(2007/02) February

jelly

haha ur hb found his assistant liao? too bad i din apply for it..if not u can fang xin.. cos ur hb will be working with a short and fat aunty if i join..haha

aiyah men and woman got diff taste..

hello,
wow, glad to see some active mums still chatting in this thread.

Garfield, time flies and u will soon be delivered in july n me will deliver in august.

What ur gender for this child. My 1st one is a princess, n the 2nd one is a prince. yet to name him. Trying to spend more time with my little daughter.

Can I check with all, are ur babies having almost full set of teeth. My little girl has almost her full set of teeth. Wonder is she growing fast. Maybe will start to speak more clearly. She enjoys singing 'twinkle twinkle little stars and can call all of us very well.

Garfield, you going anywhere. I'm bringing my family to genting b4 my boy due in august. Hardly have time to chat here. So glad to be having june holiday break now. already started my sim, ...buzziiiiiizzzzziizizi...

chocbabe,
hmm...if you wan exactly 2 yrs apart..can start trying liao..if you wan roughly 3 yrs apart (but 2 academic years ie #2 born in end 2009) you can try early next yr..hee..not a bad idea right??..

winnie,
aiyoh..so cute le...call your hb geeky..its "lao shi" not geeky la..better tha my ah beng hubby right? so old liao..still dye hair until like dat..but YES!! i lurve chubby man!! muahahah

rem dat time at jacob ballas...was saying dat tyler haf the same ON polo as ethan..hee!

catz,
paiseh haf to fly you aeroplane again..hb rushing to close his stall for world book fair..you haf a safe & fun journey! will see you when you back!

stella,
its OK...you will find a better job..i guess you may wan to take a longer rest..like a month or 2..then slowly find one dat you will like..keke.

as long as you haf patience...

katie,
gosh!! your girl is sooooo clever...singing twinkle stars is a GENIUS for tods of their age!..my boy juz called me MAMA..and i oredi happy like kena 4D..

bad day at work today..haiz..did a "bad job" at training today..and my boss was sitting in..sort of "screw it up" as she's "scrutinising" me..still had to "brace" myself to continue the other half day of training..sian siah..

she sat in..coz one of my candidates commented dat i was condescending...when i was jokingly asking them.."why so blur"..can feel she was affected by the feedback oso..therefore must take action..duper duper sian..

good morn ladies...

katie, wow u bringin yr family while u in 3rd tri, peifu u... me go out now w family v fast tired liao...

guess i won't go holi so fast liao... hb keep givin excuses. at first i wan to go during my 2nd tri, but he say i preg cannot. then he hinted nxt yr. then now, he say by then maybe kid still small... i so fed up... luckily i went for my long honeymoon (3 wks) b4 i conceive!! or bei pian.

enjoy yr trip. mine is a gal this time so both of us got hao zhi liao... congrats! so u intend to have no.3 or will stop? my hb still wan but I told him no more.
it really v tiring to cope w no.1 and no.2 in tummy...

fat_babe, dun worry, I can see u got confidence so guess the complaint is just a small setback? i believe u can pass thru

fat babe
just brace up k? i think the feedback forms or feedback sessions on trainers is one of the most demoralising thing made to screw the trainers' life upside down. imagine if someone just feel like sabotaging the trainer / class, then whatever effort the trainer puts oso no use.

garfield
hey hey hey! u are better off then me okie? the furthest my hb brought me to is only MALAYSIA in our parktor times okie?????? now whenever i ask him shld i extend my trip so that he can join me there for a holiday, he will reply who look after QY? and when i say bring QY go, he ask what will QY eat? argghhh...

smurfy, yr hb like mine... when i suggest goin w him onli, he will say zz lonely n v pitiful. n ask me whether i can reng xin.

then if i say bring him go, he say still small... troublesome...

after we got married, my family keep askin us to bear child... i told my hb tat I had to go europe first... he respect my decision. tat time after weddin, i didn't immed go europe. I went bali. so he had to wait after my europe trip hahahaha
becos i know once got kid, v diff to go for long trip one... now he startin to say short trip like bangkok also cannot cos with kids, how to shop? hiaz. n he is the type who will bring kids go rather than go there himself unless for business.

Catz, Timo puked quite often hor? I feel that Sherwin puke rather often leh, he puked every morning over the weekends. Think he cant digest his food well yet. Sigh... Enjoy your holidays!

Garfield, I got the CD with book from Popular few yrs back, wanted to let Vane listened but never did. Sigh...

Jelly, wow... Your hb travels round the world??? Hahaha... Same thing with me and hb, we have diff std.

Katie, your gal can sing the whole song of Twinkle...? Sherwin knows a few songs but he only sing the chorus and not clearly, eg old mac, he'll sing ee ya ee ya oo the whole day... Hahaha... Oh ya, I must record one of his singings one of these days liao.

Fat_babe, cheer up

Smurfy, QY is still not having adult food?

Fat_babe
Cheer up. Its a good Tues
I'm in training too. Sure know what its like to kenna *???* feedback and scrutinization :p

gigg, i realised zz like chinese songs. if i sing the ke ren la (translated loosely as guest comes), his eyes blink w happines...

then if i recite the 3 zhi jing, he will clap... as if he know it diff to recite. he did try once but i can't really make out wat he sayin.

the only song i heard him singing along w me is row row row yr boat... he just goes "row row row" haha he likes twinkle little stars song too but can only say stars... katie, yr little gal v clever can sing the entire song?

now zz likes to put fingers inside his mouth n sucks until got many saliva... n the more i say him, he will laugh n do it more.

he also like to blow bubbles to amuse me.

stella, yaloh... He got his assistant liao. I only know it when she starts working. Hubby said he has told me before but i totally have no memory on it.

Wow, Katie, ur gal can sing song oredi? Such a genius!!! My gal only has 7 teeth... very slow... and she only speaks foreign language which we do not understand.

Babe... I really admire ur courage to speak in front of so many ppl! My director just told me in the future i might need to give presentation more often to analyst etc, i am oredi scared like wat. I guess when facing such incident we have to stay calm so that we can think properly. I am sure you are doing very well all along!

Gig, yaloh... And he is finally back last nite at 12 midnite.

Re: travelling. Told hubby we shd go for a trip this year wif ah-xi, either to aust or NZ, and he said ok. Hopefully he is serious abt it not talk talk only.

Katie,
Congrats! Really, your girl is a genius!! Ben can say some words here and there, but definitely not sing the song. He does actions to some songs like Twinkle, Incy Wincy Spider, Little Chicks & Ba luo bo (Chinese songs). The only thing he sings is the "Aiyah-yah, Aiyah-yah" from Ba luo bo.
As for teeth, he has 10 now. Only half set leh.

Tomorrow, I'll be bringing him for his MMR.

Jelly,
I thought you all were confirmed going to NZ?

btw, mmr taken for 15 mth old rgt? I totally forgotten abt zz jab... now not sure when can i send him... always so bz... plan to do this sat but hb seem got other plan... hmmm

morning mummies...

i'm another culprit... no mmr for meowmi yet. he just recovered from a super duper long bout of flu cough and fever. have no heart to put him through another jab so i guess will hold till he is completely clear for another week or so? hehehee... sometimes i think it's just excuse hor.

fat_babe: cheer up la. you can never be any worse than where i am now. i'm practically being treated worse than a dog at times. haiz... &... they talk to me in a condescending tone all the time anyway.

on the brighter side.... there's plenty of fishes out there to catch so why not? hehehe... i've got a iv test this afternoon. had to take half day to go. arghh.... actually a bit reluctant but i need to get out of here and want to asap. so go lor
these days jobs are really hard to get hor.... go through test after test dunno whether got any outcome anot.

Giggler
QY is mostly on his porridge. But he is given table food when we eat our lunch/dinner at home. And on rare occassions we are outside and stuck with no pre-prepared porridge, i just go crystal jade and order porridge for him. topped up with whatever light dishes we ordered lor.

MMR
i am still dragging this jab. seems like quite a few complications leh? read some bbs have fever after this jab oso. i think we can drag the jab all the way until our kids goes to school right when they need to see his healthbooklet?

Singing
QY cannot sing at all. he onli knows how to nod his head when he hears songs he like. and he is grinning all the way whenever we sing "happy birthday".

these days QY was mistaken as a girl all the time. Nobody thinks that he's a boy even though he is in shorts?? Can't a boy spot long curly hair? kekekek

PVl,
my gals can't sing the whole song but a few lines and trying to sing the whole song by herself. She will show us the action of twinkling stars.

She had her MMR jab in may at polyclinic as s'poreans baby are free, PD will charge less than $100. Bringing her to watch barney on this sat.

5-8 june, there's a motherhood fair at expo hall 5A from 12noon to 10pm. Maybe will shop for some stuff for newborn & current sweetie.

I'm still in my 2nd trimester, my EDD is end august but predict will be in mid aug. Teeth, she has about 16 teeth. 8 on the lower chin and 7 on the lower chin.

She can pronounce 'mama, papa or daddy, bobo, yeye(grandpa), gu... but not gu ma together as she can't pronounce gu ma together(aunt), yiyi(aunt), didi(brother), jiejie(sister)....and many more.

Really enjoy her company greatly. As for holiday, I can't wait to take a break. We would usually bring her along for any short stay (3d2N) at sentosa, now going to genting. She is quite alright for any trip at the moment but we've yet to try taking her on a coach to genting. Wonder will she be good and don't make so much noise on the coach. She will usually fall asleep when she's tired but will not cry to let others know she wants to sleep.

will consider for baby #3 but maybe 2 or 3 yrs time as will not want to have a baby born in the year of tiger.
As I have a girl n expecting a boy so will see if the boy will be as good as the 1st girl.

Mummies who are expecting #2, do you feel difficult to share the 100% love you are giving to ur #1 now to the #2? I find i love my gal too much until there is no space for another baby...

jelly, r u..?

i feel that less than 100% too for 2nd... so i buy many clothing for her now ... haha

i hope to treat them fair. cos i m also born 2nd n feel my mum love my sis more too.

Re: MMR
I think most pple give their bbs the MMR around 15-18 months. The complication is an unproven one, about the jab causing autism in some children. I dunno. Had no probs with Sarah. We'll just pray and hope Ben also has no problems. We're going to the PD for assessment as well.

jelly,
Yah hor, you've been mentioning #2 a lot lately
. I don't find I have any problem loving 2 at the same time. If you find you already have 100% love for #1, you'll find that you develop 200% love for 2!! Actually for me, I just mostly 'neglect' both equally. Hahahaha!

Re: Baby's speech
I think so far, Ben can quite clearly say the following words :
Papa, Mama, Mummy, Jiejie, Korkor, Yiyi, apple, book, eat, happy, car, up, on, off, baby, I, good.
He can also say some other words but only we understand... door ("kor") dog ("kog").
He too speaks in other languages "gaugnnn", "dadnnn". They refer to many things in his language. So strange.

kekkeek...jas fast fast response

speech
QY is a master in saying "mai" (dun wanna in mandarin) and pushing his milk bottle or drinking water away. another favourite is saying "mei you" - (dun have in mandarin) and shaking his hands as he says it. sometimes he says GO when the traffic light is red (too slow for him). other times he puts his hands in front n says STOP when the light is red. . when the light turns green, he say GO. .. can say other words as well but i cannot remeber all. but one thing is that his eyes is very sharp. can spot things we dun see.... eg. dogs n cats in poster ..

jelly, I got the same concern as you before abt having #2... but dun worry, like what PVL said you'll develop 200% love for 2!!! It just come quite naturally.

baby's speech,
I find Sherwin rather fast in his speech devt cos he can speak in one sentence at times, eg I want to go out...

Wow... So many baby genius in this thread!!!

My gal is no genius, she is learning at her own path. But she is always my "xin gan bao bei".

jelly u never ask the question leh
never mind, i been thru this so I understand *wink wink*

i finally did my errands, bought stuff from supermarket, sent in my laundry, and posted my cheque (overdue bill). I am half dead now, very exhausted

haha.... jelly seem to avoiding some question here... haha

finally ended my exam today... was bad... didn't know how to answer 2 long qns. Hope can scrap through... but so relieved it's over... tomorrow gotta start packing for my move this sat....

late evening to all...

2day no time to cme into here & chat cos bz @ work. Then arh, 2mr whole day coped in training rm liao.. so silly.... orientation program takes up 1 full entire day. My dept can close shop lor, cos the other coll also attending & my boss isn't ard again.

Then Thurs & Fri again hv some kind of mtgs tat can last betwn 1 - 2hrs. Jia lat... y all so lor sor one.

Jas - ha ha ha... seems like u r the v likely MTB. watever it is, congrats in advance.

Motherhood fair - I dunno wats tare yet, shall wait for my informer to tell me then. LOL..... Bt my main aim is diapers & cereals.... cos I almost declared bankrupt cos A eats alot of cereals & I buy the gold nestle cereals for him as I find it more nutritious. Since I only hv 1 kid nw, I better give him our 100%. if nx time happen to hv #2, dunno hw liao....

bt I recv this frm EYS, hope this helps.

mime_msword.gif

Eu Yan Sang booth at Motherhood Exhibition 2008.doc (47.1 k)</td></tr></table></center>

Shall tok again bah.. v tired le..

*gd night*

Hi Onee!

Julian is attending the one at Harbourfront Centre. Sunday class. Weekend mornings are tough for me as I am off for tuition on Saturdays and church on Sundays. However, we can try

Giggler, MMR at polyclinic is free. Am bringing Julian next monday. Supposed to be Monday but he was down with a fever and now flu so postponed.

Jelly, regarding speaking, my Julian is real slow... cant speak a word! Only says what he knows. Actually am getting worried but heard a few mummies telling me that their kids didnt speak till 18 months... Hope he can at least pick up words like 'papa' and 'mama' soon... Waiting eagerly for the TIME!

Katie, 16 teeth!!! my gosh... my boy has only 6 - 2 below and stops after that, 4 on top but still not out completely. You know, he is still on very mushy porridge cos he doesnt seem to be able to chew his food properly. My boy is slower in everything but I am just thankful that he is healthy.

Mummies, wondering what snacks you gals give your little ones??? My boy's very boring kind-gerber stars, baby bites, pigeon fishballs, fishcakes and xiao man tou only... Give me some ideas so I can spice up his snack time a little

gog

cherish also cant speak yet.. she only know "ball , barney and aiyoh" papa and mama she only says when she like it.

i give cherish anything cos she can chew..so she gets wat we snack..of cos i restrict her those salty titbits..which means i cant eat in front of her.

thanks for all the encouragement...i understand S**T happens..hopefully will get bk on bosses' good books soon...

jelly,

dun answer means "silent answer"?!?! hehe..i think all mummies will think they wun haf the "capacity"..but yes..you will gaurantee find love for #2..som finds #2 for "lovely" becoz it would be a easier experience after #1..

gog,
about speech...think many of the babies oso dun tok yet..tyler babbles alot..sometimes make sense but most of the times dun..its nice to hear him speck in "indie language" and i will imitate after him..

feeding of snacks, i am not so particular except for tidbits dats too sweet or salty..everything else..like cereals, cheese, biscuits..i will give..

snacks
its babybites, healthy times teething biscuits or the bear type.. then got yohgurt, raisins.. i love to give him raisins.. sweet n can let him chew chew.

jas
hope to hear good news from u soon

going through another of those moody bad patches.. so i just tot 1 is good enough. funny that tots change so fast.

GOG, I thinking of bringing Sherwin for the MMR jab tom morning. Dun worry abt Julian not speaking, before you know, he keeps yakking till you'll ask him to shut up... LOL

Smurfy, QY ok with raisins? Sher dun really chew leh and ever vomit with the raisins all in one piece. Sigh... Oh what happened??? Hopefully you get out of your moody bad patch ASAP.

giggler
QY is okie with raisins leh? everytime i just let him take one from the box itself and told him to "chew chew". maybe u can try imitiating the chewing motions to him to see or u put one into ur own mouth and chew chew for him to see how u r doing it?

gog
We'll play by ear. Will msn you when we are online

I've relax rules and give Ann all sorts of food she ask for (including our adult snacks), just watch quantity, salt and sugar. She takes bread, plain or w/raisin and cranberries, biscuits, ice-cream, yoghurt and cheese cubes.

abt food... last nite v funny... my hb eating chocolate and zz walk into the rm n saw him... he quickly walk over n hand out his hand... but daddy didn't give him cos it too sweet...

he even bend down on his knee... so poor thing... haha nowadays must hide from him when we eat unhealthy food... hiaz.

Jas..Hmm..why is so many suspecting u preggy?! Better clear the air soon....!

Smurfy, giggler..Yael loves raisins..he will slowly chew off half, then other half n chew n chew..but I still notice the "raisins" in his poo haha!

GOG..I also give Yael all kinds of snacks, but watch on the msg, salt, sugar..I give him biscuits, cakes, honey stars, yogurt..but very little of these snacks..only to curb hunger to next meal..cos give too much or too near meals tendency he wont eat much of his food at mealtime.

hi girls,
Haven't posted for awhile... last week Soph down with a small bout of viral fever, recovered, then 2 days later, it turned into an infection with high fever... mucous in lungs too!
Went on antibiotics, fever is gone, and getting better.

Now it feels as if it's my own turn falling sick from all the sleepless nights!

jelly,
Hee, don't keep us in suspense!

smurfy,
Re. MMR, my friend delayed her boy's MMR jab for very long until MOH sent her letter to tell her to bring him for it! Think she got the MOH letter when her boy was 2+ yrs old.

Stella..I find the brand Ligo California seedless raisins are less sweet..I heard the yellow raisins are even sweeter..or less sweet?..hmm..blurr liao.

Huskie..Yup u MIA quite long leh..
But glad that Soph is recovering now..u have to take care now.

Sorry gals, been busy this week...

Anyway, received a 20% promo code from gymboree, valid till 15/6/08. Anyone interested to take over please let me know. Cheers!!!

babe, me too, very sian with office politics. There is this particular 'xiao ren' here..really cannot stand her. Super irritating.

huskie, i was just thinking about u the other day cos havent 'seen' u in forum for a long time. Hope soph recovers soon.

snacks, I also give A quite boring stuff, gerber stars, little bites, all kinds of organic teething biscuits, cheese cubes. I bought some organic raisins but i dun know if he is the one who eats it...i recently discovered that my maid loves to eat raisins too. My hb bought me those small packs sunmaid raisins and i definitely didnt eat so much but its left with 2 or 3 packs only from a pack of 12 boxes. I think my maid is the one who loves to snack..haha

Thanks for all your feedback and suggestions on snacks
k, looks like I am too strict with what Julian has been eating for snacks. Got to relax a little.
A word of caution for all of us here. If you are buying SUNMAID raisins, please check the content very very carefully before consumption. I personally encountered maggots in one of the small boxes that I opened a few years back and when I shared this with my colleagues, some of them have the same encounters as well. They told me that it was also reported in the newspapers. From then onwards, I only eat raisins from Ligo. At least the raisins look cleaner. hahaha. dont ask me how I know that. I just feel that way.
Charis, the yellow ones are sourish and the black ones are sweeter.

Huskie, glad that soph has more or less recovered. Julian was down with a fever after an afternoon out in the water. Then over the weekend, his fever subsided but yesterday came down with a real bad flu and cough... just brought him to the dr this morning.
Btw, I have switched him over to GP. REally so much cheaper with the same medicine! My ex PD would have charged us about $20-$25 more.

Giggler, stella, really hope he can at least utter a few words
but i know when he starts talking, it will be irreversible and we have to entertain his questions all the time (that is if he is the curious sort).

Fat_babe, me too, i always imitate the way he babbles... actually, he is kind of cute

Anyone sending your little ones to playgroups when they hit 18 months? I went to check out the one near my place. Montessori style. So ex! 5 days a week, 2 hrs each cost $900 a term (10 weeks). I couldnt believe it when I saw the school fees! Are all playgroups so ex?

gog,

hee..well coz the playgroup you choose is Montessori style ma...dats the "prce tag" lor..

but if you choose those community centre ones..wat "xiao dou dou" class...i think cheaper le...possibly 300-500..

tyra's childcare is only $380 after subsidy..

my frens' kids oso all "atas" go JG..half their pay goes to it lor..

Yucks really??!! Maggots! No way Im buying Sunmaid anymore! Haha...

GOG..Yup those RC playgroups are much cheaper..though teachers are may not dip. trained..but rest assured at least they will have a cert.
My RC playgroup at Pasir Ris charges $330 for a term (10 weeks), same 2 hours Mon-Fri.
But I'm not sending Yael to school so soon..sometimes quite tempted to but among one of our reasons being my hb thinks its easier on the expenses if we dont put him in childcare, n I take care n teach him at home.