(2007/02) February

hehehe thanks garfield...

yah i guess as much..think its the sudoku or sumthing like dat...haiz...so farnee these people...machiam i do business like dat...

kekee...me also juz went in to read the BP complains...soooo interesting!!keke

yalor there r many diff ple out there...

i last time also never notice these threads till one fine day some1 put a link in BP and then I go take alook... wow it an eye-opener ;p

stella, yaya... Our babies getting "yang oh" when they see us. Last nite i have some laundry to do so my sis played wif YX while i in kitchen do laundry. When I went past them wanted to go to my room, i need to use something to hide my face from YX, but she still saw me and her eyes followed my direction. Haiz...

garfield, ur mil can tahan not to carry zz? ZZ so cute!!! My mil likes to carry YX when she is free (as she need to do cooking etc). All her grandchildren are close to her except for YX.

garfield, i read from Superbaby Food book not to dilute fm too much, but can't remember why...

stella,Jas
QY oso yang ohhhh oredi.. but i very happy..... even though basically cannot do anything else.. must sneak quietly out of house..

ya i agree our bbs r v yang or... prob they now understand lor...

this morn he saw me in living rm and maid was carrying him after he cahnge his clothes, he spread his hands to let me bao bao him...

jelly,
mil say she not feelin well so scare she drop zz... so i scare too when she say this. she last time say she dun know how to carry bb. but she always tok to him and make funny faces lor.

wah cannot dilute FM too much? then how?? hmm shld I try other FM?

do u all find that bb wants to follow us now ? i got trouble leaving her with my mum last sunday. she wants to follow us.

cherish already sticky to me..now with the yang oh stage..she practically leech on to me

how i wish my A is sticky to me..he is ok w me but not sticky except during the time when maid went back to indonesia. Maybe i really spent too little time with him
eg. in the morning when we left him at inlaws place, he will wave bye bye to us but will not cry for us to stay. But anyway, its prob good, if not, it will be hard for us to get to work.

gers arr..
i waited for a very long time for this moment leh.. that QY wants me more than the maid... soOoo HAPPy now.

huskie
take pics of ur sop in that car seat.. then we compare how BIG the fat boy is

smurfy

QY is not really fat in real person.. he is more of bigger built..i love his lotus root thights. And he got tall genes.

stella
yah yah.... dunno how come he is of bigger built leh? but thankfully he got the tall genes..

another side question.
is rainshower really a novelty for HDB flat? shld i just get a normal plain showerhead? especially coz the pressure might turn my rainshower into a drizzle?

cherry,
dun worry ... as u say, if too sticky, u will v sin tong to go work 1...

if he doesn't cry, it also mean he is brave
if he stay this way, it good when you send him to school... i have some frens who have difficulty to send their children to school, their children will cry v badly

smurfy,

r u toking abt the type which rain from above yr head?

I have tat in my home too n so far, it ok (quite strong)but we use it less often, prefer the handheld.

the one which cannot be used in hdb is those massage jets... i wanted tat but they say it quite impossible cos the pressure is v little n it will dribble instead.

smurfy
so proud of ur little kiddo!!

he looked very much like you hor..so cute & handsome!
guys with small eyes are more attractive & good looking ya!
so dun envy babies with big eyes ya..

BTW, how's ur boy feeling liao?

jelly
ur baby dun fuss for his milk?
mine will le...seems like he always asking for milk lo
as for solid, he seems more interested in adult's food than his own lo
watever we eating he wld look at us wanting a piece of it..
he's oso prefer finger food to spoon feeding
*haiz* think he wld grow up a junkie :p

garfield
i can't omit any nite feeds le cuz if nv give him hor
he won't go bak to sleep lo
try water oso no use le
now i try to reduce the amount of FM for each feed especially during the day
so he can take in more solid

i oso ca omit the day feeding le cause seems like he got milk cravings one!
remember once when i ws giving him lunch later than usual (2pm), he cldn't sit still lo & kept whining till we gave him his milk!

huskie dear
she's so much older than me lo but still can tok like that..
maybe cuz she's not a mommy yet so dun understand that it's not an easy job uh?
hmmm..maybe she's hinting to my BIL that she's ready to settle down & start a family liao hor
wahaha

catz
how're ur kiddos?
still hv fever??
one sick so tired liao, u got 2 sick kiddos..
u must be O Bak Kak liao!

Take care ya!

smurfy
i'm using the rainshower type in my bathroom
very shiok!

i've both RainShower & the normal hand held shower head

but ur contractor must check if ur water pressure powerful enough a not
if not become drizzle or no water!

like my mom's place, cuz she live in mansionette so she when she install the Rainshower, her hand held shower head dun work..

hey mommies, how i envy u all when u say ur babies are sticky to u... sigh... jade doesnt want me leh. she prefers daddy and grandma... whenever i want to carry her she would turn away and hold tight to daddy.. i feel so sad... my colleagues say this is juz a phase cos she can "prioritize" her favourites. obviously i am not her favourite... sigh..... she is very happy to see me lah but will definitely prefer daddy leh.. but hor, the time i spent with her is more than daddy leh.. i really don understand....

hehe last night bec smiley J was naghty not sleeping at 11pm keep wiggling and wanting to stand on the bed.. so daddy got angry and said to her in a stern tone its late, time to sleep, we'll play tomorrow.. end up J was frighten and began to cry.. keep trying to crawl to me to seek refuge..

its quite a farni sight.. cos daddy is devil and mummy become angel.. *halo over sunsweet's head* hahaha

sunsweet, hehe.. poor smiley J! My girl is very clingey to me.. she doesn't want her papa.. papa very hurt because he says she's his one true love :p

gak, obakak ok already lah. u ok or not? how's your little guy? poor thing, kena hospitalised.

huskie, aiyah... do your parents take care of your nephew or do they see him more often than sophie? i guess it's inevitable that there will be comparisons since the age gap is so small. my in laws also make comparisons.. just learn to ignore. my own parents are guilty of favouritism toward timothy also..haha.. but my sister will blast them good good so they do police themselves nowadays. the latest incident is that we realised that bethany didn't get any 1st month presents from them.. so they bought her all her belated 1st month just yesterday

smurfy, i hv rainshower..shiok.. i'm living in a maisonette and it's installed in my master bedroom bathroom but it's ok lei.. but must check water pressure first lah.

Thanks for all your concern for me and Julian! Really appreciate it very much. The details of his operation are as follows:

Next Thursday, 22 Nov at 9am. Gleneagles. Julian will be in ICU for 2 days after the operation and thereafter be transferred to the ward for about 5 days depending on his progress.

A little details about why Gleneagles. Dr Shankar operates both at Gleneagles and KKH. KKH's waiting list is long, about 50 patients before julian and gleneagles can allow for an earlier date.

Do pray alongside with us:
1. Dr Shankar will have the wisdom to see to the operation
2. Julian's body will respond well to the operation and that there will be no complications after that.
3. We parents will be emotionally and physically strong to take care of him.
4. We will be able to have enough $$$$$ to pay for the real high hospital bill.

Thank you very very much, Mummies!

Hi grace,

Dun worry too much, Julian will be fine. You must take care too cos you need all the energy to take care of Julian after that.

catz
hehe...OBakKak not pretty liao le
later frighten ur hubby in the middle of the nite no good lah ;P keke

me oso OBakKak! wahaha...
stay in hospital to take care of him is even tougher than taking care of him at home!
the babies 1 cry all cry, children so talkative!
can run here there screaming, talking loudly even when sick *haiz*
my boy's fever finally seems to stay away lo!

GOG
All the BEST to Julian!!!

think it's fated that Julian will hv his op at Gleneagles..
even though KKH's a Children's Hospital, but their service sucks!
no difference even when u stay in the A1 & B1 (non-subsidise)..
i just wrote a very long (grandmother story) complain to SingHealth cuz even their Quality Service Mgmt can't make it

keep us updated on Julian's progress ya!

GOG,
I'll keep Julian in my prayers.
You be strong and take care of yourself too!

smurfy,
Haha, OK, next time I'll take a pic of petite Soph in the car seat

gak,
Your ds hospitalised? I don't remember reading that posting leh?

Catz,
My parents take care of my nephew lor, cos my sis is a FTWM.
My hubby normally quite chin chye one, but there was once he was quite upset... we met my dad at his car to pick up something, then he gave Soph a toy to play. When we're leaving, hubby told SOph to return it to grandpa, then my dad says it's OK, she can have it. Then my mum added that my dad bought it for my nephew but he didn't want it, so Soph can have it.
That really upset my hubby cos he felt that it's not nice to give a gift which somebody else didn't want *sigh*

Eh, btw, do you want some jar food? I've got:
- 2 jars of Organic Baby prunes+oats
- 2 jars of winter squash
Expiry in Nov 2008. Got them for my previous failed trip but Soph hated it.
Can just SMS me and pick up at my place if you want.

Something to share:
The other day, my gf, who had 2 kids, was discussing with me abt discipline and how her 2 kids was like during the terrible 2 stage and how she eventually discipline them...

when i came back, I discussed with my hb abt how we wanted our son to be brought up etc.. My MIL was there just eavesdropping and never join in he discussion.

This morning, she went crazy and started reprimanding my hb for treating my son like an adult and and saying that it's not true abt terrible 2 etc... kept saying that Ryan is only 9 months old.

btw, she didn't dare to tell me directly, just talk very loudly to my hb and hope that i heard. She knew that I would definately fight back and defend my stand.

Basically, I felt that discipline should be instil from young. There's no such thing as "he is only 9 months old". I know if I dun start now, it will be very difficult later on. My son is very pampered at home and I felt that for the good of my son, I will have to be the bad guy.

In conclusion, he is my son and I will eventually face him for the rest of my life. They can say all they want, I'm still his mother.

Sorry just need to vent my frustrations somewhere..

chocbabe, I've had many battles with my parents over the discipline issue. Esp when they were taking care of Timothy when I was working (he was 15 months).. aiyah.. basically I discipline Bethany even now, she's only 10 months. 'Cos I see defiance in her and if she doesn't learn to stop doing something IMMEDIATELY, she could get into real danger e.g. sticking fingers into sockets, biting small objects etc. Hope your husband stands up for you. Yes, our kids will be stuck with us for life and grandparents will be dead and gone and don't hv to deal with the consequences of a spoiled brat turned menace to society. Hee..

gak, poooooor you.. I've seen the wards at KK. Very chaotic. When I first saw the C-class kids' ward, I was crying away. Worse thing was that I was on the job! Had to go and hide one corner and pretend like I'm OK :p Personally, I do not like restructured hospitals lah..

GOG, think GlenE is a good choice
Will pray for all the items you've listed down. Is Julian covered by insurance? That should cover some hospitalisation right?

huskie, hey thanks! Do you need any HT cereals? I've stopped giving Beth those already.. let me know and we'll do a swap. Or do you want some diapers? I'll swing by if I can.. hv to bring Timothy to the pd this morning 'cos it's day 9 and he still has a fever.. plus we're living in a dengue hotspot so we just wanna check to make sure it's not dengue. *sigh*

gog,
hope everything turns out smooth and successful. stay strong for Julian ok?

gak, yr son having fever? catz too? wow take care.

this morn, zz never vomit liao but seem still have the cough

sometimes cannot hear the phelgm though

haha one thnig that get stuck in my mind.. maybe one day i'll tell it to my in-laws when they gets over protective of their grand child..

"Grandparents are here to pamper their grandchildren. Parents are here to discipline the kids for their good." So dun interfer when i need to discipline my child.. :p

Catz,
I won't need HT cereals... I've stopped giving cereals to Soph long time ago.
Diapers will be nice. I'm currently using Pampers ACtive L and Huggies Ultra L, but am wondering if there is any cheaper alternative for daytime use, like Mamypoko or Nepia. If you ahve, I don't mind swapping. I won't need many pieces, just 2 or 3 pieces to try out that's all

9 days of fever?! Oh dear... maybe should get a bloodtest done!

chocbabe, Catz, Sunsweet,
I think you're right about discipline... someone has to do it.
Yesterday I just had a visitor from hell. She's my friend's friend... came with her toddler. When she reached my place, the toddler started running around and picking/throwing the toys, which is fine with me. Then he started banging on my hifi set *faintz* and the mother just looked on, never tell him to stop. Then after that pulled my folded up clothes rack which nearly fell on my TV console. And all the mother did was ask if I have anything breakable on the TV console!
It didn't just stop here... he went on to jump on my bed and ran around butt naked after peeing... he was not wearing diapers cos he was being toilet trained now.

What a nightmare! Think better to discipline our kids properly and make sure they behave properly outside.

just got back from hospital.. think the son might have dengue fever but a mild version. he had blood drawn and man oh man, it was a struggle but thankfully still can handle him.

huskie, ha? sophie using L size? err... bethany is on m leh.. you want some m sized mamypoko? wah your friend's friend is an awful mother. naked and jumping on stranger's beds???? you should've said something!

now bethany is coughing, sounds phlegmy and she vomitted in her crib. die lah..

huskie

ur vistor from hell is not the worst. the worst is my three little neighbours. I pity them lah..cos no one teach them the right things. Daytime only elderly grandparents with them. I can hear grandma shouting until voice coarse, but the three naughty fellow continues.

I am ok with them running at corridor, but they get worse,, purposely stamp their feet when reach my doorstep. And they pulled my dogs ears thr the gate. ( i din close the wood door). the sec one still can say vulgar language while walking.

The ultimate one that gets my hb very angry : the sec boy showed me a pic of rabbit with carrot. Then tell me the rabbit is holding a knife, he wants the rabbit to kill me. I "hao xin" tell the mother to observe him, cos he might learn some violent things, the mother says kids are like that, why shld i mind?

wau lau,

stella, u better close the door... it bad influence for cherish!

my mum place neighbour also have 3 sons n all like to climb the gates and my nephew also wan to learn.

then got this stupid C boi like to go naked... v ugly sight lor.

Catz,
Oh dear, Timo has dengue? Must go back and do blood test again to monitor platelet level?
Poor Beth too.... luckily weekend is coming and your hubby can help out with looking after the kids. Not easy looking after a sick kid, not to mention 2!

Eh, actually Soph can fit into M lah, but I got fed up with Huggies cos I had 3 defective ones in my previous pack of M size, and the first pack of M size that I opened were actually S inside, cos they were sooo small, and I didn't realise it till I opened my 2nd pack of M, then realise the first pack of M were so small. I think their QC is really bad lah... didn't wanna buy Huggies anymore so decided to just use up my last 2 packs of L.
Thanks, I don't mind a few pieces of M Mamypoko to try out

Just SMS me when you're coming... no hurry, take care of the kids first!

stella,
Yeah, I think you better close your door lah... the sec boy must have some inherent violent character!

garfield,
Cannot hear zz's phlegm then phlegm probably no more liao... that is a good sign!
As for the coughing, it'll probably go away soon as long as he is kept warm and no cold air and cold water.

Eh, the C boi go naked... as in totally naked? Not even pants on?

Huskie/garfield

i wont hide the boys behaviour from cherish..in fact i will tell cherish "u see this kor kor do this very rude, u cannot be like him "

i am more vigilant when the boys loiter outside my unit, observe to see they are not up to some mischief

Catz,
Oh dear, Timo got dengue? Did he get bitten by the mozzies? Poor Timo.

Stella, your neighbours really sound like kids from hell!
I believe that children pick up things from adults around them. So that's why it's impt for us as caregivers to be really careful what we say to them and how we say it.
The terrible twos are REAL!! Sarah is gradually coming through the period, and she's nearly 3 1/2 already.
Keep up the discipline whenever you can. Must be consistent otherwise the kids won't know how to submit to authority. I can see that Ben is more stubborn than Sarah. I can't imagine what he'll be like at 2-3! He's so resistant to discipline and then he'll give me a sweet smile whilst disobeying me. Terrible!
My MIL used to call my hb 'siao lao bei' when we would bring Sarah to a quiet place to discipline her at the IL's home. But now she doesn't say anything anymore cos she can see the benefits.

OK Enough, discipline is my pet topic.

Hihi all!

Me at my parents' house since yday and will stay till sunday. YX is sleeping soundly now so can pop in and say hi to u all.

Me2baby, dun be sad lah. This is just a passing phrase. At least Jade does not reject u rite?

GOG, dun worry, Julian is in good hand, will pray for his recovery. U must be strong and take care of urself too.

Catz... Poor timo, dengue fever seems to be everywhere! So scary... Here in msia got even more mosquitoes, and everytime YX came back msia sure kena a few mosquitoe bites. Do keep us updated on Timo's condition ya...

gak, wat happen to ur boy? How come hospitalised?

Talking abt discipline, I think YX is one tough kid to be discilined too. I am afraid she will grow up like my nephew who will cry and cry for wat he wants until his parents oblige him. So this morning i just let her cry inside her chair and told her will not carry her until she stop crying. Somehow it works. When i went wash my dishes, she sat in her seat quietly looking at me. Then i praise her good gal waiting quietly for mummy and she was smiling happily.

waakaakka...

you all know huh about "discipline" i was a VERY "disciplined" kid / teenager..my mum beats me up for no reasons...right or wrong...i also dunno whether its good or bad...coz my relationship wif my family became very bad...except wif my sis...i moved out from home since 17..but again..i am strong in character...and more resilent to "temptation"...

so i think moderation discipline is good...i spanked tyler very very hard on his hand for runnning his walker over tyra's foot...didn't think he understood...he felt pain but didn't cry...juz looked at me..wif darn sad eyes..so farnee..its actually to tell tyra dat if she's wrong i beat, if didi is wrong i also wack..no favouratism..wakaka..

tyra is spoilt..but when i glare at her wif my small eyes..she will hide behind my hb or maid..keke

Yup, i need to stay strong in order to take good care of him. However, it is really easier said than done... Thanks for all your support.

Catz, we tried to buy insurance for Julian but all rejected cos of his heart condition. So unfortunately, we have to fork out the 30+k to pay the bill.
Under my medical scheme, cant claim at all cos government contributes 1% extra to medisave and that should help with the hosptial bill if I choose kkh. honestly, I am so pissed cos as a civil servant, I thought I could at least get some subsidy... we also didnt choose the scheme. given to us automatically...
Eh, read that your 2 kids are not feeling good as well. Pls take good care of yourself. Will be praying for you as well.

Gak, we have very bad experience with kkh as well when we went to the cardiologist for second opinion. That's why we never want to do our follow-up there. It's good taht you actually bother to write a letter to them. With people like you, at least it will bring to their awareness that there is still room for improvement.
Aiya, you have obakak?? Dont have la...still so well-maintained. I think i am going to be super obakak after Julian's operation.

Aiyo, talking about grandparents ah.. yesterday, i was disciplining my boy cos he banged on the high chair tray. I only raised my voice a little and was a little more firm in my tone... Guess what she said??? 'wow, you are so loud to him, will scare him leh!' Then held his head and said sayang sayang. Cannot ok... Then, she brought my boy to the sofa to have his lunch!!! Faint ah!!! We have been training Julian to eat while on his high chair and now she has broken the meal routine that we have set up for him. What made it worse was that she was watching VCD adn therefore, my julian also watched while he ate his lunch!!! i was so pissed i complained to my hb last night. He promised to remind his mum gently about who Julian's parents are. At least i got support from my hb.

graceofgod..one ting abt husband is they will always say ok they will remind their parents.. then his parents will "ok" in front of him.. however things will still be the same and these PILs act like they know best.. ignoring the fact that we are the mothers.. i oso fed up already..

Stella,

manz that reminds me of the 3 boys from Desperate housewife (1 season) haha

better tell cherish that the boys are showing the bad example.. dun follow..

GOG,
Glad that Julian is able to proceed to his ops earlier rather thean wait for KKH. very soon he'll be a healthy kid once more.

Susu been missing.. probably busy with her visiting parents

huskie,

yes the C boy is naked, not wearing anything including pants... yucks!

tokin abt insurance, I still have not bought for zz.... I so clueless n lz

garfield

there is a C boy at my mum neighbourhood.. and the best thing is ..he plays with cherish at the playground..with the "ding dong ding dong"

re: insurance

I was thinking of getting GE little great one.. but yet to find out more.. probably after the year end period where my other insurances due

Hello mommies!

Sorry to hear that so many babies are sick. Hope all of them get well soon. When they are sick we also suffer, coz it is not easy taking care of them. Catz, I really take my hat off to you. I one sick baby already buay ta han, not to mention that you have two!

Anyways, regarding discipline, think we must get the message across to our in-laws, our parents and maids that we are the mommies of our babies. We have the final say in how we want to raise our kids. Eventually we are responsible for them.

Currently we are staying with my in-laws and on a few occasions my maid told me that my MIL asked her to do things my MILs way (mainly when it comes to Chloes diet and meals). She will say Your mother-in-law says to do like this etc etc etc. If my MILs instructions given sound reasonable, I will accept, but when it is plain ridiculous, I will be firm and tell my maid otherwise. There was once I was pretty cheesed off with my maid and I told her straight in the face I am Chloes mom, so I will decide what to feed my baby! This reminder seems to be pretty effective as from then onwards. Hehee

Oh yah, I also have not got down to buying any insurance for chloe. Jus being plain lazy. Also need to sort out what ins hubby and I have, then from there, it might be easier. First need to find time to sit down and look into it.

rachel,

you are so right about the ok here and ok there... haha..

i had that experience already... hubby also ok in front of me, then PIL also ok to him...

hey ladies, thanks for the well wishes. thank God it's not dengue.. but he's got a bacterial infection swimming around (showed up in the blood tests) so it's another course of antibiotics for him. sigh. thanks to my @#$%^&* MIL and gang :p My poor son has to suffer. now, poor bethany has phlegmy cough and runny nose. will bring her to pd tomorrow. My pd bill is already $400 thanks to today's blood test! can die..

huskie, ok will pass you some MP when i see you

rachel, haha.. your observation is quite correct! PILs are like that.

I'm soooo exhausted.. tonight will be camping in Bethany's room to suction her since she cannot breathe at night.