(2007/02) February

sunsweet, at home sometimes we will just have roasted seaweed as a side dish and hub n i eat it with plain rice in it. U can do it at home too mah. YR loves it too, probably cos the seaweed is a bit salty mah.

i don like cold noodles leh. My hub loves it. I prefer bibim naeng myun (spicy dry noodles). Do u eat it with the mustard in it?

Giggs, what did u have at manna yday?? now u make me gian for korean food.

babe, oh ya hor...u very smart....zara the checkered dress can wear as a top in future. oh well...maybe tomorrow i go check and see if still got YR's size not.hee hee U buy what size for tyra????

saphira, ur full bowl is how big??? porridge is mostly water leh....so i won't consider porridge very filling. U never try minced meat? maybe she can take it u never know.

I started giving YR rice at 1 year cos she really just didn't like the texture of porridge (even if i made it super thick and gluey).

I personally think it's normal for their tummies to be round lor. YR's stomach gets bigger and bigger as the day progresses.....but by morning, she's normally flat again......

eh, ask u mummies who are going or had gone thru 2nd preg

when ur ard 20weeks...can see the babies move abt one ah??? i see my tummy changing shape everytime toori moves....so scary looking......

smurfy, u very cute leh...of cos YR will chew on the rice lah then swallow. U think rice so easy to swallow on its own meh?? hee hee

i give her one spoonful each time together with the liao lah. usually she can finish a bowl (those ikea feeding bowl) of rice with the liao. if not enuff, then i will supplement with bottled foods lor....or biscuits or rice crackers.....

Thanks milkie,
Think i will have to increase her meals a bit. I give her minced meat too and thick porriage. The bowl is our rice bowl

sorry smurf, actually it's more than 1 ikea bowl....cos the bowl i use to feed her is a bigger bowl...paisei..her rice is probably our chinese bowl type of bowl...then maybe another chinese bowl is for her liao.

milkie
kekkeek coz i never try rice before mah... i scared he dunno what to do with the rice.. let me try tis evening at home when the hb is ard.. (at least anything happens, the hb can take immediate action :p).. ur rice consistency the same as for adults?... oh yes, i can see lil bumps appearing as early as ard then.. yes i knw what u mean by scary... next time u see the fast changing movement waves is even more scary.

saph!!! rice bowl not enuff lah i think. give more lah...why u don want her to eat more if she can eat? i dont' think babies will overfeed ba unless they have some kinda eating disorders. U worried she grow fat is it?? hee hee

smurf, if u tryignout 1st time, u just try slowly hor...give him a few grains to try try...then if he seems to be ok with it, then can try more lah....but make sure he chews hor...not just swallow

hmmm maybe u try asking him to chew?? hee hee he will chew on his meats right if u give him meat???? what type of meat size u giving to him now? as in still on minced or progressed to bigger pieces of meats???

i tellu hor...YR not the best eaters ard lor. I know of this jap girl...she's about a year older than YR and she eats a LOT. she eats almost an adult portion now. she can eat a full bowl of rice and still want more rice....but she's really skinny.

YR is one lucky girl.. eat wat the mum's eating.. QY is one poor poor boy.. most of the time eating porridge and the mummy is still persistent not to give him even fries when he was literally begging his auntie... :ppPp.

Want to share some good news. My daughter is using almost 0 diapers or training pants -including night time. Me and my hubby made this chart. very helpful
1580382.jpg

sap
u r another one that is doing a very good job. so what else can lil xf remembers besides the bb einstein flashcards? the chart is very colorful and nice, u do it urself? and how on earth u capture that photo of lil XF? ohh u went back to work oredi?.. dot dot dot. i sort of let QY develop at his own paceeeeeeee now... and this boy is getting more playful with each passing day. hope it's just a phase

saph....one full bowl of rice...one bowl of maybe egg tofu, thinly sliced meats/minced meats, veges very limited now...she only takes carrots and corns....pathetic lor. so have to smuggle pureed veges inside those cream soups that i make for her.

smurfy, sorry hor...i don eat prawn tempura...she eats her own dish and i eat my own. I don't share food with her normally cos i cannot stand the food that she eats most of the time.

saphhhh ...i really don know how i will ever start to toilet train YR lor......she not ready at all. Even with diaper full of shit...she can still play as if nothing is happening.....

smurfy

cherish can take ard 3/4 bowl of chinese bowl rice..but she takes longer time to eat compared to porriage.. my mum add brown rice with white rice..

saphhira

wow..xinfaye is off diaper..v impressive

ha ha. This chart is very effective. If i stop using more accidents will happen. If I use it she will even tell me before she pees or poo by leading me to the toilet. She is now using the toilet bowl.

smurfy,
not working yet. waiting for reply hopefully by this week. As for the post we were saying "firefly fly, fly!" She picked up the action from us. Pic was taken beginning of May. As for food, I am also very strict about it. No outside food at all.

sap
u made the stars urself? issit the thin paper or heavier weight paper. wow lao, i think if i do the star thingie hor, QY will be happily pulling down all the stars.

stella
brown n white rice can mix ar? but brown rice harder to digest in the rice form righttttt

smurfy

eh...all along she has been taking mixture of white and brown rice..i guess she is used to it already

smurfy, i still prepare separate for YR if i'm cooking dinner...cos her dinner is at 4plus and mine is at 7pm....so can't cook together. if we are out, we also buy her a separate portion of food cos i don like sharing with her....

SAPhira....u are damn amazing lor....u and PVl all belong to a diff category of humans. *kowtow*

smurfy,
I cut out from wrapping papers and stick on a layer of art block to make it thicker. I stick the chart on the wall where she can reach. can just see. I would let her pick her choice of stars and hold her up to stick the stars.

milkie,
no lah . i don't know much. I try to read up to learn more
Have to go now.

have to go now. will share more on potty training soon.

milkie...

there was 2-3 yr and a 3-4 yr...and 11-12 yrs....i bought the 3-4 year for tyra...usually i buy size 5-6..but dat piece can stretch...so not dat bad...

tyler & yoori can shake hands when it comes to feasting....haha...even if he finish his portion of food...he will walk around & steals tyra's food...

eh luckily you remind..i almost forgot about the 5-in-1...only rem MMR...

saphira,

the chart!!! good job siah...!!..when i see lil toddlers without diapers...impressed siah...i wun start training tyler till he's 2+..keke..lazy la..

stella,

cherish is good weight oso...dat time you somemore worry she very small size...

Wow, so many posts. No time to respond to everything, but I have to respond to Saphira..... WAH!!!! Toilet trained already! I haven't really attempted with Ben yet, except his poo is now reliably in the toilet. But pee..... dunno if I have the energy to do it at this point in time. But you inspire me! I must try. Your stars are really quite good! I don't think Ben will say anything if he wants to do it. He'll probably just pee everywhere like an untrained dog. I remember the times with Sarah and cleaning up the sticky messes. Right now..... too tired.

smurfy, agree with u,A will prob tear down the stars if I have the chart

Sap, good job! Also agree that PVL and you are in a totally different category from lazy mums like me

smurfy, every night if we have dinner at mil's house, A will come over and we will feed him table food like rice, tofu, fish, minced meat, egg etc whatever that we think he can eat. He only has top molars so cant chew as well but suffficient to get all these stuff down almost immediately
As for unhealthy food, actually i play cheat sometimes, like the other day I was at macs alone with A after his class, I was munching on fries, nuggets and drink. initially A was playing with the new toy that I bought for him (i thot that will occupy him while I eat) but after a while he started to ask to share my food, so I gave him a little bit of fries actually to be exact its just 1 stick but I cut them into small pieces and that was his quota. I think since most days he eat healthy food, once in a while eating junk should be fine. Of cos I cant do this in front of hb cos he will not have any quota once he knows this is permissible. Luckily A still dun know how to tell others that mummy fed him fries

smurfy, now u got me a little tempted with the table/chair thing but problem is I got no space to put this. But like the idea to have proper place to do activities etc, good habit to have.

Maid - I have exactly the same thot as u last night. I will wait till #2 is able to go to half day cc when she turns two year old, then I will not have a lived in maid. Will have part-time helper to clean house couple of times a week instead. But this means it will only happen in 2011..and after my current maid leaves in Oct 2009, I will still need to get a new one.

cherryale

boys height shot up during puberty age..so u no need to worry

as for junk food,cherish is taking wat we eat..but i try not to eat titbits in front of her..but when she is at my grandma pl, v difficult to control cos the kids and eldery will keep feeding her

saphira...

my husband was so excited when I told him about xinfaye.... then he gave Ryan 2 months to be toilet trained... haha....

please do share how you do it when u have time ;)

Gig, Milk, Cherry..Thank u for all the congrats..The promo comes with a pay raise which I am so thankful for..cos we wont be so tight on monthly expenses now.

Milkshake, Huskie..Hehe..OK I'll check out the restaurant..
Milk where can I find korean grocers? I want to get rice cake! Then I'll check out net on the recipe yohoo!

Saphira..Hey well done good job on Xinfaye!
Does she understand the star chart system..like a reward system?

I tried to toilet-train Yael..he seems ready but I'm just too forgetful to bring him to toilet at intervals..haha.

Charis, its always good to have some surplus every month for little celebrations or savings
Glad for u!

stella, I am hoping that since fil is not tall, but all 3 sons are at least 1.78m with bil at 1.82m, A will follow their side rather than me. I am so short, if A follows my genes then ...poor thing.

Mummies, anyone tried clothes at Maternity Exchange before? I tried last time when pregnant with A but its too big, seems like now they have japanese labels, so may be better. Any reviews??

you know yesterday I replied to Gig that my MS has subsided, guess what happened this morning?? I puke the moment I woke up and it was non-stop for a good 10mins. Think I better shut up and not talk about ms anymore

gd morning!

Catz - wat class is that at United Sq? $150 for 8 sessions, tats cheap.. can provide me w/ more info pls????

Saph - CONGRATS! hw did u do at w/ ur gal? hw do u toilet train her? I wanna try tat out on A leh... bt he's simply too notti... aiyoh, yest climed onto the sofa & then jumped down onto the flr. Bcos we hv a mattres on the the flr, it wasn't painful & he repeated the same thing again.... jumped a few times on the sofa then hop down. *faint*

Then he lured his dad to hold his hands, when he grabbed hold of him, he quickly "flew" down!

Cherry, hw tall is Cherish? Hw cme u say u r afraid tat Ash is gng to be short than her? A is I think 80cm??? I dunno, haven nt measured him for quite awhile already...

chocobabeeeeeeeee
any good news for us?? i was all burpy n lil nauseous last week till now and i tot is pregnancy symptoms.. but now... haiz haiz...i think my period coming oredi... sianz..
.. why issit so easy to strike when u r not preparing for one... and so hard when u r hoping for one..

cherryale
go go.. go n get the table/chair for A. the 2nd pic i posted right? the set can be folded up when not in use leh.. (but they have a silly hole in the center of the table)

I found this!

<u><font color="aa00aa">Tips on toilet training</font></u>

<font color="ff6000">Most children are ready to begin toilet training between the ages of 18 and 24 months. However the best indication that your child is ready to be toilet trained is when he shows an interest in using the toilet or when he shows irritation at wearing diapers or being wet. For all toddlers, it is best to aim first for staying dry during the daytime. Staying dry at night will usually come later.

Here are some tried and tested tips for daytime toilet training.

* Take the cue to start training from your child and resist the urge to compare notes with other parents. Children are ready for toilet training at different times and it does not mean that your child is not developing quickly enough just because he would still prefer to use diapers!

* Avoid beginning toilet training when your child is adjusting to another change in his life. Starting a new school, getting used to a new carer, having a new baby in the house...all of these events can be stressful for your child and therefore it is best to wait until your child feels in settled with his new situation before starting toilet training.

* Once you start daytime toilet training, schedule in frequent trips to the bathroom. You can't force your child to "produce", but you can encourage him to practise. Have your child sit on the toilet or potty for 2 to 4 minutes every hour or so. Schedule these sittings close to times your child usually has a bowel movement or urination, such as just after a meal, snack or nap. After 2-4 minutes, if he still hasn't "performed", leave it and try again a little later.

* If your child protests strongly when you suggest s/he return to the toilet, don't nag or insist. Such resistance may mean that it is not the right time to start training.

* Involve your child in getting dressed/ undressed.Let your child practise the action of lowering and raising his underwear so that he well prepared in an emergency.

* Let your child learn from you and others. Children are great imitators and if they see you or their brother or sister using the toilet, they are more likely to want to copy.

* Role play the toilet raining process using a stuffed toy. By being involved in imaginative play and acting out toilet training with the stuffed toy, the child will become more familiar with toileting routines and will feel more in control of this new situation.

* Praise your child for trying, even if you don't get the results you hoped for, and NEVER scold him if he has a little accident as this could set him back several weeks or even months.

* Prevent the toilet door from closing or locking and thus frightening a child by putting a towel over the top of the bathroom door.

* Respect your child's feelings and privacy. Toilet training focuses on the most personal and private parts of your child's body so proceed in a dignified respectful manner.

* Decide which words you are going to use with the toilet training process and how you are going to describe body parts, urine and bowel movements. Avoid using negative words like "dirty," "naughty," or "smelly" to describe waste products. These negative terms can make your child feel ashamed and self-conscious. Treat urination and bowel movements in a simple, matter-of-fact manner.

* Seize toilet training as an opportunity to look at a good book! Just as some adults enjoy reading materials while sitting on the toilet, a toddler's favorite book can help the minutes quickly pass.

* Last but not least, make toilet training light-hearted and fun. Like any new skill, it takes perserverence and time.</font>

smurfy...
hehe... i hope i am, but dunno yet leh.. not due to test yet but I haven't stopped bleeding since ovulation... hope it's nothing serious... but i still can't wait to test on Monday... haha

nvm... there's always next month

Toilet training...
can i ask for boys, how they learn to pee ah? sitting in the potty or stand up and teach them to hold their dick?

Hello mummies...

So many postings, so hard to catch up...

Back to office yday and today but busy with auditors, before continue meeting in town tomorrow.

Was in real bad luck recently. 1) Slipped and fell on my back at my parents' house last sat while carrying ah-xi out from bathroom; 2) Tuesday minor accident involving 4 cars (mine was 3rd car). Luckily i braked in time so didn't knock to the car in front. But the car behind me knocked to my car. The driver at the back and myself thot nothing serious, so he drove off which i sooooo regret (as i did not even take down his car plate number). The bumper at the left comes out and my car boot cannot be closed properly. Hubby said most likely have to change the whole bumper liao.
; 3) Fell down on my knees yday morning while carrying ah-xi to the car park.

Haiz... guess gotta go temple to pray pray liao...

Sap, i am always so impressed on how advance Xinfaye is in many ways! Like on the flashcards and now u amazed us in toilet training Xinfaye! Good job on u and Xinfaye!!!

Yday hubby came back from Tokyo. He bot a video cam and many gifts for ah-xi but only a small box of chocolate poky for me. So sad rite??? He told me not to feel sad as he oredi knows wat to buy for me oredi. But he didn't tell me wat. Mmmnnn...

smurfy, yes, i will stay put with this job, and i have not sorted out the caretaker for #2 and childcare for ah-xi.

huskie and babe, will ask my hubby to post out ur items tomorrow.

Ah ger

thanks for the tips.. cherish always want to take off the diaper..dunno ready or not..maybe i can try.

cherish is abt 80cm tall also.

since A is so active, i think he will like gym class. i like it when cherish is tired out after her gym class..haha