(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

selina
i v lousy, cant make out my boy is kicking or punching or wat. hahahahaa...
at least u r better. same lah, i oso felt him doing the same movements continously for at least 5, 10 mins. then i kept stroking and touching him, hoping to reassure him in case he is in distress or sthg.

crystallized,
i also guess want lah cos i know his position now... so if i feel anything below belly, i will assume is his hands at the head area lor
if above my belly button than i will assume it's his legs working lor... looks like now his legs is actively moving. my tummy really feel like exploding liao how....

bunny, mummyjoy,
yah the kicks are getting stronger by the day man... now even his normal move n kicks n get me jumping off my seat. think pple dunno see me will think i hidcup or wat...

selina/ crystallized, my boy kicks me morning ard 8a.m continuously, can be more than 30mins..will stop once I get off bed, do you think he is hungry for bf? Don't know who told me BB will get sufficient supplies even if we take meal late. He also kicks like that ard 8pm when I watch TV or DVD etc, my hb say maybe he is reacting to the sounds from the TV. The rest are all gentle kicks throughout the day. So it is true that they get hyper when mummy eat sweet stuff, I ate durain the other day and found he quite active too. I sometime feel kicking on both sides, first on the right next to the belly button and 2nd time on the left below the belly button, must be BB kicking with legs and moving his hand, did you have the smtg similar?

BBgrace, u delivered your 1st BB at Mt A? can share what items they bundle in for you to bring home? Will BB gets a new shirt to wear home?

Selina,
i oso roughly noe my boy's position, but i wonder issit coz he trying to turn now, so thats why his movements at different areas tdy. hahaha, yah sometimes i oso feel my tummy like gg to burst if he kicks some more!
dunno if u experienced it yet, a few times while i was reading BFG bk (not reading 2 baby) he actually kicked hard until my book jumped! (din fly off lah) i found it so funny!

then sometimes dunno wat position he is or he using his legs or hands, it actually sort of tickled my belly button and i end up laffing and telling my hb the baby is tickling me! my hb din believe it was so ticklish.

so i def can understd wat u mean when u said u suddenly will jump off ur seat! hahahaha
i usually end up laffing suddenly when he tickles me. but its usually at home when he does tt, so only my hb will turn and look at me, asking "wat u laffing?"

mummyjoy
i dun think i can tahan if my bb so active for 30 mins! thats quite long leh. usually he kicks for less than 5 mins, but at different times of the day. as long as he moves, i am ok.

sometimes i experienced kicks at the sides, but quite rare. usually only when i lie on my side.

crystallized,
so far nv experienced tickles b4. think my boy not fond of tickling. only kicking, violent ones too...

i feel my tummy exploding even when he is quiet leh. like just now go buy lunch can hardly walk. felt so heavy suddenly. was ok in the morning leh. very strange lor. how i wish i have a monitor attached to me n bb so i can c wat he's up to everytime i feel strange cos now like guessing here n there only... can b quite annoying at times lor...

Hi Bunny

Who is your gynae? My previous gynae also asked me to monitor my boy's movement at least 10 kicks per day. He was Dr Gordon Lim from Gleneagles.

Hi MummyToBabyCaleb

Oh I see.

Did you know that he wrote a book on "Nine months and counting"? Did you buy? I bought 1 from him when I was expecting my 1st child.

Its a very useful book till now I still refer to it even though I am not using him this time round.

MummyToBabyCaleb

My son was born with hole in the heart. Therefore when I was planning for a 2nd one, I asked my son's surgon Dr Sriram Shankar to recommend me a good gynae. He recommend me Dr Tony Tan Yew Teck from Maternal Fetal Medicine
at KKH.

Therefore, I have been using him.

Best regards

Rhys has been active in me recently lah, but the weird thing is that his kicks are not stronger leh... more like rubbing his hands or legs against my tummy. Can feel it lor but not those strong and hard kicks.. I am a bit worried actually. Sometimes will suddenly start patting my tummy to ask him to give me some kicks...
No choice got to wait for tomolo's scan liao... hopefully everything ok.

On top of that, I having piles liao... sigh... think might be serious... have to ask gynae tomolo how... still got gluclose test tomolo... think tonight very difficult to sleep liao...

Hi mmummyjoy,
I have just asked my friend who has just given birth in Mt.A. She say Mt. A dun provide clothes whatsoever for the bb. Only 1 bath tub, 1 pack of pampers, 1 pack of wet wipes and the most 2 bottle of milk. So we need to bring clothes etc for bb ourselves...

my baby is also very active kicking me since last 2weeks and baby will moves all the way up till I feel very hard on my belly area.
I can feel it moves saide to side by rubbing hard sometimes.
Maybe this is the times we feels baby the most

Different gynaes different advice i think. Mine din ask me to count yet. She juz said as long as there is movements daily and the frequency dun differ greatly, its ok.
the counting part comes later, i think fr 32 wks onwards.

Wei Kuan
yah think no need lah. dun stock up so many things. later end up no use.

So far, from the postings, it seems that most of you are already buying things to prepare for the baby except me.

I will most probably wait till next month when I am 28 weeks to get the things.

crystallized, ya, quite long hor but my bb kick like got pattern one..once in few sec continuously...he is still gentle so can still tahan lah but I wonder if he is hungry or uncomfortable when I lying on left side.

Vivian, dun be worried, think Rhys is a good boy, already dote on mummy with the gentle kicks. I am also trying to figure my boy's kicking pattern. TQ for the Mt.A info.

2nd time mummies
is there a diff b/w using cotton pads and those big rolled cotton tubes one tt u can pinch in watever shape/size u need?

Vivian
u got constipation so developed into piles? drink more water. i was so scared i drink alot of water and eat sweet potato so i wun hv this problem. some piles r quite mild, so might go away on its own if not tt serious. yah, best to check wif ur gynae tmrw. dun worry so much.

mummyjoy
its quite easy to find out which side our baby dun like. kekeke
he dun like me lying on sides oso.

Super busy day. Still at work. No time to log in just now.

Vivian, my bb's kick sometimes get gentle, then turn harder. So I suspect on certain day she might be turned inwards thus i can't feel the kick as hard as days when she's kicking outwards. So I guess as long as there's kicks, should be fine. On certain days she get so quiet, I'm worried too. Wish I hv the ultra sound machine at home to monitor her...

vivian,
dun worry ok everything will be fine wtih Rhys. prob he is growing bigger n have less space to move so his kicks no longer so obvious. or prob he is in a position same as my boy, facing inwards, so u cant really feel the kicks like in the past.

Vivian,
I had serious piles too. Put ointment also no use. But it went off after some time. eat more fibre like hi-fibre bread, oats etc. Ask your gynae for advice ba.

Crystallized,
my baby too! Sometimes if i turn sideway, she'll protest and start kicking. But she likes it when i lie flat with my legs tilt up with pillow wor. It's not a good position right? How ah..U sleep flat too??

Found a way to make sure my baby is kicking when she's too quiet. I just got a new hp and the ringtone is Twinkle Twinkle little star. I put on very low sound and put on my tummy. After about 1 min, baby will start to kick and can really see the hp shaking like vibration mode
. Bad mummy hor? But at least i know she's ok lor.

Selina,
ya hor. I haven tot of that! Facing inwards so the kicks not so strong.. But sometimes i feel she kicking my bladder. Makes me want to go pp.

Coral,
mayb u can try my hp method..
But make sure the sound is not too loud..

I read in the papers that Tom cruise bought that ultrasound machine when his wife was pregnant!

Janice, what I do is get hb to talk to her on my tummy and usually she start kicking too, but when hb not around, can't ask anyone to do that. Janice, maybe the hp method not very good leh, not sure if radiation fm hp can be harmful...Ya, Tom Cruise can afford it. But heard that they're going to regulate this cos if handled wrongly, it might cause harm...

Coral,
oh..i forgot about the radiation thingy...
Ok.... i wun do that anymore.. Thanks for your reminder!!! THANKS!

Sometimes i just call her name and she'll kick also
. Every night I'll repeat her name before going to sleep. Hope she'll know that it's her name

True! SOme experts criticised Tom Cruize because he's not trained to handle lor. His belief in silent birth also abit weird.

Coral,
u can talk to your baby too! The documentary "In the Womb" said that baby can hear mummy's voice better than anyone else's because the sound wave travels differently due to the fact that the baby is inside u.

Janice, you're welcome. So nice can call your gal by her name. Me still calling her bb. Wish to give her a name soon. Hb say, else we'll just name her BB. I say Yucks!

Janice, I do talk to her, but dunno if it's bcos my voice calm her, she'll not move when I speak to her, only when her daddy ask her to move then she budge.

Coral,
HAHAHA! Your hb so funny! If call BB, mayb call bao bei better! U haven't shortlist any names? Mayb confirm angmoh name first lor.

Daddy's voice will be different to baby because men's voice is lower. Perhaps fair lor. You feel her kicks, while baby responds to Daddy's voice!

At least your hb will feel that he's involved with the bonding. Many Daddies dunno how to bond until baby's born because they dun feel baby's kicks or morning sickness etc.

Thanks again for reminding about the hp radiation..got to tell my hb too.. Feeling guilty now.

crystallized,
I qiao mah, cannot ah... haha... since got disposable cotton panty, then I wanna give it a try leh.
I think I bought 1 pack of the cotton swabs, inside got dunno 3 or 4 pack. I still got leftover, cos seldom use. I use it to clean ears, nose.
Need to go back to gynae 1 week after delivery for review lor. Gynae needs to ensure our wombs are clean clean mah.
My gal used Pampers Premium Cotton Care NB. No, can't fit into S size only 1 1/2 to 2 mths old. I think hor, for NB diapers, only Pampers Premium Cotton Care, Mamy Poko and Fitti got nia leh. The rest I can't remember got or not.
Those big rolled cotton not very good to use leh, the wool keep "coming" out...

Wei Kuan,
One will need the float only when her tear is very serious. Like for my case, I kena 3 tears and ouch, I can't go w/o float for one week! FYI, only ppl only got 1 tear. Mine is extreme case le.

mmummyjoy,
TMC will provide normal button top and short pants for bb when discharge. I believe no free things, so all these should be charged under the package one lah.
Float can be purchased at the pharmacy at TMC Level 1, think $10. I'm not sure if normal swimming float can tahan the adult weight hahaha...
I know Mt A got give a bathtub when discharge. Green in color, not sure got change color or not.

Checkup
======
Was away for checkup this PM. Ha, was when on my way to clinic, my gynae's nurse called to postpone appt cos my gynae went for delivery. Anyway, managed to see him and bb is fine and within good weight range.
I think is Janice or who asked me if I'm going for C-Section since my gynae sort of advise/warn me b4 due to my 1st pregnancy complications. I'm given a green light for natural birth by him. **Yeap**

hello im back
vivian, im going kkh for my checkup this thurs...but in morning. u having class at nite hor

hi mummyjoy
okie , gd to have ur mum with u,as my mum also coming over when my hb go for reservist
take care hor , i suffer the same pain as you, try not to walk a lot lor, if i walk too much its more painful

hi coral
dun overwork hor, busy but take a break when needed if not ur bb feel stress too :p

mmummyjoy,
Mt A will give a bath tub, no bb clothings for newborn. In the hospital bag, there is a freebie t-shirt meant for bb when he's older and also a receiving blanket but i used my own cos i dunno if it's clean or not. So you've got to prepare a set of clothes, mittens, booties, hat (optional) and blanket for discharge. During the stay in the hospital, they will provide a top for bb.

Yes, the cotton that i buy from Guardian is the facial cotton.

crystallized,
Good to hear that you are getting well-prepared for bfg. Don't worry too much about reading bb's signs, i'm sure u can tell after a while. And bb will recognise your smell after a while also cos the moment u carry him, he'll turn towards your breast and start to search for it with his mouth open. Very cute.

janice,
my doc told me tt when bb kicks while we sleeping on our sides not bcos they protesting but is due to more blood flowing to them so thet tend to b more active. initially i also thought my boy protesting but now i know it is not so i will lie on my side peacefully. no gd to lie flat.

Janice, we've shortlisted the names, now just waiting to confirm her gender on 22/7 checkup.

Jenny, congrats1 Hope you get to enjoy natural birth this time!

Aspialle, thank you, I'll try my best to take it easy. Busy week. Started work at 7:30am. Now gotta rush again.

These few days, I notice my boy is active ( wriggling, kicking) for various reasons.

1) When I am Having certain food.
2) When hubby singing song to him
3) When calling out his name
4) When I touch my tummy. Perhaps he recognise my warm palms.

Personally, I enjoy the wriggling and kicking.

:mad:

Janice,
i nvr hv a habit of sleeping on my back, and now i hv trained to sleep on left side, which is a more ideal position. yah, i find tt lying on my back wif feet propped up is the best. but i dun stay in the position for v long, say mayb 20-30 mins, then i will find another position liao.

oh sometimes i like to play the tunes fr my hp to stir my baby. but v rarely lah. nowadays i usually sing to him.

aiyah those superstars they so rich, they can afford to buy anything to monitor the pregnancy.

Jenny,
disposable panties no need to buy so many patterns rite? i nvr wore it b4 so will buy the one tt most recommended.

yah i think used to clean nose & ears only, 1 pack shld last quite long hor?

i standby Pampers NB 1st then see wat other daytime brands to explore.

So fast ur gynae give u green light 4 natural delivery liao? congrats!
wat he check ah? my gynae din say anything yet. i thot its too early to discuss. usually when will gynae do cervix check 4 us? u gals say painful one rite?

bbgrace,
yah i am keeping my options open. if i can afford to hv the baby in the same rm as me, all the better. but circumstances dun allow, i wun act like a spoilt kid lah.
oso depends on the mental state i am in aft delivery mah. kekeke

yah the antenatal class got teach us how to "attract" the baby towards our nipple. i cant wait to try it!
think i am now more excited abt BFG than anything else.

crystallized,
If you intend to wear the disposable panty during confinement, then you got to buy more lor. Since I bought q a few, I may wear them during confinement or for the 1st week where bleeding is heavy lor, or during my post natal massage.
Yeap, he said I can try for natural again this time. Though he advised me last time to opt for C-Section. No check lah, just that we discussed what happened during the last delivery and he came to the conclusion that I can try again this round. But of cos need to discuss again nearer to EDD lah. Gynae will do cervix test on week 36. OUCH, damn painful!!!

Janice, I agreed with coral, hp method no good lah, got radiation...I KSee till try not to put handbag with hp on my legs when sit down or usually ask hb to hold my hp so that it is not near BB.

Jenny, ya lor, no free things one lah, all bundle in the hospital pkg charges but need to know what are the items for packing the hospital bag. Huh...will get at least 1 tear during labor? The episiotomy cut doesn't help to widen the birth canel?

Aspialle, sob..sob..painful hipbone...TQ, I will. ya, luckily mum is here else I pai kah got to order ta bao everyday. Hey, r u the one with Tiger Magic pot? I just tried my and seems the lid doesn't cover 'totally', is this norm or my pot is faulty?

BBgrace, TQ for the MtA info.

Jenny
Yah i gotta stock up on the panties since i wanna wear it during confinement. Dun think i wanna ask the CL to wash my panties, esp when they r stained wif lochia. eeeee, i cant imagine.
i dun think i wanna waste time washing, might as well wear disposable ones.

Wat they do during cervix check ah? Put finger inside? For wat? Check if our cervix soften & dilate alrdy?

Btw which paediatrician u using 4 ur gal ah? I heard if we got any BFG prob, we can go to our paediatrician rite? hmmm, then i wan a lady one. i cant imagine a man checking my breasts. so damn uncomfortable.

mummyjoy, i used takahi pot, but the design is similiar. the glass lid is a bit "small", its normal cos the tink is more of like claypot mah. today i cooking black bean soup with chicken.u can put everyting in the cooker to cook in morning, then lunch u can have the nutritious soup with rice or porridge, then no need go out tabao loh
im staying alone too so i dun like to go out tabao, i have to take bus out v troublesome.The soup can be kept warm for dinner, 2 birds hit one stone hor

Jenny,
Ermm.. not me who asked u leh..Congratulations! Dr Ang said ok for natural birth! Hope i can too!

Is the post natal massage necessary?? Doesn't seem cheap and got to book early right?

How Dr Ang do the cervix test ah? U said he very chor lor..

Selina,
Thanks for telling me about why baby more active when we lie sideways. ok... still trying hard not to sleep flat..

Coral,
oh ya. last time u said bb shy so can't confirm? I went to cut my hair and the auntie told me she always can tell the bb's gender accurately by looking at preggie women. She said if mummy is uglier, round round everywhere eg. face, nose, body, bum --> it's a GIRL. If still look same or prettier, face, nose still looks the same, only tummy pop up --> it's a BOY. So far she claims 100% in accuracy. Hee hee..

U shortlisted both angmoh and chinese names? Got to calculate strokes??

Crystallized,
I always toss here and there and ended up lie flat on my back.. Bad..can't imagine 3rd trimester when our tummies get bigger and heavier.

Ya lor. Those rich ppl can even pay $ to put their baby into other women's tummy to give birth.

i saw 1 book. you can use finger to stroke the baby's cheek to "guide" baby towards the nipple where u want to breast feed.

i went to check my breasts and the doc is a man. Got a nurse there, so feel less awkward lor.

My friend went to check fallopian tube. Lagi worse. 4 ppl there..

mmummyjoy,
i still feeling guilty over the hp method.. so stupid of me, never tot of radiation. Read that
episiotomy cut is usually not necessary as cervix will tear by itself if the opening is small. Anyway, we have to rely on gynae to make decision when the time comes.

aspialle, oic...I tot my pot is faulty and can't close properly. ya, I bot the magic pot for my mum to make soup for me
Still hv your soup receipe and will buy the ingredient to try
ya, will get sick of outside food..oh, my memory fail liao, how come u chose to be SAHM?

hi janice
dun tink uglier is gal leh....i turned uglier too but mine is a boy........... :p got pimples sometimes...my frd delivered in july also says her skin not as good when she has this boy.

janice, I heard tear easiler to recover or was it epi cut that is easiler to recover *blur liao* will check with my gynae on it. I saw from book, for normal cervical test, they will apply jelly at the viginal opening, insert an equipment to enlarge the opening for gynae to put 2 fingers or hand in to check. My fren told me during labor, the mid-wife will check several times with bare hands in gloves. She say it is so painful that she scolded the mid-wife for being so chor lor.