(2007/02) February

good evening mummies...

cherish zzz liao..so got time to post. i going to zzz soon cos she KO at 6.30pm. so i better get some rest in case she wakes up early

today bought her to metro expo sale..lots of bb items but i am not sure whether is cheap or not as compared. I used voucher,so din comapre prices. Got her a tricycle(very ks hor) and a potty, and some miscellaneous things..

a bit pissed off with the way metro holds its sale.. they have different promoters for diff brands, and so hebng, the promoter for the particular brand goes for lunch..and no one can help..so we have to wait till the promoter is back, then can buy..arrgghh

here is a pic of cherish in her tricycle( pardon me for the messy background and cherish "off shoulder "top:

1016753.jpg

gak,
I had a miscarriage before I had S... spotting during 1st trimester and then no more heartbeat by 10th week.
For S, I also had spotting around 5th week (after I cooked a meal!), so had to have complete bedrest and 2 jabs a week. Gynae says soemtimes carrying heavy pots of cooking stuff can be too taxing... I'm abit kiasu when it came to this pregnancy after the loss, so basically I listened to what the gynae said... just lie in bed and not move, not even to cook, so hubby tabao lunch and dinner for me everyday.

I go the the Organic4Less at Upper Thomson

milkie,
After reading so many baby recipe books, I find the Americans more conservative... eh, I think Super Baby Foods is American right? They don't introduce that many kinds of foods to babies so soon. Whereas the UK and European ones like Annabel Karmel, a Swiss one and a UK one I've read... they are more adventurous, and as long as the baby does not have a family history of allergies, they intro meats and exotic fruits/veges pretty soon.

Charis,
Haha, yeah, we're all GF converts

stella,
haha, Cherish's off-shoulder top is very sexy!

How much did you pay for this tricycle? The adult's handle...can it control and steer her front wheel?

Catz,
I cannot follow GF method since Day 1 leh, cos I didn't have enough milk even at 5th week... poor baby had to keep suckling just to get the supply in.
If got 2nd one, hope I'll have an abundance of milk then can do GF method right away

Haha, your comment about men is very direct hor? Cannot let hubby see it... else he may go on strike, won't do my spree collection for me!

milkie,
I just went to Mothersworks today - they no longer have stock for those "gates" you have, and they don't know when the stocks will come in

Got a Kammi for S though, but she seems to still prefer her thumb?

stella, your house is not messy lah!!! You should see mine!

huskie, GF got pumping schedule right? I think can roughly roughly do GF from day 1 but of course, let baby suckle as much as possible to let the milk come in. From experience, I found that it was easier to lactate for the second birth. Hee.. my husband has NOTHING to do with spree collections. It gets him upset and plus he's never got the time to do so anyway :p

I personally prefer SBF method 'cos of how they are quite particular about allergenic stuff.

susu, yah I think it means like you can use frozen corn/peas in a recipe e.g. chicken stew and then you can freeze the chicken stew.. but not to cook frozen peas then refreeze.. I think lah. that's why I asked how come you steam the frozen spinach cubes and refreeze lor.

So tired.. tomorrow got my nephew's 1st birthday party.. just finished wrapping presents. :p

Wondering if it's terribly unfair to have a combined birthday party for my 2 kiddos.. since their birthdays are not even 2 weeks apart and it would save us so much bother. My sis says it's not fair to Beth 'cos she didn't have a first month celebration either. Sighhhh..

milkshake
erm, this book izit easy to read?
cuz lazy & tired to read thick books with small wordings :p no time oso! haha..

think Super Baby Food book means that there might be contamination of the food cuz when food is frozen, it only stop the bacteria from being active but not kill bacteria..so afraid that once frozen food is thawed, the bacteria will multiply & if refreeze again to be used later might increase the amount of bacteria on the food to a dangerous level which might cause food poisoning..

stella
wah! cherish so clever know how to ride a tricycle liao!

so sexy wif the off shoulder top! hehe..

huskie
oic..then u better be very careful ya!
stay cheerful ya cuz now u've S!
cuz when i preggie though not so many probs but i oso worried this worried that lo!
i understand the feeling..
my gf once told me that it's all fate, cuz when she was 1st preggie, she was very careful not to carry heavy stuff, over-work, etc but she still suffer from miscarriage..on her 2nd preggie, she was 5 mths preggie when she slipped & fell as she rushed to closed her balcony doors as raining heavily. she was so worried but luckily everything was fine!
then when she was 7mths preggie, the chair she sat on gave way & she fell onto the floor! & again everything was fine..
guess it's all fated uh??

i go to the one @ Bukit Batok
actually they got quite a wide range of products hor & their staff oso very friendly & nice!

btw, the "gates" i saw @ Toy 'R' Us & Kiddy Palace too!
Toy 'R' Us didn't sate the price there (i find their pricing always very messy!) but saw the 2 panels extension selling @ abt $110..KP "gates" sell @ abt $169 & i oso saw similar like Haenim play yard at KP selling abt $110 for 4 panels
can go check out uh?
btw, i saw these @ Jurong Point

milkshake
these "gate" can be used as safety gates also rite??

remember i was saying that my son was waking up in the middle of the nites all cranky & fussy??
then suddenly stopped fro a couple of days?
i thought it's juz a phase but "scarlie" he started get cranky again last nite *haiz* gone my beauty sleep!!!
haha..this morning i found one of his upper front tooth slightly showing lo!!

guess it's really teething! but i didn't do anything to make him feel better lo
cuz day time he ok only during nite then he cranky le..

any mommies found a new tooth yet?

Catz,
Eh, I didn't have time to pump cos that time hubby travels alot, then was alone at home with a colicky baby who cries and needs to be soothed so often. Tried to go to my mum's place to stay, but at the 8th week, baby suddenly "realised" that's not her home, and refused to sleep from 9pm to 2am, so in the end had to go back to my place with baby!

Yeah, for pple with allergies like our family, better to play safe and stick to "safer" foods during the early years! That day went to my mum's place, then my sis was saying how "poor thing" Soph was, cos don't get to eat adult food, and say she'll feed my baby cheesecake... hmm... better not leave my baby alone with her!

She feeds her baby ALL kinds of adult foods and she doesn't even feed during meal times... she feeds in-between his mealtimes i.e. anytime when we adults are eating! *faintz*

Eh, Beth didn't have a first-month celebration? Then have separate birthday parties lah... so poor thing!!!
Let us know what you're planning! I'm at a total loss on how to celebrate her first birthday!

gak,
Yeah, I'm OK now, but just can't help worrying about the next pregnancy

Woah, your gf's situation so scary! Think I would have freaked out if I fell!

You saw the same gates? Maybe I'll check them out if I can get to KP Toa Payoh which is bigger than the one at J8. But I'm having 2nd thoughts, wondering if I really need it cos my place really has no space to put any more stuff!

good morning mommies

nice day uh?

my boy had been waking up so early nowadays!
last nite was fussy again due to teething *haiz*
this 24hrs a day 7days a week job's not easy with all the OTs! :p

huskie
yup! think i wld freak out too!
remember there was once i tot the baby not moving think i was abt 30wks or 34wks, so got myself admitted at KKH..nurse was telling me dunno how many wks then they'll inform Dr straight away i got admitted but mine was slightly behind so they didn't inform my Gynea
*phew* when in the hospital, he moved non-stop! gave me a scared, naughty boy!

u got check with Dr b4 if all ur preggie wld be the same??
vuz u successfully had S so think next preggie wld be more stable?

hehee..me oso thinking very hard cuz even this gate thingy wld take up some space
but if can convert into safety gate, think it's not bad lo!
i need to put my son somewhere so i can do my stuff like cook, go toilet, washing, etc when i'm alone with him lo..any good ideas?

gak
i gave plain tofu.. he ate very fast.. like sipping water

milkie...
if i got to knw the kammis earlier, i would sure have bought it then... :p... luckily n ow i think he is too old for that,or at least he have the smelly beansprout pillow. i dun wash it.. coz it is made of dried beansprouts leh?? but i do sun them once in a while.. and wash the pillow cover... oh i got the bega shredded cheese.. kraft cheese wedges (Read it is good for growing teeth, so i just guess good enough for bb at this stage lor?) and i have found babby yohgurt in my neiboughoohood cold storage.. so happy.. it's baby yolphait (spelling wrong, cannot remember)

catz
having one birthday celebrations save all the hassles... but u would want beth to remember this special moments righT? BUT whose birthday comes first?? if it is tim, then the same folks attending the parties would not be as "excited" as the first..

stella....
U HAD mentioned, Cherish looks like a boy? come, let me show u girly Qy.

huskie

the tricycle is 59 dollars.

gak,
no lah , i just put her for photo taking ..she cant even sit unassisted .

smurfy..

heehee QY looks like a gal in the first pic, partly becos of the clothes he is wearing. 2nd pic like boy.

he is slim but still got lotus root hands and legs

hello gals,

Its been a super long time since i login already.
Just read some postings but doubt i will ever be able to catch up.

Koh, sorry to hear about your children. Hope they get well soon. You are a strong mother...they will need your support I'm sure!

Regarding G development. He has two teeth from the bottom coming already...Hee...guess his gum is super itchy cos he will bite anything that comes to to him.

This morning he had a fall. Blamed my husband for puttign him to sleep beside him on the bed and scolded him like hell.

He was crying very hard and very long...it happen like 630am in the morning. think he fell and hit the right side of his head which was all red.

i just hope that he will get over it soon but will have to monitor for a few more days to see his behaviour.

any mummies has such experience?

smurfy, QY definitely looks more 'toddler' already.. like that lah, when they start crawling and walking, sure to lose some baby fats.

huskie, yah we had first month and a really big bash for timo's first birthday at the poolside of seletar country club. timo's born 4th jan and so his party would be first :p arrghhh... dilemma... thinking of prob doing a party at seletar again or my parents' place or somewhere else lah :p

starlite, poor G.. my son (toddler) had a fall today and cut his lip thanks to my husband not watching him properly just now. blood everywhere.. sigh..

actually B was really terrible on Fri night. She woke up 3 times!!! Yelling and screaming.. then realised she was severely constipated on Saturday. Gave her a suppository and she felt slightly better..she just did a huge soft poopy just now. We just got back from my nephew's 1st birthday party.. my poor girl is so traumatised 'cos so many people came up to carry her inspite of me telling them of her severe stranger anxiety. She is ULTRA freaked out still. Sighhh.. typical dingdong in-law behaviour. Grrrr.. shall not go into that.

huskie, yah poor you.. I totally understnad how it feels 'cos my hubby goes off for exercise or training for days at a stretch and it's me and the 2 kids. No break.. no time to pump so sometimes I tahan until the kids go to sleep then I pump out like 12oz of milk :p Now Beth is like Soph, prefers her own bed so she doesn't nap outside. Your sis is so scary! I would freak out if someone fed my kid rubbish... I never ever give kids anything (even if they're 5+) without first checking with their parents. Sekali got allergic reaction then how? Go into anaphylactic shock and then who suffers??? Yah so I get very upset when ppl offer my kids food. Read: IN-LAWS. Argghh.. yes, an afternoon with my PIL makes me very angsty indeedy :p

stella
but she look very steady le!

smurfy
QY really enjoys his baby bites!
dun worry ya babe, he still looks chubby ya!

can still "pinch" his cheeks :p

starlite
erm i'm one careless mom!
so far my boy had fallen twice during his bath (one bah Lu Ku & the other bleeding lips) *haiz*
& many times from the bed cuz he sleeps with us & he likes to flip all over lo, also twice bad enough to get bruises on his cheeks & the other was a little cuts on his head...
while he was learning to sit unassisted oso got knock his head b4 but no bruises ones

hmm..so far he seems ok le

Starlite,
My baby recently had a fall too... got a bit of blood at the back of her head. Called PD and she said to monitor for any of these 4 signs to bring to doc (she made me memorise them, so I guess it comes in useful here!)
1. Vomiting - must be constant vomiting e.g. a few times. Not the one-time milk vomit.
2. Sleepiness/Drowsiness - Listless and sleepy, does not wake up for her feeds
3. Constant crying - Cos there may be some blood clot in the head and it causes some headache/pain, so baby will cry constantly and for no reason
4. Fits - this is the most extreme of course, and she told me to monitor for a week

Catz,
Oh no, poor Timo! Did you bring him to doc? Need any stitches?
Hmm... Timo will be turning 3 yeah? hee, can buy a pinata for his birthday party... will be so fun to bash up a pinata for sweets
I saw them selling it at Spotlight today, maybe cos of Halloween.

Oh dear, Beth still constipated? Soph is not so bad anymore... sometimes she has nice watery poops, like yesterday when she pooped twice.
I've stopped Soph on cereals, cos I think it makes her constipation worse. The only cereal that doesn't give her bad constipation is Hip Organic Rice Cereal cos it's not iron fortified, but I've also stopped that cos I prefer to make porridge for her. You still giving Beth cereal? What brand?

Yeah man, not easy being a "single" mum when hubby is away, that's why hubby changed jobs so he doesn't have to travel anymore... but actually he also doesn't want to miss Soph's growing up years

Re. my nephew, yeah, my sis feeds him everything, and she just stuffs him with food round the clock, even those salty braised ducks that we adults eat and recently I saw her feed him half boiled egg... he's only coming 14 mths! He's quite poor thing also lah, always gets rashes on his face and phlegmy. I bought a bottle of Samubcol for him, hope that'll help strengthen his respiratory system

gak,
I checked with gynae about next pregnancy... he said probably high chance of spotting also lah, cos these 2 pregnancies also like that. But I'll pray and keep my fingers crossed - hopefully I'll get to enjoy a normal easy pregnancy next round

Eh, if I don't feel baby's kicks, I think I will also rush to gynae immediately!

For the gates, some of my friends use a playpen that they put in the living room and so can still see baby. I still haven't decided which method I'll go with!

As for tofu, I'll be introducing it to my baby this Tue - will be doing a Spinach & Fennel Tofu... hope she'll like it.

smurfy,
QY is still soooooooo chubby! Not slim lah... his hands and legs still look like a bit a Michelin baby

hey huskie, Timo's OK but his poor lip has an ulcer on it. And on top of that, he slipped and fell after his shower :p So he's got a bruised shin to boot. I think he's having a growth spurt 'cos toddlers usually get very clumsy when they grow. Sigghhhh...

Beth did a nice poopy but that's probably because of the glycerin. I will try to give her porridge from now on.. think cereals really cause very bad constipation 'cos of the iron-fortification. I give Beth only Healthy Times. I realise that the worst constipation was when she was taking Bellamy's and Heinz white rice cereals.

Er rgd your nephew, I think you give Sambucol also no use.. it's all the junk that he's being fed! He sounds like allergies that cause his rashes and phlegm lor. Talk to your sis??? I've sort of convinced my MIL already about allergies so she actually asks me for advice rgd my nephew.. but my FIL and the other relatives are just another thing altogether. ANGST!!!! :p Beth is still so upset from all the passing around during the birthday party.. she's so ultra scared.

Yeah I think I will do a proper birthday for Bethany lah.. not fair to her if I don't. I'll only do a combined party for their 2nd and 4th birthdays in '09

Catz,
Aiyoh, it's really not Timo's day today huh? Poor fellow!

Yep, I think other than the iron fortification, cereals are also dehydrated grains which probably doesn't absorb as much water even when we add water to it, that's why our more sensitive babies get constipated.

Hmm... I was hoping Sambucol will work leh, cos I do so want to bring Soph to my mum's place more often so they can play together (my mum looks after him during the day), but he falls sick quite often, and I don't want him to pass anything to Soph lah.
My sis won't listen to me... she won't even listen to my mum!
So the only thing I can do is keep an eye on her when she's carrying Soph!

Eh, you're shopping again in BPs!!!

huskie
hope ur next preggie will be a very smooth one!

my hubby was kinda like y i so kan cheong lo..cuz he deeply felt that the baby was alrite!
Juz that i was over reacting lo

wat's fennel??
me think shld be introducing to him next week too
but think will give him plain to try cuz been mixing all his new food so when i gave him individually, he gave the yuck face! all squeezed together!
so will try to give it to him plain at times lo..

i've got 2 playpens liao but both @ my mom's cuz she lives in mansionette.. *haiz*
later buy so many difficult to sell away le

stella
ehh u compare QY's eyebrows with Cherish... one soo feminine,, the other so manly... haiz.. :/

yesterday gave QY cheese.. and luckily he loves them.. kekeke

huskie ar..
yah. it is better with a change of job for the hb
can spend more time with sop

huskie

i got a cary first trimester also.. spotting intiailly.. went to 2 gynae and could not see water bag or foetues and found a cyst. bedrest for a week(horribble feeling) and no more spotting.. then one day i get down from co transport..and i bleed red..blood really flow down my thights, like those in tv drama. I was at mrt station. gynae also told me to prepare for the worst. But who knows can see waterbag. Then another eposide of bleeding again b4 i can see heartbeat.

thats y i named my gal cherish..cos it was not easy to bring her to this world

smurfy,
Which neighbourhood Cold Storage did you go to that sells Baby Yoplait? I went to Carrefour yesterday but didn't see it.

stella,
Wow, yours quite scary hor? Yep, bedrest is horrible! After the whole 1st trimester of bedrest, I couldn't even walk up a flights of stairs without panting! Sometimes really envy those with smooth pregnancies, like my mum and sis.

gak,
Fennel bulb looks like this: http://images.google.com.sg/imgres?imgurl=http://www.dkimages.com/discover/previews/769/215480.JPG&imgrefurl=http://www.dkimages.com/discover/Home/Food-and-Drink/Ingredients/Herbs-Spices-and-Flavourings/Herbs/Fennel/Fennel-32.html&h=358&w=426&sz=21&hl=en&start=1&um=1&tbnid=ZLuzVuD2t7SBvM:&tbnh=106&tbnw=126&prev=/images%3Fq%3Dfennel%2Bbulb%26svnum%3D10%26um%3D1%26hl%3Den%26sa%3DN
My recipe book says it's good for gassy babies and helps to calm their stomachs
I've introduced it to my baby before, and she's OK with it, that's why I'm mixing it with tofu and spinach.

hey gals,
I've got a silly question to ask:

- When you brush your baby's teeth at night, when do you brush them?
Cos my baby has a last 10pm feed, during which she will already be very sleep cos she's been sleeping from 7+ onwards.
So do I brush them after the 10pm feed?
Won't it wake her and piss her off?

huskie
fennels look kinda of like onions hor

hmmm..relieve gassy babies huh? that's good!
where can i find fennels??

erm..i seldom brush his teeth after his last feed, usually clean his gums & teeth during his bath times
but these few days he very cranky lo, dun let me clean his mouth..think cuz of his teething!
both upper tooth coming out at the same time!!

smurfy

oh yah..i din notice QY eyebrow until u mentioned..so fine and got shape.

one thing in common between the two of them is their receding hairline and fringe all towards the left

huskie,

i also din brush after her last feed.. scared wake her up

huskie,

thanks for your advice.

I will monitor for the next few days and see how. hopefully none of the symtoms shows up.

he was rather cranky yesterday. cried a few times while feeding.

stella
ehhh both of them r soo young, how can u say receding hairline..
abt the fringe hor.. i tried combing the hair downwards.. but no use? poor boy, got a defined hairline and parting sooo young hahaha

huskies
i got the yohgurt frm sengkang compasspoint cold storage

Long post here cos I haven't logged on since Friday.

huskie,
Hahaha. We are also thinking (constantly) of #3. But we're hesitant cos of my age, but we'd still really like to have another. So..... I don't know. Will leave it to the Lord to provide.
Don't worry so much lah. I also had a m/c between Sarah and Ben. So Ben is actually our 3rd child. Mine was a missed m/c, so no bleeding. My gynae said that there's no increase in risk after one or 2 m/c. It's just the body's way of ensuring that the baby is as normal as possible. God's will lah.
I certainly agree that men don't have as much stamina as women. My hb, after a full day out (from 10am, and back at around 10 pm) on Saturday, was already complaining at 4 pm, and dazed by 6 pm. Hahahaha. I still had to settle the kids after we came home! I always say he's "so lousy".

I use a playpen for Ben. Sarah also likes to go inside to play with didi.

What kind of tofu do you buy? From where?

gak,
Now that Ben is eating porridge, I use a mixture of fresh and frozen veges. Veges that cannot keep once cut, I have to steam and puree, or veges that need to be really crushed before eating. Eg: Pears, huai shan, peas or corn etc. Other veges, I usually use fresh. Carrots and sweet potato - I grate with a little grater before adding into the porridge. Spinach, I cut finely. I still like to keep some cubes for rush jobs, cos cutting and grating does take time. So I will still puree some stuff, but not as much as before.
His porridge is all mixed together. I prepare 2x a day. I don't blend the porridge. Just stir vigorously. His porridge is a mixture of white rice, unpolished red rice and millet, with a variety of veges and fish stock. I did the same with Sarah. She now eats everything very well, and nowadays, she wants her food all seperate!
Today I'm starting him on minced pork.

Your son's sprouting a new tooth? My boy also has little white spots showing at the ends of 2 big bulges on his upper gums. Probably why he woke up this morning at 5 am to cry.

Does any mummy prepare porridge just once a day and keep the extra lunch porridge til dinner? I find preparing 2x a day a waste of resources leh. But I'm afraid of contamination, so no choice.

Stella,
Cherish has a very intense look!
Want to fight, is it?

smurfy,
QY is not slim lah. Look at those thighs and those forearms! And that satisfied look on his face as he's chewing on the babybites.

Starlite,
Ben has fallen from the bed about 2 or 3x already. Just monitor that there is no vomitting, excessive sleepiness, and that he can be woken up from his nap as usual. Last week, he fell onto his lip and it swelled up and there was some bleeding on the inside of his upper lip! he also cries really hard and long after he falls.

Catz,
Wah, you really gave your Timo a big bash, hor? My Sarah has never really had a big b'day party, esp not one organised by us! My SIL likes parties, so we let her organise, at my MIL's place. We don't really want to have a party. Maybe when Sarah is 7, 14 and 21 YO, then we'll have a bigger party
. Celebrate some major milestones in her life. Same with Ben.

smurfy,
Thanks! Compasspoint not that far from my place... maybe I can get it there when I'm ready to intro cow's protein to Soph.
Heee, QY don't have receding hairline lah... think of it as a high forehead, very smart one leh!

gak,
I get the fennels from either Carrefour or any of the Cold Storage in town. NTUC won't sell fennels

For leftovers, I normally dump them into a vege chicken roast for dinner and use the "leafy" portion as a herb for my olive oil dressing... very yummy!

PVL,
Oh, so sorry if I brought back memories of your sad episode of m/c!
I'd also like to have 3 kids... haha, but hubby scared
Heee, there's a reason why women are chosen to give birth and not men!

Thanks for info on playpen! Maybe I'll borrow my sis' playpen first

For tofu, I buy Unicurd brand which has the organic range. They sell it in most NTUCs. Think JS mentioned before that the organic one uses natural hardening agent whereas the non-organic uses chemical kind.
I'll intro the soft tofu for the 1st day, then 2nd day will switch to hard one (tau kwa, also Unicurd brand) from then onwards. Cos for the same portion of 100mg, tau kwa has 100+mg of calcium whereas the soft tofu only has 30mg... more worth eating the tau kwa. Plus can train her chewing/gumming techniques.

For porridge, I also make twice a day cos kiasi too
But sometimes this lazy mommy gives her oats & millet & fruits for lunch, so I'll just make porridge once a day.
Where do you buy the unpolished red rice?

For birthday parties, 21 YO I understand. But why 7 and 14?

gak,
Aiyah, I just saw from your most recent posting that HT for skincare... not that expensive too... not as exp as California Baby!
Too bad I just joined a spree for some baby's toiletries, if not I'd have tombang your order!

porridge
for those who started on porridge, how u all prepare the ingredients for the porridge ar?? salad arr? 3-in-1 arr? or serve individually. anyone can name some easy to mix porridge recipes??

pvl
when u mentioned veges n fish stock, r u referin to just stock and no veges n fish?

tofu, i oso using unicurd organic tofu.. actually very nice to eat oso

huskie, u cook everydaY?????? how do u, PVL, catty cook everyday ???? when baby is napping, don't u girls take a break and rest???????? how do u girls have stamina to do everything???

Oh ya, yday i prepared couscous with chicken, zucchini and tomato. YR likes it.

wait ah...i got to go soon.....will check in later.

huskie,
Thanks for info on tofu and tau kwa. Will buy some to try soon.
No lah, not so sad anymore. It's the Lord's will mah. Our m/c baby was named "Sidney", and even Sarah knows about her/him. We were very blessed to conceive Ben 3 months after we lost Sidney

7 YO is when they start P school, so can invite friends. 14 YO is when they are in Sec sch, and are starting to become more independent. Can invite Sec sch friends. 7, 14, 21 equal gaps too. Hehehehe.

smurfy,
No, what I meant was that I put veges in. And also fish stock (at first, without the fish meat). After 3 days of fish stock no meat, then I put in the fish meat (also ngor her, ikan kurau). Veges are always given in the porridge.

Ben's porridge is all mixed up. I just throw in the veges (adequately sliced/grated), stock, meat and whatever else I want. Cook in crock pot for some time. Stir and stir, and voila! A nice soft porridge. No time for fancy arrangements.

milkshake,
I cook dinners on most Mondays, Tue, some Wednesdays, Thu & Fri. Lunch, I also sometimes cook some things simpler for Sarah & me. Sometimes we eat leftovers for lunch. How to find time to cook? Hmmmmm..... I prepare & cook when I can. Some days, the dinner is done by 3 pm! I don't wait til Ben is asleep to cook. Can't afford to. His naps are still unpredictable - sometimes 2 hours at a time, sometimes 45 mins. Can't tell. So if I have to prep food or cook and he's not asleep, he gets thrown into the playpen. Or at times, I might put his high chair in the kitchen and give him a toy or a toothiepeg to play with. Some dishes need to be served immediately, so in those cases, I prepare all the ingredients and when my hb comes home, then I cook that last dish. I do a meal plan before my grocery day, so I plan the dishes such that I don't have so many 'hands on' dishes to prepare. Eg : If I do a steamed fish dish, I might also boil a vege soup. Must plan in advance. I seldom cook those very labour-intensive dishes anymore.
Oh yes, sorry, no time to rest for me
. Still got to wash up the lunch dishes, do ironing, sweep or mop floor, tidy the house etc.

Hello...

Today me on leave, and hubby work from home. So we are at home wif YX. later might go to Ikea to get something.

huskie, motherwork no stocks for the gate oredi? Still thot of getting from GWC this afternoon.

Yday bot the Braun chopper and blender from Best Denki. Only cost S$59 something. Cheap?

Saturday we first time put the bumper playmat at our home and let YX crawl on it. Hei, first time her daddy and I witness her real crawl toward the gerber star biscuit in high speed! But she still wldn't crawl elsewhere...

Baby crying, talk to u gals later

jas
tat's the same price range for that model OF BRaun chopper/blender.. ehh can use that to chop chop ikan bilis???

pvl
kekeke QY shall start on vege porridge first... coz mummy n daddy never did marketing :p yah lor, i really dunno how u all manage.. dun u find urself tired out by the end of the day? with no time for urself?

jelly,
Yeah lor, Motherworks has no stock for milkie's gates. But they have another brand one - $199 though! And my hubby sys it looks like a prison! Metallic silver looking one.

smurfy,
Re vege in porridge, I'm like PVL, Soph eats whatever vege adults are having that day, so I just cut up a small portion and add them into her porridge in the last 10mins. If we're eating something she can't eat, then she'll get simple veges like carrots which can be stored in fridge. I also have some standby cubes for those "just-in-case" days

As for cooking porridge, I use my electric double boiler cos I'm too lazy to wash the sticky bottom in the mini crockpot. Using the double boiler is like steaming, so I only was a not-sticky bowl.
E.g. if she's eating dinner at 5pm, I'll put in a piece of meat at 2pm with water to double-boil. At 4pm, I'll take out the meat and add in the soaked rice, then cut up my veges and fish. At abt 445pm, I'll throw in fish and veges on top of the porridge, continue to steam till 5pm, then her porridge is ready. Veges are on top, so if I wanna separate and don't wanna mix in, also can.

milkie,
I also no longer do labour intensive dishes... just do those lazy one-pot dishes. Like today, it's just a simple roast chicken with veges and couscous with cranberries for dinner.
On other days, it'll be chicken stew, beef stew, steamed fish or the Korean soon dubu type of soup dish.
Very tired to cook even one-pot dish, but I don't like to eat most outside food leh... the MSG kills my hubby's throat and gives me rash.
The only place I like to eat now is HangSang Korean Restaurant at Square2

Tired also good lah. Like last night, I have no idea if Soph cried in the night, cos I just knocked out!

PVL,
Haha, at first I thought the 7,14, 21 YO thing is some major religious milestones!

I didn't name my baby... just called him/her Ironbaby, cos we could see she was really fighting to survive, but then her heartbeat got slower and slower. Ironbaby cos it's like those ironman triathletes... they have very slow heartbeats cos their hearts are so efficient. I actually asked the gynae that maybe my baby's heart is quite efficient that's why heartbeat so slow... then she just looked at me sadly and said there's no such thing! Anyway, I still have to do up a scrapbook for my Ironbaby, but still cannot bear the thought of taking out his/her scans to look.

Haha, my place is a BIG mess!

You fed Ben huai shan? He's OK with it? No eczema or rash yeah? I also wanna intro that to Soph.

huskie/pvl

but when u all add ur veges last, that means u had finely chopped the veges (using knife n chopper board) before adding it in right? no more puree-ing in blender first right?

i,is one unhealthy mummy, the family eats WHAT THE BABY eats..or the leftovers, (u know those caixin, kailan, spinach stalks?).. usually the adults will top up frm bb's organic veges with normal veges.. dun care, me extreme-ist.. if i want to do something, i sure sure i do it all the way, that include the way how bb;s food is prepared. :p

i oso wanna try huaishan and red dates porridge!!!

it's been a long time since preggnancy stage.. imagine just 10mths of pregnancy but now our bbs oredi 8mths old..

hi gals..
i looking for playpen with colourful surrounding walls..but cannot find.. i remember a mummy here has it coz i saw in one photo..anyone knows where i can get it?
i dun wan juz the fencing tingy..

my boy dun like tofu and wun eat if food is not fully pureed..need to get him to start eating abit lumpy semi-solids oso cannot..how ar..?

smurfy,
Yep, I dice veges into very small pieces then add in at last 10-15mins so veges will not be overcooked and lose their nutrients.
Then at serving time, I just roughly use a fork to press on it, cos this paranoid mummy is afraid baby is not used to the "sharp" corners of the diced veges (esp. the root vege).

Eh, actually eating what the baby eats is more healthy right? The stalks are also OK lah, got lots of fibre.
I've also been eating my baby's oat and millet leftovers... I think very healthy leh!

Yep, time passes so fast! Now I miss the times when baby was just newborn and making those babyish cries!

gak,
My baby is dipping half her face into the water!
I told my hubby about the blowing into baby's face method, but he doesn't like it.
So what we did was he just hold the baby and let the baby float, while I swim breaststroke without goggles and with my face dipping into the water.

When baby saw me do that, she started to dip her own face into the water (until the nosebridge area) and kick her legs and move her arms too.

pvl & huskie, before i got pregnant, i used to cook dinners for my husband and i (at least on weekdays) but then after that he travelled more and more out of the country, then i just didnt' bother to cook for myself. I prefer to eat really unhealthy foods outside. Now I still not into cooking. Only cooking baby's food lor..
pathetic hor.

but it's really very time consuming for me to cook. even then when i cooked for us, i would have to start preparing dinner after lunch. I'm not very good aT preparation stuff...so it takes me a long time to wash and cut it into the right size. then i still got to measure the condiments and put them in various little bowls or saucers. I cannot make it I know. I literally read the recipe book and do one step at a time. U can imagine all the things i have to wash up after that.

that's why whenever i read about u guys preparing dinner/lunches....i am always very impressed.

hihi ladies,

Beth is getting really active and demanding now.. so I barely hv time to post, apart from sprees and Bps...haha
She's getting really cheeky.. her new tricks are to do twinkle twinkle action and clapping her hands together. Very sweet.

Cooking - argh.. can only do it when I have a pair of helping hands if not the kids will get into all sorts of mischief and it's just not very safe for them to be anywhere near the kitchen.

PVL, you are simply amazing lah.. huskie, you also.. I just resort to jar food when I don't have time to cook... teehee..

Gotta go and pump now.. then sweep/mop floors and tidy house plus do another load of laundry. Exhausting!!

good morning gals:

re cooking :

i agree it is very tiring to cook + hsework + look after bb. Now i cut some slack , i dont cook on weekends, but i am guilty abt that.

My mum cook every day, i am sort of guilty towards her cos she practically got no rest time.

catz
kekeke Qy oso can do the twinkle twinke little stars / wave bubyee.. very sweet.. whenever we say "bubyee", he will start the moving the hand..

last nite i got a scare.. i was pumping milk, my mum brought QY into the bedcot.. then he held onto the rails and stand (first time).. and lean his body forward. i gave a scream.. luckily my mum held onto one of the legs.. otherwise... cannot imagine what will happen...

pvl..
it's me again :p.. when u say veges stock.. how long u prepare the stock? then what happen to the veges??throw away n use new veges for bb's food?

pvl!!
it's me again and again! ahaha this week i beri free in the evening time coz hb not in sg.. wanna drop by before i move out of punggol in dec? ;) hahha

smurfy, think can use the chopper for ikan bilis, since it is not really very hard stuff.

huskie, there is another kind? I dun like the metalic kind too. Too hard for baby?

Rachel, u are looking for playpen or playyard? Normally playpen just plain colour not colourful ones. I have 2 playpens, one from luckly baby (52 X 28 inches) and another bot from JB (48 X 28 inches).

Sunday we went to IMM and YX suddenly poo, in huge amount some more. so I quickly carry her to baby room. But saw a mother was feeding her baby from a bottle. a bit paisei lah as YX poo poo so smelly and the mother was feeding the baby. But bo pian, quickly put YX on the changing table and she refused and cried SOOOOO loudly!!! Worst is i can't find any toilet paper and the wipes i brought only left a few pieces. So I left YX crying on the changing table and ran to the lady to get toilet paper. Aiyoh, she poo until her romper also kena and so messy. Luckily my hubby came in in time. He happened to pass by as he went Best Denki to collect our stuff and heard a baby crying. He thot the baby cry is very familiar and recond the cry is from YX so come in to see. Luckily he came in and quickly help me to clean her up and change for her. Poor YX, cried throughout and in front of so many ppl (after we finished wif her then realise there is a long queue behind waiting to use the changing table).

Yday both hubby and I heard YX called "Ma ma" twice, while she was on the bed wanted me to carry. Was so happy but not sure she was indeed calling me or just making some noise similar to "ma".