(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

Hi aspialle,
Better check abt the pills. According to some, the pills will cause milk supply to cease, dunno true or not. I haven ask my doc yet.

Hi wei_kuan,
Did u clean ur bb's nose. My bb's breathing was noisy until I cleaned his nose... wah lao each nostril got a VERY big piece of "dirt" in it. Ha Ha. After removing, his breathing went back to normql, but these few days, noisy breathing came back again & he only let me clean 1 nostril so still got another piece stuck in the other nostril.
My bb alternates between fan & air-con depending on temp @ nite. Most of the time, we will switch on the fan.
I dunno how green is green cos I only hear fr my mum, hav nt seen it yet.

Hi wtan,
I sterilize aft every use. I will accumulate all the bottles @ the sink then wash together and sterilize before using again. The breast pump also sterilize before each use.

wendy
i hv exactly the same concerns as u! i sterilise my pump aft each use together wif all the milk bottles and teats etc. my mum was oso saying its not gd to keep sterilising. but we dun use all the milk btls at 1 go and its unavoidable tt we will re-sterilise some things a few times. i haven thot of wat to do yet.

oso another qn. my pigeon steriliser says the contents will stay sterile for up to 6 hrs if left unopened. (i juz read fr the box yesterday and discovered all along i din practice tt). i usually sterlise and use aft >6 hrs. sometimes the steriliser has not been opened yet, but at times, i opened it and use my breast pump alrdy. theerafter, some hrs later when i need to feed my baby EBM, i will use the milk btl fr the steriliser. issit safe? seems like steriliser oso creates another set of problem.

freshpoison,
i am usually like u. accumulate and then wash at 1 go so i cut down the sessions of sterilising. but still there will b some "leftover & unused" stuff in the steriliser. dunno wat to do. my steriliser is over stocked wif milk btls but no choice as i cant predict when i will need them for storage of BM.

my CL will put pump in the sterilizer and sterilise again, although inside got unused milk bottles and teats....tink no choice ba..

Hi crystallised,
I only hav 3 bots 4 milk & 1 bot 4 water. Usually sterilize already, will store EBM in the 3 bots & put in fridge. Fill water to the brim in the last bot for bb to drink. My avent containers will use to store EBM in the fridge also. So when I do the sterilizing again, I make sure there's nothing in the sterilizer already. I also using the pigeon sterilizer, will sterilize abt 3-4 times a day.

wendy,
how i wish man...

jenny,
so fast your da yi ma is here huh...

sterilizing
===========
i sterilise pump after every use. those already sterilized will dry them n keep in air tight container. as for milk bottles, i dun steriliser after every use. sometimes i will just use hot water to soak it. sometimes those oredi sterilized but still in the sterilizer when i wanna sterilize other things, will just all sterilizer again. sis says nvm n this is what she has been doing for her 2 kids.

aircon & fan
============
caleb sleeps in aircon room wif us every night but of course the aircon does not blow directly at him. will let him wear long sleeves shirt at night with his pampers than cover wif blanket cos easier to change diaper. anyway he perspire alot so daytime i will let him wear sleeveless rompers n dun usually cover him. now he doesnt even where booties or socks in the day. i just removed his mittens today.

menses & bleeding
==================
me still bleeding though i not TBF cos i supplementing fm. seriously wont know if menses come man. anyway, did my follow-up check last sat n gynae says normal. even had my pap smear done. so far everything ok. uterus position also back to normal but gynae says if wanna try for #2 must wait 1 yr for my case cos c-section.

i need to let out some steam here. really abit buay taha liao. my ILs really 1 kind lor. expect us to go back every week. then when back, bb sleeping, they will make remarks like "...sleep again!" hello! caleb only 1 mth plus leh. besides sleep, eat & shit & cry, what else u expect? like i purposely ask him to sleep dun wake up like that.

last sat as usual went back ard 7+ (ask hb to go back early then come home early he dun wan), as usual caleb sleep when we got there. again i hear the same remarks. super xian lor. some more i damn tired wanna rest but cannot. then at ard 8+, caleb wants to feed so i bf him then lately he damn cranky will cry halfway while being fed, then MIL started saying give fm lah... not enf to eat. the last time i give him fm, take a while to prepare right, she says bf him lah... bloody hell. cannot wait issit. cry abit wont die right. so stressed out man.

than last sat i got fedup after feeding caleb still crying so i said go home (angry tone). then hb not happy but no choice. then SIL said "aiya, haven play with u wanna go home"... excuse me, already 9.30pm. still dun go home, wat time then i can rest? i need to settle him when get home, i still got night duty to do leh. play? as if he can play now!!! so stupid man. so we must always wait for all of them (famous for being late for everything) b4 we can go home issit?

they are mothers too so they should know bb at this stage how to play? really make my blood boil man. felt like telling them, u wanna play wif him, wake him up then.

then feeding time, will keep coming into the room every 5 - 10 mins then say "still feeding?" hello!!!!

freshpoison77,
My bleeding lasted about 2 weeks. Now I'm blurred... dunno is menses or what... now no more liao... Ya, BF will delay the return of menses but I ever know some mums' menses return after 1 mth, some up to 6 mths or even more.

crystallized,
I tot pap smear test is to be done after your 1st menses return (and stop) and not after the bleeding? Ya, still on partial BFG.

STERILIZING
I'm using 2 milk bottles only. After use, I will sterilise the 2 milk bottles and my breast pumps together and assemble and put in container for next use. Sometimes, I will just wash and use hot water to rinse and ready for next use.

CRAZY
I think I'm going to be crazy soon. My elder one seems to be very cranky since last Sat after the CL left. Call her to bath or do whatever things, she gives me an "orh orh" reply but ignore my instructions. When bb cries, she will imitate bb's crying and make everyone so frustrated with the noise. She dotes on Mei Mei a lot but her actions are shrinking everyone's energy at home! With her this kind of behaviour, I dun think I have much time coming into forum to chat

HEP B JAB
Brought bb for her Hep B jab this morning at GP. It costs $25 for those who would like to know the cost. GP said bb dun have jaundice, only very very slight yellowish, is due to BM jaundice.

jenny,
dun go crazy hor... we still need u here to give us sound advice leh...
take care. guess she's in her terrible twos now? my niece also like that. now super xiao wanna come my mum's place everyday. bring her home will cry until must call my mum to talk to her then she ok. cos she wants to see caleb. she also dotes on caleb alot.

jaundice
========
finally caleb's jaundice is confirmed due to bm. level dropped to 4pt after giving him more fm last week. so now back to bm again. PD says jaundice must drop further to 2pt but since it is bm related, no cause for worry

jenny,
at least your Jolene is taking well to her sis' arrival. My Joshua still feels threatened by Emma. And he seeks lots of attention these days and throws tantrum when he doesn't get his way. He gets jealous when he sees me carry Emma. So i will usually bf her out of his sight.
When Emma cries and i want to go attend to her, he will pull me and stop me from going.
i'm so depressed that CL will be leaving this sat. i also wont be so free from next week onwards.

thks ladies 4 the feedback on steriliser. i noe wat to do liao. sterilised alrdy juz keep the btls airtight in the fridge till nxt use. then my hb cannot complain how come i need so many btls liao. keke

Selina
i totally understd how u feel! as if these pple got nothing better to say rite? My SIL everyday come back oso made the same remarks to the baby "wah u sleeping again?" i really wanna ask her, if babies r not supposed to sleep, then is he supposed to sit by the door and wait 4 u to come back then say hello?! absurd rite? but i oso noe v often these the few things they can only say... so i ignore it nowadays.

u so 'generous'... let ppl come in & watch u latch on caleb? 4 me, i close my door when i latch on. only my hb will come in. even my MIL dun dare to come in when she noes i am feeding. i dun like and cannot get used to ppl watching me latch on, esp those pple i am not close to. so far only let my mum, sis and hb see me latch on. i tell my hb "how am i supposed to feel relaxed when there is a bunch of pple watching me feed our baby?" he understds i need privacy lor.

my boy's jaundice seemed to hv gotten better since i steer clear fr ginger and alcohol. luckily PD din say give FM... since