(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

Jasmine/Janice/Selina/Esther/WeiKuan/Crystallized/Jenny

Thank you for your condolences, I believe this is fate. I will be strong for baby & am sure my dad will watch over me & my family.

janice,
OMG! have you got chicken pox before? possible for you to move to MIL or mum's place for the time being? though chicken pox not harmful during pregnancy (my mum had it when she expecting my bro), but if can avoid better avoid.

I just called my gynae. Here's what he said:

1. OK if I'm within Week 16 to Week 36 of pregnancy. But not safe if before or after this week range.

2. No need vaccination also as vaccination is discouraged during pregnancy.

3. IF really got infected, it won't affect the baby no matter I've had chicken pox before or not.

So Ladies, PLEASE TAKE NOTE! Just in case.

Mayb u gals can ask your gynaes to double confirm the above.

Very busy today, no tiem to read all postings.

Delphine, I'm sorry to hear about your Dad. Please take care. I'm sure it's unavoidable for you to feel sad but please be strong. For your dad and all who love you.

Misterygal, no, we use a normal digital camera. It was Canon Ixus, can't remember the model.5 MG Pixel camera.

Janice, have you taken vaccination? It's best to avoid her. My mum had chicken pox 1wk before giving birth to me so i was safe, but at earlier stage can be bad for bb.

Janice, no matter what please avoid. I had a bad experience with my boy last year at 20 wk preg. So please don't take the risk. I was told it's safe, but bb could still be attacked by virus.

the wallables from the BP are really cute! thinking of getting Sweet Sun and Fluffy Sky..

btw, is it true that musical mobiles will cause bb to be cross-eyed??

Babygrace,
Thanks for your info on confinement food. Didn't know that sesame oil is used instead of veg oil. Mayb we can cook some soup ba. Seems quite a few mummies here ate simple dishes during confinement? Milo, bee hoon, soup etc.

Jenny, Selina, Coral, Crystallized,
THANKS! Actually my gynae's point 1 and point 3 seems to contradict each other. I also scared scared..

I had chicken pox before but heard that it can come back again. Never had vaccination and gynae discourages vaccination during pregnancy. Guess either she moves out for awhile (she's a singaporean) or i move out for awhile. Wah...how to go home today..

Janice
No matter whether u kena chix pox b4 anot, best to stay far far away fr her. U dunno wat virus is flying ard. if she can move out, its the best. else u gotta move away. stay at ur mum's plc?

janice,
i not very sure cos my mum's time was 29 years ago
anyway avoid as much as you can. if you moving out, then dun go home today liao. get someone to go and fetch your stuff for you. if she moving out, you also avoid going home today first. get someone to go your hse to mayb spray some antiseptic thingy to kill the germs. then you can go back on sunday or what at least germs not there liao... do open the windows at home to let in fresh air too

delphine
my condolences to you. take care !

Janice
so dangerous, dun take the risk...

Jasmine
u r rite abt dying hair, heard it is not good for baby ..but my pal went ahead n dye it during preg n breastfeeding

-b@by*ZuCcHini- (crystallized)
i was really sad when the stretchmarks appeared at week 29..it is like my tummy is disfigured liao..HAIZ

hi babygrace,
ic...bf will make us hungry. yeah..like wat u said, eat light bf shld b fine for me. cant imaging eat rice for 3 main meals. i ate fried beehon wif vege jz now. the uncle at mixed rice stalls ask me how come i always eat mee or beehoon. i told him i sianz eating rice. he jz laugh.

hi janice,
be careful & tried to avoid infection. play safe ba.....

hi jo,
i hav the night grown u posted this mrng. very comfort to wear when u r in aircon room, if not, very hot lel.

janice,
i think milo, beehoon is only for breakfast. babygrace & jenny still take confinement food (those wif bu things) during lunch or dinner.

jo,
wow...ur friend still dye while breast feeding.
tat's y i'm thinking if i wanna bf, tat mean i cant dye my hair too. how arr? later bb tot i'm his grandma lel....
coz look like old lady liao

Jo
if it makes u feel any better, i had my 1st set of stretchmarks at 16 wks. but tt was the silvery streaks one, not like the ones now, will eventually develope into angry red lines.

Jasmine,
where did u get the nightgown tt Jo has? it seemed really cooling & comfy leh. i haven seen it ard yet. and $5 is like v cheap. even its $10, i oso dun mind.

Jasmine
if u wanna dye hair then dun latch bb on tt day. and the EBM to throw away to b on the safe side. feed baby wif the stored BM. i intend to dye after baby is 1 mth old, the time which i intend to introduce bottles to him, so at the same time, i can dye my hair, and he can feed on the frozen BM.

crystallized,
i dunno lel. coz tat one given by my SIL. she bought it at JB. but then my frend told me can get it frm bugis there.
yeah...me really wanna dye my hair after bb full mth. my sis oso do tat but she didnt bf. if like wat u said, dun let bb latch on tt day, shld b fine , hor? thanks thans....

Jasmine
if u dun BF, then not so much restrictions. but if we do, hv to b more responsible coz wat we eat & do affects wat our babies will b drinking. and they still so young, so better dun subject them to unneccessary factors lor. juz my thots.

what is EMB ? btw, mine has always been deep red lines leh...but i was thinking since i dun have the habit of wearing tummy revealing clothes, it is fine lah =p only hubby will see those lines..

Jasmine
yupz, i tot my pal is real brave..i dun dare leh

Jasmine,
My lunch and dinner not really confinement food. Simple dished only but with lots of ginger. Eg. Fried pork slice with ginger, pork ribs soup with ginger, fried/steamed fish with ginger. Can add some wine into the dishes also.

crystallize,
thanks. i will take note tat. i agreed tat we shld b more responsible. BF same as pregnancy period, we shld watch wat wee eat & do coz all this will affect bb as they take the nutrien frm our body.
hb oredi ask MIL to cook confinement food less oil & less salt.

Jo
EBM = expressed breast milk

true lah, i oso dun hv a habit of wearing revealing clothes. only hb will see, but i still feel sad lor. juz hope it will fade aft delivery lor.

Jenny,
muz 'run' 2.4km so can slim down faster mah. hehehe

jenny,
wow...no wonder ppl said bfing can b good exercise for mum to lose weight. i tot those u eat so called confinement food? bcoz in my mind all those confinement food is jz add ginger or wine into the dishes ba....someone mentioned in this forum tat we cant eat the ginger itself, rite? only eat the fish or meat nia...

crystallized,
wah piang, you dun worry lah, you so slim, no need to "run" also will slim lah.

Jasmine,
Bfing will takes up lots of mother's energy. When you try bfing, then you will know what I'm saying. Really TIRING. After expressing the BM, you will feel like lie on bed immediately.
No lah, those not really confinement food. Confinement food are like vinger pig trotters, then those pork internal intestine fry with ginger (I think), then pig liver etc. I think Codfish with ginger is one of them also.
We can eat ginger itself. In fact is good to eat cos ginger will warm up our body. I sweat after eating. BUT if you are bfing, try not to eat the ginger itself too much. Cos too much ginger no good for bb. You know the dishes (eg. fried pork slice with ginger) will have those sauce right? You can pour this sauce over your rice and eat. Got ginger taste in this sauce.

jenny,
eeee.i dun like pork liver & pork trotters one. but i think MIL will cook more fish coz she oso like eating fish a lot. even nowsday every meal oso hav fish.
btw, why ginger no good for bb? is it too heaty?
do u think i shld giv my mil $$ to buy confinement food 1st then after confinement giv her angbao? or giv a short can?

Jenny
Hahaha
u make me 'fly' man! kekeke

now i scared not enuff fats stored in my body, then my breasts will shrink to smaller than pre-pregnancy once i stop BFG. hahaha

everytime u described how shag we will b aft BFG, i always wan to laff! i can literally imagine u lying flat in ur bed aft the session! hahahahaha

btw u got tried using dry shampoo b4?

zoe tay breast already shrink to her previous size. my colleagues also. guess mne will too after stop BF. mine already so small, still shrink, become flat already

jasmine,
Hee hee, I also dun eat those pig liver and intestine one. Thats why I have pork or fish instead lor.
Ginger can cause jaundice to bb, hence not advise to take too much if you are bfing lor.
I think you give the $ separately bah. If not, wait she might be thinking "how come you only give me $ for marketing only?".
The $ for confinement food can just give like this. After confinement, give a red packet for your MIL's hardwork. You may like to note some mummies do give a red packet when they return home from hospital, for heng heng.

crystallized,
Really lah, if not ask babygrace. Bfing really very tired hor. That time after I expressed out hor, I really felt like lying flat on bed to rest. But still got to drag myself to sterilise the pump and do the washing.
Breasts shrink never mind, can produce milk can le. I have a friend who is flatted one hor, but can produce 10oz of milk per pumping, li hai hor???
Yap, I used dry shampoo during confinement. Dun ask me wat brand hor, I forgot le, some more is bought by hb. He only told me bought from Guardian Pharamcy. One bottle cost $14+.

wei Kuan,
Dunno leh. But last time confinement women eat a lot of vinegar pork trotter lor. Maybe due to the heavy work they did at farm or home bah?
Now, most doctors dun really encourage confinement women to eat too much lor.

Wei Kuan
Shrink back to pre-pregnancy size is ok, but not smaller than pre-pregnancy lor.

eeee, breasts better dun grow too big, else aft u stop BFG, shrink and sag so much, think will look super ugly.
mine grew abt 2-3 cups sizes. luckily stopped growing liao. i dun wan it to b so big ah, i worried abt sagging breasts.

Jenny
i noe bfg v tiring one lor, and takes away alot of calories, so most ladies can slim down fast. nvm this time u got ur CL mah, ask her to wash and sterilise ur pump. me hor, i made my hb learn how to use the pump 1st. i still dunno how to operate ok! hahha, he is supposed to serve me, wash the pump and sterilise 4 me. coz i heard its best we stay in bed at least 2 wks aft delivery. but talk only lah, not sure if its possible by then.

I noe breasts size got nothing to do wif milk supply one. big or small doesnt matter.

Is the dry shampoo effective? me gg to buy liao. haven finished washing all the baby's clothings, not to mention the cot set etc. wah biang, really alot of work.

Wei Kuan
Think abt 3 or 4 days. Up to a wk if he can get away lor.

i used to think its disgusting. but i read in the other thread 1 gal used the dry shampoo and she said it was quite gd, so i thot juz to standby a btl in case. mayb depends on wat brand u buy?

jenny,
ok. i will take note of that. actually i like to eat the ginger itself but try to cut down as not gd for bb.
will ask hb to pass he $$ for mil for markerting. then the angbao i will personally pass to her as appreciation for her hardwork lor.

crystallized,
ya lor...better dun grow too big, else will look very ugly, become 'lao lao' after shrink..

jo,
hahaha.. your description so funny!

crystallized,
You know the computer chair with rollers? haha... move around while sitting on it lah.
I find the dry shampoo useful, at least to ease the itchyness. But after using, when you comb your hair hor, you will see whitish thingy on the comb.

wei kuan,
unless you can tahan dun wash hair with the itchyness lor. I dun find dry shampoo make the things worse. I think your sis and friends spray too much le lah, where got snow like tat.

Jasmine
Yah lor, so i think better dun grow too big. best if there is no increase so at least still can wear existing bras. sagging breasts will look much more horrible than small breasts.

jenny
Wah, IDEA ah!
heheheehe, yah i oso thot of this method. best 4 us to move ard w/o standing up. hehehehee... i think the whitish stuff r the dried powder wif our dead hair scalp lah. not dandruff mah.

i will opt to wash hair with hair, i not 100% follow the rules. my hair very oily even one day w/o washing, cannot imagine for the 12days.

jenny/ crystallized,
but then hor why my mom said the 3 or 4 days after delivery, is better to stay in bed instead of sit. but there is a book advice tat mum shlf walk walk even inside room. which one correct arr>

wei kuan
i still wearing cup a but add extension lor =) if cup b, a lot of space..sigh* btw, i think i heck care n will wash my hair everyday also..i need to wash my hair n body everyday, otherwise feel really awful

since sec days, my classmates already talked abt my thights & hips..din imagine they will expand some more after pregnancy

PS: when should we stop sex b4 delivery, heard it can cause early labour..sec time mums, can advise ? ;)

crystallized,
bad news... my originally small breast shrink lagi smaller after i stopped bfg. so this time round, i better make sure i store enough fats. haha!

I find bfg tiring more because my boy was latching on so frequently such that i'm sleep deprived. otherwise it's quite ok after u get the hang of it. it's just that i feel hungry really fast.

i bought the Klorane brand of dry shampoo. it's in a spray can. Don't ask me whether good or not hor, cos i didn't use. Already washed my hair in the hospital. haha!

Wei Kuan,
it's best if hubby can take leave from the day u give birth till about 1-2 days after u discharge.
When u first go home after hospital, probably need some adjustments and some last minute things to buy. Good to hv hubby around to help u adjust.