(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

Momconomics, the gathering starts at 12pm, but i thibnk many of us will depend on bb's time so might not be on the dot. i'll try to be threr around 12= ba, but soemtimes if she's sleeping our time might be stretched.

Bbgrace, Char also another botak in dress. Hope their hair will grow soon, but i think will be quite sometime...

Wei Kuan, which are signs tom tell us if bb is ready for solid? And how can we tell if their diestive system is mature enuf?I'm so eager to start Char on solid yet worry that her system is not ready. I even request to hb that this yr my bday I want him to buy blender, and grinder so that I can prepare food for Char. So now going to research on what "equipment " I need.

Baby Monitor
=============
Anyone here using a baby monitor. I intend to buy one so hope to get some tips on what to look out for when choosing a model.
Here's what i can think of:
1)The coverage of the monitor (that is the distance)
2)Video vs audio only
3)wireless vs cable dependent
What else?

Food processor
==============
What do we need to prepare pureen and other solid for bb? Can enlighten me?

bbgrace
i think u r right, mummy is juz 4 comfort. ungrateful brat!
but i do feel gd tt at least i am wanted by him.

yesterday went out 4 dinner wif my parents & sis... my sis was laffing coz R's attire looked so hip hop tt she kept disturbing him...

<font color="0000ff">yo! yo! whaz up man?</font>

699858.jpg

<font color="0000ff">hmmmmm, can i have my share of food, please? that looks really yummy!</font>
699859.jpg

<font color="0000ff">Thanks, grandpa! Wow! The red bean milk shake really taste nice!</font>

699860.jpg

Sign bb ready for solid:

Able to sit with support.
Head is firm
Starring when u r eating
Chewing etc
Refuse milk intake

Coral,
I bought barun blender from Isetan at only 69.90. So far I try puree sweet potato and avocado and she like both. I have frozen the remaining and bring to childcare daily. I was thinking if I am at SAHM, I will also freeze it cos very watse to give fresh everyday. She will finish all within a week although can keep for 3mths.
This weekend I will grind brown rice myself and cook it for 10mins. At school I can only bring brown rice cereal and they will add hot water with milk to it. Her intake of milk is the same or more even starting solid as I add 150ml of FM to her rice cereal so I am not worry she will not have enough milk supply. I know milk is still very impt for her during her first few yrs.

Momconomics, do you find a baby monitor useful? many told me need not buy, but am thinking of getting one with video so that i can see if she's sleeping with her face down then no need to keep going into room tp check on her.

jackiejon
i am oso wondering how come our hubbies sleep more than us since they got no "night duty"? i can wake up 2-3 times a nite to latch him and still work the nxt day while my hb gets to sleep. however, he is not the sort tt will sleep and b dead to the world though. like bbgrace, i am thankful tt he has been pretty hands on since our boy came. juz tt there r times he needs to b nagged to help out.
but guess gotta give and take a bit lor. i dunno wat is gonna happen when #2 comes! last nite i dreamt i am pregnant again and in my dream, i kept telling myself its impossible!

Wei Kuan, thanks. Char exhibit all the sings you mentioned. She can sit on the bb chair, her head is firm, her eyes will turn to look when she smell food and she stare and drool and seems to be chewing something in her mouth when she sees us eat. But she only 4+mths...I'll try to drag a while more. Just a blender is enuf? Can blender grind the brown rice? Need to add water to blend before cooking or cook then blend?

jRt, last night HCar also wear a cap that makes he look like rapper, so hb kept going yo yo check it out to her too. R looks veryb interested in food too.

Wei Kuan, the bb monitor is for use when bb is asleep in the room while I'm outside watching tv or doing other chores. At nite when I sleep will probably not need it for Char sleep with us in the same room now. Maybe when move to new house will need it at night too

Momconomics, cos char now sleep around 7+8pm, and I sleep around 10+-11pm, so when i'm outside if the room gotta keep going in to check on her sowas thinking fo buying one..And can also use for future in new houes and 2nd bb...

Coral,
Oic, my house not big, so I dun need it.
Yeah, drag a bit more as 4mth plus still very young. I start R at 5mth plus.
I have not try using blender to grind brown rice but I know many in the forum are doing. I will try and let u know. For raw brown rice, you need to wash dry it in the sun. When it is dry, u can grind it to powered form. Must make sure it is dry then grind cos afraid of moisture. When u wants to cook it, boil the rice powder for 10mins and lastly add BM or FM. While boiling Brown, stir it constantly. Need not blend if it is in power form.
For brown rice cereal, just add hot water with FM or BM will do, but for brown rice power, must cook it so easy to digest.
Try NOT to purchase jar bottle food but make your own pureen fruits and veggie. I ban jar bottle cos there is a case of food poisoning. Lucky I have not let R try bb jar food before. I only bought a bottle and throw it away w/o opening it.

coral..icic...so good...char sleeps so early..at least u have yr own time..for my boy..he naps ard 7-8 then wake up again...drink milk, play a while then sleep

coral
yah yah! tts exactly wat my sis kept asking us to do, to check him out! so funny!
tt greedy boy, think he is interested in food now. he kept staring when we were eating, and when offered to him, he will open his mouth!

Wei kuan'
think not necc to let them eat jar food rite? coz i think its still considered canned so better dun let them eat...

Wei Kuan, thanks for the details. Am sio excited to try solid, but must control my urge. Will st5art to wask and dry the brown rice...

Momconomics, Char used to sleep after midnight, only 2wks ago did i started to train her to sleep early. I dim light in room, dont carry her out or play with her even if she wakes. I'll speak to her softly and try to stroke her back to sleep. I also avoid active play and going out after7pm...And it works.

Our names
=========
Do we need to circulate our actual names prior to gathering? Else we'll have to keep telloing everyone our actual name during teh gathering or call each other by nick...

<font color="0000ff">Coral & Babygrace</font>
Men (Sigh; shake head)

<font color="0000ff">Coral</font>
I intend to start Joanna when she turn 6 months.

I am presently using a baby monitor (audio type). I put one in the kitchen while the other one I put in the baby's room. It cost me about $99 (I think) bought it last time when Jonathan was a baby. Its from Mothercare but there is other brands in the market. You can try OUB plaza. I know there is a shop selling but different brand.

good morning..

so happy to see so many babies pics..
oso thanks for the compliments on Alvis. sadly hb dun wan to take quan jia fu lel. only me & alvis alone..

crystallized,
R so cute in the carseat. A same as R, now very stick to his dad. last nite he fuss when wanna sleep, i cuddle him also cant calm him down, then when his dad call him, he immediatelly keep quiet & sleep thru. & only will look at his dad even me with him. told my hb, he didnt look after A but A like him so much. make me so jelous!!!

starz,
u hav a daughter?

selina,
Caleb look so cute in tat kungfu outfit. A hav one, bought by SIL but is yellow colour. i cant wear him on chu yi.
u r very pretty in the quan jia fu pics. think u slim down a lot hor.

vivian,
me too! i like R with piggy pics. aiyo..same here. me cant wear any jewerelly when carry A. he will pull everything lor. u still lucky, can wear earling.

bbgrace,
yea..post a full pics when emma wear tat nice dress ba..
p/s 7 oso post joshua pics..like to see tat handsome boy lel...

jackiejon,
agree lor, men all r same. bo pian...
wow...u hav so much nice quan jia fu.
my hb dun like to take pics lel...so i only half half quan jia fu : me & A only lor...

coral,
another nice quan jia fu..
char look so sweet in cny outfit.
glad to know tat char been train sleep early. A oso not bad...can sleep around 9-10pm. me & hb so happy cos at least we now hav more free time to do house work. not like previous, A only sleep around 11-12am.

Wah, just one morning only, you all post so many...

Crystallized,
Your R so cute... nice pix...
Me not pretti lah. Still fat lor. Sigh.. Anyway I always like accessories but now with Rhys, have to take off everything liao. So new year, must put on a bit mah... haa... vain mummie...

Weikuan,
Welcome back. Missed you and Rui-en leh. Any recent pix? Glad to know that Rui-en is taking solids so well. By right the next bb to take solids is Rhys (according to age..) but I think I will wait till 6mths or maybe a few more weeks since he is 5mth old liao. Since he is still taking his milk (now 150ml), will prolong and see how.

ECZEMA
======
Poor Rhys... last nite bought him to see PD coz his rashes on his face is getting worse and suddenly these few days, his neck and tummy area also got rashes. We have been cleaning him very often liao still like that.
In the end, PD say he kena eczema. Luckily mild case but must take care, otherwise will come back again... Given 2 cream for face and body. So sad. That poor boy waited for 1 hour for the PD and keep screaming coz very boring.
Me and hb no eczema leh... sigh... poor boy...

bbgrace
i like that one. like poem. yah even when the spirit is willing, the flesh is weak.

solid
======
caleb will b 5mths on sun. i dun give him solid everyday so far. i give him on alt days only.

names
=====
coral i prepare name stickers lah then can paste on our body so no need to keep repeating.

gathering
=========
i will b there at 12noon regardless of caleb's sleeping or not. slp the most i carry him. if hb comes back early from his RT, then will drive us there otherwise i will take a cab there with caleb.

<font color="0000ff">jRt</font>
When Jonathan was young, my hubby was very involve but now with Joanna he is not. He always say "let the maid do lah, we pay her salary what" which I dont like because we should not always depend on maid. What happen if one day we decided not to have maid?

<font color="0000ff">Jasmine</font>
On the 1st day of CNY, Jonathan didnt want to take family photo but we "drag" him to take.

That is why you see him in the photo he was not smiling.

<font color="0000ff">Coral</font>
Talking about our names. Thanks for telling Wendy my real name. I post my office number earlier on but didnt put my real name. Me super blur sotong

hihi it me.....
v sorry mia too long cos v busy with work, the preCNY & also after CNY stuff... wow seen alot of our cutie babies CNY greeting.... now is my turn... heheeee v paisey so late than wish everyone Happy Chinese New Year!!

Able wishing all aunties a Very Happy Chinese New Year!!

700042.jpg

700043.jpg

700044.jpg

700045.jpg

700046.jpg

Selina,
Pls help to include my Able in your drumstick montage(last pix)... btw.. did you sent my the final tummy montage? I chk my mail did not recieve leh... can send me both montage? Thk in advance!!
my email : [email protected]

Do we need to txf $$ for the gathering buffet? How much.. do let me know ok....
I will be there at around 1pm + to 2pm...

just want to chk with all of you... how long can we freeze those veg & fruits puree? when taken from freezer, do you all defrost it and warm it then mix with milk or just warm but dun need mix with milk? I confuse leh... me v sotong one...

My A still have not start on solid yet.. but I just want to how the actual preparation first soo as not to mess up his meal later... can some one advise... thks!!

so sad cannot make it to the gathering. want to go badly but can't. HAVE A HAPPY TIME, gals and enjoy yourself.
bye, today I on half day and tomorrow on leave so not coming in liao.

grace
Able's CNy clothings r nice.
and he looks the exact replica of u!

jackiejon
which is why i hope i nvr hv to engage a maid. i dun like hvg an outsider in the hse and i noe once we start engaging the maid, it will b like we will nvr b anle to handle w/o one. if really gotta engage, i will let maid handle the chores while i take care of the kids. i hv seen many of my hb's cousins whom r close to the maid and prefer them to their parents. i dun wan tt to happen to me and my kids.

Vivian
wif R now, i still accessorize leh. cant imagine myself looking so plain. still paint my nails and wear all the ling ling long long.
juz b careful not to scratch him, which is so far so gd.

Err... too much postings, I too tired to read all, just agar agar glance thr nia.

crystallized,
No need to worry, boys tend to be more sticky to mummy while gals more sticky to daddy. Your turn will be here hahaha...
For me, I dun like my kids to be too close to me. I need freedom. If they too sticky to me, I can't go any places w/o them. Like now, my dear Jo abandons her parents liao, staying at my aunt (aka her yi po)'s place. My aunt wanna her to stay till Sun evening, but I told her no, cos Jo is having her bday celebrations with her friends this sat (which is her lunar bday).

Coral,
You may need blender to blend the food. Or you can use another gadget (I dunno wat it is called) to help you "blend" the food to small pcs. Lucky baby and Pigeon have. Our mums do use this thingy in kitchen too, can come in plastic form or metal form where it has small holes with sharp tiny edges. I dun have a blender at home, so I've been using this small gadget to blend the food for Jolene last time.

bb fair
=====
I may be going on Fri PM. See how lah, may take leave to go kapoh, though I know nothing will interest me. Who's going?

Flipping
=======
Jaslyn also not flipping yet, she's only 3/4 on the way nia. No need to flip too early, I still wanna sleep at nite haha, yep, me lazy mum =P

HB sleeping + snoring
==================
My dear ah lao is the best! He can sleep anywhere and his snoring will go on and on like music.
There's once when Jo was still small, she couldn't tahan anymore, she went to slap her daddy's face hahaha

Gathering
=======
Still not sure can make it this Sun or not leh. Sat evening having dinner with my family. If the dinner ends late, I may stay over at my mum's place. If thats the case, I may not go back to North liao, if not, I still have to bring the 2 gals back to West. But if I'm going home on Sat nite, then I will go for gathering this Sun.
Mar gathering, is it still on? Still on the 10th? Ah lao kena recalled for ICT, think clash with the date... If so, cannot go liao.

Seliuna, you make a very good event organiser! Thank you again.

momconomics, think it all depends on the bb's cooperation bah.

Jasmine, thanks for the compliments. It really makes a great diff when they sleep earlier rite? I feel less cranky myself.

Jackiejon, which part of UOB plaza? I'll go check out tmrw.

Esther, Doreen, Wendy, I've collected our stuff from Jasmine Lau.

CNY Clothing
=========
Remember I went to buy a CS for Jo? That Jo hor, like it so much leh, everytime wu eng will go and open her wardrobe to see the CS. Then on Chu Yi, she wanna play and refused to change clothings to go bai nian. So I took out her CS and asked her, "wanna wear this?" She saw it and immediately said "orh oh" and rushed into the room. Then I left her with hb who will prepare him while I went to pack the bag. Not long later, I heard screaming and cryings... That little gal refused to change into her CS.

Wasted my $ man! If I know, I won't buy it man! I even chiong down to Chinatown to search for a nice one b4 CNY!!! Qi Si Wo.

Coral,
This is Pigeon Food Maker. One of the parts inside this box comes with tiny holes with sharp edges. We use this in kitchen to "cut" the carrot/potato kind of food into strips/grated like tat. If you not getting a blender, you can just go to supermarket to buy this part and "cut/blend/grate" the food for Charlotte

700074.jpg

Grace, Able is so cute and he's your mirror image. I love the first and last pic. So babilicious!

Opps, Selina, spelled your name wrongly.

Jenny, I know what you're talking abt. My Mum also never use blender in the past, but she never make rice ceral so no need, but if I intend to make brown rice cereal myself will probably need a blender rite? I'll go check out pigeon too. Too bad the day the fair start is the day my boss returns so i'll be very busy else can go during lunch...Your Jolene quite fierce hor.

jackiejon, you're welcome.

Jrt,
Thks ...
Able actually looks more like daddy..... that is wat everyone is saying....but sometimes i do secretly hope tat he looks like me... heheee....
You make my day....

The first red one is from yuehua chinatown.. my mum bot for him one...

Jenny/ Huijun,
come leh... i am looking forward to see both of you leh... since we have not met b4..

coral
i can do that but i dun have all the real names of all the mummies.

<font color="119911">REAL NAMES
=================
can i have the real names of the mummies below? the rest i have liaoz:

Starz
Graceapple
Ling
Babyjo
Delphine
Gemini
Coolmum</font>

coral,
If you are buying brown rice from medical hall, you can ask them to blend for you.
Jo ah, like her mum lor haha... hao de bu xue... she follows my bad temper.
Leave for Jaslyn ah, dun want lah. By then old CS liao.

grace,
see how it goes on Sat first. I dun like to travel from West back to North, then back to West and back to North again. Q tiring for my hb to drive like tat.

<font color="119911">GATHERING
================
the buffet for CNY period cost S$12.99 for 8 dishes & S$15.99 for 9 dishes. i will b ordering for 20 pax though the count so far is for 24 pax. think shld b enf cos the last time at my plc still got left overs. what do u ladies think? or shld i order for 25 pax instead to be save?</font>

BB Fair
======
This year BB Fair seems to be quite "quiet". Anyone knows which distributor will be there? There isn't much info on this area. Sounds getting from bad to worse is it huh? Last year one already like nothing to kapoh liao.

grace
my boy looks like his dad. only occasionally got pple say he looks like me. but i am ok lah, as long as he looks like either one of us can liao.

Jenny
heee, u unconventional mum lah. i dun need my kids to b super sticky to me, but at least will wan to look 4 me lor. ur Jo v independant one leh, can follow and stay over at ur relatives plc easily hor? and its gd 4 u since u dun like her to b so sticky wif u.
save the CS for jaslyn lor. wun b wasted lah.

CARRYING
aft this whole stretch of CNY holiday plus my own leave, wif R spending time at home, my MIL, FIL & SIL taking their turns to carry R, i realised this boy dun wanna lie down anymore. he will scream and cry 4 attn. juz realised it tdy coz everyone was out and i had to leave him on bed a while to go toilet or get fresh nappies 4 him. and his hands will b outstretched like willing pple to carry him. i was so angry.

then when my ILs came back, i told my MIL he has gotten used to carrying these few days liao. my MIL understoood my meaning and tried not to carry him too much. v bad of me hor? but no choice coz once he goes back to my mum's plc, she will suffer since she caring for my niece oso leh. if R fusses like tt, my mum will hv a hard time. i cant help it but gotta tell my MIL. luckily she understd.

Selina
no need to over order coz too much leftovers oso wasted. it happened at daisybuttons' plc a few wks back. pls count me & my hb in lah. u checked if can use member disc?

crystallized,
Dun want lah, I dun wan Jaslyn to curse and swear me next time when she sees the CS.
Regarding the carrying, Jaslyn also leh... kena carried too much liao

hi selina,

i'm elaine aka gemini.
for the gathering, pls do not count me in for the buffet. if i can, i will drop by cos have to see whether my mum can handle the praying stuff preparations...

Crystallized / jenny,
regarding the carrying, A worst. he been carried since birth. so more SILs carry him with amny pattern (walk, swing...etc). i'm the one seldom carry him. then hor, this A very clever, when ppl busy & just put him sit in the bouncer, he will scream or pretend cough (really..it's not real cough) till someone near him & carry him.
aiyo..me me give up liao. luckly my FIL always attend to him.

crystallized,
I like R with the milk shake!

coral,
I didn't use a blender for Joshua. Like what jenny showed, i also used a grater from the food maker set. Mine is a Piyo Piyo brand. I find it easier to use than a blender cos it's easy to wash.
And also when bb is a little older, a blender will make the food too fine as compared to a grater. Must let bb learn to take food that is not so finely blended so that they can learn to handle bigger chunks after that.

jenny,
Joshua also same as Jolene. It was a torture trying to dress him up during CNY and i did not even make him wear those ching chang type of clothes. He wanted to wear his old t shirts with his favourite Thomas the Train. *faint*

jasmine,
pics coming up later when i download.

GATHERING
I may not be able to make it this sun. I've lost my voice and can feel a cough coming. Don't want to go there and infect the babies.
In any case, i've earlier indicated not to cater my share. If i'm well that day, will sms either starz or selina.