(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

kelly

mdm khatjah offer me jamu, but i dun dare to eat, cos will cause the breastmilk to be bitter..

aspialle

u r welcome =) i m glad i run into the salesgal at kk too..if not, i will be ppulling it out fr front..

hi jo,
how do you go to penang?

I wanted to go with my baby too in end dec, but by the time he is only a month big, frens advice us dun, baby sure got problem if take flight wor?

i reemember i promise someone khatijah number..paiseh to take so long

PS: just taken yesteray with my gal, but she refuse to pose for me, unless aspialle's baby

575064.jpg
575065.jpg

hehe, kelly, , my hubby was saying this morn he prefers to let baby go on plane with us when she is a teenager ?!

otherwise, he said too young to appreciate holidays..

PS: bb will be in the care of my good old mother lah =)

-b@by*ZuCcHini- (crystallized)

how did u pump outside ? =)

the pump how to wash etc etc..can share n deatils, as well as how u bring milk back ?

jo

pls share with us abt the holiday when you're back. coz we're gg krabi in feb 07 and im still thinking whether or not to bring bb there. she will be 4mths by then.

like very troublesome leh. alot of things unsure. like how to sterilize bottles, how to bathe without bathtub, dunno if the weather is too hot for bb, sun too strong.. etc. but hubby wanna bring her there, but i hv doubts leh

Storm
u looked abit like the 933 DJ, Ling zhi.
like ur eyebrows. heeee... ur gal so cooperative, pose pix wif u. mine ah, hardly can get a decent one.

freshpoison
u r rite, dun stress urself. each one is different. juz give ur best.
btw do u massage ur breasts as u pump? i massage all the way when i am pumping, somemore i using manual one. i find tt it yields better than the electric one. haha, funny me hor? waste money on the electronic mechanism yet i dun use it. sometimes, when the milk jets seemed to hv been fully emptied, i will rest for 10 secs, then pump again, and still can see 3 or 4 jets of milk pumped out. i repeat this until the supply really dwindles, or i hv been pumping for 15 mins. then i stop. another method is to keep thinking & repeating in ur mind sthg like "i need to produce more milk for my baby." it works 4 me this way lah. u try my methods to see if can get better supply. then let us noe here.

jenny
i din realised i got a few brands of diapers and keep wanting to try new ones & stocking them up. then yest, i took stock and realised scully my baby outgrow them b4 they can finish. coz i use nappies in the daytime. diapers r 4 nite use and when we go out. so usage rate is slower as compared to mummies whom use 100% diapers. stocked up 2 packs of Giant diapers... and still got Pampers NB, ordered Nepia to try oso... hahaha... better quickly finish them.

Jo
u managed to get a gd deal at kiddy palace 4 the Gerber bags.

oh if i pump outside, juz need to find a nursing rm mah. as 4 the pump, juz sterilise at home, cap it properly to make sure its not contaminated, and i got a milk bag wif ice packs to transport the EBM home lor. juz tt end up looking hvg to carry alot of things lor. no choice.

when i go back to work, i might juz use sterilising tablets 2 sterilise the pump or perhaps wash wif hot water. haven decide yet leh...

dirtifish,
I took the jamu pills. Still taking now, last pack.

crystallized,
Wah liew you siao ah... all same size ah? Then you better finish quick quick. Boy boy tends to outgrown very fast one wor.

Jo,
I bring my pump when I know I'm going out for long hrs. Like what crystallized mentioned, I sterilised the pump and put in zip lock bag. After pumping just wash then come home then sterilise. Mine is electric pump, so I bring the motor along. Now I so used to electric dual pump, I dun use the Avent Manual Pump liao. Last time I go out, I bring Avent Manual Pump.
I even bring my warmer to my aunt's place to warm the EBM today. I use Avent thermal bag to transport the EBM home. Found it much smaller and easy to use than cooler bag with ice brites, so heavy!

OVERSEAS TRIP WITH BABY

FEEDING: If baby is on TBF, feeding is no problem. If need to give FM, just buy bottled mineral water and boil it to make milk.

STERILISING: Just boil hot water and pour into milk bottle and shake it. If not, bring a container along, then throw all bottles, teats into it and pour hot boiling water over it.

BATHING: Request baby bathtub from hotel. If not, the sink can do too.

FLIGHT DURING TAKING OFF AND LANDING: Latch on baby; or feed water/milk; or give pacifier.

Don't worry when travelling with baby. It's quite fun! But just need to bring plenty of diapers, FM etc in case the place you travel dun sell the same brand that your baby is using.

By the way, if you are travelling on budget airline, kids below 2 years old pays only $20 to $40, depends on which airline you are taking.

DIAPERS
=======
Rhys have used Drypers, Mamypoko, Pampers premium and Pet Pet so far.

Dun like Drypers (We got them free from hampers). Sticker too sticky, and sometimes accidently stick to his thigh, take off damn pain. Plus the elastic made Rhys' thigh red red so we stopped using them.

Pet pet will leak too if too full. But cheap lor, so we used it in daytime and change very regularly. Agreed with Jenny that Size M is VERY big. My hb too greedy and bought size M and L. Now all cannot use yet. So take note.

Pampers Premium is very good. We used for NB but switch to Mamypoko after a few packs coz too ex liao.

Mamypoko is the best so far. Cheaper than PP. Size S is just fine and the velcro is great. Still consider a bit ex so might try Nepia since everyone say so good... but not sure abt the size leh...

Oh.. I also using Bumwear sometimes. I only used it after he poos. Absorb very well and yet dry to skin. Now the problem is the bumwear a bit too big so most probably will use it more often, or even replace diapers entirely when he is older. I find it quite good actually. Help me to save a lot of diapers. hee...

Might try Nepia soon.. so let you know what I feel later lah...

crystallized

haha.. thats the ONLY gd pic i hv of bb posing.

jenny

thanks for the info on travelling with bb! at least now i hv a clearer picture of what to do.

crystallized,
hope you're feeling better now.

Jo,
You definitely have to bring pump along if you are going out for more than 4 hrs without bb.
I went out for haircut and colour last week from 1.30pm to 6pm. By the time i reached home, both breasts were rock hard and damn painful.

TRAVELLING OVERSEAS WITH BB
Easiest when TBF. I brought my elder one on a 1 mth trip when he was 3 mths old. He was much easier to manage compared to another trip that i brought him at 15 mths old.
It's a headache when it comes to packing for the trip but overall it's still fun.
Take the opportunity to travel when it's just 1 kid. With 2 now, i think it's not quite possible till #2 is slightly older

How much is the mummy poko NB?
My boy's using Fitti NB, avail at Kiddy Palace n costing $9 for 38pcs ba..

Hi Jenny, boi's on FM 5oz... sometimes he finishes, sometimes left an oz left. so range fr 120ml to 150ml ba...

So envious of all BF mummies now.... sad that i didnt pull thro the fever period when milk ducts were stuck... hais.
If I were to have a 2nd one, sure try hard to feed BM again.

Thanks, -b@by*ZuCcHini- (crystallized) , babygrace & Jenny for the advice on pumping outside

Jenny, where to get avent thermal bag ? how much was it ?

hehe, l agreed with crystallized...u look very much like lingzhi

PS: today 13 nov liao, n my maternity leave ends on 13 dec =(

times flies !

hehe, l agreed with crystallized...u look very much like lingzhi

PS: today 13 nov liao, n my maternity leave ends on 13 dec =(

times flies !

Gemini:
Thanks, receive your mobile number, will arrange to meet up with you and the rest of the punggol mummies when i am back next week.
Oh really?? my gal looks like your gal??? any pic to share?? btw, your birth date 08 jun right?? really "nan de" to have someone with the same birthdate as me...

Selina:
Thanks, Me too receive your mobile number. Will
meet up with you all soon.

Wendy:
Ya lor, a lot pple say when she is older sure have big eyes cos her eyes like you mentioned very longish.

Crystallized/vivian:
please take care of yourself!! it's very common now to have these symptoms, they called it gastric flu. i kana too during confinement, not only "xie tu zi" and vomitting also. very bad feeling i understand. somemore me on TBF,very worried that bb will kana!!

Hi Jenny,
I noe y u say drypers leak, I bought 1 pack of drypers from a mummy in the forum but it's M'sia stock (din realise diff), I juz started using it aft finishing the 2 drypers pack I bought in Sing. Wah lao, I tell u leak & leak & leak.... But die die muz finish so keep changing. Lucky I only paid $10.

Hi jenny,
U mean the nursing rms @ dept stores hav powerpoint cos my pump also electric.

Hi kelly,
I'm still taking the jamu pills and my baby on EBM. So far no complains fr him. In fact, I think he prefers EBM to FM.

Hi carol,
Look on the bright side, @ least u dun hav to worry abt pumping and engorgement.

Hi doreen,
Wah, ur FIL y like dat??? Luckily my in laws nt so bad. I only avoid seeing them cos I hav nothing to say to them. No common topics but they wouldn't dare order me ard. They will give advise, me & my hubby will nod say yah yah but whether we follow will be another story...

Hi ladies, no time to log on cos I alone taking care of bb and she likes to cling onto me instead of sleeping. Here's a pic of her at 3wks.
576155.jpg

No time to even read...cos I need to rush to toilet before she wakes. She's only good when i bring her shopping. She'll sleep throughout even if it's very noisy...Sigh.

Hi Coral,

Haha.. dun worry, you not alone, my gal can also sleep throughout when i go shopping.. wondering does all babies love SHOPPING?? or only bb gals?? hehe..

storm,
do u know the delivery hotline for nepia. i would like to try it, my pureen is finishing soon, how many to order to have free delivery?

I went out once and did not pump milk for almost 12hrs and breast very very pain. when reach home, ms a lot, almost hit 250ml (first time like that, noramlly only 80-100ml). lucky ms still maintain after that.I very tire abt pumpimg milk liao, but no choice.feel like stopping, but have to endure.

freshpoison,
Not all nursing rooms have powerpoint. Safer to bring batteries along just in case.
Sometime i pump in the car when i'm out for long meetings or courses. Just bring along a shawl or cardigan to cover.

doreen,
Damien's head really strong liao hor. Caleb's still not so strong yet.

crystallized,
yah. i like to stand n look at how he tries to turn his head

freshpoison,
his backside will bump up sometimes. i try to stretch it for him but he will again bump it up.

coral,
Charlotte looks so cute. like Caleb she also smiling in her sleep hor. you take good care yah.

jenny,
tks for your tips. will try this mtd too. hopefully can find one that works on Caleb than i can start to have my beauty sleep again. now my dark eye rings getting darker... so sad
really forgot wat is sleep liao.

delphine
your house really building until 2nd floor liao. passed by yesterday.

OVERSEAS TRIP
=============
was thinking of a trip to HK in early Dec. my HK office got a major exhibition there then so thought mayb can make a trip there to take a look as well as to visit my gal friend who is supposed to be due this month. if i go, will definitely bring Caleb along. dun think i can bear to leave him alone in Singapore. will definitely miss him like crazy.

END MATERNITY
=============
i will work from home after maternity which will end just before christmas. not official but is a private arrangement between my colleague n me. hope it works out fine than i can look after Caleb myself until at least after he turns 1.

CALEB MORE WAKEY
=================
realized Caleb is more wakey since last week. no longer sleep so much (thou still sleep quite a lot). after each feed, he will at least stay awake for awhile before crying to be put to sleep again. he also beginning to start responding when we talk or make faces at him.

MIL
===
my MIL really super one kind. went out for dinner last night to celebrate her birthday. then i was latching Caleb, when he moves while still drinking, she says "oh he dun wanna drink liao"... wah lau, machiam she knows like that. hey Caleb is human leh. move a bit means dun wanna drink? kept wanting to carry him. buay tahan her. lucky hb heard her remarks than he told her off.

before dinner, left Caleb at her place while he sleeping so hb n i can go buy somethings to eat first. when we came home, she was carrying Caleb n she said he woke up right after we left. was wondering now if she purposely wake him up or he move a bit while sleeping she thinks he dun wanna sleep anymore than start carrying him. after a while, pass Caleb to me saying he wants to sleep. siao lor. if he wakes up himself, so fast wanna sleep again. must be she woke him up or force him to wake up so she can carry n 'play' with him. think my MIL a bit mad liao.

Coral

was wondering y so long never see u here..

Charlotte looks very sweet & cute =)

wow, both u & delphine brings ur bb to malls liao ? how u all handle..

how i wish i can go out...endure till tis sat then my bb full mth liao...but then have to go MIL hse as they ask all relatives to come and see bb....so not throwing buffet at my own home liao..

coral charlotte looks cute

jenny
how to hurry using? aiyoh... silly me lah, din realised got so many of the same sizes. then aft i see his thighs got markings (mayb the diaper band abit tight 4 him), i sim tiah and quickly chg him into nappy when we rch home.

actually i wonder if those bags used to keep EBM is cool enuff? i bot mine at Isetan & cost $40+, comes wif an ice pack. i bot another ice pack oso, so i always use 2 ice packs when i transport to my mum's plc.

wah u made travelling wif baby sounded so easy leh. me & hb wanted to go on a trip, esp during the time when i am gg to clear my 3rd mth ML (i am not clearing it together this round). i noe being on TBFg shld b easier to go travelling, but i wonder will it b fun when my baby starts fussing along the way etc. juz this aftn, he kept me busy for 5 hrs by not sleeping. wah liew, sometimes really wanna strangle him man!
so i was thinking if go on a trip, can enjoy anot. but ont he other hand, if we dun bring him, we will miss him v much. dunno wat to do.

somemore if we go on pkg tour, i dunno how much infants gotta pay. actually wats the logic tt infants need to b charged? somemore if he is on TBFg, he dun need anything at all! ~!@#$%^&*

bbgrace
long time no see u liao.
how u coping?

so u encourage travelling wif 1 kid now? hmmm, let me go discuss wif hb. heee, if i need more tips, will ask u.

Jo
agreed leh, time flies! my ML + AL will end nxt mth too. though sometimes my boy can really test my patience, i still love the times spent wif him. dun wanna go back to work leh.

Delphine
luckily wat i kena wasnt stomach flu, else i dun think i will recover within tt day. and oso stomach flu v mah fun one, i gotta b v careful when handling my baby.

Vivian
now tt u mentioned u got Drypers fr gift sets, i realised tt i oso got alot! *horrors* juz tt the gift sets all intact in the storeroom, then we thot we happily finished it alrdy. Drats, now i gotta remind my hb we still hv Drypers... its much more than wat we thot.

Wei Kuan
WAH! 12 hrs!!!! u can tahan!!!! i wld hv fainted fr the engorgement! no way, i will die die definitely bring my breast pump out & find a plc to pump. last resort, pump in toilet oso better than nothing!!!

Selina
same here.... my boy definitely is more wakey now. drives me nuts at times. i definitely appreciate the help my mum provides either by coming over my plc or i go back.

i think all MIL behaves in some erratic manner one way or the other. heeee... sometimes i oso dun understd wat my MIL is thinking. but generally, no complaints as she has been of great help during my confinement and is v kind to me. juz tt she not gd at handling my baby and tts when my mum's great help comes in. thank goodness for my mum & MIL.

so far my boy ok wif the sarong sling. my mum is the one not ok leh. says his legs cramped and no space to move. he sleeps like a log when i use the sling.

hi coral,

charlotte very cute leh. Selina, my gal also smile in her sleep. wanted to take pics but my dad said that try not to take pics when bb sleeping.

hi delphine,

i'm still staying at my mum place in SK, most probably will move back next week. getting v scared & worried that cant handle my gal w/o my mum.

tricia foto, does she look like ur gal?

now up till now, i have not bring my gal out alone.

576521.jpg

Hi coral, gemini,
Ur babes look so cute!

Hi babygrace,
U r rite, better standby battteries juz in case.

Hi selina,
Hav to 'ren' ur MIL lor. I think e older folks r like tat.

To change topic: Anyone using NAN 1 formula? I wan 2 buy fr my fren the milk cos she can get it cheaper but min muz get 12 tins. My bb only drinks FM @ nite so cant finish so many tins. I calculated, prob only nd 6 tins max. Anyone who wans to share wif me the remaining 6 tins?

Price: $264 / 12 (900g) so $22 per tin
Details: Stock is fr Singapore Nestle
Delivery: Will be delivered to my place (Yishun) so nd to come & collect fr me.

My fren say if order now, can collect by Fri.

Carol,
Dun be sad, my elder gal was not taking BM unlike the second gal.
Mamy Poko NB is $17.80 at NTUC.

Jo,
The avent thermal bag is a gift from hb's friend. You can get from Kiddy Palace, Robinson, OG, John Little etc, cost $20+. Got 3 color, black, red and blue.

freshpoison77,
The drypers I bought is from SIN, not Msia, also leak. I heard Mamy Poko from Msia is different from those selling in SIN. I hate Dryers... made me wash bedsheets almost everyday last year!!!
Some nursing rooms have powerpoint. If I go shopping centre, I will bring battery rather than adaptor. At least can pump in car also.

Coral,
Both my gals sleep well during shopping during bb time.

Selina,
Ergo carrier can only used when Caleb's head is stable hor. At least 4th mths.

crystallized,
haha, use for daytime lah, if not how?
which bag you are using? I've a coleman cooler bag and avent thermal bag. I prefer avent one. No need ice bag. The coleman one, after I put in 2 ice brites, damn heavy.
For travelling with bb, dun join pkg tour, go on F&E. Actually travelling with bb is fun, just that a lot of packings. You won't want to travel with a toddler, though packing is less, eating is not a prob, but the time is spent chasing after the toddler. I kena tie down now, with a toddler and a bb, I can't go travel liao. Gotta wait till Jaslyn is older.

crystallized,
siong man, now that CL has left. I cried when i sent her off on sat. haha!
Emma is drinking non-stop plus she has reflux problem, so i've got to keep her upright after her feed and can't put her down. Emma is colicky and starts crying from 9pm to midnight. Daytime is still manageable cos i let her sleep in yaolan and she's sleeping longer than usual.

you'll have different experience travelling with bb at different age. For young bb who have not started solids, it's easiest cos no need to worry what they can eat. Also no need to chase after them.
But it's also more fun to bring them when they are toddlers cos they can understand better already. it's good to bring them when they are about 14 mths onwards where they can take more types of outside food and not live on jars of bb food or lug the slow cooker to cook your own porridge.

STORAGE OF BM WHEN OUTSIDE
i use cooler bag with ice bricks.

Coral,
Charlotte really looks like your hubby. Hee...
Very cute...

Gemini, Jo, your bbs so cute, very girl too..

Delphine, I forgot to take down your email. Think you can get my mobile no. from Selina. We always keep in contact one. Do let me know when you want to meet up..

PUMP MILK WHEN OUTSIDE
======================
Me never bring pump out leh. Find it troublesome and weird to pump outside so try to keep my outing as short as possible.
The longest I have is abt 8-9hrs. Breast rock hard and a bit pain liao. Immediately got to pump when reach home. that kind of relief after that is something that cannot be describe...
Anyway, now I already trying to drag my pumping time. Sometimes can go up to 5-6hrs. Trying to prepare for work lor. But now cannot pump that much as compare to last time liao. Hopefully can tahan till end of Dec when I go work in Jan.
Already done my best liao. At least he got to drink BM for 3 mths. What to do... sigh...

my bb is now 26 days old... normally hw much milk shld he be drinking now till full mth?

Normally he drinks ard 80-100ml, yesterday evening he kept crying for more and drank 150ml...duno if it is normal?

btw just a survey, normally how much warm water and cold water u all add for ur BB if you are making FM?
E.g. 1 scoop of FM , then hw much warm and cold water?

i BF and give FM at the same time but realised that when FM got a lot of residue at times, duno if the propartion is wrong?

anyone tired the Gina Ford method to schedule BMF for you babies?

Please share with me your experience..
Is it ridiculas to follow her method?

Jenny
i dunno the brand of bag leh. bot at Isetan, over $40. need to put in ice packs lah. i saw the avent one too. but wat does thermal bag means? to keep warm or cold? or it means can maintain the item at watever temp tt the item is in? pai seh if this is a stupid qn hor.

bbgrace
same here lah. b4 i sent off my CL 3 wks back, i was crying in the bathroom. my hb was not at home and i was the one to send her off. when i sent her off, i controlled myself and cried in my room cuddling my baby aft she left. sigh...
guess its normal bah... so dependant on her for the 28 days leh. suddenly she left, sure feel a sense of loss.

my boy somehow has reflux problem. how bad is emma's? 2 nites ago, he vomitted so much, we had to chg bed sheets in the middle of the nite. sigh.

TRAVELLING
haven discussed wif my hb yet. when is the time they will "stabilise"? last nite my boy was so naughty i lost my temper at him and my hb had to wake up to coax him. he was so naughty, refusing to sleep on his own, woke up as usual for his feed, then doze off aft 5 mins, woke up 45 mins later crying and only slept when i rocked him. once i put him down, he cried again. this repeated for 2 more times dragging over 2 hrs at 4am until i was really fed up. i tried applying oil on his tummy, chgg his diaper leh. goodness, if this continues, i will go crazy.

my boy suddenly poo-ed for 6 times yesterday. he hasnt poo-ed so much since he was an infant leh. but all the 6 poos had the same mustard yellow colour, so shld b ok?

i am feeling so lost, dunno wat to do wif him alrdy. i hv not introduced yao lan, as i wanna delay it as long as i can. but if he continues like tt in the middle of the nite, i might hv to cave in to yao lan liao.

GINA FORD method
haven had a chance to read the book yet... bbgrace, u tried this on Emma alrdy?

Ladies:

bring desiree for her haircut yesterday, aiyo, now look like boy liao..haha..
Good news!! haha.. desiree poo yesterday by herself, so happy.. think these are just mum's joy to see your little overcome his/her minor problem
me super sian today gotta to go back mil house for a week,so boring.. and so many rules to follow. think i will log in lesser cos that stupid PC so slow.. own house better, so much more freedom and can always go shopping with my mum.

Jo:
aiyo i am those that cant stay at home for so long, already confine for 1 month, like going crazy liao... of cos go out with the help of my mother. sian!! going back to my mil house today, no more shopping liao..

Gemini:
Hey, your gal do look a bit like mine ya.. but now you see her botak.. haha so much diff from when she have hairs.. will you be in SK next week??

Selina/vivian:
Ya i do pass by, 2 storey high le.. keep hoping they will build faster so i can move back here sooner. will be back in punggol next week, shall arrange with you all to meet k...

Crystallized:
Ya.. having gastric flu is worse.. drinks lots of water and take good care of yourself.

Freshpoison:
I am using NAN1 formula milk but with HA. yours come with HA?? retail selling at $31.75/tin.Cos i try to use dumex mamil gold, too heaty for my gal till she got constipation.

Ladies, to share with you all desiree new haircut!!

577289.jpg

Hi delphine,

Wat is HA? Mine written as NAN 1 premium starter infant formula but never write HA. Izzit the same?
My boy went for haircut today. Now he look like a little monk with a bump on his head cos he was vacuum out. Lucky his full mth celebration over oredi, he look so funny wif his botak look!

Hi Freshpoison,

It is an additonal substance that was in the oringinal NAN milkpowder that is used if your bb have allegy. Although i dun know if my bb is allegy to anything, just in case lor.. it's recommended by my PD.

crystallized,
at least u cried in the bathroom, i cried in front of her and she had to hug and console me. it's harder for me this time round cos i'm closer to her now as it's her 2nd time with me.

as for travelling, i feel that 3-4 mths old is good cos you've not introduced solids yet, so less of a worry. And by then they wouldn't have all those colic and what-not problems. Plus they will be more aware of their surroundings and very fun to play with. But then hor, let me warn you. There will be lots of stuff to pack, plus i'm v KS, everything also bring extra. So b4 each trip when i'm packing, i'll be wondering why i'm crazy enough to want to go for a trip but after the trip, no regrets!

Emma's reflux problem is very bad. She will merlion her milk that i wonder how much actually goes into her. But so long as she's pooing and peeing enough, i guess it's ok.
i've also got to change sheets and clothes in the middle of the night. And she got no baby smell, only those sour milk smell. haha!

i wanted to start on gina ford method but looking at her reflux problem, it's quite difficult cos GF advocates tanking the bb up during the day so that they can sleep thru' the night. For Emma, i must give her small feeds each time. But i've tried to stick to the timings recommended in her book and on certain good nights, Emma only wakes up once at 3am for milk. The next feed is at 6am which is ok.

Poo 6x a day should be normal. Emma poos a lot of time, each time bit by bit. Maybe Ruebern is getting more of the hindmilk which has higher fat content hence more poo? Not sure, just hazarding a guess.

crystallized,
if u really can't take it already, then the yaolan is a godsend. Emma was crying inconsolably just now. Carry also cry, drink milk also cry. In the end, i dump her in the yaolan and she went to laa laa land soon after that.