(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

Message from :
ABBOTT FAMILY

The Straits Times Mind Your Body First Moms Congress 2007 A complete source of information for moms-to-be and new moms!

Date: Saturday, Jan 27, 2007
Time: 1.00-4.30pm
Venue: Canning Ballroom, Raffles City Convention Centre, Level 4
Registration fee: S$15 per person, including light refreshments, free flow of soya bean milk, coffee and tea. S$10 with coupon (Available in The Stratis Times Mind Your Body 10 & 17 Jan).

All participants will receive a free goodie bag worth over $100, containing:

a baby music CD
a baby silver fork and spoon set
a spa discount voucher
a tin of Similac Follow-on Formula (400g).
To register, call 6277-6266 or click here for the online registration.

Following the success of last years The Straits Times Mind Your Body First Moms Congress, specialists and doctors from Thomson Medical Centre are back for another informative session, helping to guide moms-to-be through pregnancy (including the challenges of morning sickness), preparing for delivery, tips on how to optimise babys mental and physical growth, as well as a demonstration on infant massage.

Mediacorp artiste Zoe Tay, Queen of Caldecott Hill, and mom to baby Brayden, will also be present at this congress to share her experience with motherhood.

The event is organised by The Straits Times Mind Your Body in partnership with Thomson Medical Centre, the leading healthcare provider for women and children and sponsored by Abbott Nutrition. Abbott, the leader in paediatric nutrition* is the maker of Similac Follow-On for babies above 6 months, Gain for children 1 year onwards, Isomil Advance Follow-On for children who are allergic to cows milk, as well as PediaSure Complete and Grow.

The Straits Times Mind Your Body First Moms Congress 2007 starts at 1:00 pm and ends at 4:30 pm. To register and for more information, please call 62776 266. Book early to avoid disappointment.

Jo,
Personally, I feel it is a must for bb to sit in carseat since young. 1stly for safetly purpose, 2ndly, you must really train bb since young, if not they won't want to sit one.
I never go for any facial in my life b4 hahaha... Not even for future cos I believe once started, the face "bao hu cheng" will be spoil, and the face needs more and more facial treatment. If dun continue, old liao will be "liao liao". In fact, I dun apply anything, just wash with facial wash once in morning and once b4 sleep.
I definately faint if get preggie at this time!

Gemini,
Usually won't develop fever after the jab. If you scare, give some pao sheng 1 day before the jab. I dunno if this works, but I did give twice to Jolene b4. Thereafter I din bother to, and no fever even I din give. No need to go for the jab on the exact date. YOu can go anytime after the given date. If got fever b4 the jab or on its recovery, need to wait for at least 3 weeks before the jab (my doc said one). But I know some ppl waited for 1 or 2 weeks.
If really got fever, give the medicine, and paste the Kool Fever sticker on bb's forehead.

babygrace,
Wow so hiong ah! Hahaha... But today raining damn heavy at my place and I'm still at home waiting for the eclairs delivery

Vivian,
Me too... got prob with shoes. I can only be comfortable in birkenstock or track shoes. Sandals will cause my feet sole to pain (even if I wear for a few hrs), and definately no heels for me. So I went foot reflexology once a week b4 preggie. Now no time to go liao and I still have my outstanding package.

Coral,
Having bb dun make you lose your youth, it turns you mature
Not longer later, you find yourself starting to change, be it your mindset or physical appearance.
Regarding raising voice with your hb, what are the issues? Try to talk thr it. You and your hb have just promoted. Both of you need time to learn cos some stuff are new to you guys.

Selina,
Jaslyn also, in fact she turned quite early compare to Jolene. She can turn till "wai wai" like tat.
Buy 1 more cooler bag and put in office? If not set reminder in your pc or hp? Paste note on your bag?

Esther,
Go "yuan fang" lah. C-section case can start after 1 mth after delivery, even faster than normal birth.
That stupid eclair delivery still not here yet... I think I can forget about going shopping and movies liao...
Luckily I went for steamboat ynite

Esther

Thanks for sharing =)i just registered..& yupz, i agree with u, even preggie now i will still be happy =)

lucky U ! i still hav so much preggie wt left

Gemini

bingo, bb 6 months is exactly what i hav in mind, now too soon..
but if it is an accident birth, then it is fine with me

The gal who registered me is Esther ...tells me is 1st come 1st served by cheque

asked me to send in cheque, but since it is 10 buckswith coupons fr 10 jan mind ur body, that mean i have to wait till then ??

jenny

agree with u , that's y i rarely go facial =) scared once stopped liao cannot..

hmm..i yuan fang 1 month after natural birth..din noe c sec can start earlier ...

urself ?

Jo
I think what she means is to send in cheque first bah, as this is first come first serve basis,dont have to wait de lah.. scarly if you wait than they say seats fully taken up how??

Jenny
Why make yourself trouble? Just go for your movies lah, ask them send to my house loh .. i am not going out, than you can go shopping and movie leh whaahaha

Jenny
Pertaining to Yuan Fang hee hee dare not like i mention me supper kia see type.. me wait till fully recover bah hahaha..

Jo
Good question, err.. wait i call and check for you... k the girl was saying unless you wait for Jan07 issue - mind your body cut out the coupon than you can less S$5 bucks/coupon for each person otherwise w/o coupon than its S$30 for 2pax

jo
haha not say no place lah, just that they do it on the first come first serve nia..some will just wait for coupon where else some just ignore..i dont think so fast no place bah..

Jo,
Can but takes 3 days to effecgt.

Esther,
Call up Amosco to check for the delivery for few times liao, till I fedup... My hb got angry with their late delivery. Till now, we still at home... my shopping and movies bao tang le...

PIS Advanced
========
Anyone knows how much the retailing price is?

Esther,
The stupid office dun want to answer call when hb called them just now. Purposely took leave today so can go steamboat, movies and shopping in late afternoon so no need to squeeze with ppl. Now this timing go already crowded liao... sianz... The delivery man said can come only b4 5pm, we insisted 4.30pm but now still no sign of him!! Later he comes, sure kena "niao" by hb one! I'm ok with late delivery but at least call and inform us mah, make us spent whole day waiting and waiting (KNS!!!) and the lady who took order like "yao si bu si de sheng yin" !

Thanks Jenny

Mummy who ordered the eclairs, just collected from Jenny, yummy yummy the eclairs were berry delicious........

hi esther,

really har? as i'm the only one who has a sweet tooth, cant buy too much, or else if i have to finish the whole pack, my family members not v keen on sweet stuff.

jenny,
tks for your tips. office no fridge so no point get another cooler bag cos that needs to be freeze. will now put reminder in mobile to remind me. getting so so forgetful these days. still not very used to the idea of carrying the cooler bag.

jo,
Caleb is in his carseat when in the car. tho he cries when i put him in but i will still insist cos need to train him as i did not start him in the carseat during 1st mth so now harder must really insist even when he cries.

esther,
so u ladies attending? have to check wif hb see if anything planned that day. so must call to register huh?

Caleb's first wedding dinner
============================
brought Caleb to friend's wedding yesterday. his first wedding dinner. the place super cold so end up have to change him into his long sleeves. lucky i brought one otherwise dunno how. here's a pic to share.

caleb in his new gap polo romper
629395.jpg

629396.jpg

family potrait
629397.jpg

629398.jpg

surprised look
629399.jpg

Selina
You look gorgeous! Caleb eyes are so big unlike my Jovan small small eye.. Another pics of xin fu quan jia fu.. So heart warming.. You wana attend the Talk? Me haven't decide cos no kakis hahaha friends all don wana waste time cos their kids all big le.....

Hubby dont like to take photo, so its always either he take for me with baby or just baby nia

Jenny
tell you hor i finish 2packs of ECLAIRS liao ah..whahahahaha means hor i eaten 24pieces in 4hours!!!!!!!

esther,
the eclairs really so yummy huh... cant wait to receive mine tis sunday. also seeing all bbs & mummies. so exciting. will go back punggol tmr nite to prepare my hse abit to welcome all of you. my hse is mad house now cos every weekend go back so lazy to clean up. just do min. only.

must tell hb to take lah. at least must have 1 mah. try to convince him lah.

aiyoh i need to pump milk, cant post much now... will reply when i go back ofc tmrw.

Selina
Caleb sooooo HANDSOME! and his face chg liao... looks soooooooo good now. aiyoh! really feel like cuddling him!!!

i got not much quan jia fu.... muz take more liao...

SHOPPING
met up wif bbgrace brieftly at the isetan sale tdy! Wah it was a real madhse and i was rushing to the sale fr home. luckily managed to get the shoes i wanted though cant reserve when i went yesterday. bbgrace lagi best. alrdy in the queue even b4 isetan opened. sms-ed me to ask me to join her queue if i am ard. hahaha, tt time i still at home, pumping milk b4 i went out. luckily i pumped milk 1st, coz i ended up spending so much time there, my breasts threatening to explode alrdy. then i reluctantly went home. i shopped and buy until i cant lug my things back. luckily she told me got delivery svc. heng ah!!!
din manage to make it to robinsons... nvm lah, i alrdy spent more than enuff at isetan liao. gonna faint when the bill comes nxt mth.

ok gonna pump milk then sleep liao. catch up again tmrw...

crystallized,
what time did you finally leave?
actually i wasn't the early one, my mum lagi earlier than me. Think i was one of the 1st few to reach the shoe dept. Had time to stop by Loewe. Was thinking if i should get a bag to put my laptop to work. In the end did not cos i dunno when i will go back to office. haha!
Fendi got nothing nice so, save money lor.
Still, mum, sis and i managed to shop up a storm and lugged everything back. I would have gone to Robinsons and Zara if i have the time but i got a lunch date with hubby, so i got to go back.
It's nice to be out shopping so early in the morning

gemini,
Joshua took all his jabs in the polyclinic also. it's ok to reschedule cos there were a few times that he was sick on the appointment. anyway, it's ok to be late for jabs. in fact he only took his first jab at 4 mths old cos we were in France before that.

selina,
nice pix. you're looking good!

jenny,
aiyo, so frustrating to be waiting for the delivery. but it's nice weather to sleep at home.

FACIAL
Some are blessed with good skin that need not do anything. i'm those who feel that facial has improved my skin. Anyway, i'm very much influenced by my mum who takes care of her face and goes for facial. Now people think she's my older sis instead of my mum. She's the one who has been nagging at me to go for facial and apply my cream. But right now i'm lazy to apply anything before i sleep. The only thing i religiously apply is sunblock before i go out.

Wow crytallized and babygrace
Da feng Shuo hor.......how nice. Hopefully tml i get to buy something i like hee hee

Selina
Actually we have taken 1piece only but i find it not nice, ya must poloso to him to take liao..

Eclairs
I like it cos its creamy, one small bite the chocolate cream will spill out and melt in your mouth..
kao_drool.gif
Wow like real hor

crstallized, bbgrace,
looks like da feng shou for both of you hor... my retail spree recently nv buy shoes. saw nice shoes at some shops at far east plaza. will go get some soon cos need more shoes leh. shoes & bags are nv enf for me.

esther,
yah. go poloso him to take more. at least one a mth.

FACIAL
======
bbgrace, me also not blessed wif good skin. agree that facial does help make my skin looks better. i even lazy to apply sunblock when going out. but now abit vain, esp after giving birth leh. so will put makeup n always use my sunblock as base.

Selina
Same sentiment shoes, clothes and bag are nv enough..but hor in real dilemma buy le want wear to where since me gonna be SAHM hiaz..not working scare become HUANG LIAN PO *peng san* otherwise like last week :

Was at kitchen doing milk for Jovan at ard 11am+ suddenly came a salesman knocking and say :excuse me is your mum at home???????? Me look at him with big eyes and say YES HOW CAN I HELP YOU?? than he apologise and i told him off nevertheless he didnt get to earn 1Cent from me selling don know what restaurant card rubbish... 1st time in my life kana being recon as MAID

esther,
OMG!!!! actually me too. at home i super sloppy so many times those young teenagers come to sell ice-cream, they will ask me to ask mum if wanna buy... but i angry so tell them dun wan.

aspialle,
Caleb also always cannot finish his milk. wat i do is to make sure he super hungry then feed him then he can finish in 5mins. now instead of feeding him the moment he cries for milk, i will try to tahan him for another 15 - 30mins then feed him. so far it works.

also for Caleb, i try to keep him wake from 8pm to his last feed ard 10+ 11pm. then feed him when he super hungry then he will fall asleep quickly n can sleep longer. Caleb sleeps pretty little from 5pm onwards. power nap here n there but once we put him down he will wake up so i will put him down after abt an hr of carrying so at least he has sufficient sleep to last for a couple of hours.

guess u have to try different mthds cos all bbs are different. hope my experience helps.

Selina,
Wow, you look great!!! Caleb really changed liao. Not as chubby as last time but now more like a handsome young chap liao. So cute...
So envy you got so many quan jia fu...so pretti...

Jenny,
you and me really alike leh. My feet also have the same problem as yours. Haven try birkenstock coz too ex... me dun need to wait for a few hours. Less than 30mins can feel my feet burning liao. Sigh...

AUNTIE-LOOK
===========
Recently kinda feel that I really starting to look like an auntie. Dun know is it my short hair or my mental state leh... so sian... maybe this or next week must go color some hair liao.. damn sian...

CRYING RHYS
===========
Sigh... today I really cannot tahan Rhys' crying for no reason... he has been crying on and off for the whole day, in fact for these few weeks. Dun know what is he crying for. Dun know how to pacify him. So fedup and helpless that I sms my hb that I just cannot understand why other people's babies dun cry until like that while ours do. And you know what he replied me? "Coz he is OUR baby and not other people's baby." Sigh... dun know what to say. Felt so depressed lately, esp. when Rhys starts to cry. Feel like crying with him everytime. Wanted so much to treasure this 2 weeks with him coz after that, I will be starting work, but everytime he starts to cry, I just cannot take it. Sometimes, I just want to bury my head in a pillow and shut everything off. How to treasure this 2 weeks when he keep crying like that. Even the PD checked liao also say no problem. Sigh... so sad now until feel like crying...

OMG!!! i wanna to faint liao! i typed such a lonnnnnnnggggg reply then suddenly it shut off the browser 4 me w/o warning!

i am gonna hv to do it all over again....

Jo., ya, wanted milk but only suck abit then fall into deep sleep no way to force her to drink more. I'm ok if I'm preg again, though Char really makes me very tired. So far we never use any protection. BF is my only protection. But once Char reach 6mths and i still dont want to get preg then will consider protection ba.

Selina, I think I must have raised my voice without knowing it. Probably I'm just too tensed. Now putting in effort to check my tone and temper. Better becareful sionce Caleb shift so much. Charlotte alos liek this. She'll wiggle her way down the bed. Often time she's off her pillow when I turn to look at her. I astill have abt 5K cos I just renew my membership. So really must fidn time to go facial. Good that Caleb develop a better sleeping hours. Char just fell back to 2hrly feed after I start work. Prob cos she never get to suckle me in the day so making it up at nite. Caleb looks so gron up and you're stunning!

Aspialle, glad that yoru grandma is fine.

Esther, enjoy your shopping. This afternoon hb and I are getting off work early too. He's bringing me to go shopping and then a quick dinner b4 we pick Char up.

Jenny, actually no particular issue. I think I'm just tense so alway raise my voice without knowing it lor. Yes, my hb and I change our mindset. Now I got time also dont go shopping or grooming, just want to spend tiem and money on baby.

BBgrace, wow, must feel very satisfied. Me too, feel facial can help uimprove my skin.

Car Seat
=======
Started Char in it since day 1, for safety reasons and I find that she can sleep more comfortably in it, less jerky. But need some patience.

Milk supply
==========

So happy that I can express in office. manage 220ml per day. But one of the day the milk looks translucent and I call Lactation consultant to check, she say at this point my milk is matured milk liao and may look like barely water sometimes. First tiem I hear this leh. Anyone know about this??

vivian
**sayang** i cried last night too when Caleb woke up @ 3am. hb woke up when Caleb made noise but he just lied there n look forcing me to wake up. fedup so decide not to feed him. stuffed pacifier n pat him to sleep again. he still crying lots when feeding me also dunno wat to do liao.

i make a point to take one a month of when we have outings or gatherings wif friends. must lah otherwise so sayang.

i also look super duper auntie @ home. now after birth i make an effort to dress up when going out. just when to stock up on my makeup. getting more hiao liao. told myself have to otherwise pple will think i maid again.

Vivian, you also feel Ah Soh ah? Me too. Must try to dress up to feel good ba. Now that I start working, I put in more effort to dress up.

Just work for 2days and i lost 1kg.

coral,
looks like u will soon go back to pre-preg weight liao. me weight went down to 52kg but the stupid tummy still stubbornly refused to say goodbye. so now can wear tummy revealing clothes.

agree. must make an effort to dress up. it really made me feel so confident when out wif or without Caleb wif me, more so when wif him actually. i dress up also for Caleb so pple see me carrying him will say he has a presentable mummy instead of an auntie mummy

supid browser! Shut off everything I had typed! Now gotta recall wat I had juz typed. Nvm I shall not get angry as I am in a happy mood tdy. Gonna fetch R aft work and we will hv him for the nxt 4 straight days! Yay!
R is 3 mths old tdy!

Jo
How is the papaya soup? Managed to increase supply? 4 me, I do the same thing everyday. Drink a lot of water (>2 litres), hot soup and eat fish! am trying to maintain my supply for as long as possible

If u r really pregnant, then u r the 1st one here tt got preggie liao.
I dun dare to think how I wld react if I am pregnant now. The 1st one to faint gotta b my boss. Hahahaha
anyway I am not ready for #2 lah. Dun wan it to come so fast.

Jenny
Coz aft I delivered, relatives and my PILs frens etc bot DOM 4 me lor. Somemore I nvr drink at all since I am on tbfg, so dunno when I will ever finish them. Dun think I will finish even aft I deliver my #2. hahaha

U tried DOM brewed wif chix? It tastes sooooo sickeningly sweet and I hate it! But no choice had to force it down my throat when my CL brewed it. Nowadays my MIL will brew me tonics once a wk, I dun like it but still hv to drink.

Gemini
My R gg 4 his jab tmrw. Hope he dun develop fever. My mum said to let them drink pao shen wif rice water. Thereafter, use warm water to dab the area that they were injected so the area dun feel painful later. Am gg to do tt for R.

Aspialle
Ur Ted so adorable & alert!

R oso started talking in gibberish language but its music to my ears. We love to hear him talk and we will chat wif him.

Bbgrace
I was oso at isetan on Wed. it was almost like the sale day wif lotsa pple trying clothings and messy everywhere. I asked the salesgal how come cant reserve shoes. She said they used to do tt but >50% of the ppl dun collect the shoes and end up they cant sell it 1st while it oso takes up storage space. So now they dun allow anymore.

I left at 2pm yesterday. Din expect myself to spend so much time there despite recee-ing 2 times b4. luckily I pumped b4 I came out, else I cant imagine how hard my boobs will b. I went home reluctantly.

Thks 2 u. managed to arrange for delivery. Heeee else I dunno how I am gg to lug all my stuff home. Somemore rain so heavily. Luckily managed to get a cab despite the long queue. It was pretty fast.

Post this reply 1st.

coral
i saw ur posting on ur milk colour. reply this 1st. its normal. 1st few mins when i pump, the milk will b translucent. thereafter, hindmilk will come in liao. and if u noticed aft storing in chiller, the bottom layer (abt 1cm) will b translucent.

Vivian
Now tt Coral mentioned, yah Rhys really resembled u lor.
hey u really looked different each time u post ur pix. Juz like babies kept chgg their features every now and then.

Coral
Juz now I typed 1 whole chunk of things to u but cant rem everything liao. My mum always tells me not to quarrel coz of baby. So I will try to bear her words in mind coz I am v quick tempered and shot my mouth off v fast w/o thinking. So at times I will apologise to my hb when I realized I am juz too impatient. (he noes I am not one tt will say sorry so easily) I find tt it helps and the nxt time, I wun b so fast in chiding him liao. I tell myself he is oso trying to learn how to cope wif our baby so I cannot always chide him.

I am super vain one tt I will religiously go 4 facial every mth. But since I got pregnant, I dun dare to go and resumed 2 times since delivery. Now tt I hv returned to work, I try to go back once a mth like last time. Last time I will always rem the 3 basic steps of cleanse, tone & moisturize. Aft I deliver, I totally 4got abt it. Dunno why. Luckily my beautician said coz I eat well, my skin condition din deteriorate and my pores r much finer than b4. but my freckles returned wif vengeance lor. Muz take care it dun worsen. So sun block is a muz.

Selina
Now I oso v 4getful. 1 moment I tell my colleague I wanna do this, the nxt min I will ask them again wat did I juz say. They found it so amusing!

Eh u look really gd & radiant.
bao yang de hao

C looked v good oso.
so adorable

Rs thrush ah? Seemed to sometimes get better, sometimes worse. Actually I oso dun really noe wats thrush. Think its some kind of bacteria infection. To my mum, its milk residue. And she says its these residue tts preventing him fr drinking milk properly. So we gotta b more diligent to clean up everyday.

We r waiting 4 the free laptop tt starhub offered since my hb renewed the broadband pkg. Once it arrives, I will apply 4 the plan. But dun think need a high end plan coz I juz check emails and surf forum only. Anyway will let my hb decide 4 me.

Selina
I oso find it a hassle to lug so many barangs nowadays to work. I purposely bot a Harrods bag to put my stuff so I wun feel so demoralized carrying it. My hb almost fainted when I told him I bot the paper bag and even worse when I told him how much he cost. He cannot understd how come I juz cant use a normal paper bag. Then I cited reasons like raining days mah, use paper bag will pichar, while Harrods one will b more lasting. Hahaha
he gave up on me.

Talkg abt car seat, we still haven let R sit in yet. Die lah

I like the pix wif C smiling so brightly and his eyes sooooo BIG!

I agree tt shoes & bags r nvr enuff 4 me hahaha

Bbgrace
Wah u super lah, wanna buy a Loewe bag juz 2 put ur laptop????
my hb will faint immed if I tell him this.

Eh zara got sale???? But I alrdy burst my shopping budget 4 this mth at Isetan. Muz control liao.

U got v gd complexion lor. Juz need to maintain so can preserve longer. Wun age so fast. At the rate R is waking up, I will age faster than normal.

Estben
Wah the salesman dared to say tt! Wah kao. Of coz dun give him any biz lah.

Vivian
I oso hv the same sentiments as u. sometimes I feel so happy tt I got a few full days wif him. But when he ends up crying and fussing non-stop, I get v frustrated and it totally ruined my mood. Dunno how to wanna treasure the precious times when R kept fussing. V jia lat. If my MIL is ard, she will juz keep saying he is feeling unwell lah, tts y kept fussing. She repeats it so often tt now my hb is saying tt when R cries. Bbbbrrrrr

I oso dunno how to advise u since I cant ctrl my temper v well. Trying to learn and b more tolerant oso. Hopefully it will b better since I hv alrdy started work and the time wif him is even more precious.

Crystallized, that one time all my 120ml of milk was translucent so got me frightened. Must try to go back to facial soon. Will heed your Mum's advice. Think I'm too hard on hb cos I too kan cheong Char. Sometimes hb complain I only miss Char never miss him liao. And now never kiss him gdnite, etc...Think I tioo pre-occupied with my bb liao.

Selina, I'm still tipping the scale at 56kg. So 6kg to lose. But luckily I'm tall can spread the weight all over so I don't look too fat. But still can't wear most of my old clothes as my waist still at 28" need to lose 3"...

Coral
its v dangerous tt u r not using any protection. BFG is not a safe option leh. unless u dun mind getting preggie again, u shld use protection. i cant imagine hvg another baby again now. the 1st one to faint will b my boss.

but many ppl say its better to b xin ku once and for all, when we still hv the momentum. anyway i will prefer to wait for a yr b4 conceiving. somemore now its 1 person eating, but baby oso absorbing. so imagine preggie again and still on BFG? then gotta share by 3 person. hahaha...

coral
initially i was like u... pumped and its alrdy 100+ml, but milk still looks like barley water.... hahaha... but now i got used to it. i think the foremilk is proportionate to hindmilk. so dun worry. my hindmilk will b at least 1.5 times of the foremilk volume.