(2006/10) OCTOBER 2006 MTB

Emily,
They are the same pump, just different names used in different countires.

mmummyjoy,
Aiyo, you sure you need a pump carrier? Any bag can used to keep the pump lah, why waste $ to buy a carrier? For cooler bag, there are cheaper type, no need to die die buy Amede brand.

Avent warmer
=========
I said b4, not necessary to have it. Cos the traditional way of immersing the milk bag/milk bottle into a cup of hot water does the trick to warm up the EBM. Is really up to you that you prefer which way lor. I bought one, so I just used it lor.

Hi, since last wk hb has been having business dinner, so no company. Just now went to taka and bought the babycraft cot (white). Think it's easier to make decision alone. My hb will also be away on working trip this wk, but don't think I'll move in with parents or drive to work. I'm just too timid to drive in town during peak hrs.

Aussino
========

I went and saw the 5 designs for the cot bumper. Usual at $99, but now $69. Member discount is not applicable for them as they're discounted items. I didn't buy cos they don't feel as comfy. Will probably buy the jersy type from 1st few years at Paragon.

mmummyjoy,
it's ok to transfer the BM from bottle to milk bag so long as u handle them properly. You have to press the air out before sealing the bag.

MILK WARMER
I got a milk warmer but end up not using it cos i find it easier to just submerge the whole bag of EBM in a bowl of hot water cos the warmer can only warm up milk in a bottle but not a milkbag. So u have to defrost the frozen EBM in milkbags first before pouring into bottles to warm up.

AUSSINO
I use the aussino cot bumper and bedsheet set for my boy. No problem. The sheets are very soft. The set comes with a pillow and bolster and my boy is very attached to the bolster but too bad, they dun sell separate bolster cases for it.
As for colours / designs, i would advise that you get those neutral unisex type so that you can keep for the 2nd one.

babygrace, same sentiments, never know if 2nd bb same gender or not.
I like those cotton, t-shirt material type of bedsheet which Aussino has for adult bed but not cot, so has to buy it else where.

BIRKENSTOCK
===========
I wanna ask a qns on Birkenstock sandals. Anyone can help? What's the difference between regular and narrow cut ah?

jenny,
depends on which model u are getting. Some only come in regular, no narrow cut. For madrids, i think the difference is quite substantial. the narrow one definitely makes the feet looks slimmer but not sure about the comfort level cos mine is the regular fit.

babygrace,
The 2 pairs I wanna get come in regular and narrow, so a bit confused with the cutting leh. Ha, maybe I get the regular cut kekeke...

mmummyjoy,
I saw one mum posted on coleman cooler bag which can be bought from carrefour, DIY stores, MIM, Tangs, Howard storage, etc for $20+ and the coleman ice bricks for a few dollars. This can last up to 10hrs (depending on what type of ice bricks you buy).

So said the total amt you need to spend on cooler bag and ice bricks should be around $30-$40. And a carrier bag is not necessary cos any bag will do the trick. The pump is $290 if purchased via bulk purchase ($300 for retail price). The total amt should be not be more than $350.

jenny,
better get the regular cut cos if u're intending to wear for pregnancy, then at least there's space for swollen feet due to water retention.

Wah just realised the market place now charges a $10 fee just for doing bulk purchase too. So means we can't use here for doing a bulk purchase on our own as well liao??

Was still wondering cos someone was saying now vpost can get 10% if using citibank credit card to pay but can't find anything on the vpost site saying this leh.

Reading bout u gals saying bout ur hubby's reservist made me ask my hubby about his and guess what. His is at the end of Sept.....sigh

Wei Kuan, err, prob you missed some of my earlier postings. I lost my bb of 6mths last July. So now 2nd preg and hopefully my first bb.

sorry, my memnory not good.
even working, i will forgot my password.
hope u don't blame me.

u will have a healthy and happy baby.actually it a good choice that u resign, health is more impt than money.

Hi hi doggiemummy..
Oh, so u getting ur twin stroller somewhere?I guess probably it was really a very gd buy..thats why the stock went off so fast ba..do hope u get hold of the coming offer..cheers..

Hi hi Jasmine..
My hubby is gg for reservist this coming 10 Jul..so we are thinking if we shd start buying the stuff now or when hes back on the 22 Jul..(coz no storage place unless in our own room also got to squeeze a little)..somemore this mth is coming to an end..as I m reporting to my Finance Mgr..so got more things to do..coz Quarter closing..xiong ahh..so dun think I will have the time to check out the stuff till Jul ba..got a lot of reports to submit lor..its nice to hear that ur hubby is able to come back to accompany u to sleep..me also not sure if my hubby have to go for those 3d2n forest-holiday lor..siaz..somemore me staying in in-laws place..

Hi hi Wei kuan..
Whc series did u get ur from Aussino?Mine was the Royal Symphony maroon red wedding set..that one is lousy..kept having the linen dust coming out..

Hi hi aspialle..
Oic..i think I get what u meantstraighten out leg, right?ok..will give it a try when I have leg cramps..thks..thks..

Hi hi mummyjoy..
I can understand ur frustration lor..coz mine also kena the my quilt..headache hor..i guess only certain material is like that ba..ya, I also bought the red towels (with the Xi wording) & nearly gave up using it..haha..same same..thats why better wash the bedsheets once b4 letting baby sleep on it ba..at least can get rid of the linen dust if any lor..i m also not sure abt pork floss that what I posted the question..but seems like I didnt get any reply except urs as well..so me also not very sure leh..hehe..wow..u so fast went to check out the maternity pads liao ahh..not bad also..at least u know whc brand u will be gg for now lor..me hvnt check out on that..hehe..

Hi hi Gemini..
Oic..i called them again to clarify..i think certain products depending on what u buy are on sale as current..just that its while stock last kind..so ok lah..oh, u also got color run prob with bedsheets from Aussino ahh..i think red color seems to be more common for color run ba..

Hi hi coral..
Oh, so u managed to get the Babycraft cot from Taka & pay additional $20 for white color ahh..nice..so whens the cot gg to be deliver to ur place?my hubby is thinking of getting the cot as well..hehe..jst that we hvnt had time to chk out the rest of the cots lor..slowly check out the other baby bedsheets ba..hope u find one u like..stay positive..surely baby will be healthy lor..cheers~

<font color="aa00aa">Hi hi ladies..
I realized I have pretty bad swollen feet..when I pressed on my flesh on the feet area..it will be "dented in for a while" before the flesh gets back to norm lor..very bad water retention leh..now getting more &amp; more worried..my colleague was saying that it's too early for me to get water retention now coz we only at 2nd tri..</font>

wendy,
y cannot eat pork floss? i ate some couple of months ago. i have always love pork floss. dun think anything wrong wif eating it lah...

you got water retention already. i dun think there is early or late lah... depend on individual. i know someone got water retention at 5mths. anyway we come to end of 2nd tri liao. guess cannot avoid lor. is it painful? i also scared will kana water retention cos i drink very little water so have been reminding myself to drink more these days.

Aussino
=======
i'm quite a fan of aussino. nv had problems wif the stuff i bought from them leh. but cos more ex so buying less n replace wif ikea's instead. more economically.

Bb stuff
========
will be getting bb's stuff in july too. using hb's mid-year bonus to get... hee hee hee

Bb full month
=============
since now still have not started buying bb's stuff, i started to plan for the full month celebration instead. doing research on invite cards etc. just confirmed the card design yesterday after letting hb see. now got to settle the list of invitees for the celebration as well as the number of pple we are giving the full month cakes to.

start early cos i scared once bb arrives, i wont have time to do it n i also dun want it to look like we bochap like that so better start early. i very kiasu hor... guess i more hands-on on such things cos i enjoy doing them n i like to start early so wont be panicky nearer the date.

jenny,
4 once thot u organising Birks bulk purchase.
wanna get a pair of birks leh. in SG stores, they r selling at a much higher price.

wendy,
u got water retention alrdy? do u drink enuff water? not sure if u read wat i posted last wk on drinking enuff water to fend off water retention.

dun worry abt wat ur coll say. some things we cant avoid and like wat selina say, we r approaching the 3rd trimester liao. different body different rxn, so dun worry too much.

selina,
same like me. i haven bought much baby's stuff 4 his arrival, yet i am concentrating on the e-cards 4 baby's full month now! hehehe

hi-5 leh! me oso typical aussino fan!

Hi Jenny,

Thank You for clearing my doubts. I tot the Purely Yours is a newer technology.

Water Retention
My sister got it when she is around 4th month and is due in 8weeks time is already very bad retention.
As for me now at 24wks : on and off after long walk of shopping day, my legs swollen too. rest my feet for few more days and not getting too bad so I guess all our feet need more rest especially at night.

Leg Cramp
at least once every week, I will get it. Remedy: what I do is to raise up my feet and flex the feet toward you. (point the toes toward you)after a while the cramp will go off. there was once i cramp on both legs together. (killing me)

:mad:

wtan, mine is the red colour with the wedding "Xi" words.
caleb, i also start planning the full month cos i All baby and my things already have and bought.

gals, remember to buy your nightdress with in front button (for breastfeeding) during the confinement and socks to wear. do not get cold.

i have no choice but to have all things ready cos MIL insists everything prepare before "ghost festival" which is next month and end till 22/9.
I not going to see and buy any baby things during that lunar 7th month cos hb more pantang than me.

next week, I am washing all baby cloths with baby detergent liao, new one and second hand one, then wrap it for 3 months.

prepare everthing now is better cos when we reach our third trimester, our energy also drop. now is the best time.
3 more months to go

Hi wei kuan,

Is it too early to wash all BB clothing. I am going to wash them later cos I know baby skin very sensitive to dust so intend to do it at later.

Baby Cot
We already bought the cot(Brand: Regina)from kiddy palace but going to ask them to sent only on early sept, we do not wish to collect dust in our room first.

:mad:

Jenny, hehehe, qiao mah..want to buy carrier bag so everything pretty pretty..kekekeke TQ, went to the MIM website and saw the bags and ice bricks

BBgrace, TQ for the info. can share how long it takes for frozen milk bag to thaw in normal fridge temp....er...can we use hot water from air-port to immerse thaw milk bag, enough to make milk warm? How many mins it will take huh, worried BB cry too long for the milk. paisay huh, so many questions, previously saw my sis stress over EBM and later gave up alert me to find out more cos' worried panic later lah..

crystallized,
go get the birks! i practically live in mine these days. 4 pairs can already qualify for free shipping, just ask around your friends or some pple here, i'm sure u can find enough pple

Hi hi selina..
I just typed a long message for u but didnt post it out &amp; click refresh..now got to retype..argghh..i just hate myself..i m also not sure if we can eat pork floss..thats why I posted out the question lor..i duno why I have water retention so fast..esp 1st mtbs..so now also getting stressed..its not painful but like when u pressed on the flesh at ur feet area..then the flesh will be dented in or while before it pops back to norm..in fact, I hv been drinking a lot of water lately (so that I can clear constipation lor)..so also not sure why so fast will get bad water retention..i know by cutting down salt intake does help a little..but now already got water retention..so very scared lor..oh, u also bought quite a lot of stuff from Aussino ahh..i guess depends on the material ba..wow..ur hubby getting mid-yr bonus ahhgd..gd..gd to get the stuff then lor..so nice..hehe..oh, u started on ur invites liao ahh..i guess also gd lor..at least u might not have time to do it later lor..hehe..

hi hi crystallized..
i drank alot of water..so i dun think i didnt drink enough..was rather thinking if i over-drank..coz i also drank fruit juices &amp; ate fruits as well as soupy stuff lor..but we are only reaching 3 Tri in another 1 mth time leh..so it's only mid of 2nd Tri then i got bad water retention..getting worried lor..the best part is today my gynae is at the hospital so i cant get in touch with him to find out more..

hi hi Emily..
i heard water retention can be worst at the later stage..but me now already consider quite bad leh..very scare now..wonder if there's any way for me to extract out the excess water lor..

hi hi wei kuan..
urs is the brighter red color with the Xi wordings..the material is diff from the one i bought for my wedding set..let me try to find u a photo of my maroon wedding set..

450152.jpg

wei kuan,
wash so early? i leaving the washing to my mum. she will do it nearer to my due date, prob sep or so. still got some clothes from my sis not over yet so waiting for all to wash together. anyway, she says too early to wash now also so i just pick what i like n leave the rest to her.

crystallized,
Hi5! guess we both the k-s type ha ha ha... actually i wanted to print the cards myself but hb says dun waste time just do e-cards. i dun really like e-cards leh but no choice since i wont have time to do it. cannot print them now also cos dunno when will pop cos that will somehow determine the full month celebration date.

was also thinking of making some of the full month celebration favours myself but scared no time n everybody asking me to forget about it leh. i really wanna hand make them... **sigh**

Full month cakes
================
those interested can also check out this shop at katong mall www.gobi.com.sg. saw them at the motherhood fair and find their design quite nice n different. might b getting them but will need to go for tasting first at their outlet.

2nd time mummies, can give advice on full month celebration. who to give the cakes to etc? hb says his office pple usually give cakes to every single colleagues. wow! he works in hdb, a lot of pple in his division. think will go bankrupt if have to buy for everyone man.

emily chua, i wash it next weeks and will wrap it so and it in cupboard so it will not collect dust.
as for cot, it hand me down and now already dismant and hubby will fix it only when baby born or early oct lor.
in 2weeks time, i will be in my third trimester. jsut want everthing done, so that it will be load off my mind. in 2 weeks time, i may not have the energy.
yesterday packing already very tired

caleb, i have to do everything myself. MIL and mother now taking care of my sis and SIL baby.
so i want to do everthing i can now before i am too tired.

wendy,
if u need ideas, i'll b more than happy to share my research but you'll have to adapt cos those are mostly for birth annoucement per se so the text needs to be revised to cater to your needs in particular.

i have them presented in powerpoint so if u want i can email to you. or alternatively, you can go search under yahoo for baby shower n can find lottas website with nice ideas for use.

doreen,
dun worry. we have emails so we can do the BP ourselves via email ma...

bb stuff
========
i think i only need to get the playpen n beddings and other necessities like baby wipes, nappy rash cream, bath tub, towels, detergent for washing bb's bottles, booties/socks, mittens, etc... not much big items. stroller, rocker cum baby chair will go to gift registry. breastpump i will get later cos will use my sis's one first n if can successfully breast feed than i go buy one.

Wtan, ya lor, trusted the brand but *sigh* not satisfy with the quality lor..no lah, I went NTUC to stock up my food supplies and happened to see the pads, now I see anything buy first lor, don't know can tahan shopping with big tummy at later stage or not...

Selina, wow, TQ for the highlight on the BB full month, I also like to do things earlier.

Weikuan, yah or, there are 2 rounds of 7th month this year, starting from 25 July to 22 Sept but so fast wash BB clothes?

mummyjoy, after washing, i will wrap it lor.
my mil again this time, she said better do not hang baby cloths during the 7th mth, so i intend to wash next 2 weeks lor.
the 7th mth end till 22/9, by that time, i am 38 weeks liao.

caleb, can please share with me the powerpoint?

so ladies,
anyone keen on getting Birks?

bbgrace, u noe the webbie? i cant rem it offhand now. i almost slipped a few times until my hb asked me to quickly go and get "safer" shoes.

wendy,
no, dun worry. drinking more water will not cause water retention. i believe perhaps ur body is the kind tt will store water? anyway juz think of it as temporary. it will go away after delivery. it wun harm baby, juz tt will look more bloated. so dun worry. u call up the clinic and leave a word wif the nurses. ask ur gynae to call u back?

u still got a mth more to go for 3rd trimester? me approaching tt stage in abt 2 wks liao...

selina,
i oso preferred the hard copies type of cards, but tt will take more time and effort to do, plus we cant really get it ready in time unless u wanna skip details like date of delivery and baby's arrival weight, so e-card gotta b the best.
anyway easily 2 send to frens &amp; colleagues mah.

me oso thot of doing favours but in my plight, really too tired to do such things leh. then i oso worried its a waste of money to do tt coz like wedding favours, these might end up in the rubbish bins.

think 4 cakes, juz need to give to colleagues u r close wif? those tt u dun really noe, can 4get it lah. else u will really end up spending alot!

can u share ur research wif me, if u dun mind?
i will PM u shortly. thks.

weikuan, can understand, my mil also PT type, my EDD later than yours, think I still have time for the washing after 7th mth...

wei kuan,
no prob. but you may wish to note that those presented in the powerpoint, the colour schemes are more for boy boy so u will have to adapt cos i did not select the girl girl one since i'm carrying a boy.

Hi wendy,
since now oredi end of jun, i'ts better u shop for ur stuffs wif ur hb after his reservist lol. now still early ba...no rush. r u working in account dept since u r saying report to finance manager. my manager yesterday oso discuss wif me about my job scope coz she scare no one will close account during m absence.
i found something about water retention. hopefully the article helpful for u.
http://www.babycentre.co.uk/pregnancy/antenatalhealth/physicalhealth/swollenhandsandfeet/

wei kuan / mummyjoy,
my mil believe tat during 'ghost mth' do not hang all the clothes at outside overnight.
i think if wash at early mrng, by 3 or 4pm, all the clothes shld b dry &amp; can keep oredi. coz bb clothes so small ba...

crystallized,
I'm buying birkenstock but sharing with my sis. We have 3 pairs now, but think my sis's friend or bf is interested to get also. Where you stay, is it convenient to collect from me? If so, you can add on to our order

EBM STORAGE
i intend to buy a mini fridge to store EBM. last week i went to carefour &amp; check wif the salesman. he told me tat the minimum degree of this freeze area at this mini fridge only -0c. tat's mean we cant freeze our EBM.
but i heard some mtbs said we only can use the EBM within 48 hrs if we didnt store our EBM at freezer area.
i'm thinking shall i get the mini fridge since our main purpose is to store EBM in long term.
anyone can advise on this. thanks......

Wei Kuan, no worries. I won't blame you, there's too many postings, and preggies hv bad memory.

Wendy, I got the same set as you for my wedding.
Actually I'm an Aussino fan too, I think only 2 sets are from Robinson, the rest of my bed sheets are from them. I'm getting them to deliver the cot and the toy to hang on the cot on 30 Sep. 2 wks b4 my EDD. I'm too lazy to shop around liao, the car seat is already driving me crazy. At first hb only consider 2 brands, now he also set his eyes on Combi carseat. Another option, means longer time before decision...

Wow, so early washing liao. I'm now also having headache as to when to wash the stuff cos I'm moving home end of Aug, so not sure to wash after that or wash now...

yesterday my left leg toe is so painful that i can't sleep, the nail on the big thumb toe grows into the flesh. My mum also got tis problem when she is pregnant

is it ok to still do cooking till birth? my frd advise me not to. i cook everyday but i try not to stand to close to the wok so that bb dun feel too hot

hi wtan

my feet also a bit swollen :p

hi selina
received the list, thanks!!! but i can't open it duno y?

Hi crystalised,

Same as u. Currently the shoes I'm wearing are not very safe,thinking of getting more safe shoes, esp the weather these few days, quite erratic, can rain suddenly.
When you have the website, can send to me also? wanted to take a look before buying.

Me will be hitting 3rd trimester in about 2 wks time.

Prenatal classes
================

I have called up Mt Alvernia, they still have slots for Jul but only on wkdays, Tues, Thurs &amp; Fri. I have signed up for Fri nites, now waiting for the confirmation.

I'm planning to hold 1st mth celebration only for a few relatives. Will prob not invite frens over since MIL's place is going to be too crowded after we move in. In fact hb and I are very sad that bb wont get to stay in our own place when she's born. Maybe we'll celebrate her 1st yr b'day at home instead...

Chest &amp; Laundry rack
=======================
Anyone getting drawers chest &amp; Laundry rack for BB clothings? My neighbour has a good laundry rack unit like 3 tiers, she uses top tier for mitten etc, 2nd tier for BB cloths and last tier for nappy, very cute
I went taka and robinson, can't find leh...anyone saw something like that?

Wendy, I eat prok floss too leh. Never hear anything abt can't eat that, in fat it was MIL who ask me to eat.

Aspialle, also never hear abt can't cook leh. I think like you say, so long as don't stand too close to avoid bb being to hot should be fine. Anyway, they enjoy the warmth in ur tummy, so i never feel it's an issue.

I think swollen feet is something that we can only try our best to prevent. Lots of water less sodium ba.

Yday I bought a pair of shoes from DKNY sales, really comfy and not slippery, so happy. Cos my other shoes feel kind of tight so I bought 1/2 a size bigger in anticipation of swollen feet too.

mummyjoy
i got a guestroom no one staying, there is a built in wardrobe so won't be getting another drawers, may want to convert it to bb room. i regret for buying a queen bed for guest room....last time should buy those single bed, can pull out to sleep 2 persons, saves space