(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

crsytallised, food is very important leh, especially for working Mums.

Wei Kuan, I think the ingredients different.

coral,
ha, wat a good name you called it (chinese milo).

crystallized,
Bo pian lor, I also dun like confinement food and there's lot of stuff I dun eat one lor. Like pig liver, intestine etc. I also dun like fish.
I tell you hor, I dun care one, I drink water as well during confinement. Just ensure you are drinking warm water can le.

Wei Kuan,
DOM and Yomeshu are different. DOM is more for confinement women. Tonics are different also.

coral,
as long as u think u r well-informed and got frens ard to guide u, then its gd enuff.

i think rice wine is ok, not as strong as DOM. as long as u allow 2 hrs prior to BF. u got sweet tooth ah? i dun used to hv it but these few wks i crave alot 4 sweet stuff. dunno taste bud will chg aft delivery oso.

i think we can fit into our pre-preg panties coz mostly low waist and its stretchable. so unless increase alot at the bottom, else not much prob lah.

Jenny
me oso dun like wat pig, liver intestine and those wat pig trotters wif vinegar. yucks! but i will try my best since its gd 4 me. i noe need to eat alot of fish 4 milk supply lah. right now i still dun like fish. i think my boy dun like coz i used to love fish alot!

hehe, u this mummy, dun care abt alot of rules hor?

think last time, someone mentioned the alcohol content in DOM & yomeishu differs alot. thats why price is v diff oso.

Hehehe, feedback on this restaurant as promised...

Ju Shin Jung Korean BBQ
27 West Coast Highway #01-18/19 YESS Centre 1F S117867 Map
Tel 64640872
Lunch 12pm-2:30pm, Dinner 6pm-11pm, Open year round

Restaurant ok but seats not comfy for preggy lor...no place to tuck in the legs. There is a playgrd, gd for those with kids. Grill set range from $25-35 per 250g, 6 of us each can gets 3-4pcs from the 250g. I like strong taste ever since after preggy so find the marinated rib, sirloin nice, my fren like those not marinated. Chicken and pork very soft too. We hv tried the BBQ mushroom, ya, the stone rice $14, can share 3pax, hv also ordered Ginseng Chicken soup(not fantansic cos' can't taste the ginseng!) and spicy tofu soup. Seafood only have tiger prawns, no squid etc. Was disappointed with the seafood pancake$20 cos' I have tasted really nice ones overseas. Btw, who was asking for spicy nian gao, don't have this dish there.

Went with frens, total 6pax, ordered 3 type of beef grill, 1 chicken, 3 pork, tiger prawn grill plus rice, soup, pancake, mushrm and other stuff = $350+ (ard $60per pax). If u gg with hb only, will get sets of refillable cold side dishes (kimchi etc)if you order 2 sets type of grill set(pork,chicken,beef,prawn). Free flow of cold ice water and tea with pax charge. Will get smelly cos' they don't have the vacuum pipe. My fren say food taste better than the center point crystal jade(i hvn't try) which is slight more ex.

any reco on food !!
===================

hehehe, thinking of what's next
use to like 10 course chinese food but cannot take cold dishes and sharkfin. Jap food also sianz cos' cannot take sashimi
Western food cannot take beef cos' not nice if welldone
Can we take thai food huh,I like spicy but worried...sometime go to restaurant with hb then realise i can't eat a lot of the usual stuff I like...sob..sob...any other reco?

coral
paiseh....here's a blur mum

yah abt DOM , my MIL ask me to stock up for confinement but during the class, they tell us not to drink mah rite...although if we use for cooking will evaporate but im v sensitive to alcohol loh...duno how

coral,
yah i also don't like the name Dengfu and Poshgrove. after owning one place, you know what to look for in the next place. i'm also very particular about facing, direction, ventilation, space utilisation, amenities, transport etc. I've seen some units that i like but it's west facing which is definitely a no-no for me.
Glad that you've found your dream place. i'm still waiting for mine.

crystallized,
having good food around the place is a bonus

anyway, i love confinement food! Must eat and drink more soup to keep up with milk supply.
i'm also a water barrel so i still continued to plain warm water during confinement in addition to the red date water. You'll need lots of fluid for bfg and some say that drinking a glass of warm water before nursing helps with the supply.

crystallized,
I have never like fish before or after preggie. My worst time of life so far, was eating fish during confinement till I hear the word fish, I wanna vomit. My CL every meal also got fish till I told her to STOP.
Err... I just make sure I happy, watever rules I dun care one lah. I even bath at 10pm on the day I discharge from hospital after delivery.
I'm the one who mentioned the alcohol content. DOM is 40% while Yomeishu is 14%.

Swiss roll & eclair
===================

Mummyjoy, i only wanted to buy a few to try lah. initially wanted to tag along with Jenny's order for 1 ctn of eclairs since she only take orders per ctns and oso eclairs can keep. but later she say she can't take in any more orders liao, so i drop my order lor. din intend to buy the swiss roll in ctn cos feedback frm Jenny is so so only, thou wanted very much to try... ltr she inform me abt the BP, so i join them lor... at least no need to order the whole ctn. tot if nice can order 1 ctn of each for bb's full mth celebration.

Baby wipes
==========

i tried tollyjoy, J&J, Kodomo and pigeon brands. i personally prefers pigeon wipes more... like wat most of u say, its 1 hand operation. oso bcos it's not so wet/soapy and the material is not so thick/rough.

Kodomo baby wipes
==================

went to marina sq for lunch juz nw. saw watsons selling the kodomo baby wipes (70 pcs) for $1.95/pkt and buy 10 free 1.

Chicken essence
================

i took 1 bottle every morning for my 1st confinement. i oso don like DOM and the wine cause rashes for me, so MIL insist i take chicken essence.

Jenny, is the yu ren sheng 1 thick in taste? i see the color not as black as the brands one leh. i quite like the brands taste, if the yu ren sheng ones taste similar, den i oso want to go n stock up liao.

Pigeon detergent powder
=======================

i bot 3 pkts frm NTUC at civic centre for $6 each oso leh. tat was abt 2 wks ago, dunno now stil on promo anot.

3D scan
=======

Selina, ur bb very chubby leh and the scan so clear. like what Jenny say, Dr Ang oso did 3D scan for us but not so clear 1. my last visit on 21 june din manage to get a clear view of the 3D scan cos bb's hand was covering the face, but the 1 earlier manage to get a pic wic look like alien, tat was ard wk 20. hopefully, nex visit bb will be cooperative n show us her face.

bbgrace,
heng u like confinement food leh. for pple like me & Jenny, its a CHORE to eat such food!
how to make myself like it huh? i think cannot lor. die. yah i noe fluid intake is v impt to keep up supply. now i dun like fish, i wonder will i hv enuff milk then?

Jenny,
then i am better lah. pre-preg i love fish. can eat fish anytime. love steamed fish alot. early preg, i see fish, i will vomit. eat alrdy, sure merlion out. now its a bit better but i still cant resume back my pre-preg appetite for fish.

no one ctrl u at home rite? at home, i got my MIL to watch over me. i cant anyhow do the style i wan leh. but i think i will still break some rules along the way.

Vivian, can't remember how I get my robinson card, how to apply huh? My fren been asking me but I haben check for her=P

Wtan, Thks, didn't know can get rebate too in Robinson for the small items, will check it out

Bunny, oictot u have ordered 1ctn each. Wow, like all votes for pigeon wipes, dropping my idea of having the tollyjoy round container which actually looks easlier to manage.

Milk?
=====

I have been taking Enfamama and anmum, the enfamama is high in folic, calcium, iron and added DHA which I am already taking from my supplements. Can share if any other brands of milk is good for us? Hope can hear from our experience 2nd time MM

wei kuan,
sorry.

DOM+Milo
========
wow! what an adventurous combination. i wouldnt wanna try it. dun wanna spoil my love for milo...

there's another type called Hui Ji Bu Yao Jin. not sure if same as DOM & Yomeishu but my mum taking it now

babygrace, hope you'll find yours soon. I'm keeping my fingers crossed abt mine.

Crystallised, guess our taste bud change from time to time now dur to hormonal changes...

Selina, Hui Ji Bu Yao Jin is non-alcoholic and also vegetarian. Saw the advertisement before.

Confinement food
================

wow... i love those confinement food esp pig's trotter wif vinegar, sesame oil chicken wif ginger soup, steam threadfin n cod fish, fish tail and green papaya soup... yum yum...

can try warm milk or milo b4 bfg if u don drink plain water. my massage lady told me if drink plain water, the tummy very difficult to go down 1... so i very vain, cant imagine my tummy big big so i refrain myself frm plain water for 40 days. only drink warm milk and milo on top of the red dates water.

btw, some1 mention make black bean, ginger and brown rice drink to reduce water retention during preggie... do we dry fry the 3 together den pour hot water over them and drink or boil wif water aft frying?

Hi mmummyjoy,
The Robinson card is a OCBC-VISA credit card. You can get the form from any Robinson store (at cashier). So just apply like any credit card lor.

bunny,
yah. my boy very chubby looking hor. my mum say got layers. as if she can really see so clearly. somemore she say next time very cheery boy cos he smiling. i see left see right also cannot tell he smiling or not. dunno how my mum can tell... strange...

mummyjoy,
tks for the feedback. will get more pple to go so can try more things. i really wanna try. as for food recommendation, guess i'm the worst at it so wont say much but i've been eating spicy food ever since my MS stopped cos i love spicy food. thai mango salad is my favourite since dunno when... have had thai food twice so dun think it is bad lah... remember, in moderation.

confinement food
================
i eat almost everything so i guess i wont have prob with confinement food bah.

bb moving
=========
think my boy turning his head or wat. my lower ab so tight now... it's making me feel so uncomfortable... doc warned me that though now bb's movements feels ticklish to me but will soon become painful wor...

mummyjoy,
i have a free tin of frisomum but so far i only took once. dun really like full cream milk powder. only taking my HL milk after morning. if i take the frisomum, i must mix wif milo cos i hate vanilla full cream milk... **yucks** i added milo + oatmeal for supper... that is if i remember...

Bunny, I also vain like you for the sake of flat tummy I aos did not touch plain water. I pour hot water into the black beans, giner, brown rice and drink the water. taste just like plain water lor, Just very troublesome. Even for making Milo, I'll only use this water. Very vain hor. But my tummy manage to flatten in less than 2 mths the last time though I put on 12kg and ate alot during confinement. So this time i think I'll do the same. Just got to trouble my mum to fry those for me.

Bunny,
I tried once for the Yu Ren Sheng during my last confinement. It taste like New Moon. Brands seems to be thicker.

crystallized,
Ya, no one control me at home. Not even my hb haha... Anyway hor, my MIL can't control me also. I only listen to my mum nia :p

mmummyjoy,
Dun get Tollyjoy wipes. Very soapy! I used it to wipe bird shit on car instead.
I dun drink milk, so can't comment.

MILO + DOM
Aiyo, I din try this b4. But the aunties at my workplace were saying how nice it taste. Weird hor?

hi selina...yah..now me at 27wks...last sat, my BB mischievously gave me a super big kick that i have to stood there for a few mins and rest awhile, cos it's not like normal bubble-like kicks anymore...it's more painful... anyway, ur boy looks cute on the 3D ya!...

Worr...me also neber tried milo + dom...sounds strange to me leh... :p

Hi Coral,

thanks. so did u fry those things n keep them den when u 1 2 drink water juz add the hot water into them or u fry them as n when u 1 2 drink?

Hi Jenny,

Thanks. mayb i go buy 1 box n try 1 bottle tmr 1st, if i like the taste, den go back n buy more. btw, u were saying the roadshow only till tis sat ar??

Bunny, my mum fry them and keep them in air-tight container for me. That time she fried a big bottle which lasted me 30 days. I'll add a spoonful to a small thermal flask and pour hot water and let the contents simmer for a while before drinking as plain water or to make Milo.

Hi Coral,

oic... btw, do u hv to grind the 3 ingredients into powder form n fry the mixture or can juz fry the whole thing den keep it w/o grinding?

Vivian, hehehe, cant remember its manual application, I tot can get the application link from you to give it to my fren

Selina, so nice, granny can see Celeb smiling on the scan pix
hehehe, dun mentioned, actually hb wanted to bring me alone to try but our frens interested so all went together. The grill goes by 250g so it is fixed,the others dishes we got enough to go ard tbl and like every plate 1-2pcs left, I wonder if they will just give u smaller portion of pancake if only 2pax. Its true that more people can try more dishes
hey, I like Thai food too but dare not take now cos KSee. The mango salad in YhingThai@purvis is good. Amara hotel also serve good thai food, I find padifield so so only. Oic, frisomum, heard good for constipation lei..I go look what it contain.

Coral, bunny, so cant touch plain water at all? Wow, can make tummy flat so all worthwhile.

Jenny, u dont drink milk at all for your 1st gal? I lactose intolerance but still try to drink lor since everyone say milk good for BB, I wonder if ok not to take milk. Ya, decided to get Pigeon since so many gd feedback.

Hi hi crystallized..
No lah..i got the liquid one from Ocean..very worth leh..i guess for a start to try out..then maybe I will buy the powder form later bawow..so envy u, wearing pre-pregnancy undies ahh..me cant fit in liao..but never mind..aft give birth then think..haha..i guess its impt to read up on BFg..gd also..me better try to find some time to read up soon..haha..

Hi hi coral..
Me too..i can take rice wine..since my mum made them as & when..so I can get to eat them even b4 preggy..esp the residue, my mum used them to cook chicken as well..wowcool man..even my hubby also love them..

Hi hi mummyjoy..
I think shd be able to get rebate on anything ba from JL..if nt, like very lugi, right?i think they based on total amt ba..correct me if I m wrong ahh..

mummyjoy, I'm not sure lah, but will do anything to get back a flat tummy. Since massage lady and the taiwanese and my aunties said so. Hehe, vainpot.

Wendy, I aslo eat rice wine chicken since young so very use to the taste laio. Yummy!

hi hi coral...
ya..it's very nice lor..my hubby can finish the half chicken by himself leh..i m so impressed..haha..but i guess maybe aft my confinement..he might not want to touch that dish for a while...lol..
457288.gif

bunny
huh? serious ah? plain water makes our tummy hard to go down? aiyoh... then i "seh" leh! i love water... cant drink during confinement? oh no...

Selina
i oso love spicy food since morinig sickness is gone. but i try to eat in moderation.

jenny
i am not sure if my MIL can ctrl me, but i suspect not! kekeke
juz wan to respect her, so wun do it so blatantly lor, do behind her back.

coral
wat zu chuan mi fang is that? hehe
but so many things mixed tog still taste like plain water? wow!

wendy
hehehehehehehee
where u find this cute old granny and grandpa dancing? so cute!!!!

did u gain a lot at ur hips? 4 me, i think a few inches but my panties can still fit me. good lah, else i cant imagine wearing maternity ones tt covers my tummy and cant match my pants.

crystallised, not zu chuan mi fang lah, last time my mum also never drinbk this leh. Only when my cousins preg and my aunt taught my mum. But the beans and all fry dry without oil in wok, so tasteless mah. No seasoning or anything added.

Bunny,
Yes, the roadshow at Causeway Point ends this Sat. If you are not working, suggest you go in the morning when there is stock coming in. I went yesterday after work, around 6.30pm+, out of stock already. Overall, I find it not bad lah.

mmummyjoy,
Ya, all along I dun take milk. Even when preggie with my gal. I only took Yakult.

crystallized,
Normal temperature water will make us puffy, water retention if one drinks too much during confinement. So, if you really want to drink water, you have to drink warm water.

crystallized,
i think it depends on individual whether drinking water makes stomach bloated.
i drink lots of warm water but still i can fit into my pre-pregnancy jeans by the 3rd mth.
i think it's the bfg that makes my stomach go flat

If you don't like fish, try drinking lots of soup. My CL swears by black bean soup to increase milk supply.

Morning gals,
My friends told me that a mum in Jul thread lost her bb at week 36 3 days ago. It was due to umbilical cord accident. Felt so sad upon hearing this, cos she's going to due anytime

Jenny & BBgrace,
oh warm water shld help to reduce puffiness? hmmm, noted.

then shld i start taking black bean soup now or during confinement? even then i oso hate black bean soup. eeeeee, juz pure black bean soup or added wif sthg else?

bbgrace,
u heng lah, so slim, so can fit in ur jeans by 3rd mth.

Jenny
so sad to hear abt the mum tt lost her baby due to umbilical cord accident.

to the gals mtg up tonite, happy mtg and keep us updated. snap a pix to show us if possible.

kao_love.gif

hi hi crystallized..
me gained weight almost everywhere man..where ever got skin to stretch..then will have fats growing there..haha..+ my body explore very fast & also got water retention quite bad..frm today onwards, i will take more vegetables & lesser meat ba..u cant imagine how huge i have grown lor..but i was telling myself..wait till i give birth then lose weight la..hehee..

hi hi coral..
ya..today i m very excited..hehe..hubby was telling me that can he come over to take a glance at all the preggy women..coz he really cant imagine all preggy women meeting up for a meal lor..haha..he's so excited also..even told my MIL abt it..LOL..

hi hi jenny..
ya..really a very sad new..sometimes i think it's fated lor..very hard to predict & prevent such accidents lor..if it's urs, it's urs..if not..maybe not fated lor..

hi hi jo..
City Hall Cafe Cartel..see ya tonight..cheers~

kao_love.gif

Ya gals, the news came so sad. Apparently, her gynae was on leave and another gynae was following up on her case. The bb seems to grow slow in her week 34, heartbeat was weak etc. The gynae advised her to take out the bb via c-section but she wanna wait till her gynae back from leave, I think. By week 36 during the checkup, gynae detected no more heartbeat. BB died inside
Think she was induced to birth the bb boy

wtan, think not all lah, offer items no more rebate right? Fixies sold there at what price? I super direction blur one lei...can tell me where is cafe cartel located? or can tell me which botiq nearest to it

coral, not vain lah, everyone here would want flat tummy back after birth
yo, can share the detail steps on how to prepare the drink for everyone's benefit

Yeah! See ya!

Jenny & BBgrace,
u all heard abt the disposable diapers brand like Nepia? I see some gals in the forum talking abt BP for this brand and they will deliver to ur hse for at least 1 ctn ordered.

Jenny
at wk 34, bb heartbeat alrdy weak? but if delivered at tt time, bb is prematured rite? bb died inside due to the heart failure or umbilical cord accident? v scary leh.

Selina
so fast ur gynae asked u to monitor baby's movements? my gynae said as long as baby moves everyday, no need to count how many times he move in a day yet. guess its the last 2 mths etc. dun get overly worried. keep a happy mind.
esp now when baby can respond to wat is gg on ard him.

OPPSSS! I juz rem i forgot to tell u abt the bfg bk. luckily i got write down in my notebk.

Its The Complete Book of Breastfeeding, the classic guide for every nursing mother by Marvin S. Eiger, Sally Wendkos Olds.