(2007/01) Jan

Icy,
U can follow Joy's mum advice for cleaning the stroller. Vinegar works just as well.. I bought a Disney removable cushion padding for my gal cos i find tat its more comfy and more hygienic. I wash the cushion on a weekly basis.. Can show it to you when u come over to collect the playpen..

Taken from: http://www.pre-eclampsia.co.uk/eclamp.html

Pre-eclampsia is the most common of the serious complications of pregnancy. It is caused by a defect in the placenta, which joins mother and baby and supplies the baby with nutrients and oxygen from the mother's blood. Pre-eclampsia is symptom-less in the early stages and is detectable only by regular antenatal checks on the mother's blood pressure and urine.

In its widest forms, pre-eclampsia affects about one in 10 pregnancies overall and one in 50 pregnancies severely. Pre-eclampsia can be very serious and is still responsible for the deaths of between three and five women a year as well as between 500 and 600 babies.

It is potentially life-threatening to mother and baby if allowed to develop and progress undetected.

Pre-eclampsia is curable only by delivery, which puts some babies at risk of death from prematurity. Pre-eclampsia cannot be predicted, reliably prevented or treated to allow the pregnancy to continue. Although first identified more than 150 years ago, its prime cause remains unknown.

Who is most at risk?

Most at risk are first-time mothers; the over-40s; those with a BMI over 35; women with a family history of pre-eclampsia; where it is ten years or more since a last baby; those suffering from high blood pressure, diabetes or kidney disease; those carrying more than one baby and those who have had it before.

What are the signs?

High blood pressure, protein in the urine and in some cases severe swelling (oedema) in the mother and, sometimes, poor growth in the baby - all of which should be detected by routine ante-natal checks.

The size of the global problem.

Pre-eclampsia is a massive problem throughout the globe. Every year pre-eclampsia is developed by between 1.5 and 8 million women. Of these women, approximately 150,000 have eclamptic convulsions. It is believed that, conservatively, between 40,000 and 60,000 women die each year and approximately 12% of their babies die within the first month. Globally, pre-eclampsia is associated with approximately 4,000,000 growth restricted babies.

Icy,
I was so busy wf the Neurogain BP tat I have no time to show u the pic of my playpen. Will post the pic for u to see by Fri can?!

icy, I heard about that before...something to do with high blood pressure is it, joy's mum? My boss's wife got that so got to deliver earlier.

The information is not to scare anyone, but just let everyone be aware that such a problem does exist and do alert your gynae if you suspect anything.

Joy's mum - thanks, I'll check it out at these places.

IcyLemon - too troublesome to sell, will just give you if you want. Bought it from Kiddy Palace but never used. It's light light yellow with cute cartoons on it. Just let me know if you are interested.

Ashley_mom,
Have u checked out Kiddy Palace? They have a wide range of cot mattress (different size and thickness) to choose from..

Icy, fingers numb is common? When I complained of numb fingers, I was subjected to alot of tests immediately. Maybe the system here is different or the signs they look out for are different.

Mummies.... dun worry so much if there is numbness in yr hands....It is A VERY COMMON THING during pregnancy.

Dr Adrain has re-assured Icylemon that it is common....asked her not to worry.

Read the article below:

Why am I having tingling and numbness in my hands during pregnancy?
These sensations are most likely caused by carpal tunnel syndrome. Although you probably associate this condition with people whose jobs require repetitive hand movements (such as data processors, computer programmers, and assembly-line workers), it's also more prevalent in pregnant women.

Symptoms may include numbness, tingling, burning, pain, or a dull ache in the fingers, hand, wrist, and even up the arm to the shoulder. In severe chronic cases, your hand may feel clumsy or weak.

Symptoms usually affect both hands and can appear at any time, but they're more likely to begin or worsen in the second half of pregnancy when women tend to retain more fluid. The symptoms usually go away gradually after you give birth, as the swelling from pregnancy subsides.

What causes carpal tunnel syndrome during pregnancy?
The carpal tunnel is a bony canal formed by the wrist bones on three sides and a ligament that runs across the wrist on the other. The swelling and fluid retention that's so common during pregnancy can increase the pressure in this relatively narrow and inflexible space, compressing the median nerve that runs through it.

The median nerve gives sensation to the thumb and the index, middle, and half of the ring finger and is responsible for movement of a muscle at the base of the thumb. Pressure on this nerve is what causes the symptoms.

What can I do to relieve the pain?
If possible, avoid any activity that requires forceful, repetitive hand movements. Although these movements may not have caused your carpal tunnel syndrome, they can make your symptoms worse.

If your job requires this kind of movement and you must continue it, consider wearing wrist or hand braces while you work.

If you're working at a computer, adjust the height of your chair so your wrists aren't bent downward as you type. Using a special ergonomic keyboard can help in some cases. Remember to take breaks to stretch your hands.

If your symptoms bother you at night, shift your sleeping position and try to prop up your arm with a pillow or two when you feel the twinges. Avoid sleeping on your hands. If you wake up with pain, try shaking your hands until the pain or numbness goes away.

If you have a lot of discomfort at night, try stabilizing your wrist in a neutral position (not bent) with a splint or brace. A neutral position allows the carpal tunnel to be slightly wider.

Practicing yoga can help relieve the pain and increase hand strength. You may have heard that taking extra vitamin B6 can help, but two small clinical trials have shown no immediate benefit from this treatment.

Serrich,

Same as yours, only can feel the movement like a throbbing or flutter in my stomach, sometimes can even differentiate whether it is due to my windy tummy or real baby movement leh... Hee.. May I know that how mummies here feel the baby movement??

For MTB need to book from TMC, can call this no : 62514090. I have already made a booking, on every friday, start fm Oct.

No, I'm having my detailed scan that day.
Will you be going to town anytime? If so, can see if I happen to be in town also. Alternatively, if no hurry, I can pass to you when I go back my mum's place in Boon Lay during weekends (but can't confirm when going back yet). We can meet at Jurong Point or Jurong West area.

evelyn i feel my bb kicking ard my pubic hair area. hahaha.. sometimes.. but sometimes she can dun moved for 1 whole day.

mummies do u encounter the same?

I can feel baby movement quite strongly these 2 weeks but hubby still can't feel the movement from outside. Gynae said hubby won't feel the exterior movement until another few weeks when the kicks get stronger. Am currently 21 weeks.

I have seen my cousin having numbness during her 2 pregnancy.
Worst of all, she is a hairdresser, so can't go to work.

My friends did suffer from numbness too...

But all these numbness come & go till she gave birth. Just got to bear with it. It is a common thing here.

Joy's mum...thanks for sharing the information too. Guess it is really a different practice from other countries. Eg: my friend who gave birth in US was asking for epidural to ease the pain, but the midwife refuses to give it to her....they classified epidural as DRUGS. She cried & cried for 23 hrs without any pain killer given to her.
But here in Singapore.... all nurses or gynea will ask you to take epidural. It is like asking you to use it and don't 'waste' it since it is available for you...

<font color="ff6000">Icylemon</font>, for mine, the positions change every now and then but mostly concentrated on the right. Yes, I can feel tingling sensations and sometimes thumping movements in my pubic area. Sometimes, these can be felt like 4cm below my boobs. Quite surprised that the BBs can reach so high. SOmetimes, near navel area also. There may be certain periods of the day that all's quiet, but there're bound to be movements everyday.

bbmilk, in US, in order to get epidural, you need to state it clearly in your birth plan. If you did not state it in your birth plan, they will assume you do not want drugs and will refuse you no matter how you beg, or curse and swear at the nurses or midwives.

I remember I was in so much pain I screamed at the midwife "you f**king b*tch! make the pain go away!" over and over again. And the midwife could still smile at me after the whole ordeal was over and said "you did a great job".

<font color="0000ff">Blue</font><font color="aa00aa">grapes</font>, I couldn't sleep this morning, after waking up at 430am to pee. Like you, also apprehensive about the detailed scan. Nevertheless, all the best. Think you &amp; hubby will have a great time watching your little girl and her antics!

Icylemon - may go back this Sun evening coz hubby usually pick up my mum on Sun nights. Will confirm again. Do PM me your mobile so I can contact you easily

<font color="ff0000">AletheaT</font>, u r finally in!
I very excited. Waiting for time to past! You update us later ok? All the best to you too!!!

Yah, same here..my baby can thump movements juz below my boobs!! Amazing that they can reach so high up. My baby kicks me day and night. Only quiet for certain periods of the day. Wonder how come she doesn't need to sleep much nowadays.

alethea oh ya.. today is ur detail scan too. remember to update us. so gan cheong for u. LONG FENG TAI!! LONG FENG TAI!!

<font color="aa00aa">MUMMIES</font>, am going off for detail scan now. *fingers crossed* Update you all later!
Have a nice day ya?! Take care!!

<font color="ff0000">AletheaT</font>, good luck to you too!!

Oh dear, but if not, try to be happy for me too, k! Thanks, BB_Milk, Icy &amp; Janey!
So long as they're both healthy and happy BBs, I have much to be thankful already.

bbmilk,

finally found a better doc... should have done it long time ago man..

he gave me: an eye drops, 2 kinds of nose spray, nose cream (cos internal nose all bleeding n peeling), flu tablets(piriton), antibiotics (mild ones.. got to eat cos i got nose infection)

After using the nose spray.. i finally can breathe normally..

On &amp; Off.... can I get the nose spray fm normal GP? what is the brand of the nose spray.

My currently 'worst' symptom is nose bleeding. Think got to see my specialist again to burn away the blood vessels on my right nose. But then... it is another few hundreds flying away.... sigh

Morning all...

busy with work this morning.

Have fun at your detailed scans, Alethea and bluegrapes! Remember to update us!

alethea, bluegrapes, keep us updated. it's heartwarming to see the baby moving around during the detailed scan :D

joy_mom, i agree too that we shouldn't be always resting on bed etc after delivery. 3-5 days of rest to allow to stitches to heal should be sufficient, after that need to move about to reduce our fats. however i still prefer to have a massage lady as i'll have to return to sch around 3 months after delivery, dun want to be a "walking meatball" by then.
zenn, mi too read a few, saw mdm rohaya and mdm naini seems quite gd according to some threads, but charges pretty ex. i find that for "susi", thr's always a post by a certain person on "promoting" her in any of these massage threads...bit weird.

janey, rest more, hope u feeling better

icy, bb_milk, think the best is to check with gynae, only then we will be assured i guess.

re GD test: urine tests were normal, baby growth etc, but still need to take the test? is it because during the blood test i took earlier got prob (low count in platelets and hameglobin)? had to take a 2nd time for the blood test. heard that if anything related to blood during delivery (blood transfusion, blood specialist etc) will sum up the bill to quite high? i still take some sweet stuffs but dun dare to eat too much/drink ribena everyday when im dizzy

bbmilk,
the nose spray is given by normal GP lor.. my brother also using this for his sensitive nose..
something start w F... i need to go check back home.. this only spray B4 bedtime..

doc give me another nose spray, got to spray day n night.. but this one i think more strong.. cos i am only allow to use for 5 days..

Yah, most of my movement will around my navel and pubic area...Hee.. think baby likes to move around in the womb..Sometimes too quiet will make me so worried what's going on