(2007/02) February

huskie, confirmed lah....little soph doesn't like FM..hahahahahaha good luck when u are weaning her off breast...:p :p

eh, i'm slow cooking the cranberry beans....with nothing....ok right??? i just intend to puree it and freeze it up. is it ok to freeze???

eh, jialat leh...how come the cranberry beans has a layer of shell one????? then how now??? i can't puree with the shell is it???? die lah

Hello mummies!!!

Here I am again. Think I should label myself as the 'sleeping' member of the forum. Only able to contribute postings once in a blue moon.But I do keep myself updates with all your exciting postings.

So fast time flies. Some of our babies are/already entering 9 months now. And great to know that all the babies are growing well and healthy.

And I've seen some of the blogs that you mummies posted up here (sorry ah...being kaypoh) and I must say that you all did a very good job. I have a blog for Norelle too but pai seh lah...after seeing the rest of the blogs. I'm not very good with techie stuff.

Ok, now some updates on the little rascal. Norelle turned 9 months yesterday and as a present, she received her 2nd dose of pnuemococcal jab. Hahaha...and she only weighs 7.75kg. She was ill for more than a month. And I'm glad that she's all well now.

I have also started porridge on her. Well, not me but my MIL. She biols the porridge with carrots/potato/fish, etc...for her. She likes it so far. But she's still taking cereal for her breakfast lor.

Her milk intake is ok, I guess. Each feed about 150-180ml and at nite she takes 240ml. But she's not chubby lor. As for her development skills, she can stand unassisted now (but for about 5 secs) and she can squad down (like bangsai, hahaha) but still boh gey leh...

Here is a picture of her:

1048106.jpg

susu, huskie, GOG,

ya lor,... I still feeding zz his vegi food lar... i alwasy try to give diff type per day... my mum is like tat, tat is y i didn't stay w her or else my zz sure never get to eat all these. I already told her I never feed cucumber, banana, apple, barley liao. I got a new pack of barley cereal but I told maid dun feed.

now he takin chinese medicine so see how.

fat_babe,

u still have to pay even if 5 yrs is not up cos I also pay. The cheapest way is to go to embassy yrself with maid to do it. DUn go to agency!! money suckers.

u need to go orchard towers to take maid photo. I think 13 floor or wat... u can call to check. yes only one stupid place.

then go embassy and get application form. remember to have yr maid passport and work permit photocopy cos they need this. If you didn't copy b4 u go, there is a photocopy service there too but also v ex... 50 cents per piece cos i kenna.

think u pay $40 for the new passport. then rem to go to lawyer office at the second floor to sign something and also pay abt $100 plus...

so total cost will be below $200...

think abt 1 week later, can collect the new passport liao. u must make sure the work permit falls within the the passport validity.

fyi, the embassy application for new passport close at noon (only open in the morn wkdays) and collection of passport is from 3 - 5p.m if i can rem...

garfield,

Thanks for your comment. Norelle is at average height lor..not that tall lah. But I dont know her latest height.

Norelle had a very bad cough too. Think lasted for about 2 weeks. That time hor, she also merlioned out everything leh. Med, food, milk. Very messy and at night cant sleep well cos constantly woken up by the cough. Those time were hectic.

mummyzeen, norelle is developing well!!!
hey, and she is tall lah...walau...she looks really cute too!!!!!
very sweet looking i like.

Btw, can u not expose her undies?? heehehhehehehehee R-rated lah!!! :p :p

milkie,
Yeah, cranberry beans has a layer of membrane-like skin, but it's similar to peas right?
I just mashed it up and give it to Soph... those bigger pieces of skin, I take out, but the smaller ones I give.. oops, no wonder I sometimes hear her coughing machiam like choking!
Dunno if can freeze or not leh....

Aiyoh, you so cheeky, always peeping under others' skirts!

garfield,
Which Chinese physician did you take zz to?

mummy zeen,
I agree Norelle looks very tall! In fact, she looks bigger than 7.75kg!

huskieeeeee, too late lah ur reply....:p i already went ahead to puree the whole beans including the skin...i tested it though..should be ok lah...hee hee i puree it and then i freezing it now...will let u know if can be frozen or not in due course..hahahahahaha

my guinea pig will be YR...

how many beans u normally give Soph huh??? i let YR try 1 bean just now for taster...she ok leh...i just let her eat half the bean then gave her the other half. think the texture of the bean quite soft...

jialat..weather maciam wanna rain don wanna rain....think i better go out soon else later i get drenched waiting for cab....tata mummies...

milkie,
Hahaha..u are evry sharp...always on look out for those stuff...not R-rated lah...baby ma..

huskie,
Maybe she looks tall in picture but in real lfe..she is small leh. Very often ppl would say that she is around 6-7months when I'm carrying her.

And you all won't believe that she can still fit into some of her clothes from 6months...hahaha...save money hor

susu, where u gg to shop again???

Mummy_zeen, i think norelle is going to grow up to be a beautiful gal! She is so pretty and girly! Hei, i like the way u dress her! I wanted so much to let YX wear her pedipec shoes but my mum said cannot let her wear until she is 1 year old which is 4 months more!!!

mummy zeen

norelle so sweet and pretty !! yah she looks tall.

garfield

so good ur dad owns medical hall.. no wonder ur mum says coarse rice is good, cos lots of people must have bought grind coarse rice from her.haha

No offence mummies, i find that PD medicine very "addictive" once stop the medicine, the illness will come back again and gotta go and see PD again..the cycle goes on and on

jelly,
Thank you for your comments. But dont be fooled by her looks ah...u know lah..looks can be very deceiving and she is one...hahahhaha

U didnt see her when she is throwing tantrums and being fussy and demanding..then at tht time u can see her 'true' colours lor..

I also heard about the 'pantang' for not letting bb wear shoes b4 they turn 1..but heck with it..I dont care. And my MIL is ok with it...hahahhaa

mummy_zeen, i also dun wish to care.... But i dun want to upset my mum.

garfield, so good, ur dad owns a medical hall. Must have save a lot during the confinement period.

jelly,
understand ur situation. Anyway, there are 4 more months to go only ma...then u can dress YX up all u want for a loooooong time. That time ur mom cant say anything liao lor...Or if she walks b4 turning 1, then u have to let her wear shoes ma..if she wants to walk rather than be carried...

mummy Zeen, My MIL already told me no shoes b4 1 yrs old.. but why huh?

Luckly I only have 1 pair of pediped for J dunno by 1 yr old can she still wear them? keke

mummy Zeen, yah hor in 4 mths time our bb will be 1 YO. humm how u gals celebrating BB's 1st birthday?

Mine is on the 21st (thursday) 15th of lunar month... thinking how should I plan for her birthday bash!! keke

Norelle's 1st birthday is on 30th Jan which falls on Wednesday. So we are planning to do it earlier on the 26 Jan (Saturday). But nothing has been planned yet. But I did some researches on the venues and things that I would like to have lor...thats it.

i look into the calender.. QY's birthday falls on 5th day of CNY.. best day to hold his birthday shld be 4th day of CNY coz it is a sunday.. but i think that time i shld be still be in Malaysia - stuck with hb's village..
dun think he will want us out on 3rd day to prepare for QY's birthday party .. looks like poor lil Qy got nooooo 1st month celebration nor 1st year birthday party lia.. sad right?

peko

i dont intend to do a big birthday bash. cos it is very near cny. Everyone will be busy and i will be spending alot on cny

secondly .. 1 yr old , they might not remember or understand (thats what i feel)..so my hb and i decided to save up and do a big party when she is two or three y/o

and finally the big big reason is cherish got stranger anxiety ..haha

smurfy

dun be sad. Maybe have a small celebration with immediate family member?

Maybe we can have a joint birthday gathering somewher in feb.

for smiley J i think will hold her birthday eariler on the weekend 16th Feb.. 21st would be only both grandparents and both our slibings and their partners.. anyway 15th of the CNY will surely go out lou hei!

Dunno what to do for her leh..on the 16th
Chalet a bit bored, hold it a home a bit messy,
humm still thinking of venue.

any suggestions?

I think if were to invite our relative is already like 30 - 40 pax easily :p then somemore friends? humm probably looking at 60 pax bah..

whaha feb BB birthday bash! haha
great idea.

but only when we succsfully have our chirstmas party 1st then we can plan for birthday bash!

wow u all toking abt 1 yr celebration... recently my hb also askin me abt it...

we plan to celebrate his 1 yr by having party with frens... not sure abt relatives but my parents will insist maybe. but for his sub yrs up to abt 5 or 6 yrs old, think will only celebrate by ourselves only...

I also dun wan chalet. but think the venue could be nearer my place better lo.

my gal bd oso falls on cny...i wanted to do small party with just immediate family and closed friends but i guess my mil would want to invited her relatives as well. i dun wan to do it at my place cos after that hv to do cleaning...Can't think of any place lei. i prefer somewhere kids friendly.

We will celebrate YX's 1st birthday at our JB house. It will be her bday celebration cum our house warming.
So looking forward and has started looking for dress for her to wear on the big day!

I dont know whether my PIL will do anything for my girl on her 1st. But I guess should be only dinner with imediate family members lor. They are not very keen on holding parties leh.

The 1st b-day party is actually my idea as for my girl's full month we didnt have a big celebration. We only had 2 tables for lunch. Then my mom did some celebration later for my girl (inconjunction with the 15th lunar year)

Definitely the party would not be in my place. As I dont want to clean up the mess afterwards. Should be holding it in a cafe. See how lah...

smurfy,
i was involve in training in beauty...keke

garfield,
thanks for info!!...the webby wrote fee is $85..wah piang...end up still haf to be near $200...costly!! going to do it monday morning... and then still haf to renew her work permit....dat one last time i did through agent...is there any cheaper ways ar??

you are one lucky gal le...i always buy lots from medical hall..including the xia sang ju i drink everyday..ekekek n all my panadols..

jello,

yah think cannot fit into the mail box..dats why gave the postcard type...coz my maid not at home also...usually the postman comes in the noon...keke...i TT the funds to you liao...!!...will go collect the parcel weekends hee!!

1st yr cele....i not so hung up about the bdae celebration le...coz kids so young haf no friends...they also dunno...end up the celebration is more like for "celebrating mummies who haf successfully endured the 1st year!!"...wakkakaka

over the past yrs for my daughter...we celebrate wif hubby's extended family...its also another great excuse for family gathering..i nvr need to prepare a single thing...the aunties will do all the prep...get pressies...and we juz bring the bb...sounds great..but not exactly la...coz abit meaningless...for me..

anyway, today decided to be more adventurous with Ryan's food. Prepared shepard's pie and chicken with broccoli, milk and cheese.

Looks and smells yummy... but the minced beef in the pie looks like his shit... haha

here is the sheperds's pie

1048777.jpg

oohhh... CNY on 7th Feb.. hhmmm then Ryan's bday not in time for CNY celebration...

was thinking of celebrating his 1st birthday at globetrotters actually...

when all our babies are older like 4-5, we have that pizza making birthday party at globetrotters okie? was there that day and saw a bunch of kids wearing the chef hat, kneading dough and making pizza... ssssoooooo cute!

then all our kids hv fun and we sit by the side to chit chat... hahaha

choc, wow I agree with sunsweet, wat thick hair he has... zz still can see his scalp.

fat_babe, ya lor. need to have the legal letter... i also dun know why cos the passport cost only $40. if go thru agency u have to pay > than 300! which is worse.
I heard work permit can be renewed by yrself thru Internet. no need thru agent...
mine sad story. my maid work permit expire nxt yr and the stupid agency never tell me work permit can only renew once it expire and not any other time. so I end up renewing my maid passport earlier but couldn't extend her work permit!!!
so nxt yr had to go to agancy to extend her work permit to another yr cos they owe me 1. they get my fee for extending her for 2 yrs...

ya when I was on confinement or preg, I get to eat the herbs and bird nest hahaha... foc so v lucky lor... or zz lucky maybe...

Talking about 1st birthday, BINGO! My boy's 1st birthday falls on the 1st day of CNY!!! Wow, so much visiting to do... guess I have to celebrate it earlier then... erm, guess I will also keep it simple, just close relatives and good friends to gather.

Sorry, I am very very chi-na when it comes to food for my boy... only know how to feed him with chinese food (porridge, brown rice, fish, chicken, veg and fruits. Most adventurous attempt is ABC pasta).
Can any mummies help to answer these silly questions of mine???

Lentils/legumes:
Where can I get lentils or legumes? Is legumes an umbrella term for the various types of lentils? Huskies gave me the link for lentils so I roughly know how it looks like now but where can I buy it? Market or supermarket?

Cheese:
What cheese do you girls buy for your little precious ones? As far as I know, cheese are normally processed and salty. So any specific details that I need to take note of when I purchase cheese for my boy?

Need your advice. Thanks.

Chocobabe, your boy's hair is real thick... He looks so matured
Did you shave his hair before? genetic? My Julian's also like zz, can see the scalp
Such a wonderful mum you are to be preparing yummy food for your little one
Wish I were your baby! hahahaha!

Mummy Zenn, think I havent 'chat' with you before. Wow, Noelle is such a sweetie pie
I like to have a girl like her but when it comes to No. 2, I would shake my head and say 'no, no, not now man... One is enough...'

Mummy zeen,
Heee, my baby can still fit into most of her 3-6mths clothes, and got one Fox one that is NB-3mths, she's still wearing leh!

milkie,
Yeah, texture very soft hor? It makes the soup stock very sweet too, maybe next time you can add it to make stock too

Where you go shopping today?!

GOG,
You can get the various lentils from the Organic Section at NTUC under the Origins green packaging brand. 1 pack is a few dollars, but can use for very long, cos lentils expands.
Yep, legumes is just a general term for any kind of beans that has a pod and seeds... so what we are eating are actually the seeds

smurfy
hehe..think all babis alike uh?
but mine if gag too much he'll refuse to eat le

milkshake
icic..think Cheerios quite popular hor cuz when i at cold storage only left all the flavours except the original!
i found the Nestle Cheerios with 4 types of whole grains in it, bought it but now think will hv it for myself lo
cuz scared his little tummy can't take it, got corn maize, wheat, oat, rice..

wah u so adventurous!
so fast give strawberries!
but sounds very yummy hor

heard that most berries are high allergen food, dun think i'll give him till he's after one

garfield,
Woah, you dad owns medical hall ah? So good!
My grandpa used to own one at Chinatown many years ago, but closed it down when the govt took back the shophouse... that's why I'm quite open to Chinese medicine.
I just brought Soph to a Chinese physician at Thomson... he took her pulse then straightaway can tell she's been coughing... and she didn't even cough a single time when she went into the room! My hubby jokingly says he's a quack though!

smurfy, stella,
Soph's BD will be on 2nd day of CNY... dunno how to celebrate?
I think stella's suggestion of a join birthday celebration is good

My friend told me the Dec mommies are holding a joint birthday bash for their babies too.
Heee, maybe we can do a similar one too?

Suggestions:
1. Hold it at someone's function room and split buffet costs
2. Hold it at some gym where the kids can have a gym day and play around too (this option could be a bit more exp., but can take it as a one-day gym trial?)