(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

I recored on hb's phone, maybe should record onto mine. I always look at her pic in my mobile and end up laughing. But quite a lot of lunch time I hv conference call, so I'll express while making those calls, hence can't play her sound.
Actually, quite stress to express while working, but no choice, since I refuse to travel, I just have to make all these calls. Liek Selina, wo3 kan4 kai1 le. Got how much give how much. Heartahce but no choice, like many said need two to work. Especially since I don't liek to take money from hb. Still haven't learn to be xiao3 nu3 ren2.

Jasmine
use hand express but nvr touch the milk directly, so still ok rite? anyway she chilled the BM, so its consumed within 48 hrs.

i think ur baby is slowly getting adjusted to sleeping thru the nitetts y he drinks so little. thats gd news rite?
i hope my boy can oso but so far, no signs of it yet.

u let ALvis exercise his head daily lah. i do tt when i rem. usually abt 1 hr aft his feed, so he dun merlion. let him lie on his tummy and he will lift his head up. its a gd exercise.
u do tt a few times, am sure Alvis will hv stronger neck muscles. dun worry.

Coral
wah i hear u express like tt, sure stress lah. express while teleconferencing?
yah juz give watever u can. i oso tell myself some day my supply will dip, so juz give wat i can afford to.

crystallized,
cos Caleb wants everyone to know that's him mah...
no lah. he cranky cos whole day nv sleep. woke up at 9.30am that day then so many friends come he excited cannot sleep cos this boy very kaypo... after the photo, Les picked him up, b4 he can stuff the pacifier in his mouth, he KO liao. see how tired he was...

btw, caleb's cradle cap is getting alot better without hair. seems to fall off alot now everyday. so glad that i made the decision to shave off his hair. hope can recover by next weekend. also his head no longer smells. BIL always complain his head smells yesterday he saw Caleb n said no smell liao. so happy.

jasmine,
so did PD teach you how to correct his head position?

wei kuan,
i think infantcare ok leh. in fact i prefer to send Caleb to infantcare cos even if i look after him myself, scared he will become gong gong cos i wont have as much activities for him as compared to infantcare. tell u wat, i might put caleb into kk learning vision cos i can take NEL there direct from punggol so easier for me. hoping still got slot for him. waiting for the centre manager to call me. then rui-en & caleb can be schoolmates liao

dun be sad. at least she had it for 3.5mths. i might need to stop also if ss continues to dwindle...

starz,
same same. i pump at workstation also. use shawl or jacket to cover then can work at the same time. sometimes work until forget i pumping...

guess under FJ or Club 21? where's your office? we can meet for lunch if u have time. my office is next to heeren. my shop is at taka.

crystallized,
talking abt milk, i must start to drink my milk again. loved milk b4 preggie but now always forget to drink.

aspialle,
i only latch once a day. during nite feed cos i lazy to get up to make FM or warm EBM. so far ok lor. Caleb always suck until the mouth got the pacifier shape. love shape with 2 holes cos he can really suck so damn hard. but i'm fine with it.

vivian,
u r most welcome. our pleasure. we love to have friends over our place actually. otherwise always both of us very boring one. we dun mind the cleaning and cooking... force us to clean our house cos both of us can b quite lazy when it comes to housework lor...

selina,
yeah...jz now she force & urn his head to the opposite way which Alvis don't like to turn. it's make him so angry. haha...
& frm now onwards, we hav to talk or play wif him face to face & dont sit & talk to him on his side.
then, next week will ask PD to do detail check on his neck mussle. if encounter the problem again, we hav to go hospital & let them to do some exercise to correct his head position.
i think i'm a lousy mum lol...untill bb suffer..

jasmine,
like what crystallized said, try putting Alvis on his tummy. it helps to train their neck muscles. Caleb sleeps on tummy so he can lift his head up and turn his head to change his head position when sleeping. now his neck muscles quite strong liao and can sit supporting his own neck. u can try.

start Alvis with a few minutes everyday then slowly prolong the time.

jasmine,
another way is to put Alvis on your lap while u sitting down with both your legs on the chair or sofa. Alvis will be facing you then u talk n play wif him. i realised Caleb likes to move his head left n right non-stop when put in this position. dunno if this works for Alvis but u harm trying.

Selina,
actually now we always let him sit on my leg then face to my MIL or SIL then he will start talking to them. the problem is when he lying on bed, he can turn here turn there, but at then end will drop to left side. tat y PD notice his musscle a bit streess on left side.
ok ok...must start trying today. ask hb do tat since he come back early & can play wif him.
if not, he will become 'wai tou' liao.
really thanks for ur advice.....

Vivian
Hahaha, vivian u berry cute hor u dont worry lor, J won't snatch from R de..
Frankly speaking Andrea is pretty, she got the eurasian look, maybe bcos the dad is Thai bah..

Huijun
wow that's good..if me i can't no accompany i dare not bring him to shopping area. Don't feel guilty at least u gave BM for 3.5mths, haiz i only give 1mth..

jasmine,
if lying position, try to place him in another direction so that he can face you on the right then u can talk n play wif him. mayb tis will help him get used to turning his head to right side ba.

Selina
I wanna tell u R's horrible cradle cap is almost 90% gone!
i bot the cradle cap shampoo and used on him on tues, then brought him over 2 my mum tt nite and instruct her to use on R when he bathes. Yesterday when i went over to see him, i was so happy to see his scalp so clean, lest for some leftover caps. i asked wat my mum did and she said she applied baby oil, leave it for an aftn, then use baby comb to gently comb off and it all came off! i told her i used the same method but R will cry when i shampoo him or comb his hair. i told her R juz likes grandma's touch, coz his caps fell off! hope it stays off liao!
now he no longer smelly oso! YAY!

Yah Caleb's neck is much stronger coz he sleeps on his tummy.
nowadays R dun like tummy time. like lazy boy man. juz flipped him over for 5 mins then he start to cry alrdy.

jasmine
J initially also like to lie on one sided..no matter how we try to turn him he still lie back to right side..we were so worried than after bring him to YU GUO for tui na, they realise his neck on the left very stiff..than after a few massage now losser and can lie left liao..maybe u can give it a try..The YU GUO Chinese Physician Acupunture & Physiotherapy good recommended by many mummy one of them is Jenny
We brought him on 2 occassion - too many phlegm and stiff neck, now its like we bring him for tui na 1month 4times

crystallized,
that good news. i dun wanna use comb cos scared his scalp will turn red after that cos a few times i just gently use my fingers to brush off some lose caps and his scalp turned red. so now i just apply olive oil as instructed by PD and everytime he push himself against something, his caps will fall off. am gonna let them fall off themselves. yah.. no longer smelly liao.

Selina, I take NEL to work everyday now. My Mum stays at S'goon so hv to drop Char there in hb's car then I go to work myself. Also thinking of putting Char in infant care for same reason as you cos worry that my Mum can't provide enuf activities for her. And some more my Mum vy impatient person and like to raise ehr voicehence worried that Char might grow to be as impatient as me...But hb not for the idea.

Esther,
yes, Jenny did recommended in this forum. i forgot to take down the address & contact.
can u giv me the address & contact?

coral
u living with in law rite? they never volunteer to look after hah?

today i let my boy hold milk bottle himself, start training him, he is ok with it, he start talking bb language too.When i ask him to put the other hand on the bottle, he seems to understand, at first his hand is behind on my hip, after i told him, he initiate to put his hands back to the milk bottle holding it

I see, no wonder Janice's Andrea eyes so nice...

hi wei kuan,

not really true hor. my mum who has taken care of my nephew & niece and now my girl, said that my nephew is so much easier to take care. really only drink milk & then go to sleep

hi selina,

tricia do not like to lie down on her tummy. but we put her on our lap when we sit down, she will try to get up and push her head forward.

aspialle, Jenny advise not to let baby hold milk by themselves till they are 6mth or older cos will affect their hand development. I listen to her advice as they are still develope their hand muscle.

selina and coral,
Another reason y I put infant care cos nanny or mother will only let baby watch tv which is not advisable for children below 5yrs old. Cos nanny need to do housewk and cook and no choice have to let baby watch TV.The infant care did teach infant read story books and play some games.
All infants will fall sick even if they are not put in infant care as they are building up their immuce system.

coral
our hb same same. Les also not for the idea but after much convincing and reasoning, he's now ok. the only downside for infantcare is viruses lor. but guess it helps them to build up their own immune system as well. so look at positive side of things ba. told hb dun want Caleb to become "gong kia" next time.

yah. only if i move back punggol, then i will take NEL to work. hopefully KK learning vision got slot for Caleb so we can move back permanently soon. it is one of the cheapest so far so hope to get in there.

gemini,
at first caleb also dun like but now he used to it liao. sometimes when he awake, he can lie on his tummy quietly for a while before anyone has time to bother about him.

wei kuan,
i totally agree wif u. tt's my reason for selecting infantcare too. also i brought hb to visit one and after that he kinda change his mind. told him dun wan Caleb to become tv controller expert...
tt's what happens to my friend's son. everything also dun like but like tv controller best

coral,
u may wanna arrange for hb to view some centres than might change his mind. cos infantcare really very detailed cos they record down almost everything including playtime. a lot of toys, pictures ard to stimulate their senses so i like lor. at home very limited lah.

Selina
thats wat i did! use combs to comb off and his scalp turns reddish and he cries aft a while. but my mum said when she use comb, it din turn red and R was happily letting her comb. tts y i said R likes grandma's touch. in the end, she managed to get rid most of his caps.

aspialle
my ILs stay wif us but they nvr look aft R oso. coz they r wkg. somemore my MIL cant handle R alone. so tts why my mum is caring 4 him. nowadays, dun take for granted tt grandparents will care 4 their grandchild. i am v fortunate tt my mum volunteered and somemore ask me quickly go hv #2 even though she is oso taking care of my nice (juz 2 mths younger than R).

Selina/Wei Kuan
juz curious, how do they take care of little babies at this stage?
i mean, it cant b 1-1 rite?

now at work & very worried, will read thru the postings when i m home..so paiseh if i did not reply to any of ur qns as i just took a quick glance

Huijun
me also 5 ml or lesser..wanna stop BF liao but with K having a fever, dun noe how..cos dun think i should stop when she is feverish

Vivian ..hehe, i noe lah =) since ur Rhys sayang kelicia, u can give Andrea up to Esther's Jovan lah, cos Rhys now have kelicia =p

I am worried and need advice of mums whose bbs have the 2nd jab of 6 in 1

K has her injection at 11am y'day, till now still having a fever...

Qn1 - can my mum bathe her

Qn2 - how many doses of 0.5ml b4 the fever subside
her medicine was taken at 945pm last nite, 2.30am today and the 3rd dose at 1030am today

Qn3 - the syringe can recycle meh ? y outside the cover is indicated used once.

Qn 4 - with all the water droplets, just dripped the syringe inside medicine ? wun spoil it meh

crystallized,
i'm working from home today cos i'm down with throat infection. soon.... sahm is on the cards. things are not firmed up yet so can't say much now cos it's a public forum.

jasmine,
you can train his neck muscles on his left side by changing the direction you place him on the cot cos he could be turning to the right cos there is something that catches his attention. Or you can place a musical mobile or something on his left, to make him turn.
I also had the same problem with my elder boy and the PD recommended physiotherapy for him. But i didn't go in the end, just make him practise on his own and when he grew up, it was ok.

babygrace,
thanks for ur advice. actually Alvis sleep with face up (neither left nor right) most of the time. so, i do not need to adjust his head position. just tat when he awake, he used to turn to left side. or since he always turn to left side, we also sit on his left & play wif him which is wrong ...
i think now onwards, wat we do is like wat u said, try to catch his attention on his right.
but does this tui na do help?

Jo,
u mean ur ms sudenly drop or all along ur ms so little? if ur ms suddenly drop then dun give up. sometimes it's jz like a 'guo du qi'. afther few days, it's will come back.
but u must relax urself. the more stress u r, ur milk wont come back lol.

jo,
mine is 5-in-1. If fever do not go off, have to see doc again.

crystal,
I feel like many teachers (include some are nurse at infant care) there and not always the same one to take care of R. so they have gd teamwk and help each other loh. not accuate to say 3 to 1. when one teacher or nurse saw any baby crying, they will respond to her even not her duty. This is what I observe there. today only go to see her two times.

jasmine

has been worsening since 24 dec, and my ms has never been good also..but i am drinking fish soup everyday if not alt day, now K got fever, i dun dare to suddenly switch to formula milk..

when pump, less tahn 5 ml, if at home, i just latch on, can't see what is happening makes me feel better =p

thanks for the encouragement =)

i am not sure cos mine is only 1st 5-in-1 and doc did say if got fever and do not go off after taking med have to see him again, but mine do not have as like what jenny said 5-in-1 have lower chances of fever. I think after 24hrs

ok, thanks, huijun =)

mine has been more than 24 hrs liao, if tonite never subside, guess have to go hosp liao, cos my doc said dun bring back to him if fever, cos he already gave med y'day

JO
if unsure juz bring her to see PD lah. dun need to wait wat. make u worried only.
Made me scared now. R gg 4 his 2nd jab later this mth. looks like i better take a few days leave in case he has fever.
K hvg fever, i not sure can bath her. to b safe, mayb dun bath 1st? juz towel wipe her? sorry cant help wif the remaining qns. y dun u call the clinic to ask?

bbgrace
thorat infection? take care. drink more water. back at work, i drink at least 3 litres now. hahaha siao char boh me... at home, i will sometimes 4get coz too busy tending to R. at work, my water btl in front of me, so i will drink v often.

Wei Kuan
as long as there is someone attending to the baby when they cry, doesnt really matter if its the same one. i guess this trains them to b "flexible" so they wun b faced wif the same caretaker all the time. and they can adapt well to strangers?
Infantcare v exp rite? u mentioned ur co heavily subsidize so u pay like half or less than half only.

crystallized,
mcys guidelines is 1:5 but as wat wei kuan said, the caregivers help one another. i went to view delcare at shenton way. they sing & read story books to the children when they are awake. they have a cot for each bb.

jo,
can bathe but make sure do it fast so wont catch chill. e med is paracetemol? nurse told me 4 hrly. think if u worried than better bring her to c doc. otherwise monitor another day c how.

i re-use the syringe too. u can keep pumping the syringe until almost dry.

just now the clinic was closed , crystallised ..they reopen at 230 after 12 noon lor

i just took leave y'day, today din dare to take so no chance to bring her to PD yet...and it was only y'day she took her jab..so wanna see if this is normal..

selina,
yeah, my R have her own cot and cupborad. Today bought her big blanket, sleeping gorbag and pillows (although she not using) to her school.very damn heavy.school provide her with side protection and mattress. But the school matress I have to bring home once a week to wash

just now the clinic was closed , crystallised ..they reopen at 230 after 12 noon lor

i just took leave y'day, today din dare to take so no chance to bring her to PD yet...and it was only y'day she took her jab..so wanna see if this is normal..

paiseh, posted 2 times..

Selina

how many doses did caleb take in all, when was his jab ?

my clinic states 4 times a day, every 6 hrly, dose is 0.5ml

Selina
wow! 1:5? think its a bit too much 4 the caregivers to handle. i imagine at home we alrdy hv problem handling 1:1 hahaha

hmmm, singing & reading bks sound nice... but guess they cant do it to a grp of babies at the same time since the time they r awake r usually different. i am v curious how they handle so many babies. muz go and take a look if possible.

Jo
if K is sick, can request MC fr PD then u can submit to HR if ur co allows u to claim childcare sick leave. i noe how worried u r now and no mood to work. juz waiting 2 knock off so can rush home to see her.

haiz, i noe abt the MC..but i just took so long the maternity leave liao..paiseh lor..

my situation: i join this place in late jun, work for less than 3 months went maternity in 22 sep, back only last tuesday...

jo,
caleb had his jab on 29 dec. was slight feverish the next day tho' thermometer showed normal but i still gave him the med. mine is 1.5ml. then gathering day again slight feverish so i gave again. total think i gave him twice. both times thermometer showed normal but when i touch he felt hot to me.

crystallized,
tt's the max by mcys but most established centres have 1:3. no lah they dun sing in a grp. whichever bb is awake they will tend to them. plse go on wkdays hor cos wkend very few bbs ard n centres take tis time to do cleaning.

selina

thanks so much..like u , my thermometer shows that things are ok, but confirm not accurate..

reason being she felt hot & I borrow the thermometer from downstairs' clinic to measure her, gave a dif reading .

wat kind of thermometers are u ladies using, mine is free from the sars period one..

jo

mine is the type to be put at bb's armpit. they used it on K when he was warded and i just take it home since i've paid for it. heard that it is more accurate to use this type on bbs.

crystallized,
i suspect that my sore throat came from the black chicken soup that hubby made the day before. He probably added too much brandy and it's too heaty for my body. Plus gg back to work made it worse. I was so busy running in and out of meetings that i didn't have much time to drink.

INFANTCARE
I used to think like selina and wei kuan that falling sick can build up immunity. But Joshua's allergy was so full blown and he was falling sick so often then when he was at the infantcare. i was so tired of bringing him to the PD every fortnight. Doctors that i've visited always ask if there is other alternative childcare arrangements that i could do. Compared then and now where he's at home, he's a lot better off at home. I guess infantcare is just not a place for him.

The infantcare that he attended also had many activities. They have water play, music and movement, story time and art and craft. They will just do it with whichever babies that are awake. i still keep the artwork that joshua did.

jo,
it's true that different thermometers give different readings.
What i do is to take the bb's temperature when he is not having fever to have an idea what the normal range is. And if the temperature is higher than the usual range after the jab, means got fever.

babygrace,
what allergy did joshua have? is it due to the infant care air con?
My PD mention to me as long as air con is sevice regular, the air is good for infant. some infant care have no air con, normally at void deck.