(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

oic. btw where is ocean? i still consider the guardian one coz it's come with bath thermometer too.. but 2 tub lel. will it b keep too long?

When you gals go to People's Park level 3, you should be able to spot the shop by the name OCEAN. Is a sundry shop. The cheapest there. You see the most ppl crowded in this shop.

They are selling the cheapest drapolene $3.80 and cheapest Lactacyd $6.80

crystallized,
I'm using drapolene for daily use. For serious rashes, will apply Destini. But will try not to, cos Destini got medicine

DIAPERS
As requested by crystallized, here's my 2 cents worth. Actually i feel that it depends on the bb also. Some cutting may suit some better

PAMPERS PREMIUM COTTON CARE - Very soft. Good for newborn

PAMPERS FIT & DRY (red packaging) - cutting is too small and the back is made of this porous material that will leak if bb has projectile poo. Bf bb have very soft poo and this one will overflow from the back.

NEPIA - Comparable with Pampers Premium. Comfortable cutting. I'm using mainly this one now esp for night and going out. I don't find that got strong urine smell.

DRYPERS - Good for day use. Don't have leaking problem with my boy unlike Jenny's gal. Now they have improved version with elastic at the back for better fit.

PET PET - Comparable with Drypers

NTUC Housebrand - Cheap and but cutting small. ok for day use

FITTI - I used this a lot in the early days cos my bb was very small and the newborn cutting is small. Plus he poo so often so this is one of the most affordable.

Wendy,
Nice meeting you this afternoon. You've got very good complexion

hi hi jasmine..
i also bought 2 tubes..exp dd is 11 2008..so i think shd be ok..u can consider gg down to CC & Ocean to buy the cream & other stuff as well..surely will save a lot..it's very near to People's park OG..i will suggest u buy ur remaining stuff u hvnt buy from there..me also gg to get somemore stuff..coz that day i went down..but we also bought our daily neccessities then didnt buy alot of baby's stuff..too heavy for hubby to carry..haha..

hi hi crystallized..
me got 2 tubes of drapolene cream from Ocean & will be getting a tube of Desitin creamy for stand-by..u want me to pass u the contact i got from the marketplace for the Desitin creamy?

hi hi babygrace..
i think ur complexion is smoother than mine leh..maybe i m not standing in the light so u didnt see my blackheads on my nose..haha..thks for the comments on the diapers..thks..

Jenny,
oh then i get a tube of drapolene and mayb stand by desitin for more serious rashes. but desitin got come in different % rite? heard the 40% one is meant for treating while 10% shld b sufficient for normal use.

bbgrace,
thks 4 listing out those u have tried so far. wah headache man, to decide which brand to get. how u gals decide? buy a few small packs, let bb wear and see how is it?

Wendy
now then i noe this "Ocean" u all talkg abt is the name of the shop. i kept thinking wat brand is this Ocean.

how much did u pay 4 the BP 4 ur desitin cream? how many % u bought? ok, u let me noe the contact of this BP person. thks.

wah u and bbgrace, praising each other here.
one is slim slim mummy and the other v gd complexion mummy. i am neither.

hi wendy,
oo...the exp dd is 2008.then can buy 2 tube snce pro now on. thanks for the info about ocean. need to check with hb lor. bcoz if we travel frm loyang to ppl park rite, hb will rather jz buy at those shop nearby.
btw, can i know where we can get desitin cream?
happy gathering tonite!! hope can ur gathering photo soon.

hi bbgrace / jenny,
thanks for the details info fo the disposable diapers. i need ur advice. how long bb will wear the NB size diapers? only 2 mths or more? when will switch to S size? tq tq....

hi hi crystallized/jasmine..
i didnt noe that Desitin creamy comes in diff % leh..only know got Creamy & Original..most will get Creamy leh..i will PM u both on the contacts i get on the Desitin creamy..cheers~

hi hi mummyjoy..
okok..i will PM u the email of this contact person i got to know from the marketplace..i think outside Desitin creamy is 2oz while the one i m getting is 4oz..

babygrace, in long term, I will choose drypers, with the improve version should be okay as my niece is using it plus that's the cheapest.
got to save cost too.

457975.png

crystallized,
i originally also got Drapolene but my boy still kenna rash and so in the end only desitin works for him. so i continued to use desitin.
When buying desitin, r'ber to get the creamy version which is only available in hospital pharmacy or the BP here. Cos the creamy version is more moisturising and easier to clean off compared to the normal one at Guardian.
If drapolene works for your bb, than that's good enough.

wendy,
no lah, you definitely have nicer skin than me lah.

crystallized,
how to decide which diapers? trial and error lor. of course should buy the well-known to be good ones eg pampers and mamy poko but very expensive in the long run so what i do is buy a pack of the other brands to try.

Jasmine,
As for how long bb will wear NB size, it depends on the bb size at birth. Some bb are born big or they put on weight very quickly and can fit into size S within the first month. My boy was small at birth so he used newborn size for about 1.5-2 mths depending on the cutting of the diapers.

crystallized,
actually dun need to standby Desitin now lah. Buy when you need bah. Think it cost $12+ per tube? I can't remember. It comes in creamy and non creamy type. The one I have is the 40% one cos I can't find the creamy tube.

For diapers, each bb reacts differently, be it the cutting, skin rashes etc. So suggest to buy small packs to try first. Buy 1 pack at a time and do not stock up until you confirm that brand suits your bb.

Aiya, OCEAN is the name of the shop lah hahaha... Sorry, I din make it clear in my earlier posting.

Jasmine,
You can go Chinatown to shop shop. Actually OCEAN is a sundry shop selling those shampoo, shower cream, perfume, skin lotion, pads etc. They sell bb bathing stuff as well. So you can actually stock up your comestic as well. The price is really cheaper.

I got my desitin from NTUC Unity. Guardian sells too.

Usually bb will upgrade to S size between 1 1/2 to 2 mths. Depends on bb growth. Even when bb upgrades to S size, they dun stay in this S for long. My gal stays in M size for long long time. If I remember correctly, is from 4 mths+ till 11 or 12 mths.

crystallized,
actually dun need to standby Desitin now lah. Buy when you need bah. Think it cost $12+ per tube? I can't remember. It comes in creamy and non creamy type. The one I have is the 40% one cos I can't find the creamy tube.

For diapers, each bb reacts differently, be it the cutting, skin rashes etc. So suggest to buy small packs to try first. Buy 1 pack at a time and do not stock up until you confirm that brand suits your bb.

Aiya, OCEAN is the name of the shop lah hahaha... Sorry, I din make it clear in my earlier posting.

Jasmine,
You can go Chinatown to shop shop. Actually OCEAN is a sundry shop selling those shampoo, shower cream, perfume, skin lotion, pads etc. They sell bb bathing stuff as well. So you can actually stock up your comestic as well. The price is really cheaper.

I got my desitin from NTUC Unity. Guardian sells too.

Usually bb will upgrade to S size between 1 1/2 to 2 mths. Depends on bb growth. Even when bb upgrades to S size, they dun stay in this S for long. My gal stays in M size for long long time. If I remember correctly, is from 4 mths+ till 11 or 12 mths.

My bro received a full mth goodie package from his colleague who order from sweet surprise. Wah, the packaging is really sweet and nice but hor, my mum was commenting it is a waste of $ cos only 2 red eggs, 2 ang ku kuehs and 2 mini choco bar and this package cost $8.90. My mum said the packaging is indeed very nice but open up, nothing inside, like empty empty like that...

http://www.sweetsurprise.com.sg/fullmonth.htm

Hi MTBs

For those who attended the gathering this evening, you must have enjoy yourself very much.

I cant go as I have to rush home to look after my boy but my heart kept on thinking what you gals talk about....envy envy.

Best regards

crystallized,
yes. gynae asked me to start monitoring my boy's kicks. at least 10 kicks within a 12 hr range. he says if less, but notify him cos he says bb mayb distressed or something so he can monitor me closely.

DISPOSABLE DIAPERS
==================
i'll b using pampers for a start then later mayb switch to Drypers cos sis using that for nephew n niece n so far no prob. frend using Pet Pet but condemns it

Jenny,
I'm looking at this Gobi for the full month package. Quite nice. You can also check out the website at www.gobi.com.sg.

Jackiejon,
We had a great time chatting. What's funny was when we are leaving. As it is crowded, we walked out 1 at a time in a line and eyes were all on us. it was like 1 preggy woman, then 1 more, not another 1, and so on. looking at those pple's eyes was so funny. also we asked someone to help us take pictures and the person actually said "all preggy woman! feel like touching all your tummies"

hi selina
how is the gathering yesterday? who went?

the person taking pix for all of u is guy or gal? hehe so funny...

Good morning ladies!!
i went to check up yesterday evening. bb is growing well & now is 900g. i m 26weeks & 6days preg now. differen wif selina, my bb now is 'bridge' position --- means tat his head & body at my left side of tummy, button at below tummy & leg at my right side of tummy. hehe...so cute. tat's why last week my left side of tummy feel like muscle pain coz gynae said his weight all at my left side.

hi bbgrace,
thanks for ur reply. it's mean tat newborn size will not using for long if bb is bigger range hor. even s size too. hehe...so far my bb at medium range since last appt.

hi jenny,
oo... i tot ocean is juz sell bb stuffs & i oredi got most of the stuffs. ok...thanks. will go there wif hb to check it out. but i think if i wanna buy stroller, sure will go CC coz so many of mtbs comments that stroller at cc more cheaper than other shop.
it's seem tat bb size mayb jump frm NB to M size hor, can skip s size lal. am i right?

hi selina,
jz check wif my sis last nite tat all her kids using Drypers after switch frm ppampers NB size.
i think will depends to bb condition ....
waa...i'm sure you all enjoy a good time last nite. i told my hb & even he oso said tat it's must a interesting scene coz so many preggie lady seat together. must share wif us the pic oo...

Selina,
I came across Gobi, but the cheapest package is $8+. Is very nice but is not traditional package. I would love to have such package if my in laws side are not so traditional ppl. I'm getting my full mth package from Choz, which I got for my No.1, cos feedback from relatives were great. At least the packaging is not old fashion hahaha...

Jasmine,
Sorry sorry, make you blur... OCEAN is not selling bb stuff. It is a sundry shop, so you can beside buying bb bathing stuff there, you can get adults stuff as well. They also sell perfume, cosmetic etc. Definate worth going if you are stocking up for home use. The savings is a lot if you are buying for 1 to 2 mths usage lor. Some more, you can shop around Chinatown and People Park OG, advise last stop to be at OCEAN. If not things will be too heavy to carry around while shopping. Since you are going CC, just drop by OCEAN. They are very close to each other. But do note CC does not open on Sun. Operating hrs is Mon to Sat, 1.30pm to 8pm.
Not really, still will need S size but won't stay long like NB lor. Thats why I said use 3/4 pack of diapers then buy new pack, in case bb oversize. But for NB size, one day can use up to 8 to 12 pcs, depends on bb's poo. So if you wanna stock up, I advise you stock a few pack of NB (approximate 200 pcs will do). I used about 5 to 6 packs of Pampers Premium Cotton Care (36 pcs x 6) before I upgraded to S size.

The gathering must be fun and funny to see all preggies hahaha...

Hi MTBs,

thks for all your concern. I'm back at my own house since my hb is back. I think I will give the past few days postings a miss, too much.
Me is ok now, only lips still a bit numb (as I bit them), my bb has been actively kicking for the past few days, she must be wondering why mummy is eating,sleeping & watching TV only. Actually, I'm very glad that bb is actively kicking me, if anything happens, I will definitely not forgive myself.

The gathering must be fun, selina, do update us with the fotos when it's ready!
For us, Punggol mummies, we can do meet up at Punggol Plaza too!

aspialle,
this forum dun allow the ticker to auto upload. so each time u wanna upload, gotta go to the webbie, select the design u wan, input ur EDD, save ur ticker into ur PC and then upload as an attachment here. try it out!

bbgrace,
i was thinking to buy both drapolene & desitin. necc anot huh?
btw we muz apply on bb each time we chg diapers?

oh if i am getting desitin, it shld b the creamy version at 10% rite? Jenny mentioned 40% is for treating rather serious rashes.

yah i think gotta trial and wrror which brand to use on my baby. cant decide now. will get small pkt and try when bb arrives, i guess.

Jenny,
Thks 4 helping to order. Hmmm, the eclairs really tasted gd. luckily managed to squeeze all into fridge! din hv a chance to play wif ur gal...

oh u think i shld buy the diaper cream when necc? think i will buy a tube 1st lah. i am 1st time mummy, sure hands like legs if my baby kena.

aiyah we pay 4 the packaging mah. nice as a gift mah. of coz the older folks will think its boh hua one.

how was the gathering yest? how many came? so anyone posting the pix here to show us who is who?
i am sure u all r the ctr of attraction yest, a grp of preggies leh!
its a rare sight, unless u r in hospital lor.

crystallized,
Wah, so fast you reach home and start posting!
My gal cranky just now, not in good mood. She just fell from the sofa right on her face cos Daddy was busy eating his pao, while I'm bathing.
Usually if is my hb changing the diaper, he will apply drapolene every time he changes. For me, I on and off. But nite time before sleep (cos 1 diaper thr out the whole nite) and early morning after bath, I will definately apply.

crystallized,
Oh I mean for Desitin, buy when you need. You should buy Drapolene or any diaper cream that you have in mind first.

crystallized,
when bb was younger, i use diaper cream each time i change diaper. The diaper cream acts as a barrier to wetness which will cause rash.
My bb a lot of input and output, so it's better this to apply each time. i r'ber that there was once on a 13 hr flight, i din apply diaper cream after his diaper change and his bum was red after that.
Actually the desitin creamy has 10% zinc oxide. Diaper cream with zinc oxide is the one that acts as a barrier to wetness.
i don't think drapolene has zinc oxide or very little, hence it's very mild. I actually found alternative uses for my drapolene cream - apply them on my tummy before the massage lady puts on the wrap. haha!
i think no harm standby a tube of desitin first, esp since the creamy one can only get from hospital pharmacy or BP here. you wouldn't want to wait till bb kenna more serious rash and then purposely make a trip down to the hospital to get it. A 2 oz tube at the hospital is about $13+ whereas the BP here is about $9 per tube.

Jenny
oh i posted while hb bathed mah. hehe

Oh ur gal fell ah? i thot she was sleepy and dun wan to play so better dun disturb in case she whole nite dun wanna sleep, then i am the baddie liao. keke

hmmmm, aft hearing wat u & bbgrace said, think i get drapolene and desitin lah. managed to get contact 4 the desitin liao.

bbgrace,
wah ur drapolene can use on tummy b4 massage ah? GREAT idea! heee, coz i got rather sensitive skin oso.

I was back home, went for the rehearsal preview of the national day parade at kallang stadium.
this yr is the last yr at kallang already.
very very tired, but enjoy myself.
ysterday stay overnight at my friend house during house warming.
I must enjoy myself cos may not be so freedom after giving birth.

Really enjoy the preggie meetup on Friday. Hee... So funnie when so many ppl staring at our tummies when we walked out one by one from the cafe.
We should organise another one and get more of you join us...

LACTACYD
========
I saw the Lactacyd at Guardian selling $19.90 for 2 big bottles plus 1 small portable one.
But I guess Ocean is still cheaper lor.
So just fyi.

DRYING RACK
===========
After getting suggestions from a hairdresser thru my mum, I went carrefour to find the drying rack. They do have quite a few models. We like the one that is vertical stand with 3 layers from the top down. Cost $39.90. The hangers are plastic and the pole is steel so wun rust, so should be quite alright. As usual, my hb dun want to buy now so cannot post any pix now. But those who are looking for drying rack, think carrefour might be the place to look. FYI.

Hi MTBS,
finally finished reading all the posts from wed til today..

My friend's colleague also had the same umbilicord accident. She was in pain at the office and called for an ambulance. The ambulance came after some time and it was too late by the time she reached the hospital.. She was also due soon..

The gathering was really enjoyable huh? Haha.. can't imagine preggie mummies parading.. so cute! Hope to join you gals at the next gathering.

I went for my gynae checkup while u gals were busy chatting at Cafe Cartel. My baby is now 843g at week 25. At first gynae said 1kg, abit overweight. I said cannot be lah! 1month ago only 403g. Den he did another measurement and said 843g. Heng ah..

Jenny, Bunny, Selina,
Dr Ang tried to do a 3D scan for me. And like you gals, also can't see properly. So didn't get a pic. So envy Selina! Can see Caleb so clearly! I also like your mum, do find him smiling leh.

DISPOSABLE PANTIES
===================
Just went to the JL sales today. Found the disposable panties I liked. They are cotton ones so definitely better than those paper type, should be able to hold pads during confinement. Brand is Impression. I was quite surprised that there are cotton disposable panties... I thot only have paper type. A bit mountain tortise... hee...The quality is better than Sorella. Those who haven buy yet may want to go take a look.
Anyway, it is $4.50 for a pack of 5. Coz I have robinson card, got 20% storewide + 5% rebate. Quite worth it. FYI.

Ladies, I've got the one pic we took downloaded to my computer at home, but have not figure out how to correct the red-eye, might just hv to send it out without correction, did not adjust the setting that night, was in a rush. Will try to send it out to you ladies tonite and whoever know how to post it, please help as I can never downsize it enough to be posted here.

been getting so tired recently and yet can't sleep at nite. Now a zombie.

Wendy, can give me the contact for the Destini cream too?

Vivian, think I'll go get more disposalble panties, only bought 5 from sorella, but actually the quality also not babd, but since you say Robinson better, I'll go check it out.

hi morning gals
so happy today cos italy win the worldcup!!!
i bought a mobile tv, there is a coupon, i tick italy wins, so i can get refund of the amt of $$ spent

Hipbone pain, can't walk liao, I am on mc for a week.
somemore hb setoff this morn to Japan
I cried ytd night before I sleep till this morn feel 'gong gong'

you can also actually get the disposable panties that Vivian has mentioned from Kiddy palace @ the same price $4.50.
Was using that after i've delivered. if kena stained a bit, still can reuse by washing.
hehe...juz saw some of these in my store yesterday while i was digging out stuff to see wat else i need to buy

Disposable diapers
NTUC having a promo on Pampers NB sze , 2 for 29+, gd time to buy. Usual price is $15.40 for 36pc/pack. bot 2 packs last wkend.

i rem after using up the NB sz diapers on my #1, she was born small, abt 2.8kg, i started Drypers S size on her, it was quite big, used S for quite a wHile, can't rem how long before switching to M.
Right now, she's using EQ dry for daytime, its cutting is quite big. like wat jenny/babygrace has mentioned, it all depends on the cutting of the diapers lor
some diapers, M sz ok, but other brand, M sz might be a bit tight ard the thigh areas, so got to get a pack to try out.

Wtan,
Did u went for the fri gathering?

It was really hot during the preview of the ndp.
Gurmit was the host, pan jiali, weilian was singing and performance was special, with dancers attached to a very huge balloon performing high in the air.
The fireworks are not as great as last year, but also good.