(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

I hvnt been following the thread for the past 2 weeks liao. my exams finally over last fri. back to work on monday... so many things to catch up... so no time to surf net yet.

anyway, i saw that u gals hv cfm the gathering on 7 July. too bad, i don think i can make it on tat day. u gals enjoy and keep me in the loop if there's other outing.

i tink some1 here is using topicrem. may i know wat is this for? can it be used to apply the private part to releive itchyness?

mummyjoy,
yes i do agree tt as long as everyone can get along well, benefits of staying tog is great. almost all my frens say my baby will b in gd hands when he is borned coz he will hv so much love & attention fr the family. and we can go out and not worry tt we gotta return by a certain time 4 our child since got family members at home. well, i guess its really true.

coral,
no worries.
i oso noe ur dilemma and unhappiness, and were in your shoes b4. thus i shared wif u watever ways i tried to make myself feel better w/o straining my r/s wif ILs family, and minimizing the times i had to complain to my hb abt my unhappiness, coz i noe he cant do much, and he will feel so sandwiched. there were times i cried to sleep thinking why do i hv to go thru all these. so u r not alone.

wah, crabs are banned liao?
thats v GOOD news! hehehe... happy 4 u.

selina,
wah ur FIL and SILs a bit too much lah. really no privacy. 4 us, no one will bang into our room juz like tt when the door is closed. i cant imagine wat biz does ur FIL hv in ur room tt he barges in like tt. goodness. i oso cant tolerate.

and ur SILs oso bu zi dong. luckily u alrdy shifted out, else think its easy to go crazy anytime.

thats why a lot of give & take staying together. need to understd each of us needs our privacy and space lor.

Jasmine,
yah i guess in order to love, we muz love unconditionally and i muz say i am not someone tt is easy to please or will give in easily. so its really alot of effort and time i had to put in, not to mention, lotsa patience too. but when i realised i can do it and i dun hv to get so agitated each time, i feel wonderful.
i am v stubborn as well lah, my hb cant tahan me at times but i noe he tries to make me feel better, and in return, i muz learn to love his family as much as he does. afterall, nxt time our child will look up to him as a model, and i really do wan my child to cultivate his gd manners and respect 4 the elders. i wan my child to b so filial to us as much as my hb is to his family and of coz to mine too.

yes, i oso do look fwd to our own world wif our children in future.

jasmine, wendy,
think cos my hb is youngest in the family n they so used to using his room to store their own things b4 we were married. so it is common practice for them to move in n out of the room without asking lor. it was really bad lor cos sometimes when hb out drinking wif friends n come home only like wee hours in the morning, i cannot sleep properly until he returns, lock the door lor cos my FIL always wake up in the mid of the night to find things to eat then some time happy happy he will open our room door to see, oso dunno see wat lor. mayb i'm so used to pple knocking b4 they enter, which is a practice at my own home last time.

i told hb abt it then i think he always hinted to them but still they nv get the hint or ignored it.

of course the gd thing abt staying wif ILs is i get home cook food everyday lor... that's practically all for me cos most of the time, i will stay in our room to watch TV n do my own stuff. i hardly spend time in the living room cos i really feel very out of place.

gemini,
1st lesson like wat aspialle says can read up on your own. i'm oso approaching 26 wks next wk so think we quite close.

vivian,
email you liao. plse check.

aiya...jz talk about car. now saw this news tat "taxi fares look likely to rise from as early as next mth. flag-down rate rise frm $2.40 to $2.50. surcharge for morning & evening peak hrs could b doubled to $2. jia lat lel....

crystallized,
i understand so when i staying wif them, i ren3 n ren3 n ren3 lor. though those incidents kept happening. everytime i angry wif my ILs, i will tell myself i will show black face to them but when i see them, i just cant do it lor. think cos i'm brought up to respect n not show black face n i also think of my hb, dun wan him to b sandwiched so i will still joke n chat wif them despite being very mad at them... so hyppcrite right... but guess as the saying goes "ren yi shifeng ping lang qing, tui yi bu hai kuo tian kong". if they cannot try to put themselves in my shoes, then i have to do it lor, otherwise sure WWIII...

Selina, wow, your case quiter bad hor. My hb won't allow pple to got onto our bed. So when my BIL & SIL come over, we make it clear, even my gf, sometimes she visit me want to sit on bed and chat I'll tell her no, the bed is meant for sleeping and must be kept clean. Since so many of you survived, I'm sure I can live thru my stay with inlaws too.

Wei Kuan, you got 50% from KKH? How come?

Hi all MTBs,
the thread here is super long, I didn't manage to finish reading all. Surprise to know that there is a gathering on 07 July but too bad I can't join...

Jenny,
I saw the thread on the BP of your Swiss roll, wow... woman, you bought 2 ctns...?? That mean you are having 336 pcs of swiss rolls!!! My friend told me yesterday about this BP, we actually wanted to order but then 1 favour for 1 ctn and if buy 2 ctn, then it's a bit too much for us. Anyway, pls give me your comment on the swiss rolls, I'm thinking to order them for my son's bday next month..

hi hi Wei Kuan..
go for it lah..esp since u have 50% discount leh..even more worth lor..i m sure it will be fruitful for u & hubby lor..

hi hi Selina..
no wonder they will enter in the room as & when they like to coz ur hubby is the youngest..but i think is a matter of respect lah..how can they not have any courtesy to even knock the door before coming in..but u very heng lor..just stay with them for 10mths only..at least u get home-cook food..me hor, even staying with my in-laws..also get to eat home-cook food once a wk like my SILs (hubby's 3 sisters)..so usually if my mum can cook our portion..then we will try to go back & eat lor..so funny hor..stay with in-laws but got to go back to my mum's place for dinner..haha..i guess usually in-laws will expect for us to get use to their living style instead of we both get used to each others' living style lor..

hi hi jasmine..
thks for summarising the details..coz i saw the headlines..but not time to read in details on the cab fare issue..thks..

coral,
every hsehold has its story so guess more confident for you now... we are resilient pple n i believe nothing is impossible for us if we try n put our effort to do it, like wat crystallized says. it mayb tough at first but think u will survive n do a gd job as a gd DIL. kampatei!!!!!

LittleKid,
I share with colleagues lah. I got 1 box of flavour each. Wanna share in the BP for sembawang, but haiz... dun wanna talk abt it le. If is good, I may order again, then maybe I check with you if you interested. Haha... if is good, and you are ordering, can I lobang or not?

Ok lah, logging off for today, me going to sleep... I've been waking up at 3am every nite and couldn't get back to sleep...

coral, i work in the healthcare line, so got discount, it just one of my friend working in kk saw me today and ask me want to join or not or else i never consider it al all.
still very confusing to join or not cos i want to sleep by 9pm already. i do not think hubby can join me every week, sometime he work quite late

Damn... boss called and want me to type a report to explain how come so many students fail an exam. Wah lao... student dun study what can we do... sigh... spolit all my mood liao....

Bunny,
I am the one using Topicrem. Basically it is a moisturiser. I used it when my skin is dry. Sometimes i have itch at my private part due to skin
dryness. So I use it there. But there is nothing medical in it. So if you thinking of using it to stop your itch, first find out what is causing the itch first.
If it is infection, then better to consult doctor first.

Selina,
thank you sweetie. Got your email.

Littlekid, I ordered the swiss roll with my colleagues b4 too. Everybody like it too. So feedback is good.

Vivian, being teacher quite jia lat hor. Pple don't want to study also your problem...

Hi gemini,

yalor... I also dun know what to say. We give tips to them, spot exam questions with them, go thru revisions with them liao, they still fail, I also dun know what to say leh. Sigh.. worse thing is that my boss dun understand... and keep asking me to give explaination. I give my explaination liao he still not satisfied... sigh....

Wei Kuan, I see. Actually the latter sessions should be useful lor. Like how to breathe during labour, how to breastfeed etc. But of course you can read from books too. I'm just afraid you might miss the important lessons. Last yr, I only get to attend the first few lessons, so when I went into labour, I actually used the breathing & pushing techniques I learnt from book and it actually helped me tolerate the labour pain and also helped me deliver smoothly on my own...

coral, i am the type read from the book also lazy to remmeber and sometime lazy and no time to read. but during labour, it is to painful that u will forget what on the book, is it true?

coral, i am the type read from the book also lazy to remmeber and sometime lazy and no time to read. but during labour, it is too painful that u will forget what on the book, is it true?

Hi Jenny,
so good that you can sleep, don't have to work today? I don't know why you wake up 3am but for me, I have been waking up around 3 or 4 am everyday since early June till now. Worse is that during this hour, the baby is very active, keep kicking me, I have to make myself a cup of milk or eat something then go back to sleep. By then when I'm about to sleep, my alarm will ring... it's time to go to work....

As for the swiss roll, we were told that the swiss roll can be kept in the freezer and kept for few weeks, anytime want to eat just take out and defrost it... is this true? Anyway, if I'm going to order, I will email you, you're welcome to join in but now, I will have to wait to hear the comment from you..

Take a good rest... bye...

Wei Kuan, so it's important to get the idea set into your mind and really focus on what to do when in pain and not concentrate on the pain. Next is to tell hb what you should do, so he can be there to remind you what to do when you forget.

Hi Coral,
thanks for the feedback but then 1 ctn for 1 favour (168 pcs) is too much, we hope to try all the 3 favour.. Which favour is more popular? Btw, can we give them to Muslims? heehee... just got this question from my friend? How is the packaging like when they delivered to you, are the rolls all frozen?

Littlekid, it comes in abt 42 rolls in a white box. The rolls are already thaw, so I wonder if it's good to froze them again for later consumption. I only keep mine in the fridge. I like all 3 flavours leh. The vanilla, chocolate and strawberry all very nice. Heard it's flown in from Holland, so not sure if they got Hala or not leh. Ya, too much to buy on ctn we share also.

Coral, saw the bum wear with my fren with 2kids and she straight away say blue fleece mat'l will be very hot and will qi mao leh and that we must wash the inserts+the blue cover else like not very hygenic lor...

Car
===
Don't think I can do w/o a car, don't buy so expensive car lah, buy normal type and can change new car every 3 yrs...SGP so small and we can hardly enjoy anything, somemore we worked so hard and should enjoy if can afford
All my slibings, close frens and colgs own cars so we go out like convoy, tat's y I worried abt parking in TMC...

Avent Disposable Nurser
=====================
Can't recalled who has asked...we can EBM directly into the milk bag(liner) by attaching the Avent breast pump to the Avent Disposable Nurser. The Disposable Nurser comes with clip to secure the milk bag to faciliate handling, storing and reheating but clips has to buy separately. Hope this helps.

Selina, me initially tot to buy 2 sterilizers also but frens say we just need to be careful for half a year cos' BB not so strong yet, later we just have to rinse with hot water before using bts...u might want to consider whether to get the 2nd. do we have to remove the bottles after sterilising or we can leave it in the sterilizer till we need to use?

Jenny, TQ for the info.

Weikuan, natal class so gd price at $60? Think mine at TMC cost $200+?

Mummyjoy, ya, of course got to wash both the insert and the diaper. The insert to be wash after abt 3-4 pee and the diaper to be wash after abt 3 change of insert. Of course if poo must wash everything immediately. I still need to see if mum or MIL willing to use this as they're the care givers.

mmummyjoy,
I have bought the bumwear too at the motherhood fair. But I never tried before lah...So cannot really comment on them.
Just wanted to give it a try and see if it can save us some money in long term. Plus after listening to all the good inputs (such as no nappy rashes etc) from experienced mummies who had used it... and basically they looked so CUTE, so I bought a few and hoped for the best lor... hee...

My mum seems ok with the idea and I also intending to use traditional cloth nappy and disposable pampers when needed to... so see how lah...

Car
====
my personal feel is singapore is small n we have a rather efficient public transport system so car is a 'good' to have luxury item.

steriliser
==========
i wont b getting a 2nd steriliser cos my mum's place has one from my sis so no need. as for ILs, will only visit them so wont need a steriliser lah.

wow, all the swiss roll talk makes me hungry, now I am enjoying the tea break hb prepared for me

Weikuan, with reasonable charges, think you should go, difficult in practice if self-read on bks, go for the practical lesson to make yourself more prepare, less fear when in labour.

I think car is a very personal thing lor. So can't live without some can do without. Think my hb will be too lazy to go anywhere without car, for me I'd rather take bus most of the time than drive the car. That time when we had 2cars at home I felt so pressurised to use the car. So I think as long as we're happy it's alrite to hv or not hv a car.

Think I ate too much today now indigestion.

Hi MTBs,

Anyone suffer from heartburn already? Mine happen quite suddenly, last sun. It will start around 3-4pm plus. Feeling very uncomfortable, like something boiling inside. I'm quite surprised to have heartburn cos I'm eating my normal stuff as usual.

Gemini, I had heartburn sometime before but now ok already. It happen bcos the muscle around the valve is more relax now so the acid can rush up again. (Something like tat...)

Wei Kuan, how come your lesson end so early? We started our lesson on 17 Jun but lesson end on 2 Sep. You start so late, but end alot earlier than us leh. You also taking in KKH?

On 1/7/06, Vivian, Aspialle, Selina and myself going for the lecture from 9am to 2pm.

Hi coral,

did u take anything to relieve the heartburn? Tried drinking warm water, after a while, it's still there. But strangely enough, yesterday and 2day seems ok already.

Car
Wah ladies, thanks so much for giving me so many feedback n ur opinions abt owning cars....think we may still purchase one. but will get a SUPER cheap 2nd hand one. we know of a reliable dealer, who's hb's fren in army. know that $$$ may b spent on servicing, but then i believe in power of prayer (me christian) so will pray everyday that car works and no need servicing! hee hee.

sterilizer
hey i was also thinking how ah? once bb born, do i nd 2 sterilizers? 1 at home n 1 at ILs plc? wah like that, v "chor" leh. i m purchasing a 2nd hand one fm one of the sellers on this website....only $55. looks v new some more.

saw something interesting last week in kiddy palace... I noticed that there are washable breastpads leh. Anyone used it before? better then disposables?

Gemini, I don't take anything special but hot water seems to make me feel better, not sure if it's just psychological. The antenatal class say lying on tummy is the best way to relieve but for our case now, lying on the side would be the 2nd best choice. Lying on our back will only worsen it.

my lesson start on 22/6, end on 17/8-total 9 lesson.
tomorrow i then start my lesson and the 22/6 will mark up a lesson for me on jul06.
is urs also 9 lesson?

Vivian, I had wanted to buy disposable but my fren told me it'll be inconvenient if using when outside cos you need to keep and bring home to wash if you change. So maybe can consider using for at home ba. I think should be similar as disposable, but can prob save some money...

Vivian, my mum say she will make the bean sprout pillows so I KIV first...ya, agreed, cute bum wear designs.

Coral, my fren say better wash both insert and diaper every pee lah else like not hygenic...think my fren pro disposable diapers...wow, 2 cars really luxury unless company sponser the expenses, I also don't enjoy driving but enjoy being drove around..kekeke

Wei Kuan, ours is prob same as you 9 lessons. 10 lessons in total, but 1/7 2 lessons combined into 1. And bcos ours has a break of 3 wks in btw (after 1 jul, our next lesson is on 29 Jul)so prob tat's why end late. but funny leh, since last year, KKH lessons always got a 3 week break in btw but your don't have break right?
So we'll also see you this Sat lor?

Mummyjoy, it'll be very tough to wash both at every pee, Then you need to buy lots and lots of diapers and insert...
We didn't maintain 2 cars for long. Tat time I was working in Senoko very far, so we did not sell our old car when hb bought a new car. However, I got phobia for driving so after a fw months sold away the old car. Agree, it's going to be tight on the pocket to keep 2 cars. But hb is still thinking that I should get a cheaper japanese car now that we hv a bb so that I can pick bb up fm Mum's place of send children to school in future if he's not free. But I not for the idea lor. I'd rather take cab or if not too inconvenient I don't mind taking MRT or bus. Can watch pple or enjoy scenery.

Wei Kuan, ours 9am-10am on Medications During Preg and Diet During Preg.

11am-2pm on Nursing your child/ABCs of Vaccinations. I believe you're coming to this one as it's a combine lesson in the Auditorium.

Coral,
i think sometimes ppl prefer to have own car rather than take public transport because of the crowd lor. Sometimes scared of catching flu during high peak season etc. Got pros and cons lah..