(2006/12) December 2006 MTBs

MBB,

Thanks a lot!

The haze is bad.. Then the rain just drizzle a bit and wet my laundry while the sun is still shining happily.

And now make me got to rewash the BB's laundry again. So angry.. so hard to hang all the little little thing.. little booties, mittens, 20 nappys little towels,.. aiyo.. All must 'kap' one by one..

MBB,
bobian lor, I also cannot tahan my hb side, at least u deal with MIL, mine is SIL, BIL, nieces and all the rubbish ppl....and now my MIL cannot walk, else she will got lots to comment also...hahaha... me so bad hor.... at least for now, I'm free from going back...hahaha... no need to go back JB liao... but the stupid weekly gathering still on....sian...when can I stop all this!!!

Doggiebb,
have you gotten your beansprout pillow?
i got mine yesterday. so cute....

Vanessa,
yeah lor, i really wish i can find excuses to avoid the weekly gathering. i can forsee next time it's worst coz they wanna see bb and so must go back more often. yikes!

Qian Hui,
washing the botties and mittens really no fun.
especially twice in a day

MBB,

Hiaz... I try avoid talking abt them, cos once I start talking, my blood will boils!! but u will be flying rite, so most of the time u won't b around mah.... tell them to use 3G hahaha.... then still can see the bb but no need to go over...hahaha...

MBB,

Ya lor.. they looks so cute but the looks not worth the effort lah..

Hanging them piece by piece is like.. ugrhh.. u know lah.. some more all at one go.

Luckily all in white, if not must separate this piece and that piece.. worse..

MBB,
wah u sound v fierce haha..but can understand ur frustration, i also like to plan things ahead one if not i will b pissed off like u. juz let ur hubby sort it out with his mum, its easier to let him chase his mum than u..for us dil say anytin also will offended mil one.

Ur full mth celebration sound big, 40 colik! will end up 100 over pple!! for me i juz want it simple juz few close fren, maybe less than 20 pple..i dun want to stress over this like wedding.

mbb
me too...like to plan early type...dun like last minute stress...wah, 40 colik...a lot leh!

doggiebb
wah, next week on leave! lucky lucky you!!!
think the earliest i can start leave is 27 Nov...
yah, think gotta stagger the groups...but i prefer all one shot oso...get it over with lor... dunno how.

think we need to start a new list for all the impending graduations. :p cf chang on 15 nov n someone on 18 nov. is it qsg?

karenp,
thanks for the tip. it doesn't seem as popular as the herbs used for showering.

vanessa,
thanks. i need to get the herbs for showering too.

cf chang,
r u going to cater confinement food?

mbb, bobianah,
my friend had > 100 at the full month yesterday, so chaotic! most of the pple r her in laws' friends, so she n baby were both quite overwhelmed. some old aunties actually told her to put the baby down in the crib so that they can hv free rein to tickle her daughter n pat her cheeks. should hv seen my friend's face. hahaha. :p if looks can kill, her expression would hv killed those old aunties. her daughter fell asleep n those old aunties woke her daughter up deliberately.

qianhui,
today's weather isn't gd hor. hazy n rainy.

MBB

beansprout pillow huh? still 2 minds about getting that. I went for a parenting in a first year: 0-3mths Seminar on sat and the trainer said...better to just swaddle the baby, so maybe won't buy after all. one thing i may buy is the sleep positioner. so that can let bb sleep on back, then alternate to the side.

doggiebb,
at the antenatal class on sat, the midwife said we can simply roll up a diaper n let the bb lean against it. no need for additional sleep positioner.

och
wah! >100 ppl!! faintz! that's wat i afraid of...they invite their frens oso! think i'll lock me and bb in the room if that happen to me. =P scary... lucky my hse not very big...

Fiere,
heee heee...fierce hor???
talk loud loud only lah. i will not tell my MIL off but if she really pissed me off, i shall axe the bb first mth thingy. juz like wat i did to my wedding.

which made me angry too, becoz of her i always ended up not getting things done my way.

since it's gonna be a BIG celebration. i really dun wanna leave things till the last min.

but i am also fierce in nature.
juz tried very hard to tame it for hb's sake.

Bobianah & Doggiebb,
yup, i am gonna get it all done in a day too.
lunch and tea session.

Vanessa,
3G???
they dun even wanna learn to call my english name correctly after all tis years.

och

will the diaper roll away? actually the trainer also said to just put bb on the side, just make sure her arm is pull out so that she won't roll over onto her tummy and suffocate herself. but i still feel a bit scared. the sleep positioner isn't very expensive anyway

Och,

Ya, that's what I hate, when bb is sleeping ppl go n disturb.... damn irritating, to them it's only awhile, but after they left bb is traumatisise and will have problem to us as parents.... that's what I;m afraid the most, when it comes to bb, I'm very pantang. ESPECIALLY MY SIL, THEY R VERY INSENSITIVE!!!

MBB,

No need them to learn, u just call them using 3G function then when they pick up the call, then can see bb liao.... let them can see cannot touch mah....hahaha...

Doggiebb,
oh the last time you were talking abt it. i tot you ordered awredy.

Och & Bobianah,
hee hee, tats why i am having it at my condo's function room. i can always go back to my apartment with bb if those crazy aunties get onto my nerves.

honestly, i dun like such big events.
but no choice coz hb insisted.

i remembered attending my fren's bb shower in a hotel. she booked the whole ballroom.
most of the guest ended up not getting a glimpse of bb at all.
it was pointless.

since hb already got 40ppl on his list plus his relatives and frens.
i am not inviting my frens at all. juz ask them to visit me on their own.

Hi Chang,

I am seeing the diabetes specialist at MAH. Last week i did let her see my past 2 days result, she say it is still in good range. But i still need to do the blood test myself (2 times per wk, 6 times per day).

She also ask me to do another blood test call "HBA1C" which can tested out what is your blood sugar range for the past 3 month. Maybe you can ask you gynea/ doc?

Did your doc recommend u to see any specialist? Right now, i need control my diet.. bcos the specialist did tell me wat thing i cannot eat eg. white rice (must eat white rice + brown rice), wholemeal bread, no sweet stuff, cha sao, eat more veg...

I will see specialist on 25 Nov. If you have any question, i also can ask her. she is quite ok n nice. keep in touch... we must take care ...

vanessa, bobianah, mbb,
i hate it when pple disturb a bb who needs to sleep too. this kind of gatherings can go on for hours, imagine a bb being poked n patted for 3-4 hours, how can a bb not be traumatised?

i was there early, so the party just started, but already, the crowd was so bad i couldn't get in n out of their house. hubby counted the number of pple crowding around the crib at one point poking the bb, it numbered 10. my friend couldn't even get close to her daughter lying in the crib. i hardly got to talk to her too, in the end, she told all her friends (less than 5!) that she will visit them another time with bb, cos she really thinks her bb needs her now. i think hor, if a bb full month turns out to be so chaotic, then it's really no point.

doggiebb,
i dun think the nappy will roll bah. it's just cloth, when bb lean on it, the cloth will flatten. :p

bobianah
thank u beri muchie.....will get it fr jenny 2nite....

qwer, vanessa
thxs 4 the info

MBB
heehee.....i calculated liao.....if c sect must stay hospital 4 3 days....as i wan 2 go back on sat morning, i need 2 ve my op on wed.....& wed is 15nov....
so when u celebrate ur birthday...u will always rem my boiboi oso....heehee

tok abt mil & beanspout pillow.....guess wat my mil told me lst nite.....she said she collected the beanspout liao (btw, i didnt ask her 2 do it....) then she ask me i knoe how 2 sew ornt????.....ask me 2 sew it myself....i was like HUH????!!!!!...i thot since u collected it means u wanna make 4 ur grandson rite......she shld give me the end product (a beanspout pillow) wat....how can she give me the by product (beanspout) then ask me sew myself?????.....i juz told her neber mind lah....my mum make 4 my bb liao......

och
not getting confinement food leh cos my mum is getting 4 me all the meat & fish & veg fr the mkt.....she said fresher & better grade....but now got no1 2 cook 4 me....heehee....neber mind lah.....if still cant find any1....juz make do wif my mil.......sigh....juz tel her step by step wat 2 do loh....

karen
ooopppss....did i rem wrongly????....oh so sorry....i thot u asked me abt gestational diabetes the previous time....heehee pregnant women ve very bad memory....esp 1 who is going 2 give birth soon :p

for my case, think our closer relatives on both sides is already close to 50 pax.. then include friends, colls and cell group, easily over 100 pax liao

our hse is also nt veri big.. so thinking of having the celebration in shifts...

but the thing is... me n hb wanted veri much to have this prata guy come and make fresh pratas for us... but becos he needs space for his work station as well as the oven/pan.. we having problem with space now

initially wanted to have it along the corridor.. but worried tat the space is nt enuff and besides prata sure oily oily one.. think neighours sure complain cos it will be quite near their place as well

then tot of having it downstairs at a pavilion.. but worried tat it may be too warm to have guests there during day time.. also worried tat bb is out in the open for such a long time.. but if keep bb at home, means tat i cant be with my friends.. now facing a dilemna lor

want the prata guy (his pratas is real nice)and he does all sorts of pratas, including choco and paper prata.. but worried abt space constraint and the cleaning up portion..

hb suggested asking friend's for their condo function room, but with 100 pax turnout, seems like difficult lor

sian... but i told myself not to fret over this first... getting the nursery and the bb name is more impt now.. yes, we have yet to decide on our gal's name.. have several shortlisted, but still undecided.. as for chinese names, they are still high up in the sky.. no sight yet..

karen p & karen sg
ooopppss...sorry i thot u re the same person....heeehee very confusing.....

heehee....actually my post is meant 4 karen sg.....sorry abt dat karen p

Hi Chang,

Don't feel sad, u need to take note down what did u eat then you tested fail. I will write what food i took then teste fail, so i will avoid to eat that food again.

Fail, maybe bcos some of the food contain too high sugar. For eg i know i cannot eat intant mee, it will remain high sugar range after 2 hr.

oh.. the specialist also say after 6 weeks of delivered, need to go thru "HBA1C" blood test again to check whether body sugar level go back to normal range. ** touch wood** if fail, means need to do same thing again and must control all the diet and test like now.

conniemummy,
wah, prata guy? u hv a contact? can i hv it?

my friend held it in their in-laws landed terrace. even then, i thot 100 pple was way, way too many pple. pple everywhere from driveway to upstairs. i think if i hv to fit 100 pple in my flat, pple will probably suffocate. :p

QSG, have to agree with u that its tough taking care of kids. That's why very peifu Vanessa can tahan

doggiebb, I am taking cardiprin and fenamon. hehee..handwritten by nurse so don't know if that is the exact spelling. Thanks for your explanation.. I didn't realise that pre-e is due to the constriction... my gynae did warn me that if it becomes serious, my organs might be damaged too.. My last BP was 140 / ?. I am too lazy to get a home-based BP monitor leh..just hope hard that it will be controlled by the meds so that I can carry bb to 40th week. But one good thing come out of it, hubby finally offered to clean the table with the table cloth after dinner yesterday! Last time he always treat the home like food court don't clean up and make me very gek sim! Jia you, sounds bad but now at least I know I am not the only one!

Vanessa, yeah, survival rate is high but don't know the health of bb, and the bills..scarly have to go KKH to deliver instead of TMC..... so you mean best to feed FM or BM for premmies?

kimi, sighh.. you might want to consider start pushing away these 'responsibilities' . Else the more you help the more they always ask you to help and take you for granted... Now its time for you to be selfish....

feire, wow! Your bb gain 600g in 2 weeks??????? That's great! (ok I will love it if my bb gain that kind of weight)

doremi, welcome! Men always think of mah fun this mah fun that..they never think of all the good consequences sometimes when we go through all the mah fun (aka sacrifices!) You should tell him that the xin ku will not be only you,cos you will need his support (eg, if u express out he can take turns to wake up at night to feed bb)

Shihui, a in-between between latex and foam is what First Few Years has. My hubby said they got something that is coconut husk with latex on top (for the coolness). $80+ ($20 if you require delivery). Taka also has something similar. Or you can get the latex mattress top and put on top the foam mattress. Ayah..was about to tell you that my colleague and I have good experience with Prince florist..but same price range as Far East... if you work/live near Thomson can just walk in to Far East Flora freezer and buy some 'plucked' flowers instead of one bouquet and give it to him at night?

och..thanks..but I hate lime juice cos I don't like sour things plus got gastric history..hopefully my bb will catch up on her own in her last month toO!

CF, 9 days!!!!! Wow...!!!!! Tell Philip to update your progress so that you can rest more ok!

MBB, ahhaha... I got the same thing too , and taht was my customary-cum-housewarming. Never give a list of guest then end up that day alot more of my in laws' relatives (like 20 more people!) turned up! Luckily the catered food were more than enough else really pai seh.

och,

me need to get from my friend first.. they have him during their gal's 1st birthday... received lots of good reviews.. forward to u once i got it..

but if never recieve after sometime, must chase me hor.. cos now really pea brain liao

MBB, bobianah,

4 me... me n hubby decided we're nt gonna haf 1st mth celebration liao! act wanted one but recent events made my hubby so pissed off w my family tt he insisted he doesn't want one. at 1st, i was pissed w him n we quarreled but i later relented. also feel q relieved now...

my side v ai1 mian4 zi3 one, will surely jump when i said no celebrations! heh heh... but heck care.... cos they all so buay zi dong... on tt day sure make me n hubby unhappy only...

but we'll haf a small dinner w my in-laws n we'll a mini celebration 4 our frens.

bloom,

4got to answer u. blob-a-day is my gooey discharge lor! haf been free o it 4 2 days. anyway, called my gynae again n he said he's sure there's no cause 4 concern, prob only fungal infection... watever lah...

doggiebb,

congrats! can stay home n wait to pop soon! haf u prepared all e vcds/dvds yet? :p nt much time left to enjoy... better plan wat u die die haf 2 do b4 popping!

Chang,

no lah...haf been past e stg o letting my family affect me (hopefully). ya lor, sometimes need to vent out then happier mah! i've been q worry-free thruout e whole pregy so hopefully wld haf a happy bb!

i'm lucky my mil is so nice tho. every wk, when we go visit, she'll give us fruits n stuff to da bao home. every wk got tonic soup n once she packed a big pkt o tonics n black chicken asked me to bring home to boil n drink during mid-wk so tt i'll haf energy, she even chopped n half cooked e chicken 4 me. yest she cooked yummy porridge. my hubby just asked if there's any leftover. then she da bao all e porridge 4 us. later, she still asked if we need vege n meat so tt i dun haf to cook in e evening. we said dun need but she da bao everything 4 us anyway...

if we buy stuff 4 her, she'll say no need to waste money. if i just mention sthg is nice, she'll secretly pack it up n make us da bao. so nice hor? n she always say now we haf so much resources, wld noe how to take care o bb liao, she'll let us do it our way but she can help if we need her.
so heartwarming.

Chang,

4got... so exciting hor? might c ur bb soon! but u gan cheong or nt?

remember must still come in tell us ur experiences hor!

hmmm... talking abt full mth celebration.. me dunnoe wat we going to do leh.. but hor, i will be the one doing the invites.. will juz tell in laws to invite close relatives on my behalf.. no frens.. :p it's my bb.. not theirs.. :p same goes to my parents.. onli relatives allowed.. :p den i will invite my frens..
no colleagues as well.. will juz give them man yue cake lor.. :p as for hubby, see who he wants to invite lor.. i juz want it to be a cosy affair.. dun want too many pple... :p

Geri, MBB,
THanks!

Qianhui,
i saw tt one too.. looks so nice.. almost wanted to buy it.. but hor, juz rem hubby told me tt his desk is always very full... so not practical to buy for him.. hahaha.. :p

CF Chang,
wah.. u will be the first to grad here leh.. so excited for you..
it's onli next week leh.. hav u prepared everything? muz ask philip to come update us while u rest liao.. heee~

btw, hav u decided between epidural and GA c-sec?

karin,
welcome to join us~

kimi,
oo..we seem to hv the same family's background wor..hehehe...though abit "ku(2) zhong(1) zuo(4) le(4)" lah, we are not alone loo~ hahaha...dunnoe y our mums will behave like dat de..haiz...anyway, guess sometimes really must learn to let go loo. i used to quarrel or argue wif my hb abt my family too..till now, still will lah but not as often leow..hehehe..guess we hv too much "love" for our family dat's y will be disappointed or depressed when are treated coldly loo~ then our hbs not understanding enulf kua..hehehehe..

och,
i hv engaged a CL leow n in fact i ve tried to tell my mum wat are the worst scenarios dat we be facing when the CL are here. dat time, she seem to be ok to everything leh...now hor, i dunnoe wat happened to her, she started to blame this n dat n keep hint tis n dat..i listened to her but when it's my turn to talk, she simply refused to hear. she always said, "ok lah, i watch tv now hor. we talk later.." or "i old leow, no patience to listen..." she talked all she wanted but neber give me a chance to talk to her loo~ really can be frustrated n upset when she behaved like dat. when i keep quiet, she will start to "complete the story" herself. then will start accusing me dat i say tis or dat whereby i hv not finished my story or i din even tell her anything..haiz...really miss my "understanding" mum last time..now it seem dat she's not like the mum i noe loo~ T.T

CF Chang,
haiz..really got different bible in different home...now only can close both eyes n just get thru it loo~ jus hope dat my mood won't affect bb n when he comes out..a cheerful boi boi loo~

mbb,
oo...ur MIL seem hard to please...i tik hor, usually old pple behave like dat lah...if u asked her want to buy more food back, she will feel embarrass..then if u din inform her in advance abt the "man yue" thing, she not happy..informed leow then they tend to do last minute thing one lah. my mum olso like dat...my wedding banquet hor very cham..my mum give me last minute guest lists n ended up hor, i still kena nagged by her cos she's unable to invite all her frens...dat time hor, i gave her mths for preparation then dat time she say only 10 tables..ended up she nid 20over tables then still not enulf for her frens but it was too late to increase tables leow cos confirmed jor. moreover, we chose a small restaurant cos my mum initially said dat she won't b inviting many pple n my hb dun hv much frens or relatives in sg mah so dat restaurant can only put up to 25-30tables at most...haiz...anyway, tink old pple like to do last minute job yet must be informed wif the most "fresh" news...

Bloom,
Breastmilk (BM) is the BEST for bb especially premmies....yesterday just heard from my SIL that a bb was born at 7 months of gestation and KKH insisted BM for the bb and now the bb is 4 months old ( actually only 1 month old lah) and is very chubby.... so bm is the BEST! Yeah!

All this talk abt full month celebration really send a shudder down my spine... remembered the 1st time I have it... headache man, ppl keep disturbing the bb plus my hb side ppl hor... I almost go crazy.... for no.2, so peaceful, cos no celebration, just send cake around to relative and colleagues... so peacefull, so this time round definitely no-no....

karen sg
thxs 4 ur info & encouragement.....

my gynae already sent me 2 c the dietitian.....she oso advised the same thg as wat ur specialist did....anyway, i thk i failed the tests is cos i m so sian abt the boring stuff dat i eat dat i m abit naughty loh....ate some sinful stuff ;p

anyway u how many wks oredi??? i m in my 36 wks +++ going 2 give birth soon.....my gynae said after giving birth still ve 2 control my diet....

2nite will b going 2 c my gynae....will update u whether i need 2 do any test after birth....

connie
cool man!!!!!....u re getting a prata man 2 make fresh & hot prata????....wow....can i ve the contact 2......mayb those who come will b 2 engross wif the prata man & dun ve time 2 disturb my bb....then my bb wont b so stress 2 c soooo many people

bloom
everythg will b fine 4 u.......i will keep u in my prayer....

Hi ladies..been in meeting whole morning..finally can take a breather now..

CF,
Wow! you will most likely to be the first to pop here..must be feeling excited now

By the way, do u ladies feeling more cramps now? I have been getting more and more cramps now...

MBB,

Did you attend the class yesterday? I went to collect baby cot from my sis, can't make it back to class on time...but me definitely going next sunday, told hubby if still dun go.. may not be able to finish the package..

vanessa,

yeah! so i'm nt e only one nt planning to haf a full mth celebration! still tot i's weird!

anyway, ask u sthg. wld TMC give a pkt o disposable diapers after we deliver? just a few or one pk o bt 20 pieces? n wat brand? cos we're using cloth diapers. only need disposables 4 nite n going out. if TMC gives then we dun haf to buy so soon.

Vanessa,
Yes, my no. 1 full mth celebration, so many pple & relatives took turns to carry the baby! I wonder why most of us hv problems with in-laws? I also having same problem...during full mth celebration, MIL carried my newborn & sat at the corridor there to chit chat. Wah lau...that time year end also....so windy leh! Then I got my HB to ask for the baby back.

This time no. 2, I already made known...no full mth celebration. Celebration only give me headaches.

Dey,
yeah. i was the VIP in class yesterday.
next week must go coz on 19th no class.
Regina's boy birthday.
if dun go, really cannot finito...

yesterday, Regina's boy was in the studio. it was difficult to get started so hb offered to bbsit. within 20 mins, ah boy fell down twice! so paiseh!

kimi
wow....ur mil is so gd!!!!!.....she as gd as my mummy.....ever since i came back fr the hospital, she has been buying food fr the mkt every wkend & bring 2 our pl so dat i ve stuff 2 cook during the wk & she always will get the best stuff...then she will help 2 clean my hse.....my bb stuff....i relly thank god 4 her....cos my mum is a very busy woman....she has her own biz 2 take care, need 2 do hsework 4 her hse & cook 4 my dad & sis....but she still try 2 squeeze time 4 me.....really beri thankful....

kimi, shihui, dey
aiyoooooooooo.....i m so excited & soooooooo scared at the same time......heehee....i very kaisu.......everythg done liao.....can give birth anytime already :p

hehheh....will ask philip 2 update u gals after i give birth.....hope we will not b so stressful until both of us got post natal blue ;p

but 2day then i realised i need 2 change the parts 4 my 2nd hand breast pump.....mayb will go & get it tis wkend

bloom

yeah! must monitor lor. try to go slow also and rest as much as you can.

i realised when i rest, my BP can go back down to below 120/80 one

dey

so far no cramps at all yet leh. am 33 weeks plus now.

CF Chang

so exciting! so your Csect is at 38 weeks is it?

Kimi,

TMC or I should say all the hospital will give 1 pack of disposable diaper, so far, KKH n TMC had given me Pampers Premium, those real good one.

qwer,
Well at least urs is MIL, mine is SIL hor, machiam the bb is hers like that n order me around.... excuse me, I'm still in recovering stage hor, the way she order me like she's doing confinement and the bb is hers rather... still remembered last time when my bb just reach home and refuses milk for some reason, she fed her, but I took over and said let me tried, then she commented if bb won't drink the milk fed by her, bb lagi won't drink from me....wow kao!!! I'm the one who carry her in my tummy for 9 months and go thru the suffering of labour pain leh....

no worries chang, will forward u the contact once i got them..

hehe must put reminder in handphone liao.. must ask my friend when i see her on thurs

Chang,

I am in 30 weeks liao. Very excited to know that you going to give birth soon. hehe.. just bear for the boring food for 9 days.... then u can see your lovely baby liao..

the specialist did ask me try to take "soup" meal and eat a lot of veg ... of cos cannot drink too much the soup. ... maybe during confinement period, need to reduce fry and don't put too much oil, try steam... jia you! as for baby and our health, must "Ren"!!! do share your experience here....