(2007/01) Jan

zenn, izzit?
wahaha! so got company liao..
kekeke...

mrs wong, thank for the info... think will separate the bill too..

icylemon, alethea, looking for me?

Zenn:
Ya, new born babies need to feed every 2-3 hourly. if bf, they will get hungry easier cos bm very watery one. After feed, still need to change diaper. Then bb will slp. but before you know it, the same routine need to start again. So need to have good helper around.
For my first gal, i did not breast feed directly. I express out milk. So basically i just pump milk and rest. Occasionally will carry bb. My mil will change diaper and take care of the rest for me. but if i not too tired i will help out too. My job then was to pump milk more than anything else. So you will feel like cow....*moo*moo*.

As in losing weight, i think it helps for me. I put on 18kg throughout the entire preg. But after delivery and bf, i lost about 14kg in 2 weeks. But after that the 4kg just stay on.

Iceblue, yar, I just went Taka fair during lunch. Saw the Pigeon steriliser. Should I get the $87 one or $129 one (bundled promo)? Icylemon advised to skip the warmer cos' the old traditional method of warming will suffice. That's what my colleagues said also. U leh? Which one did u buy?

hi all! I am back from my detailed scan and appt.
Confirmed I am having a princess!

icylemom, I did try the chart, for my son is not accurate, for my gal is accurate.

Baby is fine, now at 20 weeks, 2 days, weight is 361g.
Very active during the scan too.
My weight gain to-date is 1.9kg. Thought I put on a lot but I think not. Gynae says baby a bit plump based on the abdominal measurement (but within normal range)...but shouldn't worry about dieting now cos it's still too early...say baby could be developing faster now...unless in 3rd trimester if baby is too big then I will have to start dieting. :p She say I din gain much weight thus shouldn't be overeating. But now must try to cut down on sugar and maybe starchy food.

Sherl, pls help to update the chart.

Alethea, your description v farnie!! but it does happen! I saw it on discovery channel, some african tribe, the women carry their baby in sarongs while they work in the fields...when baby hungry they just toss their breast over to baby to suckle!!! *SHOCK*

preg2a2ndone, ur description also farnie...got sound effect some more *moo!!* i wish i will be a cow...cos it means free milk and optimum nutrition for baby

Mrs Wong,
To breast feed take a lot of determination. I only managed to feed my gal for 3 months. After go back to work, no time to pump cos too busy with work. Once your demand drop, supply also drop. so hubby and i feel that 3 months should be ok. but for this preg, i will try my very best to continue for at least 6-8 months. We also got to watch our diet. it has to be nutritious otherwise breast feed also no use.

Impt to note for BF: supply of milk = demand. The more you demand, the more you get.

Mrs Wong,
Yes i will be meeting you. Hubby gg back to fetch maid and gal now.. You give me a call when u are there! I have replied ur email leow ley.. Just nw super busy wf work ley so cant pop in..

Re Bfg:
It will help our uterus to shrink back to the normal size more easily. I bfg my gal for 8 mths thou i manage to shed most fat, i still gained 4kg (manage to lose 14kgs) and i still cant get rid of my flabby tummy. Think if i didnt do the Indonesian massage and bf my gal, i will look like a pig lor..

Alethea/Janey/Zenn,
Ur tummy very obvious leow? My colleagues commented that mine looks rather small at 18 weeks gestation ley..

Aqua, congrats! U r very li4 hai4! Can get a boy and a girl, perfect combi! If I were your hubby, I will be overjoyed!

Since MJ is mentioned, is any of you particularly sensitive to loud nosies now? Sometimes during meetings, when everybody starts talking, my ears will ring and heart beats faster and I try to move away from the sources. Even when my hubby talks too loudly over the phone when I'm beside him in the car, I've to wind down my window. Last time didn't feel it so bad leh. Dunno if it's the BBs protesting inside cos' heard they don't like loud noises.

A Chinese walks into a bank in New York City and asks for the loan officer.
He tells the loan officer that he is going to Taiwan on business for two weeks
and needs to borrow $5,000. The bank officer tells him that the bank will need
some form of security for the loan. So the Chinese hands over the keys to a new
Ferrari parked on the street in front of the bank. He produces the title and
everything checks out. The loan officer agrees to accept the car as collateral
for the loan.

The bank's president and its officers all enjoy a good laugh at the Chinese for
using a $250,000 Ferrari as collateral against a $5,000 loan. An employee of
the bank then drives the Ferrari into the bank's underground secured garage and
parks it there. Two weeks later, the Chinese returns, repays the $5,000 and the
interest, which comes to $15.41.

The loan officer says, "Sir, we are very happy to have had your business,
and this transaction has worked out very nicely, but we are a little puzzled.
While you were away, we checked you out and found that you are a
multi-millionaire. What puzzles us is, why would you bother to borrow
$5,000?"

The Chinese replies: "Where else in New York City can I park my car for
two
weeks for only $15.41 and expect it to be there when I return?"

Ah, the mind of the Chinese...

The 1st Affair:

A married man was having an affair with his secretary.

One day they went her place and made love all afternoon. Exhausted, they
fell asleep and woke up at 8 PM.

The man hurriedly dressed and told his lover to take his shoes outside and
rub them in the grass and dirt.

He put on his shoes and drove home.

"Where have you been?" his wife demanded.

"I can't lie to you," he replied, "I'm having an affair with my
secretary.
We had sex all afternoon."

"You lying woof woof!

You've been playing golf!"

The 2nd Affair:

A middle-aged couple had two beautiful daughters but always talked about
having a son.

They decided to try one last time for the son they always wanted.

The wife got pregnant and delivered a healthy baby boy.

The joyful father rushed to the nursery to see his new son.

He was horrified at the ugliest child he had ever seen.

He told his wife, "There's no way I can be the father of this baby. Look
at
the two beautiful daughters I fathered! Have you been fooling around behind
my back?"

The wife smiled sweetly and replied, "Not this time!"

The 3th Affair:

A woman was in bed with her lover when she heard her husband opening the
front door.

"Hurry," she said, "stand in the corner."

She rubbed baby oil all over him, then dusted him with talcum powder.

"Don't move until I tell you," she said. "Pretend you're a
statue."

"What's this?" the husband inquired as he entered the room.

"Oh it's a statue." she replied. "The Smith's bought one and I
liked it so
much I got one for us, too."

No more was said, not even when they went to bed.

Around 2 AM the husband got up, went to the kitchen and returned with a
sandwich and a beer.

"Here," he said to the statue, "have this. I stood like that for
two days
at the Smith's and nobody offered me a damned thing."

The 4th Affair:

A man walked into a cafe, went to the bar and ordered a beer.

"Certainly, Sir, that'll be one cent."

"One Cent?" the man thought.

He glanced at the menu and asked, "How much for a nice juicy steak and a
bottle of wine?"

"A nickel," the barman replied.

"A nickel?" exclaimed the man. "Where's the guy who owns this
place?"

The bartender replied, "Upstairs, with my wife."

The man asked, "What's he doing upstairs with your wife?"

The bartender replied,

"The same thing I'm doing to his business down here."

The 5th Affair:

Jake was dying. His wife sat at the bedside.

He looked up and said weakly, "I have something I must confess."

"There's no need to," his wife replied.

"No," he insisted, "I want to die in peace. I slept with your
sister, your
best friend, her best friend, and your mother!"

"I know, I know," she replied. "Now just rest and let the poison
work."

A mini bus break down on a highway & a jaguar stopped by "Hey i can help tow u to the nearest station for repair... Honk if i am going too fast!"

So the jaguar start towing the mini bus & out of nowhere, a ferrari stomped to the side of the jaguar & soon, a race begins..

The jaguar & ferrari are racing at top speed down the highway neck to neck & the poor mini bus was so afraid tat he start honking at the jaguar to slow down.

A traffic police saw wat happened & report to his office.

"Sir, you wouldnt believe wat i saw!!! A jaguar & ferrari are racing down the highway & a mini bus was behind them honking at them to let it pass!"

fyi : I gave birth in March 06 in TMC. I stayed in 1 bedder for 4D3N Elective LSCS with Spinal. My total cash paid (plus hubby and daughter) was ard $2k.

Serrich, nice to see you and your gal last nite...your gal v cute lei...can't let go of her bag...

I tink Zenn talking about the maid's preference indicated in the biodata. If I din recall wrongly, 1 means like it the most, 6 means dun like it the most.

For me my order of choosing maid was:
1. Childcare
2. Cooking
3. Housework
4. Animal/pet care
5. Plants
6. Elderly

Me glutton, impt is a maid tt cooks well cos I hafta eat what she cooks everyday!

Thanks Mrs wong! Any idea whats the usual Agency Fee? Their loan is fixed at 7-9 mths?

Btw I know it's common to have free upgrade from 4 to 2 bedded in TMC. How abt from 2 to single bedded? Anyone beside Iceblue came across?

I have a BRAND NEW Tiny Love Symphony-in-Motion Mobile which was purchased recently for sale. I realised that the mobile does not fit my playpen. It suits a cot better. The box has been open. Other than that, everything is left intact. My friend said the musical mobile has helped her child to sleep. It's definitely a good purchase!

I am selling the mobile for $90 (a discount of $9). Please email me at [email protected]. Self-collection at Hougang Street 51.

Hi all, i'm new here.
Just curious, cos i'm really young and kinda scared to breastfeed(they say ur breast will sag and go out of shape :S) Are there any disadvantages to formulae milk?

Mrs Wong,
Nice to meet u too!! U are so slim, dun look preggie at all ley!!

Orh so zenn is curious to know abt the preference we have when looking at the biodata.. For me childcare and housework is priority.. The rest i wasnt that much bothered wf..

Zenn,
I paid $488($288-maid wf exp, $200-post-dated cheques to repay maids' loan over 8 mths) for the agency fees.

snow,
I breastfeed my gal for 8 mths but my breasts didnt really sagged lor. Even if it did sagged, it's prob not very obvious.. But my nipples have grown bigger, not sure if its due to breastfeeding/expressing milk..

Snow, so far what I have heard is that the younger you are, the lesser the chance of your breasts sagging, especially if you take proper care (eg. good bra support throughout pregnancy and lactation).

Anyway, if you realli wanna compare formula vs BM, it will be a v long explanation. The 3 main things that i bear in mind to motivate myself is:

1. BM is OPTIMUM nutrition. mummy's breasts will get all necessary nutrients from mummy's body to give baby at the appropriate age. Which means BM changes as the baby grows older. No need to worry about when to change to a formula suitable for older kids. no need to worry about diarrhea cos your baby not used to the new formula. No need to worry abt allergies to the formula.
Plus dunnid to worry about overfeeding.

2. BM is FREE. Why waste money on formula when you can get free milk? Plus formula is not cheap at all!! My niece (6 mths) gets around S$200++ worth of milk every month. That money can be saved or can be used elsewhere easily!

3. BM will help your baby grow stronger = LESS VISITS TO DOCTOR = SAVE $$$ = LESS HEARTACHE (v heartpain to see your baby sick and suffering, even if it is just the normal cold and cough!)
Esp if you intend to send your kid to childcare later on, best to develop a strong immunity

Serrich, my hubby now on a mission to fatten me ar.......lucky my mum say shouldnt put on too much weight, just enough will do
heeheeheee...

Zenn, agency fee is my mum pay for us lei....if i not wrong, is S$88 (agency fee)...then e rest is post-dated cheques to return the loan...

Went maid shopping today. Shortlisted a few and like to hear your opinion :

1) Age 24, single - Worked in saudi for 2 yrs and have experience taking care of 1 and 2 yrs old kid.

2) Age 22, single - worked in spore for 2 yrs and have experience taking care of 20mth and new born baby

3) Age 24, married - worked in indonesia for 2 yrs and have experience taking care of 3 yr old kid

4) Age 24, single - no working experience except own hse and experience taking care of niece from new born till 1 yr old

My priority is to take care of new born baby. The x spore is ideal however I am worried she would have become 'too smart'. My sis comments x saudi is good as its very strict there. Any comments?

serrich, does ur maid has overseas working exp?

mrs wong, ur agency fee is cheap! usually for post dated chq, the fee starts from $288 or $388

Thanks for the replies

I am only 18, and gotta return to sch 3 months after delivery. Besides breast sagging, my guy and mom are afraid the baby may not get used to not having bm when i have to return to sch, and the stresses to cope with it, thus going more for fm. I'll be due on jan 8 and it's nice to see many advises and stuffs going on this forum

Mrs Wong,
You also pro bfg huh? How long do u target to bf ur bb?

Judging from your size, i doubt u will put on alot. So no worries lah.. Even if u did, i am sure u will lose those extras very fast..

Zenn,
Are there more for you to choose from? I think it will be good to get a maid who is married wf kids. They are usually more focus on earning $$ for their children so less likely to fool ard. Is it true tat x saudi employers are very strict?? I have never heard of this ley. Some SG employers may be very strict as well..

My maid has worked in SG for 3 years before. Her ex-employer lives in a semi-d. Her main job is to take care of the elderly folks. Thou she is married wf 2 children, her parents are the one taking care of them cos she came to SG to work... It was then i know that she has no exp in taking care of newborn/toddler.. Anyway my mil has trained her quite well lah. She now knows how to bathe my gal, cook her porridge, etc..

My maid is quite fluent in English. She can understand Mandarin and Hokkien as well. So we gotto be careful wf wat we say abt her, etc.. She is considered very smart for an Indo maid lah.. Sometimes just like to act blur lor which made me super pissed.. Cos when i ask her she will just say dunno instead of admitting her mistake etc.. At least she didnt give me much pbms for now..

heh iceblue thanks
how old are the MTBs here?

Serrich
I used to have an Indo maid who worked for 3 years, first 2 years was excellent, until the 3rd year when we renewed her contract; she would "go to the market"(15 mins walk from my house) for 3-4 hrs, suddenly got handphone(whatever she used is provided by us, did not take any $$ from her salary), became very gossipy also. Few times when we weren't at home, she brought some "friends" back and once my dad came back early to spotcheck her and found it. After my parents sent her back, we found this cigar packet used by banglas under the tv table in my parent's room; how gross-_-

Hi serrich,
Wow so late still online? Re the x saudi, my sis was told by some agency when she did her maid shopping the. Think becos saudi is very tradition and strict country.

How old is ur maid? The x spore is 1.6m tall. Issit true that it's better not shorter than us one (cos I am only around 1.63m)? Yes there are some more but either no new born exp or look not shun yen.

Hi snow,
Welcome! Beside mrs wong, think most mummies range from mid 20s to 36.

Ya most maid become 'smart' after in spore in 2 yrs that's y I m hold back of the x spore maid tho she has exp taking care of new born.

Hi Zenn, you shopping for maid now? My hubby and I considering hiring maid instead of babysitter. Still considering...if MIL can commit for 18 months, then we will look for a maid. Maybe next time meet up can check with you on your 'findings'.

Zenn, Saudis are v rich. Usually they have more than 1 maid, which means tt maid may have working experience, but may not be able to handle everything on her own cos she is used to having other maids to help out. I had an Indon ex-Saudi maid, alot of problems. Plus she insisted on fasting during Ramadan when she had to do physical work everyday!!

my personal advice is get ex-malaysia cos culture-wise is closer to us. and make sure the maid is the only maid in the household during her employment there.

Anyway now still early, ask for more to take a look at. No hurry.

Snow, my fren also returned to her studies ard 3 mths after she gave birth. She is still breastfeeding her 14mth son

She is studying in uni, so her timetable was quite flexi. She latch on when she's home. When she is not home, her MIL will give expressed milk, which my fren expresses before she leaves home.

Just to let you know, as long as your baby know how to drink from bottle, usually they will take on formula milk quite well. Cos formula milk is actually more tasty than breastmilk. As long as they know how to drink from bottle, should not be a problem. This can be trained by you expressing your milk and let your hubby feed baby to let baby get used to bottle feeding during the first 3 mths

Serrich, BM is best
I'm pro breastfeeding, tt's one of my main reasons for choosing TMC to deliver, cos the nurses there are v v v v pro-bf, plus they have superb lactation support.

I intend to feed for as long as possible. Now in midst of discussing with boss if it is possible for me to take unpaid leave for 1yr then take PT for another 1 yr so that can spend more time with baby.

But i die die will try to BF minimum 6mths (recommended guideline by WHO). Just in case I dun have BM, I found someone who is willing to spare extra BM

Today my hubby kept feeding me. Early morning gave me breakfast. Then 2 hours later give me 1 big bowl of noodles. Lunch we went to eat buffet. tea break ate durians and other fruits. dinner ate rendang, assam fish head and yong tau fu. now snacking on dried fruits

If everyday eat like this, I will have to join slimming centre after I give birth.

Hi aquarius, ya shopped until dilemma now haha

Mrs wong, ya imagine the x saudi previous owner has 10 rooms! she sleeped at 2am n wake up at 5am. My col's maid is x saudi n so far not much problem lah. Anyway today I went maid shopping again n found one x msia which I quite like too. Waiting for agency to cfm if she has bb experience.

Btw, the recent new pending ruling on compulsory 1 day off - any idea issit from MOM or embassby? Cos some told me as long as book b4 15 sep, we will still follow old ruling but some told me its not by MOM so not necessary to follow. -blur-

aquarius, diff agency ve diff rates. for non overseas exp, agency fee cheapest is $68 and quite a few $88. Some even higher. As for wif overseas exp, usually agency is around $268 or $288.

Unless higher end agency fee, if not usually you have to pay around $60 for the course fee and some requires you to pay $25 for thump print (most agencies would ve includes this). Optional ins range around $100 tho some slightly cheaper. Maid loan usually 7-9 mths of their pay.

<font color="ff6000">Snow,</font>
Wow u are so young!! Not to worry abt not being able to cope wf ur studies if u wanna bf ur bb. U can let your baby take expressed breastmilk when u are in school and then latch bb when u are home. It's such a pity that my gal refused to latch on directly after bfg her for 4 mths. Since then she has been taking EBM till 8 mths old.. Those extra EBMs i will let her use it for bathe as a moisturing lotion. I am sure u can succeed in bfg! Dun fret out k?! We are here to support and help one another.. :)

<font color="ff6000">Zenn,</font>
Yah i just returned from supper ley tats y still awake at tat time.. Kekeke..

My maid is 28 years old.. She is shorter than me lah but i didnt take her wt &amp; ht into much consideration then. I just wanna make sure she's physically healthy (based on wt and ht).. Not too thin or fat type lah..

Must consider carefully before u choose the maid lah.. If u not happy wf this batch then wait for the next batch lor. I am quite sure, there will be more to choose from.. No need to rush since u still have time.. Sometimes also depends a lot on ur luck whether u can get a good one or nt. U cant tell if a person is really good or nt, sincere and hardworking based on the biodata provided on the papers lah..

<font color="ff6000">Mrs Wong,</font>
Yah I also quite pro bfg lor. This time round i target to bf my bb for 8 mths! Kekeke.. if i can manage i intend to bf for as long as possible!

I am so envious of u ley.. Hubby dote on u so much!! My hubby showed more concern when i was expecting my #1 ley. Now he like bo chap bo chap one.. Kekeke.. Maybe the first one he was very excited lor..

U dun worry too much lah.. U so petite will surely lose ur excess quite fast one.. Wont need to join slimming centre lah. Anyway if u really intend to bfg then u should not go on diet! Cos wat u eat is wat the bb gg to get from the BM mah..

<font color="ff6000">Aquarius,</font>
Will be good for u if ur MIL can commit for 18 mths. At least she can supervise the maid if she's not in good health to handle ur bb..

Tat time i was also not keen to get a maid.. Have some conflicts when we initally shared maid wf my sil.. Finally my hubby decided to take over the maid thou i was very agst the idea.. Cos i felt so restrictive at home.. Imagine I used to walk ard in home in my lingerie and i can bathe w/o closing toilet/MBR door, etc.. Since the maid stayed wf us, our lifestyle has changed quite a fair bit lor.. And worst is we do nt have a safe or locker at home!

I ever had the sinful tot of letting maid stay at my pils initially but they do not have spare room and my hubby was agst the idea.. He felt that it was our pbm (since the maid is ours and she is taking care of our gal) so I cant be so selfish to impose on his brothers and parents.

Anyway i am so used to it now.. Thou my lingeries are now rotting in the wardrobe.. We now live in a circle of trust lor.. My hubby still leave his $$ lying ard the house, so is our coin bank, etc.. So far, my maid is still in the circle of trust lah.. Haven found any cash or jewelry missing yet. And I also hope that this wont happen lor. Otherwise i will be truly disappointed wf her cos we are quite chin chay lah.. Sometimes she will just on the tv and switch to suria channel while she is patting my gal to sleep. We are also fine wf it so long as she has done her housework lor. Everytime i complaint to my hubby abt her, my hubby will take her side and ask me to be more considerate.. It's very tough &amp; "ke lian" for them to travel overseas to work so we cannot be too demanding, etc.. Hear his preaching until i damn sian.. So i have learnt to close 1 eye leow lor..