(2007/02) February

stella, ya hor strange. i went there so many times with zz and they also give other kids n bbs... think zz is transparent... hehe

the last time we went, again they give halfway never even pass us. then zz keep lookin at other kids balloons so kelian. so in the end my maid went n get for him.

the shop at Parkway parade, near the kiddy palace and the kids shops. I am also v scared of balloons.

stella, cherish is v cute leh, know her rights

garfield

i think the staff at mac also take precautions..they are afraid bb may burst the balloons and cry.

in the end, i also requested from the staff..but i regret big time. u noe y? cos i have to carry cherish and the diaper bag and she holds to the balloon and block my view and keep banging the balloon to my face and i scared it burst in my face

cherryale

i would say cherish is a highly sensitive child. reacts to every little thing, and her cries very dramatic.

stella, so funny hor. our bbs dun know how scary the balloon bursting. the sounds zz make w the balloon really freak me out, n if i remove from his hand, he scream too... nxt time i waiting for the chance to burst it in front of him (when he gets older) so tat he knows how scary... hahhaaha

garfield

yesterday cherish was playing with rubber bands..i stopped her but she protested.

so when she stretches the rubber band and release, she feels the pain and cry like duuno wat.then she immediately throw the rubber band and refuse to play anymore.

Catz... So it's hydrogen which is explosive and helium is safe ha. good good, will tell my hubby. I thot of letting a few of normal balloons to float together with the few mylar ballons which i bot. Then by end of the day distribute to the kids.

Dunno why recently YX likes to beat her head hard hard. Everytime I saw her beat her head i will beat her hands hard and told her firmly No, but she will still continue. And when I tried to stop her by putting my hand on her head, she will shake my hand away. Why like that ha? Izit normal?

Stella,

Lil J also cries dramatically.. in a way that her cries + tear roll down cheek for minor bumps or something scares her..

nowadays i calls J, tan xiao mao

esp when she watches new advert on TV she will quickly turn around and crawl towards either myself or my MIL where she can be in our arms.. keke

My Gal's b-day venue no settled.. so nice to hear that you gals are going to have balloons.. i dun know if I'll get them for J .. all can start to plan after venue is confirm.. hopefully this week ..

jelly

same! cherish also like that..like to beat her head repeatedly!!

and like to pull up her t-shirt and pull down her shorts

hmmm...

about shoe sizes hor...tyler is currently wearing 5-6...depending on cutting as well...coz his feet quite chubby..some of the leaner shoes..he cannot wear...but again size 3.5 also depends on which country sizing you tokking about..

i always depend on the lines of my third finger to the base of my palm as a measurement for my kids shoes...hehehe....

stella, hehe

jelly, dun worry. zz hit his head also. in fact he did it when he was abt 6 mth?? i can't rem but I know it very early. then we also tell him not to and try to stop him. but after a while he still do it.

nowadays is not v often but he knows we dun like. cos can see his grin on his face when we firmly tell him cannot hit head. purposely wan la.

fat_babe, i m guilty of forcing shoes on him hahaha... last wkend saw some cute sports shoe. n wan to try on him. but cannot wear n i force...

in the end, i give up. anyway, i got new shoes for him liao so dun need to buy anymore. but i hate to wear for them shoes. i think those shoo shoo type is good but then sometimes zz shake his leg n then the shoe come out!

Re: SHoes

Lil J like little miss babarian.. whenever i let her try on shoes at home, she will immedately shake it off or pull it off.. she does like the feeling of constraint at her feet.

dunno how to let her wear shoes for her birthday mans..

garfield,

dun worry i oso force shoes!!..coz hor..gal gal can wear ribbons...hairclips..boy hor..nothing much to "accessories..." so i bought quite abit of shoes for him...but hor..wear 2 months for "show" then cannot fit liao...

yes i think the leather soft soles shoes v good...you can change the rubber one le...go explore...my home one...if too loose...i will look for the rubber..n tighten it..keke..

sunsweet,

ekkee i think its natural dat they pull off anything...hat or shoes...for tyler even clothes he tries to pull off..uncomfortable ma..hahaha

stella and garfield, now hear cherish and zz also like to hit their heads then i fang xin liao. Cos i never saw my nephews/nieces beat their heads like her b4. Ya, yday in the car i saw her beat her head again so i turn behind to tell her firmly NO. She stares at me, and stopped awhile then continue doing.

RE: Shoes. I bot YX 3 pairs of shoes (1 pediped and 2 robeez)+ 3 pairs (pedoodles)yet to reach me. All not yet worne as my mum said cannot let her wear until she is 1 year old. Hopefully she can still wear them by the time we celebrate her 1st bday.

catz, i have no idea Clarks sizing, but this pair does look small compared to those I have at home. A has 3 pairs of shoes at home but i havent let him wear any yet as waiting for 1 YO. I needed a pair to match with his birthday clothes. I intend to let A have a change of outfit too for his birthday. One is a sporty look, the other one is more decent, white linen shirt with beige stripes pants
Send me the pics, i see whether can match his outfit

garfield, that shop is not like a normal shop i.e with proper shop front. It is occupies the walkway, basically in the middle with two rows of shops at the side. Dun know the name. Its on the kids floor, outside kiddy palace and there are those kiddy rides in front of the shop. There is only 1 such shop there, wouldnt miss it.

on hitting head, A also does that sometimes, I never stop him cos I am afraid that he will do it more often if I do

garfield..haha..i would say joshua is a good name.. u can consider for ur #2.. =p

mummies..who will be using helium balloons? i am, n might be able to get a good price from supplier coz i always use them for events..will be cheaper than retail i guess..
let me know ya..then i can help check to get a good price..

ladies.. INVITATION!
my joshua will be celebrating his 1 yr old birthday with his didi's full mth..
double celebration.. =)

Date: 3 Feb (sunday)..
venue: Anchorage function room..
time TBC..

Those who came for xmas gathering should know where ya.. Hope you all can turn up with ur little ones.. RSVP k.. thanks!

ladies.. INVITATION!
my joshua will be celebrating his 1 yr old birthday with his didi's full mth..
double celebration.. =)

Date: 3 Feb (sunday)..
venue: Anchorage function room..
time TBC..

Those who came for xmas gathering should know where ya.. Hope you all can turn up with ur little ones.. RSVP k.. thanks!

garfield,
CONGRATS!! wah...u sneaky cat...now then announce ahh...

rachel,
not sure of schedule yet...let u know soonest...
thanks for invitation... but headache over the presents liao...hehehe..

cherry,

wats the thing about kids not wearing shoes when 1 yo huh??...heard alot of people say...but not sure about it...then on tyler's lunar bday..my mum asked me to buy him a pair of new shoes...i was thinking..kekeke...so many pairs liao..wakakka..

Hi Rachel,

will be there... Ryan will be happy to see his first neighbour again...

We are celebrating on the 1st (the actual day) cos my parents say cannot celebrate after the actual day...

Catz, Huskie, Gak, Garfield..Maybe its viral..cos today he came down with runny nose n cough..quite bad..now he's falling sick quite often..looks like my bm cant protect him that much anymore.

Catz..Yael is a size 5 now! Sampan feet too! Been wanting to get him shoes..but dont want to spend on a Clarks yet..cos his grandma has been mentioning that she want to buy for him.. so I may jus get him a cheap pair of Bubblegummers, at least we can let him walk on the ground when he wants to.

Wah everyones planning yr lil' ones bday parties already..I jus dont know where to start..cos his will be around the time we moving to new place..So we r going to hav house blessing, plus house-warming..then bday party dont know how many celebrations we going to hav..ours is quite complex, cos my side n hb's side cannot celebrate together cos of cultural differences.

Rachel..SO nice of u to invite us..Yael, me n hb will try to drop by, but will confirm again ok..would love to see yr new baby boy too!

Rachel, thanks for ur invitation! Wow, double celebration! Good good! Most likely i will be in msia on that day as pretty close to cny and will be busy doing cny stuff. Happy Birthday to Joshua and congrats on Jasper's 1 month old!

Skinny_babe, the old folks said let babies wear shoes before one will lead them to tough life in the future. I also only heard from my mum on this after i bot shoes for YX. Just listen to her loh and wait for 1.5 months more. Will let her wear her 1st shoes on her birthday celebration. Not sure whether for Hokkien only, but my mum said baby's 1st pair of shoes shd be bot by his/her waipo. Maybe that's why ur mum asked u to buy on her behalf.

Charis, how's ur house reno? U gg to move in b4 cny?

Rachel, wow, thanks for the invite. Will have to pass on seeing your two gorgeous sons 'cos I might be flying down to KL with my 2 monkeys for early CNY. My hubby cannot come so I will bring the 2 kids on the plane while my parents drive. As for the balloons, can you please email me your contact? Would like to get some for Beth's party!

Charis, heee.. sampan feet eh?
I think seriously those playgrounds are germ infested... I would advise against cheap shoes as I think they do not allow the feet to form properly. Try Pedipeds or Pedoodles? Wow, you are going to be busy busy busy!! House blessing/warming, party.. wahhh.. and 2 separate family celebrations!

jelly, I've never heard the old saying about shoes leh. I find babies look so naked without shoes. Heee..

Rachel, thxs for the invitation. I will confirm our attendance later. wow imagine jasper meetin jasper hahhahaa

btw, can let me know yr contact? cos I intend to use a few mylar balloons. bought but still sourcing for cheapest helium! thxs!

btw, u guys have any confinement nanny to recommend? cos I also sourcing for one now... since the first 1 I dun have. n this time think will do confinement in my own house n furthermore got zz so scare cannot rest enough which I heard it v impt.

Catz... I also just heard from my mum after i bot the 2 pairs of pediped.
Luckily managed to sell off the pair of size M. Was not very happy when i heard from her as so eagerly wanted to let YX wear the shoes! But then she will be unhappy if i let YX wear now so guai guai listen to her loh. I also felt that way at the beginning. But soon used to it. Just that when go shopping centre then i let her wear socks loh. 1 more month, very soon...

Hi rachel, 3 Feb is A's birthday so will not be able to attend
thanks for the invite. Thereafter we will be in HK

babe, think got to do with not letting them carry the heavy load before 1 YO, so can have a carefree life.

catz, i make do with matching socks all these while
btw, i changed the clarks shoes to size 4.5, its the largest size available for that design which is meant for babies who are crusing. They also have shoes meant for crawling and largest size is 4. DIdnt want A to wear those with hard soles which is meant for walking according to the sales person at clarks.

jelly, didnt know about the grandma must buy the first pair of shoes
But we are cantonese/teochew, so maybe dun have this custom.

good morning gals!

re: tradition

traditionally wai po must buy a set of new clothes, new shoes and socks. my waipo tell my mum to put red eggs inside the new shoe and bring it to my hse on cherish birthday.

i am holding a very traditional 1st birthday for cherish. i was telling hb that her birthday party theme is "retro"..haha.

rachel,
thanks for the invite. i am having cny reunion dinner on that day. to confirm with u again.

Stella,

hehe what's your dialect? keke.. cos me no wai po or po po when i turn one guess my mum does not know all these traditions bah..keke

Rachel,

Thanks for the invite. Will check with Hub schedule b4 we confrim.

my supplier giving me 100 helium balloons for $120..they will pump on the spot.. let me know if u interested..
garfield..if u wan u can try my current confinement nanny.. nt bad lo.. my #1 i oso dun have confinement nanny.. did everything myself..

re: not wearing shoes....

no wonder people say cannot wear shoes....alamak...kekeke...haf made tyra n tyler wear shoes since they are 6 months old...coz they swirl around the house in walker...if no soft shoes..they will get abrasion from sweeping the floor...ekkeke...

aiyoh poor kids...according to "fortune telling" their lives oredi no good..now mummy force them to thread on a difficult life ahead...hehehe..

re: traditions!!...interesting!!,...but tyler got alot of clothes liao...and waipo gave me $20 to buy...can i juz pretend dat the clothes i buy is from waipo..wakkaka...or it gives me chance to buy MORE clothes for him...farnee siah..

cherry,
i hor oso blur about traditions...although by rite i came from a v traditional family...coz my mum didn't take care of me n sis...so everything is done by granny..maybe dats why she nvr advice oso...ekkke..

sunsweet

i am hakka..but grow up in hokkien environment. taken care by maternal side which is hokkien

conicidentally, hb also hokkien and very pro traditions.

my maternal great grandma still ard, so we ask her for advice. normally she wun insist her descendants on having traditions, since we want, she is more than happy to share.

fat babe,

if u r not particular, then can lor

skinny_babe, sometimes i hope I dunno know abt all these traditions then can do as i wish.

Normally my mum will give YX ang paos and treat wat i bot as she bot the clothes/shoes etc for her.

cherry, have you send the order for fotobk?
jelly, step 2 haing prob
the downloading of the product price... is it necc? cos if I click to download, they ask me to check Internet connection which I have...

rachel, you buying so many balloons ah? I only need like 20.

fatbabe, hee.. yah lor I also got a lot of clothes for my kids.. no need waipo to buy. Maybe can ask them to sponsor some shoes. Hee..

Cherry, 4.5 is probably doable since A is not sampan feet right?

stella, i heard tt for 1st birthday we hv to prepare some items for bb to pick. Like pen,money, books.... i cant remember wat are all the items. u noe?

garfield, maybe u want to call photobook to ask? Dun remember need to download product price the other time. Just keyed in my coupon code, then there will be an invoice showing the shipping cost, then i keyed in my cc to pay for the shipping.

jelly, i so sad.... can't proceed. keep asking me to download/ update product info. there is a radio button which suppose to give me option whether to download but it grey out

Pekochan

roughly all these :

pen (writer)
calculator (accountant)
chicken drumstick (cook)
$$$ (rich)
ruler ( artitech)

but i saw my cousins 1st birthday, their parents place some other different items as well

Stella,

i think my hub would add on a little car for her to choose.. his theory .. choose car can be racer hahahaha..

he and his racer dream..

if son maybe ok but now she a gal a bit chor lor right?? .. humm gal racer.. legal racing ok.. not street racing woh.. haha

I also heard some ppl let bb step on Ang Ku Kway.. issit? aiyoh CNY where to find the ang ku kway??

sunsweet

yah .. cherish will be stepping on the ang ku kueh. its not ordinary ang ku kueh , must order somemore. the shape is bigger than the normal ones and the mould is different. It is called as " dua ku"..i ordered from a traditional kueh shop.

actually cny period easy to find ang ku kueh , cos people use it for praying also. every year cny my grandma /mum/hb will buy alot for praying.

female racer ..so cool!!!

peko,

some other items i saw:

ball(footballer)
handbag(be tai tai..very funny this one)
computer mouse (I.T)

Garfield, try call them after office hour when u more free. The other time they also contact me at around 7pm that they have not received my file. Dun be sad, keep trying ya...

Stella, if one of the items for them to choose is handphone, sure she will grab handphone one. Handphone = ? Sales?

rachel,

can let me know who yr confinement nanny? is she a malaysian? good? how much?

jelly,

I have called fotobk n they say my ofc might have firewall or someother issue tat blockin.
my house using mac so I can't upload so they ask me to go my fren house to do.

garfield,

U save ur photobook in ur laptop? Last time i have difficulty to forward the file to photobook also, but managed to go thru finally after many trials. Hope u able to submit ur file soon...

Re: Baby teeth. After the first 2 bottom and upper teeth, which is the 5th teeth which will normally come out ya? I suspect YX's 5th teeth is sprouting out as she has been cranky last nite while sleeping (her symptom when she has new teeth) but forgot which one...