macs delivery is here...muakzzz

talk to u mummies laterrrr

Catz, Catz!I want the books... Plssss.... If you still take in orders, heres mine (Sorry, cant post in the overseas section):

Nick: graceofgod
Email Address: [email protected]

Item #01
Item Name: LittleTouch LeapPad Book: Stella Songbird
URL: http://www.leapfrog.com/en/families/littletouch_leappad/ltlp_books/ltlp_stella.html
Price in USD: US$3.90
Alternative if OOS: Drop

Item #02
Item Name: LittleTouch LeapPad Book: Dora the Explorer A Gift from Big Sister Dora
URL: http://www.leapfrog.com/en/families/littletouch_leappad/ltlp_books/ltlp_doragiftbigsis.html
Quantity: 1
Unit Price: US$3.90

Item #03
Item Name: LittleTouch LeapPad Book: Pooh Loves You!
URL: http://www.leapfrog.com/en/families/littletouch_leappad/ltlp_books/ltlp_winniethepooh.html
Quantity: 1
Unit Price: US$3.90

item #04:
Item:LittleTouch LeapPad Book: A to Z Adventure!
URL: http://www.leapfrog.com/en/families/littletouch_leappad/ltlp_books/ltlp_azadventure.html

Item #05
Item name: LittleTouch?LeapPad?Book: Animal Dance
URL: http://www.leapfrog.com/en/families/littletouch_leappad/ltlp_books/ltlp_animaldance.html
Qty:1
Price: $3.90

Item #06
Item Name: LittleTouch LeapPad Book: Let's Get Busy, Baby
URL:http://www.leapfrog.com/en/families/littletouch_leappad/ltlp_books/ltlp_busybaby.html
Price in USD:$3.90
Alternative if OOS: Drop

Total no. of items: 6
Total in USD: USD23.40
Price in SGD: USD$ x 1.54 = S$ 36.04

Plsss... if this gets through, I will pay immediately!!!

Thanks Catz!

GOG!
i'm ordering the LeapFrog now!!
u keen?
but then only the 2 of us to split the shipping...
let me know asap
cuz i'm gonna submit liao!

catz
question: is this the first time leapfrog have this kind of massive sales? everyone seems going crazy with it (me oso
).. next year new yr or xmas dun have oredi meh, shld have right?

gak.
thks for the offer, replied via sms ;)

milkie
good for u.. can eat junk food and maintain so slim..

i think i am one deprived bb.. everyday eat home cooked food.. junk food onli when the hb is not ard.. sianz..

JS,
Ok, I'll check it out at Phoon Huat cos I need to get some breadmaking stuff from them anyway

Wow, your mum made yoghurt using traditional way? What does she use as a starter? A spoonful of yoghurt from the previous batch?
My Indian friend taught me how to make it, and she does it this way.

gak,
Yoghurt making agent? You mean like a starter/bacteria?
I'll go check it out later

I think the yoghurt makers cost about $60+, but all it does is keep the yoghurt in a constant temperature while it ferments... that's why can actually make it the traditional way liek JS' mother.
But maybe the yoghurt maker is more convenient?

smurfy,
Thanks. I'll check it out if I go to GWC for nasi padang

jelly,
But if you don't go, then hubby has to spend xmas and new year there alone... very poor thing right?
I think food in a big hotel should be safe?
For water, can ask for boiling water from hotel and then boil somemore in the room yourself, or buy overseas brand bottled distilled water to boil?
Then just bring a flask to keep the water warm for YX?

smurfy... Ya... Will "communicate" wif magd if confirm he cannot come back for xmas/new year...

gak, gynae of cos suggest can dun go then dun go but very sad if gotta celebrate a brand new year myself here. So i just went ahead loh. Plus when i reached beijing, started snowing heavily! It was sooo beautiful but veeeeery slippery. We went for tour at the Forbidden City and shopping in Beijing. Very fun!!! Those salesgals in the departmental stores will come chat wif me and asked me abt the bb. The SQ stewardess lagi funny. She did not realise I was pregnant until I got up my place and went to toilet. Then she quickly came ask me if i pregnant and if she cld of any help.

huskie, I am thinking if go then i bring my own flask. Keke... Distil water can reboil??? And if go must ask hubby to book a better hotel.

smurfy, u got to eat home cooked food everyday still complain???? U "shen zai fu zhong bu zhi fu".
I everyday b/fast/lunch/dinner all outside food lei. Sob sob...

Wah, the Leapfrog books are now so cheap! *tui tui tui* Everytime like that, when I think I got something for a good deal, an even better deal comes along after I purchase the item.

Jelly,
I'm looking for another set of the play yard to put at my mum's place. Nevermind lah, at least your set went to a good home.

Can you just buy bottled water over there and boil? Travelling with a baby is so troublesome hor...

Gak,
The yoghurt is not that watery that it will dribble everywhere, it's about the texture of a thick soup, if you know what I mean. Anyway, I always add tahini to his yoghurt so it will thicken it up a little. I'm planning to try adding some bean purees soon too, so I think this will thicken it up even more.

I kiasu leh, I already ordered the Leapfrog My First LeapPad and the Read and Write LeapPad for the Son. I just take the recommended age as a guide since I know many toddlers who can read and write by 3.

Huskie,
Yup, my mum uses a spoonful of yoghurt from the previous batch as a starter. And hey, she also learnt how to do it from an Indian friend! And this was waaaaaaay back in the 80's when people don't really eat yoghurt, let alone make it. For her very very first batch, I think she used Paul's plain yoghurt for the starter.

I do think the yoghurt maker will be more convenient because I think it'll garantee that your yoghurt will turn out successful. Sometimes the yoghurt my mum makes doesn't turn out successful and then she'll have to throw everything away and start all over.

JS, i also tui. Thot US$7.90 per book is of good price oredi, never thot the price comes down even further now, and by SO MUCH!!! The only consolation is even wif US$7.90, still cheaper than buying locally.

Same question: Can we boil those bottled mineral water which we buy from supermarket?

jelly and JS, well, the system prices went up and some OOS.. so paying more is OK lah.. think positive

ok going to zzzzz... shack man, placing so many orders! hahah...

milkie, milkie.... where are youuuu? i smsed you

Catz,
Poor constipated Beth.

Huskie,
Maybe your unpolished rice is harder than mine.
Table foods..... can use the Munchkin if Sophie is not chewing. Sarah was like that also. Another suggestion is to give Sophie chewable snacks like cheerios or Gerber puffs to help her learn to chew. Start slow, though.

mummies who have travelled with their porridge-eating babies,
How have you managed with baby's meals whilst on the go? We are planning to drive up to Malacca, staying at a hotel. At present, my plan is to bring the crock pot, rice, fresh carrot, broccoli, spinach, pumpkin, sweet potato etc, whitebait powder and cook for Ben. Dunno what to do about the meat/fish. I might do the ice-in-the-cooler box thingy again if I want to bring the meats and stock. Any suggestions would be most welcome. Jar food is also an option, though Ben has NEVER eaten any jar food to date. My other conern is the washing up in the hotel sink. So gross.

gak,
Alamak, I just bought HT Mixed grains cereal on Wednesday.

OK. Gotta go. Kiddies both sleeping and gotta cook & clean. Have a good weekend mummies!

jelly,
Yes, distilled water can boil. Last time when I first worked in HK, I also never drink their tap water... buy distilled water to drink. When I need hot water, just boil the bottled distilled water.
But I read somewhere don't give babies mineral water, cos some mineral/spring water contains too much minerals... not good for them.

My hubby stayed at Shangri-La but in Guangzhou last time... he said it's top-class, and "safe" enough to bring baby there.

JS,
Yeah, my Indian friend says that the humidity in SG means our yoghurt is more watery and sour, whereas when she showed me how to do it when we were staying in US, the yoghurt was perfect in texture and taste!
OK, I'll pop by Phoon Huat and check out yoghurt maker, cos hubby and I finish about 1 tub a week, and that doesn't include me using it for cooking, so I think making my own yoghurt may be more economical in the long run.

PVL,
My unpolished rice is the NTUC housebrand one... heee, just gave Soph whatever we eat.
Think I'll go dig out my Lundberg one from my fridge!
Funny thing is Soph eats cheerios with no problem leh... but maybe she is not chewing it, just sucking it.

Hey, I'm going to Malacca next weekend! I'm not bringing crockpot cos it's sooooo slow. My mum is bringing a mini rice cooker to cook porridge for both my nephew and Soph.
As for meat, I have no idea what she intends to do. How about skipping meat for a day and eat lentils or tofu from supermarket if you don't trust the meat in their supermarket?

a) We went Malaysia 1 or 2 months back.. but we stayed at relatives place, not in hotel. No, I did not gave him porridge then (dun wanna bring the slow cooker as he was on one porridge meal per day then).. but I brought my steamer n blender. The day before the trip, I went cold storage to get all fresh veges and fruits (got the maid to air dry the green veges, wrap in kitchen towel, put in fridge first) On that day itself, just before setting out, hb went petrol kiosk to get one big pack of ice.. and the foodstuffs was last to be packed and I put all in a cooler box (u know those white type in wetmarkets where they put fish?). upon reaching the relatives house (segamart, slighter nearer than Malacca), we immediately put everything in the fridge.. a lot of ice are still intact.. hahaha. I need the ice cooler box coz I put in tofu, youghurt, cheese oso)

Think for ur case, slow cooker is the best right? Just dump everything inget those easy to prepare veges lor (French beans, asparagus, broocoli,, bananas, avocado), those that u requires to just a chopper board and a small knife..n those dun need to blend type... if u r afraid that the diet is not balanced, bring boxed cereal as one of the main meals or breakfast? Remember avocado lor, coz I feel that it is a all-rounded item.. n I love bananas.. so simple to handle.. tofu will provide the proteins lor?

agar agar
anyone tried agar agar on bbs yet? recalled SBF recommended it. where to find, if u have started it on bbs? shld be fun right? agar agar with some fruity taste?

smurfy, huskie,
Thanks for sharing ideas. I'm going for 3 nights. Need to prepare 7 meals. I'll bring the dahl and other beans if I can find them at the market. Think I'll do the ice box thingy. I've just made some chicken stock and pureed the meat off the bones. I might bring those frozen chicken cubes + some fish. SMURFY, do you put bananas and avocado into the porridge, or serve as a side/dessert? I hadn't planned breakfast because Ben eats bread and we have breakfast included in our package, so he can just eat whatever there is there.

pvl
the bananas, avocados n fruits r side dishes.. i prepacked his cereals of the correct serving sizes into those containers meant to store FM powder (those looks like pie-shaped) ..instead of bringing different boxed cereals along.

PVL, hmm.. I'd go with fresh porridge for the first day (or two) then jar food by the third day
Why not try Ben on a couple of jars of food this week? If not, aiyoh, you'll have a hard time handling all your barang barang. For my 4 days in port dickson, it was jar food jar food jar food

catz or any of the mummies here, can u help me POST on this spree page to inform the spree organizer (glad) that I've PM-ed her my orders yesterday night and transferred the money to her as well. But i don't see my orders being reflected in the spree page.

it's this spree i'm talking about