(2007/01) Jan

serrich, I do encounter the leakage problem too though not often...but I tried pigeon for a while and at times also will have slight leakage...I think it's a common problem?

Kate, regarding the food warmer, I personally dun realli like the idea. Cos saw how it works, it is the same as using traditional way to heat up food. Plus the price dun justify lei...

one more thing to be careful is that cos it is convenient for you to put something into the food warmer, you may forget and leave it there for too long. the food or milk might have turned bad and you dunno...

Milderina, normal price for the $71 Avent breastpump is $89.90.

Serrich, wah your hubby too is a fan of Eric Cantona!

Icylemon, I agree with Aquarius, if worried, best to go see gynae to get peace of mind. Cos being worried all the time doesnt help also...

yah, icylemon, why not go see your gynae to have a peace of mind. Else you will be worrying day in day out till your next checkup

bluegrapes...I bought my food warmer at $15 during a sale I think...but not those well known brand. kekeke...but in the end never use lor.

Bluegrapes, maybe when baby born le and can borrow from someone to try out then decide from there. Cos I'm doing tt for breastpump...still cant decide which one to get cos i get mixed views for the different types of breast pumps...so shall wait till give birth le then slowly go try out

My hubby was quite cheeky and said he can try it out on himself to see if the suction power good or not :p

Aquarius,
I also dunno if its a common pbm ley.. My fren using Pigeon bottles said she dun have such a pbm ley.. Anyway i gg to continue to let my gal use Avent bottles lah..

bluegrapes,
Hubby brought me to JB shop for maternity wear but i find their maternity wear pretty ex ley.. So i'd rather come back to SG to buy if i want..

Milderina,
Depends on what type of breast pump u intend to get.. Single manual pump, single electric pump or dual electric pump? I will prob be getting the Ameda dual electric since I have personally tried it before and find it value for $$.

I bought Maclaren Techno Classic for my gal. I find it very good. Sturdy and firm, easy to manoeuvre. The only - pt is Maclaren strollers does not come with a stroller bar in front.

Icylemon,
Dun worry too much, your bb will be fine. Bu zhi ze wu zui mah..

Aquarius, yes you are rite. Errr forgotten to find out whats the amt when book cos I think loan only when the maid is here.

Serrich, now for those maid who ve nv been in spore, they are required to go for a security course.

kate,

For me I thought the bottle warmer is quite necessary because I intend to TBF, so sometimes will be feeding bb EBM from freezer, then need to warm up. Also hubby pointed out that there will be sometimes when the bb refuse to drink at first, then you got to place the bottle on a warmer until bb wants to drink. But last time how our mums did it is just place the bottle in a pot of hot water, think that works as well, just that I find the bottle warmer better.

Alethea,
My impressions of the major brands of strollers:

Reasonable pricing (i.e. lower end)
Combi - very light, TOO light! Worried that bb will topple the stroller when older.
Lucky Baby/Capella - Not bad. Initial choice for us because the model we liked (Petit Optima Air) actually has a lot of features at a very low price. But qualitywise not comparable to the more established brands. Minus point is that it's not really individually handleable, so if you're bringing bb out alone, you may want to get something else.

Mid-price:
Graco - Most of their models are too heavy and bulky. However, there are a couple of newer models with smaller wheels and more lightweight as well. Surprisingly not that expensive. And easy to pack and assemble also.

High-end:
Aprica - Very good quality, but I can't help feeling that you're paying a couple of hundred for the brand name leh. Compare Aprica to Graco, think I rather pay for Graco. But you can really open and close Aprica strollers with one hand. Slightly easier to handle than Graco.

Quinny - NICE! But hubby and MIL dun like 3-wheelers. Also think it's a bit bulky.

Wholesalers/agents:
Aprisin - for Aprica and Graco. located at Tagore Lane (Upper Thomson area)
www.aprisin.com.sg

Baby Hypermart - Think it's for Peg Perago and Maxi Cosi/Quinny. Located at Kaki Bukit.

bluegrapes,

It's ok, thanks! Yeah, surprisingly things in KL not that cheap hor? Think only stuff like diapers and wipes are cheaper. For all we know they may actually get their stroller/sterilizer stock from Sg, so it's actually cheaper over here. Kekekekkekekekke

serrich and aquarius, is avent bottle hard to suck?

icy, actually this morn when the contractors came, i was around taking the photo of our cabinets. abit worried too.

hi zenn, my son dun have any difficulty with Avent bottles...been using it since birth.
Thanks for the info on the maid. That means need to put aside at least $2k for this?

Icylemon, dun worry too much, your baby should be ok one...this sat's check up is detailed scan or routine check up? Btw I went to both Eastshore and TMC's detailed scan...TMC's detailed scan room is definitely much smaller than Eastshore's

Zenn,
U so funni!! I have nvr tried sucking from Avent bottles before so i cant confirm.. Hahahaha... Ok, put my mischief aside.. I dont think its difficult cos there are different teats size. So u just use whichever is suitable for ur bb lor. Of crse newborn must use the smallest size lah..

Mrs Wong,
Ur hubby so funni, willing to try out the breastpump for u.. Tell him not to in case he suffers from sore nipples.. Hahaha..

Re food/milk warmer:
I think it will be quite useful to get a food warmer if u intend to breastfeed your bb for a period of time. I have a Philips food warmer which really comes in handy.. I just need to heat up the cold ebm using the warmer before i give it to my gal. If my gal refuse to finish the milk, i can still put it in the warmer in case she decided to finish up the milk say 30min - 1hr later. I have tried using the conventional mtd of heating the milk using hot water in a mug.. Its very tedious cos of the need to replace the hot water to keep the milk warm.. Just my 2 cents worth..

mummies does your baby moved everytime?? the last time i feel bb's moving is last thursday. these few days like no movement le.

icylemon, dun worry *pat pat*

Sherl, you mentioned that Graco has a couple of newer models with smaller wheels and more lightweight. Which model is it ah?

zenn, I thought taking photos of cabinet should be ok as long as they are not shifted.

aquarius, no problem. think total around $2.6k.

serrich, alamak see if ur gal got problem sucking mah heeee

icylemon, cos i still bend down to take photos.

bluegrapes, they shifted everything in my living room but i stayed inside the room when they do the shifting

icy and janey, i dun feel bb move too!

Actually hor i dun wan to buy advent breast pump one leh, but c all like getting very tempted. cos advent breast pump can only use for advent bottles, i wan to buy those cute cute bottles leh. hee hee............

btw, that day i was reading Motherhood, and they wrote that breastfeeding babies dun need to drink water.

Mildy, maunual pumps tend to take some time and by then, your hands will be very sore from the repetitive movements. If u intend to BF when u're back at work, advise u to get the dual electric ones.

janey, bluegrapes & zenn i tot i will be able to feel the movement more. tats why got abit worried why lately dun feel any movements.

zenn yours is shifting of living room furniture. mine is shifting of the master bed. tats why i m worried. heard some old folks said cannot moved master bed de.

milderina okie.. ; )

mummies both janey & i sometimes feel our tummy abit of pain, then will sometimes abit itchy itchy. do you all feel tat too?? the pain is very mild de.. abt 1 - 2 sec only.

icylemon,

me too will feel itchy, but not at the tummy area..at the breast line there..dunno why.

perhaps caused by the stretching?

Mildy, dunno leh. Must go Taka to check it out. But usually, I hear good stuff about Medela and Ameda, more so for the former. Think I'll be getting that.

Icylemon, yah, just a pull or a tug here and there. My tummy has been itching (the abdominal area or 2 cm below my navel. A lot of rashes there. Must ask my gynae why like that. SOme more, I don't dare to apply any ointment, only BB powder, so hard to recover.

Preg, then it's ok for other rooms? I really need to get some furniture out of the spare room to convert into BB room leh. So long as I get out of the house when my hubby and bro-in-law shirt the furniture, can?

Icylemon, at first i can feel some dull pain whenever i hear loud music, tot what happen...

then gynae told us tt it is baby kicking me in protest...heehee...now he likes to stick his foot at my bladder, so i can feel a dull pain at the bladder...

Milderina,
I agree wf Alethea. If u are very pro bfg and determine abt it, best to get dual electric one. The highly recommended ones are Medela PIS and Ameda dual eletric. The dual eletric one can also be used for tandem pumping. Really worthwhile to get it..

Milderina, Avent electric breastpump cost $200 plus. Dual one tink $799. that's wat i ask the sales girl that time at the taka bb fair.

AletheaT:

That should be fine. Cos my hubby did some shifting when i preg with my elder gal. I went shopping while they shift. My preg was ok.

According to my MIL, most important is the master bed room and the bed. Even my bb bed was set up after i deliver while resting in hospital.

This is how pan tang it can be. But better to believe.

Icylemon/Mrs Wong,
I can also feel the pain every now and then.. The feeling is rather uncomfortable ley.. Sometimes i can feel bb moving so vigorously that i feel like doing biz ley.. No wonder my gynae said my bb loves to do indian dance!

Serrich/aletheat/kate,
but i thinking of only feeding breast milk for the first 3 mths, so i should get the manual one?

may i know which part of your tummy do u ladies ussually feel the baby kicks.

Serrich/aletheat/kate,
but i thinking of only feeding breast milk for the first 3 mths, so i should get the manual one?

may i know which part of your tummy do u ladies ussually feel the baby kicks.

Mildy, like that ar, then better to borrow from frens. But why only the 1st 3 months? Once you've started and there's sufficient BF, I'm sure u'll be very motivated to carry on with it.

Mine is the part just below the navel, at the side.

Aletheat,
cos hor after i come back to work its very hard for mi to carry on as my company not very friendly to nursing mum. all the rooms are in glasses............and no nursing rooms.

my baby kicked also below the naval but mostly in the middle.