(2007/02) February

Wow..seems like most of mummies here are spending alot on first birthday..

being a budget mom, cherish is also going to have a budget birthday party. I gonna diy most of the food , think will only order satay/otah/birthday cake.

stella, same here for food... hehe cos we have the same food -BBQ! hehe... anyway, i find our own marination of chicken wings nicer... hahah

smurfy, besides the bd direct stuff, I also source around for pooh stuff. then recently hb went to buy pooh theme tissues for deco. I bought some gifts for kids rgt? all the gifts are pooh theme 1. I got those gift bags also pooh pic. bought those from taka at offer price.

I tryin to find a pooh shirt for zz but till now, i find nothing nice. so tat a prob but if really cannot get, I will just let him wear others. dun wan to force to buy something i dun like.

winnie
tat brand is the one i got recently.. i find amosco elcairs better better..$100 is enough liao for free delivery

stella
u r good... can manage so much..

btw, regarding abt this type of BP and others selling via blogs, did u all see the newspaper today? they tell us not to buy in case it not hygenic. imagine the recnt prima deli case. even licensed also dangerous.

actually i got one website sent by my fren very nice cupcakes but not sure if it homemade and it looks like. do u all wan the link?

oic...

u wan the link... rather nice... but me still hesistating whether will shoot out of my budget though i didn't really keep track of my expenses! oops.

aiyo so disppointed... just now called babies inc abt their classes cos i got a free coupon to use anyway. they tell me have expired. my coupon state ends dec 2008!

they told me printing error. and they always print tat yr one only on march so which means 2008 coupons not out yet. and i find she like not v keen to tok to me too cos keep tokin to others there... not v good impression.

luckily i didn't pay for the coupons... only pay for postage.

wooo..

garfield,

if its me hor...i will make sure they let me use the coupons...coz its their printing error...not yours..and i will tell her off for being rude...

weird rite..they print these free coupons to draw more crowd..then now turn people down...

re: concourse wholesale party supplies
mommies
heard that concourse's getting a revamp or something so all the wholesalers would be moving out..
i'm not sure when, gotta check with my sis
(another concourse regular..keke)

huskie
yup..yup
must plan carefully

if u plan to start the "production" in April..that means u'll hv a 2009 baby hor

RACHEL
CONGRATS ON A SMOOTH DELIVERY!
Welcome to the club JASPER!

smurfy,
$5k a month is already quite good liao leh.
Like what Winnie says, make more spend more... make less spend less... just have to cut down on certain luxury items lor.

Here's an article on how to live frugally in Singapore, but of course doesn't include things like insurance, pocket money for parents etc.
http://www.helium.com/tm/772761/always-complains-expensive-singapore

But I agree on the part on having own money lah... till now, I still feel paiseh to ask hubby for any extra money, so have been digging into my savings!

stella,
I think you are wise not trading in your time with Cherish for more money! I'm sure Cherish will appreciate it.
As for toys, I've stopped buying toys for Soph too... realised that she's not interested in them at all... prefers to play with empty tissue and medicine boxes... and my portable vacuum cleaner!

garfield,
Babies Inc not nice lah... if they print wrongly, they should honor it leh.
Actually I find alot of these baby gym staff not very friendly... like Gymboree Tanglin also not friendly. Maybe they have more than enough business?
So far I only like TLG staff... find them very sincere.

Hey, can gimme the cupcake link to take a look?

good morning !

smurfy

aiyah..bbq food very simple, no need much preparation. at the most is marinate.

garfield

wat food do u intend to get for bbq? i very bad at organising bbq..can only think of those standard items. thot of getting prawns , but not cheap leh.

huskie,
sometimes i feel so inadequate for not able to provide cherish with more things , like baby classes. i am afraid that if(IF only) she has got some talent or interest in some areas and we are not able to groom her becos of money constraints, then i will feel very guilty.

as for toys, her toys are either cheapo pasar malam toys or containers. her big ticket items toys are bought using vouchers which i got from co d&d lucky draw.

hey stella,

dun feel bad about dat..by giving her your luv is oredi v good...

last time i used to think the same way too...coz i was way too broke after tyra's birth...she wears hands down till about 1yo..she oso played wif pasar malam toys...but no need to worry..coz they will all grow...the babies courses..it does not make a great deal till probably when they are 2-3yo on..

stella,

i agree with fat_babe, the most important is giving cherish your love and time. and based on my observation of chloe and after hearing from other mommies, my own parents and in-laws, i realize that babies really prefer cheap toys... maybe not even what we adults term as "toys". as long as the item is something new to them, light enough for them to move/swing/throw/wave it around and allows them to make some noise out of it, they will be fascinated and it will become their very own "toy".

chloe enjoys herself playing with the cereal boxes, clanging of small metal bowls (her way of making music), my hair clip, Tv remote control (one of her fav!!!), baskets (any type, big or small will really get her excited!) etc etc more than the toys we bought her. so whenever i am tempted to buy her a toy, i will consider the 'life spand' it will have under my daughter, before it gets chucked away with the rest! ;p

fat_babe, huskie, I told them it really stated 2008 and then she insist it printing error cos they dun print till march and now they also dun have the gym/music lessons as well. they say now holi season so they will only started march. then they call me to get those coupons sometime in march in mag or their fair. anyway, i dun think i will try them liao cos they r also not attentive n apologetc

stella, dun feel bad. in fact bb like our daily things like HP, remote, camera so I think they r easily contented. they jus wan yr love.

I dun think I will use prawn. prob sotong, chicken wings, corn, potato, pork chops, satay, otah, hot dogs. I will also prepare mifen.

good morning ladies,

stella, i also feel very bad that I cannot give my kids lots of material things... and it's made worse by the fact that my Dad resents it!!! He is super anti me being a SAHM
He thinks I should be out working and earning more $$ for the kids' eduction 'cos he expects us to send our kids for overseas education like what he did for us. Sigh.. my poor husband is doing the best he can lah but he's only an army officer... not earning anything like my dad. So it's quite a rotten feeling that my family expects me to be more well off but we're not lor

gak, long time no see babe!!

smurfy, pine garden cakes are good
Very stylo leh... Timo's first birthday cake was from there too and there were a lot of oohs and aahs. Taste is good too.

OK babes, I'm doing a Maidenform spree 'cos I'm going to stop breastfeeding already. Today Beth has her first formula feed..hope it goes well then I will proceed to drop the 11am feed, then 3pm feed over the next few days. All my old bras so kiam chye and don't fit me anymore.. so this is my reward..haha.. I love Maidenform bras 'cos they don't lose their shape and they fit so well and seamlessly. Plus they cost like SGD90 in Taka and Tangs... ridiculous!
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/590029/1189754.html?1199929232

Catz

i think our parents generation dont consider SAHM as a job.. to them it is just hsewife. even my colleagues dont think much abt sahm. when i tell them i hope to be one, they say why i want to be yellow face woman.

any ideas why remote control is their fav? coz we parents always using them and the kiddos are curious and amazed? QY basically obessed with fans! every where he goes, he points to the fan (ceiling fans, table fans, standing fans) and if it is not onz, he goes "wo-wo-wo-wo"... at home, he loves to hang out under the standing fan like a tarzan and is glued to the remote control for the fan.. and he loves some silly red basins now.. likes the way it spin and spin...

garfield/stella
try sambal stingray.. i think it is great.. cheaper than prawns, so soft n juicy n hot n spicy.. :p ohhh i love n miss bbqs.. try crabsticks with a layer on cheese on top as well.

gak
ehh tat study is biased.. hahahha they r one of the manufacturers for commerical bb foods

stella
U R oredi giving cherish the best.. unconditional love

gak and the rest of read-alot mummies
but the iron deficiency issue has always been on my mind... i knw this thing abt calcium prevents iron absorption.. so if i put in some cheese into QY's porridge mixed with his greens (some will be like spinach, broocoli, xiaobaichye,kailan, french beans, asparagus), does it means that the iron does not gets absorbed in at all?

then how about tofu? tofu oso contains calcium mah? so if i mix tofu with the greens again, the same problem will arise??

good morning!

stella/Huskie, A also doesnt like the expensive toys. In fact he prefers cheap stuff or home stuff, he also like to play with containers
so stella next time u bring cherish to my house, they can play together
I have stopped buying toys too, anyway, I also lack storage space to keep them

on family income, I think i said this before, it not how much we earn but how much we save. If we become SAHM, then of course must cut the frills.

I agree that a few days are sufficient to make the baby close to us. When I was on leave, by the 3rd day, A was closer to me already. In fact, we have never been that close since his birth. Now, still have to make an effort every morning and night (limited time cos he would be sleeping most of the time) to play and talk to him. On weekends, I spend all my time with him. Actually sometimes if I go out without him, I feel so guilty leaving him with the maid

skinnybabe/catz, actually i also dun want to spend so much but no choice. The bday party is also quite simple, just catering food but unfortunately we have to invite relatives and mil has a big clan
I really dun like it this way but I have no choice. In the end, hb and I can only invite 3 friends and their family each, so pathetic.

smurfy,
5K is quite a lot mah. Definitely enough to survive comfortably.

huskie,
My hb and I have a joint account. All his salary goes in there. All our spendings come from there. I handle the money matters at home. So I don't have to ask for any money. Both our ATMs access the account. This used to be my personal savings account. We converted it into a joint a/c. My hb still has his own personal savings a/c but he hardly touches it. It doesn't have much money in it anyhow. He withdrew most of it for his overseas studies.

Catz,Stella,
More material things means more clearing and cleaning up! I wish we had less.
Being a SAHM has much more rewards that cannot be replaced by $$$ lah. Catz, I think in time, your Dad will see this. My hb's mum is like that too. I think she looks down on us cos we live in HDB and don't spend on high class clothes and things (read "cannot afford to buy") like my hb's sister and BIL.
Our philosophy is that the kids must win their own scholarships if they want to study abroad! Hahahah!

Catz ah Catz,
My dad also feels the same way about SAHM... doesn't think SAHM is a full-time job!
He's not as well to do as your family, but maybe cos we've been through hard times before, he kept asking me when I'm going to stop bf, pass the baby to my mum to look after so I can go out to work and earn/save more money.

stella,
Don't feel inadequate! All babies wanna do now is have our love and learn how things work.
Ever wonder why babies don't like toys? They're made to be unbreakable, so after 1 minute of playing, banging, throwing it, the baby realises that it doesn't change at all... all it does is sing the same song over and over again if you press some button. That's no challenge at all yeah?
Nothing for the baby to learn except finger skills!
So I still think cheap boxes, containers, baskets and pasar malam toys are good enough!
I love those Pasar malam $1 simple toys like bells and balls etc

I line up my small empty mineral water bottles, then use a rubber ball to play "bowling" with my baby... doesn't cost me $5.90 for a bowling set!

PVL,
Haha, my MIL is also from the "elite" class just cos she speaks English all the time!
She always says "those Chinese educated" type are superstitious and this and that... so I'll defend them... nothing wrong with being Chinese educated leh. My mum never went to school, but taught herself to read and write Chinese and even speak English and Malay... she can read Chinese papers better than me who studied Chinese for 10yrs!

The joint account is something for me to think abuot. Currently we have a joint account, but the money in there is "untouchable" except for major stuff like reno/appliances etc.
Hubby gives me a certain sum every month which I use for my insurance, a bit of pocket money for my mum, telco expenses and daily household/grocery expenses. So during the months when a good friend gets married (angbao), or when I am stocking up on diapers, I get a bit dry!

HUskie

ccherish also self invented her bowling game. she discovered it accidently when she rowed her rubber ball and hit my bro pringcles potato chip canister,

so now i ask my bro not to throw away the cans and the cans became bowling pins. and sometimes i put some cubes inside and let her shake

Catz,
Are Pine Garden 3D cakes expensive?
Do you intend to feed Beth with her first birthday cake or is sweet cakey stuff still a no no?

As for maidenform bras, there are 2 pricing on their website - 1 is Retail price and 1 is Your Price. So the 25% off is a discount from "Your Price"?

stella,
Yeah lor... so you see, kids can find more fun in their own invented games.

Another thing I wanna play with Soph when she is older is papier mache. Just use cornstarch to make a glue, then use shredded newspapers to layer and dry them into whatever she wants to mold... then when dry and hard, can paint over it. This may be more fun than playdough

I used to layer the newspapers over an empty container like a Pepsi bottle, then make a piggy bank out of it to put my coins in it.
My hubby did this too, and made his own toy submarines and tanks.

Happy New Year!

looks like everyone is busy with bb 1st year birthday party!

Pine garden famous for what type of cake?

probably i'll have a small lunch / dinner at home with close frens and relatives to celebrate curtis 1st birthday ..

$$ is never enough ..

small budget can still make a good and warm celebration ..

hi girls,

hm... rgd my dad - he asked my mom to sacrifice and be a SAHM and yet he thinks it's a lowly job. find it so double standard that he thinks my mom (A level education) being a sahm is ok but it's not ok for his daughter.. not good enough. $#%^& so unfair to my mom right? i mean, she really is a fantastic mom and grandmom lor.. and yet he still looks down on sahm job.

pvl, so everything is from the joint ac? that is the ideal situation but i cannot be trusted..haha.. so husband banks in my monthly allowance.. if i run low, i suffer :p

tried giving Beth formula today.. alamak, she only took half an ounce and then refused food after that :p it's going to be a crazy day.

huskie, yah it's 25% off 'your price'.. good deal right? i love their t-back bra.. feeling sexy, i think it's called :p

Catz Catz,
OK, I sent you email on the bras

Very cheap compared to the M&S ones I normally wear and now the ugly nursing ones!

huskie, you sent the email? i haven't received it leh.. yes, i love maidenform lor.. the cups hold their shape well. can't believe that they sell them at $90 lor... nursing bras - don't even get me started! :p

ck
kekeke u r back ;)

ehh catz
u have not answered whether u r gonna let beth eats the birthday cake

Pine Gardens good for their oriential stuffs kekeke like the teochew wedding biscuits etc.. kekeke ..NO lar, along the yrs they got famous with the blackforest cakes.. then their creations like what stella say lychee martini cakes etc

stella,
Yeah, the lychee martini is nice, but eh, babies cannot take martini leh, then also cannot take chocolate so cannto order black forest... how huh?

Catz,
Yeah, I used to buy lots of Maidenform in the US factory outlets

Eh, how come Beth is taking 11am milk feed? I thought according to GF, that should be the solids-no-milk feed?

Yeah, can 1 yr old eat birthday cake or should I bake a small sugarless cupcake specially for her?

huskie

my gal is a mini rubbish bin. she eats choc chips cookie at my mum place..haiz

most prob i will order a hello kitty cake from polar.

smurfy, huskie, no way is my daughter eating any cake! heee..

huskie, yeah I know no 11am feed but i usually just top off her food with a boob

cupcake divinity couldn't take my orders so I ordered Timo's ELmo birthday cupcakes from Fairani at perfectfrosting.multiply.com

catz
kekeke i oredi guessed ur answer! me still thinking... dun u think they r soooOooOoO poor things.. the birthday ger/boy, yet cannot touch their own birthday cake?

huskie
hahaha so u r another one oso thinking abt the same issue ar? tell me ur decision hor?

bad things never come alone.. geez, yesterday i said no to china next week. just now asked to go india's two facilities with boss after CNY spending at least 5 wrk days each.. n they r back to back.. meaning to say have to spend weekend there... told boss me can only go for one facility... sianz.. more trips in the next few mths...i dun think i am mentally or financially prepared to stay at home all day (n if i do so hor, i think everything i will go over to my mum's place hahahhaa)... but must find a quick way out soon.. after the india's and before another.... any lobangs for part time job?

garfield
i have not been doing so.. coz just after getting tis job, i got pregnant.. now i got no excuse.. and i oso dun wanna to go anywhere now... no other ways to escape UNLESS I GET PREGNANT AGAIN? wahhahaha. jokes aside.. i think i really gotta find a quick way out ... i am doing safety job,.. just tat my boss covers regional and i am his onli direct subordinate...

Smurfy! I also dread biz travelling! But bopian, need to go to china wif my boss next week. This morning just went china embassy to do my visa. Hubby just told me he is leaving for china too next monday, so gotta leave my baby wif my aunty for a few days next week.

Re: birthday cake. I think i will let YX try a bit of her bday cake lah. A bit shd be ok bah...

Stella, i have sent u an email. Pls check!

Catz... Very tempted to order more from maidenform. But my order wif another mummy not yet here and i not sure the size fits me well. So next time maybe...

hey,

was reading the postings and went to look at Neogardens website. They do min 15 pax, so I'm considering them now.
Anyone tried them before? Is it good?

As for cake, I'm getting Ice Cream cake. Haven't decided where. Either Savoury Fare or Angie's.

gog, u there? I decided to be a slave part time adjunct to MOE again. 3/4 load, 21 periods and co-FT. I miss my pay!

I've started studying too. Taking my ACCA now.

chocobabe
neogardens mini buffet is good... cheap and safe choice..
get the chicken curry n ask for more gravy... (n buy ur own french loaf to dip).. the sweet n sour fish is also nice.. the deluxe pork ribs oso good...

garfield
i read ur blog.. n saw the name.. then recall i read abt him somewhere.. kekeke i love his beautiful locks..

jas
dot dot dot.. both u n hb not ard? how many work days r u involve?

so farnee...juz celebrated tyler's first lunar birdae wif my own family..9 of us..home cook food & cake...

..hehe..
tyler suprised me by eating a whole plum..think he tot its a ball..then after plunging his teeth into it..so juicy...he managed to finish!!..hahaha...darn gross..coz the juice was dripping all over..he seems the prefer the plum rather than his very first bdae cake.

Being a SAHM is like a full time job..its a high calling! Highest calling for a woman with children..I dare to say..haha..me very idealistic lah.

Catz..U going to stop bf? Serious? My nursing n home bras also like kiam chye..hahaha! I wanted to grab some nice on sale ones those w/o underwire from La Senza but no time to shop so far.

Sian..jus when I want to wean Yael, he started refusing formula..apparently he has developed the ever so amazing sense of TASTE of wat is nice n wat is not..I gave him formula together with bf when he was newborn up to recently..he jus doesnt want to drink fm anymore..n he also doesnt want his pacifier!!! So when he is in suckling mood, he insists on having my boobs! But I try to be very firm..he can only feed..no suckle..but sometimes he will try to lift my blouse n peek from the top too..haha..this fellow really something.

charis, yael is so cute. I actually miss BF... hahaha but anyway, it really tiring when pumping.

fat_babe, tyler is also many actions too hor.

yesterday i also laugh when I tok to zz over the phone. instead of replying, he burped rather loudly! hahahha he was having his meal time.

stella,
Cherish sounds sooo cute! Bowling game! Ben is still into the dropping things and saying "uh-oh" game.

Catz, Huskie,
Yes, we just have that one active account. EVERYTHING comes out of there. His money is my money. Hehehehe. I control the chequebook and the credit cards. (Believe it or not, my hb does not have a credit card) We are both not spendthrift, so there's no worries. My hb tends to spend on books, but that's OK lah. He only buys books related to his field of study. Not excessive. When the savings get enough, I would take a lump sum out and invest it. Saving for our next car or other big ticket items