(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

jenny,
oic. i can now see the 2 white dots very clearly leh. still have not decided whether to bring him to see doc or not leh.
most likely will b sat cos his school dun operate on sun.
infant class diff from toddler class so if u interested to start for jolene, she might have to join toddler class. infant class parent must b in water wif bb but no need to know how to swim cos will b at shallow end. ok so i include u too. let's c how''s the response then i can talk to my BIL. my sis super anxious to bring Caleb to swim kept asking when to bring him and i told her he is all hers. she will have to decide for me...
Caleb very chiam. so young we oredi plan to train him to swim competitively next time so he's chances of going gd school is higher cos hb's pri sch close down liao. like xiao lor like planning 6-7years ahead...

Selina,
Ha, then you observe lah, usually no need to bring to PD one. During this stage, he will like to bite cos the gum is sore and itchy. Dun let him have the habit to bite ppl to comfort himself.
Oh Sat ah... then you let me know bah... Usually Sat, I not free... Cos PT Cleaner comes in the morning and usually leaves after 1pm+. I have no intention to let Jolene to learn swimming now, feels this is a dangerous stage, will wait for her to be at least 3 or 4 years old. But is it ok to bring her along and let her play in water, this gal loves water a lot! Dun think she can tahan to stay away from water while her Mei Mei is in water

By the way, Jurong Int'L Business Park there got swimming pool meh? I dun mind travelling down cos my mum stays at Pandan Gardens, hopes my time allows!

I'm not anxious to let my 2 gals to go for any enrichment classes. 1stly, I lazy. 2ndly, I wanna them to enjoy the 3 years of childhood cos they gotta go nursery when they reach 3 years old and that means study till 20 over years old... so pitiful! But I dun mind letting them go swim and dancing, cos Jolene loves it! Recently I sensed Jolene very lonely at home... Thinking if need to sign her for some playgroups, so she will have some companions with play with...

Littlekid,
Do you know of any weekend playgroup at Sembawang or Yishun? I've brought Jolene to MyGym and she loves there. If there isn't, perhaps I just sign her up at MyGym, but gosh, charges is ex!

jenny,
ok. i will observe him further then.
i think for swimming, must expose them as early as possible cos at tis stage they learn very fast. dun think it is dangerous to learn right now. think more dangerous not to learn now cos she loves water.
my niece 2.5 loves water & many times got herself in the pool even b4 we can catch her. lucky she learnt something fr sis & BIL n hence managed to stay afloat. me strongly advocate start kids on swimming early.
the pool at The Atrium where the fitness centre is.
of course she can play when mei mei swim.
no lah not enrichment class for Caleb but more just swimming. but again will depend on his interest too. i believe in exposing them n let them choose wat they like. without exposing, they will nv know if they will like it or not.

Selina,
Hmm you are right too. Haiz... but now timing very tight for me. The last time I brought her to swimming pool was like 7 mths ago when we went Rasa Sentosa. See how lah, wait till I go back to work, and see how my schedule. You have any idea how much is the course fees for toddler? Aiyo si bei siong ah, everything also need $. The class at MyGym cost $300++ for just 8 lessons! Still considering...

Selina,
Ask you ah, you said you wear tube inside when you bf outside, is it easy (still got wear bra)? I'm thinking if necessary to buy 1 or 2 nursing wear.
Nursing wear hot or not ah? Like so many layers.

jenny,
agree. everything also must $$$$. i ask for you. but jus note BIL's school dun teach the normal survivor swimming like other places got bronze, silver, gold etc. BIL's school follows aussie learn to swim programme.
my nephew also attends gym class when young n he loves it. now he progresses so fast that SkyGym @ turf city cannot accommodate him cos their equipment too ez for him liao. he went for his first lesson at bishan sports complex trained by china coach yesterday n he loves it. gym is good to train their motor skills.

jenny,
no need to buy nursing wear. it suddenly occur to me that can just wear a tube inside whatever you wearing. the point is to have something to cover tummy area when we pull up the piece outside.
i dun wear bra. i learn from coral. sick breastpad to the tube.
nursing wear not hot lah. of course also depend on material n cut lor. depending on design, must choose carefully.

jenny,
very ez. imagine pulling up your outer top, pull down your tube, can bf liao... best thing tummy not exposed. i'm doing that now so i wont b seen wearing the same old nursing top day in day out. boring lor. not like they are very affordable somemore.

Selina,
Children $ very easy to earn hor. We the poor parents.
Aiya, me not very particular one lah, can learn swimming can liao, no need wat bronze, silver, gold. The purpose is to learn swimming, no need other stuff lah. Dun want my kids like me dunno how to swim.
I'm totally clueless with where got classes for kids. Only know MyGym at Woodsland Civil Centre. Other than that dunno liao. Went Growing Up Gifted, but dun like the staff and place. Like very "high class" place like tat. The parents there dun smile, all look so "tao"

jenny,
my turn to ask u something. u think it is advisable for me to get mdm naini for massage now? i didnt do it earlier but now thought of doing it leh. first for relaxation, 2nd to see if she can help me bring down my tummy further... see the stupid tummy very sad. every other part of my body almost back to norm except the damn tummy... sick...

stick breast pad on the tube? then when you pull down the tube, the pad also lah. Somehow I feel the breast pad not very sticky leh. Ha, sometimes I go out w/o the breast pad.
Was looking at MIM website, and saw some nursing top, thinking if wanna buy 1 or 2 pcs. Cos I intend to buy new clothings to get ready for work in less than 3 weeks time. By the way, I latch on Jaslyn once a day cos one day, I suddenly bo liao, tried to latch her and she knows how to latch on.

Selina,
If you ask me, I sure advise. I heard from Wendy you didn't do after you gave birth. We were chatting and both of us shared the same mind that you should do it even you have slimmed down. For me, slimming down is the exterior look. We dunno how our inner parts are.
Why dun you call Naini for her advise?

at first i also have the same thinking as u but when i tried sticking the breastpad to my clothes, i was surprised they stay. yes, pull the tube down together wif the breastpad (still stuck on the tube), u can also fold the tube down to prevent the breastpad from falling off.

i find MIM nursing wear is the cheapest by far tho' design not that fantastic lah. but give n take lah.

gd lah so she actually knows how to latch...

yah. i didnt do that time cos first my doc advised against, 2ndly i dun have anyone to help me tend to Caleb while i having my massage... i really wanted to do but too bad lor. no one to help.

i admit i'm doing it now mainly for exterior cos i dun wanna waste $$ to change wardrobe cos will definitely be more x then massage which i can still relax. ok i will call madm naini can ask her.

so u going back to work this month or next. me should officially back on 26 Dec... very sian but luckily i can work fr home so not so bad lah...

Ha, the rest busy bah. Me can chat cos Jolene watching her Hi 5. Dunno what's so great with this show, chey... Anyway dun bother me can liao hahaha...

Ha, I'm thinking the breastpad pasted on the tube, and when I pull down the tube, will the pad drops. Actually I dun wear bra to sleep at nite, so I just paste the pad against the shirt. Anyway hor, I din use breast pad at home liao. Only use when I go out for long hrs. But hor, got difficulties to adjust back the tube with the pad?

Ya, am looking at some websites now, MIM one is the cheapest so far. Design simple lah. Anyway ok lah, I only need to wear on weekends mah. I'm thinking if I should bf Jaslyn when out shopping. So far, I only latch at home or at mum and aunt's place and I can only latch her on my left breast. Not "shun" for my right breast yet. So far, I have been bringing out FM when I go shopping. Sometimes, I bring EMB with my warmer.

I'm going back to work on 26 Dec also... thinking if wanna take leave and wait till next mth. I very scare now leh, a lot of work waiting for me liao

ha ha... looks like Hi5 is the show for all children. agree... dunno what so nice abt it...

initially yes but after u r used to it, it is ez. sometimes the pad will be "y y" but can adjust later lor.

MIM will have lelong ones too which are much much cheaper. u can consider too.

me actually oredi starting to do some work now liao.

Ya lor, cos sometimes I feel the pad "y y" after I bf lor. Ok, now where got cheap tubes? I have 1 pc only.

Ya, I saw a few pcs got lelong, but online view is nice, real thing dunno nice or not. Some more showroom only open on Tue to Thur PM. 16 Dec is opened but my nephew 1 year old party leh.

I wish I can clear my work at home, but can't lor. I can't bring my work home due to sensitive.

Ha... today more eng, cos no need to cook dinner... hb said tabao yeap!

I also wanna bring my boy swimming. When is the right time?

Ok lah, to be fair to my hubby, @ least he's trying harder now. Cant blame him, he doesn't hav much maternal instinct.

Hi selina,
My boy is like yours. Will start to fuss when the car stops but will sleep soundly while the car is moving.

freshpoiosn77

saw ur msg but din understand keh " Got back 85% of my tummy @ the end of the massage though my weight din go dwn much.

PS: i also starting work on 26 dec !

crystallized,
i always wake up early every day cos Joshua wakes up early.

Selina / Jenny,
You can get padded tube bras from Mums R us at United Sq. I always wear tube bra with babydoll spag tops. It's a lot easier than undoing the clip of the nursing bra.

I sent Joshua for swim class at Marsden (at Holland Rd) for a term. The objective of a swim class for bb / toddlers is to teach them water safety and water confidence. They probably can't learn much swim strokes at that stage.
i picked up some useful tips during the class and despite his young age, J knows how to turn around and grab the side of the pool if you let go of him. But i didn't continue his lessons after 1 term cos i was busy shifting house and was pregnant.

wah lao, today damn angry! So angry until my brain suddenly went blank just now. argh...

Bear with me, just want to get it all out...
I will be going back to work next monday and since it is marking week, I suppose that I can finish all my marks by monday and submit. But 2 days ago was told by my colleague that the marks have to be submitted by this thursday.
However, my students files which are required for my marking are in the school server which went DOWN this few days. There is no way I can complete the marking without the files. Plus I got to get the other part of the marks from a part time staff whom took over my class after I went on maternity leave, combine and analyse the overall marks.
She told me she will email me her marks on monday but until today then received.

The angry part is that my colleague told me the part time staff went telling EVERYONE in the office that I can only deliver the marks on monday coz I am on maternity leave. Then another colleague of mine who also gave birth 6 mths ago (she came back from maternity leave when I gave birth), said, "aiyo, how can she (me) like that. Last time I on maternity leave also finish all my marks on time." Then another guy colleague heard and said, "ya lor, cannot. MUST submit on thurs."

WAH LAO, they are not in my shoes, how can they say this kind of thing! My laptop crash on me 2 weeks before and ALL my data ALL GONE. I have to re-mark everything. And I never insist that I can only deliver by monday. I told them I try my very best to complete my marks on thurs, but if I really cannot get my students file, latest I can complete by monday.

That colleague of mine who just gave birth should be the person who can understand more that I have to take care of bb at the same time! How can she say this kind of thing! When she on maternity leave, ALL her marks were given to another staff to complete! She where got finish her work on time!! I even help to tell my boss not to load her too much when she coming back from maternity leave. Now "en jiang chou bao"!!!! Ahhhh....

Luckily my colleague went to tell my new boss who is very understanding and he send an email to me, the part time staff telling us that I can submit the marks on monday.

I really appreciate his help but I am not going to swallow this shit man. The fact that I keep thinking of what that woman say, I am going to die die complete everything by thursday and send them the marks on 2am thursday, cc the email to the whole dept to inform them that I COMPLETE EVERYTHING ON TIME!!!! Argh... @$#%@$!@

jenny
why dont u wait till Jaslyn outgrown the carseat then sell away since this one is quite light and portable? plus selling it now or few months later also going to make a loss.

actually i'm looking at the red colour packaging one cos that one i calculated is less than 17cent/pcs. intend to get it when send my bb to infant centre. but since u hv samples for the other one, i also dont mind trying. will sms u my address. u give me your acc # and i TT the money to u, ok?

vivian
cool down.... some pp are like that one, although they might hv experienced the same thing, they somehow forget abt it totally after that. what to do, just be careful of such pp lor.

HB taking care of bb
====================
yesterday i post the qn to hb and he said ok wo, let me hv a day free. i must say so far he has been helping me alot, esp the nite feeding. he will wake up to help carry the bb and pacify him while i prepare the milk. he'll go back to sleep once i take over the bb to feed him. when i need to pump, he'll feed the bb. weekends he'll bathe the bb and weekday nite when he comes back fr work he'll clean bb up. so far i'm the one get everything ready for him to do the job. if he does everything, it'll be very slow lor. also, if my boi is cranky, hb can't pacify him. only i carry him then he'll stop crying.

coolcoolmum,
The carrier is light but when Jaslyn is inside, I can't carry wor, very heavy. Oh, I will sell away when I decide when to buy the new car. My agent keeps telling me dun sell dun sell... ask me wait another year, but I told him I need to install 2 carseats + me sitting behind while hb drives... Now, no problem with the infant carseat and the convertible carseat. But when I put 2 convertible together, there won't be much space for me to sit liao. Jaslyn too young to be seated at the back alone. Will sell off either when the new car comes or once Jaslyn outgrown the length. She now just nice leh. I doubt she can sits till 6 mths old like my colleague's son.

jenny
sms u my add liao.

huh? how heavy is Jaslyn now? actually when i carry my bb with the carseat i also find it abit heavy but still managable. hee hee...hb is always the one doing the job and he says still ok wo. i also think my boi will outgrow it in max 3mths time. is your agent telling u to reserve it for him??

jenny,
what about putting Jolene in front while u sit with Jaslyn behind? if u are worried about the airbag, it's ok to put a toddler's child seat in the front so long as it's not those rear facing ones. if not, can deactivate the airbag in the front seat like what i used to do.

HB n BB
-------------------
Think I am not one of the lucky ones who can trust hubby with bb. Really envy some of u who's hubby can bath ur bbs. I just wish hubby can see bb bath every sunday. But than no choice cos he is the one bringing in the bread.
Hubby only care for bb when I bath and I still have to prepare everything ready and make sure bb is well fed. Every single step have to tell him if bb cry do this else do that.
Then when I bath sometimes can hear my bb crying until I come out and take over. Hubby can also be entertaining bb until he is the one asleep on the bed.
Yesterday his friend(bb born in Nov) call n complain about his wife. Saying she doesn't wake even when bb cries at night for 45 mins. So he was very proud when he tells his friend I am the one to attend to our bb at night.

Just asked my friend regrding the infant flight fares and she told me SIA doesn't charge for infants....hmmmm
Guess I will check again next year when I book for my holiday.

Really can't stand my FIL. When we went over on Monday, he again ask me how many times my bb feed at night. Than will say huh still drinking 2 times ah. I always ask hubby he not bored ah keep asking the same thing. I ans also sian liao.
Then he tell me. "I think hor 4 months can stop liao". Wah me was so shocked I didn't ans him. Luckily my mil say let him stop on his own lah.

freshpoison77
Think my hubby like urs always doesn't know how to carry his own son well. He carries is totally lying flat which my son hates so will keep fussing.

BTW I saw the nursing tops from motherhood.com looks very nice n seems quite affordable too. I bought 1 off a sept mum cos she can't fit. So now so happy wearing an "S" size.hahaha
If many r interested maybe we can do a spree too.

Agree MIM nursing tops not very nice n ex too. So I see so many times endup still dun buy.

Selina
Wearing tube inside ahh...so clever.

wei kuan,
think u got the wrong person. vivian is the one angry wif her collg.

vivian,
cool it dear... just do your part n so long as your conscience is clear, who cares.

jenny,
me quite interested in the handsfree leh. u got pic?

bbgrace,
u r right. for bb & toddler the aim is to instill confidence in swimming n to let them get used to water. what we do (last time when i coaching) is to play water with the bb. and yes, most bbs can go underwater wif eyes wide open easily but they will lose this skill if not made to do it as early as possible cos in our womb, their eyes are open mah.

freshpoison,
best to start at 6mths if swim in normal pool but if swim in heated pool, then can start at 3mths. reason being they still cannot regulate their body temp well at too young age. by 6mths bbs can regulate their body temp better.

doreen,
tks for your pm. checking wif joon if can try first. that's the fear from buying online cos scared cannot wear when it arrives.

selina,
sorry, type wrongly.

Vivian,
cool down. some pp are like that becos their confinement over already.

Jenny,
My mother also stay at Pandan Garden, mine is opp the Pandan reservoir and beside the previous River Valley High School. I go to Pandan Gdn every weekend.
I thinking of driving alone and place rui-e at the back seat in the car seat, but very scare baby cry.

so far only try hubby drive and baby and me at the back seat. she will cry when traffic light is red or car stop for too long.
Like that very jia lat, have to take cab to work if hubby sometime cannot drive me to work.
When I am pregant, I drive till the day I delivered. Like today I drive, tomorrow night I give birth liao. Now almost 3mths not driving.sign...
really no freedom with a baby. mummy have to give up a lot of things.

wei kuan,
me not allowed to drive when alone with Caleb cos everyone at home scared i get distracted when he cries. i also scared so at the moment, only drove when i have another person wif me in the car.

Mummies whom are on TBFG
hv ur menses arrived? tdy i was so shocked to find tt i am spotting, seems like a prelude to my usual menses. need to monitor if the real mense will come. my lochia has cleared and i alrdy did pap smear a few wks back. results came back ok. so i am v puzzled why my menses is coming since i noe tt it shldnt come as long as i am on tbfg. anyone in the same spot as me? i called the nurse in the clinic, she dismissed it, saying its normal. if my spotting continues, i will call again.

Hi Jo,
Imeant my tummy was 85% back to notmal aft the massage by mdm naini. Now it's abt 95% back to notmal but my weight did not decrease much. So far still hav abt 8kg left.

Hi crystallised,
I got my menses last week but lasted only abt 3days. No cramps at all.

Hi wei kuan,
I drove till the day I gave birth. I actually drove myself to the hosp aft dropping my hubby off @ work.

Hi vivian,
Cool dwn, no point getting angry. relax!

Jo
oh so the same thing happened to u ah... thot i was the freak man. i quickly sms-ed bbgrace and seek her opinion...

but was it spotting or menses? i called clinic and nurse said spotting is ok. spotting is not the same as menses rite?

coolmum
not sure leh. guess if spotting continues and ends up as menses, will call gynae liao.

selina,
thanks for the headsup on nike sale. hubby says he's gonna take leave to go on the fri if his schedule permits.

doreen,
i flew SIA to France with my 3 month old. There is a charge for infants. When i went to HK, i also checked SIA, confirm got charge.

Slowly get your hubby more involved with caring for bb. Don't worry too much when u leave bb with him when you bathe. Just let him find his own way to soothe the bb. He'll have a sense of achievement if he finds that he can do all these on his own. just because he's bringing in the bread doesn't mean that you have to look after bb all by yourself. it's good to let bb bond with daddy also when he looks after him.

crystallized,
let me know the outcome if you call gynae.