(2007/02) February

smurfy, i am keen to send A for swimming cos he is afraid for water. You think its a good idea??

btw, last night MIL announced to me and hb the moment we walked into the house that sil is pregnant. So i asked sil how many weeks pregnant, but she doesnt know cos she hasnt seen gynae yet, she thinks its 4 weeks. So we estimated her EDD prob 1mth+ after mine. Then u guess wat my mil said??? quickly call the CL that I booked to do for my sil. Aiyoh, she is so so so scared that sil will ask her to do confinement. Who on earth book CL before even seeing gynae and at 4 weeks????

cherryale

quoted from SATC movie.. "i have become what i am today, because of u"... that's why women after marriage age faster and becomes more naggy... all men's fault!

cherryale.
i think it's better u bring A to ur condo pool and get him get used to playing with water. i want to send QY swimming coz he loves water but i got no pool...

garfield

he drink with this buddy a few times liao..but dont noe y this time round drunk..alamak..anyway so long he is safe, i just move on.

smurfy, but A cries each time i bring him to the pool. I think i need professional help. I thnk he has water phobia like me. It took me many many many years to learn how to swim and after spending a lot of money learning from many instructors. Even now, I am not a confident swimmer.

and on that quote, i cant imagine how I will be like when the kids start to scream and run around next time, maybe will be like those aunties, screaming and running after their kids???

cherry,
Haha, your MIL is so funny! No EDD how to book CL?

Charis, Catz,
I agree on the part on budgeting. Not easy on a single income, but I also find that it's worth it

PVL,
Congrats on Sarah learning breaststroke.
At what age did you enrol her for swim class?
She's 4 yrs old now yeah?

Jelly..Hehe I also thought I cannot be a good mother..I sort of complacent at times..I mayb passionate about my ideals etc..but I have my "lousy lazy" days too..But as long as u got the "heart", u can do it!
Your aunty is a good nanny agree right? But mother is still best agree right?..after all they are only babies/toddlers once.

Ah ger..Hahaha..$2.5 k is enough for us I guess..cos my hb decided ages ago..no car for us until he earns 4-5k a month..hmm dont know when will tat be..haha..but I thank GOD he's very prudent..I learn from him lah..if not Im the spend a lot kind..hahaha!

jelly,
I met a very interesting taxi-driver yesterday.
He spoke very good and almost "posh" English, so I asked him if he had always driven taxi.
He said he used to be a Regional Sales Manager and travelled a lot, but then got retrenched and decided to take on a job which doesn't require him to travel, so now he drives taxi, does property and insurance.

He said it does make a difference whether the parents are with the kids when they are growing up.... that kids esp. in Pri and Sec school, do not tell parents much things, but when things get bad and it evolves into a quarrel, his kids tell him things like "You're never around when I needed you". So he said it helps to have at least a parent who stays at home to look after them.

Not telling you or your hubby to switch to a cabby job of course
, but I believe if you really decide to be a SAHM, you can do as good a job as your aunty!
I am still fumbling around sometimes, but we all learn and get better

huskie, nowadays v diff to teach children as they get older... did u watch the 9 p.m show on channel 8? zoe teenage daughter scold her for not knowing wat she wans, but only do wat zoe thinks is rgt...

wow for a moment, i keep thinkin if zz nxt time tell me like tat, i also dunno how to answer...

cherry, yr mil quite kua zhang... ya lor haven't seen gynae wanna book CL liao? hehe later CL ask her when deliver she also dun know... keke

btw, this CL also not gan jiong 1... tat time i book when i in 2nd tri i think... she say i v early... actually by then some CL already fully booked u know.

garfield,
Oh dear, if Soph ever say that to me, I also won't know how to respond!

Hmm... how come your CL not kan chiong one? My friend's CL is very good... and pple actually book her when they are in 1st trimester, so she's normally fully booked 9mths ahead.

Morning mummies...

Charis and huskie, thanks for your encouragement!!! Am still considering it, seriously... I think the ones who will object me to quit my job are my parents. Haha... They may think all their efforts in sending me to Uni will go to drain. Haha... Also need to consider the financial impact of me quitting, as we have 2 houses, 1 car and 2 kids to support. We also give monthly allowances to both side of parents. Wldn't want to cut the allowances becos of me quitting. Strugglin struggling now... haiz...

Charis, ur hubby very good in managing ur financials, very rare for guys as young as him. When i first met my hubby 5 years ago, he is a low wage auditor in JB, so low until he has long o/s credit card bill rolling every month. I cldn't stand it, so helped him to pay off all the o/s. Soon he got another job as an analyst in a petrochemical company in JB, and later on came to sg to work. Gradually landed on his current position as head of the finance of the group. Looking back, I can't help but marvel at how much things have changed over the past 5 years. We have overcome a lot of hardships together. Though we are not very rich now, but we are pretty comfortable.

Smurfy, our ON stuff is not here yet. Dunno why this time takes so long for vpost to send to me. Hopefully will receive by today. Keep u informed again when get our loots.

morning to all........

Charis - it's gd to b prudent. We had to get a car cos we dun stay w/ our parents + me no SAHM, hence car has to be taken into consideration, to bring A to & fro daily frm BP to Jurong. B4 we had A, we had no prob in $$... even if I m to stay @ hme for awhile, I dun really hv to bother much abt finances... the most save lesser only bt still can save. Bt nt now... everything is $$. Our fix commitments to insr, car & our mums already coming to 3k... hw to survive? we already dun spend alot like extensive shopping all the time.... Haiz.. $ is nv enuff. Just when I got more income, hb ORDs & our finance goes down again.

I also agree w/ Jelly, I wouldn't cu their expense jus bcos I m out of job. Tats wat mum proposed to me when she knew hb was ORDing soon... bt i told her, dun worry...... we can handle it....it's jus hw we manage our funds...the most A gets lesser savings for now lor...

I would v much like to bring A to the pool.. everytime he sees swimming pool, or somebody by the pool, he will stare at tat direction, longing to hv a share... bt he can't go near water, nt so advisable... till he gets 5. So..... can only play in his bathtub lor...

Cherry - ur MIL v ks leh......... book CL so early???

garfield - I also cut his things in smaller pcs then i try to hold his hand & poke the food w/ the fork. Sometimes he allows, sometimes he doesn't. I've learnt tat. I will just do it once or twice w/ him, then I let him do it himself thereafter.... so far so gd. Nwadays when we go Mac... we will cut his hotcakes & the omelette & give him a fork & self-feed. of cos v often he'll 4get & tend to do it w/ his fingers... bt we will just need to try it slowly. He pokes his own papaya & eat also... he only concern is harder fruits.

yday i went to my aunt's house earlier and saw how she fed my gal apple. She actually scrap the apple using a spoon until the apple like mashed then feed my gal. I told her i gave her in cube form but she scared she will choke. I dun quite like it lei since ah-xi got teeth oredi, can give her bigger piece to let her chew/bite mah... Somehow i think my aunt too protective when taking care of ah-xi...

jelly

I m doing tat for A currently also. it's softer texture, nt so hard. it's rougher than mashed bt chewable.

Hb tot we shld nt risk it also.

Tare was one time... I din tell hb.... A wanted to eat my hor fun... so I scooped up & gave him. Was already quite short bt i guess he din know hw to bite it, & he swallowed thru... like the way a snake swallows it's prey.

Then hor, really scared me to death u know, cos he got choked, eyes rolled anti-clockwise.. then tears started to come out. Aiyoh... frm then onwards, I cut it even shorter... cos mum told me, they still dunno hw to ctrl by biting into smaller pcs then swallow. They think it's just like porridge can gulp down. So now when I feed him hor fun again, I make sure all cut into thinner slices bt ok to give in bigger spoonful.

jelly,

i think older folks are like that loh..

like my MIL also scrape apples and bananas and insisted porridge to be marsh up..

but comes to weekend I give her apple/ pear cubes, also more textured porridge..

I wished i could give her rice but sat MIL have lunch with us so cannot.. keke

Anyway all i close both eyes liao.. just have Lil J adapt to 2 different "pattern" loh.. :p

sunsweet - we also give A rice @ times.... porridge, MIL & mum already doesn't cook the porridge until nua nua already.... so long as it's soft enuff to eat, he eats it.

I guess sometimes it's nt bcos they feel they cannot take, bt afriad that their digestive system is still nt fully adaptable yet.

Long time ago, I fed A w/ fishballs.. tiny pcs... he ate them all... bt he couldn't digest. End up when we rch hme, he threw eveything out. So there was quite a while when we din feed him fishballs....

ah ger, i encountered before when i let ah-xi bite on a banana. Somehow she bit too big the piece, until almost chocked. But that was quite awhile ago. Nowadays even she bite bigger piece, she will still chew before swallow. My gal is those very careful type, even my aunt said so.

sometimes, I guess when we need ppl's help in taking care of our children, we can't chap too much... if nt ppl will say "u so clever, u cme & take care urself lor." Jus open/ close 1 eye, & do wat u deem right & appropriate when u r taking care of ur child can liao...

sunsweet, ah-xi is taking rice all rite. In fact, she loves rice. But we only gave her bits of rice from our bowl when we eat. For her formal meal, she still eats porridge. Weekends when i cook or at my PIL or parent's house, we gave her normal porridge, not those mashed type. But i saw the porridge my aunt gave, still mashed type lei. Headache how to tell her...

jelly

i stopped scrapping fruits for cherish after 8 or 9 mths. partly becos she got alot of teeth and also becos i want to train her chewing skills.. now she will hold one apple and bite.

i give her anything from noodles(cut to smaller pcs and let her self feed via hands) to meat.

elders they prefer to scrap/mesh and feed becos easier and less messy

stella, A no teeth.. just a few.. so hw to hold an apple & bite leh..........

when outside, we let A self-feed...@ hme we try to feed him, so tat he wun mess the entire plc.

jelly, caregivers might scare they choke our kids so maybe they dun dare to give them more solid food lor.

zz also love rice. yesterday when i eating my dinner, he came to me n say "rice rice" and i give him eat he so happy... so contented.

wow stella, zz cannot hold the whole apple n eat... hahah like ah ger A, he bo geh 1...

he will attempt though n i guess the scene is hillarious cos once he find it diff, he will growl.

since it's Fri, everybody seems like no mood to work.. wanna c some pics?????????? Bt I'll remv shortly after tat... w/in the 15mins timeframe

Wow.... So many pics.... So cute!!! Ah ger, the little gal is ur niece ya? She knows how to pose. Haha... Eh, how come ur A was crying at the last series of photos?

A is SO CUTE!!!
the way he play wif laptop reminds me of tyler oso..muahahha

...ah ger..who's the lil girl?? your niece ar?? pretty le...they look alike wor..all fair fair one...

Ger, A is very cute. Your niece also very cute. They seem to have a lot of fun together
I like the photo where your niece hug A and both have tutu in their mouths. So nice to have more than 1 kid at home.

jelly, your hb is really fortunate to have you. To think u didnt 'look down' on him when he was in a lowly paid job and paid the bills for him. I think he must really appreciate all that you have been through with him.

Actually money stuff is not very impt to me, got more money then I will buy more things, so if got lesser money or when I become SAHM, then just got to manage from there. But my hb thinks otherwise, he said he will feel very stressed if he is the only one working and the entire burden -house, kids, car fall on him. Actually he never realise that even now the house and car are fully funded by him, i dun pay a single cent. For A's stuff, I pay for his toys and clothes but really these are not the impt things and are areas that we can cut if I am not working. But I do pay maid's salary and he pays the levy so may have to do without maid if I quit my job.

aiyah u all cme in so late.. end up my pics hor, nw cannot remv leh.. I've PM Chin leng to remv them for me... hopefully she does..

jelly, I dunno hw cme A cried... i found these pics in my SD card... guess my sis took them...

yeah tats my niece.

fat_babe, my niece is tanner than A.

maybe i should start counting how much money I have and whether I can take a 1 yr break from work after #2. Cos if not I will have to send A to full day childcare and I am not sure if A will be happy with this arrangement.

For those who are more well-versed in financial planning, if we are not working, how much must be set aside (in terms of equivalent of monthly salary) in order to have enough for 1 yr of not working? Got such formula to share?

cherry,

there are many "equations" for dat...

but i think to set aside for 1 yr of not working...you need 18 months X monthly expenditure to be safe and of course if possible...3-6 months of your current pay is for "emergency liquidity"

babe... need so much saving ya if one not working... See even myself a professional accountant, but come to my personal account, it's kinda messy...

Currently hubby every month will transfer majority of his pay to me and i settle the rest. For his pay alone currently still enuf to settle our monthly expenses and left wif some saving, but need to cater for increase expenses if we gg to send our #1 to full day childcare (esp if u want to send to a good one) and #2. Hopefully hub will have good increment end of this year then stronger reason for me to quit and be a sahm. Ha...

cherry... when we knew each other, i was an auditor myself too. Just that i based in sg and he in jb, so his pay is relatively much lower than mine. But now his is higher than mine liao. Haha... feng shui lun liu zuan.

babe, monthly expenditure means my normal spending on monthly basis right? So must include everyting that I pay for right? maybe can use my credit card bills as a gauge on this. I also dun know what is my mthly expenditure. I think i am really really bad with finance.

jelly, good that his pay is higher than yours now but I am sure he will appreciate the 'hard times' u been thru with him. I think these are the things that men will remember although they may not say it. Last time my hb always say he dun mind if I earn more than him but guess when that happens, its a different kind of feeling all together.

my hb is someone whom I find it hard to plan for these financial things together. If I ask him how much does he save, he will say whatever he doesnt spend is his savings loh. what kind of answer is this??

cherry... even myself i also find hard to answer ur question. haha... Whatever excess i have, i will transfer to my designated account meant for ah-xi. Sometimes i am in shortage, will draw out from that account and top up later. I dunno whether he appreciate or not, but i can sense my PIL do. They treat me extra nice. Actually they are nice to all their SILs.

Btw, i have a 10% discount code for Gap (Gap onl) for my next purchase. Anyone knows whether it is transferrable??? Anyone interested??? Let me know ya...

cherry, for me, hw I save up is I will do up a savings plan... every mth - wat r fixed, wat r variable.... then A's savings is considered fix expenses bt amt is variable... bt nt say tis mth $100, nx mth $50 lah... bt is flexible for me to decide hw much I shld put in bt every mth is a MUST to put in.

when u work, food & tpt + some shopping are to b taken into consideration. However if u do not work, then food & tpt could be lesser, bt then marketing cost may go up cos u will tend to hv more home meals. Shopping is then gradually reduced or maybe none... cos u dun need to hv new clothes every nw & then mah.. since u dun hv to work.. & u c nobody except urself, the kids. Ha ha ha... sounds like yellow face woman.

Fix items such as - car, home bills like SP internet & scv, insr, kids' savings incl their exps & a small amt to save up, parents' allowance, additional savings for rainy days, groceries. Though I do not specifically do marketing once a wk or once a mth bt I do set aside an amt - say $100 per mth on marketing. So all these are factored in. Every cent counts...

every household has their own way of calculation.... so c wats ur exps, savings & etc, then u can plan & decide if u can do wat u want.

So happy!!! I just received my 3 photobooks. They are soooo efficient. I submited all three orders on Tuesday, and today receive oredi. So pleased with the books.

jelly, waaah your story very romantic leh.. Your hubby really owes you a lot!
The Gap code, depends... is it in a mailer form or is it specifically for your a/c?

cherry, aiyah I'm sure you can actually go it on 1 salary. Actually ever since we got married, we only spent my hubby's income.. my income was used for savings lor. But now... ahhahaa... hard to save. Sometimes our monthly savings plan is blown to bits once there are any huge medical bills. But actually I am the sort of person who cannot close one eye when it comes to other ppl taking care of my kids, so bopian, I'll just have to be happy and a broke SAHM for the time being. Whatever it is, no regrets that I'm the one seeing all their firsts instead of somebody else.

Ah Ger, hehe.. A and his cousin look very happy. Agreed they look similar 'cos both so fair-skinned! Er.. she's how old? Still sucking pacifier?

Marsden - I have stopped due to Timo's repeated bouts of flu but yeah they are good.. just that they are all angmoh angmoh hor..

Catz, my niece is coming 3yrs old.. yeah.. she's used to sucking pacifier.... it's ok lah.. let her b lor.. ultimately 1 day she will kick off the habit. I used to suck pacifier until quite an old age also. LOL........

Aiyoh, they arh, look happy when nt fighting lah... bt i guess being 2gether after such a long time does make a diff. Like on Mon if she sees him, she will call "didi" then cme & hug him. Then like tat day when she went to clinic, she was playing w/ toys, she will say bring back for didi to play. ha ha ha.. bt my sis told her they belonged to Dr's, cannot bring back.\

My niece is nt fair skin, tan.. much tanner than A.

Ah Ger, i sucked pacifier until i was 2 years old and my parents pretended to throw it out of the car.. that was it! ;p very sad but I got over it.. hahaha.. but got the crooked teeth to show for it.

catz... lomantik ha? My family actually quite surprised why i will choose a guy like my hubby. Fat and short. hahaha...

The gap discount card came together wif my ON order. It said "Enjoy this special offer Get 10% off Your next Gap order". Valid till July 9. U interested? I can give you the code.

jelly, sounds transferable
haiz.. unfortunately I am not supposed to spree anymore

Ah Ger, hey you lucky lei.. I had to wear retainers to straighten my teeth.

where's everybody har?