(2007/02) February

u not very old right sophie's ma???? how old are u??? :p

oooh i love alcohol. my husband is super weak even though he's korean. he drinks like a little baby guppy. even now, i still take a bit of beer or white wine or champagne but i limit it to one glass.

hmmm i didn't know pigeon crackers had gluten. :p die lah...but anyway, i've already done the damage haven't i??? i'll just be more careful with citrus fruits and seafood cos my husband's allergic to the former and me allergic to the latter.

oooh i love alcohol. my husband is super weak even though he's korean. he drinks like a little baby guppy. even now, i still take a bit of beer or white wine or champagne but i limit it to one glass.

hmmm i didn't know pigeon crackers had gluten. :p die lah...but anyway, i've already done the damage haven't i??? i'll just be more careful with citrus fruits and seafood cos my husband's allergic to the former and me allergic to the latter.

Yaloh... Keep checking the BP but have not seen it started yet...

Ah ger, oops... I just stick on it without cleaning first. Hope not too late yet...

milkie, i insist to look after my bb myself though hubby initially suggest to let my MIL takes care of her in johor. Now daytime i will bring her to my aunt's place in pasir ris then after work i bring her back to look after her at nite.

smurfy, last nite i went Robinson at Raffles City and let my gal tried the jumperoo. She seems enjoying it and can sit and play inside for quite long herself while i look at baby stuff. But wldn't consider buying lah as guess wil only use for a short period of time only.

Ah ger, oops... I just stick on it without cleaning first. Hope not too late yet...

milkie, i insist to look after my bb myself though hubby initially suggest to let my MIL takes care of her in johor. Now daytime i will bring her to my aunt's place in pasir ris then after work i bring her back to look after her at nite.

smurfy, last nite i went Robinson at Raffles City and let my gal tried the jumperoo. She seems enjoying it and can sit and play inside for quite long herself while i look at baby stuff. But wldn't consider buying lah as guess wil only use for a short period of time only.

smurfy/ ah ger

cherish has been throwing temper long time ago. sometimes will hit my face repeatedly if she is angry with me. she is really very un ladylike. her fav activity is i hold her up and she uses her legs to kick football. biangz..

smurfy/ ah ger

cherish has been throwing temper long time ago. sometimes will hit my face repeatedly if she is angry with me. she is really very un ladylike. her fav activity is i hold her up and she uses her legs to kick football. biangz..

smurfy/ ah ger

gak, jelly,
Me no nutritionist, just an auntie who likes to lurk in the aisles of the supermarket and read labels!

jelly,
The Littlepods sling... isn't it the same type as the Lucky Baby? You find the Lucky Baby difficult to use?
I also bought a Lucky Baby one to use as hip carrier - so far have only brought Soph downstairs beginning yesterday. She seemed OK in it yesterday, but this morning abit fusyy in it. The Indo helpers saw me using it and taught/helped me with it

milkie,
Thanks for telling me how to work around Soph's nap, but I think this Fri cannot make it lah... must be consistent in sleep training, esp. in the beginning right?

Hey, I also like this shop called I Wanna Go Home at GWC... very nice stuff, but so precarious bringing babies in there

Eh, actually spree not so worth it... just realised the USD/SGD exchange rate is only 1.46-1.5 now.
For $9 cheaper than sales in SG, maybe the item will be damaged during shipment then laychey to exchange.

huskie, the lucky baby sling i bot a 2nd hand one(as new) from a mummy. It works ok when YX was still small in craddle position. But now seems too big and not as comfortable to carry her using the sling at belly-to-belly or hip carry. So getting a size S littlepod sling to try out.

huskie, saw the spree too. Is it really cheaper than here? Thot leappad system selling $70 plus in sg and the books $20 plus? If confirm cheaper than can consider.

jelly,
I thought LeapTouch selling for $99.90 in ToysRus? $70 was during Great SG Sales. I think can wait for sales hor?
Books I'm not sure though.

Oh, i bought my Lucky Baby sling second hand too... also BN cos the mummy had an extra one as gift. Mine is XS size, and even XS in hip carry, slightly loose. Soph hates cradle position since 2nd week, always preferred to be carried upright that's why I got XS for hip fit. Hope your littlepod one fits well!

garfield,
What kind of background you looking to add?
Your own picture as in like a watermark?
If watermark, just place your cursor at your photo on the left hand column where your photos are displayed, then right click and "Add photo as background".

If using Photobook's background, then on the right hand column, there's a "Background" tab, you can use that. But I think they currently don't have any nice backgrounds and no new designs to download too.

garfield, think hyskie has answered ur question. U can also drag the corner of the photo u want to use as background to enlarge the photo to the size u want. To enhance the effect, u can choose the % of transparency by right click the photo.

huskie, mine is a size s, so rather loose now. YX also never like cradle hold. The few times I use the sling on her in cradle hold position was when she fall asleep and the sling comes really handy. If i bot size xs at the beginning, maybe no need to buy another one now.
But this littlepod sling comes wif foot padding and a hanger to hang toys. The material looks more comfy too. Anyway, shall wait and see till i receive the actual sling.

thanks huskie and jelly... i will try...

i wan to add some pic background rather than the limited colour background they have... i was trying to add new background on the right column but it not allowing so ask u lor...

eh hoe to cook millet?

cook it like normal rice?
so to wash or not to wash?
or we add rice to cook together?

does it take long to cook? normally the rice will take abt 30 mins of boiling to be cooked.

can we add the veg and fish to it when its abt to cook? like we cook porridge with white rice.

nana,
OK lah, I'll try to make it. But best if not 'pedas' food for Sarah's sake.
Is it going to be a 'sling' demo session? I'll bring my hip-carrier. hehehehe

milkshake,
I don't know about babybel cheese. I know that they sometimes give that on the plane. I thought it's just a mini packaging, that's why they call it babybel?
Looks like YR has a mature tummy, so I'm sure she'll be Ok with any cheese.

garfield, think if the colour resolution of the photo not sharp enuf, they will not allow us to set as background using the "background" button. So wat i did is I drag the corner to enlarge the photo to the full page (or whichever size u want). Of cos the exclamation mark will appear. But to me the resolution for background not very clear is oklah. And I choose 50% transparency to create the blur kind of feel.

yes jelly, u r right...

i find the wording style also limited...

btw, i got a stupid q to ask... i doing the 30 by 30 book, the first page have two pgs, but i can only edit the right side... the left side is the back pg of book? then the dotted lines - images within this r printed?? cos i align them to the main line n dun wan my images to be crop...

garfield, the left side is the back of the cover of the book which is normally empty. for my 21X21 photobook, can also only do the right side for the first 2 pages. Eh, which dotted lines u are referring to?

jelly,

the dotted lines are smaller rectangles... they are found within the main frame. so i not sure if i shld confine my photos with the dotted rectangle or the main rectangle?? alemak... think i would have hard time doing this book... hehe y i itchy backside go n buy... now have to do... hahhaa

skinny_babe,
noted the change. Shd be 8 & up rite?

garfield, i think confine within the main rectangle. Why? U regret buying the voucher? I find doing the photobook satisfying lei...
But can only do when i have mood. Like now i still no mood to finish my 1st photobook. Hope in time for my hubby's bday one month down the road.

Jelly,

me no time to do like tat lor... then when i really find the time, I seem not satisfied w the way i create... prob i not creative enough!

sunsweet :p ya i was really surprised... i didn't expect it! cos the cramp i got was not terrible like last time. in fact i thot it becos of my diet... hahhaa

PVL, babybel is the brand of the cheese but the baby or kids version apparently supposed to be the one in orange packaging instead of the normal red one. I am also not very certain, that's why have not bought it for YR to try. but like u said la, YR's tummy quite hardy. So might be able to take it.

PVL, we not gonna be going to the nasi padang place on friday. We probably end up inside gwc where there is air conditioning. hee hee so i believe sarah will do fine there.

jello, i want to order gymboreeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

garfield, gong xi for having your period back. hee hee I didn't get cramps too when i first got it. Maybe giving birth helps hor?? hahahahaha

cherry, i agree that the pricing of Molecule getting ridiculous. That day wheni went there, i saw this L shape sofa (NOT leather) and it was going for 14k. Siao...with that type of money, i might as well go Mod Living and buy a proper so called 'branded' sofa when they having sale.

huskie, in that case, i guess u should not meet us if it is gonna disrupt sophie's nap. *sigh* Good luck man. I remember i had to practically stay home (even on weekends) when i was putting YR on the GF schedule for a whole month. But it is true that u have to be consistent. All the best...hee hee am sure sophie will get the hang of it very soon.

garfield is the photobook very difficult to do? aiyoh, i must get started soon.

milkshake, 14k!!!! my god, who is the designer? You are right, if I want to spend that kind of money i will go mod living or space, even lifestorey is better. Actually i am thinking of changing my decor. My current place coming 5 yrs soon, so feel like doing some minor renovation.

mummies, when do we have to fix grilles for the windows? When baby can walk??

huskie, were you staying in US for a while cos all my friends who are reading labels happened to be either americans or work/studied there.

I am wondering why I havent had my menses yet. I have stopped bfg for nearly 2 months. Should I see a gynae?

milkmilk,
hehehe... u forgot i m a nazi ahh...kekekeke... hiak hiak... *evil laughs*
think i wont be able to reach early also, cos my boy normally has his lunch ard 12 plus - 1plus... so most probably 2pm bah...

garfield,
great!! can get to see u then... ehh, u want me to bring along the milk powder?? u wld be driving there?? can lobang me?? hahaha...

huskie,
so sad cant get to see u.. nvr mind, there wld always be a next time... when ur sop sleep trained already, u can join us... ok??

pvl,
we wont be going the nasi padang place... wld be going this place "Say Cheesecake" that milkmilk recommends... so come & join us hor...

cherryale,
i was also shocked!! didnt even know i was having contractions that time leh... *shudders to think of it even now* glad that my boy is well though...

jelly,
u have such good memory!! i wish for a miracle for u also, so u can join us on fri!

smurfy,
no leh... that day morning i purposely went back to my parents' place in pasir ris as it was my bd... haiz...didnt even get to eat my bd cake in the end... got contractions but didnt know... till late evening got show liao...then panic!! called cab to go SGH... very drama hor...keke..

slimbabe,
rachel wants to join us har?? ok i put in her name...think maybe i wld go email & sms all those in the lunch list to confirm attendance... let me go dig out our contact list first...
u joining us boh??

<font color="D16587"> Fri 5 Oct Lunch gathering
2pm at Great World City [exact venue to be confirmed]
1. jelly (TBC)
2. milkshake
3. nana
4. sunsweet (TBC)
5. garfield
6. metobaby
7. pvl
8. cherryale (TBC)
9. graceofgod (TBC)
10. smurfy (TBC)
11. stella (TBC)
12. rachel</font>

garfield, i just downloaded the software for the photobook, then I gave up after doing the first page!! how many pages are there for the 30by30 book?? what did you put for first page?? I wanted to put ultrascan pics but then a bit funny right?? Should I put a newborn pic of A then follow by ultrascan pics?? aiyah, i think i v v not creative
think i do scrapbook easier, can buy a lot of the stuff to stick on the paper

does GWC has a scrapbook shop??

nana, i want to go this fri lei, but i wonder wat to tell my boss in order to take half day?? Must think of a reason..haha scarly they think i am going for I

okie, goodnite gals, i am going to Zzzz

hb havent called me yet, but not waiting for his call already, this is the first time I dun miss hb so much when he is overseas cos now I have a cuter boy
... Mag, I peifu you leh, hb not in singapore for so long and coping with 3 kids.

milkie, nana,
Yeah, so sad I cannot meet you guys... wanna see milkie's stylo carrier!
Next time!
Hope Soph will be "trained" soon - today she went to nap without much fuss, only yelled for 5mins for her late afternoon nap.

stella,
I touched Soph's bottom gum, nothing leh, but can feel the sharp edges on the top after giving her teething biscuits today!

cherry,
yep, I stayed in US for awhile, but even before that, I already liked to read and analyse labels!
Hey, don't give up your photobook! It's actually quite easy if you're not that fussy about the details... just drag and drop then look for nice pics as background.
What you can do is sort out your pictures and put aside those nice ones you want to put in photobook, in chronological manner... then after that it's just a matter of dragging and dropping into the layouts!
I'm putting in all my ultrascans

gak,
Yeah lor, after looking at exchange rate and weighing the possibility of item being damaged, I think I'd rather buy it in SG.

Sunsweet,
I haven't cooked my millet yet, so cannot advise you leh.
Maybe Saphira can advise?

My baby cookbook has a recipe that cooks it with fruits, but they use millet flakes, so I'm thinking of grinding my millet into flakes before cooking.

cherry, i didn't check to see who the designer for the sofa is but should be able to see it if u go to gwc anytime soon. Eh, think we have roughly same taste. Our wall clock is also from there. We also got our guestbed from there. Ummm I think SHOULD do a mini reno!!
I love changing furniture and stuff in the house. My husband hates it to the core. He says ever since he has been with me, his bank account getting lesser and lesser. :p

eh, regardin when to fix up the grills, i'm also not sure. Is it a MUST to fix it??? No other alternatives ah?

Have u gone for your pap smear??? If u haven't then might as well just go to gynae and have a pap smear and ask him about your menses?

nana, the more i learn about u, the scarier u get. *shivers*....tsk tsk tsk.. hee hee Friday I wanna take pic of the babies...hee hee

cherry, GWC has no scrapbook stores. Also not much things u can get for scrapbook there i think. For scrapbook stuff, I so far only been to the shop at taka n plaza sing. hee hee i also just started my scrapbook craze. So far i've completed a book of 10 pages all on YR.
I very smart, i put a lot of pop up stickers and all the scratch on thingies etc....:p:p Also smarter, i got my gf to help me do some of it too. :p :p

cherry, just say that u want to check on your maid and make sure everything is ok lah???

HUSKIE, i take pic of my carrier and show u okee??? hahahahah and it's not stylo at all lor..... Hey, i think it's a big achievement already...continue like that and by next week, i think soph will be well on her way to becoming a true blue GF baby...:p :p

susu, ur orders are noted. U want to give me alternative in case ur stuff oos?

Same for skinny_babe. Wanna give me alternative?

Smurfy, anything from gym?

I dun have much things to get also. Maybe just a few hair clips.

cherry, the photobook is quite easy to do once u are done wif the 1st page.
Dun give up k?

jello, but i don't have anythign more to get from there leh, i'll go recky recky again now...eh, have u received the money for my previous spree? if not, i'll just pass u a cheque this friday together with the money for this spree lah?

Need help in preparing millet? Basically my MIL told me to treat it like rice. Here's a guide:

To Make A Moist Millet:
(Optional step) - To toast the millet: Place a heavy-bottomed pot or large pan with a lid over high heat. Place 1 cup of millet into the pot and stir constantly until the millet starts popping and jumping around. Be sure the millet doesn't burn -- if it appears to be going down this road, simply remove the pot and lower the heat slightly, stirring constantly to cool.

If you'd like to skip the above optional step, simply add the rinsed and drained millet to the pot at the same time as the liquid.

Carefully add 3 cups boiling water or veggie stock and 1/2 teaspoon salt, or to taste. Return to a boil, then reduce the heat and cover the pot. Simmer until all the liquid has been absorbed, 20-25 minutes. Turn off heat and let stand, covered, for 5 minutes.

Makes 3 1/2 to 4 cups cooked millet

Need help in preparing millet? Basically my MIL told me to treat it like rice. Here's a guide:

Cleaning and Prepping Millet

Some people swear by toasting their millet before cooking as this brings out a deeper flavor. If you'd like to toast your millet first, there's no need to rinse. Simply add the millet to a dry pot or pan and stir constantly for 3-4 minutes until you catch the aroma of the delectable nutty fragrance.

You should be warned that if you choose not to toaste your millet, it's quite possible the outside of the grain will turn to mush before the insides cook enough to lose their crunch.

But if you'd like a lighter flavor, then no need to toast first -- simply rinse well and drain.

To Make A Moist Millet:
(Optional step) - To toast the millet: Place a heavy-bottomed pot or large pan with a lid over high heat. Place 1 cup of millet into the pot and stir constantly until the millet starts popping and jumping around. Be sure the millet doesn't burn -- if it appears to be going down this road, simply remove the pot and lower the heat slightly, stirring constantly to cool.

If you'd like to skip the above optional step, simply add the rinsed and drained millet to the pot at the same time as the liquid.

Carefully add 3 cups boiling water or veggie stock and 1/2 teaspoon salt, or to taste. Return to a boil, then reduce the heat and cover the pot. Simmer until all the liquid has been absorbed, 20-25 minutes. Turn off heat and let stand, covered, for 5 minutes.

Makes 3 1/2 to 4 cups cooked millet

susu... I think u have donated the money to someone else oredi... Why dun u call up ur bank to check?

smurfy, sure u got nothing to get from gym? Just find out can combine multiple gymbuck coupon into 1 purchase to save the shipping cost. Check ur email!

milkie,
OK, must take a pic with YR in it OK?

Saphira,
WOw, thanks a lot for the detailed instructions! I'll try it this weekend.
But if make 3 1/2 to 4 cups, how to finish? Did your MIL say if can freeze or not?

Hi hi!

i will try to bring my cam...

nana,
i can pick u but u must bear witt my screaming though when i get lost trying to reach the destination... abit drama hahahhaha... so dun be afraid kekeke

Cherry,
ya the photobk is not so ez for we two who is not so creative... hiaz... i thot i can do it v nicely but the output v ugly... think if i show hb sure laugh at me... so i better start now b4 the dateline reach n the effect will be worse.
I heard from a thread tat the brightness of the photo will be darker if u do on lcd. so if u doing on lcd, then u prob need to adjust it to brighter?

abt menses, prob can check with yr gynae? r u still latching or totally stop? me feel strange when it came as didn't get it since day 1 of preg... wow so foreign to me liao.

sap,

thxs for the info but me lazy mum... read n confuse... guess i just do plain porridge when he is 8 mth old.... this mid oct.