(2006/12) December 2006 MTBs

vanessa & shihui,
i no grade one...so hor as long as u can play piano wif 2 hands, i admore u leow...

jackie,
dun worry too much..i olso got red/purple veins near my belly button...T.T i keep telling myself dat i'm creating "maps"...let's hope dat we only trying to create "sg map" nia not those "world maps"...T.T....heard dat stretchmarks cannot be prevented but can b minimised loo~ let's continue to apply our cream bah~ jia you jia you~

doggiebb,
think still need sterilizer to sterilize breast pump when u go back to work?

i was reading up abt this mozart effect. i cannot remember all the details, but for those who r interested, the marketing cd's actually combine the results of 2 types of unrelated but well regarded studies.

the first type is abt soothing effects. what researchers found was that it's possible to sooth babies with the theme song of a particular tv series that their mummies were told to watch every day during last trimester of pregnancy. also, the same soothing effect was observed amongst babies whose parents read the same story (in the study, one of dr seuss books were used) to their unborned bb in their last trimester. the scientific conclusions should be that babies enjoy the same repetitive sounds that they hear in the womb.

the studies that created the urban legend that mozart's music builds the brain actually occured in toddlers. what researchers found was that young toddlers (think < 2 yrs old, though i cannot remember) who were exposed to classical music for a few weeks did better in spatial temporal reasoning than those were weren't. think till today, this type of higher order reasoning is still believed to be one of the few indications of a bb's future iq. mozart happened to be chosen for the study bcos mozart composed at age 4.

to verify the initial results, the same group of researchers went one step further n divided toddlers into 4 groups. what they found was that those toddlers who were taught to read n play music performed best in spatial temporal reasoning, hence the brain building claim by marketing folks. it also added fuel to the urban legend that many pple gd in mathematics plays classical instruments well.

so marketing people decided to lump the two conclusions together n produce expensive mozart effect cds. in a way, they might be right, but bearing in mind the limited scope of the study, exposure to music has to continue into toddlerhood to see all the effects that marketing people claim to produce. n the original studies used classical mozart, not baby mozart, so if we cannot stand baby music, then any type of music will serve the purpose too.

och

that would be like at least 3 mths after delivery...worried that the first month, will succumb and give FM liao...so still holding out on buying bottles and sterilizer. but maybe will succumb and buy soon also...hahaha!

thanks ladies for the contacts for rental of dresses.. will go take a look

xie xie...

bobiahna,
I work at suntec.. actually dun need to attend one.. me small fry only in company.. kena arrow to go lor.. super sian.. think sit with those big shots somemore.. super super sian..

today afternoon very bz.. i always need to disappear for 2 hours stretch to do cell culture.. everytime come back will be lost in the thread.. :p

fizz, jackie,
i was oso brought up believing tt splinter will travel thru bloodstream.. thanks to my mom lor.. she told me if needle drop on floor.. muz quickly pick.. else later step on it, needle will travel to my heart n kill me.. aiyo.. dunnoe make me needle-phobia for dunnoe how long.. :p it's onli until i attended first aid course den i realised tt needle won't travel thru bloodstream.. tt time already in JC liao.. so malu.. :p

doremi,
haha.. singapore map very scary as well leh.. if u include the roads, expressways, mrt line etc etc.. singapore is full of lines wor.. heee~ i rather create world map.. at least fewer lines.. haha.. :p

Shihui,
haha issit? needle won't travel meh? Until now I still believe needle will travel in our bloodstream to the heart, end up also same like u extremely phobia with needle..... then hor, I ask u hor, where the needle go?

jackie,
i hv stretchmarks for 3 wks liao. they dun look like maps, more like kid's drawing of red fire coming up from my pelvis.

doggiebb,
some of my friends' bb feed on all-expressed bm. so bottles n sterilizer still ok. just dun by fm. temptation!

Vanessa,
haha.. the needle will get stuck in our flesh while we yell with pain.. haha.. :p

actually hor, if the needle really drop hor, dun think it will poke us even if we walk over it.. unless the needle can stand upright on its own lor.. :p

so i think our mom said tt to scare us onli... dun want us playing with needle n dropping it.. :p

och,
wat u describe sounds like my drawing.. :p i vandalised my grandparents room's wall when i was a kid... used markers to draw lines etc.. :p

calynn,
it's like lines, but somehow, all almost vertical n v. red, so looks like kid's drawing of fire like that. n it's v. weird, they for a "belt" right under my belly. aiyo, really like some kid drew on my tummy. but hor, i found stretchmark cream helped lessen the redness a bit, so i'm pouring stretchmark cream everywhere now.

shihui,
yah, my mum actually joked that i'm getting punished for drawing those lines on her walls last time.

hai~ talking abt stretchmark, i'm patiently waiting for mine to appear.. :p

tt day was chatting with mom.. want to double confirm tt she dun hav stretchmark so tt the chances of me getting it will be lower.. initially, at starting of my preg, she told me she dun hav one leh.. den tt day, she told me she got abit.... aiyo.. my heart drop when i heard tt.. all along i thot i got her perfect genes.. thot i won't hav stretchmarks.. now.. hai~~ think it's juz a matter of time for them to start appearing...

shihui,
my mum told me she gets bad stretchmarks, so i'm terrified now leh. everytime i see rashes appearing, i dump moisturizer n cream on the spot. :p really hoping all the rashes wun join up like they did last time.

Hi MBB,
Don't worry, not a problem for me to buy and bring back. I can always buy more for my girl when I am back here next year. Anyway, I have 3 neighbours and 1 cousin who delivered baby girls between April, May and June this year, so I'm anticipating some hand-me-downs.

It's nice to share family stories and relationship issues. When I was much younger, I actually included family relations as a criteria for potential boyfriend/hubby. I particularly wanted in-laws who are young (coz my parents are quite young) so as to reduce any communication problems. The other "good-to-havse" were stuff like the guy should not be the only son/child, must be intelligent and generous. Of coz, utlimately, I have to compromise on some issues and also accept other unexpected situations. Nevertheless, I think I will still pass on this attitude to my daughter in future.... ie. must evaluate future family members and relations too! Hah hah.

och,

sounds scary... i've been staring at the mirror everyday, looking at my tummy, *touch wood* so far tink dun have... or it could be tat i'm not accepting reality!!! ha ha...

Shihui,

wah...u give up hope already? dun lah... if hers a bit only, maybe u won't have leh

Oh hi, good morning sylk, hope I've got the timing rite

Managed to catch us last min huh... after today this thread will be close and reopen again on Monday....

calynn,
not scary, but v. depressing, especially when they first appear n the whole area is v. red. after dumping creams on the area, there's less redness. i actually cannot see most of the stretchmarks clearly, even in the mirror, since they r under my tummy. i only see those that creeps to the side. hubby was the first one to spot the marks n they appeared on the very day i started 3rd trimester.
so zhun.

think qianhui went for her checkup today. a few others also hv checkups tonight right? we can hv an updated bb table again after tonight.

och,

oh... sounds bad... i also worried coz can't see under my tummy as well... hope there's nothing there!!!

i remember i coll telling me tat she ask her hubby everyday if there's stretchmark under her tummy... coz she doesn't have a full length mirror at home... can't see... her hubby will say no everytime... then one day she went to try on clothes and saw herself in the dressing room mirror and almost fainted....

needless to say, her hubby got a earful tat night!! ha ha...

me have been using the stretchmark cream religiously since my 1st mth.... i almost finish my 2nd bottle of oil liao.... use like nobody's biz.... hiaz... hope tat it's not gonna be a waste of money...

anyway.... hope for the best.... and u should continue to put the cream.... hopefully can control...

hi sylk, bye sylk!!!

see u ladies back here on depressing Monday ok???

Have a good weekend everyone!!!

jackie, shihui, calynn,

heh heh... thx thx 4 e an1 wei4. i more kan kai liao lor. shihui, i noe wat u mean, it's quite sad when u look bk n realise tt u can't haf tt kinda close bond w ur siblings liao. in fact, i missed them so much when i 1st moved out leh! yet, my sis kept maligning me, said i cldn't wait to move out only... sigh..

bloom,

ya lor. she can b quite b q mean one. when young, din think much o it. mum always say she's born w a bad temper, just tolerate her.

jen,

envious leh. me n my sis were oso those can chat until 3am kind. then will msg each other all e time.. who noes, after get married liao, i find her nt v understanding lor... now tt she fan1 lian3 liao oso gd lah. i got excuse to just ignore her. minimise conflicts. n she's e kind who's nv wrong one.

dun tok bt unhappy stuff liao lah. haf a great wkend!

calynn,
those disposable pads for lining the mattress that you got from Guardian, may i know the size? coz i remember seeing them and the size was 30' X 30'. dunno if at nite, i turn here n there will be shifted away or not. is there other types of plastic lining?

vanessa,
do you have any brand recommendation for those hot/cold pad for breast engorgement? or all brands oso the same?

have a good weekend all!

Hi Bloom,
acc to my Antental class thephy, she said to prevent cramp, legs swollen and reduce veins, one must drink lot of water, flash out and then do the legs exercise. just moveone's ankle and toes onwards and pull inward 50 times before gg to bedtime. for me, I did it in the office also to circulate blood flow. also place one's legs high when sitting down. when sleeping time, place a pillow in betw the legs.

Hi jen,
it is not advisable to go foot massage loh cos the veins on the foot can trigger a lot of issue - like headaches, backpain, hurt the bb....etc. that's what my Antental class instructor mentioned.

Any part of the body can massage except tummy and foot.

afcai, what do you mean by 'flash out', you mean flush out as in pass all the water out as urine?

Thanks for the advice. So far I am still ok but I bet I will need these exercises sooner or later :p

MBB, your PM is off. Please PM me your address. Avado Organics sent me some baby products sample and will like to snail mail to you.

my bb playpen, bb pram n other bb tingy was delivered to me tis morning. bought those items from cheong choon last sat. jus now hub assembled the playpen. we move the playpen to our room to make sure it can fit into our room. abit cramp cos got a walk-in wardrode in our room. then shifted the playpen and bb pram into my nursery room. So excited tat the nursery room fill wif bb tingy..

yesterday nite went to see a friend who gave birth at kkh. she was c-section as her bb head turn up. her due date is suppose to be in 2 weeks time but dunno y her gynae wanted her to do c-section 2 weeks in advance leh.. mayb 2 weeks later, her bb head will turn down again mah.. her bb girl is 3.5kg. she told mi if wait for another 2 weeks, her bb might b too big to deliver. But i tot bb too big can also do c-section.. she is still veri weak n dun hav the strenght to carry her bb thou she c-section more than 24hrs liao.. my hub n i is veri excited when we saw her bb. realli wish time will fly faster so tat we can see our bb sooner..

talking abt my piggy feet:

i hav no pain when i walked. but during nite time, when my hub massage both the swelling feet, i can feel the pain lor.. n my hub purposely massage harder saying tat the swelling will subside.. another ridiculous thing he did was.. ask mi to put both my swelling feet into the basin of hot water. he say will b good for my swelling feet.. siao man.. the water was so hot. i was screaming like hell when he forced my feet into the basin. he was so shocked tat he let go. i ask him to put his feet in to try lor. haha.. he also cannot tahan the hotness. n pour in more cold water. he crazy liao. dunno get this stupid idea from who. i told him wait my feet will b even more swelling.. asked him if he wanna to eat freshly cook swelling pig trotters.. silly old hub..

i tinking of buying nursing bra soon.. but dunno which brand will b better leh? i m looking for non-wire n good support nursing bra wif budget price ($25 to $40 each) thyme or spring maternity or other brands?

Serene, ayo..why your hubby so blur one.. next time you better be the one in charge of checking the bath water temperature before he bath the bb, cos bb more sensitive. Or get those stick-on-bathtub thermometer so that he can double check the temperature.

Starluster,
I dun have any recommendation for that, reason bcos this money can be saved. For cold, u can use cold cabbage leave, but bear in mind, cold cabbage will cause a drop in milk supply if use for too long on the breast. For hot, u can always use a hot towel, so it's not necessary to spend the money on those pad.

Vanessa,
I have those hot pack. Small size one. Can use that for breast engor nxt time?
I also heard use cabbage leave frozen one can cause drop or even no more milk.

Calynn, Och, Shihui,
I am monitoring my tummy and hope the red veins will disappear....Hoping for some miracle lor......At the same time apply double dosage of moisturer to whole body.

Me also ask hubby to check tummy and area i cant see. He better dont lied otherwise he will also kana from me

Och,
Yours red veins so 'zhun' one ah...start to appear on 1st day of 3rd tris......Can understand how u feel

Vanessa,
Never know cold cabbage leave will reduce milk supply...So i guess warm towel is the best lor

BTW, i went to spring maternity today and try their nursing bra.....I am now in-between size leh, so guess have to wait till 32weeks than start buying liao.

Jen, Jackie,
The most effective one is actually HOT towel lor, so Jackie. it's not only warm, but hot to a bearable extend that ur skin and take it. Plus massage to ease engorgement. Cabbage leave are to be cold and not frozen.... if frozen, ur skin may get froze bites and also can cause milk supply to dip tremendously.

The very best solution is..... latch on properly and frequently.... then all these worries will disappear liao lor....

serene,
aiyo, if my hubby did that to me, he's going to get an earful man. but i doubt he will bother to carry water to help my circulation.

jackie,
zhun right? that was the wk when we were chatting abt stretchmarks appearing in 3rd trimester, n ... n.... sigh. how come i'm never so lucky when i buy 4d?!

qianhui,
how was ur checkup? i hv no updates yet, my appt is next wk. cannot wait for it.

vanessa,
thanks! last nite mrs wong oso mentioned the same thing, coz the topic was on breastfeeding. good la... can save some money then

serene,
at least your hubby got 'heart' to do for you lei.. mine when i tell him got aching feet.. then he ask back.. "then how?" no initiative one..
530597.gif

by the way, just wanna share this interesting bp that i saw. its for personalized cd.. http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449156/525033.html?1159658417. i think its really cool as they incorporate the kid's name into the song. but the names are limited to english/christian names la.
there's an album, You are an Angel, the songs are very soothing for baby.. like Brahms lullaby, twinkle twinkle little stars etc..
for Christian mummies, there is one album with Christian songs, those songs that they sing in bible school.
i will be getting them as christmas goodies for my nephews.. think they will love it when their names are being called/sung.

Hi!!
sian Sunday for me.. hubby hor.. really can't tahan him sometimes...
he either sleep or work lor... like no time for me... weekday work work work until late at night.. den weekend watch tv with me within 5min doze off liao.. now he's in bed sleeping while i'm surfing net... hai~~ sian...

me down with flu.. sian.. now eating 1000mg Vit C everyday.. not seeing doc yet... hope it will get better...

Calynn,
haha.. ur fren's husband very cute leh... tell white lies.. can imagine ur fren's shock when she saw herself in the full length mirror... :p

Vanessa, starluster,
wah.. use cabbage leaves n hot towel can liao ah? aiyo.. i went to buy the gerber hot/cold pack liao.. hai~~ wasted money.. den now i juz realised tt i dun hav microwave.. dunnoe how to heat up the pack.. maybe got to soak in hot water liao.. :p

Serene,
at least ur hubby massage ur feet for u.. n bother to prepare hot water for u to relax ur feet.. :p mine ah... sleeping soundly like a pig now.. last night was telling him my back got slight aching... he juz anyhow sayang abit n went to sleep liao... hai~~~ stupid pig..

Jackie,
heee~ ya lor.. me monitoring too.. hoping nothing will appear.. :p but hor, i can't control my hands... they juz kept scratching my tummy.. :p but i tried to control the strength liao.. make sure i dun scratch until got scratch marks lor.. n always onli scratch thru clothings lah.. :p

Qianhui,
did u ask abt the hospital tour thingy? need to register beforehand if we want to go tour hospital?

Hi Shihui,
try to eat kiwi, a very good source of vitnam C (the richest vit c for fruit - 3 times the vit c than oranges).it also helps in constipation. I have came across the article stating that eating kiwi before bedtime or a few hr before bedtime will help in sleeping - meaning one will sleep better.

same here, hubby not in today, he went bowling tourment early in the morning.also need to ask him a few times before he will massage my legs.

Hi Serene,
do u know the closing time for cheong Choon outlet on Sat? hubby and I will be gg down on sat(7/10) after my antental class. how much is yr bb playpen? wow, u set up the play pen so early? anyway, will only set up at of Nov to air it and wipe it. so did u buy any mattress to place in the playpen cos the 'mattress' in the playpen that I bought is quite hard.

did u buy any bathtub? if so fr where and how much. so far, i see the cheapest bathtub (come in blue or pink color) at Seiyu for $12.90.

wow, it is unusual for bb gal to weigh so heavy - 3.5kg. usually at abt 2plus kg only.

hmm...celebration this yr not so so so cos need to go for my Antental Class that day (28/9). when hubby and I reached at 10+, I went to bath and guess what 's surprises he given me.

he took out 2 own-made bitter chocolate bowl (he melted the choco) and inside filled with kiwi fruit. then he placed 1 calendar into one of the bowl and then sing happy birthday song and take a photo shot. he told me he wanted to buy birthday cake but too big to finish it and also too creamy and not gd....so he did not buy.

that's how this yr birthday is celebrated. when 's yrs and how u celebrate it?

Hi Bloom,
yup, flash out mean pass out as urine. it is gd also to prevent urine tact or bladder infection by drinking more water.

yup. u are welcome.

Some info to share
1) What are the advantages of being a stay-at-home parent?
http://www.babycenter.com/refcap/baby/babychildcare/6025.html?scid=momspreg:20060925:2961:19394:8899

2) Will having sex hurt after giving birth? If so, what can I do about it?

http://www.babycenter.com/expert/baby/postpartumsex/11807.html?scid=momspreg:20060925:2961:19394:8899

3) Is there any way to predict when I'm going to go into labor?
http://www.babycenter.com/refcap/pregnancy/childbirth/181.html?scid=mbtw_preg29:20060925:0:0:0

4) What are Braxton Hicks contractions?
http://www.babycenter.com/refcap/pregnancy/childbirth/156.html?scid=mbtw_preg29:20060925:0:0:0

Third trimester
With Third trimester starting, which means both you and yr baby are in the homestretch! With his eyesight maturing, your baby can actually see light through the womb and will even turn toward a light now. You may start experiencing more uncomfortable symptoms, like restless legs that make it hard to sleep at night. Soon you'll see why it's all worth it, though! And if you haven't already, it's time to nail down your maternity leave plans.

Just came back from Seiyu sales..Bought lots of baby stuff again..for those who have not yet finished their baby shopping.. Seiyu is having a 15-20% off for majority of the baby products...

Shihui,
Your tummy itchy too? Mine is getting more and more itch as it gets bigger.. been carrying my stretchmark cream everywhere i go..just in case the itch starts, can relieve it on the stop..if not I wld keep scratching lor...

Qianhui,
How your check up?

och,
Ya lor, think hor stretch mark is unavoidable de lor

Shihui,
Do see doc if u dont get better tml. We cant afford to fall sick now. N dont scratch too hard otherwise when stretch mark appear u will

afcai,
Yr hubby is so sweeeeeet ......It much much better than those birthday cake lor

dey,
U r so smart to bring stretchmark cream everywhere u go.....I will start doing that from tml onward

BTW, when is the Seiyu sales ending?

hihi!
today went to buy Tung Lok Snowskin durian mooncake.. wah... super yummy... the durian is not too sweet.. abit bitter type.. yumyum... initially planned to give two to SIL during her housewarming... now, me n hubby having 2nd thots liao.. hahahaha.. :p

afcai,
my mom oso suggested eating kiwi today..
think got to go find kiwi liao.. :p

ur hubby very sweet leh.. it's better than cake..
he put in alot of effort to plan the surprise for u leh..
admire wor...

dey,
ya lor.. tummy very itchy.. esp by the end of the day.. usually when i reach home aft work, it's the most itchy time.. i think mainly there's no distraction oso lah.. so any tiny little itch i can oso feel it.. :p hmm.. maybe will bring the stretchmark cream with me too if the itch get worse..

Jackie,
ya lor.. planning to go see doc tml.. den can half day.. hahaha.. :p coz even if i get MC today, i still need to go back work tml.. my cells need me.. sian..
so planning to go finish the work den see doc.. :p me "geng" alot.. :p

shihui,
take care leh, sleep more. my hubby is the same as urs. every time i tell him i hv backache, he just anyhow rub rub a bit then go back to his tv liao. only time he did proper massage was during the antenatal class. when the physiotherapist said that we can get our hubbies to help us relieve leg cramps, i snorted n said haha under my breath, he actually turned to me n said "ya, i think chances of waking me up r low, maybe we should buy u a towel after class".

i dun scratch my tummy, but stretchmarks still appear leh.

afcai,
cheong choon closes at abt 8pm. but if u r a bit later, can call n check if winnie is still around, cos they r not the type to close on the dot.

according to doctor friends of mine, average weight of bb in sg is abt 3-3.2kg. 3.5kg is considered a big bb liao, especially since the bb is only 38wks when borned.

Hi Shihui,

The hospital tour will be this coming tuesday..

I dunno must make appt or not lah.. but should be able to just go lor.. touring only ma.. not use the rooms/suites wat.. ha ha..

My BB is bout 1.8kg lor.. not to big nor small. It's average.

The doc shows me the graph of big and small BB, mine is on the average line lor or just a teeny weeny pt above the average line, can say touching the average line.

So happy lor, my mum went in with me as well and at least she now dun complain my tummy small and BB small..

good morning!!

just had check up on sat..gynae said me put on a bit more weight n bb also put on weight....tink i ate too much durian mooncakes n durian liao! gynae asked hubby not to let me eat anymore...

bb is active n kicking hard
was having a bit of hiccup when gynae was scanning on him.BB's head still down.

BB weight 1517gram as of 29 weeks and 1 day.
Qianhui,can you update for me? thanks!

Had finished all my antenatal classes on last sat..tomorrow going for last session Doctor's talk at SCGS!

Good Morning Ladies,

Hiaz...It's Monday again, but still not too bad, cos it means this thread is alive again

Qianhui,
Envy leh, I also hope my bb like urs so big, cos I scare my bb when born hor, too small, very difficult to carry.... the last check up only 900+ g, so sad, been trying to eat alot to help her gain weight....

Choo,
Congratulation on ur completion, guess u must have learn alot from the class...

good morning...

choo,
i will be gg for tomorrow's talk too! think it'll be quite a huge crowd since all classes will go for the same talk.

last time some of you talkin abt those cute carter receiving blanket right? how? did you all managed to buy? saw in bp thread it's selling for $7.92, if managed to hit 30pcs. think now its abt 15pcs liao. so if any of you still keen on buyin that, can take a look : http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449156/529559.html?1159721585

qianhui,
1.8kg... average only ah? think so far is the biggest amongst the rest of us liao. how many weeks are you now? btw, how is the bp for the amosco thing coming along? managed to fill up all the empty slots? let me know your acc number to transfer the $ to, okie?