(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

Jo., at least your K sleeps at 4am leh. I hold Char from 1+am to 6+am then go wash up. This morn just grab some clothes to my Mum's place to change and guess what, I grabbed a maternity top. :{ As for the toothpaste, I didn't order cos it's special, but more for convenience and also I dunno what brand to buy, so since many Mums using this I feel safe enuf to use it lor.

Wendy, ya I work at raffles Place, boss not fussy abt what time I go for lunch. But since I need to express milk I seldom go walk around, usually pack lunch then come back to eat so as to pay back for the time spent to express milk. Once in a while I'll go walk abit, indeed lots of things to see.

Shirley, wish i could increase the no. of pumps like you leh, but in office pai seh to do that lor. Today more free I pump 3 times, then just enuf for Char's feed, if not i pump 2 times I hv to supplement 1 FM.

Jenny, Jaslyn is a lucky star!!! Huh? Dont we need to start them on toothpaste once they got teeth? Like you, i feel very reluctant to go US, the long flight plus a toddler (for you a toddler & baby)in tow. very ma2 fan2 hor. But if you dont go less family time fro your hb leh.

Jo., when she fuss, there's no way i can sleep cos got to entertain her.

Aspialle, Ted really looking better and better. He look so smooth, makes me want to sayang his face.
Such a smiley boy.

Shirley
Ur corgi is same like my yorkshire. He always go n lick my Damien's feet if he is in the rocker.
N this naughty Damien find it fun cos he will stretch his feet lower for my dog to lick more.

anyone bb refuse milk?

today i am very very angry w R. her last feed at infant care (she always have 3feeds there) today was 4pm. When I give her milk at 7pm, she refuse and cry when she see her milk bottle. So I try again at 9pm, she refuse too. SO ANGRY THAT I HAVE THROW AWAY 2 BOTTLES OF MILK. almost 6hrs liao she still refuse milk, although she did not cry or fuss, I am really very angry she waste the milk everytime. Why she hate milk so much??? she just slept by herself. if she going to sleep thru the nite (this happen a few times liao) that mean that did not have milk for 10over hrs. Do u think I should go to PD or she is really for solid? 2 more weeks she is 5mths liao and too early to start solid rite? she is like that 2 weeks back when she is 4mths old. even her teacher at infant care said they have a hard time trying to feed her milk but they suceed mah. she waste my $ waste my milk

Huijun
**relax** i think maybe she is going to start solid, this happen to my gf son also..refuse and refuse and refuse end up like u throwing away the milk..Baby will fuse when they are hungry de else they just sleep through..i understand fr mummies that BF bb start at 6mths wherelse, FM start as early as 4.5months..perhaps u may want to start solid on her liao, alternatively u may ask yr PD as well..

esther,
why BF bb start at 6mths while FM start so early. I intend to start at 5.5mths, still a mth to go. but SHE HATE MILK. my friend son TBF start solid when 4mths

Huijun
I extracted out from wholesomebabyfood web hope it helps

"The American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) acknowledges that there are no "strict" age guidelines on introducing solid foods to your baby. However, the AAP, along with the CDC and the WHO do recommend that you offer nothing but breast milk and/or formula until you baby is at least 6 months old.

This ensures optimal nutritional exposure and may stave off food allergies amongst other issues. Further studies have shown that an infant's gastrointestinal tract has not or may not have matured enough to properly digest/utilize solid foods until around 6-8 months old!"

If R really refuse milk maybe start her on organic rice cereals from Healthy Times

I SO ANGRY AT HER and smack her (wow, long time did not smack her liao, the last time was 1mth plus when CL go and she have not start routine and not yet wean nite feed) when I smack her (not hard lah) she can smile at me, then I hold her tight she thought I playing w her and can still laugh, so I faster pass her to my hubby as I know I will shout at her. I am not a patient type of person and have to self control. she is now sleeping by her own and now I felt gulity. I am a bad mother. Now so gulity and angry that I cannot fall sleep, still cannot figure out why she hate milk. I think is after she taste the drumstick, biscuit then like that leh, during 4mh mth

esther,
I am so angry that my tummy feel pain. duno waste how many bottles of milk. U also FM , u know how I feel the pain of throwing away milk and so worried y she refuse milk.

Huijun
Ya J also on FM.. **relax** dont get so heat up..i understand how you feel, its hard earn vitamins "M" but hor its not advisable to beat her lah, she still so young and wont understand de..must be patient
haiyo **sayang sayang R**maybe she is telling u she needs more explore on food instead of milk milk liao lah..

Huijun
If R still refuse to drink milk for after sometime say symptom persist for more day 1-2days its best u bring to PD cos she might lack of nutrients..as PD can access better from than on..Dont get agitated so easily hor try to pacify her and see how..Maybe u wanna check with Infant centre on her daily feeding pattern

esther,
I try using spoon to feed her milk, drink so slow, I pek chat and throw the milk away liao. she lick the spoon not the milk.
Her routine at infantcare still the same, no changes. she is the one who start to change when she is 4mth old. I will go check out the organic brown rice cereal. she drink at infantcare but not at home leh. In the moring before going to work, I also feed her, she is ok. total only 4 feed per day.

hi mummys, i m back again.. been busy w my Chloe.

Does anyone has encounter of their babies havin phlegm? cos i gave Enfalac to Chloe 2 weeks ago and she seems to developed phlegm...hmm already tried to dilute the milk..

haiz.. now she cant take her jab

671060.jpg

this is what happen just now, still can play when I am so angry. Hb also make me angry, still can take photo when he not helping to think of ways to feed her

Huijun
Alamak she lick the spoon so cute and funnie..... slowly lah huijun, i think u now must really relax and calm down first..sometimes i am like u so pek chek but what to do who can understand our feeling moreover they are still a bb not able to communicate with us else we would have know what they want liao..err relax hor.. deep breathe!!

weikuan,
if you are starting R on cereal, don't start with the brown rice cereal. Start with plain rice cereal first. Brown rice is harder to digest.
sorry can't help on the milk strike. Joshua had milk strike before but it was not so serious till he's without milk for 10 hours. For him, his intake dropped only.

Shirley, Coral,
"supposed" to intro brushing when 1st tooth appear. I din intro toothpaste to Jolene yet. Just toothbrush only and I let her brush on her own, dun care if she play with it or wat.

Coral,
Aiya, if I dun go with hb, he will chop chop go and fly back one.

Wei Kuan,
Cool down gal. You sounded so angry like me during Jolene's time.
This is the stage where bb starts to "diet". Very stressful period, so dun stress yourself. Let R drinks when she likes. No point forcing her one.
Since R going to 5 mth old soon, you can start her on cereal with milk. I started Jolene around end of 4th mth. Alterative, if you scare she hungry, you can try to cup feed her, you need lots of patient for this hor.
Come on, you will get of milk if you drink for every meals too right?

Shirley,
Ya lor. I think $50 or $60 should be ok ba. I afraid she might expect ang pow from me as it is a "market" practice? Ai... just hope she treats my gal well lor.

Crystallized,
envy u leh. Still got milk. Me only few drops leak when i dun wear bra.
Ya lor, so angry with her. That day she asked if i feed A milk at night or not. I said yes. Then she turned to A and said :"Your mummy is lying." Another time my aunt passed away and i went to the wake before picking A from her.She asked if i used flower water to bath before coming to her house or not!

Hahah... want nanny to give ang pow to A? Dan gu gu lah. But she seems to like A lor. She said wants to make A her god-daughter when A turns 1. Dunno true or not.

Jo,
Thanks for the warm welcome! At 1st tot can lose some weight while in BKK. Sekali ate alot of durians and gained weight instead. My hb gained 4kg in 2 weeks!
I didn't trim Andrea's hair. Now mother and daughter are dropping hair
Read somewhere that it's normal during the 4th to 5th month to drop hair..
Wah jo, sounds like u and hb must be really tired

Jenny,
guess I'll give her $60 ang bow. Should be reasonable ba.
U bought a toothpaste for who? Yourself?? What's so special about that toothpaste leh?

Aspialle,
Is Ted 4 months old liao? He looks very cute! His head shape is round and nice looking

Wendy,
hee.. we try to restrict ourselves when see nice baby clothes. ended up with 1 bag of clothes for her. Even bought a 4year old skirt :p

wei kuan
dun b angry. i think u shld b worried instead of angry wif her 4 wasting milk powder. monitor her 4 a few days and if things dun improve, better bring her to see PD. meanwhile she might b fasting like wat R was a few wks back. heeee, the pix of her so cute. monitor her poos and pees 1st. if everything normal, then probably its temp fasting.

SHACKS! i missed the 10.30pm Ch 8 show tt u reminded this aftn!!!!
wat is the show abt tdy?

Janice
i seldom leak nowadays. usually will leak if i dun pump for >6 hrs. even then, it wun b "flooded" lah.
my boobs well trained mah!

yah hor, wait 4 nanny to give ang pau ----> wait long long!
so will see if she marks her words when A turns 1 bah.

Janice,
Actually you should use flower water to bath b4 going ppl's house one leh. In fact, from what I know, after attending wake, have to go home immediately first.
Nanny usually will yi shi yi shi give ang pow to the kids they bbsit one lah.
Depends on how you find your nanny then you give lor, your "xin yi" mah.
I din buy the toothpaste lah.

BABY TOOTHPASTE
It's the baby's 1st toothpaste that contains milk enzymes and it's safe when swallowed. I've started giving that to Joshua only after he had more teeth, ie molars and when he started eating more adult food ie chews meat, eats sweets / chocs etc. Actually i feel that just use toothbrush without toothpaste under 1 year old is ok cos they don't eat so much solid food yet.
Buying from drugstore.com is cheaper than locally. The toothpaste with the finger brush sells for about $21 here.

Weikuan,
I remembered someone mentioned that baby will go on milk strike after 3 months old. Mayb R also like this?? I know how u feel when wasting the M($)ilk. Heart pain.

Jenny,
oh.. must bath with flower water ah? I tot it's after the funeral where the flowers that people sent will be soaked in a pail of water to wash the face. Anyway, nanny knows that I didn't mean it ba..

aspialle

now that i look closer, think only the eyes are different. next time we put the 2 bbs together and let the other mummies guess who is who.

671386.jpg

671387.jpg

Hi Hi Mummies

I am new to this thread.. My boy, Brayden is 3 months old now.. just read abt the babies gatherings on the forum.. so interesting.. do let me noe if there is any upcoming gatherings ya!

Thks for u gals advice.
This morning @ 6am, she drink her milk and I will see what happen this evening. I guess time to start solid already. will try thsi weekend as it more to the end of 4mth.

JRT,
PD talk abt bb walker, he mention it is okay and no harm to use, but have to monitor closely as quite dangerous if ur house is not child friendy like mine

bbgrace
GOODNESS! 1 tube of baby toothpaste costs $21?! made of gold ah?
now i conclude tt its not only women's money easy to earn, when we "upgrade" to Mummy even easier to earn our money man!
i haven started using toothbrush on R. issit necc at this stage?

CoolMum
how come the 2 babies look soooooo alike? i am confused!

Wei Kuan
think can slowly start cereal or sthg rite? i will ask my mum when to introduce to R. oh the show was on tt ah... my parents' hse shld b ok lah, my plc oso not much of hazard... but no matter wat, will hv to watch him closely when they start using walker. every wkday i watch Ch U's tv serial, so now i oso skip watching news on Ch 8 liao.

Hihi Wendy
Thanks for the compliment... im gg to be 26 after this march..

Weikuan
My Aloy oso start to refuse to take in milk liao... whenever he is hungry he will fuse and cry so bo bian i make milk for him den drink less den 2oz he start to push away the drink bottle and den push his whole hand into his mouth.. Now he drink milk take abt 20 mins and still left abt 0.5 to 1oz unfinish... im thinking to change his FM leh... but my mil say no need cos he is starting semi-solid fd liao... my mil intend to let him eat cereal wif milk.... i think this is only choice too cos he is drinking far too little liao... cos at his age only drink 3.5oz plus now he refuse to drink finish... haiz dunnoe how...

Yesterday evening when i reach my mil hse... kanna "scolding" from her... saying that i pamper my son for letting him to sit on the lap to drink milk... but wat can i do cos when i let him lie down on my hand, his head keep on lifting up i see him like tat i 'xin deng' him ma cos he is using so much strength... so i let him sit on my lap instead loh... saying i pamper him, she pamper him more jia liat den i do manz..

Lena
wow! wat a young mummy!

ur son still can finish 3.5 oz! mine feeds only 2 oz EBM in the daytime. its only night time when he is sleeping, then my mum can manage to make him drink 4 oz. else its like slaughtering pigs when we make him drink milk in the day! he fusses and cries so loudly! aiyoh! i always tells him the neighbours will think the mummy and grandma r ill-treating him man!

hahaha, if ur MIL sees how i handle my boy when he latches, she sure shake her head and say i pamper him! but no choice! as long as he drinks milk, i will do anything!

crystallized,
my son can finish 140ml of EBM, but the problem is he didnt gain much weight lel. think he poo a lot. he still poo 3-4 times per day. MIL ask is tat any problem wif my milk???
how frequent ur son poo nowsday?

wei kuan,
dun angry...if R didnt drink FM wun feel pain, if she didnt drink BM then heart pain.
according to PD. bb who drink BM should start semi solid food later than those bb on FM because hard for them to digest. BM more water than FM.

Is frozen milk good (keep for 2.5mths liao) or FM as my friend have a lot and want to give me. Her 2 fridge full liao. Pls advise?

hi weikuan

i know how u feel about baby not drinking milk. isaac was like that when he was 3 months. his each feeding took more than an hour.

everytime we put the teat into his mouth he will yell at the top of his voice!
very frustrating and xin tong to throw away my breast milk

sometimes i very stubborn will force the teat into his mouth and he will cry till tears trickle down his cheeks, very ke lian

my parents will bu ren xin and ask me to stop. sigh... guess baby has their own mood swing too. maybe R is having her mood swing so dont force her oh! my hubby always say he will drink when he is hungry

Crystallized,
hehehe... thanks wor..

now he dun drink 3.5oz liao only can drink 2.5 to 3oz, when force him to drink, he will 'pretend' to choke.. *faint*, ya i agree so long he can finish up his milk, i will do anything loh... but my mil thinks other ways.. i still cant understand y i cant put him in sit right position... haiz.. i think one of these days my hubby will kee siao becos of us...

Coolmum & aspille
Err.. both babies different ah??? oops I thog they are the same..

wei kuan

i think frozen milk is not as nice as normal breastmilk.

my isaac didnt really like frozen milk taste, personally i feel it smell funny too.

especially it is 2.5 months, better not lah

my hubby always use frozen chicken and fresh chicken as example. if given the choice i think we will choose fresh chicken right?

Wei Kuan,
Dun give frozen EBM lah, my views same as Shirley.
Frozen EBM, depends on how the storage. If you do a search, some said can store 2 mths max, some said 6 mths. It depends on the temp for the fridge.

crystallized,
i only gave J a toothbrush when he was about 8-9 mths old. And the toothbrush that i started is not the usual type. Pigeon has this baby silicon looking type with a stopper to prevent from poking in too deep. i just use that to massage his gums and let him chew on it and get used to the idea of brushing teeth. Like this
671501.jpg

jasmine
my boy poos abt once or twice a day. aft 3 mths old, weight gain will b slower. at 4 mths, he weighs ard 7kg. PD said its ok, so no need to worry.

Wei Kuan
how old is ur fren's bb & Rui En? r they ard same age? FBM >2.5mths old ah? usually i keep my FBM for 1.5 mths only. and i cleared mine quickly as i will donate away b4 it gets stored up too long. currently, my FBM r abt 2 wks old only. and dun think Rui En will easily adapt to FBM hor. my fren's baby rejected FBM and only took those tt are less than 2 wks old.

Lena
juz dun rebute ur MIL lah. 1 ear in, 1 ear out. cannot help it one. unless u wan ur hb to b sanwiched b/w u both. or try to feed ur baby in the rm so she cant see and make so much comments.

bbgrace
wow! i am impressed! (or mayb i am suaku
) i din noe a baby at 8-9 mths old can hold like tt liao! and J looks different fr the pix wif hair now. fr far, the pigeon stopper looks like the plastic cover we use 4 soft drinks. i was thinking wah u so clever, come up wif this method!

Is FM beeter than Frozen BM. Duno read from where Frozen BM still beat FM, is that true or not?

jrt:
my friend bb is 5mths+, diff of 1.5 mths from my R

weikuan

i think if Frozen BM is kept too long all the nutrients will also be gone. depending how is it stored, i think sometime it is still better than FM.