2006/2007-Twins/Triplets MTBs

Enj,
Call Gleneagles and ask for their rates table (or package or whatever they term it) for multiples. We are not entitled to standard maternity packages. Mommy and each baby is charged separately for everything during your hospital stay after delivery, so do your calculation by getting the rates first. I delivered at TMC, so not sure about GE's charges. But I did a summary of charges at TMC before my delivery last year. You can use it as reference if you want.

Here it is: <center><table border=1><tr><td>
mime_msexcel.gif
tmc rates tlb
TMC Twins Maternity Packages.xls (17.4 k)</td></tr></table></center>

Twinsmom,
Nice to hear frm you again! Glad you tried the control crying method. Listen, we cant have it perfect at the first try. Dont give up ok
Am also glad you got support from your hubby too!

EnJ,
Hope you are feeling better now. Maybe you shd start speaking to your gynae abt your birth plan & wishes. Hopefully your gynae is supportive of a natural birth or at least lets you try as you mention.
Some gynaes just think that it is a waste of time wt a natural birth as they have no control over the time if compared to a C-sect where all can be done is 15mins or so!

Wow! Your 1-night stay is sure expensive. Have you spoken wt the admission staff at Glen E? Maybe they can give you an estimate for twins delivery. I wld be worried too if I was in your shoes.

Ah Da,
My backaches started at 20wks. To help ease the pain, I go swimming or just have a bath (but not too hot ah!). Hubby also help to give lower back massages before I sleep. I had to watch my posture. Try to minimise walking over long distances as that wont help either.

Blessedone,
Not to be disrespectful to your mom but I think you shd do what is best for your kids. If you think that they wld be more comfortable wt fans blowing directly at them, do so! Explain to your mom the situation. At the end of the day, they are your kids.

My kids also sleep wt the fan blowing directly at them but oscillating. But I start them off wt the aircon on just to cool the room down & switch it off after. Occasionally, we leave the aircon on thru the night when weather gets bad
kao_smile2.gif

Betty,
These few days I've been shopping around to complete my shopping list. Full of ENERGY when I was outside, but my battery run flat when return home. Intend to go to the Singapore Expo Fair this weekend. Think I have finished almost 90% of my shopping task. Next, have to tidy the room and wash all the newly bought clothings. Last few nite, have experienced very painful cramp once.
It's my 1st time, also not sure is this contraction.Never had such painful xpereince b4.Think have to let DR know when see him. So far, do you have such encounter?

hi mommies, have been reading the posts whenever i have time. i can put my 2 cents worth on the stem cell thing as i put my twins on it. but now i only have a few mins to be online. shall write more later..

need help: went to PD last friday and doc say my girl is not putting on weight, she has lost more than expected. i so worried, doc say to put her on supp feed of 30ml, aside from latching on. she doesn't latch on properly
she is impatient and only catches the nipple instead of the whole thing
now seem like my boy also like that since intro the bottle for the supp feed
is it really cos of the bottle teat?

what is the weight they should be at day 10? they also not pooping/peeing enuf.. from what i know must be at least 8 diaper change, they only at 3-5 leh..
i so worried, and mil also have to put her 2 cents worth in all the time, i bawled today, like my milk also not enuf for the 2 of them..

Ah Da,
My backaches came and went. I had very irritating nerve pains that went down my leg from my back too. It comes from the uterus growing and pinching the nerves. Hot showers or a hot pack help if you can stand the heat. I found that pre-natal pilates helped too. I wish I could still take those classes but I wasn't allowed to after 28 weeks because I had occasional contractions.

Mooch, hang in there. I know it's easier said than done, but the more upset you get, the less your milk will be. Give them what you have and don't see it as a failure to supplement. At the end of the day, as long as you get your babies growing, that's the goal achieved!

hi mommies, thanks for all the well wishes, its been a crazy 10 days since i delivered..

for stem cell, i put my two babies on cord life the one that is accredited by TMC, apparantly they will take the cord blodd test already, if dun work, they will refund all monies..

for doctor and delivery, i delivered in TMC, and the package is for twins, different from the one they normally give out, and my doc fee was separate tho under one bill. my doc charge me about $3k+ for C section twin babies.

feeling down today, my babies like put their mouth on the nipple then pull out and cry, why? when they pull out, i pinch my nipple and milk come out, so means milk is there mah, why they still cranky?

mil and mom giving me up to my limit on their this thing can do, that thing cannot do, why you do like this... can't they jus be granny's and come spoil the kids? i think post natal depression is caused by all these grannies instead of actual babies..

Hi Stacy

I have cramps everyday, but not to the extent of 3 - 4 times an hour. Once I had a rather bad one, but I think is due to me getting off bed in a wrong position..

Wah, I haven't finished my shopping yet! Not really in the mood to shop leh. Just want to stay at home and laze around. :p Must really get off my lazy bum and start decorating the kids' room. :p

okeanosmao,
Aw dear, they are having fear? Did u bring them to the pd? Just relax, do all that u can and time will fly soon, things will get better

blessdone,
I too on the aircon to cool the room down if its a hot day other wise ceiling fan
Hey watch out what they are wearing on a hot day if they are in fan cos its no good to put babies in hot temp.

sasha,
yep yep, want to start once i get mil and mum out of my house keke...
If that also doesnt work i will try the gradual withdrawal method

mooch,
I thot the babies will lose weight during the first two week??? Your pd said not putting on weight? My twins both lost about 200 g each in two weeks and i was told its perfectly normal.

About the BF, do u hav a LC? The lactation consultant in kkh taught me how to latch them correctly and ever since both my boys can latch very well. However, I did not breast feed more than two months
. I had a lot of milk but my mil confused me and drove me to stop BF. My boys used to cry for milk very frequently during the initial weeks so mil would say, "are u sure u got milk? then how come they are crying? U better put them on FM so that we can see how much they are drinking" each time she said that i will feel very demoralised and feel like giving up but i supp FM. Mil insisted that they drink FM first then BM, end up my second one started to refuse my breast and then only my first one was drinking all the BM, soon he had colic and i was blamed for that, she would say that its becos of what i eat and what i din eat (she will cook all kinda things and ask me to eat and will not let me eat any fruits or vege) Since it was so stressful and i wasnt in a position to stop her help, I stopped breastfeeding. I pumped out a lot of milk and threw away (heart pain). Now i regret stopping BFeeding my first one. since then we changed 4 different FM for him and nothing suits him. He used love BM. Too bad its too late i guess
Does anyone know whether we can get back Milk supply again???

Mooch please dont give up ok, u decide whats best for ur babies. The first few months are crazy months dont think it will be like this forever. Things wil change soon k? About ur bby latching and crying my first one did that while bottle fed and he was said to have colic by my pd, but i m not sure why ur little one is crying, try to sit in a quiet and dark place to feed, stroke and talk to her in a soothing voice (this helps with my boy sometimes)

Try and breast feed them as much as possible.

Call me tonite after 10 if u need to talk to me k? i will have to give their night feed at 9.45 pm

hi EnJ, thanx for the encouragement, i really somtimes wanna jus lock my house and not let anyone in.. but can't lah.. i will hang on for sake of my babies..

best_twins, thanks for the advice. i saw a LC that came by my room when i was still in hospital, she said their latching on was ok. but when i got home then my girl started put in and take out, and cry.. today the boy started it. i scared is cos of the bottle feed. see, when they were in the hospital, cos their blood sugar went down a little, doc said to supp feed them a 20ml after BF when still in hospital. when back athome, i still did the same, when met PD check up last week, he said, naturally they will lose weight, but my girl weight loss is a bit much. her weight should be at least 100gram more than what she was. so PD ask me to BF then supp feed 30ml per baby and with bottle ok. started 2 days ago, my girl started her put in and take out and cry, last nite my boy did the same. i wonder why?

but since i got home, my girl always had a problem latching on, she only catches teh nipple then suck, not bothering to grab the areola. and becos of that, i have a cracked nipple on my left side, and bleed. been putting avent cream since. my boy no problem latching on, only since last nite the put in take out and cry thing.

so now that we are home, still can go see LC ah? i really wanna BF lah, but i feel sad everytime they seem like dun want me.

how many time are we suppose to pump ah? and when? i feel like if i pump, i scared when time for their feed, i scared not enuf milk. now when i pump 15 mins normally i get about 60 ml. and cos my left side got crack nipple i only use to pump left side, and right side give to babies to feed. can like that or not ah?

Sasha, EnJ,

Thanks for the advice on reducing backache. Wanted to try swimming, but my Mum and hubby is against it. Probably because I had a bleeding incident just 3 weeks ago.

Seems like our mums generation prefer FM as compared to BF. Perhaps that was what they were used to when bringing us up. So it's really up to us to try to educate them on the benefits of BF. They've also a lot of misconception on BF.

Mooch, you may want to talk to your lactation consultant again on the BF issues that you're facing. I'm sure she'll be able to help.

Mooch,
I know you must be feeling down but dont be disheartened. Try calling up the hospital & see if the LC can either talk to you or even visit you at home. The one of KK (sorry I cant remember her name), she offered to come over when I had bad engorgement & cld not latch my baby on.

Expressing, I wld suggest every 3hrs & not to miss the early morning ones as well. I found that my supply is at best btw 12am-6am! Actually double than that during the rest of the day.

Even if you cant breastfeed directly, expressed BM is just as good. I exclusively bottle feed my twins BM as they didnt want to latch on my breasts AT ALL! Even a teaspoonful of BM contains a lot of antibodies for your babies so give up hope ok
Jia you! And just because you have to supplement wt FM, that doesnt mean that you have failed. Mine had to be supplement wt Similac Neosure cause of their LBW.

You may want to try the NUK latex teats. My youngest child refused bottle until I changed the teat. I find that this NUK teat is almost similar to our breasts.

Actually what best_twins said is true. Babies actually lose weight in the 1st 2 weeks after birth before they start putting on weight. This is what our neonatologist told us when my boys were in NICU.

Ah Da,
You dont necessarily have to swim. Just sitting/floating in the pool or in the shallow pool will help take pressure away. Hope you find a way that will help reduce your backache!

I guess I am very lucky because both my mother & MIL always encourged me to give my kids BM instead of FM
And they also hardly ever interfere with the way I handle my kids so that makes my life easier because there is no one to please & I have no pressure as well. If I make a mistake, then I can only learn from it

Goodnight everyone!

hi sasha, thanks for the encouragement, may i ask, if your twins didn't want to latch on, means you only did pump? without their latch on, pump alone can retain the supply of milk demand? i always thot you need the latch to stimulate and matintain the amount of milk your body make.

i shall try to callt he LC then, see she can help or not, if i can't BF them, i shall EBM for them lor, cos i really believe that BM is the best for them than FM. so expressing every 3 hours? daytime i find it hard to pump cos they feed every 3 hours, then i scared if pump already then they wake up i dun have milk for them in my breasts.

so pump every 3 hours how long each breast?

Best_twins, sasha, Enj, thanks for all your encouragement, after a good cry yesterday noon, i really feel better.. guess i should try to block out my mil and mom's constant nags..

today my girl, i put her on her front to sleep with her head at the side, she turned over like a little tortoise! can an 11 day old baby do that so early? she is really strong tho, she lifts her head really high when put on her front..

my babies sleeping..
831208.jpg

Hi mooch
Wow, you babies are so cute. And my! They look big to me at 11 days. Mine were swaddled till they were about 3 weeks old. After that, we do let them sleep on their tummy during the day. But we had to position them like your in the photo. They couldn't roll over on their own. Yours is phenomenal! Hee!

mooch,

ooh, yr babies are SO CUTE!! esp sleeping on their tummies like that. KAWAIII!!!
lemme guess - the boy is the one in the foreground, wearing stripes, right?

re. expressing BM, in the beginning pump for abt half an hour each breast every 3 hours. for me, after abt 2 mths, i stretched it to every 4 hrs. now i pump every 6 hours, but very long duration - abt an hour or more cos i've a problem with blocked ducts. thinking of switching over to manual pump to save time.

but my supply not too bad, since i'm able to put my two on total EBM since 2 months. now, abt 10-12oz per pump. hv to be consistent lor.

hope the issues with yr MIL & mum blows over soon. no choice but to bear with them since they've only good intentions. hv you tried to get yr hubby to talk to yr MIL? it might be easier to communicate yr wishes this way. that's how i handled my ILs in the beginning. and hubby was afraid that all this stress wld lead to postnatal depression for me, so he was quite firm with his parents. as for your mum, you shld be able to handle, right?

don't worry so much, things will gradually fall into place. it's always like that in the beginning, when everyone's thrown together at close quarters, all anxious abt how to make the babies thrive.

now that my MIL and i understand each other's wishes & boundaries better, we get along just fine. still hv some minor disagreements over childcare, but we both try to give each other the benefit of the doubt and not take things too personally.

why don't you use yr CL's advice on certain areas of contention? after all, she's the more "objective" 3rd party, and besides, she's taken care of so many babies. i find that usu mums & MILs are more willing to a more experienced "outsider".

chin up, yah?

p/s. i'm also grappling with feeding woes right now. trying to wean my twins onto semi-solids, plus my boy's constipated - stressed, man! but, we'll get through it!

mooch,
ur babies are sooooo adorable for a 11 days old haha...hey look at their face and you should forget everything rite

About sleeping on their tummy, i never put my bbies on their tummy as research shows that increases the risk of SIDS, pls be careful ok, my mil wanted me to put them on tummy to sleep so that they can sleep better but i just said a big NO.

Now that they may roll over anytime i m not sure how to stop them from sleeping on their tummies. May be the experienced mommies can share ur view on this

mommies,
how old were ur twins when they rolled over? my twins are trying but still cant
I know I shouldnt compare as each baby is unique but too curious haha...

Ah Da,
SIDS = Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (Its the most scariest phrase we mommies would like to read) sorry to hav mentioned it here.

Mooch, your babies are indeed very cute! They look like little puppies sleeping like that.

Anyway, I went to the Motherhood Expo yesterday. Half an hour and I had to leave cos I got tired but it didn't have very much stuff. The only thing I bought were diapers.

Husband decided to try the Nepia and Pureen ones. We also bought some Bumwear ones (very expensive!) to see if they work better than cloth nappies.

Anyone used any of these before?

Today, going to see Ob-gyn again. Hopefully everything is a-ok.

Mooch,
Did you manage to get hold of the LC? Yes I exclusively expressed BM for 4mths. Initially, my supply was quite low & depressing. After 1-2weeks, it started increasing & getting more steady. Remember, DEMAND=SUPPLY.

Babies need not be latched on to get your supply going. I expressed every 3hrs for the first 1-2mths then increased to 4hrs. I woke up in middle of night to express too. In the beginning, I pumped for 30mins on each breast. Once I got a steady supply, I just spent abt 10-15mins & was able to get a min of 120ml on each breast.

It is not true that once you express, there wont be milk for your babies. Like I said earlier, demand=supply. That was what I did with my youngest girl. I wld express & then latch her on after. No problem at all
SO dont worry abt that.

The good thing I found abt feeding my babies EBM frm a bottle was that my hubby was able to feed the babies for me while I express.

I must say your girl is very strong. Turning herself over at such a young age. I agree that you please watch them when you put them on their tummies. Mine were swaddled for 1mth thereafter, in they day, they were on their tummies but at night, still swaddled. I do find that sleep better when on their tummies & swaddled

Lyricist,
How's your boy's constipation today? Better? Try giving him more liquid...or you may want to try giving prunes, figs etc

Best_Twins,
Mine started rolling over at abt 4mths going on 5mths.

mooch

aiyoh, ur babies are soooo cute! They are big at their age!

It is ok not to latch on, esp for our cases where we need to feed more than 1 baby. Just continue expressing, dun worry, continue with the regime of expressing every 3 hours, and milk supply will be there. Good to express diligently when u are still on maternity leave, once u go back to work, u may not have such luxury anymore. i just discovered a good way to increase milk supply is to drink warm milk. i drink twice a day, and works on me.

My babies are now 6 months old, and my target is to breast feed for a year. They are not on full EBM now though, not enough supply for two.

As for giving them tummy time, it is ok but must be under supervision to prevent SIDS. i read that tummy time is good for self discovery, but the no-good side is SIDS, so must be careful.

twinsmom, my babies can only turn from front to back. Training them to sit though. i guess just have to give them more time, every individual is different.

The above was taken right after i deliver them on 24/3/07. Actually was just trying how to upload the pics and turn out successful..hehehe!! Later, i'll try to upload their recent pics...

Twins_mommy, thanks! do they look big? maybe its jus the pic? i remember them having chubby cheeks when they were born, now chubby cheeks gone, so sad, they losing weight even tho i know it is supposed to? seeing doc again tmr to double check their weight gain, hope all will be well.

Best Twins, yeah you are right, i look at them i forget everything..
they so sweet when they sleep i wanna wake them up, but when they awake and cry, my girl can really scream! i am afraid of SIDS also, thats why i only put them on their tummy during the day, at nites, they sleep proper. but i find that they sleep better on their tummies..

Ah Da, thanks for looking out for me. i do feel better after a good cry that day. i have to try to get over it all, and focus on my babies.. i jus look at them i can smile again

EnJ, thanks! and good luck to your doc check up today!

Sasha, thanks for the advice and lyricist's ones also.. i shall try both your tips of BF and see. i could get hold of my LC yet. yeah i was so surprised when i saw her turning over. even my CL was amazed she can do it already. they also normally swaddled, but my girl likes to kick it away. at nite they are tightly swaddled to sleep. my CL was saying its also quite unusual that they were so alert and eyes already open big big on their first day they were born!

Geraldine, your babies so cute and round! thanks so much for the tips too.. i really wanna try all of the mommies expert advices and really try at it. hope to really be able to do it every 3 hours, but i really find it hard. my nipple so sore as it is already. normally when i pump, and i dun see milk coming out, i try to squeeze my breast a bit, to see got more coming out also. dunno can or not.

Lyricist, thanks! i love that picture of them. they look so cute to me, i forget all my mil and mom's woes..
you so strong also, you will get thru the weaning off process!
Aunty karen often talks about your babies
on BF, shall try to follow your routine and try, cos i find that i can't find the time to pump every 3 hours, they wake up, and i have to feed, and i worry if i feed, then no more milk for them. even like today i pump out at 1215pm, then at 130 my boy woke up and i feed him, but he got cranky and suck a bit, pull out and cry, dunno is it no milk or wat..

but i feel they tend to do that more so at nite.. is it cos milk flow faster on the bottle? or is it breast too full, so they can't suck properly?

when i fed my twins since hospital, i gave them one baby per breast. so if my gal took the right, my boy will take the left and so on. but then cos of my girl bad latching initially, cause me to have cracked nipple on my left breast. so i put cream and only pump the left one, while leaving the right one for both of them.

now i find that my left one, now that the nipple is better, always feel fuller than the right! is it engorgement? and i feel like there is a lump of something inside my left breast that will hurt if i dun pump after 5 hours. is that blocked duct? how to get rid of it? it hurts sometimes.

i shall try to take all your advice and pump every 3 hours, even tho i haven't really got their routine right yet.. i really wanna give them BM. i am on day 13 since delivery and i pump only about 70ml per breast each time, is that very little milk?

Enj,
I'm abit blur on those hospital bills but to wat i knw,everyone's been asking me to split mummy's bill n bbs bill.cos maximum cpf deduction is $2750.if charges are bill 2gether,usually mre than maximum claimable,then u will hv to pay mre.
seems like yr gynae n mooch's gynae charged quite ex leh.are yrs the same?oh yes, remember to bring yr original antenatal pkg receipt for medisave claims, u can claim $450.

u went to the motherhood fair? any gd bargains? i used nepia for awhile.i wld say quite gd.i used newborn sz n small sz.i understand tat pureen diapers nt so gd.btw,hw much is the nepia diapers? i bot directly frm nepia, n nepia sell $15/pk for every sz + free delivery for minimum 4pks.u can mix the sz too.petpet brand oso nt bad,quite absorbent.their S sz is the same as newborn sz, their sizes are quite small.

twinsmom,
nw my younger boi ha running nose n cough for the past week.previously brought him to c GP but no use, yest i jus brought him to c PD.he had bad cough n alot of phlegm.PD told me if his cough get worse,it mite lead to broncholitis.hv to bring him bk for follow up nxt wk.
as for the BM feedg,i did ask a counsellor from the breastfeeding organisation,she said is possible to reintroduce BM back to bbs.i PM u the email ok? cos its quite long.

mooch,
yr bbs r cute, they look quite alike from side views? 11 days old bb can wear like tat? my bois hv to wrap tight tight leh.yr gal is v strong,can turn aldy.u bot yr playpen xtra big?looks v big to me,my bois cant slp 2gether ard 3wks old.too congested liao,especially my younger boi so big size.

hi okeanosmao, my gyne is Dr FongYang, and he is private not from TMC, but he delivered there.

that day they were heading to the doctor so i dress them in their romper, but CL added the long pants
i also wrap tightly for them, but sometimes in the day very hot, and i only turn on fan so they kick away..

playpen std size leh.. maybe its the angle of the photo lah.. my twins not so big size, still can share the cot and their playpen. i put them on playpen in the day, and back to cots at nite.. ;)

mooch,
r u still seeing dr terence tan?

geraldine,
yr gal always smile wen she took photos isit? cos the last time u showed us,i tink she smiled so sweetly.
kor kor looks like he is being interrupted from his sleep leh..face black black.

twingals,
yr gals oso opened their eyes rite aft birth hor? twinsmom's bois oso as well as mooch.
yr gals name sounds alike, pronounciation quite the same leh..

hi sasha,
thanks for asking. my boy's much better today - he pooped... TWICE! i was sooo happy, i tell you! never thot i'd be so pleased to see (and smell) baby poo, heheh.

weaning-wise, it's getting better. i realised that maybe i was too impatient and ambitious. tried to give them too much cereal in the beginning, that's why my girl was so resistant and i had so much trouble feeding them. plus they didn't like to eat what i initially gave them.

i realised that they prefer dumex to nestle rice cereal, fresh pureed bananas to bottled fruit puree. at least now they're willing to take a few spoonfuls, instead of trying to fight me off. trial & error, i guess... which is what motherhood is all abt.

geraldine,
how heavy are yr babies right now? mine's abt the same age.

mooch,
yup, i had the same problem as you - becos the babies were feeding so irregularly, i was either engorged or (if i pump it out) not enough milk. that's why in the end i chose to just express everything out and bottle-feed. also, becos mine were low birth weight babies, it enabled me to know and control how much they were drinking, which you won't know if you're breastfeeding.

if your breast feels full even after BF, that means that you've not managed to get all the milk out. you'll still need to express after you BF to get all the milk out. it'll also help give additional stimulation to increase supply.

did yr LC teach you how to massage yr breasts & nipples? try doing that before & during expressing. i still do it now to get the milk out.

engorgement is when your entire breast becomes rock hard, usu after a long period of no pumping or BF. it usu happens to me in the morning after i "oversleep" ie more than my usual 3/4/6 hrs routine. it's very painful and it can be hard to get the milk flowing. a vigorous massage & hot compress while pumping usu helps.

if you still feel a lump inside that hurts even after pumping, yes, that's a blocked duct. you MUST unblock it. if you don't, it may lead to mastitis (ie infection with fever), and you'll need to go to the doctor. no matter how hard or painful it is or how long it takes, you must try to press it out. i still get that quite a lot. it feels terrible i know, but no choice, hv to deal with it for babies' sake.

70ml per breast for day 13 sounds abt right. it'll take a while for the supply to build up. give it a few more weeks and you'll see a real difference. don't give up! you're doing very well and right on track.

twingals,
what do you call yr cuties - Zyla & Zyra?

btw, does anyone know how to bold a word in the text here? i see some of you do it but i don't know how - html code?

okeanosmao,
The motherhood fair, like I said wasn't good. But if you order Nepia now, it's $14 a pack till the end of June, so order fast fast! After that it's $16/pack.

The Pureen ones were $10/pack that's why we bought. Maybe can use during the day. Anyone used Drypers? Drypers were about $12.80 for 60 but we didn't buy those ones. My husband liked the feel of the Nepia ones.

Just came back from Dr's. I did my pre-admission today. It feels so final like I've been given permission to deliver already! Anyway, I asked about the split bill thing, Dr's nurse never hear before so she was going to ask him and the admission's people said that the clinic had to issue the letter otherwise cannot split the bill.

Dr commented that the babies are super active and heart rates are good. Next week will be my last detailed scan at NUH. Then after that we'll discuss birth options. He did warn me that I had to ready myself for a c-section because one of the babies is breech and it'll be dangerous for the baby. I guess I must reorientate how I think also- as in whatever is best for the babies and not what will be the 'ideal' birth experience for me.

sasha and geraldine,
thanks for sharing with me
soo cute.... how different these little ones can be!

mooch,
glad that u r feeling better, yep its good to give them some tummy time.

okeanasmoa,
my twins also had cough and phlegm when they were 2 months, in fact they had it on and of almost until 3 month. I used to worry a lot that time and bring them to pd every now and then, my pd was scared that i will go crazy bringing both to clinic so often.

twingals,
ur gals are cute cute ....

<font color="0000ff">my two little noties will be 4 months old tomorrow</font>

833128.jpg
833129.jpg

Enj,
for nepia newborn sz,couldnt hold their urine for long as my bois urine alot.mostly can tahan ard 3hrs.but their S sz is beta than newborn sz,can tahan mre than 4hrs.
i try drypers b4,no gd.dun like it.wanted to go to the fair to c any bargains,but lucky i din went.tks for the update.
glad to hear tat yr bbs are gd n active too! be it natural or c-sect,as long as yr bbs cm out healthy tat wld be enuff.we cant ask for mre, rite? so did gynae say ard wen will pop?

oh nuh still reqd clinic letter?for mt a,they dun reqd,upon discharge,my hubby jus told them we nid to separate the bill tat's all.

twinsmom,
wat a pair of handsome bois u hv, eyes so big. r they v close n always stick to each other?

well,first time mums are always paranoid rite.my younger boi aldy seen 3docs - 2GP n PD.wen his GP med couldn't cure his flu n cough,i was gettg worried.finally,bring him to c PD.3 docs bill amount to $100+ leh.shld hv bring him to c PD early.

mommies, do u all bring yr bbs to c PD or GP?

mooch,
hang on there! wow... looks like its really quite a challenge to BF, huh? Its also great to know that you are coping better.. ai ya... just heed the CL's advice lor should there be conflicting views. I know its tough to be diplomatic esp when your mum and mil are together! luckily, you have CL to be neutral party, and she's suppose to be the expert!

btw, how much to engage your CL? Is it more expensive for twinnies?

to all mummies who have shared your twinnie's pics,
all sssssssssssssoooo CUTE!! felt like cuddling them, haha....

I am now at the end of my week 12... yipee... crossing over to 2nd trimester liaoz! Finally, my gynae has given me the green light to go back to work and resume normal activities... ai yo.. had been bed resting and minimising movement for the last 7 weeks! Bones also stiff liaoz..

is it enough space for twins to share a playpen? I am now searching ard for the bbs stuffs, in my wk17+ now..but i still cant feel my bbs movement at this moment..mind to share which wks were u all feeling the movement of bbs?

Also, have this concern where i feel my tummy is bigger during evening/nitetime,but it's smaller during daytime..is it normal?

I just visited my gynae for wk16 check up, everything was good. My bbs are very active and heart beats are very strong according to gynae too. I am happy to hear that. Wondering when did u all find out your bbs gender ? Cos i cant wait to go shpg for their stuffs already

Hi Ah Da,
U got bleeding 3wks ago? what happen? hope u r fine now..take care.

Yes! All the twin photos here are super cute!

Okeanosmao, I'm delivering at Gleneagles, not NUH. So maybe they're a bit more fussy. Anyway, I will see what happens.

Ob-gyn wants to wait till the last week of June to deliver me. By then, it'll be 37 weeks so it'll be good and safe, hopefully.

Hmm, will keep in mind and order the size S for Nepia. Will they fit? Especially since our twins are slightly smaller than regular babies?

Dodo, CLs for twins definitely more expensive. Mine is going to charge me $500 more than she did for my friend who only had one baby.

Congrats for making it past 12 weeks. But still, be careful, don't stand for too long, put your feet up as much as possible, if you go shopping, have nice long tea breaks!

Patty,
Your tummy will be bigger in the evening because of water and stuff. It's normal.
When you wake up, it's at its tiniest.

Movements, you'll feel soon, but sometimes you won't know what you're feeling is them till much later because we don't know what to look out for. Later on, it becomes very obviously movements. Yesterday, when my Ob-gyn was feeling my tummy, one of the babies kicked his hand away. It was very funny!

You'll probably find out gender at your 22 week detailed scan, if your babies are cooperative.

Enj

good that u r turning into 37wk. Have smooth delivery then. By the way, are u working? If yes, did ur gynae give you hospitalisation leave to bedrest at home aft wk30? Cos my gynaw was saying, she normally can give up to 60days of hosp leave from 24wk onward as 24wk-34wk is critical stage for ppl like us who is carring twins.

Oh abt CL, if my mom helps me in confinement, and also we'll hire a maid to help out, is it possible to handle twins ? Cos i may plan to go for C-sect, and it will be very painful aft opt,dun thk i can help out my mom ler..

Hi patty,

Thanks for your concern. Thank God that there's no more bleeding after that.

I'm starting to feel a bit of movement inside me. Feels like a gentle punch and it's not obvious.

EnJ, wow, you'll be seeing your babies in a few weeks time. I hope babies will stay in me till up to 37 weeks as well.

Patty,
I'm covering all the bases. I'm having a confinement maid, I've employed a maid as well and my MIL or mum will help as well. I'm not sure whether I'm going to have a C-section, so basically, in the planning, I took myself out of the equation to be able to do anything. Anyway, everyone has been telling me that my only job is to feed the babies. Everything else for other people to do.

I haven't been working since the end of April. Ob-gyn put me on leave since that because everytime I went to work, I had contractions and most of the time, my job required me to be on my feet so it wasn't very good.

Ah Da, I'm not 37 weeks yet. I'm coming to 35 weeks. Walking a little bit is already very exhausting. Yesterday, I went to look for button down night shirts and I was so tired I had contractions in the evening and leg cramps at night.

The weight you end up putting on is not funny. It really puts strain onto your joints!

patty,
for me,i let my bois slp 2gether in the aftn,at nite,we separate them.they can only slp till 3rd wk.by then,space constraint.both keep rollg near n hit each other.

i felt their movement ard 6 mths onwards,u will feel like something has stick to yr stomach.initial stage,i feel uncomfortable but slowly u will get used to the kicking.

i found out their gender during the detailed scan ard 5mths time.
my stomach is 24hrs big! doesn't have day/nite time difference.

Enj,
hang on there till 37wks ok? tell yr bbs to be gd n stay comfortably till wk 37.

for the nepia,u hv to buy NB sz 1st.my bois are 2.4 & 2.9kg when born.my elder boi is still wearing NB cos his buttock still small while my younger boi has aldy wear S sz.u can still stock up S sz since its cheap.

during my confinement,i'm not allowed to wash dishes.everyting leave it to my maid,includg askg her to pour red date water(my mil doesn't allow me do anyting).
since u hv confinement lady + wif help frm mums,u can leave everyting to them.jus concentrate on BF n of cos carry n changing them so tat u can bond wif them.

okeanosamo, yeah i saw Dr Tan 1st check up means when they were a week old? waited from 230pm to 5pm! but i like him leh.. dunno if i should be patient withthe wait and continue to use his services. he is very safe. hubby also like him, think we may stick to him for now. nurse said their next check up is for the 6 week jabs. anyone know roughly how much is the jabs?

Lyricist, how's the weaning? all ok so far? you can do it
thanks for all the tips of BF! i try to pump when i can, but hard to follow the 3hr so far. and my babies feed irregular, so no routine leh. when will they do longer hour feeds?

how soon can i try to start their nite routine ah? like try to feed them last feed at 11, then put them so sleep and all?

Best_twins, your bois so handsome! hope you having ok time in Batam, thanks for all the concern tho.. it really encourages me to stay on track and hang in there. all the mommies here are so great..

Dodo, yeah me hanging in there dun worry! i am quite strong normally, but jus can't stand teh naggings.. Yeah BF is a challenge so far, cos my nipples hurt, think its not due to the latching on, but more of the too much use of it.. until sore. my CL? i got recommended by Lyricist, not too bad, can PM me or lyricist if need info
but price definitely more than single baby lah. wah, i miss my 2nd trimester days, like energizer bunny like that! take my advice, be on your feet, swim if you can, and go buy all your stuff during this trimester, once come 3rd you have no energy to do anything liao..

Patty, i let my twins share a playpen so far during the day, they are 15 days old now. i think by the time they reach a month, maybe cannot share already leh.. i felt their movement at week 20. so no hurry, once you feel them, enjoy the moments
when 3rd trimester, they kicks that used to make you smile will hurt!

EnJ, wah, next one to pop! good luck! all the best to you hor! need any advice, all the momies here are so great! i couln't have done this whole pregnancy without them! everyone also tell me my job is to get enuf rest and to feed babies. but i can't leh.. i am quite hands on type. i can't jus leave my babies to someone else's care and not worry. so i still like feed them and play with them and try to help ard the house when i can. tho the CL say no need. besides, i never had the habit of napping in the day, so even with sleepless nites of feeds, i can't really nap in the day.

anyone knows when i can start to try to get babies into a routine? now they are day 15. and their feeds are not regular, and i want to try to let them know nite and day, so nite can sleep longer a bit. also how do we know how much to feed ah? 1st week back they were on 30ml as told by nurses, then 2nd week, like not enuf, and demanding for 60ml now. how we know if its too much or not enuf and when to add on the ml?

on bf, do you mommies feel like nipples sore from excessive use type of feeling? i know its not the latching on cos my babies ok already on the latching.. but i feel like too much usage type of sore leh.. is it supposed to feel like that?

Thanks! okeanasmoa, mooch and all.

okeanasmoa,
my bois still not very aware of each other, they hav just started notice each other but not communicating (cooig babbling etc haha)with one another yet

Me too used to spend 100+ for both on each visit to my pd, sometimes i go twice a week gosh....now i know where did my savings go
:p as long as the babies are fine ok la?

mooch,
Batam is ok, but too boring and too much of mosquito other than that i can survive until hubby finishes his project haha...

about the routine, its best to start as early as possible, however, ur babies wont be able to go thru the nite without feeding, u still have to feed them on 2, 3 or whatever interval u r feeding them. by 3 to 4 months they should be ready to sleep longer hours and then u can do the last feeding around 10 pm or so. Moreover,
BF bbies will need to be fed more frequently i guess.

To let them know nite and day diff, do nite feeding like a business, no playing talking or stimulating babies, change nappies as quietly as possible and put them in bed, keep the day time more fun filled and stimulating. U can also try and off the lights and on a night light so that they know, having said that...I hav read that babies will get the day and nite concept only around 4 months, but its best to start it early.

hi Best_twins, yeah i agree with you on the mozzies in Batam. they are huge too! jus get a mozzie net for their beds.

on the routine, so far at nite, they are only on nite light, and in the day i try to put them on the playpen instead of the cot. i hope the nanny will help me also to try on instill watever routine we may try.

Mooch,
If you have time, try and get your hands on this book- The Contented House with Twins by Gina Ford. She talks about routine and stuff. It's very comprehensive and easy to understand. Maybe you can try it out.

mooch,

you're welcome
you don't hv to pump exactly every 3hrs, just approx can oreddy. sometimes when i'm bz i just pump as soon as i can. the idea is to stimulate & build up yr supply. rem to drink water both before & after u pump.

re. nite routine, like what best_twins said, try to distinguish btw day & nite as soon as you can. i put mine in the living room in the day where's it's bright and surrounded with usu household activities. at night i put them into their cots at bedtime, turn on nightlight and fan/aircon, give them their soothers (pacifier, beanie pillow & blanket) and leave the room. this is usu after their 8/9pm feed. my girl's able to fall asleep by herself since abt 4mths, but it's only recently that my boy's learning to fall asleep by himself. he used to cry and fuss ard bedtime, and needed to be carried and rocked to sleep. he also used to refuse to sleep till abt midnight.

depending on when their last feed was, i might wake them up at ard 12mn for their last feed, but this is done quietly and calmly, with no talking. usu they've no prob falling asleep after this feed.

it took me months to establish this, and i didn't really set out to purposefully set this routine. we just adjust their sleeping routine at each stage, and things kind of just fell naturally into place.

i feel that there's no need to rush things. i used to feel that i need to "train" them to fall asleep by themselves, but sometimes (esp when they're still small) they need a lot of comforting and soothing before they can fall asleep. i'm personally not an advocate of the cry-it-out (cio) method, and i know some mothers feel that carrying and rocking baby to sleep establishes a bad habit, but i do what is necc at each stage. i feel that once baby learns that he is loved and attended to, he becomes easier to manage becos he's a happy and secure child. diff babies hv diff needs, so what works for one child may not work for another. just be patient, and always remember, you know yr child best - use all the info/advice that others give you as a guide, but ultimately do what you feel is right and best for yr babies.

weaning is much better for my twins now - thanks
both babies and me learning. i've learnt that i need to be more patient and not shovel in too much at once, give them more time to taste & swallow, and not get upset if they only want to take a few spoonfuls. i also realise that they prefer certain brands/foods more than others, esp those that are naturally sweet (like bananas). they've also become easier to feed, and more willing to open their mouths to receive food. i think they've realised that mommy is more relaxed and won't insist if they've had enough.

lyricist, yeah i do agree with you, i think wat they need right now as new born is prob more love and attention. i do worry also that they will get clingy and harder to put them down as well. i should take it one step at a time then, and see what happens..

guess perhaps i try too hard and stress myself out in the end..

Any mommies got any recommendation for Full MOnth Party Catering? was thinking of doing a Tea party more than the standard type of buffets. so more like finger foods and stuff. any recommendations?

leave you with a cute pic i took today, look at the way my babies sleep! so lazy sleepers!

834738.jpg

Mooch,
yah,the waitg time to c dr tan is v long.i,too,hv to wait for ard 2hrs b4 i can c him.he is popular n gd.if both of u r comfortable w him n dun mind the inconveniency,then u can still stick to him.or else,u can ask him if he knws any PD near yr hse.mayb he can recommend u gd ones.
u can call up the clinic to ask for the 6wk jab charges,i suppose is the 2nd dose hep b injection.i tink diff clinic has diff charges.my bois took 6-in-1 jab @$100 per jab at GP.the PD near my hse charges $140.
NB bbs cant slp throughout the nite,will hv to wait till they are ard 3-4mths old.they will auto wake up every 3hrs for milk.if BF,will be mre frequent unless u still supplement them wif FM.
was told by my Pd tat using dis formula (150ml x wt in kg / 8 feeds),roughly u can gauge their amt of milk.but somehow,it still depends on hw much milk ur bb needs.if we feed them less accdg to the formula given,they will ask for mre in less than 2hrs aft their feed.dis happens to my younger boi who has colic.PD said i overfeed him.
i guess we mommies learn through trial n error.as they grow day after day,gradually u will knw wat yr bbs nid n his/her likes.
my bois oso slp like dis when i put them 2gether.so funny,quite cute looking at them like this rite?
is the left one yr gal?

okeanosmao, yeah, i asked the nurse at his clinic how much the 6 week jab is (dunno if that is the 6 in 1 jab) and she say $150 per baby.

i also worry i over feed, but shall try your formula to see the gauge cos i dun wanna over feed them either..

yeah motherhood is like a whole different career path that you are thrown upon. from breastfeeding challenges to caring for baby, to feeding.. non stop man..

they really so cute.. my girl sleeps all over the place! actually the right one is my girl.. the one in pink

Morning all.

Can the jabs be done at the polyclinic? It'll be cheaper that way right?

Been getting more and more Braxton Hicks tightenings. And now, it hurts my back. So uncomfortable. Anyone felt the same way?