(2007/02) February

smurfy, stella, Ctaz,
Heee, after much thought, I think I'll let Soph eat just a wee bit of her birthday cake lah, else so poor thing, cannot eat her first birthday cake

PVL,
Wow, you're the CFO of your family!

chocbabe,
I didn't know Savoury Fare sells ice cream cake? I'll check them out too... I like Savoury Fare stuff.

Neo Garden is nice... like smurfy, I also love their curry. I normally order from Delihub which is their halal subsidiary, but items are all the same.
btw, I think the mini buffet for 15 pax does not come with warmer and table settings... just disposable microwavable containers.

Will you still be doing property on a part-time basis then?

Charis,
Heee, Yael is a cheeky fellow!

like to ask.. other than dom.. there is this other wine ppl take during confinement.. brand starts with WinXXXXXX anyone have any idea?

huskie, really ah? Timo was just as deprived of birthday cake...haha.

Neo Garden is nice but the portion is a little kiam siap.

PVL, wow, you're such a paragon of virtue. I feel so awful whenever I cannot control my spending :p Sighhhh...

Huskie...

yah,,, will still be doing it on a part time basis cos the money is good... just that it's not stable...

I'm ok without the table warmers etc cos it's just close family members.

Catz,
Haha, you're right about Neo Garden's portions... every time I order, must be exact number cos not much extra buffer!

Hmm... I think I'll just give Soph a teeny weeny morsel of her cake lah. Maybe sneak some wholemeal bread onto her plate when she's not looking, then feed her the wholemeal bread "masking" it as the cake!

chocbabe,
Good that you're continuing it on a PT basis... afterall, you work hard to pass the test!

MIA for very loooong as my job as a teacher started so kind of busy.

Anyone of u is pregnant beside rachel who had given birth so fast... though she's due by end jan.

hmm...congrats rachel.

Well...after breastfeeding for so long...n my menses came last sept...dec...I was pregnant....so fast!!!

went 2 gynae on tue and it was confirmed tht i'm abt 7 weeks pregnant. I saw my little angel thru the scan and heard his heartbeat too.

Didn't expect to conceive so fast as I had registered to study in SIM and begin course in Jan 08 but now...I'm pregnant...sigh....very tiring...1st trimester somemore....

My morning sickness for this pregnancy is very differeny compared to my 1st princess. Extremely tired, dislike eggs GREATLY! and nausea the whole day esp at night.

Hope everyone is fine.

My EDD will be end of august but I predict it will be mid august or earlier. already plan to deliver in thomson as 1st one in Mt A so try thomson this time...

Very excited 0nce again....think I really enjoyed my whole preganacy for my 1st child so hope the 2nd one will be better.

GOOD MORNING MOMMIES!

yo CATZ!
how's timo?
is his Elmo cake good?
thinking of getting one for my boy's birthday too..

hmm..think gotta try find some time to meet up with u cuz scared ur baby jarred food wld become obsolete!
timo's oredi celebrated his 1st birthday loh!
i oso got many left cuz i'm always preparing fresh cooked food for my boy

so now headache cuz some of the jarred food gonna be expired soon..thinking of hving it for myself *L0L*

HUSKIE
me also always order from DeliHub

& i always order 5 to 10 additional pax..
most time it's juz nice

How're u celebrating Soph's birthday?
me juz celebrating with my family, dunno to invite my hubby's family a not..
cuz my MIL juz piss me off again *sigh*

kaTie, CONGRATSSSSS!!!!!!!!!!!!!! So happy for you (and envious too).

Huskie,
Just go ahead and give Sophie the cake lah. Unless she's allergic to lots of things like poor dear Beth. She'll eventually eat cake anyway. Nowadays, i give Ben tastes of things I eat if he seems interested. He's even tried chocolate! Just a tiny pinch. Show him what he's missing. Hehehehe.

oh wow, congrats, Katie!

huskie, heeee...
disguising bread as cake? That' ssooooo devious! I'm super strict about table food for the kids. Even till today, Timo has not had any seafood (apart from fish), no nuts and chocolate either

gak, his Elmo cupcakes looked gorgeous but the inside was a leetle dry. I think 'cos I chose the vanilla PLAIN type (scared the schoolkids got allergy mah..) Her choccie ones look real good. Elmo cake was from Polar.. decent lah.. cheap too. Beth's cake will be from PG and it's a 2-tier princess cake.. in line with the princess theme.

PVL,

dun envy...you can "make one" yourself too...waakakkaka

katie,

forgot your first one is boy or gal huh??

CONGRATES KATIE!

catz
Elmo cupcakes? must be very cute!
the cupcakes' from Polar too??

Wow! kids nowadays very blessed!
got themes for birthdays & 2-tier cakes!
not like last time..got celebrate very good liao
think Beth wld be very happy with her birthday party!

so nice, Princess Beth!

katie, congrats, i also envy u

skinnybabe, i like the not trying but strike kind, like katie & rachel. I also want #2 but dun think its fair to TTC now that i dun even have time for A. anyway, so stressed with work also difficult to conceive. Must pray hard

catz, 2 tier cake !! really princess leh, i wish for a princess next time
A will only get a toy car cake from PG

gak ah gak, I also pai seh never go and collect from you leh... how har? i really up to my neck in my taxi-driver/maid duties now that Timo has school leh. Elmo cupcakes were $3.50 apiece!!!! From this lady Fairani.. her webbie perfectfrosting.multiply.com. Check out her wedding masterpieces!

cherryale, PG does really nice 2 tier cakes, even for boys leh! I don't want those kind of cakes that are hard to cut..haha..

Beth ah.. think she will be grouchy lei.. she doesn't like meeting new ppl.

yo catz
yah..how huh?
u can roughly tell me ur daily schedules so i can see how to meet u?

wah! $3.50/pc??
if small birthday party can lah..but delicious a not huh?
must c worth a not mah.. ;) keke

btw, PG stands for??

gak, aiyoh, I am basically trapped at home 'cos I send Timo, then Beth comes back to nap.. then when she wakes up, I gotta feed her in a rush then drive like mad woman down to pick Timo up again. The only time I can think is if I drive to your place after Timo's swimming lesson on Monday afternoon 'cos that's at Turf City. How far is your place from there? Afternoon - kids nap.. 3-7pm at my house is zoo time - kids need to be fed, bathed, entertained and then put to bed. No spare time for myself.. then hubby comes back late from SAFTI everyday so I cannot even sneak out for some me-time after the kids zonk.

PG is Pine Garden - www.pgcake.com.

The cupcakes were so-so 'cos I couldn't order her specialty flavour - chocolate.. scared the kids all got allergies.

MOMMIES
i'm thinking of enrolling my boy for playgroup or playgym..any suggestions??
anyone tried Tumble Tots?
all playgroups i came across were for 18mths-2yo
anyone knows of playgroup for below 18mths?

catz
wah really crazy hor & many still thinks SAHM very easy job!
my hubby always comment, he needs to work so got more stress than me
he rather stay home to look after kiddo & i work to support the family
I told him if he can do a better job looking after kiddo, i dun mind to support the family ya
at least i can get away & do my own stuff when i got free time to spare while working ya
& sleep all i 1, no need to worry that my kiddo's hungry if i overslept!

hmmm
like dat huh...u live TPY rite? or AMK huh?
wat time u'll be at the turf club on Mon?
think i maybe can meet u there uh...

timo's swimming lessons there?
how old then can enrol uh?
what are the fees like?
i wanna send my boy for swimming lesson too..but dunno what's the suitable age

catz, hmm, now u tempting me to do two tier cake
your schedule sounds scary, agree SAHM life is tough

i am trying to buy stuff from ON, but all sprees closed leh..

gak, his swim class is 2.30pm, finishes at 3 but by the time I dry him off it's about 3.15pm.. is that convenient for you? Else I will go down to your place. Yah my schedule is really insane 'cos Bethany is so difficult to have in the car. She will yell and scream.. I deaf already :p To keep both kids dry, happy, safe and fed is really not easy lor :p

Swim class- Timo attends Marsden swim classes. They hv a covered pool at Turf City. Per term is $275 (actually depends on number of lessons per term, think it's $25 per lesson). Should start at 6months but I believe it's more beneficial when they can crawl or walk proficiently. Will start Beth once I get some idea of how I can achieve this!!! Maybe when she drops her morning nap it will be easier to do so. Argh.

Cherry, do a 2 layer lah.. then can have 2 different flavours mah. I'm doing strawberry cream on top and lychee martini (for the adults) at the bottom. Hee..

ON ah.. I joined private spree. Teehee.. Luckily my good friend and neighbour is spree queen.

Katie..congrats!!! haha.. good that now there's someone in this thread pregnant again so fast.. =p take gd care of urself ya...

gak,
swimming can start as young as 6 months old...juz dat infant swimming lessons need parent's companion..

catz,
its always wonderful to haf spree kakis..kekee..dun haf to always watch the spree space for buying..

mommies,
now i haf this growing concern..last nite watch the news about webby on autism in kids...then i realise tyler is very much like dat le..his behaviours exhibit almost 70% of dat of autism. like for eg, no respnding to his name, behave like deaf half the time, obsession wif some objects n repeats doing a certain action. he dun communicate, dun babble as much as when he's 7,8months and he dun point n "ask" for help...dun show affection like hugging or kissing & he bites!!!....die la die la...now thinking when to send him for checkup...

Thanks catz & fat_babe!

CATZ ah Catz..
y u send timo for swimming lessons at Bukit Timah?
near ur place got no good swimming coaches/school?
so i guess this Marsden Swim classes must be quite good ya..
i think $25/lesson consider cheap cuz remember i read some mag on swimming classes, abt $40/lesson
btw
how long's the lesson?

i'll see if my dad can drop me there at 2.30pm
after my lunch?
i'll sms u to confirm ya
if not think i can take a bus down to meet u lor

fat_babe
maybe u like to observe Tyler a while more?
maybe he's juz independent type?
try to play games & do interactive stuff with him & see how..?

Congrats katie!

gak/Catz,
I can collect the stuff for Catz when I collect mine leh, but eh.... Sophie has just recovered, so I've not brought her to my MIL's place the last few weeks cos scared wait pass to my MIL (don't want her to nag if she gets it from Soph).
If you're not running out of food and can wait a bit more, I'll see if we can go to Bt Panjang this coming Sunday?

fatbabe,
Point and ask for help is pretty advanced yeah? I think Soph also hasn't done that yet. As for obsession with things and not hearing things, some babies can get quite engrossed in certain things and hence ignore you?

smurfy, Catz, PVL,
I've decided to let Soph eat a bit of her birthday cake!

Just went and ordered a Strawberry Fresh Cream from Savoury Fare today... brought a picture of her favourite toy which is a lion, and I overheard the auntie telling the baker that I wanted a picture of this "mouse" \clipart"uhoh"

PVL,
How much does your sleep-very-little Ben sleep nowadays?
I realise Soph always wakes up at the 9th hour in the night i.e. if she sleeps at 7pm, she'll wake up at 330am, and if she sleeps at 8pm, she'll wake up at 4+am... and she wants to play! Then I have to carry and pat her, tell her cannot disturb us, and let her roll around till she sleeps again.
Tried letting her cry it out... she ended up crying for 1+ hr, then nose was all blocked and throat phlegmy

So now she naps abotu 2-3 hours in the day, and at night only logs about 9-10 hrs of sleep!

huskie, hee.. lucky girl!
Haha.. I hope it turns out lion and not mouse!!

fatbabe, don't freak out lah. My friend's son was diagnosed as autistic but it turned out to be a wrong diagnosis, worry over nothing. It's just that he needs speech therapy.. for some reason he doesn't talk well. Don't worry lah.. ask his pd at the 13th month checkup lor.

gak, aiyoh don't go through so much trouble lah. If let's say huskie cannot make it this Sunday, then I'll meet you next Monday?

Anybody want to order a small amt from ON? My spree kaki dua me so me and cherryale are ordering
Email me quickly if you want to join yah? I'll order by 9am tomorrow.

Hi mummies, Ethan's got heat rash (that's what I think it is... haven't brought him to the doc's). Sianz... my prince is not handsome already :p Moreover he has been teething the last few days and is SUPER cranky and sticky!!! Argh!!! I want my sweet baby back!!!

Huskie, hehe, the lady very funny... lao hu, lao shu, xa xa fen bu chin chu
Wahaha

fatbabe, don't worry too much bah. I think it's still too early to determine anything. Our babies are still young. Whatever behaviours they exhibit now should not indicate whether they have/don't have autism I think. I remember watching this show on autistic kids and the mummy was saying that her child was such a happy and friendly baby when was younger so she never expected him to be autistic. Oi, you are my role model leh. Whenever I get overly obsess with my ethan I always tell myself to "kan kai" like you. Cause I like how you seem to be a very optimistic mummy. And how you don't just center your life around your little ones and just make parenting fun and easy for yourself. Now you also like dat... cannot lah

hello all

i long long time didnt post liao...though i wld come in to skim thru the posts when i online...

rachel,
congrats on arrival of jasper!! so u in confinement now lar... take care & rest well...

katie,
congrats!! wah.... really pei fu u gals so fast preg with 2nd one again... i dun dare think yet..haha..

winnie,
long time no see u liao... so how's life as sahm??

fatbabe,
ehh...fr the way u describe tyler, seems like my boy exhibits some of the actions also leh... dun worry too much... maybe is just a phase... like when my boy engrossed in watching tv, he wont respond when i call him also...

gak, huskie, catz,

i oso hope i dun worry too much..coz he's really quiet at times..as in even when he smile or luff hor..its no sound one le..at first i tot his ears got problem..but no signs of ear infection le..today i really spend one whole day wif him..chat and play..hopefully his "symptoms" will improve..

nana,
you hor v long nvr post le...tot you MIA liao...keke...how you celebrate ryan's and your bday ar??...nvr update..keke..or i miss liao?? sumtimes i also skim through the posts esp if weekdays...dead tired when i am home

winnie,
thanks for the comfort..yeah i oso trying to ask myself to calm down..juz now went to tell my mum..she oso say i should wait awhile more then assess tyler..

to share another secret of how to keep myself like a "cool mum"..wakkaka..

everytime when sumthing happen to my kids..rashes, vommiting, fever..anyting dats abnormal wif limited info on the internet..i will call kk ask-a-nurse hotline, the nurses will be like a "phone doc" to understand symptoms n see if you badly need to see a doc..
1900-556-8773..they charge 80c per min..but its reassuring whenever they say the condition dun warrant an emergency attention...

hope ethan's rashes will clear up soon!!...kekeke....if itchy, may wan to try calamine lotion...???

fatbabe,
my boy's & my bd ahh...just a quiet little affair with my hubby lor... can go read my boy's blog http://ryanchl.blogspot.com to know details... haha... then u wld know y so chiam.. just the 3 of us nia..cos initially at least wld have my parents also lor.. but well...
i bo organise big big party like the rest of u leh... so bad hor...keke..
ok gotta go zzz liao..
catch u online some other time... here or msn..& facebook...hahaha..

fatbabe

dun worry abt tyler being austism.. remember the gathering at rachel place, he is so smiley and happily playing with other babies. he can socialise, so definitely not austism. my cherish displays almost all signs and symptoms of austism too, but i think it is too early to tell.

fyi, my hb had austism when he was young..but now he is fine.

katie,

congrats !

huskie,
cherish is also a sleep very very little baby. same as sophie, she will wake up at wee hrs with bright eyes. sometimes i hear her clapping beside me , and sometimes she will come to me and bite my face. i tried all methods, ignore her,cry it out, but ended up she can drag till early morning. Normally i will give her milk, then stuff her pacifer and pillow, and i pretend to sleep , and hope that she will go to dreamland

fat_babe,
If you're concerned that Tyler might be autistic, it's good to have him checked out. It would put your mind at ease. Cos they will try to rule out other causes (like hearing impairment etc etc) before they actually diagnose autism. Early intervention is good. But then again, if he's OK socially, and not behind in his milestones, then there should be nothing to worry about. Every baby is different. Autism is real only if it affects the daily life of the child.

Catz,
Wow, your day sounds really crazy! Do you have to drop Beth off before sending Timo to school? No school bus for Timo? That could save you a lot of hassle.

gak,
I send Sarah to swim class at Pasir Ris Aranda - Roland Swim School. They also have classes for 6 months old. But like Catz, I also believe that waiting a bit longer is more worth it. As it is, Sarah, at 3 1/2 is still very uncoordinated. She can't do more than 1 instruction at a time (eg> swim with face down AND holding her hands straight in front of her at the same time) . Her classmate, who's going to be 5 soon is really progressing fast and went from being totally afraid of the water to looking really good when swimming. Sarah still looks ungainly and like she's drowning when she swims. But she loves to do somersaults in the water!

huskie,
I love Savoury Fare cakes too.
On average, Ben will sleep 10 hours at night, and another 3 hours in the day. Same as Sophie lah. I still ignore Ben if he wakes up at night, which he rarely does nowadays (and a lot of the time, I don't switch on the monitor anymore). Perhaps you should just ignore Sophie and let her cry it out for a few more days. She's old enough now. The earlier you do it, the better. It could just be a habit that she's waking up to play. Is she in her own room? That would make the cry it out easier. JMHO

fat babe
i dun think autism can be diagnosed so early right? but it's good to observe him more? n meanwhile u can read more into the issue... and a talk with ur pd on the next appt would be good

huskie
ekekke tell me if sop loves her birthday cake k? me still deciding..

nana
quiet affair can be cosy affair.. so long as it is done the way u want it to be ;P)

PVL, no, after seeing for myself how the school buses operate, I just cannot put him on the bus and have a clear conscience. Sigh. So yeah, it's rush hour jam with Timo and Beth howling away in the back. Today was ultimate.. both kids did poops in the morning. Beth did one in a clean diaper! Argh. They love to tekan their mommy. Don't worry about Sarah.. she'll get the knack of it soon. Timo also.. he can only do one thing at a time if he's underwater. Heeee...

fatbabe, actually I agree with PVL.. if you're really that worried, then get him checked out by a behavioural specialist at KK. Just put your mind at ease lor.. or at your next appt with your pd.

nana, actually a small cosy celebration is also very nice
But for me, hv to be fair since we did a big bash for Timothy. What to do? Both kids took so long to conceive... ultra precious mah...

stella,
So after you stuff Cherish with milk, pacifier and pillow, does she go back to dreamland or just play by herself till daylight when you wake up?
Must be siong on you to keep waking up in the night and go to work!

PVL,
I know I should put Soph in her own room to sleep soon... but the last few times I did it, she fell sick. Maybe cos her room is too cold.
Nothing I can do cos she cannot cleep in aircon room... gets blocked nose like my hubby.
Then even when I leave the window just 1 inch open, in the night it gets colder than aircon... I think that's how she fell sick the last time. Started sneezing, prob caught a chill, then bring to my friend's kid's BD party, kenna by the virus immed.
Close the window and turn on the fan and open her room door... still too stuffy.
Jialat!

smurfy,
Yeah, like PVL says, Savoury Fare cakes are GOOD!
http://www.savouryfare.com/
But they don't do 3-D cakes, cos uncle says sponge cake and fresh cream is too soft to hold the shape.
I decided that if I were to spend so much money on a cake, must make sure it tastes good, so settled for a 2D cake.
I'm celebrating her birthday earlier on 2 Feb, so will let you know.
When are you celebrating baby smurf's?

wow so many posts liao...

i also got something to announce... tsk tsk...
I now also same status as katie ;p actually wanted to say but scare patang... my edd is july
dun shock okie cos I also didn't know so fast. got one menses after bf then kenna liao

fat_babe, dun worry. jus try to monitor him. he was good at the gathering... doesn't look like aut.

huskie, stella, do u on any light in the rm for them when they sleep? I dun. so if zz wake up earlier (normally is my hb lar always wake up earlier then disturb him as he light sleeper), we just ignore him as he talk by himself. we dun go n attend to him till he scream really loudly. cos once he sees us, he wans us to play w him liao.

garfield~!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
u another one.. congrats...eeeeeeee how r u ppl going to manage.. i am going to faint if more mummies starting to announce hahhaaha

huskie
lil smurfy celebrating his birthday 26 n 27th Jan.. near his cheena birth date.

smurfy, i also didn't know i so fertile la. actually i aiming at 08 aug 08 hahahhaa... tat wat i tell hb... in the end, the bb arrive earlier ;p

garfield, wah you keep quiet for so long ah!!!! WIN ALREADY!
Congrats, congrats!

huskie, I use fan for Beth and I don't open the windows. Quite OK lah 'cos I blow the fan at her... not stuffy.

catz, hahaha yes i win... i try so hard to conceal... soemmore I fat so easier cos ple thot I fat mah! ;p

i also dun open window use fan quite ok.

garfield,
CONGRATS!!!

As for light, yep, I turn on a very dim floor light, cos I'm the one who needs it... I got nightblindness!

Catz,
You don't turn on aircon for Beth at night?
Hmm... maybe I should try it tonight!
Just that the old folks say cannot blow fan at baby directly leh, so I turn the fan and blow to wall, maybe that's why so stuffy.

smurfy,
Eh, lil smurfy celebrating his BD earlier than Soph leh... so even if cake is nice, then eh... you order for your next lil smurfy issit?

But I trust PVL lah... cos I ordered Soph's 1st mth fruit tarts from Savoury Fare... lovely!

huskie

it depends loh..sometimes she will zzz. sometimes she dun , and i will put her in the sarong(bad habit) to rock. luckily i only take care of her some of the weekday nights..so still bearable.

there are a few times that after she falls asleep, it is time for me to prepare for work.

garfield,
wow congrats, so u already preg during the xmas gathering?

i dun on any lights leh..but she still manage to wake up

garfield,
Aiyah! CONGRATS!!!! So exciting! Me.... no strike yet. Probably too old liao. Harder to strike. Never do it at the right time too.

huskie,
You could point the fan at sophie, but oscillate it. My kids sleep in aircon at 27˚C. No fan. I use the aircon cos I want to keep the windows closed. Our bedroom windows face the road, so I'm afraid that a noisy vehicle (and some ARE RACING DOWN THE ROAD!!) might wake them up or scare them.

I ordered Ben's 1st month walnut cake from SF. Nice and buttery, full of walnuts, no funny smell.

stella, quite xiong hor if u manage to put her to sleep then go n work...

yes i was already at the xmas gatherin.

huskie, i turn on fan but the fan will move but facing him so it not really direct.

huskie
keke the cakes, i think all of us have our own favorites lar, i will order frm PG, since i grow up with them (though i never eat those beautiful cakes from them, just the cheapo kinds).. no no next lil smurf so soon.. i just want to enjoy myself with QY now

fan/air con
i use the aircon when the weather is hot.. n fan when the weather is cooler or heavy rains (needs to close windows then).. dun wanna the little one to get used to sleeping ard in one kind of env. onli.. the fan's is in oscillating mode oso.. coz blowing direct is very cold..