2006/2007-Twins/Triplets MTBs

EnJ
Where you get the vaccination for your bbs is individual. For us, we considered a few factors before deciding to do it at a GP's clinic. I checked with the polyclinic nearest to my place and the difference in pricing for the first year is only about $35.00 (if I remember correctly). That is not even enough to cover my taxi fare to/fro the polyclinic over the 4-5 trips in a year. Furthermore, hb will have to take leave to go polyclinic with me. So we decided its not worth it. We went to GP within walking distance to our home and opens at night. Hb can take his dinner and a hot shower after work before we leave for the clinic. It worked out well for us.

Mooch,
i tot the one in pink is yr boi.yr gal has boyish looks from far.
i tink tat's the 6in1 jab ur bbs will be takg.i guess PD charges will range from $140-$180.
if yr bbs are hungry less than 3hrs, tat means their milk intake is nt enuff.however,if u BF them,then they are most likely to get hungry v fast.in dis case,i dun tink the formula can work tat out.

Enj,
Like dorayaki,i oso take into consideration the amt of time & cost spend if i were to go polyclinics take jabs.its not worth travelling there jus for few $ difference.hence,i chose to take jabs at GP jus opposite my hse which opens everyday.
if i'm not wrong,polyclinics do not offer u 6in1 jab 1st.instead,the nurses there tell u to take the 2nd dose hep b jab,subsequently follow by 5in1 jab.the difference btwn the 2 is the no. of jabs the bbs will be taking.6in1 shorten the pain of injection by spreading over the 3mths period with 2mths interval in btwn.5in1 will be mre.
i've oso had frequent BH during 34wks onwards but my back pain aldy started frm 2nd trimester.

Twins mommy and Okeanosmao,
I will take into consideration what you've said about the polyclinic. We've got one near our house so we thought it might be good to try. The PD that my doctor uses is very expensive and I don't fancy going to him after the babies are out of hospital.

Okeanosmao, did you feel slight twinges with the BH? I know they're supposed to be painless but usually I feel like a slight pulling pain at the sides of my belly or in my back.

Hi Okeanosmao and lyricist,

Yeah bbs name quite alike just the elder one is 'L' Zyla and younger 'R' Zyra. Even my eldest one oso quite rhymes, Nurhuzaty..

1. Nurhuzaty
2. Nurhuzyla
3. Nurhuzyra

All with 9 letters name and only differs by the last 3 letters..hehe!!

Wah Best Twins, so fast ha ur boys aled 4mths..mine coming to 3mths on the 24th. How time flies...

Mooch, my elder twin always sleep properly but my younger one always like to rotate while sleeping..hehehe!!

EnJ,
To be honest, just a 'normal' breastfeeding pillow will suffice because this pillow is handy for the first 6mths when babies are small-sized. When they get bigger, you dont really need to use the pillow

Also I dont think its very worth it to buy a twin nursing pillow because this item is not available in SG therefore you'd have to spend quite a lot on shipping!

Twinsgal,
Go to Microsoft Office Picture Manager(if you have) & you can shrink it there

Eh, I think your twins will get quite confuse when you call their names cause sounds so similar

Jabs: I just bring my kids to Poly for the free jabs (except Hep B ones). In the past, yes, waiting times are quite long but now, they have adapt a strictly by appointment system & if you are on time, then you'd be waiting less than 15mins
For everything else, they see their PD or just a GP.

EnJ,

My twins get their 5-in-1 vacc jabs at the nearby polyclinic. fyi, 5-in-1 costs $285 (4 doses) while 6-in-1 costs $320, per baby (3 doses i think). both are avail at polyclinics. reason we didn't go for the 6-in-1 was becos we attended an immunisation talk at the polyclinic and they told us that 6-in-1 not recommended for premature babies. since it's just 1 more trip, we thought might as well go for the 5-in-1, and save some $$ as well.

twingals,

see if the pic editor you use hv a resize function (shld hv). reduce by changing width/height (but rem to preserve aspect ratio so that yr pic does not get distorted), and not by altering dpi, which lowers yr pic quality.

hi mommies, wah, last few days is even more erratic.. 2 days ago, suddenly they like keep on wanting to feed! from the normal 50ml, they were fed 60ml, then half hour later, still hungry, another 40ml! then an hour later, still dun sleep so awake, and hungry, another 20ml! do mommies get this?

today i will be busy planning the full month party, looking for good cakes, and good catering places.. any recommendations?

Lyricist,
Wow, even at the polyclinic, the jabs are so expensive! Anyway, is it true that babies have a different queue at the polyclinic so you don't wait as long?

Sasha,
Point taken on the nursing pillow. I'll just inherit from someone the single nursing one.

Had a friend yesterday who told me in no uncertain terms that it was impossible to nurse twins at the same time. Talk about pouring cold water!

Anyway, the last 2 days, I've been getting very sharp kicks in my ribs. Was at the movies last night and one of them gave me such a sharp kick, I yelped!

Oh yah, has anyone tried Bumwear?

Mooch,
Yes my twins experienced that so much so that I also panicked because obviously I dont want to over-feed them! But they settled after a week when we increased their milk intake.

Sorry cant help wt the full mth party stuff because we dont celebrate this

RE: JABS @ POLYCLINIC

S$285 for 5-in-1 is 4 doses....includes a booster dose at 18mths

S$320 for 6-in-1 also 4 doses...if actualli it is much cheaper than GP/PD

GP cheapest i found is S$105/jab for 5-in-1, add up, it is already S$400+ for 4 doses...compare with S$285...

plus if go polyclinic, MMR at 15mths is FREE...if go outside, still need to pay for MMR...another S$100++...

now polyclinic got seperate queue for vaccination...and if u reach on time, can finish within 20min....at GP/PD also same ma...u reach, they find ur file, wait for ur turn, take jab, etc....also ard 20 min gone le

if ur bb need to be accessed by doc, u get to go in almost immediately....

my exp with hougang poly is v good, everytime we go, can go straight in for jab and assessment...v fast de...i usually take late afternoon appt (ard 3-4pm)....

EnJ,
Trust me, there are people who can be very discouraging! Best is to let their comments pass with a laugh.

It is definitely possible to tandem breastfeed your twins. I do personally know some mothers of twins who have succcessfully done so. It is a struggle in the beginning whats wt latching the babies on, finding a comfy position etc but eventually, you will get used to it & feeding will be a breeze!

Poly Qs: As what Wynston mentioned, for babies, there is a separate Q for their vaccinations & Doctor's Assessment(DA). Which is why you have to keep to the appt time given. Or else, you end up waiting longer than expected!

EnJ,

For vacc can skip registratn at polyclinic each time. just scan babies' healthbks, get service chit & head straight for the immunisation rooms. but at bt batok polyclinic where i go, i usu wait for at abt half an hour. maybe becos we choose fri afternn (ard 3pm) so a little bit more crowded.

mooch,

i can't quite remember but i think i either used jessie catering (http://jessie.com.sg/) or house of catering (http://www.houseofcatering.com/index.htm). not bad lah.

my family usu use neogarden (http://www.neogarden.com.sg/index.cfm) for any social events, but unfortunately my babies' full month fell ard new year's day and most of the caterers' only had special NY's package and not standard buffet, so couldn't use them. but they do give add discount for full month celeb (see under promotions). alot of the moms in this forum seems to use neogarden.

we also like chilli padi's food (http://www.chillipadi.com.sg/index.asp).

a few other caterers (but never tried):
http://www.mumskitchen.com.sg/
http://www.flavoursnspices.com.sg/index.php

for full month cakes, we bought the vouchers from bengawan solo (http://www.bengawansolo.com.sg/gift.htm#baby) and gave them out.

Thanks for all the information about the polyclinics and vaccinations. So I can just call and make appointment next time? I have the Queensway/Queenstown polyclinic just behind my house.

Just can back from my 35 week detailed scan. Dr said babies' growth have slowed down and they're only weighing just about 2 kg now. I'm a bit worried. He said they're healthy but their growth has slowed significantly.

Anyway, catering- we use Purple Sage when we need to. I quite like their food. http://www.purplesage.com.sg

EnJ, my girl was kicking my ribs all of last 3 months when they were in me! she is a real kicker, and now she kicks alot too..
i feel that becos my babies still fret alot when being fed, they not like silently quietly suckle, but they will kick and move about and take out and put in, so its hard for me to even try to control Bfeeding 2 babies at the same time. but i think you can always give it a try, it def save a lot of time!

hi Sasha, so you increased their milk intake in the end? they are at 18 days old today and i still dunno roughly how much to give, we still stick to the 40ml, and then add on when they start fretting..

Thankx Lyricist! i shall check out the websites.. jus realise my parents and parents in law, added with relatives and a few of our frens turn up to be almost 100 person already! think its gonna really cost man.. was thinking of doing a tea item buffet, then with a Chocolate cake. red eggs and ang ku kueh put at the buffet party no need to make into box and give out lor.. Oh, dropped you an email

Wynston Ma, thanks for all the Poly info! very useful! i wonder how much my GP cost.. i think i will call in tmr and check

hi mooch,

my bois situation are similiar to yr except tat they are hungry in less than 2hrs time.they too din not slp n always waving their hands n kickg here n there.my mil said they are using so much energy thus the hunger so fast.anyway,if they are fed n din not fall asleep aft 30mins,tat means they are nt full.if the interval for the feeding is getting lesser,its time to increas their milk intake.
mayb u can observe tmr,morn give them 40ml,if they are hungry v fast,then try to increase to 50ml.slowly increase their intake,i'm sure u will b able to knw hw much they really nid.well,its trial n error again.
for the 1mth celebration,i ordered yls catering.their food portion is alot.fd wise,still nt bad,depends on wat u choose.i oso ordered ang ku kueh & red eggs n put at the buffet table for ppl to eat.r u stayg east area? cos if u stayg near west,can recommend u the ang ku kueh i ordered.v nice,@$0.60 each for those full mth type.
here's a list of full mth celebration infos i did last mth,got it frm here too:-
http://www.ylscatering.com.sg
http://www.kckfood.com.sg
http://www.intl.com.sg/
http://www.delihub.com.sg
http://www.kyo.com.sg
http://www.chozconfectionery.com
http://www.primadeli.com.sg/cakes/cakeofthemonth.
htm http://www.blossoms.com.sg/Baby%27s1stMonth2005.html
http://www.bengawansolo.com.sg/gift.htm#baby
http://www.jacksplace.com.sg/cake/bundle.html
www.sweetsurprise.com.sg
http://www.candylovers.com.sg/pricelist.htm
http://www.gobi.com.sg/gobi.swf
http://www.pgcake.com/
http://www.emicakes.com.sg
http://www.blossoms.com.sg
www.yilingcakes.com.sg
www.sweetestmoments.com.sg
www.one-joy.com
www.babybliss.com.sg
www.savouryfare.com
www.sweetsecrets.com.sg
i only gave cake vouchers from angie the choice to my colleagues.

Enj,dun worry,as long they hv passed the 2kg mark,they are safe.
when my bois are scanned at wk35,my elder one weigh only 1.8kg n water fluid nt enough too whereas younger one weigh 2.5kg.there's a great difference between them n gynae was so worried.i keep on eating mre aft the scan (jus try my lucj anyway).so after i delivered them @ wk36,voila,they are 2.4 & 2.9 kg.
PD n gynae are satisfied wif their weight.so dun worried so much ok?

hi everyone.. me been mia for a while. very tired. i sleep alot and usu read the postings and then log off liao.

wow lots of sharing on 1st month celebration... will come in handy for me too....

went for my scan early this week.... my babies are 1.7kg 1.6kg and 1kg!!!

the gal is very small and i think csection date all depends on the next scan early next week. thou dr din want to scare us and tell us directly.... he still ask me to tahan.....

can i check with u ladies, are the estimates accurate..... i mean normally when birthed, are the babies really around the estimated weight or usu more or less than estimated?

mao (hope you don't mind me calling u this for short) , can share with me what u ate in the lst week that boosted the weights of the babies so much?

Hi Mesh,
Your babies' weight look good, especially for triplets. How many weeks are you?

Just went to see OB this morning. He said because of the slowing down of the weight gain, cannot do natural because it might put too much strain on the 2nd twin. Anyway, he's set my delivery date to be 29th June if all goes well.

A little bit disappointed but I guess, as long as the babies are safe and healthy- that's the most important.

Hi Enj, i'm 30 week now. actually the smallest baby is at 10th percentile... not very good... my csect will most probably be end june too... but dr not giving a date yet... think he'd decide after the next week scan.

how many weeks are you now? and what are the weights of your babies now? don't be disappointed... dr mentioned if baby weight gain is slowed down then better to take out so that it can absorb nutrients and grow better... cos inside our tummy, nothing can be done.

good news is we have each other for company! :)

Mesh,
I'm 35 weeks now. So they should be ready to be out by the end of the month. I'm still a bit worried because he said their bodies growth has slowed down because all the nutrition's going to their heads. It's called Intrauterine Growth Retardation. Sounds so scary!

twingals,
Z&Z look sooo schweet - they're spitting images of each other. how do you tell them apart? and what huge eyes they have!

EnJ,
don't worry too much - i'm sure yr obgyn is monitoring you closely. you sound ready to pop anytime - are you excited?

mesh,
my babies' weight estimates were not accurate. doc told me that they were 2.1kg & 2.3kg before i pop, but came out both just scrape thru at a little over 2kg each. any less and they would hv had to stay in hosp till they reached the required weight.

A lot of posting regarding the weight of the babies. Any idea how the doc estimate the babies' weight during pregnacy?

I read somewhere that for multiple births, it's normal that their growth will slow down in the middle of the pregnancy as compared to singletons. That's why for most twins their birth weight is less than 3 kgs.

Any mommies here that had twins with birth weight more than 3 kg each?

Okeanosmao, wah! thanks so much for teh comprehensive list!
i narrow down to this place called Eatz catering, they have quite a good deal, cos you get to choose the items.. decide to try Roomfordessert.com.sg for the cake so much reviews, but i not giving out box by box, going to have a gathering and everythng there.. ang ku kueh also they provide so i think better lah.. besides we too busy with babies to think of details for the party, more impt is the convenience!

Mesh, rest more, when they out, you won't get to anymore!

EnJ, my gynea said the exact same thing to me, dun do natural cos too much strain on the 2nd twin. but mine also once reached the 2kg mark, they slowed down, i got worried too! but they came out 2.4kg. so dun worry so much..
your case and mine very very similar.

twingals07, bbs so cute! so identical! yeah man, how you tell them apart! hehehe

Ah Da, i used this site as a guide for the weight of my twins.. http://www.i-am-pregnant.com/pregnancy/calendar/twins/28-32 i find it very useful leh.. hope it helps!

mommies, have anyone checked out the cheapest prices for diapers? and milk powders?

my babies used i think 100 diapers in the last 20 days! each time they drink they poo.. and i also use cloth diapers in the day.. thot of checking out which diapers are good, and how much and buy where cheaper..

milk, i using Nan Ha1 and i buy from NTUC at $31.95 for 900g, so exp. anywhere cheaper?

where do you mommies get your supply from? anyone also heard of Nepia? is it good?

Mooch,
I bought the Nepia ones at the Motherhood fair. I like the feeling of it because it's very soft. But you should ask the mommies which ones they use. Wow, you use cloth diapers in the day and still it comes up to 100 diapers in 20 days? That's scary!!!

Have you thought of trying out Bumwear? www.bumwear.com

Hi Lyricist and Mooch,

Yeah,many ppl say dey look identical..even hubby oso at tyms mistaken them.. But the only way to differenciate them is the younger twin, Zyra, had a small birth mark on her right thigh. And oso she's a bit smaller than her sister. Oso i just bought 2 necklaces with their names shaped as the pendants..so easier to c..hehehe!!

Here are some of the photos dat i had taken few mins before dey were shaved bald..!!

Now u see...
841906.jpg

now u don't...
841907.jpg

Zyra trying to focus to the camera lens..hehe!
841908.jpg

any of u working full time and leave a maid with FIL & Grma in law to look aft bbs during day time? My FIL & grma duno how to look aft bbs, they just supervise the maid so she wont do nusty thg to my bbs..i wonder if the maid can handle 2 alone ? sigh...headache.

Dot16, i cant remember the ang ku kueh shop name but i knw is at everton park,near kampong bahru.u can ctc them at 62231631 but its self collection.

mesh,
dun mind the short form,anyway easier to remember mah.
during wk35 scan,their wt is 1.8 & 2.5kg.gynae decided to take out early since both wt differs alot n fluid inside me is insufficient for the elder boi.but 36wk came out,2.4 & 2.9kg lor.
i din purposely eat anyting..i jus eat watever i like n those i wanted to eat but cant,includg ice cream.my apetite din increase but i eat much mre in a day.

Enj,dun feel disappointed n worry too much okie.jus happily welcome them home..during my 1st trimester,my gynae told me one of them is not growing well n has too much water @ his back.of cos,i'm worried of losing him but wat to do.worry too much oso cant help anyting.
since u've cm tat far,relaz ok?
we will wait 4 yr news then, =)

ah da,my younger boi 2.9kg @ wk36.

mooch,
my bois oso use cloth diapers in the day.but all of them are given to us by my relatives.i duno where cheaper oso,sorry.

for diapers,i used nepia before.quite absorbent.can use for nite n outings. nw,currently,i use petpet for both,absorbs well too.can last 6hrs at nite,from 7pm to their wake up nite feed.u can try the S sz nw,their cuttg its abit smaller.

for me,i always go ntuc racky,if got diapers on offer,i'll buy except for drypers,huggies n ntuc brand.huggies too expensive,ntuc can try out only if they r older cos cheaper n doesn't use alot.drypers no gd to use.doesn't absorb well.
ntuc is selling nepia @16.80.i bot at $15/pk from nepia directly n they can deliver foc w minimum purchase of 4pks.u email to them [email protected], i always liase with karen.

for milk powder,i use enfalac a+.try to go medical shop n ask.mostly they r cheaper than ntuc.mine ntuc sell @30.20, medical shop selling @28.50,so much cheaper.if u buy in ctn,can try ask for cheaper price but mostly they wun giv u cheap at most,cheaper by few cents.

twingals, yr gals look so cute.the one w big eyes so pretty..identical twins r like tat,will always call the wrong ones..hee..

patty,
i'll b going bk to work soon,my mil n maid will be takg care of them.my mil has experience takg care but she ever told me tat,1 person alone cant take care of 2.
have u hire the maid aldy?

Okeanosmao,
The Nepia you ordered for your babies, did you get the NB size or the S one? I'm thinking of ordering now while the offer is still on. Is the washing ALOT to use nappies in the day? My MIL really wants me to use nappies but I'm worried about the washing and no space to hang and dry!

My OB has already scheduled my C-section for end of June if babies are good. That'll be 37 weeks. He's going on leave this coming week so I'm a bit nervous! Don't want his stand in doctor to deliver me!

Moms, did you all use the cot from the beginning? I'm thinking of using the Moses baskets because can carry them around. Easier.

Okeanosmao,

Hehe,actually my twins are not identical twins but fraternal..not sure if they'll still look alike when they grow up...

Hi mooch,

Thanks for the information.

Twingals07,
Your babies look really alike. Didn't know that fraternal twins can look so much alike.

Did all of you buy 2 cots for your babies? I'm having space contraints...

Ah Da,
I have the same concern. Space! But I've ordered 2 cots and they're coming on Tuesday. Still don't know where I'm going to put them.

Enj,
I ordered NB size first.wen my younger boi is ard 2mths (5kg),i changed to S size for him cos his buttock big liao.my elder boi is small size so still can wear NB size.
i suggest u order NB size first.do u mean u wan to order from nepia directly? if yes,their price is always $15 unless they are increasing their price.not sure will they increase price aft july when 7% GST starts.
for yr info:
Nepia Tape Diaper
(1). New Born (56275) 4pack/ctn $15/pack (60 pics)
(2). Small (53275) 4pack/ctn $15/pack (54 pics)
(3). Medium (52275) 4pack/ctn $15/pack (48 pics)
(4). Large (51275) 4pack/ctn $15/pack (42 pics)

as for the cloth nappies wich i use only during day tiime,1 day can use alot for my bois especially if they urine alot.1 hr can changed ard 6 nappies per boi n aft ard 3-4 wks,half an hr changed ard 5-6 nappies per boi.
i've maid at hm so all the washing i'll jus leave it to her lor.if u r using cloth nappies,u hv to buy alot especially during rainy season.my bois clothings n nappies,i'll jus hang in the balcony,if there's sunshine,i'll jus hang some out.oh remember to buy the nappy liners too.
i used cots for them,1 in each rm.

twingals,they do look alike.cant really tell its fraternal.

ah da,i used 2 cots.my rm is too small to accomodate 2 so i put 1 cot each in 2 rms.

Hi okeanosmao,

Your babies are of very good weight for twins. I guess it must have been really tough during the final trimester having to carry them around. Did you have any difficulties?

I'm moving over to stay with my in-laws so that they can help take care of the babies. Their place have 2 bedrooms. They'll let me and my hubby take over the master bedroom. Fitting in 2 baby cots will be a challenge i guess. Might have to buy those smaller sizes ones. The other option of course would be to put one of the cots in my in-laws room. But I feel bad about having to disturb them at night when I need to feed the babies.

Thanks okeanosmao,
I just ordered the diapers from Nepia. The woman sounds like she's from Hong Kong. The June offer is $14 a pack but you can only order 4 max.

I feel bad having to put the cots in different rooms. Because one will be with the maid and the other, in my study. I'm worried it would seem like there's preferential treatment or that we will be closer to one of the babies or that one of the babies will be closer to the maid.

I don't think I will try the real cloth nappies. I don't have very much space to hang. And the furniture, everything gets wet right?

Ah Da,
Mothercare has smaller cots. My cots are also considered smaller. Now, walking around is a real problem. Little bit only very tired.

Mothers,
How long after c-section will the babies be given to you to try to nurse?

hi ladies, back from my scan. Enj, i think 2 of my babies also having IUGR now. but dr doesn't want to use these words... he mentioned something about blood vessels in brain open up more as a auto defence mechanism. think sam elike what u described earlier.

however, he still prefer me to hold another 3 weeks if possible.

i told hubby as long as babies or mother doesn't show sign of dying, he'd just try to drag as long as he can. and he agrees.... i think it's true right? if mother and babies can tahan, there is no reason to shorten the term unnecessarily mah. though i dropped lots of hints to him that i very sian and want them taken out asap.... hahaha

Mesh,
If Dr thinks you can keep them in for another 3 weeks, then you should try lah.

My Dr is LC Foong at Gleneagles.

Today, my feet are very swollen and my back hurts a whole lot!! Argh!

Ah da,
yup,come to tink of it,i can't believe i carried 5.3kg bbs till wk34.i still went to work as usual but hv to walk real slow.they are pressing my bladder and every step i took,i hv to tahan jus in case my urine leak out.till wk35 scan,my gynae ordered me to rest at home if nt,i'll still be working till i pop! other than tat,as usual,backache,swollen legs but what i hate is sleeping time.i can't sleep properly n everyday my sleeping time can drag till 1-2am.
if u put 2 cots in yr rm,only u and hubby taking care of them at nite?

ah da/Enj,
i put my elder boi in another rm where my mil n maid is takg care of him.i take care of the younger boi.initially,i too wanted to let both slp 2gether in 1 cot but realised its difficult attending to 2 at nite especially if u wan to BF them.With only my hubby beside me,dun tink we can handle 2 together.besides my hubby dun wake up feeding them.so no choice,hv to leave it dis way.
no doubt,i feel tat i'm closer to the younger one.the only ting i can bond closer to elder boi is tat nite time,i try to wake up once a while to feed/make milk for my elder boi then aftn try to play/feed him.i do feel jealous of my maid in the initial period as she keep carrying my elder boi so during tat time,i'll find chance to carry him n not letting my maid any chance.haha..
but sometimes its gd to let other ppl take care cos u will be very tired taking care of 2 especially if u r doing confinement.

Enj,
for the cloth nappies,i also used binder to bind the nappies 2gether,older ppl will use safety pin.as they grow older,i used those shorts binder(do not wat's tat call but similar to bumwear) so tat their mattress wont get wet.
if u do not wan to use cloth nappies,can explain tat to yr mil.

mesh,
as long both can tahan,no point deliver them early.i guess we got the same thinking for taking them out earlier too.v emotional rite?

okeanosmao,
I can't imagine how you manage around when you were pregnant. The weight of your boys is really tough on you huh? I nearly wanted to get a wheelchair when I was carrying my gals. They only weigh 4kg in total when I delivered them in wk37. Their weight was bearable, actually. But I had sever water retention and my legs swell all the way up to my thighs. Really look like an elephant from waist down. And nobody would offer me a seat on the MRT during peak hours bcos when they see me from waist up, they can't tell I'm pregnant. *sob*

ah da/Enj,
I also have one cot in the maid's room and one in mine. But my gals take turns to sleep with me. So far, it seemed to work well. And I glad they are both very attached to me. When they cry, they would prefer me to carry them instead of the maid or anyone else. So don't have to feel bad about placing cot in a separate room. All that matters is you spending more quality time with them.

And yes, we tried to have both in the same cot initially in my room. But I was really exhausted having to see to their needs. Furthermore, they outgrow the small cot in my room by end of 2nd month. They can no longer sleep side by side horizontally in the cot. Their little hands and feet hit the cot frame and it pains my heart. So having them in 2 separate cot is the only solution then. They are 8 months old now and they interact quite well even though they sleep in separate rooms.

Twins mommy,
If you alternate and your girls take turns to sleep with you, do they get confused as to where to sleep? I read in the books that they should have a constant sleeping space so that they get into a routine.

My water retention isn't so bad, but it's uncomfortable and painful sometimes to walk around. I'm ok with sleeping except I wake up every 2 or 3 hours to pee! Troublesome.

Okeanosmao,
I'll definitely use some sort of cover if I use cloth nappies. That's why I bought the bumwear thing actually. But you know how the older generation is, they have their own way of doing things and they want you to do it in the same way.

thanks ladies for the encouragement. i'd surely try to tahan cos we also want them healthy when they come out. good thing is my maid just arrived and she's taking very good care of me.... esp when she saw that i ned to use wheelchair at the hospital to move around. after we came back, she brings me water, fruits, medicine, and so on.... i just lie and rest.... now i don't like to sleep in the day, cos then i don't get good sleep at night.... i find that if i don't sleep in the day, then i only need to wake up once or twice in the night... else it'd be 3 or 4 times in the nite... and yeah enj, so sian to get up so many times to pee in the nite... i experience that too.

Enj,
I don't really alternate. One will be with me for a few days then we change. No fixed schedule so far. My gals also seemed quite flexible about their sleeping space. When I was in my confinement, I want to be able to see them and watch TV at the same time during the day, so they sleep on a mattress which I place on the daybed in the living room. Then they'll be transferred to their cot at night. We practice this until they could roll over and no longer safe to be placed on the daybed. Nowadays, they also take turns during the day to nap in the sarong which a friend gave to me when my gals were 5 months old. When at my ILs, my dad or my sister's home or anywhere for that matter, they have no problem sleeping so long there's a mattress or comfy couch. So I think they aren't confused. When they need to sleep, anywhere is OK (in my gals' case). Most importantly, they have a routine, so they sleep when they have to. Hee!

Okeanosmao,twins_mommy,

Thanks for sharing your exprience on how you manage the babies in 2 different rooms. Maybe for a start I'll place 2 cots in my room first if the space allows. If really cannot cope with 2 babies at night, I'll shift one of the cots to my ILs room.

I went for my detailed scan this morning. Good to know that both are doing well. It was a big relieve to me as I don't really feel much of their movements now. From the November MTB thread, quite a lot of mums are feeling the frequent kicks of their babies.

The babies' estimated weight is 290g and 260g
This is calculated based on some formula.

Heh, just to share, one of them is a girl. The other is a bit shy, so still cannot tell.
kao_shy.gif
Hopefully can see in the next scan.