(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

ilovemybabyg,
glad to hear you are feeling better now. remember we are always around to give support and listen. just make sure you eat well ba...

crystallized,
like coral will take without face so in case... but of course not totally naked ba. will try like jo did see how the outcome first. otherwise mayb wear bikini lor

Jus return from gynea visit, my bb weight zoom to 2.56kg. I was so shocked. She suddenly become so big. Now, i am abit worry that i cant push liao.

Coral,
Wah, by your hubby. It's very well-taken leh. What camera are you using? Is it SLR?

ilovemybabyg,
Probably, you can eat durian if you are worry but since gynea say ok, it should be ok. For me, my gynea say "no more durian".

coral & selina - u gals look fantastic ! =)

doreen - i like ur humour ;)

MTBs - the cheap 5 bucks silky gown fr Chinatown ;)
piggy me is the model...

497313.jpg

misterygal -dun be too worried, ur baby popping in abt a month's time..so at the most 3.5 kg ? my pal got deliver naturally her child at that wt =)

btw, i got a camera to recommend: Canon Powershoot A700, bot at sim lim sq for less than 600 bucks =)

Talking of bras... recently always feel pain after a few hours of wearing bra. I wearing non-wired with bra extension liao... still painful... dun know what to do...
Me too, like Selina, I go braless too at home. In fact, that is the first thing i do when i reach home everyday, take off my bra and breathe... haa...
Anyway, talking of strapless bra, I find the strapless bra from Spring maternity is quite comfy. In fact, after buying the white one, I went back to buy a black one. Maybe you all want to take a look.

Photos
======
Wah... coral.. the photo very nice leh. Envy...
Me dun dare to take photos with bared tummy leh. I looked so fat somemore, wait next time Rhys saw hor, vomit milk ah... haaa...
Only nag at hb to take a few photos of me so that I can put them in my scrapbook later.
Anyway, here are my photos.
The blue one is taken using my old camera. Liked the photo a lot but blur. So hb went to buy Sony T30 for my birthday. The second one is taken using the new cam... Note: Nothing Sexy or Exciting... haa...

497372.jpg

497373.jpg

Wah more pix of sexy mummies liao!

Vivian
u looked really different fr wat i saw last Sun leh. so feminine now while tt time u looked so sporty. so u can b a radiant mummy as well.

Selina
i took some shots of myself in bikini. can see the whole tummy so rounded.
but i will nvr dare to post here!!!

Jo,
i like ur yellow dress, looks so bright & cheery!

misterygal,
how many wks are u now? my bb oso big lah. me oso worried.

STRETCHMARKS
===============

To my horror, i found signs of stretchmarks creeping up fr my lower abdoment last nite. despite me being so hardwkg and applying cream, it still appeared!
soooooo super duper sad! i am sure more will b coming. i hv heard the stretchmarks will appear fr nowhere fr 36 wks onwards, coz thats when we will really balloon in the last mth.

wah gals u all like so pretty on photo....i ask my hb to take for me but i look so ugly....haiz

crystallized
i also have red lines stretchmarks on my lower abdominal and some on my butt....now i suffer from rashes tink because of weather changes.....a lot of red itchy rashes. Seen doc and given me calamine lotion and medicine.V V itchy

-b@by*ZuCcHini- (crystallized) , aspialle

my stretchmarks appearred since week 29..haiz, now it is just progessing , both in quantity & itchiness...last nite scratched till bleed 2 mini holes..

PS: the worst thing is i already spend abt 100 bucks on the stretchmark cream since week 20..i applied every nite..but dun noe is it becos i din apply a lot

PSS: i use Elanycel fr Guardian, recommend by gynae..next pregnancy not using this brand liao, since it din work : (

PSS: the yellow dress is fr PERFECT MUM where I was attacked by sales pressure & spent 700 bucks within 3 hrs....mistake of my life, bot a number of auntie clothes fr there

MummyToBabyCaleb,

thanks for sharing the BP wallables, have check and bought the four supper star and train and railroad.

Yesterday went to taka fair again, and bought the babycraft playpen at S$99 quite worth, unlike other playpen, comes with musical mobile, free mattress, bolster and pillow set and side pockets for putting things. Anyway yesterday straits times also selling at this mega store.

Wow, all the photos posted are so pretty and nice.

I do not wear bra at home, more comfortable. Before preggy already like that.
This few days, I sleep naked at home cos the weather is driving me crazy.

Iloveubaby, the scan is only estimate of the weight, not 100% accurate. Do not worry and take healthy food. Sometimes our size also matters. I am small size, so I expect my baby to be small too.

Snowpooher, I spent only abt $450 on tonics cos my Ils and my parents already bought me a lot already. Food wise, I estimate only cos I have never been to wet markrt mah. My parents told me abt that amt for 27 days. To be actual, CL only works for us for 27 days.

Stretchmarks=so far, I did not have ant yet. did not apply any cream, too lazy and do not believe. Maybe follow my mother and sisters genes.

esther,
The playpen you bought is babycraft brand?
S$99 comes with musical mobile, free mattress, bolster and pillow set and side pockets? Very worth leh. Is it dark navy blue with teddy bear prints? Kidsmall is selling babycraft playpen at S$99 without the freebies leh. If so, I go and buy le cos CC is selling at $90 w/o freebies also.

Wei Kuan,
You better set a higher estimation for your food budget, cos dun think is so cheap. A slice of cod fish can cost $12 already. Imagine if you are taking cod fish for every meal. Going to cost a bomb. Then still got soup leh. Higher estimation is better.

Wei Kuan,
Ya lor, all fish so ex. Those "good" fish like codfish and threadfin prices can kill. Miserable small slice can cost over $10+. Imagine 3 meals with fish **pengz**
Depends on which type of delivery. Natural birth, once the wound heal or after 12 days, you can start the tonics like chicken essence, DOM etc. If C-section, got to wait longer. C-section, then got to avoid lots of food, especially seafood (stingray, sotong, crabs, prawns etc) for about 3 mths or more, cos scare infection.
Aiya, I dun bother with stretchmark creams lah. No use one.

wow...all mtbs posted their photo here very pretty & femine lel. i didnt take any pic since preg (except my actual wedding one as 10 weeks preg) coz feel tat will b ugly one lal.

hi jenny,
as u said '3 meal wif fish', is it mean tat u will eat rice wif fish as ur breakfast? my MIL will cook for me, so i still dunno shld repay her how much on food lol.

Jenny,
Do u think it's worth it if we order confinement catering? Dunno if the food enough if share with hb. We're not getting a CL and dunno how to cook confinement dishes too.

Er.. so what do we eat in the meantime before we can take tonics once wound heal or after 12 days??

Jasmine,
Depends lor. Some confinement women dun take bread/cake/cereals for breakfast cos they believe intake of wind by eating these stuff. So, they will take mee sua or porridge lor. If take mee sua or porridge, usually will have fish lor.
For me, I take bread with coffee for breakfast. CL will cook lunch and dinner. Teabreak usually drink milo or cereal, maybe plus bread or whatever. Then for supper, some CL will prepare soup. Mine didn't, so I took milo or cereal lor.
I heard lah, a confinement woman has to intake 5 meals per day. Scarely hor?

Janice,
If you are not hiring a CL, I recommend you to cater confinement food. Save time and hassle and more time to rest. Usually first time daddies also anxious mah. If still need hb to help to cook, think will be very stress for them. Daddies should ensure they have sufficient rest as well (dun forget they need to work also). The catered confinement food is only for 1 pax, dun think enough to share with your hb. You need to eat plenty to "pu" back your body. You know we women lost a lot of blood during delivery, so very impt to "pu" back lor. One thing good about catering, there is tonics soup for every meal. You can ask your hb to order catering for himself also, if not pack dinner lor. In fact, dun really need confinement food. You just need to add lots of ginger into the "normal" food will do. Ginger helps to warm up body.
Before the 12th day or rather before the wound heal, no chicken or seafood. You can only take fish, pork and vege (not liang type) and soup.

Dear Ladies,

Sadly my dad passed away peacefully last sat without leaving a word. Feeling really sad that he is not able to see his first grand daughter.It's only 1 mth away that i am going to due. Life have to go on & I felt sorry for my gal as i totally neglect her during this period of time.
Ladies,please cherish all your loves ones while they are around.

jenny,
huh? eat so much? me now pregnant oso didnt eat so much lar.
last nite jz discuss wif MIL, same as what u describe. i will take bread/biscuit/cereal/ wif milo or mil as breakfast lor. then lunch or dinner will take rice or mi suan lor. i sian of eating rice twice a day now.
. but then i will eat all the food cooked by her lal jz cut down the rice intake lor.
i oso dun hav the habit having supper. but my sis said we sure will hungry at nite one. she oredi bought me a pack of healthy cereals so tat i can drink at nite.
i think most of woman will gain more wight within this confinement mth compare to pregnancy hor?

Jenny,
My hb coming back to sg to find a job. So meanwhile we can look after baby. But we both not experienced at all. Or just tabow from mixed veg rice stall and add ginger myself?? Confinement catering about $1500++??

Wei Kuan
lucky u =)

Jenny
did u use for ur first child ? as in the stretchmark creams ?

jasmine
anyone can look good with makeover lah =)

Delphine,
So sorry to hear about your Dad. At least he passed away peacefully without suffering from sickness..He'll always be there in your heart. Cheer UP! I understand how u feel. My Dad passed away 3 weeks before my wedding.

Don't feel guilty lah. Just remember to eat healthy food, ok?

Jo,
actually many mixed veg rice stalls and Tze char stalls can cook better than restaurants. Hee hee.. but just scared of the MSG.

btw u looked really nice in the yellow dress.

hehe, thanks =)

and janice, i dun think the msg is good leh, cos all cai fan stores will use..

better getthe confinement food fr caterers =)

My friend said if get catering ~$1500, y not get a CL ~$1800 instead. Can help to do housework and cook confinement food as well. But i think he forgotten that CL's pay and confinement food is separate leh.

jo,
because of family history & genes, i got a lot of grey hair since secondary school time. i hav to dye my hair frequently. but since preg, gynae who always didnt mention anything but told me tat 'cannot dye hair oo...'. so, u can imaging a pregnant lady wif a lot grey hair. hb said nvm lar as long as got hair can liao.

Jasmine
Bfg will make you hungry, so taking 5 meals a day is common. i strongly believe in taking bu3 for our body during confinement. For my 1st one, i took bread or beehoon for bf, morning teabreak, lunch, dinner and then brewed chicken soup for supper.

janice,
confinement food may be too heaty for your hb to take every day. confinement mothers can take the heatiness but not normal people. That's why some CL prefer to cook their own meals separately for herself and ur hubby.
Confinement food uses sesame oil, although i dunno why, whereas food from those cai fan stall use the normal veg oil. So there's a difference lor.

Jenny,
Yup just bought yesterday at taka bb fair and they are delivering it on Tuesday. Quite worth the deal that's y w/o hesitation i bought it on the spot! If you have yesterday straits times pg22 they have a picture of that also selling at S$99 with the freebies taka is giving. Location Big Megastore hotline 6827 8500 @ Habourfront if u miss the taka fair which is ending this sun

esther,
you are welcome. cute right. will place my order for the 4 stars & bright moon set soon cos waiting for a gal friend to consolidate orders.

delphine,
**sayang sayang** am sure your dad is peaceful where ever he is now. also sure he will always be with you n will protect you n bb n gal gal...

Delphine,
Sorry to hear that, however be strong, i believe this is fate. Don't think too much important thing get over it (i know its not easy) and prepare for your baby arrival next month. If u are feeling grieve yr baby will feel sad too! God bless.

vivian, your picts show that you have not gain much weight. still the same I saw you last time.
I will put my pict here when i get my ablum next mth.

497869.png

aspialle & jo
no matter how itchy it is on my tummy, i am gg to tahan and try not to scratch, coz my tummy v fair, any signs of stretchmarks or rashes r v obvious. so sad.

jenny is right, it all depends on ur genes oso. i strongly believe tt stretchmark creams r not 100% foolproof. they r merely to moisturise our skin and as to prevent more serious stretchmarks. so despite my stretchmarks popping up alrdy, i will still continue to apply diligently, coz i noe i cant stop it but i try my best to minimize it.

Wei kuan,
u r soooo lucky then!

Delphine,
condolences to u. however u muz take care and cope with this. u r only weeks away fr the delivery. am sure ur dad will watch over u & family.

delphine,
So sorry to hear that. Take care.

Wei Kuan, Jasmine,
ya lor, anyway up to individual lah. Eat when hungry lor.
For me, my 1st confinement, I took 2 main meals (lunch and dinner) and the rest are sort of like tea break. It's sort of like 2-3 hrs gotta eat. Feel like vomit. Sometimes, can't even eat for dinner, but still eat a few spoons lah.
No leh, actually hor, won't gain much weight during confinement despite the "heavy" eating pattern leh. Funny hor? But hor, confinement women tend to get hungry very easily. So actually 5 meals not a lot. Like what babygrace said, bfing will make us hungry and very tired.

Janice,
Dun think is good idea to pack from mixed veg rice stall, too much MSG and you dunno what they use to cook the dishes. Some food or ingredients cannot eat lor. Is your hb going to cook? If so, ask him to add lots of ginger to the dishes will do.
Confinement catering usually is from $1.2k to $1.4k, from what I know.
Actually I agreed with your friend's view lah. Order confinement food from catering service cost a lot, I will rather hire a CL, so she can help with simple housework, cook and look after bb, so I can rest. But you have a point also lah, marketing for food is separate issue.

Jo,
Yes, but stretchmarks suddenly appeared when I hit 3rd trimester.

Esther,
Decided not to get the babycraft playpen now. Scare wait my mum dun want to use. Anyway, went thr the freebies, I dun need the pillow and bloster cos my mum made for baby already. And also I dun like musical mobile. Cheong Choon got the free mattress. So will be getting from Cheong Choon either before or after delivery.

From Nov06 thread

What are stretch marks?
Stretch marks are small, depressed streaks in your skin caused by tiny tears in the elastic supportive tissue that lies just underneath your skin and helps the skin stretch. They start out pink, reddish brown, or very dark brown, depending on the color of your skin, and later fade, though never totally disappear. Stretch marks most often appear on the abdomen in the later stages of pregnancy when the belly is rapidly expanding to accommodate a growing baby. Some women also get them on their buttocks, thighs, hips, or breasts. At least half of all pregnant women get stretch marks, although they're less common among women with dark skin.

How can I tell if I'll get them?
It depends mostly on how elastic your skin is, and that's a matter of genetics. If your mother or sister got stretch marks during pregnancy, you're more likely to. Whether you'll get them also depends on how much and how fast your skin has to stretch during your pregnancy. "The skin is very elastic, but the weight gain that comes with pregnancy can be pretty dramatic, and sometimes it's more than the skin can handle," explains Alexa Boer Kimball, an assistant professor of dermatology at the Stanford University School of Medicine. For this reason, you're more likely to get stretch marks if:
You gain a lot of weight rapidly.

You're carrying multiples.

You're carrying a big baby.

You have excess amniotic fluid.

What can I do to prevent them?
Unfortunately, there isn't much you can do. Gaining no more than the recommended amount of weight (in most cases 25 to 35 pounds) and gaining it slowly may help reduce your chances of getting stretch marks. There's no proof that any of the creams, salves, and oils that claim to prevent stretch marks actually work. (Keeping your belly well moisturized as it grows may reduce itching, though.)