(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

I just called up kidsmall & kiddy palace cck

no wonder i never ever see an avent thermal bag b4..kiddy palce dun carry while kidsmall has no stock for sme time liao..

PS: kidsmall at suntec closed down liao

jenny
u r not a bad mummy lar, u r just too tired. just try to rest more and u'll feel better. now that i hv to do nite feeding, sometimes when it comes to morning i see him wide awake i'll feel frustrated also. That day when my bb refused to suckle, I throw him onto the bed and said I dont want him liao then he started crying with tears. Immediately I felt so bad and sorry. After this incident I just tell myself to enjoy every moment with him cos he is so innocent.

just curious what u mean by stretching the hrs? do u mean when jaslyn cries at night, u just give her the pacifier? my boi is still feeding on 2-3hr interval. Last nite one of the feeds was 4hr but the one after that went back to 2hr. ;(

wei kuan, what do u mean by I have to be "ren xin" to let her cry for two nights and she no longer wake up for night feed.?? When she cried for milk in the middle of the nite, u just let her be??

diapers
=======
NTUC one leaked twiced liao! got once it wet the mattress some more but funni thing is that my boy still slept thru it!

i hv just got a pack of sealer diapers to try cos it is slightly cheaper than nepia, but the indicator not as good leh. still find nepia the best cos the indicator v clear and accurate. got smell meh? how come i dont smell anything. my boi is wearing S now but still hv alot of room for him to grow. advice to mummies going to try on nepia, the cutting is bigger than other brands. may try mammy pokko next, if it is cheaper....hee hee

nepia contact no: 6226 2650

Need advice on latching on
==========================
i'm too tired of pumping liao, so decided to latch bb more often and surprising my boi still willing to latch on after stopping for 2 weeks.

1. how to tell if he had enough? Sometimes he suckles on both breasts and still awake while sometimes he suckled on one breast and fell asleep.

2. need to burp him even latching on? when to burp him? stop half way or after he stops suckling?

3. do u massage your breast when bb's suckling?

BB staying awake
============
Just curious how many hrs does your bb sleep? Noticed my boi starting to stay awake longer and longer. After his feed at 7-8am hell usually be awake till noon and asking for pp to carry him. Hell sleep for 3hr then stay awake and asked to be carried again till 8-9pm. So in total he sleeps only 12hr per day.

In-laws dont agree to send bb to infant centre!
================================
Today my in-laws insisted on taking care of bb themselves instead of sending to infant centre! Both hb and I think that they enjoy carrying and playing with him too much but failed to realize that taking care of him is a different issue. Told them not easy to take care of bb and do household chores at the same time since they refused to get a maid to help out. So far they dont even know what the bb wants when he cries, keep saying he wants to eat liao if already 2hr from the previous feed!! Told them bb now feeding on 3hr interval but they still insist on 2hr must feed liao!!!
my MIL still dont dare to burp him, dont know how is she going to bathe him. Sign..hb agreed to let them try for 2 months, hopping that they will give up after trying.

hi jo
i got my avent thermal bag from kiddy palace jurong point during the GSS.
you may want to try the bigger branch.
john little also got sell.

Hi Selina,
The socks are cool. If you are bringing in from Aust, can I 'tong pang' 1 box too? hee...

Hi Weikuan,
Wah, salute you... taking care of rui-en alone ah... pei fu... I cannot even imagine taking care of Rhys alone. SALUTE!!

Hi Coral,
the Gina Ford book has schedules that you can follow. For example, what time nap, what time feed etc. If you follow the schedule, the bb should be able to sleep thru the nite and be a contented bb. That is what she claim lah. It is a bit restrictive actually. The book also explains why feed-on-demand might not be the best way too. A bit complicated but very interesting. You might want to read and think abt it.

Too bad, I am not latching liao.

MY COW-ING DAYS ARE ALMOST OVER
-------------------------------
Sigh, my BM supply recently really drops a lot.
After that food poisoning episode, think my breast also tired liao.
Esp. now Rhys is drinking much more.
Sigh, now he can only drink 3 to 4 EBM feeds. The rest got to feed FM liao.
Maybe I also lazy lah... at one pt, so tired and wanted to stop my pumping, and at the same time, wanted to persist and keep pumping BM for Rhys...
Really confused...
Think all these also affect my supply.
How har girls?? No motivation leh...

Vivian

haha, cowing is the word ...i also feels like a cow myself...even compose the prose in my blog using Maternity Leave to start the sentences ; )

Maternity leave is not as wonderful as I imagined
A milking cow I have become
That is my occupation these days
Everyday my nipples are tortured by the pump
Releasing milk into the bottles
Noting here that cows are indeed very poor creatures
I understand, cos I have lived their life ; )
Total breasfeeding I am doing
Yearning to give my child the best

Letting the electric pump squeeze my nipples
Extemely painful process it is
All for the sake of ensuring a steady supply of milk
Very happy I am when I see the bottles of milk I produced in the fridge
Ensuring that my child has enough milk to last her when I am away ; )

phoebe

thanks ! =) i will go jurong pt...nearer..

coolcoolmum

exactly what i did.."threw" her into the cot & said mummy dun wan u liao...; ) i also feel guilty after that

cocoolmum,
i let her cry and give water instead of milk and she went back to sleep, 1hr cry again, I pat pat her, she sleep again and the hrs just strech to morning. think the third nite she sian liao, no milk and choose not to wake up at nite. my friend ask me to train her like that.

I also feel guilty when rui-en did not finish the EBM, i will scold her and ask her to finish or mummy don't want u. vert xin ku to pump out and she did not finish, waste my milk.

thks storm and coolmum for Nepia no. Will call next week to order as I still have not finish what I bought during preggy. one more pack left

coral,
if u bring baby out the whole day, then at night did u have enough sleep? will ur girl wake up at nite?

vivian,
no choice have to take care of her alone as nobody can help. MIL already taking care 2 of my SIL baby and mother taking care of my baby niece.if I have second baby, must ask help cos I cannot take care of two and I also do not want my children to have big gap.2yrs max

Hi Jo,
you are really good with the words man...putting them into prose...

my boy also one kind like urs... cries nonstop until we put pacifier in... but once pacifier drops out, he cries agn... so our nites are spent putting bk his pacifier.....
He wakes up once every nite now... wondering when will he stop nite feed. cos i will have to cut short my maternity leave...at first thought that i can start work in new year, (mathias is born on 30 sep) but then cos boss got no temp, so has already got me to work fr home. rather sianz cos still got lotsa things to do at home n cant bear to leave boi at home..

=(

last time I only steam milk bottles once a day, but now I already stop sterlise milk bottles one week ago. I just wash w tap water and put some hot water in the bottle. so far ok cos I want my baby to build up immuce sysytem. my mum taught me that.

Gemini, I think my gal needs security, that's why when she see me she knows she's being taken care of as I tell her everyday that Mummy and Daddy are here to protect and care for her. But this also create trouble for me as I need to be beside her even when she's asleep cos if she doesn't see me when she wakes she'll cry non-stop and can only be pacified when I latch her on.
My red dots on body still remain the same. they won't go away. Straight after delivery my face also filled with these red dots, but luckily they went away after a week. My hb looked at me in horror after delivery, he said my face suddenly filled with red dots after bb came out...
I snapped a few times too. Last nite my gal refused to sleep after my Mum played too much with her during daytime. So I use hand and slap her buttock twice, I felt guilty. But everyday I sleep nly 3hrs and she even deprive me of that 3hrs...No choicce, when she smile at me my herat melts so just got to tahan.

Nepia is available in NTUC. That's what my fren said, she bought a M size pack for me. I've got too much NB and S diapers already, so now using them day and nite to hope to finish them...

Huijun, I went out with bb alone a few times for short period. As for the full day it was with hb. Like you I take care of bb alone. That's why I feel confident to bring her out alone too since I'm already used to handling her myself. We tried using water to deceive my gal many times but she'll suck and realise it's not milk and use her tongue to push bottle out and cry even louder. So far nobody manage to pat my hungry gal to sleep. She'll cry till she gets her milk. Even if it means crying non-stop for an hour. At least I give in after an hour, if I don't I think she'll just continue to cry. She's as stubborn as me...so I can't do away with her nite feed...

Selina, still have slot as of now. I'll be sending in my application form and check tomorrow hopefully can still secure a place.

Jo., yes, I walk as I feed. Sometimes just before going out she wants to be fed so I'll also walk and feed her from home to carpark, even in clinic/hospital while waiting for our turn. No choice I got to learn to feed on the pot cos my gal is the kind to cry the whole house down if she doesn't get her milk. Just like me, I still can't tolerate hunger, at this age I still cry if I dont get food when I'm hungry. So I can't blame her.

Coolcoolmum
============
1. how to tell if he had enough? Sometimes he suckles on both breasts and still awake while sometimes he suckled on one breast and fell asleep.
Well, just have totry your best to keep him awake and interested to feed...Can't really tell how much they drink so judge by output on whether enuf.

2. need to burp him even latching on? when to burp him? stop half way or after he stops suckling?
Yes, need to burp. I usually try to burp when bb fell asleep. So that she'll get awake then I feed her again. The burp again when she starts to drift off.

3. do u massage your breast when bb's suckling?
I try to massage if I'm not pumping. But as I usually pump I don't masssage anymore. But I heard massage is good it'll help with flow.

Vivian,hmm...I think difficult. Still can't disciplne my gal yet.

Huijun, bringing my gal out does not affect her sleep pattern at nite so it's fine. (She sleep well when we go out.) I only sleep btw 3-4hrs on good nites. On bad nite, I stay awake the whole nite. I think chick essenc does wonders, cos I don't feel tired with so little sleep. But I'm worry for my complexion and body...I steam bottle after every pump. Maybe I should start with alternate pump steaming and start to let her get use to it...

Carol, at least your boi takes pacifier. Mine won't. Tried using hand to stick it in her mouth but she just refuse everytime. After tryign for 1 month think I'm giving up on pacifier liao.

Jo
u really gd in making poems hehe i bought my thermal bag in jurong pt too, u live near there? i live in boon lay

vivian
recently i also stretch hrs to pump , instead of waking up at 3am, now i pump before sleep ard 10pm, then wake up ard 4 or 5am to pump, my boy will still cry for me to latch him on at least twice a day, his tongue is cleaner with EBM, its like rinsing his mouth, realised FM a lot of bubbles than EBM in bottle.bb tend to be more colicky as they suck in a lot of air, 2 days ago, my boy keeps crying...realised its the wind FM caused so i try to cut down FM best i can

coral,
my girl also do not want pacifier.
u do not feel tire becos u got really "bu" during confinement.that what my mum told me cos I do not feel tire from after Cl go.

my CL left yesterday...its on our own liao...
luckily i no longer need to drink DOM..finished 3 bottles when she is here. My CL discourage me frm using pacifier, she says bb get used to it easily and it will affect the growth of teeth and shape of gums, so i dun dare to use it, i gave away all the pacifiers liao

Jo,
If I'm not wrong the price for the avent thermal bag is fixed. I think I saw the same price at TMC Pharmacy.

coolcoolmum,
Stretch the hrs for feeding, either you give water or pacifier. Wait till bb really cannot tahan then give milk. Slowly will wean off nite feeding one. Start off with daytime first. If the daytime feeding interval is 2-3 hrs, you need to stretch to 3 to 4hrs first. Then slowly stretch the nite from 3-4hrs to 4-5hrs, then slowly 5-6 hrs.
Dunno leh, I find Nepia diaper gives off urine smell, so I stop using. Perhaps is ok with small bbs with little urine. For toddler with lots of urine like my gal hor, if use nepia, after a while, the diaper will sag and look very ugly one. So am using mamy poko and pampers premium for her. These 2 especially mamy poko won't have the sagging look. I'm trying sealer next for my elder gal. Oh yes, Huggies Ultra Dry Comfort is very good too. It is a mixture of Nepia and Pampers Premium, but can only be bought from Takashimaya, Cold Storage.
I dun monitor the hrs that my bb is awake. But generally, a 1 mth old bb should sleep about 16 hrs.

Vivian,
Do what your heart tells you. If you wanna stop pumping, then stop slowly. Me too, getting tired, think going to stop when I return to work next mth. Dun think got time for me to pump cos my boss just promoted to director and office colleagues keep calling me to update... like a lot of work.

wei kuan,
Actually hor, after washing with tap water, then rinse with hot water is more than enough. At home, I only wash with tap water, din even rinse with hot water. Recently, a report shows that steriliser is actually a want rather than a need in SG. No sterilise also ok one.

Coral,
You may like to know Nepia M Size cutting is big. So no hurry. By the way, NTUC only sells Nepia M size and above. They dun sell NB or S size. For NB or S size, you need to buy from Isetan, Seiyu or order from Nepia Company directly. Note Isetan, Seiyu these Japanese Shopping Malls are selling at higher price.

Just a survey
do u all use diapers during daytime as well?
anyone using cloth napkins?

im using cloth napkins on daytime and diapers in nite time...it saves $$ but have to wash lor..esp rainy days...very hard to dry

aspialle,
Me on 100% diapers for both gals. Save time and much more convenient, though is ex. But I feel water and electricity is not cheap, plus time for washing napkins even more ex.

aspialle, at first i used napkin for day then realised I got too much diapers so need to use day and nite to finish them...

jenny, I c. So I can feel less guilty if I don sterilise.

coral,
No need to feel guilty lah. When we were young, where got such thing called steriliser in our mother's time? And we all grow up healthy.
My views is the same as Wei Kuan, we have to build up bb's immune system. If we keep on sterilising, what are we going to do when we are outside w/o steriliser? And also, the utensils outside that our kids will be using soon in another 1 to 2 years time, these utensils are not sterilised also ah.

Agree with you both (jen & WK. Will start to "train" my gal's immune system.

Also will try to stretch feeding time. Silly me, never tot of that. At first was feeling so guilty when my gal's feeding time stretched, so end up aking her to feed. Prob when feeding time stretch, they'll feed more each time.

coral,
No need to feel guilty lah. When we were young, where got such thing called steriliser in our mother's time? And we all grow up healthy.
My views is the same as Wei Kuan, we have to build up bb's immune system. If we keep on sterilising, what are we going to do when we are outside w/o steriliser? And also, the utensils outside that our kids will be using soon in another 1 to 2 years time, these utensils are not sterilised also ah.

coral,

i do agree about bb being dependant on pacifiers.
He cant shleep on his own without it now...

I will definitely hope that he can sleep on his own, with no tapping, no cradling, no cuddliung n no pacifier..
but this jus seem impossible.

coral,

wah jenny u got so many repeated posting, can sense ur great sincerity in asking coral not to feel guilty, hehehe just joking :p

Which brand is cheap and good?
Have u used carrefour in hse brand? Heard its gd

i also feel that washing napkin wasting detergent, time and water at times.
however my in law always drop by...she dun like people to use diapers, she feels its waste of $$, she even calculate for you how much you are throwing away for per piece.The first ting she comes and sees bb is whether im using cloth napkins lor.

aspialle,
I think the forum got some problem just now. I only posted once nia haha...
Carrefour din try before. My bro used to ask me to use napkins. I calculated and show him. The time spent in washing, hanging and folding the napkins cannot use $ to buy back one.
You are looking for cheap and good daytime use diaper is it? Cos hor, for nite use hor, I will highly recommend Mamy Poko or Pampers Premium. Those good range one lor. Cos hor, nite time will use the diaper for a longer period compare to daytime. So you must use one that absorbs good and the material is good for bb skin, if not, rashes will develop.
For daytime, a lot of ppl using Pet Pet and EQ. I'm using Pet Pet now, but cos the inner is green in color, if the urine is little, can't really tell if there's urine or not. I find the old version Pet Pet is much better, dun really like this new range one (cos can't tell if got urine or not leh when it is not full), so won't be buying liao.
For diaper, it is really trial and error. This brand may suit Baby A but may not suit Baby B. So, is better you get hold of few pcs to try before buying the whole pack. Just like some ppl said Drypers very good and cheap, but some ppl like me blacklisted it cos it never fails to leak.
I'm buying Sealer to try on No. 2, if ok with her, I stick on to Sealer liao. Perhaps will buy EQ to try on her too. I tried EQ on my No. 1 before, quite ok, just that I'm those type who prefers velco tape to sticker tape.

Carol,
My 2nd bb hor, spoiled by the CL... she carried and patted her to sleep. Now, I have to pat her to sleep. My elder gal, I no need to pat one. Just give her pacifier to suck, off lights and she will sleep within 5 mins time last time.
I give in to pacifier though I dun like the idea. But this is the only way to stop her cryings and kena wind by sucking in during the cries lor.

Diaper
======
Received Pureen as gift so use it for day time. Quite ok, can last4-5hrs w/o leak also very cheap. S size, 66 pieces for $11+. But I don like the sticker tape cos not as soft as the velcor type on Mamy poko and Pampers.

Aspialle, your inlaw so strict ah? Actually I do feel bad abt using diaper, cos the elastic band cause marks on my gal's thigh.But hor, don't use also waste leh since I got so much diapers as gift.

Jenny, after reading your posting hor, I let my gal continue to sleep. It's been 4hrs liao. She never ask for milk I also never wake her up.

Vivian,
Forgot to mention, since 2 weeks ago, I have stretched my pumping to 5 to 6 hrs once (before that was 3-4 hrs). So now, I only pump 4 times per day.
My schedule: 6am, 11am, 4pm, 9pm. Enough for my gal daytime feeding.
After I stretch the pumping hrs to 5-6 hrs, going out has been a breeze

I'm thinking if wanna cut down one more session. That means I pump 3 times per day.

coral,
I find Pureen is ok for babies, but not toddler. haha... maybe when all your babies grow up, you gals will know what I mean. When the diaper is fulled, it will sag lor when the toddler starts walking/crawling.
Good ah, then you have 4 hrs of resting!
But hor, remember hor, if say less than 4 hrs and bb is hungry, just give her milk. Especially when is raining day or she has just poo. Sure get hungry faster one.

coral,
just saw you said there's marks on your gal's thigh. If thats the case, you may have to upgrade the size liao. But if the size looks ok, that particular brand of diaper may not suit Charlotte.

** Haiz... while typing this post, keep hearing my elder one calling her mei mei "baby... baby..."

coral,
I think hor, in the intially period, if keep pumping or latch on, the milk flow will slowly increase lor. I realised my milk flow increased when I was still pumping 3-4hrsly interval. So, I decided to cut down the session to 4. My colleagues told me to pump on schedule, so that the brain knows when we need milk. So, I work out my schedule that suits my work as 6am (wake up), 11am (before lunch), 4pm (before heading home) and 9pm (before sleep). Usually the 6am quantity will be quite a lot cos overnite din pump mah.
I'm ok with the amt I pump out. I know if I pump more sessions, Jaslyn will be on total EBM. But I think I need more rest too. Good rest helps to increase BM too. By the way, now hor, I only pump for 5 mins, max 10 mins.
Just drink more hot milo or any hot drinks. I realised hor, when I drink milo hor, I will produce more BM leh. I also got drink kopi-o haha... so Jaslyn also got to taste kopi-o kekeke...

aspialle
i'm using nappy during the day and diapers at night. find that since i hv to change bb's clothes often daily, so the nappy can help to make washing daily more worth while.

jenny/wai kuan
thanks for the advice. wah, think i still hv a long way to go if i want to train my bb to sleep thru the nite. i'm still trying to train him to drink water and latching on. just curious, when I stretch the timing, do I hv to increase the amount of milk per feed or base on his demand?

coral
so envy that you can bring bb out whole day. we tried bring him out twice for half day and found that his system seemed to hv gone upside down after that.

coolcoolmum,
You observe how much your bb drinks now. Does he have enough or he still sucks to get more milk even though there's no more milk liao. I increase by 10ml and see how. If after finishing and still not full enough, I will increase another 10ml.
Basically for Jaslyn, she is taking 120 to 140ml for 4hrly interval. Previously when the CL is around, I realised she gave 160ml, which I think is too much. So I cut down and Jaslyn is ok with it.

coolcoolmum,
You observe how much your bb drinks now. Does he have enough or he still sucks to get more milk even though there's no more milk liao. I increase by 10ml and see how. If after finishing and still not full enough, I will increase another 10ml.
Basically for Jaslyn, she is taking 120 to 140ml for 4hrly interval. Previously when the CL is around, I realised she gave 160ml, which I think is too much. So I cut down and Jaslyn is ok with it.

coolmum,
I did not increase, it is up to u.I never wake baby up for feed before as my mum told me sleeping help baby to grow, so more impt. anyway she will wake up when hungry.

jenny/wai kuan
so far i don't wake him up for milk leh. he'll auto wake up 2-3hr interval and cries. how to tell if he's awake after 3hr crying is not b'cos he is hungry? cos so far give him milk he finishes all. those cries that he asks to be carried are usually when he is awake.

on the point that he still suckle after no more milk liao, this happens almost always. i ever tried giving him more but after that he merlion out. so now i just give him 90ml unless he literally CRIES for more. does jaslyn pushes out the teats if she had enough? my boi don't seem to know how what is enough. ; (

u so lucky, decrease frequency will hv more milk. my MS like not much of a difference whether i pump at 3 or 6hr interval. sigh.....

hi hi ladies..
sorry for not being able to post lately..i realised i "shift" alot very often..haha..sometimes stay over at my mum's place & sometimes at my in-law's place..till now i also duno can get use to whcever place i m at liao..not easy to adjust man..hope i didnt missed out too much..keke..thks for sharing on diapers..i didnt know that there's so many types of diapers..like sanitary pads..haha..but really thks for sharing..

hi hi jenny..
actually i do think that u r a gd mummy..hope u r feeling better now ahh..dun cry lo..i see some of ur postings also i want to cry leh..take gd care of urself..hugs..

hi hi jenny/weikuan..
i really pei-fu u both can train ur girls to sleep thru the night ahh..i wonder if i can do it too..really testing me & my hubby's patience at times..coz when i m back at my in-law's place..my hubby will wake up for night feeding coz i took care in the day..the best part is last night, i woke my hubby up to warm the ebm..he quickly jump out of bed & took his towel wanting to go & bath..i was like OMG..why take towel man..LOL..

hi hi coral..
i m quite keen to go for the massage session at kk..have u register for it?

hello ladies,

Diapers
========
Am using Drypers. Leaked once or twice, but tat's cos I left it on overnight.. hehe, but so far so good

My Kimi has been wanting to latch on since 7ish today. Hasn't been asleep then... is this normal? She seems to be suckling leh... hmm... but latching on and off for 7 hours straight seems abnormal -__-"

hi hi ladies..
can i just chk with u all if ur babies will fart & have some poo-poo out ahh..coz Mav since birth will fart & at the same time will have a little poo-poo out..just wondering if it's common here..

hi hi jenny..
just to chk with u on the diapers u r ordering from the marketplace..u really ordering in cartons ahh..maybe tmrw me go NTUC to get a pack to try out ahh..me like u like the velcro type than the sticker type..i find it less noisy & easier to handle..

coolcoolmum,
Can't tell you how to tell leh, you have to learn the different crying patterns to meet his needs. Yes, Jaslyn will pushes out the teat when she's full. In that case, you try continue with 90ml.

Wendy,
Have answered all your qns during our phone conversation
Enjoy trying the diapers. Remember to sms me your address, so I can send Pet Pet to you to try.

hi coral,
personally i dun like petpet...it leaked twice when my boi was using it.
Now my boi using fitti basic in the day, avail at kiddy palace n find it quite good.
have bought drypers but yet to try..
are mummies going to buy nepia n EQ together?
any idea how to get them?

Gripe water
Any mummies here feeding their bbs with gripe water?
My mum wans to feed boi with it...

Hi Jenny,
does ur bb(using pacifier) fart alot?
my boi seems to fart alot..