(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

talking bout sling, i bought 1 but nv use b4.. buy on impluse..
i also nv intend to use cos i always feel that slings are not very safe like bb will drop anytime.. haha.. actually isthe mindset..

mine is Deluxe Range: Cotton Sateen http://www.momsinmind.com.sg/buysarongsling.html
it comes with a instruction booklet & Demo VCD.
i bought at $45.90 but if anyone is interested let me know bah.. of cos quote me ur best price also
btw, its brand new & color is purple-pink

Janice
i PM-ed u alrdy. Thks!

Jasmine
Din capture any pix of R at the gathering coz me this ku ku mummy juz noe how to stand there and laff while 4getting tt my R was not in the fun!
regretted so much!!!!

Selina
Nice pix!
Caleb was smiling so sweetly at the camera for ur bdae pix. Oh u shaved him? i wld hv done tt to R when he went 4 his haircut but coz of his serious cradle cap prob, it was not possible to shave completely. and i figured it wld look super ugly if i had gone ahead. then he wld looked like got "patchy grass" growing on his head!
but seems like i was wrong... C oso got cradle cap but u managed to shave him...

Doreen
i did a mini demo of the sling to show Selina & Vivian in the room... din noe Esther was keen as she was in the living rm. anyway i not v expert at using lah. juz noe the most basic way only. need to explore more.

Zuoer
i am using cotton sateen as well. its v safe! dun worry abt dropping baby. unless u nvr secure properly lah... so far i love it.

Esther
the artwork u did was v nice too!
can u email to me as well? Will PM u my email addy. Thks!

Ur boy was v guai at the gathering leh. i din hear him fuss or made any sound (or mayb i din hear it) he looked easy to care for to me...

coral,
u can check out drugstore. i see alot of mummies buy from spree at drugstore. think shld b gd ba otherwise so many of them buy. and cheaper too cos i bought desitin from there, so much cheaper than local. bigger tube somemore.

Good morning everyone!
today is my 1st day work. still waiting my collegue to handover my work.

Selina,
thanks..
Caleb look so cute in 'botak' head. hehe....
i like the pic he smile. so sweet....

Janice,
thanks..
now feel better. will c my gynae this friday to follow up. i hope tat can breast feed asap.
ooo..ya. ur baby look very tall in the pic...r u total breastfeed?

Jasmine,
Ya, no need ice pack. Just put your chilled EBM into the bag and when reach home/office, put them into the fridge will do. The bag will keep the EBM chilled while on transportation.
Ya lor, she dun look like 2 years old. Many ppl tot she's 3 cos she's tall. I dunno who she looks like lah, I dunno how to see. When born, ppl said she like daddy, then later said like mummy, now got ppl said like daddy and some said like mummy... I'm confused

Talking about MS drop, me too
sianz...

Selina,
Caleb looks cool in his new hairstyle

Coral,
Aiya, sayang... I also didn't know you were there. Should have meet kekeke...
Ya lor the traffic and crowd terrible hor. Next time shouldn't park near MRT station. I was up in the room, monitoring the traffic and crowd b4 deciding to leave at 2.30am. You leave at 1am, waited long to exit from carpark right?
I remembered seeing a sunblock for infants, but forgot which brand. But I saw in Guardian last year.

zuo_er,
Though bb will fuss in carseat, we still have to make sure they are in. For safety purpose lah, xiao xin is better. Yesterday midnite, there's a few road blocks by police, if kena caught, will be fined + minus points.

Janice,
You mean this happened to your friend's friend ah?
Oh ya, somehow I find you familiar, dunno if I ever met you at Lawrence's cliic??

Esther,
I think the red spots may be casued by some dust or something dirty. Usually for such cases, try to wash/bath and apply cream (eg. hazeline) and monitor. If it doesn't get worse, it should go off in a few days time.
Wah gaoz... you terrible leh, eat so fast!

crystallized,
Ya lor, went home and downloaded pics then realised your R is not in any of my pics!

======
I suddenly remembered. How come that day I haven't ever enter Selina's house with hb and Jolene, and many of you already knew who am I ah? Xia si wo leh... some more I also very funny leh, whoever talked to me, I just replied w/o knowing who I'm talking to hahaha
Who were there last Sun ah? I know who is Jo, Wei Kuan, Wendy, Selina, Janice, Coolcoolmum, Vivian... Who have I missed out? Doreen, you are in tube right? Gemini, in pink top? Still got who ah?

Jenny
coz i think u came wif Jolene mah! Jolene is v famous in this thread alrdy!

yah lor, R not in the pix... so sad leh

eh u bot the FTG ah? i wanna get one oso coz my max cool not enuff 4 me to transport liao. which is ur model? i went to the vivo city flagship store, so many models 2 choose fr and i dunno which one to get yet.

crystallized,
me too!!! i cuddle when i 'm going out to work. & A seem like know tat mommy is going to work, he start crying when i pass him to MIL. so sad to leave him...

crystallized,
wanted to ask u, u r the one who pro to Avent manual pump, rite? since u hav so much supply, how long u need to pump out?
bcoz i need about 45min to 1 hr to empty both breast. quite tiring lor.
thinking of invest one electric dual pump. save time while working. then i can use my lunch break to rest. really no enuf sleep lel..

Selina,
No fun one, tot can be "shen mi"
Oh Esther I know, met her b4.

crystallized,
No lah, Selina bought the FTG. You saw it at her place? She took out and showed me. I wanna buy it at 1st but hb said no. Now he said good, KNS! But I got 1 coleman cooler bag and 1 medela cooler bag + 1 avent thermal bag leh... feel like buying the FTG...
There's only 1 model which can put 6 cans, Selina's tat model.

jenny,
now i understand how the thermal bag work..
thanks..will get one once i recover coz i dunno whether i still can breast feed or not.
will bb refuse to drink BM/EBM after he drink FM for about 10 days w/o BM?

Jasmine,
Aiyo you just missed the promo for Ameda electric dual pump from Robinson. It was going for $356 for the pump + cooler bag + haversack for member price! Non member pays $400++. Quite a worth buy cos that haversack itself cost $122 from MIM.
I got Ameda and Medela PIS Advanced. I find both about the same but price range for PIS Advanced is 50% more ex.

Jenny, oh, you did not stay over nite ah? I tot you stay over nite so didn't kena the jam. Ya, took quite awhile to leave the carpark. Less than 30mins.

jenny,
the promo jz over ?? very 'hua suan' lel!!!
wat's d diff between Medela PIS & mini E dual?
for latch on, i'm sure A still want coz he keep searching when he hungry, i jz worry he will reject EBM lol...
oo...the method same as we introduce him to FM. thanks....

Zuoer,
Won't drop de, if you see how crystallized sling R u know liao, very steady poon pi pi de hor.. But i can't sling him, even by watching VCD he just felt uncomfortable le.......

Doreen,
Thanks, I have posted my enquiry for the Babyhugz le hope can buy from her

Crystallized
U got mail

Jenny
I thought you forget me liao..so sad
rhahahaha

Selina
I just anyhow do de, however hope you like it.. gonna practice more photo with it.

crystallized,
yes. working fr home tdy wif caleb in my arms sleeping.

jenny,
i dunno the model but make sure it is the one wif 6 sided ice pad.
u cannot shen mi lah...

jasmine,
dun think will have prob lah. caleb also went on full fm 4 a wk due to jaundice but he ok. also when i intro fm to him, i nv mix (cos dunno can mix at tt time) but he ok wif either fm or ebm. now even i mix he also ok.

Had a wonderful time looking thru all the shots taken. A pity I couldn't make it for the gathering. Hopefully, will be able to attend the next. Cheers~

Hi jenny,
Thks for passing the socks to me. Sorry to make u come to Yishun.

Coral,
Initially wanna stay over, but decided to go home, cos more comfortable for my 2 gals.

Jasmine,
Ya lor, very hua suan hor. Selina, Vivian and I were saying the same thing too!
If you are looking for Medela range, dun get teh Mini E Dual. I read in forums and ppl's blogs that Mini E Dual motor is not strong and not meant for long use (or should I say daily heavy use). It spoils easier. If you can afford, get the PIS Advanced. If not, settle for Mini E.
Alternative, if you want dual pump, get Ameda pump. Personally I prefer Ameda to PIS cos it is much lighter. I removed everything from the PIS backpack and gosh the backpack is damn heavy! In fact, the motor itself is already heavy. So I took the motor, the tubes and 2 bottles and put these into a harrods bag and bring to office. The weight is better. Beside the weight, the other thing that I dun like is the tube, it will cause water vapour or tiny water after pumping. So have to on the motor to let it run for a while after each pumping session. 3rdly, I can't see the marks how many ml I've pumped during the pumping session cos the wordings for the ml is kind of "invisible".

Esther,
No lah... forgive me, my memory getting worse hahaha...

Selina,
I think is FTG-1200, just saw it from Mother & Baby Mag.

freshpoison77,
No worries, I need to pass by that road everyday (to office and mum's place) in order to get to Thomson and Mandai.

jasmine
sigh, now i come back to work hor, i need to take abt 34-45 mins to empty breasts oso. u noe it used to b only 20 mins! so fast!

how many times u express now>? i hv a total of 3-4 sessions, depending on whether i am wkg anot. if R is not ard, i need a total of 4 sessions, else its only 3 sessions.

yes, i am using Avent manual pump.
i started off wif this and still end up using this coz this works the best for me. i tried the UNO IQ, not a sgl drop can b pumped out while the ameda works well 4 me initially and but gradually supply dropped. fearing it will permanantly affect my supply, i stopped using aft 1 wk. hahaha
electric pumps save time but apparently dun work well for me. i am one of those weird ones, hahaha, jenny commented b4.

anyway i ren ming liao lah. manual one works fine 4 me and i save the hassle of hvg to connect to an electric pt.

i am sure none of the mummies here hv enuff sleep, but wat to do? my last activity of the day is to pump, 1st activity in the morning oso to pump...

Jenny
i noe selina got the FTG... i thot u bot oso mah. selina's model cannot put inside my Harrods leh. see lah, now i gotta buy 1 model can accomodate my harrods one. hahahaha

so u bot a medium size Harrods ah?

Selina
how u work wif C sleeping in ur arms? sounds so xin fu... i miss my R...

jenny,
luckly check wif u b4 i make any decision. went to Kiddy Palace last sat & saw this Mini E dual. HB wanted to buy for me then i told him better check wif u all 1st coz i know few of u using electric dual pump.
sound like Ameda pump quite good.
where u bought ur Ameda pump?
& is the Robinson Promo still on?

crystallized,
i express 4 times per day. & total about 500ml.
but now i on medic & those BM hav to throw, i jz express 3 times a day & the supply seem increse. funny!!
oo...u oso need to take about 45mins to empty breasts. how about in office? u got time to do tat? i mean did ur boss comment any?
wan 2 buy electric pump cause wanna save time lol.

hello mummies...

thanks for the warm welcomes.. hehe..

seems like alot of us back at work liaoz, me too.. but stil on half-days for whole of this week... those mummies back at work, u all havent clear all 3mths right?? all went back to work earlier n save some leave???

about electric pumps, i've been using e Medela electric dual for e past 2mths..bought it 1st week after delivery to pump BM as my boy was admitted for jaundice...i hv no complains abt this pump leh.. been using it up to 4 times a day, abt 30mins-1hr each time.. still ok.. went to buy PIS advance @ e Isetan Private sale last week... find it kinda "weird" at first, slowing getting used to it.

Qn to mummies here... do you all feel the need to "squeeze" your breasts in order to empty them? i alwayz hv to do tat.. am i doing something wrong, or e pump is not efficient??

selina,
coincidentally, my bday also on 30-dec.. i'm 1977, but have to admit, u look much younger than i do... ur hb so sweet, stil got surprise bday cake.. u work in e retail industry? wat kind of products? so good can work from home... i'm in fashion retail..but cannot work from home one..

Jenny,
u referring to the "new" bottles from Medela where they only have markings for every 25ml / oz issit??? i also dont like these bottles, n hv ordered e "old" bottles where they hv marking for every 10ml.. can see how much "harvest" i got mah...

sorry, i got alot of qns to ask...
How you all sterilise the pump / bottles at work???
Wat digital camera are you all using now?? coz i see all ur baby photos all so nice... mine is an old model, no anti-shake.. now very difficult to get nice photo of ayden cos he keeps moving liaoz.. now like newborn time, easy to take photo of him...

crystallized,
No lah, I wanna buy long time ago before I bought the fridge but hb said no use lah bla bla bla... so ended bought a fridge and put in office. Anyway this fridge I bought only cost $168, best buy!
Ha, you bought the small size for Harrods. In fact, you can just get any bag for that kind of size. Really waste $ leh. I bought the medium one, so I can put magazines as well. Next time din use for pump storage, can used for other purpose also.

Jasmine,
You pump 500ml daily, enough for your boy's full day feed ah? I used to pump 500ml+ before returning to work, but not enough for Jaslyn, so she is supplement with 1 to 2 FM feedings (usually for nite feeds). After returning to work, I can only pump 300ml++, close to 400ml. Feel very sad cos "losing" almost half of the supply.
Ameda is quite a good pump, I feel. In fact, I just bought the PIS Advanced last Fri. Been using it at home for the past few days, dun feel any difference with Ameda. I paid $660 for PIS Advanced and $300 for Ameda (bought during the spree). The RP for Ameda is $350 (I think) at Robinson. Robinson sales just over yesterday. Anyway I was at Robinson on 28th Dec and Ameda pump was out of stock. I saw a few sets on 26 Dec wor. I bought the Ameda pump during the spree organised by a mummy in this forum and I self collect from Infantree Pte Ltd at Upper Thomson Rd. You can check with Robinson if they have stock now? If not, call Cheong Choon. I told Winnie about this and think she starts to carry this pump too. Think Coral bought hers from Cheong Choon.

iceystarz,
I cleared my 3 mths of maternity leave liao.
Do you find the tube for the PIS Advance got water vapour after use ah? I kinda fedup with that.
Yes, after pumping, I will squeeze my breasts to make sure I empty them, usually still got some to squeeze out.
No leh, the bottles I have has the marking for every 10ml leh. What I mean is the marking looks "invisible" unlike those Ameda or Avent bottles where the ml is clearly marked with prints.
If you have an extra steriliser, just put it in office lor, save time, just wash after use and throw all into steriliser then you can get back to work. If not, get a containter like tupperware, boil hot water and put your pumps/bottles in, and pour hot water over to "steam" lor.
I'm using Canon Ixus 5.0. I used to have a Sony Cybershot but spoil liao
I find Sony Cybershot capture nicer pics.

Jasmine,
Forget to add, if you have robinson card, it should entitle you 5% or 10% further rebates.
Cheong Choon is selling Ameda at $350 too.
I used to use 10 mins to pump for using electric dual pump. But now I use 15 to 20 mins cos I wanna simulate for more milk.

Starz
I am using Canin Ixus55..

Jenny
I think we are using the same model, yrs should be Ixus55 5.0mega pixels rite..Lucky ah, i thought u foget me so fast hee hee, agree with you after giving birth memory like start to fail liao.. whahahahahaha..........

Jenny
ic ic...... check with you hor, you know where to buy diapers in bulk? I am using EQ Dry in the day and MP at night.. But seems like Nepia and Huggies Dry Comfort is better so might want to change..any idea??

Jenny,
thanks for answering all my qns..
ya, e "tube" part of e funnel will get water vapour during use lor.. sometimes reli cant see if still got milk coming or not.. nowadays i look "below" at e bottle.. if still dripping, i continue pumping lor.. but if u talking abt e "tube" tat connects to e motor.. then i dont hv leh...
u pump so fast ar.. 15-20mins u can get how much??? i usually pump hv to pump ard 45mins then can get 150ml n above.. if i stop at 20mins, only miserable 50-90ml leh..

esther mummy,
hehehe... i prefer to tell people, not memory failing lah... but all ur memory "used up" by baby liaoz.... isn't it true??? everything abt our babies we can remember.. but everything else we cannot...

the Canon Ixus got anti-shake function??? got this "multiple shot" function, tat suppose to take a few frames with one-click??? i heard tat function good for taking baby photos... how much ar???

hi jenny,

i'm the one in bright pink. apologies, did not self-introduce myself to you too.

the carseat that i was saying was passed down by my bro. he said that my niece started to use it after 1st mth. will check with him.

hi esther,

u also using MP at nite? check with u, do you smell an urine smell in the morning? i sometimes do smell it, esp when it's heavy.

hi coral,

u are not alone. my tricia loves to eat both her "drumsticks" which i will pull it out also. but sometimes, i dont bother to do that cos she does it too often. nowadays i only put on her mittens at nite when she sleep.

Esther,
I got EQ Dry and Sealer contact. But you need to buy 2 ctns for home delivery. Huggies Dry Comfort is good, cheap and it comes with velcro tape. But note cutting is small. In fact, I dun find any difference between Huggies Dry and Huggies Dry Comfort after Huggies Dry came out with improved version. For Nepia, you can call Nepia office to order, they allow mix sizes for a min 4 packs for home delivery. Sad to say, there's no bulk order for Mamy Poko.

iceystarz,
I'm not saying the tube part of the funnel. But yes, I also can't see got milk coming out or not. I have not prob with Ameda one.
Yes, I'm talking about the 2 tubes that connects to the motor. I got leh, every time I use, sure got some vapour. Sometimes is water droplets. Wendy also got this prob leh.
Now my pumping amt not accurate... just got back to office and my MS drop like mad. I used to pump 220ml in the morning, then subsequently about 120ml+- then last pump at nite is 140ml. Usually adds up to 500+ml per day. Now I pump for 15 to 20 mins, I get about 90 to 100ml. 45mins???!!! I cannot pump so long in office leh. I try to pump 15 mins and wash and sterilise and back to work leh. I tot we shouldn't pump for more than 20mins? I was told on my very 1st day after I gave birth at TMC by staff from Parentcraft.
I dun think Canon Ixus anti shake function works (Sony definately works!). It has this "multiple shot" fuction, just set it and you press and hold to take pics. It should be q cheap now. There are new models like 6.5 now in market right? Think only selling close to $500. That time I bought mine at $649 when it was released. Anyway, if you dun mind "older" models, 5.0 or 5.5 version is good enough, it should cost about $400 now??

Jasmine,
Err... not sure leh, maybe is business tactic? Perhaps you check with MIM, the warranty is covered by Infantree or Euramedics. Infantree is the new distributor in SG now.

Gemini,
Ok ok, so you are the one is pink kekeke...
Jolene used MP at nite. No urine smell ah. Instead I find Nepia got urine smell. But again, it varies with different babies.
Jaslyn also eat her "drumsticks" till got sound one. Jolene will helps to "remove" her hands from mouth kekeke... I remove mittens long long time ago. Not good for development leh.

Jasmine
perhaps ur body get the signal ur baby needs more milk now thus is producing more.
pump and throw better lah. i did tt when i did rebonding and colouring, so tt my supply will b maintained.

i take abt 35 mins to pump in ofc. max 45 mins. usually i take 35 mins, plus wash and tidy up another 10-15 mins. so far my boss din say anything yet. i try to hurry up lor. how to hasten up? cant lah. and i dun pump halfway. this will surely affect supply.

Starz
yes i do massage and 'squeeze' my breasts to empty. in fact i will keep massaging my breast while i am expressing to stimulate suppply, thus sgl pump works well 4 me. when i used ameda, i got no free hands to massage.

my right boob needs more time 4 letdown while my left one will hv letdown within 2 mins. v frustrating to express my right boob.

i do not sterilise my btl & pump at work. i juz wash wif the pigeon washing detergent and rinse wif hot water.

Jenny
aiyoh! how can u take so fast to express? unless nothing squirts out alrdy? else u r juz telling ure breasts ur baby only needs this amt leh. no wonder ur supply dropped. 4 me, i used to take 20 mins to empty both breasts. now i take abt 35 mins. i will express until nothing squirts out then i stop. cant stop halfway.

i bot tt harrods size coz the medium size too big leh. i will end up carrying more stuff.

jenny,
500ml only for my boy 's day feed. i will let him latch on once i back to work. it's mean tat i only need to store 3 botle (minimum)at home for his day feed.
so, u r giving jaslyn FM at nite?
normally i will pump 10-15min each breast by using Avent manual pump, think electric pump can save time ba...
jz a stupid question..
how come u buy so many pump?

hehe..is ok. i'm TBF. giv A bottle feed during day time (3-4 bottle per day). each time 120ml. then will let him latch on aftertat.
so, if i pump out 500ml shld b enuf for his day feed lol.
as i stop BF now, dunno still get the supply once i start work.
oo..yeah. remember u told us tat u can get > 1L per day. so envy u lel...

jasmine
oh u oso on TBF...

ur boy can finish 120ml each time? mine cant! daytime if he can finish 90ml, i v happy alrdy lor...

y u wanna stop BF now?

i am worried my supply will drip, so i v diligent to pump, even during wkends. yep, i get abt 1.2 litres fr 4 sessions. oversupply liao... dunno shld cut down anot. in the meanwhile juz freeze the excess lor.

crystallized,
tat's y i'm asking u how long for ur pump session since u r using manual pump and yet u can get so much supply...
never happen for me. if i can can 200ml per session, i will jump out liao.

over 4 day feed, he only can finish 120ml twice, then another twice mayb 100ml or 90ml.. so 'xin tong' cause my supply not stable yet..

i stop BF now cause i'm taking medic due to breast infection last week, after kena 'block duct' actually still can BF if block duct. but i noticed my milk (frm blister tat LC clear the block duct) a bit yellowish (like 'nong shui')..i went to c GP & she gav me anti-bio & advice me stop BF for few day. i regret tat i didnt store much EBM even frozen BM for my boy lol.
then didnt join u all for the gathering lol.
ur boy boy very 'xin fu' lal...cz never worry abou milk supply. good good...

Hi crystallised,
I'm at the airport waiting lounge. Coming back sg on 17th Jan. So can only email u when back hor. I'm going to one of the most dangerous places in the world at the moment --- Bangkok.

Hi Jasmine,
Take care of yourself and can start BF again. I dun total BF, infact, I'm a human pacifier nia.. :p
Andrea does seem to be quite tall. Hope she can be tall next time, cos hb and me are very short :p But she's overweight at 6++kg. She should weigh 5kg (for girl)according to a UK study.

Hi Jenny,
Don't think we meet before leh. Mayb my face quite common. Hee.. Usually I go for my appointment after work ~6.30pm onwards.

Ya, it happened to my friend's friend's child. The other case (kena at the neck) is my friend's nephew. So really got to be careful lor.

Going to board now. Talk to u gals when back on 17th. TAKE CARE!

hi janice,
have a safe journey.

thanks...i hope so. how come u become human pacifier ??
no lel. Andrea look very tall in the pic.

Jasmine
like i mentioned lor, takes abt 35 mins to empty both breasts. i find its long liao, last time only 20 mins. but of coz nvr get so much. i die die will make sure i get ard 360-400ml per pump if i pump every6-7 hourly to convince myself my supply is maintained lor. else i will panic and keep drinking more water or soup to produce more. hahaha, super KS rite?

i feel how much we pump now depends largely on the time when we r trying to build up supply. i cant rem how many times i pumped a day then but it was regular, every 3-4 hourly until i realised i dun need so much then i started to store. i washed my btls, pump so many times until i was really sian but no choice. i oso made sure i had at least 1 meal of fish a day. now i am back at work, my lunch is sure fish soup, somemore i ordered extra fish. my mum said i KS!

if u wanna cont to BF, u juz keep pumping and throw... maintain the supply until u r well then u can cont to feed him ur BM. dun give up yet.

but hor my boy cant drink so much... dunno he hates teats & btls or wat lor... its v worrying when i am at work. luckily its my mum tt is taking care and she will try her v best to make sure my boy drinks as much as possible. else i sure cant work in peace.