(2006/12) December 2006 MTBs

afcai
i was a breathe holder as a bb and i dont blame darren for being one.
i read somewhere that this is usually inherited. I usually try to avoid him being overly tired and distract him whenever he is abt to breathe hold, but not with success on every occasion la.

Bloom
i didnt exactly bring darren for studio shot la. we went to take passport size photo at those neighbourhood photo shop and ask them to take some studio photo only.

Bloom/Kimi
My younger bro's wedding is next weekend, so i have no choice but to tailor made lor. very hard to find maternity gown le. aiyo...i really feel tthat my tummy is v big. y'day a food stall owner commented that i look 6 months pregnant.

afcai,
PH is afraid of thunder too.. he cries when there's thunder.. den he will want me to hug him.. aft tt, he will keep saying "bon bon".. :p so girly... :p

och,
think so.. but not sure when to join.. his crocs getting abit tight liao..

kimi,
haha.. ya lor.. i very against feeding him junk food.. i'm a junkie myself liao.. dun want PH to be like me.. it's so unhealthy... :p

we planning for a short trip to sydney.. but the prob is, the onli available time will be during july.. but it will be so cold there.. is it advisable to bring baby there? i dunnoe if PH will be able to take the cold well...

gan,
did u buy an extra seat for hayley's air ticket? i wondering if i shd buy a child ticket for PH instead of the infant ticket..

Fizz and bloom, I have tried giving Evee pedisure every nite for past 3 days but everytime she took a sip she wanna spit out and refuse to take anymore
. Even my elder girl dun like it and when i tried abit, it tastes like condensed milk. Was telling hubby, we try maybe 2 more times if she dun want then won't force her liao as we afraid she got probia of drinking milk and may affect her weight further if she refuse to take even her normal milk. Hiaz, at least we tried on our part and when PD ask when we see him 2 months later we also can tell him we tried if her weight still about the same.

Kimi, thanks for sharing the info you read up on bb's weight and development. I does help to give some assurance

Afcai, answer to your questions:
1) Evee does that once in a blue moon.

2)My elder girl perspire alot till hair wet when younger, we use the fan but didn't put so near to her.

3)Not sure but the lymph nodes should not appear everytime they fall sick, depends on the cause.

4) Sometimes will struggle esp if dun like the taste. Nowadays i use spoon to feed Evee sometimes could be easier.

Shihui, which part of july you going? if early july, early winter shouldn't be that bad. Its not really that cold during that period except when the wind blows. I also have the same concern if we could bring Evee to Tokyo during winter. If its a long flight like 5-6 hours, think it may be better to buy a seat for PH but sometimes the flight may have empty seats which you can tap on.

Hi Mummies...

Gd morng...1st day of work after 1.5wks break...I m missin Cae liao...

Btw...I saw a pair of Aprica shoes in Mothercare...the soles look very gd...I was so tempted to buy...but it costs $89...n I hv 3 pairs of shoes comin soon...therez a BP on Combi shoes...looks gd too...

Gan...

Hihi...glad tat Hayley has been such a cooperative tod durin the trip...

Hmmm...I cant see Hayley's pose in Yahoo leh...

Afcai...

Here r my ans to yr ques...

1) 50% of the time...Cae nids to b carried n pat bac to slp...not oni to move his sleepin position...n he has to be put bac to slp on our bed now...even tho he has started the nite slpg on his cot...he wil pt to our master bedrm dr n go "eh"...

2) Cae slps in aircon...he wil perspire a bit...not too much...

3) I dun really notice any swell...so I guess itz a "no"

4) I guess I m the lucky one in tis dept...I hv no plbm feedin Cae med...itz even easier than feedin him milk...

Hmmm...if lymph nodes tend to swell if there is any infection or virus...then how does yr dr noe the nature of the infection or virus since Tx doesnt display any symptoms...doesnt the correct antibiotics nid to b matched to the correct symptoms...jus a tot...

Thx for the info on pao sheng...

My MIL jus told me proudly tat my SIL's 4mo bb has alraedy started on brown rice...I guess I wasnt the least impressed...she likes to compare Cae wif my SIL's bb...she says tat her bb drinks so much milk while Cae is so diff wif milk...she says tat her bb is so chubby while Cae is so skinny cos my maid doesnt noe how to feed him...I always feel very indignant hearin her comments...

Yah...I rem yr comments abt Tx cryin for a very long time at yr mum's pl last time..

U r not preg r u...kekeke...btw...when I squeeze my nipples I stil hv droplets of milk leh...itz been 6mths...normal???...

SH...

We r oso plannin to bring Cae to Aost or Jap at the end of tis yr...I hope tat it wil b easier to feed him milk then...

QSG...

Yah lah...Pediasure's sweetness tastes so artificial...

Och, Bloom...

Yey...Made n Kate r gettin well...all the bbs r gonna b well soon...I wonder howz Lil's E???...

Kimi...

U take care...eat more kiwi...lotz of Vit C...

Hi mummies. Just came back from hols with the kids.

och, got your pm. will be transferring the $ to your account shortly.
thanks for your patience!

Gan,
I cant find the Yahoo Pulse leh.

afcai,
not oni ur hb not helping my hb is even more useless.. My hb loves to have kids but dun help in taking care. then how? i also resigned to fate also. Anyway is my child. Nxt time my gal close to me and give me salary allowance only, he dun get jealous lor. My hb played games everyday.. If my gal fell or knocked her head againist anything he will scold me.. then I even more yuan wang. Or gal make a mess out of the hse i also get scolded for not looking after her well.

Answering to your queries:
1) any one keep on encountering whereby yr toddlers keep on waking up on and off in the middle of the night (in my case, stand/sit up and wail) ? then one has to carry her back to her slp position?

Once awhile.. Last thur she was crying almost every hr.. dunno for what. but i din beat her lar. haha. I wake her up.. she continue to cry with eyes closed. i bring her to kitchen on the lights to make her awake & give her drink water. Then few hrs cry again i let her take Jin feng san. then hrs again i apply ru yi oil for her. by the time i want to go back slp aldy 530am. Then nw is at nite make some noise, i immed give her water to drink to keep her cool. haha

2) DO yr toddlers perspire a lot (till hair wet) when he/she sleep? will u blow the fan directly at them?

No wor. we have wall mount fan on the wall.. very cold even we switch on speed 1. Maybe toddlers drink milk so tend to be more heaty inside so perspire out lor.

3) will the lymph nodes appear when your toddlers fall sick?
(I went to touch my sil's 8.5mth bb, she dun have any lymph nodes)

I dun feel my gal lymph nodes cos i dunno hw. Oni when sick, doc will feel her. no tell me anything so i assume all okay.

4) will yr toddler struggle, refuse to open the mouth when consume medicine?

Yes of cos.. She will make her mouth tight. So nid someone to carry her & force open her mouth. I use the syringe the clinic gave & jet in the med in 1 go when she is crying also. But these 2 days she coughed, i carried her myself & prepare her favourite drink & jet in. she dun produce any noise at all. Yday even drank the med dun want to drink water to wash off. that was miracle. But i keep quiet lor. cos my gal very "pantang" one. cannot say her one.

Din come in for a wk so many postings to catch up. Only manage to glance through and saw a few babies and mummies are sick. Hope u all recover soon.

The session with Denise in My Gym was great. She simply loves the adventure stuffs - swing, slide, monkey bar, etc. Think she preferred the action stuff then the sit ard session. Whenever the teacher started to sing or when we have the get around session, she crawls away. Hubby said cos I sing better. hee.....
But I did not sign up cos tot of trying Gymboree 1st. Another reason being the distance.
They hd open house that day but did not mention to us when we called up for the trial. Hmm........

Now the topic is holidays uh. I'm so tempted to go for 1 b4 no.2 but still trying to convince hubby.

Jen,
Now I go to the PD that is in Clementi. After the medication incident of the Tiong Bahru one, I banned him. But last Sat hv to go back for Denise MMR cos we signed the vaccination package. Still hv to go for chicken pox, Hep A and the 6 in 1 booster.

When I was there on Sat, the clinic was so crowded. Packed with adults and kids. Outside the clinc too. We have to wait for 1hr. While I do the registration, I asked hubby to wait outside w Denise. Over the counter, I heard ple saying their kids hv fever, another 1 hv chicken pox. When I looked at the crowd, I can't wait to leave the place asap. But I just find it weird why some mummies still waited inside with young babies.
Another incident is, a lady came in with her gal (mayb ard 1yrs?) saying that she has high fever. The recept cum nurse jus reply ok with a smile. I tot shouldn't high fever patient hv piroity?
Anyway, whenever I'm in this clinic, I always feel that I'm the odd one or the over-reacted mummy. Every1 started to stare at me when I place a nappy cloth on the area they took the ht. Say me kiasu or kiasi, I jus wan to b safe than sorry. So many ple lay there n some kids even touch it on n off, I jus dunno wat virus is there. Sm more the clinic not very well hsekeep.
Paiseh uh, my posting so loh soh

roo,
I also dun understand why bb with high fever cant be given higher pirority in Q. My gal also had high fever few wks ago. I told the nurse, the nurse told me she will get scolded by other patient for letting me jump Q. haiz.. I worked in clinic be4 so i knw the "law" lor. Even my granny 90+ YO, she dunno have diarrhoea or what we also cant jump Q. I mean we go GP lar.

Ya i think nw is virus period again leh. my gal also down with cough suddenly. but mild kind one lar. long long then cough once lor. but cough w/o phelgm i din give med cos i want her to fight her with her own immune system. but i hear with phelgm i faster give her the cough medicine. I realli hv to salute my gal when she is sick. She dun feel anything. dun tired tired, still got energy to tear hse dwn.. still can walk still can smile.. I think same as me. very "cheng qiang" woman. Anyway i seldom seldom falls sick lar.Oops. touchwood. this kind of thing cannot anyhow say. wait tomolo i sick..

Jen,
ie cannot cut Q? alamak hw can? If the case really urgent the doc/PD should give pirority to baby and old folks leh.
Think Selinna like u, very 'yong'
YA, CHOY, CHOY, CHOY!!!

Roo...

Glad tat Denise njoyed her gym lesson...Cae loves his gym too...

I guess itz difficult to cut q as all sic bbs r considered urgent oso mah...in tat case...I guess those who go for vacination wil hv to wait a looooooooong time liao...prob those wif really emergency cases wil b given the exception...

Jen...

Cae is oso more "yong" than his parents...even wif a fever of 38.5deg...he can b cheerfully runnin ard the hse n climbin up n down the stairs...itz gd lah...cos once we notice tat he looks listless...it means tat sometink is serious...

Fizz,
Hw is Cae? He feeling better?
For PD I understd. For GP mayb can hv the exception.
Once Denise(6mths) was having fever, I brought her to GP. The nurse asked the young couples before us to let Denise go 1st. But I guess still depending on how populated is the clinic and the nurse on duty.

Gain iq 1.8kg is on promotion at NTUC Xtra as advertise in TODAY newspaper
selling at $49.40

- I saw the gain iq promotion until 31/3 at polyclinic (bb) pharmacy but no stock. the cashier is quite gd and she called the other outlet (Jurong Medicial ctr) to get the stock for me. so total, I ordered 9 tins to ask them for delivery.

dunno whether other polyclinic has this polyclinc. i think I overheard the cashier to call the other polyclinic to check if they have stock on gain iq and they did so they just dispatched it.

I also bought 4 packets off pet pet diaper too in separate receipt. one must buy 2 packet of the pet pet diaper then they will give u a instant discount of $2.

today, I went to polyclinc to see doc. while at the polyclinic, my brother called me that tx is having a runny nose (think she caught the flu fr a kid when we were on the bus ride) since y'day night. so after seeing the doc, I rushed to my mum'plc and then take her (together with my mum) to see doc. at the polyclinic, I 'shun bian' asked the doc how is the lymph nodes (tx still on antibiotic for 4 days). the *&^*% doc scared of touching tx cos she is screaming away. so my mum of cos 'pin her' down on the bed and I requested the doc to check on her ear etc. guess what, the doc told me that he can't detect her ear drum cos it 's been blocked by many ear wax. the lymph node is still the same size. I asked the doc if it is abnormal and he told me it is abnormal and the size is 1.5 (didn't ask him if it is in inch or cm). he gave another dose of antibiotics and this time round, tx needed to consume 2 tables of 2.5ml instead of 1 teaspoon. she was also given olive oil for her ear wax and medicine (in liquid form) for runny nose. will have to come back for doc review next fri. if the lymah node is not reduced, then she will has to go for blood test (test for blood count) and refer to specialist liao. I prayed hard that the lymph node will go away. forgot to ask the doc that maybe this time she has runny nose that why her node still same size.

Playgrp issues: anyone tried out this playgrp service. tumble tots. I have registered as their mailing list and get the discount $10 voucher. am currently, waiting for the voucher to sent to me within 30 days as indicated.

och
thks for the infor on the runny nose etc.

yup, I have only started her on the antibiotic on fri (the public hoilday) only. today, she is on the antibiotics for 4 days. I scared it will crash with her MMR jab last week mah that 's why started on her 1 week later. I asked the pharmcist why there is so much extra antibiotics (more than the 5 days course), she told me that they needed to fill up the whole bottle mah so any unused after 5 days course will be discard.

u are right, I have asked the doc that tx' s lymph node is unusual size (tough small not red).

bloom
thks for sharing the qns that I posted. so interesting to say kate will be still a bb even tough she is 30. I did my a col (a uncle), he treated all her 4 children (3 married liao) as kids. now her married kids really find him 'fan' cos somtimes, he asked them when/what time they will be back etc...the other col told him that they already married and grew up and he must 'let go' of their freedom mah.

My col told me that one person has 6 lymph nodes pt (2 on armpit, 2 on neck and 2 on groin area).

bengchoo24
oic, thks for sharing the qns that I posted. so it is normal, bb will just wake up and look ard. tx's playpen is just beside me too. I told my mum that and she told me tx dun like playpen lah, u gave her mattress and let her slp on the floor and slp beside her in another rm loh. but hor, my plc always got lot of soft legs spider and also prompt to dust (eg mop the floor today, next day so far dusty liao even only open the MBR, tx's rm and kitchen window only).

re: perspire issues: acc to my col, she told me that it is not gd to let bb slp on wet shirt. they might catch a chill easily. ai-yo...think bb temp is higher than adult loh. dunno why they are consider 'ice ice baby'. my mum'plc is very windy and she still need to on the off if not, tx cannot slp well. then my sis will complain that the room is snowing and then she will put on a sweater plus 2 blanket. so 'kua zhang' man....

hmm...usually, we will circulate the room with fan running.

kimi
err..so far,bec of tx, we have not cold war. so I just try to juz try to forget or suffer silently.
oic, thks for sharing the qns that I posted.

re: qns 1- I see that Mandy is quite independent.
re: perspire issue - yup, blow fan directly not gd. but I only did it until tx fell asleep for a while. then turn the fan blow directly to the wall so that it can circulate the fan. but this gar still wet her hair etc.

Karen P
hmm maybe bec it is the sec preggie that why stomach grow much bigger.

QSG
oic, thks for sharing the qns that I posted. oh that's gd, Evee at least won't get up so frequently at night. i can't imagine if tx is sleeping in next rm, she will scream cos she is afraid of dark.

Fizz
oic, thks for sharing the qns that I posted.
re: qns 1- wow, Cae really know where to slp better. *Sgrins*
re: medicine issue - oh...a very unique bb who 'luv medicine'.
as for the qns u mentioned that how does the doc know the correct symptoms which match tx. I think i accidentally asked this qns and the doc told me that they have only 2 type of antibiotics for infection. the antibiotic that given to tx is Amo....clin (something like that). it is a yellow liquid with banana smell but however it is not favour to tx. the moment she smell it , she turned and run away so we have to divert her attention etc.

ai-yo....still got drop of milk huh. me sometimes, still felt the tingling sensations leh....I did have milk stains around my n*pple loh when I washed it. hmm...never checked for preggie but mense still came. I asked the doc is my blood pressure normal and instead she asked me what is yr regular BP (ai-yo as if I checked BP regular meh). i told my little boss (via phone just now when I called bck to report MC) and she told me 90/60(or vice versa forgotten the seq) that it is considered low. anyway, I was refer to KKH and the earlist time slot I was given is 22/4. (*&(^& man...so far. think if by this thur or fri, the spotting does not go away then I will go and see doc again and asked them for a lab test (blood count and 'shu bian' urine to confirm if I am preggie.

hmm haa I also eat a lot of kiwi, salam and cod fish when I was preggie with tx. they are ex but gd.

Jen
oic, thks for sharing the qns that I posted. yup, u are right, hubby even told me 2 kids not enu. 3 will be gd. wow piang...haa..u got a far thinking man...think most daughter (like myself) will only give mummy salary allowance only. my col also asked me how come his 4 kids dun give him allowance whereby his wife have. ai-yo...blame u for the fault that yr gar cause....shake head...deep sigh.think men are not 'ti liang' enu.

re: qns 1 - err...think yr gar overstimulated (having nightmares). hmm...yr gar still take jin feng san....how do u store the jing feng san, I threw away mine cos kept for so long dunno still can use or not.

re: medicine - will yr gar vomit or 'pui' out the medicine once u syringe into her mouth. I have not tried to syring her, maybe will do that wor.

Fizz/Jen
yup, last time when tx kana fever (38.2 degree) after jab, she also dun looked restless.even she 'lao sai' last mth, she also can mess up the hse.

shihui
haa...not girly lah, only cute, afterall, he is still a kid. I see PH really luv to smile a lot. hmm...how long did PH wear his croco shoes? tx only wear her 'beep beep' sandal for 3.5 mths so now her sandals are just nice fitting for her only.

hmm..just curious to know .got infant ticket meh....is it with infant ticket, kids seat on the infant chair but must be seated at the front row (near the toilet) type right...

Hi Shihui,
yes we bought her an extra seat paying for child fare i/o infant fare. Coz just a mere $40 difference, again it depends on the destination. Coz I remb if there is $300 plus difference if we opt for sydney trip initally. But we glad to buy her an extra seat or else our legs will cramp under her weight for long hrs.

Hi Bloom,
glad that you can catch the pic in yahoo site.

Hi Jen/Fizz,
oops.. yahoo site has changed the pic today. The pic only posted onto the site during wkend.

So sian...hb away again. Next week lagi worse...will hv to travel over the weekend. Lucky my mum ard else will be so bored.

Bloom
Dunno if E kena hoarse voice virus but his Dr seems to think it was bacterial, so he was given antibiotics. Fortunately the meds worked so E is off meds liao. Is Kate better already?

Afcai
Aiyo...dun complain liao lah...tx is so guai. U dun hv to look after her 24/7 so it's not tat difficult right? Appreciate her and dun ever say things like u wish u can turn back the clock so u can hv ur freedom back. Do u know what those words mean or not?

Och
Made leh...is she off meds already?

Roo
Hahaha...me also like tat...kiasi. Everytime I bring my boy to PD I will ask my hb or my mum to bring him outside for a walk while I wait for his turn. Scared he kena more infection. Then hor tat time I myself went to GP n there was this boy there running ard with chicken pox. When I got home I immediately had a shower
Else, sekali my boy kena I sure pengsan.

hello mummies!

have been away for slightly over a week and seems like there had been so many posts!

i haven't catch up on the reading but seems like many are sick! oh no! better take care! the virus are getting stronger. so for those who has been prescribed anti biotics, please make sure the whole course is completed.

I was in Tokyo for 8 days and the kids enjoyed themselves very much. and i didn't bring anything for Tim except his milk. so he basically eat what we eat. Thank God, he loved all the food we ate, maybe because it contained seasonings. but we didn't mind. so he's on his way to table food.

afcai
ai-yo, until now you still complaining of confinement time ah? Suan le ba... it's oredi over...and many of us also had a rough time during confinement time...you not the only one.
Anyway, after suffering so much, you and your hb still want 3 kids ah? You shd tell him if he quit his badminton and bowling then can consider...hahaha! Assert yourself as a wife and mother more la..dun let him bully you mah! Like Lil say hor...turn back time for wat? How can you even say such things? You mean your freedom, beauty/slimness, all these are more important??

You see, lymph node is a serious thing, that's why we urge you dun delay. Anything unusual in a bb can turn out to be SERIOUS. You'll NEVER KNOW till you CHECK! Next time you notice anything unusual, faster take tx to see doctor! dun play play! And you still blame your hb. Dun mind me saying, you need to take more RESPONSIBILITY as a mother to tx, sometimes you need to put tx health before your own. Don't always PUSH BLAME to your HB or your mum or others! If you yourself say your hb is "WOOD", why you still listen to him to wait and wait ley? He's not a doctor, you are not a doctor, neither is your Mum or SIL rite? Just go to the DOC! better safe then SORRY!!! Seek PROFESSIONAL ADVISE! Even if turn out nothing serious, spend a few dollars and have PEACE of MIND is better then DELAYING until it becomes SERIOUS and then start to WORRY and Kan Cheong rite??? Wat for??? Why make youself and tx suffer to save some dollars??? In the end, you may end up spending more becos you didn't "cure" it when it was still early! It's tx health...not shopping or clothes or shoes ley!! You need to PRIORITISE!!

I really read your postings until cannot tahan that's why i have to post this just for YOU.

Roo...

Cae is better already...thx...

Afcai...

I brot Cae for a trial at Tumble Tots b4...basically the gym activities train the tots to acquire more advanced motor skills than jus climbin ladders, slidin slides, n swingin swings...it involves more balancin acts n obstacle courses...hwr...the equipmt is rather old n shaky...I hv been to 2 permises...Parkway n Tampines...the Parkway br is ok...but the Tampines br is so dirty...for my hb n I...itz almost on par wif Gymboree in terms of pts (for Parkway br)...which is no 2...after takin in all different aspects...

Cae has actually taken different antibiotics each time he wen to his pd...since itz for different symptoms...y does yr dr oni hv 2 types...pls b careful when administerin antibiotics...my feel is tat the dr seems to prescribe it as a convenient way out w/o establishin the cause...

Gan...

U mean infant fare is not free ah...errr...me mountain tortise...

Lil...

Actually when I was a SAHM last time...I actually said cruel words like gifin Cae away once...but I really felt really bad after tat...even now...I feel like a knife stab while recallin it...I wil never say such tinks again lor...I m a lousy mummy lor...sometimes I tink Cae doesnt deserve a mummy like me...who cant even cook decently for him...hez such a lovely boy...

Hwee...

Howz TYO...I m tinkin of bring Cae to JP later tis yr...issit bb frenly...

Mummies...

I m now shortlistin some haf day programs for Cae next yr...yeah...kiasu...but does anyone hv any opinion as to whether a haf day pre-nursery (kindergarten) or haf day cc wif cirriculum included is better...any opinions...???

hihi!
we finally made up our mind n will be travelling free n easy to sydney in July!!! yippee!!!

so excited.. cos this time we will be travelling with PH..

any advises on wat to bring, prepare etc?? n wat r the 'muz see' in sydney? will be winter there.. wat to prepare for PH's winter clothing?

ahhh.. i need to do research liao..

SH...

Bring PH to a farm loo...n bring him to the mountains to play wif snow...hmmm...does SYD hv snowy mountains...I hv oni been to the MEL ones...

Shihui!!

Holiday in Syd!! I so envy!!

Yes, July is cold...in the city will be windy too. Just bring layers of clothes lor, so can adjust accordingly. Last time i took hannah there in end May/early June, i sometimes let her wear 3 layers...a romper, a long sleeve shirt and when windy (like in blue mountains), a fleece jacket. pants oso...2 long pants. :p I oso got mittens/gloves for her. Bring moisturiser, cos will be very dry. Hannah's cheeks were dry at blue mountains cos of the wind and cold. generally, Sydney is dry la...not like SG.
You can play snow at Perisher Blue or something (cant rem liao) but it's a distance outside of Syd city itself. This one you'd probaby book a day trip...not sure if safe to self-drive cos if snow on the roads, you need snow chains for tyres (i went before when i was a student).
The nearest is blue mountains/katoomba...i think it does snow there too. This you can take a train up. But warn you first, not safe to drive on snowy roads esp cos we are not familiar with it.
Up in mountains in July will be freezing cos its winter and the peak snow falls are in Jul/Aug. If you let PH play in snow, better get water-proof clothes else his cotton pants or jeans will be soaking wet and cold (I know...i am quite ks abt such things
). I think u can rent ski clothes from the ski places.

basically, Syd is baby frenly and clean and civilised. so no worries. diapers, wet wipes, milk can buy there la (i rather spend $ to buy then lug from SG). water is also safe. food oso safe. plenty of seasonal fruits.

some must see:
opera house, botanic gardens, circular quay, harbour bridge, take ferry to Manly Beach and eat fish and chips at the end of the Corso, visit the rocks and the rocks market (weekend only). Pitt street mall (all shopping), Sydney aquarium, darling harbour, star city casino, paddington market (sat only), Direct Factory Outlet (near homebush), Paddy's Market (in chinatown, weekend only), Sydney Tower (or AMP tower, cant rem), eat chinese food like yum cha (cos its good HK quality!!). Sydney fish market. Blue Mountains/katoomba (i booked a cottage and stayed 3 nites there).

You'll enjoy the trip.

SH,
btw, bbs must travel in carseats in Oz. It's mandatory and they are strict abt it, unlike in SG. You can always book a taxi with bb seat. They have quite a few. At airport, go to the "taxi commissioner" and ask them to hail u a cab with childseat. They know wat to do.

Fizz
Tokyo is bb friendly but not stroller friendly. Some of the train stations do not even have escalator! you have to take the stairs. so i just bring my ergo carrier and carried him all the time. besides that it is very bb friendly. many malls will have a baby room for you to make milk, wash bottles, even has high chairs for feeding babies. some has counters selling bb food. i didn't buy any cos Tim ate with us. We just used the diaper changing and milk making facilites. I didn't even bring a thermal flask! haha!

Shuhui
Yes, yes, yes! Sydney is really fun! i was there last Aug and it was almost the end of winter. it was still cold but manageable. If you need some thicker clothings for PH, let me know. I can lend you some since Tim has been to 2 cold places now. Bobianah helped me a lot with planning of the trip. They are so stroller friendly that you can even bring it onto the bus! wonderful!

Afcai
I agree completely with Bobianah. I understand that some people have to be more careful with money but when it comes to your child's health there shdn't be any 2nd thots abt spending the $$$. Sometimes your child may be v sick n u wldn't know it cos they cannot express themselves. We hv to note changes in their bhaviour like waking up n crying frequently at night, whinning in the daytime etc. So if u suspect anything wrong with TX, immediately go n see a DR liao. Dun hesitate liao. Better be safe than sorry. If something happens, u cry until u go blind u also cannot turn back the clock.

And this swelling in the lymph node...you better follow up on it dun just sit n wait it out. If need to, go n see a child specialist n not just a GP.

Afcai, better listen to the other ladies this time.Think since the lymph node condition so long already, should bring her to see PD. At least you can have a peace of mind if confirm nothing serious else if really anything may be too late to regret.

Hwee, where did go for your holidays? Is it very tiring to go holidays with 2 kids? Am abit apprehensive about going holidays with 2 kids dunno can manage or not.

QSG
I just went to Tokyo only. my #1 is almost 6 so she basically can manage herself. Just taking care of Tim most of the time. This is not the first time i brot the 2 of them out, so i will tell you that its not that difficult. I used to bring my #1 out all the time too. so for me, i will say i'm used to it. I guess if you tell yourself you can manage, you'll be prepared mentally and i'm sure you can do it. I see so many ppl travelling with 3 kids or more or travelling with very young kids. so i told myself, why not?

we used the train as taxis are really expensive. during off peak hours not so crowded, its ok. stayed in an apartment in Tokyo town for 4 nights and then to disney resort for 2 nights.

hi afcai,

answering to ur queries:
1) any one keep on encountering whereby yr toddlers keep on waking up on and off in the middle of the night (in my case, stand/sit up and wail) ? then one has to carry her back to her slp position?

Jav will wake up once every alternate nites. Normally he will lay down or sit up crying wif his eyes close. Guess he having nitemare (han ming, overstimulated in the day). Giving him water doesnt work. So normally will feed him milk to calm him down. If he still crying, I will carry him around the hse or turn on the light to wake him up. So tat he will stop crying.

2) DO yr toddlers perspire a lot (till hair wet) when he/she sleep? will u blow the fan directly at them?

yes but not alot. guess they hav high metabolism. As my plc are quite windy. normally, i will turn on the fan n blow at one direction but he will still get abit wind.

3) will the lymph nodes appear when your toddlers fall sick?

I never check. Anyway last round when he got measles, his gp and pd told mi his lymph nodes abit swollen. My hub when he fever, his lymph nodes also swollen. SO i guess it is normal when a person is sick. Some mummies mentioned is our body trying to fight against the virus/bacticia.

4) will yr toddler struggle, refuse to open the mouth when consume medicine?

guess i m one lucky mummy. Jav is alright wif his med(fever, coughing, running nose) although he was veri sick tat time when he down wif measles. coz the med are sweet. keke..

re: giving piority when bbs high fever
My boi's GP clinic is good. Tat time when Jav was high fever 38.someting degree when he was 8th month old. I requested the nurse whether my boi can see the doc 1st. After the nurse check his temp, she said i can go in after the person came out. Eversince then, i brought my boi to see this GP whenever he was sick. (Touchwood)

shihui..hi5..we oso gg sydney in May, brot a seat for Vernice cost abt $900++

bobianah/hwee
where to stay in sydney?? any recommendation??
where to eat nice chinese food like yum cha?

jus wanna to vent my frustration.. urrgg..

Tell my mil not to bring him downstairs to play twice a day (each time more than an hr). coz nowsaday got lots of flu viruses and HFM dieases. plus Jav kept waking up in the middle of the nite crying wif his eyes close (having nitemares, overstimulated in the day) Sigh.. She never bother to heed my advice. She dare to say Jav wake up becos he is hungry or bitten by insects. She siao.. My room veri clean where got insects. somemore we never find any insect bites. Jav was under my care since last Thurs till Sun. He has never waken up crying during the 4 nites. See it is veri understandable tat he really overstimulated under my mil care. Anyway I jus need to tolerate her for 3 more months b4 i put Jav to cc. Nowsaday she kept asking mi whether i hav registered for Jav cc. She dun wan to take care of Jav liao n still act as if she unwillingly to let Jav go cc. Say later Jav get bully as he still not talking yet. bla..bla.. SIGH..

Meg's turn to catch the flu bug.....now on antibiotic.

Shihui,
if you need secondhand winter wear, pls PM me.
i have a fren who is trying to sell her boi's.
her boi is 2 odd now.
they used to live in HK but now is back in SG.
maybe you can get some cheap item from her.

Bobianah,
bravo! i have been to SYD a million times...yet i have to take notes of your post

Thank You.
me also thinking abt taking Meg to SYD.

Hwee,
welcome back!
post pic!!!!

Afcai,
look ahead and stop whinning abt the past.
we cant change the past so dun bother otherwise you will not be very happy hor.

do take TX to a PD soon.

Roo,
i am shock tat the PD do not quarantine chicken pox patient.
even more surprised tat the parent sits amongst the other children....tsk tsk tsk.
lidat, how not to be kiasu???

Roo, mbb
there was one time i also slammed the door of the clinic cos they didn't quarrantine a patient with chicken pox and there i was with my 2 kids! but then again, the air was already infected and heng ah, my baby (only 4 mths then) didn't get it. whew!

mbb
how meg now? take care! also post pics of your trip lei! how was meg on the trip?

Shihui, RainV
I bot a seat for Tim the last time cos my airfare end up cheaper for 4 seats (SQ 4-to-go fare) than 3 seats and 1 infant fare (only qualify for 2-to-go fare). And by this age, better to get the additional seat for them.

I stayed at Sheraton using redemption points. down side is they are just a hotel so no cooking facilities. for apt, they will have at least a microwave for you to heat and cook very simple meals. that's why for my tokyo trip, i chose an apt. also the size will be bigger than usual hotel rooms.

Hwee
your kids, esp tim, look so cute! they must hv enjoyed themselves!

RainV
I stayed at Hyde Park Inn in Sydney. I got a family size apt wif a kitchenette to prepare food. You can search & book from webbie. Very convenient as it its in town walking distance from many places and hv bus stop as well as train station underground.
For yum cha, in chinatown, erm...East Ocean (I went to this one) or Marigold (not sure if still there) are not bad. But must go early cos long long queues!!! I oso like to eat the thai & viet food and jap food there. I hv my fav restaurants...but they are quite out of the way...:p

bobianah
thanks! its been a while since our kids meet each other. i missed Hannah!they have grwon a lot liao. so you stopped aquaducks?

one more tim's pic for you.

1317766.jpg

Hwee,
Tim is sooooo handsome in his winter wear!
he grew alot since i last saw him at suntec

i posted pic liao. you go thru the archive la.

Meg is doing ok. from time to time will have fever.

i am more careful coz i work in hk

read tis....http://www.asiaone.com/Health/News/Story/A1Story20080325-56170.html

Shihui,
you must go to the fish market in Syd.
beside seafood,there's a fruit stall tat sell yummie fresh fruit yoghurt. MUST EAT!

if you like abalone, can buy from china town.
i always buy those fresh ones back to boil soup.

bobianah
for me, i dun want 3 kids. it is hubby.

bobianah/QSG/LIL
tx 's runny nose has been recovered. she is as usual self, dun look sick. can play, eat a lot, slp a lot, 'bully' his papa, mess up the hse, kept on drooling very jialat now etc.... she will be finishing her antibiotic this coming fri only. will take her to doc for monitor next week. acc to the doc, he said if the antibiotic is working, the lymph nodes shd reduce by 2-4 weeks. so by next week will be the third week liao, pray hard she is ok.

fizz
wow...the facilities at Tumble tots so jialat meh...oh...anyway, will go there and see how the facilities before let her go for a trial at jurong east since it is only $23 (still waiting for my $10 voucher).

hmm doc said they have only 2 types of antibiotics for those infection (dunno do he refer to lymph nodes on neck which only cause by ear infection or throat infection).

serene
thks for sharing yr views.
so far, heard fr my mum today that tx very guai let her feed the medicine. think maybe she get used to the taste liao. like y'day, my mum had to coax her by opening the fridge and then divert her attention so that tx can have her medicine (runny nose and 2 teaspoon of antibiotics).

hmm...see the big notice board at our workplace that the cc only take in 2 yr old kids leh.

mbb2
hmm..is flu more jialat than cold?? doc only give tx runny nose medicine (orange color) which can cause drowniess for her.

guess I'm not 'kan de kai' person, everytime, buried the 'troublesome/stress type.

hwee
tim more like 3-4 yr old kid wor...

Afcai
Good to hear that tx is better. Tx is such a sweet baby, look after her well.

Anyone care to share any new baby porridge recipes? I think my boy is getting v sian of the same taste liao cos he is pulling the gagging stunt more n more often. Help, I m running out of ideas.

Hv been trawling the internet for some ideas n found one which I will try cooking tmr. It's porridge cooked with yam n wolfberry n I will prob add some fish. Hope he will take it. This choosy boy, still not taking milk well and if he doesn't take porridge on top of that I will faint!

bobianah,
wah.. tt's alot of info..
erm.. i'm quite concern on the milk powder leh.. can we bring milk powder into australia? coz PH got really bad allergic reaction to certain milk powder brand b4.. so i dun care to anyhow try over there.. :p

we will be there for 4 days 3 nights onli.. hopefully can cover some of the places u mentioned..
i love market visiting.. :p luckily i hav a sat there..
can i email u if i hav any qn during planning of the trip?

btw, are the attractions near to train stations etc? we r not driving.. will be travelling using public transport.. not sure if cab will be ex anot.. :p

hwee,
thanks alot for the offer!! can i borrow fr you nearer to the travel date? wat r the items i can borrow fr u?

RainV,
wah.. u bought a seat for vernice ah.. my parents n hubby all said tt dun need waste money for seat.. shall let PH sleep in bassinet since it can take weight up to 14kg.. hopefully he's okie with tt.. else my arms sure break if i carry him throughout the flight. .:p

mbb,
ohh.. will take note.. i love to eat... hehehehehehe.. :p

Shihui
So exciting. My hb also keep asking me whether I wanna go Oz for hols but it's me who keeps saying no cos I m so scared E will fall sick there
FM sure can bring in one lah, esp when it's baby FM. Mayb I shd take the plunge n go

shihui
milk power can bring in. they are understanding on that. But, to play safe, i brot in a new, unopened tin. I oso bot when i was there...but they hv different types of FM. lucky Hannah was ok.
Hmm, their trains are not like our MRT that have so many frequent stops. Taxis are indeed expensive. But to me hor, when holiday, just spend lor...keke! chinatown, darling harbour, sydney aquarium, star city is walking distance from each other and from Hyde Park Inn. HydePark Inn also walking distance to Pitt street mall. If you keep walking, you will hit the Rocks, Circular Quay, Botanic Gardens, Opera House (all in same area). For me, I took bus from the Inn to Circular Quay. You can ask the staff for directions on which bus to take. Can also take bus from there to Paddington Market. Ask driver where to get off (alot of ppl will get off there too). They are very friendly, not like here...keke! You can buy a travel pass called Blue Travel Ten from the 7-11 next door to the Inn. As the name indicates, it is good for 10 rides.
You can take the train to Bondi Junction. There is a HUGE shopping mall there and the chinese restaurant there the yum cha is VERY yummy...but long queue...go early.
For the Direct Factory Outlet...need to take train and bus...:p a bit more complicated. (else take cab)
Sure, feel free to email me.

hwee,
that pic of tim is sooooo cute in the hat!
all wrapped up!
Yes, hannah is still at aquaducks, but becos she missed so many lessons over Dec/Jan, and oso she lately very clingy to her papa, she's not as "good" as before...but she still enjoys the water. We're trying out the 9.30am class now. I think may stop again nearer to my EDD...

mbb
i used to go fish market, buy a whole salmon fillet, buy wasabi and sit there and eat sashimi!! keke!
I'm sure u know a lot of places in Syd too...just need to sit down n write down. :p for me I am more focussed on MAKAN!! There's this place called Sir John Young hotel and there's a Spanish Restaurant there that serves yummy paella...but must order 1hr in advance!! :p My fav Jap restaurant is hidden in Crown St, I lurve the beef sashimi there. I oso like this place called Betty's Soup Kitchen, along Oxford St i think. I lost my fav Thai restaurant tho.

Shihui
You're most welcome to borrow any item you fancy. See when nearer the trip you come over to my place to choose.

most of the places are quite near to each other except the bondi beach, fish market and blue mountains. you can use their public transport, no problem. i only take taxi to and from the airport the last time. not so expensive la, abt AUD35 or so per trip.

bobianah
it was raining when we were at Disneyland, so it was COLD! it was so difficult to wrap him up, he kept pulling the hat off!

wat do you mean she's not as 'good' as before? she's older now can 'voice' her dislikes more ma....hee hee....

mbb
Meg is sooooo pretty! so ladylike! i miss bb girls!

sylk
my, Regina has grown too! and she's on a yacht! such good life!

LiL
just go! Aust is a very good place to bring kids. They're very clean and ppl are very nice! GO GO GO!

och
Thanks!!!!
will contact you for the collection. Let me know how much more to top up for the GST and the freight. Thanks again!!!

hwee,
exactly lor...she can now voice her dislikes. Somehow very clingy to papa now, so always scream when taken "away" from him. Sigh...like she dun remember coach ann anymore. that's the only thing, otherwise, everything else is as per normal. :p

ya, ya, hannah oso dun like hats...always pull off. lucky when i took her to Syd last time, she was too small to know how to pull it off! haha!

SH,
taxi is just a bit more expensive then SG. dun look at the meter, jump every 5cents...very fast one...keke!
come to think of it, if you only there 4D3N, u shd skip Blue Mountains.
U can go to Manly Beach cos can take ferry from Circular Quay. Bondi Junction is not very near the Bondi beach, tho. Come to think of it, I think I took a bus to Bondi Junction...there are a few going there from the Inn, but can take train too. Here's train info: http://www.cityrail.nsw.gov.au/networkmaps/index.jsp
Bus Info: http://www.sydneybuses.info/