(2007/02) February

skinny babe, i back.... been bz... act i v guilty... all of u have found school for yr kids.... i still so behind... act this nearby playgroup is lack of ple la!!! hahahaha i choose becos maid can bring him. the rest is abit far. so now I not sure how...both of us working late so abit diff to choose a rgt school... i start work at 7 a.m so i can't bring him to school. n my hb no car... so hiaz... headache...

jelly, so u working towards sahm? sometimes i feel so tired but I need the $$

skinny babe, u finally saw mei. so u see how terror she can be rgt ;p all the best in yr delivery soon!

charis, u too!

me got to go out soon w kids...took leave.

catz, must enjoy couple time sometimes... dun feel guilty... hehe
i always feel i be the one who wun leave kids for a single moment but ended up hb is the one.keke

my ultra duper sticky cherish gotta start her child care soon.. initially enrolled her in 3 hr prog but there are some changes at home..so gotta put her in cc..i expect her to adjust v slowly so i am prepared for lots of crying..

fat babe,

cherish also not v vocal..in fact i hardly hear her voice when she is outside. even if she wants to get something,she will only hint hint abit. I love kids who are outspoken and daring. But i guess it is their nature bah, diff kids diff character

jas
yes..still bfing.. EQ only 4.5mths old now..

talking abt couple time.. Hb oomplianing that i am neglecting him.. but but... cannot help it leh..:p gonna make up for it with A CHRistmas buffet lunchie..

stella/fat babe
funny thing that QY's more vocal..i am not complaining.. more happy abt that.. as u oredi know.. me those quiet type.. always loses out in certain areas.. so i am sooooooo sooooo glad that QY's vocal.. can speaks complete sentences well (in cheenaaaaaaaa) .always beaming inside when i hear compliements from strangers abt his spoken chinese..

oh talking abt that... his english vocab is a sad case though.. very limited.. only know.. "papa is bah sai... papa is crying".. things like that -_-' and he sounds so much like my maid..

lil sop and lil ah-xi going to same school.. different branches..

catz
sooo the kids does not loses seeing lesser of u right? coz their nap oredi 1-3hrs..

Catz..I see..so its almost an hour travel..plus kids nap..by then u r back..not too bad lah.
Yes we thought of a name..but would like the element of surprise..don't want to confirm until baby's born..hehe.

Babe..How come yr csect area is painful? Did u inform gynae? Or does it hurt only when u have BH/contractions?

Smurfy

exactly..i feel that quiet kids lose out alot..thats y i like out spoken kids.cherish arh..only v vocal within the family esp when she argue with me.

her english also very limited and she only talks to me in english.

Nice to see so many post here. I'm still in Perth, been here for the last 4 weeks and still got 1 more week to go, then back to work

Hubby still have about 2-3 months here before he finishes his training here in Perth.

Ryan and Sarah is getting along fine, except Ryan is rough to her sometimes, but he also loves his sister alot.

Ryan is also "repeating" his Pre-Nursery in the Church Kindy. The school principal kindly enrolled him when he was 2.5 yrs old. He likes the school and the school bus.

He speaks in full sentenses and in perfect tenses. I have no idea where he picked that from actually. His vocab also very cheam one... But his chinese seriously sucks. Only know afew rhymes, that's about it. So I guess Cherish and QY is the other way round, good in Chinese, which is good.

He can also count pretty well. He can count items if they are less than 20. His school teacher commented his numeracy skills are ahead of his 3 years+ peers. Maybe cos i was teaching Maths when i was expecting him.. hehe.

But he seriously needs to work on his social skills. He does not open up easily and is wary of his surroundings.

Sarah is coming to 9 months. Time really flies.

Happy delivery to Fatbabe and Charis

3398378.jpg

chocbabe, the pic so cute! S is so happy...

well zz is also good in English but not Chinese. he is v ang moh lor. he refuse to tok in chinese. n when people tok to him in chinese, he look strangly at them lo

act it my fault lo. I always tok to him in English naturally.

garfield,
you start work at 7 and end at 7...piang eh!! dats v long hours!!...mei mei is not a terror la...eh..when i was there so cute noe..they were both at the door..then ZZ waved at me and say hello..then your maid came out..hahaha..

stella,
give cherish sometime...you may be suprise dat she can adapt...tyra was a crybb too...end up she only cried after half a day in cc...and after dat..it was smooth sailing..

smurfy,
QY is vocal good le..language can brush up later one la...hmmm not sure if its of comfort to you...but the only language i spoke before 5 yr old was only hokkien...i went to my kindergarten speaking hokkien...: lao shi, wa ai pang jio....my teacher nearly fainted....but i managed to pick up relatively well in my languages later!...

charis,
i also dunno le...suspect its the pants or undie cutting into the scar la...if i dun wear pants..wear dress think the pain not dat obvious...will try to tahan another 6 days to go..

chocbabe,
your kids are lovely!!sarah is v v chubby and smiley!! how you manage to feed her so well?!?!?!

chocbabe, wow, your kids are sooooo happy. Perth is doing them a lot of good
Actually I know that Ryan is a v intelligent boy. In terms of his reasoning, he's ahead of his peers.

Aiyah as for the chinese language thing, *sigh* Timothy and Bethany also fail fail fail.. so anyway I've enrolled Timo in chinese enrichment on Saturday mornings and at some point in the next year or so, I guess Bethany will have to follow. Whenever I spoke to the chinese language centre regarding Timothy (during this Dec hol programme), alamak, I think i only understand about 70% of what the teacher says to me. MOTHER FAIL CHINESE :p

Smurfy, it's not too late to make QY speak like you and not like the maid. Just read him lots of stories when you have time.

skinny babe, aiyoh, painful c sect scar sounds scary!!!!! Mine is so horrendous. Even the brazilian waxing lady was like errrks!? Haha. EDM ah, OK next time I jio. why you so pai seh? End up I ordered like a week after I posted cos my friends all taking their time to choose colors :p So next time, just email me lah!

Charis, ooh anticipating the unveiling of your princess' name!

garfield, good leh, your hubby. My hubby is more pragmatic too I guess.. he says it's OK to leave them once in a while, but I just find it hard to let go since I've been their main caregiver since birth.

fatbabe

i am crossing my fingers regarding cherish going to cc...now whenever i walk pass the cc , i will tell her she will be going in by herself..keep drilling her..i hope she gets the picture.

chocbabe,

sarah and ryan are so cute!! And Ryan is a little genius, his abilities are way above average since he is young. I guess it could be becos u r teaching maths when u r expecting him.. I am in accounting line and conicidentally, cherish is also very sensitive towards money at this age.

Fat_babe,
Sarah is a baby who refuses to eat any baby food. I've tried to prepare everthing for her, puree, porridge and all, but she doesn't like. She only eats adult food. She eats rice everyday at 8 months. She has eaten Pizza, Pide, Churros, etc... sigh.. I know i shouldn't give her, but i really have no choice, cos she doesn;t want to eat anything else.

Fatbabe..Will pray for a safe delivery for u!

Catz..Yes soon..we are excited..but I havent washed the baby's clothes and pack my hospital bag..been so busy..haha.
Starting early Jan, I have to buy groceries and start cooking in bulk for the confinement period..cos my MIL wont be doing the cooking..and I'm not sure if anyone from church is free to help this time.

Chocbabe..Ryan seems to be doing really well!
Sarah sounds like one cute baby..have not heard of lil' baby eating pizza..haha! But can be easier for u too..cos no need to prep purees etc..But go easy on the salty foods..cos of their young kidneys. Maybe u could select healthier options like soupy noodles/macaroni and steam fish/veg rice.

skinny babe, 2 more days to go!

ya everytime there ple at the lift, they will come out (act G started it) hurriedly and smile at the ple lor... haha my neighbour 1 day ask my maid if they sleeping cos never come out n greet her... *faint...

they r like the alarm bell... haaa

catz, i also same as u. my chinese not so good. but I can converse in chinese w my hb mostly... but during chinese lessons, i struggle w the chinese words... arghhh n when teacher say something i try to rem. but most time forgotten n dun know how to tell zz. then one daddy ask me, i told him i also dun rem... hahahaha then we ask teacher... we become the students too...

oh well, i the type who care alot for my kids but i can leave them to go for short trips. cos i felt i need my own space too n when they grow up, they will have their own space. dun get too attached or else nxt time they have their own life, u feel miserable. wat i feel is dun neglect other aspect of yr life.

fat babe
have a safe delivery~!~!

QY starting school on 6th Jan.. i am starting to feel scared, scared,scared... coz i've done poorly in parenting.. so scared that he will not be able to blend in the structured env (all the while, he's given the freedom to do whatever he wants, no restriction most of the time)

smurfy, i thot he has attended school already? only wkends?

this sat i be going to one school nearby... hopefully all ok and he will also start school in Jan...

hello girls!
Have been busy with 2 kids... not much time to post... only enough time to surf and buy stuff from BP :p

Have a very merry Xmas!

fatbabe,
Have a smooth C-sect and quick recovery!

Charis,
Hope your VBAC will be successful!

* Wave * Wave*

Hi hi, how's everyone??? So sad that I cant post as often with my current job, miss 'talking' to all of you!!!

Wish all of you have a merry Xmas and happy 2010!!!

fatbabe/Charis, wish you have smooth delivery
))

hi gals.... so everyone had a good time partying?

I now looking forward to new yr liao haaa... another long wkend.

it been raining these days... hope weather better nxt few days.

catz so good ... now in HK ....

Yes looks like everyone's busy holidaying, having gatherings or jus relaxing at home!

babe..Congrats!! So happy for u..hope u and baby r doing well..and will be discharging very soon!

GOG..How r u and kiddos?

Giggler..Thanks..counting down..should be 2-3 weeks time at least!

So many lovely pictures! Congrats to far_babe. Speedy recovery to u.

Have been busy taking care of kids and milking. Happy New Year to all!

skinny babe! another handsome boy! does he look like Tyler when he was born?

goin to be another long wkend... enjoy working mums... hehe as in the leave

updating on zz nursery. will enrol him most prob mid march cos Jan diff for me to take leave or urgent incase he fall sick. feb is CNY period! n early march might go for holi so best time to start w/o disruption is mid march... hope it not too late.

btw, any babies or toddlers behave like my G? she v noti ytd, dun wanna sleep n keep walking around my whole bed... told her several times not to go to the edge yet she challenge n purposely go there n look at me. I was v tired cos already in midst of sleep. end up I drag her to her pillow n lie down. n she HOWL

end up my hb save her.... is she too pampered? act I didn't really pamper her but i admit I do neglect her sometimes. think once zz start school, i got to let her start reading flash cards more often n others. she still doesn't talk. only bb lang.

garfield

cherish will also start sch ard march. Her CC will be ready only in Feb 2010. I think i will let her start on 1st week March, i will also be able to take leave and acc her for 1st 3 days. No lah,it wont be too late. They are only 3year old. Sometimes,i wonder whether they are too young to start schooling..ZZ will be in 3 hr nursery

Regarding G behaviour, I think she is testing her boundaries..cherish did that very often in my mum place and my mum always give in to her. End up my mum cannot control her. When cherish do things that i disapprove and then look at me, i purposely ignore her and she will stop all nonsenses. I dunno her character is good or bad, normally i do not need to shout/scold/beat/punish her, cos she will guai guai after one warning. My relationship with her also very weird, not too loving(as in showering toys or watsoever and not to neglecting)..haha

strange I thot i posted something but it didnt appear.

Smurfy, wanted to check with you if QY is going to Pats at lim ah pin. I heard from neighbours whose kids attended Pats that it does not really prepare sufficiently for Pri 1 as the focus was more learning from play compared to some kindergartens that are more academic. A teacher whom i spoke with at Pats also said that their students take about 3mths to adjust to Pri 1 curriculum when they start formal schooling. What do you think?

I want to switch A to a different school either next yr or the following yr. He has been with his current cc for 1 yr already.

anyone has feedback on MMI? There is one at Kovan, anyone checked it out recently?

Garfield, my meimei also hates to be restrained. She walks around the entire day, taking things etc. If we hold her down, she will also scream. She is very independent and daring. Probably that's why she could walk at 10mths while A only walked at 13mths.

cherry
yes, QY going to that school, tomorow is orientation or open house for him.. actually it depends on what u wanna for ur kids right? his school does alot of craft work... is tat what u refering to "learn frm play"?.. i like the fact that they have lots of craft work, so the creativity side of the kids are not lost, i oso like the fact that the kids frm that school speak better /speak up, that adds on to their confidence level, so with all these, i assume they would be able to blend into Pri 1 curriculum with not much difficulty, even if the school is not so much academic..

oh... i did a google on A's school last time... parents comments were that it's very academic.. that would meet ur requirements right? and MMI... errr it would depends very much on branches.. i always tot Montessori schools focus alot on self-learning (forgive me if i am not wrong), and oso not very academic inclined..

Smurfy, really? its v academic?? I only know that every Parent Teacher Meet, I was told that A's chinese is below average
I want a school that is more balanced, and of cos prepares the kid adequately for P1.

As for MMI, I really dun know, some said its good as it teaches independence, others dun really like. I have not visited a school to see for myself. Thought of gathering feedback to save myself some work

cherry
gotta go down to the branch urself and have a feel, ver different frm the comments u heard...

hey hey, i saw ur melaka pics...sooo funny... u brought the grandparents n maid along... just like me in the previous year.... so much more easier with the extra pair of hands hor?

garfield
ur studio loft pics very nice.. hey u r great leh... can do so much things with ur kids even though u r working long hours.. and i think mos of the time, u dun bring the maid out right?? good good for u....

smurfy, thanks for your advice, will prob go down one day to check it out. I have been delaying this for a long time.

melaka, am so glad that i brought maid along. Its the entire extended family with inlaws and bils/sil and nephew. With two kids, I really dun have the energy to run after them and it will be worst than staying at home. We are going Genting in Mar and HK in Apr, will be bringing maid along too

Babe..Congrats on the arrival of Tytus!! Handsome boy!

Garfield..Y is like that now lor..always "challenging" us..we say dont do that..he'll still do..
At this age, they are starting to assert their independence and they start to know what they want..so its a tough time for parents..
But stay "sane" haha..make sure you assert your authority too..
Some things are a NO..especially dangerous stuff..playing with scissors etc..
But some things can give them choices..like if they want to have "milk or juice" or "watch a video or play".

Cherry..In general MM programs tend to be more hands-on, practical, self-learning..less worksheets..I would say judging by experience, they have excellent programs for math and phonics..but I have parents complained that bcos they have less emphasis on peer learning and worksheets, the kids are less prepared for P1.

charissssssssssssssss
i am soo stressed over QY going to school
...he's throwing tantrums when not given his ways during orientation yesterday.. and keeps on 'mama here, mama there, every second he saw that i had disappeared".. his teacher is very experienced type.. keep telling me we got to work together and stuffs like that.. and it's adding more stress to me..

pvl
serene is zenn which i got to know in another thread- punggol mummies.. met her during a punggol christmas bbq.. first or 2nd time she is joining us.

fat babe
congrats on the safe delivery of Tytus ~!~!~ enjoy ur ML... kekeke if u needs the contact of breast massage malay lady.. sms me.. mdm rokiah.. very popular in this forum.. goes to ur house to remove clogged ducts for u.

Hello mummies! HAPPY NEW YEAR in advance

Long time no contribution from me in this thread cos either coping with 2 kids at home or like Huskie, BPing

With no.2 ard i often feel i have neglected no.1... I might miss out running thru her worksheets/ activity books daily.. cos i can only do them on alternate days.. and I'm trying hard to keep to that.

also for no.2 i wanted to start flashcard which i did not manage to intro to no1 when she's this young..

I feel that I've not enough time for them not to say myself.. feeling drained... experienced mummies of 2 or more kids.. how u manage it all??

I'm thinking how to cut down on travelling time to work (45 mins per trip) or how i cam better make use of this 45mins on the stupid train ride.. most of the time i only manage to catch sleep which I deprived of recently cos #2 is teething so she wakes up at night wanting to feed.

SMurfy..SO ytd was jus his 1st day right?
He'll be ok..give him sometime..kids take anytime between 3 days to 3 months to fully adjust to school!
U can make it easier by gradually reducing the time u stay with him..Maybe start with 1 hr, then 30 min, then just 15min, finally 5 min..
Remember to say "Bye, I'll be back to fetch you later"..rather than "disappearing".
Most will cry but usually only for awhile..after that they'll join in the activities..anyway its the school's responsibility to keep an eye on the kids..so don't be so stress ok.

hi ladies, happy new yr!

while writing this, poor G is throwing another tantrum... hiaz... i think she is testing her luck with her screams. thxs gals for yr feedback. last nite zz sleep as per normal but G slept around 1 a.m!! cos I have frens over for a mini gathering n countdown so she also join in?? she v alert... dunno y...

stella, zz has enrol in cherie hearts nxt mid of march. when he enter school, he immed wan to hug liao. only after a while, then he get down after watching mei mei walking around happily... guess he still rem previous ordeal? hopefully noe, he more able to accept. everyday I been telling how good to meet frens n teachers n school.

smurfy, thxs! well I trying my best to bond w kids esp w the long hrs. yes, I bring them out myself w/o helper. dun wanna them too close to her. this march, will be 2nd overseas trip w them w/o helper... this time longer n hope I survive!

charis, normally if I tell zz not to do the thing, he listen but not G. she more stubborn or defial? guess every kid is diff, can't compare. cos G is more sharing n more friendly.

sunsweet, i m guilty of not showing book n flashcard to G... I noe then realise n hope I can give her more... noe she see them she either close book or crumpled the cards ...

sunsweet,
My personal take on Kumon is nothing but drilling... dun like it personally.

So when it comes to thinking questions in higher level in future, they might have problems with that. O levels is now very different from the time we took it already. Used to be do alot of ten year series sure get A, but now alot more thinking questions. To score distinction, doing TYS not enough anymore.

Hi ladies..

This thread a lil' quiet..

Garfield..G is younger rite..so she still learning to understand..anyway most kids seem to go thru the "terrible twos" stage..haha.

Sunsweet..Agree with chocbabe..a lot of drilling..
But some kids enjoy Kumon style esp those who are math "genius"..more for speed and accuracy.

I think we'll have 1st month and Y's bday party together.

Morning, me headache with small S' 1st yr bday 2 weeks later now. Big S' bday will wait... hehehe...

Cherryale/PVL, how's your kids' 1st bday?

Hi Gig, hey u are finally back! Just celebrated Ashley's first birthday. Tiring as we had many guests. And she has enough toys to last for the entire year! Havent seen the photos yet, should be able to get them this week.

How's life with 3 kiddos??

Hihi ladies,

Giggler, omg, small S already 1 year old?! How time flies!

cherryale, wah and Ashley is already 1?! Aiyah I tell you I'm feeling ollllld. Hehe.

My HK pix are on my FB.. too lazy to resize 'em here. HK for 8 days was gooooood. I hate rushed holidays. 2-3 days tak shiok. Anyway next up I need to book short *sigh* second honeymoon for me and hubby. At first he gungho wanna go for 7 nights.. then now he says cut it to 2 nights. :p Misses the kids toooooo much!

Hope all the kids are doing well in school! Bethany is a typical second child.. very independent so she's enjoying school immensely.

Catz, wow 8 days is shiok shiok loh. with the kiddos right? Pls dun talk about age here..ahem, i think you are one of the younger ones already.

agree that second child are generally more independent. Ashley is also very typical of that. Walks around the house, plays on her own.

hi gals, ya G makes fren easily unlike zz, very dao so hopefully he likes school... i believe he will cry for some time based on his character...

smurfy,is qy in half day or full day? How is he taking it so far?

garfield, since zz goes to LNT, does it prepare him for school, like mixing with friends?

I am wondering if Ashton will like a new environment if i pull him out of his current school.

Hiya ladies, Josh celebrating his 3yr old BD on 31Jan (sun)1pm at my new place at Loyang.
Would like to invite u gals n kiddos.
Let me know if you can make it please..PM me ok... Time for the 07 kiddos to meetup again.

PS: Who wanna take up golf lesson at NSRCC? Can form a group so fee can be cheaper.

rachel