(2007/01) Jan

Sometimes I wonder why they don't educate us about folic acid in school or something. It's a simple pill, that is cheap and easily available and yet so important to baby's formation. They should actually let women know about this. By the time alot of women know they are pregnant it may be too late.

Folic acid is supposed to cut the risk of spina bifida by as much as 70%. So please start eating it once you think you want to try for a baby.

bluegrapes... *shy shy* kekeke....

aquarius i really dun know tat folic acid is so impt. i always tot is juz a small yellow little pill. but i only started to eat folic acid once i know i m pregnant. GP gave me the folic acid.

yes yes... food.. the hawker ctr @ "4 horse road".. yum yum...

autum, thanks for sharing the info. you really let me know the importance of taking folic acid. but i hope my baby will be ok. coz only start to take folic acid when i m pregnant only.

autum,
yeap, I also din know abt this until i start to get pregnant. This time ard, I actually ate 6 mths of folic acid before ttc again.I also start advising my friends to do so..

icylemon, please don't let me scare you.

folic acid is also found in the normal foods that we eat like dark green vegetables and meats. if you are the type who always eat healthily, then even if you don't take the folic acid pills, it's ok.

autum i m a veg lover oso a meat eater.. pork, chicken & beef... healthy food.. eating raw fish pretty often leh.. not too healthy food will be like laksa, bbq fish & satay.

share with you mummies something... i was even on diet pills when i didnt know i was 4 weeks pregnant. hope nothing happened to my bb.

I going off too.
bye everyone, cya tomorrow.

Wow $49.90 for 2 tops are very cheap! I paid around $50 for top from novena sq.

icylemon, so sweet of you! Big thank you!

Autum, I am sorry to hear that. I know its not easy but since now there is a new life, pls be strong and positive k? Feel free to share here if you are down. Perhaps we cant do much but at least we can lend u our ears

i also eat alot of raw fish...but am veggie lover.

zenn, cheap hor? I very surprised to know $49.90 for 2 tops..i definitely going down!

i also going off now..bye bye everyone! Yak tmr!

ladies, just to check. since now having GSS, anyone thinking of stocking up some baby stuff like milk bottles and clothing? or izzit better to wait till year end sale??

oso, for the maternity wear, sinc now wifey not working, she thinking of just get some clothing from those shop that sells bigger size clothing.
the price there is much cheaper. any comment?

Zenn,
U sick too? Well, i'm still sick as well... still having the flu... if you are not having flu like us, maybe the recovery rate is faster.... btw, i ate 20 panadol in 3 days leh.... very terrible. Feeling so guilty... but fever leh... bo pian. Now i start to have cough.... seem not very gd, think maybe will endure until sat, then think to see doc again not. You take care, must drink more water lor....

bluegrphes/ Sherl/iceylemon,
I think my yolk sac oso getting very small and like disapearing. The other time when the gynae explain the scan pic to me, told me that the yolk sac will be gone once the placenta take over. Now I'm into week 12 to 13 soon, so maybe that's y like can;t see it liao. The girls mentioned their getting bigger like banana or heart shape... that one is not the yolk sac, that's the waterbag next time, where you bb is inside?? Maybe....

Icylemon,
Dind't put on much weight at all. In fact i'm oso under BMI b4 preg one.... so far... no growing like that, oways tell my sis, me tummy like no showing leh... Y huh?

Talking abt guan yin temple, i oso go there when i knew i am preg, but stop awhile when my MS get worst.... can;t realy go out. Think I hvae not been going out anywhere for 2 mths liao.... this weekend i think should be able to source ard for some clothes. I wore jean to office too.... but it start to get tighter too

Btw, anyone start bird nest already? I heard it should be taken only 5th mth onward.... is it true?? Hubby wanted to buy.... but duno want to eat not....

Autum, welcome! Stay positive ok, though I know it's very difficult... And congratulations on your pregnancy!

iceblue, I would suggest getting at least some maternity wear for wearing outdoors, coz big-sized clothings not meant for maternity wear might make the mummy look frumpy... Coz the cutting of maternity wear is actually very different from big-sized clothing... At first when hubby and I saw GSS we were very tempted to shop for bb also, but then we reasoned that actually Singapore has sales almost all year round, esp if you are waiting for Robinson's/JL's mega sale at Expo - think that happens at least once every half year? And no point getting earlier coz we got not much space to store (I'm living with my ILs.. 7 people crammed in 1 5-room flat...) I'm planning to shop during my 2nd trimester, when I should be in the best condition to shop, heheheh.

icylemon, I didn't put on much weight (in fact this visit I lost 0.6kg, think it's due to my decreased food intake because no appetite). But my tummy is very obvious, belly button already starting to become shallow
. Hubby says maybe it's because I'm on the thin side... (my BMI around 17-18+).

msn_queen, thanks for the info!
Wah, you still sick ah? Anything the doc can give you to speed up recovery? Antibiotics?

Morning everyone! I was crawling through the various threads last nite on the different gynaes and have sort of narrow down to 2.

Dr HK Ho at Mt. A
Dr. Jocelyn Wong at TMC

Not quite sure who to go to. My last round I went to TMC, and I don't know if it will bring back painful memories of everything. Kind of icky.

Hi Sherl, seems that you are using Dr HK Ho, how do you find him?

good morning mummies...

haiz... last nite was not a easy nite for me.. feeling so uncomfortable... esp the chest area.. something suck there cannot come out... didnt take my dnr too.. has any1 encounter tat before?

Hi all, i m back from 2 days mc for having running nose. This thread is moving super fast! As recommended by my fren who is a GP, I also started taking folic acid ard 4-5 mths b4 i pregnant.

I had done my NT scan on wed at TMC... costs $99.75 ($95+5% GST). The scan is very detailed n can see the baby for quite a while... my baby is 7 cm at week 12+. My husband was there too, he got so excited to see the baby in detail and asked the staff whether can see the sex of the baby.... too bad, still too early to tell. According to the staff, the result is ok. So more or less not so worry liao.

hi pinky

i m abit scare leh.. seems like some of u here started taking folic acid very much earlier b4 preggie. i didnt... *sob sob*

i m be doing NT scan too next friday @ TMC. so the staff will let you know the result on the spot har. i m abit worried leh. wah.. 7cm @ 12 week.. big baby leh... last week i was at my 10 week, my bb only 4.28.. i est. this week bb is abt 5.5cm... maybe next week ard 6.5cm only... yours already 7cm... wow!!

icylemon, is it nausea? Did you eat something before that? How you feeling this morning?

sherl, i was contemplating whether to buy bb's stuff. After reading your post, decide to wait. U r right lor, there are always Robinson's/JL's mega sale at Expo half yearly.

msn_queen, you better take care too. Intaking too much panadol is not good. Maybe try using ice water to wipe yourself. It sends shiver down your spine but it helps!!

pinky, NT scan not considered at detailed scan yet right? I having my NT scan at my next apppointment. Really look forward to it.

U also sick. Drink more water and take care.

Hi Autum,

You have the same two choices as I did, heehee. I also narrowed my choices to these two doctors but went to Dr Ho in the end coz 1) I wanna give birth at Mt A (sentimental - I was born there) and 2) Everyone on his thread raved about his stitching skills and experience. I didn't go to Dr Wong at all coz after my first visit to Dr Ho I found him ok, so decided to stick to him.

Actually I think my hubby gets along better with Dr Ho than I do, hahahahaha! My hubby also thinks Dr Ho talks to him more than he does to me, but probably it's coz my hubby is more friendly and willing to ask questions while I am more reserved. Now they actually make small talk about work and life during our visits! But the good thing about Dr Ho is that if you have questions to ask him he will definitely answer them patiently, we don't get the feeling that he's dying to chase us out of the room or something.

I definitely feel confident about his experience and skills from my personal interaction with him. I started off with mixed feelings about him at first because for my first two visits he was always telling me about risk for miscarriage and all that (think coz I'm quite a naughty mummy and he didn't feel I was being serious enough about this pregnancy thing) but now things are improving as my pregnancy stablises. I think he's quite a cautious doctor too - I had a jab at my first visit because I had a bit of brown discharge a couple of days before that, and I'm on duphaston since (three times a day - till now still no reduction of dosage).

One thing about Dr Ho though is that his fees are rather costly. Each visit on average costs about $169 (inclusive consultation, urine test, u/scan, medicine) and you can only take up the package from 5th month onwards (which only covers scheduled visits and does not include vitamins and medcines). First visit is more expensive coz consultation and u/scan calculated at higher rate (my bill came up to over $200).

bluegrapes now feeling abit better le. it seems like i will feel that esp at night only leh.. wonder wat is really wrong with me. haiz...

sherl & bluegrapes.. i think we can start slowly getting bb's stuff. i bought some bb's hankerchiefs, booties, some bb stuff leh... but i think things like sterliser or breast pump should get later esp all these comes with warranty de... so dun buy so early.

icylemon

not to worry... your baby should be fine!
In fact, my baby is measuring oni 3.9 cm during week 11. So mayb yours will be bigger than mine when u do your NT scan.

Actually, the staff din tell me the result on the spot, but me and my hubby kept asking her whether the result is ok, what is the reading etc, she then explained to me that if the reading is above 2.5 cm, then there is a risk... n my reading is 1.8 cm. I had a fren who also went to do the NT at TMC on 5 June. The staff din tell her much, just said the result will be sent to her gynae and she will get to know it during her next appointment with the gynae.

icylemon,

Don't be scared... What's over is over liao, you must look forward ok? I also didn't take folic acid before pregnancy... was only taking GNC's prenatal formula a couple from week 2/3 onwards, which contains 800mcg of folic acid, but also a potentially toxic amount of vit A (stopped after being advised by gynae's nurses to stop immediately) Baby can be perfectly healthy even on mummy's normal diet, just that nutritional supplements help to increase the chances, that's all.

pinky i really hope the staff will at least released some info abt my bb on the spot... my NT scan on 7 jul, gynae's appt on 10 jul... 3 days away.. cannot wait for the results liao... ;P

blue grapes

NT scan is not realli a detailed scan. however its more detailed than our usual scan by our gynae... we can get to see our baby's nose, mouth, eyes,etc for quite a while as compared to when we had it done by our gynae.

icylemon,

Actually think my mummy has been stocking up on her grandchild's toys... hahahha... My baby already has one complete set of alphabet wooden trains, one set of training chopsticks and one set of handicraft books....

Hi icylemon, i notice we have the same gynae and our edd is jsut 5 days apart. i m taking the NT scan on 3july and seeing dr adrian on 10july at cck. do u live in cck also?

icylemon,

Gotta go back and check my mummy bible again, but think during 1st tri not advisable? after that not sure whetehr can or not...

Hi Sherl, thanks for the detailed feedback on Dr. Ho. Hmm, seems that he is a bit expensive.. I will mull over it and discuss with my HB then see how. thanks anyway for the info.

Icylemon, don't worry so much about folic and your past diet pills. I agree with Sherl, what's over is over, got to look forward and hope for the best.

Icylemon,
its ok i didnt took my folic acid till i know i am preggy too.

its not advisable to do rebonding and colouring during 1st and 2nd trimester due to the chemicals.

I have asked my gynae about it. She advised me NOT to highlight and rebond my hair cos I had the intention to do so. Better be safe than to be sorry since you juz need to endure for the next 6 months. This might concern baby's health in a life long term.

milderina & bluegrapes.. guess i got to tahan until next year march liao.. cant do anything during confinement period too... haiz..

ladies, pls dun go n highlight or rebond ur help. not to scare you, i have a frd who is in her 2nd trimester, only went salon to wash her head, she lost her bb. duno why also... so better be careful when we go facial or salon.

Err..I cut my hair in my week 6 of pregnancy but no wash. I asked the hair dresser not to apply anything on my hair. I think juz solely cut is ok bah...

think cut shd be ok.. go home n wash yourselves lor.. cozs my frd went to wash her hair.. things juz happen.